DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections as detailed below.
In addition, claims 8 and 15 are separately rejected as detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 8-14 & 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 is quite wordy and causes confusion. To avoid 101 lack of hardware embodiment and 112 2nd issues, it is suggested that claim 8 be rewritten as follow:
‘A pairing system, the pairing system being in communication with a first autonomous vehicle and a remote control, the pairing system being separate from the first autonomous vehicle and the remote control, wherein the pairing system includes:
logic encoded in one or more tangible non-transitory, computer-readable media for execution and when executed causes the pairing system to:
identify the remote control as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle;
determine whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle, wherein determining whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle comprises determine whether credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle;
pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle when it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle through communicating with the remote control through a first network and communicating with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network, pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle enables the remote control to remotely control the first autonomous vehicle;
cause the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle after causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle; and
cause the remote control to unpair from the first autonomous vehicle after causing the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle.
Claims 9-14 are objected for the same rationale as claim 8 above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “..the communications channel..” With claim 5 currently amended, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thivierge, Jr. et al. (US 2022/0073031 A1-hereinafter Thi).
Regarding claim 8, Thi discloses a pairing system, the pairing system being in communication with a first autonomous vehicle and a remote control, the pairing system being separate from the first autonomous vehicle and the remote control, wherein the pairing system includes logic encoded in one or more tangible non-transitory, computer-readable media for execution and when executed operable to:
identify the remote control as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0017][0022]-[0023][0027][0032][0041], a mobile device is determined as attempting to pair/access with a first autonomous vehicle);
determine whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle, wherein the logic operable to determine whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle includes determining whether credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle (at least figures 1 & 3, [0015][0021]-[0023][0034][0038], determining whether consumer access key (CAK) associates with the mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle); and
pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle when it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle through communicating with the remote control through a first network and communicating with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network, wherein the logic operable to pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle enables the remote control to remotely control the first autonomous vehicle (at least figures 1 & 3, [0020]-[0023][0027][0033][0037]-[0038][0041], the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle using phone-based key (PBK) server. The server communicates with the mobile device through a first network, and communicates with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network);
cause the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle after causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0022][0023][0033]-[0037], after the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle, the mobile device is able to control the first autonomous vehicle); and
cause the remote control to unpair from the first autonomous vehicle after causing the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0038], CAK is removed from the mobile device, causing the mobile device to unpair from the first autonomous vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also discloses logic operable to obtain the credentials from the pairing system (Thi-at least figure 1, [0015] [0020]-[0022], CAK is received from Paak Server), wherein the logic operable to determine whether the credentials associated with the first remote control indicate that the first remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes logic operable to determine whether the credentials are current (Thi-at least [0023][0035], determining if CAK on the mobile device is current/up-of-date), wherein when the credentials are current, it is determined that the first remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (Thi-at least [0033]-[0037]-[0038], i.e.: when MAC address of mobile device is known by the first autonomous vehicle, a bonded session has not been established with the second mobile device, and CAK is current, it is determined that the first mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle).
Regarding claim 11, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also discloses wherein the credentials identify a user authorized to operate the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0022]-[0023], CAK includes metadata specifying an authorized user to perform selective activities with the first autonomous vehicle), and wherein the logic operable to determine whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes logic operable to determine whether the remote control is within a predetermined distance from the first autonomous vehicle when the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0026], authentication/pairing of the mobile device to the vehicle is determined based on predetermined distance of mobile device using the BLE transceivers).
Regarding claim 12, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also discloses the logic operable to pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle is operable to exchange keys between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle to establish a communication channel between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle (at least figures 1-3, [0015][0021][0023][0034], pairing includes exchanging CAK between the mobile device and the first autonomous vehicle).
Regarding claim 14, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also discloses when the remote control is identified as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0015][0023][0027][0032], i.e.: the mobile device is identified as attempting to access/pair with the first autonomous vehicle), the remote control is not already paired with the first autonomous vehicle and not paired with a second autonomous vehicles (at least figure 3, [0023][0033], the mobile device is not yet paired with the first autonomous vehicle or any other vehicles).
Regarding claim 15, Thi discloses a pairing system comprising:
a communications interface, the communications interface configured to enable communications on a first network with a remote control and communications on a second network with a first device (at least figure 1, a communication interface configured to enable communication on a first network with mobile device and communications on a second network with a first vehicle);
a processing arrangement (at least [0023][0050], i.e.: component/ arrangement that processes information receives from vehicle); and
logic encoded in one or more tangible non-transitory, computer-readable media for execution by the processing arrangement and when executed operable to determine when the remote control is authorized to pair with the first device by determining whether credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first device (at least figures 1 & 3, [0015][0021]-[0023] [0034][0038], determine whether the mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle), and when it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first device, the logic is further operable to pair the remote control with the first device such that the remote control controls operation of the first device (at least figures 1 & 3, [0020]-[0023][0027][0033][0037]-[0038], when it's determined that the mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle, the remote control is then accesses/controls functions of the vehicle).
at least one database, the at least one database configured to store information relating to the user, the information including an indication of whether the user is authorized to control autonomous vehicles of the first type (at least [0015][0022]-[0023][0034][0037][0053], a database is inherently discloses by Thivierge, as the user is authenticated through usage of CAK. Also, at [0023], the server contacts the user to see if he/she would like to request a condition extension, which means that user information must be stored in some storage area/database, which allows the server to retrieve contact information of the user when needed), wherein the logic is further operable to cause the remote control unpair from the first autonomous after the remote control completes control of the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0038]-[0039], revocation/refreshing of CAK causing the mobile device to unpair from the vehicle).
Regarding claim 17, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 15. Thi also discloses the logic operable to determine when the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle includes logic operable to determine whether the remote control is within a predetermined distance from the first vehicle (at least [0026], location/ predetermined distance of mobile device is determined using BLE transceivers), and wherein the logic operable to pair the remote control with the first device such that the remote control controls operation of the first autonomous vehicle is operable to solicit a verification from a user using a human machine interface (HMI) of the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0017][0022]-[0023][0034], i.e.: the mobile device is authorized to access/paired with the vehicle, and obtains vehicle status information via human-machine interface (HMI)) and to obtain the verification using the HMI, the verification arranged to confirm that the remote control is authorized to control the first autonomous vehicle when it is determined that the remote control is within a predetermined distance from the first autonomous vehicle (implicitly discloses at [0017][0026], wherein vehicle status information includes whether vehicle is paired with mobile device).
Regarding claim 19, Thi discloses the system of claim 15. Thi also discloses the first device is first autonomous vehicle (at least [0017][0022]-[0023] [0027] [0032] [0041], a first autonomous vehicle), and wherein the logic operable to determine when the remote control is authorized to pair with first autonomous vehicle ([0020]-[0022], CAK is received from Paak Server), determining whether the credentials associated with the first remote control indicate that the first remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle by determining whether the credentials associated with remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes logic operable to determine whether the credentials are current (at least [0033]-[0037]-[0038], i.e.: when MAC address of mobile device is known by the first autonomous vehicle, and CAK is current, it is determined that the first mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle, wherein when the credentials are current, it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with first autonomous vehicle (at least [0033]-[0037]-[0038], i.e.: when MAC address of mobile device is known by the first autonomous vehicle, and CAK is current, it is determined that the first mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle).
Regarding claim 20, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 15. Thi also discloses the first device is first autonomous vehicle (at least figure 1, [0017][0041], autonomous vehicle), wherein also discloses the communications interface is configured to obtain information which identifies a user of the remote control and information which identifies the first autonomous vehicle, and wherein the logic operable to determine when the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes logic operable to compare the information which identifies the user and the information which identifies the first vehicle (at least [0022]-[0023][0034][0049]-[0050], CAK received is compared, CAK including VIN and at least mobile device ID that is accessing the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thivierge, Jr. et al. (US 2022/0073031 A1-hereinafter Thi) and in view of Abuan et al. (US 2019/0260660 A1-hereinafter Abuan).
Regarding claim 1, Thi discloses a method comprising identifying a remote control as attempting to pair with a first autonomous vehicle (at least [0017][0022]-[0023][0027][0032][0041], a mobile device is determined as attempting to pair/access with a first autonomous vehicle);
determining whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle, wherein determining whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle includes determining whether credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first vehicle (at least figures 1 & 3, [0015][0021]-[0023][0034][0038], determining whether consumer access key (CAK) associates with the mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle); and
causing the remote control to pair with the first vehicle when it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle using a pairing system that is in communication with the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle (at least figures 1 & 3, [0020]-[0023][0027][0033][0037]-[0038], the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle using phone-based key (PBK) server that is in communication with both the mobile device and the first autonomous vehicle), the pairing system being separate from the remote control and from the first autonomous vehicle (at least figure 1, [0020], the PBK server is separate from the mobile device and the first autonomous vehicle), wherein causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle using the pairing system enables the remote control to remotely control the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0022][0023][0033]-[0037], the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle to enable the mobile device to control the first autonomous vehicle), wherein causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle when it is determined that the remote is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle using a paring system that is in communication with the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle include
causing the pairing system to communicate with the remote control (at least figure 1, causes Paak Server/PBK to communicate with the mobile device),
causing the pairing system to communicate with the first autonomous vehicle (at least (at least figure 1, causes Paak Server/PBK to communicate with vehicle),
wherein causing the pairing system to communicate with the remote control and causing the pairing system to communicate with the first autonomous vehicle cause the pairing system to act as an intermediary between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle to establish a communications channel between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0022]-[0023][0033]-[0037], causes Paak Server to link/connect the mobile device with the vehicle to establish a communications channel);
causing the remote control to pair with the first vehicle (at least [0022]-[0023][0034][0037] ]-[0038], once paired, the mobile devices to access/control the first autonomous vehicle); and
causing the remote control to unpair from the first vehicle after causing the remote control to control the first vehicle (at least [0038], CAK is removed from the mobile device, causing the mobile device to unpair from the first autonomous vehicle).
Thi does not explicitly disclose the communications channel enables near field communications (NFC) between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle, and the remote control controls the first autonomous vehicle using the NFC on the communications channel.
However, Abuan discloses communications channel enables near field communications (NFC) between a remote control and a vehicle and the remote control controls the vehicle using the NFC on the communications channel (at least [0247] [0282][0403][0411][0421]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include NFC into the method of Abuan to enable the method to be carried out using different wireless communication technologies.
Regarding claim 2, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 1. Thi and Abuan also further disclose wherein the remote control is a first remote control (Thi-at least figures 1 & 2, the mobile device is a first mobile device), the further including:
verifying that the first vehicle is paired with a second remote control, wherein causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle occurs after it is verified that the first vehicle is not paired with the second remote control (Thi-at least [0023][0027][0033][0037], verifying that i.e.: the first autonomous vehicle knows the MAC address of the mobile device, NOT another mobile device, then afterward establish a bonded session with the mobile device);
when it is verified that the first vehicle is not paired with the second remote control, obtaining the credentials from the pairing system (Thi-at least figure 1, [0015] [0020]-[0022], CAK is received from Paak Server), determining whether the credentials associated with the first remote control indicate that the first remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes determining whether the credentials are current (Thi-at least [0023][0035], determining if CAK on the mobile device is current/up-of-date), wherein when the credentials are current, and the vehicle is not paired with the second remote control, it is determined that the first remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (Thi-at least [0033]-[0037]-[0038], i.e.: when MAC address of mobile device is known by the first autonomous vehicle, a bonded session has not been established with the second mobile device, and CAK is current, it is determined that the first mobile device is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle); and
when it is verified that the first vehicle is paired with the second remote control, providing an indication that the first vehicle is paired with second remote control (Abuan-at least [0152]-[0156][0509], table 2, i.e.: status flag indicates that accessory (vehicle) is already paired with another controller (second remote control; pairing record).
Regarding claim 4, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 1. Thi also discloses wherein the credentials identify a user authorized to operate the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0022]-[0023], CAK includes metadata specifying an authorized user to perform selective activities with the first autonomous vehicle), and wherein determining whether the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes determining whether the remote control is within a predetermined distance from the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0026], authentication/pairing of the mobile device to the vehicle is determined based on predetermined distance of mobile device using the BLE transceivers).
Regarding claim 5, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 1. Thi also discloses causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes exchanging keys between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle (at least figures 1-3, [0015][0021][0034], pairing includes exchanging CAK between the mobile device and the first autonomous vehicle) and wherein the pairing system communicates with the remote control through a first network and communicates with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network, wherein the communications channel is established by the pairing system (at least figure 1, [0023], Paak Server communicates with mobile device through a first network, and communicates with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network. The pairing/ communication is established/allowed by the PaaK server when the CAK is not revoked).
Regarding claim 6, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 5. Thi also discloses enabling the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle using the communications channel (at least [0002][0020][0024], the mobile device accesses/controls the first autonomous vehicle is via the BLE channel).
Regarding claim 7, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 1. Thi also discloses when the remote control is identified as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0015][0023][0027][0032], i.e.: the mobile device is identified as attempting to access/pair with the first autonomous vehicle), the remote control is not already paired with the first autonomous vehicle (at least figure 3, [0023][0033], the mobile device is not yet paired with the first autonomous vehicle), and wherein causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle when it is determined that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle using a pairing system enables the remote control to directly communicate with the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0023], when CAK is determined by the PaaK server as not meet conditions for remote revocation, then the mobile device is enabled by the PaaK server to communicates with the autonomous vehicle directly via pairing).
Regarding claim 13, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 12. Thi also discloses the logic is further operable to enable the remote control to control the first autonomous vehicle using the communication channel established between the remote control and the first autonomous vehicle by the pairing system (at least figure 1, [0023], Paak Server communicates with mobile device through a first network, and communicates with the first autonomous vehicle through a second network. The pairing/ communication is established/allowed by the PaaK server when the CAK is not revoked).
Thi does not explicitly disclose the remote control is enables to control the first autonomous vehicle using the communication s channel by engaging the near field communications (NFC).
However, Abuan discloses enabling a remote control to control a vehicle by engaging NFC on a communications channel (at least [0247] [0282] [0403] [0411] [0421]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include NFC into the method of Abuan to enable the method to be carried out using different wireless communication technologies.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale as claims 5 & 7 above.
Regarding claim 22, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also implicitly discloses determine whether an authorization credential for a user of the remote control is refreshed on the remote control and to determine whether an authorization credential for the user has been set up (at least [0039][0053]-[0054], i.e.: determine that CAK is refreshed and CAK for the user is provided/set up).
Thi does not explicitly disclose logic operable to identify the remote control as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes one selected from a group and determine when the user of the remote control has caused the remote control to enter into a pairing mode.
However, Abuan discloses identify the remote control as attempting to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes one selected from a group (at least [0149]-[0156], controller (remote control) selects an accessory (vehicle) from a group of configured accessories) and determine when the user of the remote control has caused the remote control to enter into a pairing mode (at least [0157], user can provide input indicating whether controller should establish a pairing with the accessory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Abuan into the system of Thi to avoid unwanted pairing between a controller and an accessory (at least [0157]).
Claim 3 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thi, Abuan and further in view of Woodruff III et al. (US 2020/0249668 A1-hereinafter Woodruff).
Regarding claim 3, Thi and Abuan disclose the method of claim 1. Thi and Abuan also discloses the first vehicle is of a first type (Thi-at least [0016], i.e.: the first autonomous vehicle includes SUV, truck, other mobile machine for transporting people or goods and etc.; Abuan-at least [0059]-i.e.: homes, cars, door lock and etc.), determining whether the credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle includes determining whether the credentials indicate that the remote control is suitable for use to control vehicles of the first type (Thi-at least [0015]-[0016][0021][0027][0029], i.e.: CAK received from the mobile device matches with CAK stored in the first autonomous vehicle), and wherein causing the remote control to pair with the first autonomous vehicle (Thi-at least [0022][0033]-[0037], when a bonded session is established, the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle).
Thi and Abuan do not explicitly disclose the pairing includes determining when the remote control physically contacts the first autonomous vehicle
However, Woodruff discloses pairing includes determining when the remote control physically contacts the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0110], i.e.: remote control device is paired to vehicle via physical contact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Woodruff into the method of Thi & Abuan to provide another way of pairing the mobile device to different types of vehicles.
Claim 10 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thi and in view of Woodruff III et al. (US 2020/0249668 A1-hereinafter Woodruff).
Regarding claim 10, Thi discloses the pairing system of claim 8. Thi also discloses the first vehicle is of a first type (Thi-at least [0016], i.e.: the first autonomous vehicle includes SUV, truck, other mobile machine for transporting people or goods and etc.; Abuan-at least [0059]-i.e.: homes, cars, door lock and etc.), and wherein the logic operable to determine whether the credentials associated with the remote control indicate that the remote control is authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicle is operable to determine whether the credentials indicate that the remote control is suitable for use to control autonomous vehicles of the first type (Thi-at least [0015]-[0016][0021][0027][0029], i.e.: CAK received from the mobile device matches with CAK stored in the first autonomous vehicle), and wherein the logic operable to pair the remote control with the first autonomous vehicle (Thi-at least [0022][0033]-[0037], when a bonded session is established, the mobile device is paired with the first autonomous vehicle).
Thi does not explicitly disclose the pairing includes determining when the remote control physically contacts the first autonomous vehicle
However, Woodruff discloses pairing includes determining when the remote control physically contacts the first autonomous vehicle (at least [0110], i.e.: remote control device is paired to vehicle via physical contact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Woodruff into the method of Thi to provide another way of pairing the mobile device to different types of vehicles.
Claim 23 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thi and in view of Inoue et al. (US 2020/0182502 A1-hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding claim 23, Thi discloses the system of claim 15. Thi does not explicitly disclose the logic operable to provide the user with a list of devices the remote control is authorized to pair with when it is determined that the control device is not authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicles.
However, Sumi discloses provide to the user a list of devices the remote control is authorized to pair with when it is determined that the control device is not authorized to pair with the first autonomous vehicles (at least figures 4- [0067]-[0068], a list of available devices to be paired is displayed to the user when it is determined that the smartphone (remote control) is not authorized/available to be associated with an already paired device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Inoue into the system of Thi to allow the system to easily identify devices are available to be paired with.
Conclusion
/PHY ANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438