DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed June 17, 2025. Claims 4-7 and 19-21 are currently pending, with Claim 4 being amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed November 28, 2025, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 28, 2025, with respect to the rejections of Claims 4-7 and 19-21 under Levasseur, in view of Sonoura, Ulbrich, and Tanaka have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, Levasseur, and Tanaka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0067510 A1, to Ulbrich, et al (hereinafter referred to as Ulbrich; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0202388 A1, to Sonoura, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sonoura; previously of record).
As per Claim 4, Ulbrich discloses the features of a transporter (e.g. Paragraphs [0009],-[0010]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has a load platform for transporting loads) comprising
an autonomous mobile robot configured to transport a transport object,
(e.g. Paragraphs [0009],-[0010]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has a load platform for transporting loads)
the transport object including a plurality of wheels provided under the transport object (e.g. Paragraph [0129]; Figures 6A-C; where the trolley (200) has trolley wheels (139) disposed under the trolley (i.e. a transport object)), the autonomous mobile robot comprising:
a driver configured to cause the autonomous mobile robot to move (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0111]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has drive wheels, which are controlled by a control unit for movement of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT));
a first detector attached to a first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0111]; Figure 1; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) includes a load platform (12) which is adjustable in height and comprises a height adjustment sensor (39)),
the first position being a position in height at which a surrounding existence object is not present (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0111], [0114], [0184], [0287]; where the load platform has a height sensor allowing the height of the load to be detected, and the height to be varied, and where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has at least one sensor above the load platform to scan the depth of the row of trolleys or determine if a row is empty (i.e. scans above the height of the detected objects)),
the surrounding existence object being an object other than an environment inherence object, the surrounding existence object being changeable in position or shape (e.g. Paragraphs [0024], [0036], [0129], [0151], [0278]; where the sensors can detect obstacles/ persons in the vicinity of the vehicle, and when a person or trolley is recognized (i.e. detects a movable object), the sensor passes the information about the person to the controller to determine if the autonomous vehicle needs to reduce speed (i.e. determines surrounding existence objects that are moveable in position or shape); and where the system may evaluate detected positions data of moving objects over time; and when the obstacle is determined to be static, the obstacle is evaluated to determine whether these obstacles have a straight edge, such as a wall (151) (i.e. detects environment inherence objects that are not movable)),
the first detector being configured to scan the environment inherence object as a first object (e.g. Paragraphs [0033], [0040], [0122]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) uses its sensor technology to scan the area where the load is to be transported, to identify a row, identification codes, Aruco markers around the robot, etc. or scans for obstacles (i.e. environment inherence objects)),
the environment inherence object not being movable (e.g. Paragraphs [0024], [0036], [0129], [0151], [0278]; where the sensors can detect obstacles/ persons in the vicinity of the vehicle, and when a person or trolley is recognized (i.e. detects a movable object), the sensor passes the information about the person to the controller to determine if the autonomous vehicle needs to reduce speed (i.e. determines surrounding existence objects that are moveable in position or shape); and where the system may evaluate detected positions data of moving objects over time; and when the obstacle is determined to be static, the obstacle is evaluated to determine whether these obstacles have a straight edge, such as a wall (151) (i.e. detects environment inherence objects that are not movable)),
the first detector being configured to obtain first data by scanning the environment inherence object at a first region around the autonomous mobile robot (e.g. Paragraphs [0033], [0040], [0122]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) uses its sensor technology to scan the area where the load is to be transported, to identify a row, identification codes, Aruco markers around the robot, etc. or scans for obstacles (i.e. environment inherence objects));
a second detector attached to a second position (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]-[0015]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) includes sensor technology configured to detect a load on the platform, a position of the load on the platform,
the second detector being configured to obtain second data by scanning a second object at a second region around the autonomous mobile robot (e.g. Paragraphs [0033], [0040], [0122]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) uses its sensor technology to scan the area where the load is to be transported, to identify a row, identification codes, Aruco markers around the robot, etc. or scans for obstacles (i.e. environment inherence objects)),
the second position being lower than the first position in a height direction of the transporter (e.g. Paragraph [0111]; Figure 1; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has a sensor unit (17) at the end of the load platform (12) at a different position than other sensors such as the load sensor (21) or the height adjustment sensor (14) located on the superstructure of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT)),
the second object being different from the environment inherence object, the second object being a movable object (e.g. Paragraphs [0024], [0036], [0129], [0151], [0278]; where the sensors can detect obstacles/ persons in the vicinity of the vehicle, and when a person or trolley is recognized (i.e. detects a movable object), the sensor passes the information about the person to the controller to determine if the autonomous vehicle needs to reduce speed (i.e. determines surrounding existence objects that are moveable in position or shape); and where the system may evaluate detected positions data of moving objects over time; and when the obstacle is determined to be static, the obstacle is evaluated to determine whether these obstacles have a straight edge, such as a wall (151) (i.e. detects environment inherence objects that are not movable));
a localization estimation part configured to calculate an estimated position of the autonomous mobile robot in a region in which the transporter travels, in accordance with the first data detector (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0128]; where the system can detect an obstacle in the vicinity of the autonomous vehicle, and localize itself based on a determination of static and moving objects in the location, and can determine a waiting position based on the detection and likelihood of moving objects within the path),
the estimated position calculated by the localization estimation part not being affected by obstacles serving as the second object detected by the second detector (e.g. Paragraph [0128]; where the system can detect an obstacle in the vicinity of the autonomous vehicle, and localize itself based on a determination of static and moving objects in the location, and can determine a waiting position based on the detection and likelihood of moving objects within the path (i.e. the vehicle can localize itself based on the status of detected objects));
a route-generating part configured to calculate a position of the second object present around the autonomous mobile robot in accordance with the second data (e.g. Paragraphs [0127], [0151], [0248]; where the movement planner (115) is used for planning the route of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT), and the route can be re-planned based on the presence of a detected obstacle), the route-generating part being configured to
calculate a route to a target position in accordance with the estimated position of the autonomous mobile robot in the region and the position of the second object (e.g. Paragraphs [0127], [0151], [0248], [0271]; where the movement planner (115) is used for planning the route of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT), and the route can be re-planned based on the presence of a detected obstacle or the movement of other autonomous industrial truck (AIT’s), the route-generating part being configured to
generate an obstacle-avoiding route to the target position in accordance with the first data and the second data thereby the obstacle-avoiding route causing the transporter to avoid the obstacles (e.g. Paragraphs [0019], [0043], [0131], [0236]; where the vehicle can localize itself to its environment, and the system determines the amount of energy required to drive around obstacles, implement obstacle avoidance);
a control part configured to control the driver in accordance with the obstacle-avoiding route (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0116]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has drive wheels, which are controlled by a control unit for movement of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT)), the control part being configured to
cause the autonomous mobile robot to travel to the target position on the obstacle-avoiding route (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0019], [0116], [0133]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) has drive wheels, which are controlled by a control unit for movement of the autonomous industrial truck (AIT); and where the AIT can calculate its own path to be traveled based on the use of a self-location module, send the information to the movement planter, which sends the instructions to the control unit to adjust speed, direction, and orientation of the wheels); and
a third detector configured to obtain third data associated with positions of the plurality of the wheels (e.g. Paragraphs [0035], [0039], [0118], [0131]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) detects a trolley, and the AIT moves up to the trolley for moves the load platform below it, such that the AIT can line up with the load such that the support points of wheels of the trolley are reliably lifted from the ground using a sensor (21) for detecting a load on the platform (i.e. obtains position data of the wheels of the transport object)), wherein the control part is configured to
control the driver in accordance with the third data (e.g. Paragraphs [0035], [0131]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) detects a trolley, and the AIT moves up to the trolley for moves the load platform below it) to ‘…’
wherein the plurality of the wheels includes a first pair of wheels and a second pair of wheels (e.g. Paragraph [0129]; Figures 6A-C, 13 A; where the trolley comprises two sets of paired wheels), and
a first distance between the first pair of wheels facing each other in a travel direction of the transport object is different from a second distance between the second pair of wheels facing each other in a direction orthogonal to the travel direction (e.g. Paragraphs [0030], [0036]; Figure 13A; where the wheels on the trolley in the direction of travel are a certain distance from each other, and may have a width of 40 cm, for example (i.e., the short side of the trolley), and the wheels are a different distance in the orthogonal direction from each other, and the trolley may have a depth of 60 cm, for example (i.e., the long side of the trolley) (i.e., the trolley is rectangular));
determine an insertion direction of the autonomous mobile robot based on an asymmetry between the first distance and the second distance (e.g. Paragraphs [0034], [0038]-[0039], [0119]; where the sensor technology on the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) detects the position of a marking or guide line, and the AIT performs a travel maneuver to position itself parallel to the trolleys in a row and orienting itself using the guidelines to line up with a respect trolley based on the detected direction of the row of trolleys);
generate a docking route in which the autonomous mobile robot is inserted in the insertion direction between the plurality of wheels in accordance with the third data (e.g. Paragraphs [0020], [0060], [0127]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) automatically enters a charging station when the energy level is low, and can be charged directly when interacting with a machine (e.g., while picking up a load), and where the charging periods can be used by the movement planner for planning its own routes and charging periods); and
control the driver in accordance with the docking route and cause the autonomous mobile robot to be disposed at the transport object (e.g. Paragraphs [0020], [0060], [0127]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) automatically enters a charging station when the energy level is low, and can be charged directly when interacting with a machine (e.g., while picking up a load), and where the charging periods can be used by the movement planner for planning its own routes and charging periods).
Ulbrich fails to disclose every feature of wherein the control part is configured to cause the autonomous mobile robot to be disposed between a pair of the wheels of the plurality of the wheels,
However, Sonoura, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an unmanned transport vehicle, where the controller (60) controls the movement controller (61) such that the unmanned transport vehicle (1) moves toward below the loading portion (910) of the transport object (900) (for example, toward a space between two casters (920) of the transport object (900), and the controller detects the width (W2) of the transport-object (900) (e.g. Paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the autonomous industrial truck of Ulbrich, with the feature of determining the location of the wheels in the system of Sonoura, in order to improve determination of obstacle detection of an object (see at least Paragraph [0003] of Sonoura).
As per Claim 5, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, and Ulbrich further discloses the features of wherein the autonomous mobile robot is a transfer carriage configured to transport the transport object (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0017], [0030]; where the autonomous industrial truck (AIT) comprises a load platform for transporting loads).
As per Claim 19, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, and Ulbrich further discloses the features of wherein the first object is at least one of a wall, a pillar, and a corner of a building (e.g. Paragraphs [0151], [0278], [0280]; where the system can detect an obstacle in the vicinity of the autonomous vehicle, and determines that the obstacle is now static or temporarily static; where stationary objects are detected and evaluated to determine whether these obstacles have a straight edge, just as a wall (151) (e.g. Paragraphs [0151], [0278], [0280]).
As per Claim 20, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, and Ulbrich further discloses the features of wherein the first detector is configured to scan the first object in a predetermined angle range in a planar direction around the first detector and obtain first data at a plurality of points (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0131], [0278]; where the autonomous vehicle is configured in such a way that the angle of coverage of the rear LIDAR is varied, and switched to a narrower field of view when the autonomous vehicle has picked up a load; and where the LIDARS have an angle to the vertical is between 5-20 degrees).
As per Claim 21, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, and Ulbrich further discloses the features of wherein the first detector and the third detector are disposed on opposite sides of the autonomous mobile robot, and the second detector is disposed at a position higher than a position of the third detector (e.g. Figure 1; where the autonomous vehicle is configured to have vertical LIDAR sensors (16), forward infrared sensors (28), and rear-facing sensors (17) (i.e. first, second, and third detectors), on opposite sides of the vehicle, where the vertical LIDAR (16) is higher than the rear-facing sensors (17)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulbrich, in view of U.S. Sonoura, at applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0331905 A1, to Levasseur, et al (hereinafter referred to as Levasseur; previously of record).
As per Claim 6, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, but the combination of Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, fails to teach every feature of wherein the first detector is adjustable in height to be higher than the position in height of the surrounding existence object serving the movable object.
However, Levasseur, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a robot for stacking elements, where the sensors (36a, 36c) may be located on and movable with, the end-effector (i.e. adjustable in height) to detect and image elements, such as a pallet or container or fixed device, so that a sensor will not be blocked by the detected elements (e.g. Paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the autonomous industrial truck of Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, with the feature of having a sensor that can be adjusted in height in the system of Levasseur, in order to enable capturing of elements and enable the robot to detect and to image elements (see at least Paragraph [0036] of Levasseur).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. 2002200587 A, to Tanaka (hereinafter referred to as Tanaka; previously of record).
As per Claim 7, Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, teaches the features of Claim 4, but the combination of Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, fails to teach every feature of wherein the first detector is provided at a position in height higher than 1.8 m.
However, Tanaka teaches a carry device for a robot, where the height of the carrier device in the extended state is 1.8m (e.g. Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the autonomous industrial truck of Ulbrich, in view of Sonoura, with the feature of having a sensor at a predetermined height in the system of Tanaka, in order to allow the vehicle to determine the height of an object with the feature of having a sensor that can be adjusted in height in the system of Levasseur, in order to lift up the carrying device (see at least Paragraph [0010] of Tanaka).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ichinose, et al (U.S. 2017/0285644 A1), which teaches an autonomous forklift, where the system adjusts the height of sensors to be able to see over a load and to be able to line up the forks to load a pallet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT E LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666