DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 27th 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status:
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9-12 are pending.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 2-3 and 8 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claim 12 is newly added.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 12 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite, because the limitation of “… performed immediately after the step e)…” is dependent on “…e) increasing the welding current second at a second rate of current increase, being lower than the first rate of current increase, after the step d)…” period. Since “…e) increasing the welding current second at a second rate of current increase, being lower than the first rate of current increase, after the step d)…” is not fixed and the term “immediately” is also a relative term, furthermore there is not disclosure of what is considered “immediately” in the specification, such that it is unclear when actually the “step e)” is considered as started and how “immediately” “step b)” start performed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, and through best understanding of the drawing such as fig.3 and 5, Examiner assumed that such limitation is intended to start as soon as the welding current increase rate change to a second rate. If applicant find such assumption is not accurate, it is suggested to further clarify the start and end of “step b)” and “step e)”.
Claims 4-7 and 9 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peter (US2018/0214966A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Peter.
Regarding claim 12, Peter discloses an arc welding method (refer to fig.1, 6 and 17-18) in which a welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) serving as a consumable electrode (refer to fig.6 for “E” is consumable) is fed toward a base material (refer to “w” in fig.1), and a welding current (refer to “I” in fig.17-18) in a pulse (refer to the pulse form of “I” in fig.17-18) form alternately including a peak current (refer to any peak in “I” in fig.17-18) and a base current (refer to any lower “I” in fig.17-18) smaller than the peak current (refer to any peak in “I” in fig.17-18) is caused to flow through the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) to generate an arc between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) to weld the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1), the arc welding method comprising (refer to fig.1, 6 and 17-18) the steps of:
a) detecting a short-circuit between the welding wire and the base material (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”); and
b) changing a feeding speed (refer to “WFS” in fig.17-18) of the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) from a first feeding speed (refer to “WFS” before the point “A” in fig.17-18) to a second feeding speed (refer to “WFS” between “A” and “B” in fig.17-18) on a negative side from the first feeding speed (refer to “WFS” before the point “A” in fig.17-18) when a speed in a direction (refer to “WFS” from “A” reduce to “B” in the negative values in fig.17-18) in which the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) is fed toward the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) is defined as positive after the short-circuit (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”).
c) increasing the welding current (refer to “I” in fig.17-18) after a predetermined short-circuit standby time elapses (refer to period #1722 in fig.17) from a time point (the time point “A” in fig.17-18) at which the short-circuit (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”), wherein the step b) (refer to point “A” is before the increase of “I” after period #1722 in fig.17) is performed after the step c) (refer to the “I” increase after period #1722 in fig.17 and compare to “WFS” is start before period #1722 in fig.18) is started,
h) detecting an integrated power value obtained by integrating power (refer to “power” in Paragraph 0073 cited below) supplied to the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) from a time point (refer to “A” in fig.17-18) at which the short-circuit between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”); and i) reducing and controlling the welding current (refer to “I” dropped from #1723 to #1724 in fig.17) after the step c) is started and then the integrated power value (refer to “power” in Paragraph 0073 cited below) derived in the step h) reaches a predetermined integrated power threshold (refer to Paragraph 0073 cited: “…a threshold value for voltage and/or power can be set so that when the detected voltage or power surpasses the voltage and/or power threshold the change in polarity is initiated…” and “…By detecting and utilizing the instantaneous power and/or voltage and comparing that to a threshold value…”),
wherein the step b) (refer to “step b start”) is performed after the step c) (refer to “step C start” in fig.18) is started.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter (US2018/0214966A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Peter, in view of Fujiwara et al (US2012/0145691A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Fujiwara.
Regarding claim 1, Peter discloses an arc welding method (refer to fig.1, 6 and 17-18) in which a welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) serving as a consumable electrode (refer to fig.6 for “E” is consumable) is fed toward a base material (refer to “w” in fig.1), and a welding current (refer to “I” in fig.17-18) in a pulse (refer to the pulse form of “I” in fig.17-18) form alternately including a peak current (refer to any peak in “I” in fig.17-18) and a base current (refer to any lower “I” in fig.17-18) smaller than the peak current (refer to any peak in “I” in fig.17-18) is caused to flow through the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) to generate an arc between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) to weld the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1), the arc welding method comprising (refer to fig.1, 6 and 17-18) the steps of:
a) detecting a short-circuit between the welding wire and the base material (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”); and
b) changing a feeding speed (refer to “WFS” in fig.17-18) of the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) from a first feeding speed (refer to “WFS” before the point “A” in fig.17-18) to a second feeding speed (refer to “WFS” between “A” and “B” in fig.17-18) on a negative side from the first feeding speed (refer to “WFS” before the point “A” in fig.17-18) when a speed in a direction (refer to “WFS” from “A” reduce to “B” in the negative values in fig.17-18) in which the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) is fed toward the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) is defined as positive after the short-circuit (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “w” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”).
c) increasing the welding current (refer to “I” in fig.17-18) after a predetermined short-circuit standby time elapses (refer to period #1722 in fig.17) from a time point (the time point “A” in fig.17-18) at which the short-circuit (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”), wherein the step b) (refer to point “A” is before the increase of “I” after period #1722 in fig.17) is performed after the step c) (refer to the “I” increase after period #1722 in fig.17 and compare to “WFS” is start before period #1722 in fig.18) is started.
k) detecting opening of the short-circuit (refer to #1724 in fig.17) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1); and
l) returning the feeding speed of the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) from the second feeding speed to the first feeding speed (refer to “C” and “D” in fig.18) after the opening of the short-circuit (refer to #1724 in fig.17) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step k).
d) increasing the welding current (refer to “I” in fig. 17-18) first at a first rate of current increase (refer to “I” increased after period #1722 in fig.17), being predetermined, after the short-circuit standby time (refer to period #1722, fig.17) elapses from a time point (refer the time of “A” in fig.17-18) when the short-circuit (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”) between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”); and
e) increasing the welding current second at a second rate of current increase (refer to “I” in fig.17 on period from “I” remain flat at period #1723), being lower than the first rate of current increase (refer to period #1723 rate of current increase is 0 and period from “I” after period #1724 rate of current increase), after the step d), and the step b) is performed after the step e) (refer to fig.17 and 18).
Peter does not disclose the exact procedural steps of: e) increase the welding current second at a second rate of current increase, being lower than the first rate of current increase, after step d), wherein the step b) is performed immediately after the step e) is started.
In the similar field of arc welding method, Fujiwara discloses the exact procedural steps of: e) increase the welding current second at a second rate of current increase, being lower than the first of current increase (refer to annotated “step e)” in fig.1 below), after step d) (refer to annotated “step d)” in fig.1 below), wherein the step b) is performed immediately after the step e) is started (refer to annotated “step b)” in fig.1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Peter’s method with e) increase the welding current second at a second rate of current increase, being lower than the first rate of current increase, after step d), wherein the step b) is performed immediately after the step e) is started, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to provide a more efficient and better controlled short-circuit control, providing stable splattering, such that would improve welding quality (refer to abstract).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Peter and Fujiwara discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Peter further discloses further comprising the steps of:
f) detecting a constriction having occurred in a droplet formed between the welding wire and the base material (refer to Paragraph 0044 cited: “…FIG. 6 illustrates the exploding spatter process that was discovered using high speed video technology in a free-flight transfer process having a tethered connection. A high peak pulse (e.g., 510) causes a ball of molten metal 610 to push out towards the workpiece W creating a narrow tether 620 between the ball 610 and the electrode E. As the ball 610 flies toward the workpiece W across the arc, the tether 620 narrows and, eventually, a short occurs between the electrode E and the workpiece W through the tether 620. This condition tends to occur for almost every pulse period in an operation where the welding electrode operates very close to the workpiece. In particular, it was discovered that for a free-flight transfer pulse welding process, the tether 620 creates an incipient short and a large amount of current can begin to flow through the narrow tether 620 …”); and
g) reducing and controlling the welding current after the step c) is started and the constriction is then detected in the step f) (refer to Paragraph 0085 cited: “…After the low current level 1722 the current is increased to a pinch peak current level 1723, which can be in the range of 300 to 500 amps, and is maintained for a duration until droplet separation is predicted or detected. At separation the current level is dropped quickly to a level 1724 similar to that of the background current 1721 …”).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Peter and Fujiwara discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Peter further discloses further comprising the steps of: h) detecting an integrated power value obtained by integrating power (refer to “power” in Paragraph 0073 cited below) supplied to the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) from a time point (refer to “A” in fig.17-18) at which the short-circuit between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to “A” in fig.17-18 and Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A)…”); and i) reducing and controlling the welding current (refer to “I” dropped from #1723 to #1724 in fig.17) after the step c) is started and then the integrated power value (refer to “power” in Paragraph 0073 cited below) derived in the step h) reaches a predetermined integrated power threshold (refer to Paragraph 0073 cited: “…a threshold value for voltage and/or power can be set so that when the detected voltage or power surpasses the voltage and/or power threshold the change in polarity is initiated…” and “…By detecting and utilizing the instantaneous power and/or voltage and comparing that to a threshold value…”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Peter and Fujiwara discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Peter further discloses comprising the step of: j) determining whether the integrated power value is greater than the predetermined threshold (refer to Paragraph 0073 cited: “…a threshold value for voltage and/or power can be set so that when the detected voltage or power surpasses the voltage and/or power threshold the change in polarity is initiated…” and “…By detecting and utilizing the instantaneous power and/or voltage and comparing that to a threshold value…”).
Peter does not explicitly discloses wherein the predetermined threshold is a fix value.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have set the threshold to a fix value, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to MPEP 716.02(f).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Peter and Fujiwara discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Peter further discloses further comprising wherein the step b) is performed after a predetermined short-circuit standby time (refer to #1722 and refer to Paragraph 0085 cited: “…the low level 1722 is maintained for a duration in the range of 0.2 to 8 ms…”) elapses from a time point (refer as “A” in fig.17-18) at which the short-circuit between the welding wire (refer to “E” in fig.1) and the base material (refer to “W” in fig.1) is detected in the step a) (refer to Paragraph 0089 cited: “…the short is confirmed at the point the pinch pulse current reaches its peak (point A). After this point, the wire direction is reversed to a retraction speed B …”).
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Peter and Fujiwara discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Peter already discloses in Claim 1 rejection, wherein the second feeding speed increases negatively (refer to “B” to “C” in fig. 18) as the first feeding speed increases positively (refer to “”A” to “B” in fig.18).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed February 27th 2026 have been fully considered but most of the argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited secondary Prior art Fujiwara et al (US2012/0145691A1).
Regarding to the argument on “integrated power value”, applicant argued that the prior art of record’s “power” is not an “integrated power value” by citing specification Paragraph 0070 (summarized).
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitation from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (refer to MPEP 2145. VI). In this case, the term “integrated power value” is broad and open for interpretation, any calculation of the “power” that involve multiple different values can be considered as “integrated”, such as prior art of record Peter teaching of “Power”, the computation of “power” itself is related to function or equation, such that it is teaching integration, and integrating a power value (referring to Merriam-Webster dictionary definition of “integrated”1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koga et al (US6627850) discloses an arc welding method that teaches the control of welding current, voltage and wire feeding, may read on the newly amended limitation of “…wherein the step b) is performed immediately after the step e) is started…”.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 July 14th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 Refer to NPL online webpage of INTEGRATED Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/integrated) for definition, cited: “to find the integral of (something, such as a function or equation)”