DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (CN 107403889 A). This reference cited as Chen hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a battery module (10 Fig. 1; “battery connection module 10” [0151]), comprising:
at least two batteries arranged side by side (20 Fig. 2; “a plurality of side-by-side batteries 20” [0151]), each battery comprising a top cover (top surface of each battery 20 in Fig. 2 that 201 is disposed on – see next citation) and an electrode terminal arranged on the top cover (“electrodes 201 of the plurality of batteries 20” [0152]);
a bus bar connecting electrode terminals of adjacent batteries (1 and 2 Fig. 3; “insulating frame 1 is disposed on the plurality of batteries 20, the plurality of bus bar connectors 2 and the two output electrode members 5 are assembled to the insulating frame 1” [0151]);
a circuit board arranged above the at least two batteries (3 Fig. 1; “circuit board” [0151]); and
at least one temperature collection unit (22, 23 and 4 Figs. 12-16; “a circuit board connector 22, and a bridge 23” [0153], “two sensor components 4” [0151]) comprising a temperature collection structure (41 Fig. 12; “a sensor 41” [0158]) and a bearing structure (22, 23 and 42 Fig. 13; “a circuit board connector 22, and a bridge 23” [0153] and “two wire adapters 42” [0158]),
wherein the temperature collection structure comprises a temperature sensor that collects the temperature of the top cover (“The sensor 41 is disposed on one of the bus connectors 2 … sensor 41 is a Negative Temperature Coefficient (NTC) sensor” [0158]) and is arranged on the bearing structure (“The sensor 41 has two wires 411 electrically connected to the two wire adapters 42 respectively” [0158]),
wherein the bearing structure electrically connects the temperature sensor and the circuit board (“The bridge 23 is soldered to the fixing portion 221 of the circuit board connector 22 and the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21 to connect the circuit board connector 22 to the electrode connector 21” [0153] and “The sensor 41 can collect and sense the temperature of the bus bar 2 and transmit the temperature signal to the circuit board 3 through the two wire adapters 42. Since the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21 forms a relatively independent plate portion, when the sensor 41 is mounted on the partition portion 212, … ” [0159]), and presses, under an effect of at least one of the circuit board and the bus bar, the temperature collection structure to be abutted against the top cover (“The bridge 23 is soldered to the fixing portion 221 of the circuit board connector 22 and the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21 to connect the circuit board connector 22 to the electrode connector 21.” [0153]), and
wherein the bearing structure comprises a bearing body (42 Fig. 12; “wire adapter 42” [0158]), the temperature sensor is arranged in the bearing body (“wire 411 is surface-welded to the extension portion 423 of the wire adapter 42” [0158] where wire 411 is a component of sensor 41 and extension portion 423 is a component of wire adapter 42), the bearing body is provided with a first clamping structure (23 Fig. 12; “The bridge 23 is soldered to the fixing portion 221 of the circuit board connector 22 and the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21 to connect the circuit board connector 22 to the electrode connector 21” [0153]), the bus bar is provided with a second clamping structure (“the insulating frame 1 includes a plurality of receiving slots 11, a plurality of fixing slots 12, a plurality of hooks 13, a plurality of heat dissipation holes 16, and a plurality of dustproof bars 17” [0152] and “In the electrode connector 21 of the present embodiment, the partition portion 212 and the two electrode connecting portions 211 are respectively separated from each other by the second buffer portion 215 and the slit 214 to form a relatively independent plate portion.” [0154] such that in Fig. 12, the second buffer portion 215 forms partition portion 212 to be a groove), and the first clamping structure is matched with the second clamping structure (“The bridge 23 is soldered to … the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21” [0153]), such that the bearing structure is clamped with the bus bar (“The bridge 23 is soldered to the fixing portion 221 of the circuit board connector 22 and the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21 to connect the circuit board connector 22 to the electrode connector 21.” [0153], “The plurality of interference protrusions 221 a and the fixing slots 12 are fixed to each other by the circuit board connector 22 is fixed to the corresponding fixing groove 12 so that the confluence connector 2 is positioned on the insulating frame 1” [0155], and “The interference protrusion 421 a of the positioning portion 421 and the fixing groove 12 interfere with each other” [0159] such that insulating frame 1 essentially clamps circuit board connector 22, bridge 23, and wire adapter 42 to circuit board connector 22), and the bearing structure presses, under the effect of the bus bar (“The end of the partition portion 212 of the bus bar connector 2 for mounting the sensor assembly 4 is crimped to form a receiving hole 212 a for receiving the sensor 41.” [0158]), the temperature collection structure (“The plurality of interference protrusions 221 a and the fixing slots 12 are fixed to each other by the circuit board connector 22 is fixed to the corresponding fixing groove 12 so that the confluence connector 2 is positioned on the insulating frame 1 and the electrode connector 21 is movably accommodated in the corresponding capacity And the two electrode connecting portions 211 are soldered respectively to the electrodes 201 (see FIG. 2) of the two batteries 20 adjacent to each other to form the electrical connection so as to achieve the purpose of connecting the plurality of batteries 20 in series or in parallel.” [0155]) to be abutted against the top cover (Figs. 14 and 44 along with the prior two citations above discloses the arrangement of sensor 41, by effect of how circuit board connector 22 and electrode connector 21 are fixed into insulation frame 1 and on the top surface of the row of batteries, to apply weight onto the top surface of the row of batteries).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the second clamping structure comprises an installation groove (“In the electrode connector 21 of the present embodiment, the partition portion 212 and the two electrode connecting portions 211 are respectively separated from each other by the second buffer portion 215 and the slit 214 to form a relatively independent plate portion.” [0154] such that in Fig. 12, the second buffer portion 215 forms partition portion 212 to be a groove),
wherein the bearing body is accommodated in the installation groove (“The bridge 23 is soldered to … the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21” [0153] and “sensor 41 is fixed in the accommodating hole 212a of the partition portion 212” [0159]),
wherein the first clamping structure comprises a clamping groove (bridge 23 in Fig. 12 is shown to have a bottom surface that is formed concavely that a groove is also formed on the bottom surface to correspond to the ridge of partition portion 212), and
wherein a wall of the installation groove is clamped into the clamping groove (Fig. 12 and “The bridge 23 is soldered to … the partition portion 212 of the electrode connector 21” [0153]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 4 above, and wherein the first clamping structure further comprises a buckle (at least one of 221a and 421a shown in Fig. 13; “interference protrusion 221 a” [0153] and “interference portion 421 a” [0158]),
wherein the second clamping structure further comprises a limiting opening arranged on the wall of the installation groove (12 Fig. 14; “plurality of fixing slots 12” [0152]), and
wherein the buckle is clamped into the limiting opening (“The plurality of interference protrusions 221 a and the fixing slots 12 are fixed to each other” [0155] and “The interference protrusion 421 a of the positioning portion 421 and the fixing groove 12 interfere with each other” [0159]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the bearing structure comprises an elastic sheet (411 Fig. 12; “wires” [0158]),
wherein the elastic sheet is arranged on the bearing body (“The sensor 41 has two wires 411 electrically connected to the two wire adapters 42 respectively” [0158]), and
wherein the elastic sheet is arranged above the temperature sensor (Fig. 12 – wires 411 are disposed on a top portion of sensor 41).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 7 above, and wherein the elastic sheet is provided with a first end and a second end which are opposite to each other (the extreme ends of wires 411 in Fig. 12),
wherein the first end is electrically connected with the circuit board (via 422 Fig. 12, “The connecting pin 422 protrudes upward from a top edge of the positioning portion 421, and the connecting pin 422 is a A through hole soldering pin, and the extending portion 423 extends from the positioning portion 421 toward the corresponding wire 411” [0158] and “conductive pin 422 of the wire adapter 42 passes through the corresponding through hole 31 of the circuit board 3 and soldered On the circuit board 3” [0159]), and
wherein the second end is electrically connected with the temperature sensor (the end of 411 that is in direct contact with sensor 41).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and further comprising a metal sheet arranged on the circuit board (“each through hole 31 of the circuit board 3 is a conductive through hole, and each through hole 31 is a conductive line covered with a conductive metal on the inner wall of the hole and connected to the circuit board 3” [0162]),
wherein the first end is electrically connected with the circuit board through the metal sheet (“pins 222 of the circuit board connector 22 can be pressed into the corresponding through holes 31 of the circuit board 3 so that the bus connector 2 can be electrically connected to the circuit board 3” [0162] and “the plurality of conductive pins 222, 522, 422 of the second embodiment have the same crimp configuration and are crimped onto the circuit board 3 together to help simplify the manufacturing process” [0164]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 9 above, and wherein the first end is concave downwards and is arc-shaped (the wire 411 on the left of sensor 41 in Fig. 13 is shaped concavely down toward extending portion 423 of wire adapter 42 and also has an arc shape), and
wherein the metal sheet is inserted between a lower surface of the first end and the bearing body (“each through hole 31 of the circuit board 3 is a conductive through hole, and each through hole 31 is a conductive line covered with a conductive metal on the inner wall of the hole and connected to the circuit board 3, The connecting pins 222 of the circuit board connecting members 22 of the busbar connecting members 2 are crimp pins. … The two pins 222 of the circuit board connector 22 can be pressed into the corresponding through holes 31 of the circuit board 3 so that the bus connector 2 can be electrically connected to the circuit board 3.” [0162] such that the configuration described here in conjunction with the location of pin 422 shown in Fig. 13 discloses the location of the conductive metal to be between the top of pin 422 and the lower surface of wire 411).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 10, and wherein a gap is formed between the lower surface of the first end and the bearing body (the wires 411 shown in Fig. 13 is configured to extend downward such that a gap is formed between the wires 411 and the extension portion 423), and
wherein the gap is smaller than or equal to a thickness of the metal sheet (“each through hole 31 of the circuit board 3 is a conductive through hole, and each through hole 31 is a conductive line covered with a conductive metal on the inner wall of the hole and connected to the circuit board 3” [0162], which describes the thickness of the metal sheet to be the same as the thickness of the circuit board 3, and Fig. 14 shows that the gap has a thickness that is the same as that of a groove on the insulation frame 1, which Fig. 2 shows is about the same thickness as the thickness of the circuit board 3).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 9 above, and wherein the first end is provided with one of a convex part and a concave part (the wire 411 on the left of sensor 41 in Fig. 13 is convex at the extending to the left side of sensor 41, as well as concave at the extending down toward extending portion 423),
wherein the metal sheet is provided with the other one of the convex part and the concave part (“each through hole 31 of the circuit board 3 is a conductive through hole, and each through hole 31 is a conductive line covered with a conductive metal on the inner wall of the hole and connected to the circuit board 3, The connecting pins 222 of the circuit board connecting members 22 of the busbar connecting members 2 are crimp pins. … The two pins 222 of the circuit board connector 22 can be pressed into the corresponding through holes 31 of the circuit board 3 so that the bus connector 2 can be electrically connected to the circuit board 3.” [0162] such that the configuration described here in conjunction with the location of pin 422 shown in Fig. 13 discloses the location of the conductive metal covering on the circuit board to be on the convex part of the wire 411), and
wherein the convex part is clamped with the concave part (the concave part and the convex part of the wire 411 on the left side of sensor 41 is shown to be integral to each other in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the elastic sheet is arranged inside the bearing body (the wire 411 on the right side of the sensor 41 in Fig. 13 is disposed in between the pair of wire connectors 42), and
wherein an upper surface of the bearing body is provided with an opening for exposing the first end (there is space between the pair of wire connectors 42 that exposes the first end of the wire 411 on the right side of the sensor 41 shown in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein a limiting groove arranged on the bearing body exposes the second end (extension portion 423 is arranged to form a groove on the wire connectors 42 that exposes the end of the wires 411 that is connected to the sensor 41, or “In another embodiment, a perforation may be provided on the extension 423 of the wire adapter 42, and the perforation of the wire 411 penetrating the extension 423 may be perforated and welded” [0158]), and
wherein the second end is welded with the temperature sensor arranged in the limiting groove (“The sensor 41 has two wires 411” [0158] and “In another embodiment, a perforation may be provided on the extension 423 of the wire adapter 42, and the perforation of the wire 411 penetrating the extension 423 may be perforated and welded” [0158]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the temperature collection structure further comprises a thermal conducting pad (1 Fig. 14; “an insulating frame 1” [0151]), and
wherein the thermal conducting pad is arranged between the temperature sensor and the top cover (sensor 41 is disposed in the thickness of insulating frame 1 shown in Fig. 14, and insulating frame 1 is directly above the top cover of each battery shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 16 above, and wherein a thickness of the thermal conducting pad at an original state is greater than a distance between a lower surface of the temperature sensor and the top cover (the distance between sensor 41 and the top covers is the thickness of partition portion 212 of bus bars 2 shown in Fig. 14, and which shows insulating frame 1 having a thickness greater than the thickness of the partition portion 212).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the battery further comprises a top patch affixed to an upper surface of the top cover (1 Fig. 14; “an insulating frame 1” [0151]),
wherein the top patch is provided with a sampling hole for exposing part of the top cover (“insulating frame 1 includes a plurality of receiving slots 11, a plurality of fixing slots 12, …” [0152], which Fig. 15 shows insulating frame 1 is directly above the top covers of each battery 20), and
wherein the temperature collection structure is in contact with the top cover through the sampling hole (“the circuit board connector 22 is fixed to the corresponding fixing groove 12 so that the confluence connector 2 is positioned on the insulating frame 1 and the electrode connector 21 is movably accommodated in the corresponding capacity” [0155]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 18 above, and wherein the sampling hole is arranged to be adjacent to a negative terminal of the battery (“the two electrode connecting portions 211 are soldered respectively to the electrodes 201 (see FIG. 2) of the two batteries 20 adjacent to each other” [0155], and Fig. 2 shows that electrodes 201 are disposed on two sides of each top cover of the batteries that is known in the art to be comprised of a positive electrode and a negative electrode).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses an electric device, comprising the battery module with all features set forth in claim 1 above, (“The circuit board 3 provided with the electronic components can be used as a battery management system or a battery management System subsystem so that the battery pack can be applied to electric vehicles or hybrid cars car battery.” [0161]) wherein the battery module is configured to provide electric energy (“the electrode soldering of the corresponding battery 20 and the electrical connection of the circuit board 3 can be made easier, and also It is possible to achieve the object of the present invention by increasing the fixing effect and the electrical conductivity” [0167] with emphasis added).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the battery module with all the limitations set forth in claim 7 above, and wherein the bearing body is provided with a limiting groove (“a perforation may be provided on the extension 423 of the wire adapter 42” [0158]), and
wherein the temperature sensor is arranged in the limiting groove (“and the perforation of the wire 411 penetrating the extension 423 may be perforated and welded” [0158]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 107403889 A) in view of Hofer et al (US 2019/0326649 A1). The latter reference cited as Hofer hereinafter.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the battery module with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the temperature collection unit comprises two elastic sheets (Figs. 12 and 13 show that a pair of wires 411 extend out of sensor 41), but does not disclose wherein the second ends of the two elastic sheets are respectively electrically connected with a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the temperature sensor.
However, Hofer discloses a battery module (“battery module 100” [0036]) that comprises at least two batteries arranged side by side (“includes a plurality of battery cells 10 aligned in one direction” [0036]) with each battery comprising a top cover and an electrode terminal arranged on the top cover (“sealed by a cap assembly 14. The cap assembly 14 is provided with positive and negative electrode terminals 11 and 12 having different polarities” [0037), a bus bar connecting electrode terminals of adjacent batteries (“The positive and negative electrode terminals 11 and 12 of neighboring battery cells 10 are electrically connected through a bus bar 15” [0037]), a circuit board arranged above the at least two batteries (“FIG. 2 is a side view on a battery module 100 bearing a printed circuit board” [0039] or “PCB 131” [0044]) and at least one temperature sensor that collects the temperature of the top cover (“information about the temperatures of the battery cells from a thermocouple unit 200 and controls the operations of the battery cells.” [0044]) and has an elastic sheet arranged above it (either one of 210 and 220 in Fig. 3; “thermocouple unit 200 includes a first wire 210 and second wire 220 each connecting the bus bar 15 and the PCB 131” [0045]) that is provided with a first end (230 Fig. 3; “More precisely, the first wire 210 and the second wire 220 are welded to a common area 230 provided at the PCB 131” [0045]) and a second end opposite to each other (240 Fig. 3; “a common sensing point 240 (or junction)” [0045]).
Hofer teaches wherein the second ends of the two elastic sheets are respectively electrically connected with a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the temperature sensor (see [0046], “The physical principle of Seebeck effect refers to an electromotive force whenever there is a temperature gradient in a conductive material.” [0047], “The thermistor circuit 300 is implemented within the PCB 131 and-according to the illustrated embodiment-the thermistor is an NTC thermistor. Such a thermistor circuit 300 is common knowledge and for the purpose of the present invention, the only important aspect is that the circuit 300 is assembled on the PCB 131 such that it provides a reference temperature TREF for the common area 230 of the PCB 131.” [0048], and “The temperature TSENCE at the sensing point 240 is given by equation
TSENCE = TREF + ΔTREF;SENSE
where ΔTREF;SENSE is a temperature difference determined by the thermocouple unit 200 on basis of a voltage difference ΔV of the first and second wires 210, 220.” [0049]-[0050] such that the two wires are taught to function similarly to positive and negative electrodes by causing a voltage difference).
Hofer further teaches the temperature sensor therefore includes an operational amplifier for determination of the voltage difference of the two elastic sheets so as to provide a characteristic signal for the voltage difference ([0051]) that captures the temperature sensor’s behavior ([0047]) and controls operations of the battery cells, particularly charging or discharging extents through high current lines of the battery cells to prevent over-charge or over-discharge ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature sensor of Chen in view of Hofer wherein the second ends of the two elastic sheets are respectively electrically connected with a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the temperature sensor, in order to achieve means of determining a characteristic signal for the voltage difference of the temperature sensor that controls operations of the battery cells such as charging or discharging extents to prevent over-charge or over-discharge.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 April 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that prior art reference Chen does not disclose the limitation “a temperature sensor that collects the temperature of the top cover”.
In response to applicant remark, Chen discloses “confluence connector 2 is positioned on the insulating frame 1 and the electrode connector 21 is movably accommodated in the corresponding capacity And the two electrode connecting portions 211 are soldered respectively to the electrodes 201” ([0155]) such that it is known in the art for two metals soldered together to share the same temperature after thermal equilibrium is reached. Therefore, when Chen discloses “The sensor 41 can collect and sense the temperature of the bus bar 2” ([0159]), Chen also discloses sensor 41 to be capable of collecting the temperature of electrode 201, a component of the top cover of each battery in the battery module.
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721