DETAILED ACITON
Pre-appeal conference
A conference has been held on April 1st 2026. The rejection is withdrawn and a new office action and new ground of rejection are made as follow:
Claims status:
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending.
Claims 5 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are examined as follow:
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is encouraged to understand the important examiner interpretation below:
It is expressed that the limitation “integrated” or “integrating” does not carry any patentable weight, because in the broadest reasonable interpretation such that any prior art with a value that is calculated or accumulated or even estimate would teach such limitation. Furthermore, if there is any sensor or detection throughout a time period, such value too would teach “integrated” or “integrating”.
It is suggested to further amend in and clarify what actually considered as “integrated”. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP4760053B2 (previously cited from the present application specification) herein set forth as JP0053B2, in view of Henry et al (US2014/0263241A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Henry.
Regarding claim 1, JP0053B2 discloses an arc welding method performed by a processor (control mean 20 Fig.1) executing a program stored on a non-transitory memory (#16, fig.1), the arc welding method including alternately repeating a short- circuit period provided with a short-circuit state where a welding wire and a base material are short-circuited, and an arc period provided with an arc state where an arc is generated between the welding wire and the base material, the arc welding method comprising the steps of:
a) calculating, using the processor (control mean 20 Fig.1), a voltage value by integrating power supplied to the welding wire within a predetermined period after the welding wire is short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.”);
b) reducing, using the processor, a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire. (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “… when a constriction (so-called neck) occurs between a welding wire and a melted portion of a base material, a sectional area decreases at the neck portion to cause a resistance value to increase. Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control. For this reason, when occurrence of the neck is detected based on the variation of voltage, a welding current is reduced immediately before opening of a short-circuit to reduce occurrence of spatters. …”).
However, JP0053B2 does not clearly discloses calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period; and b) reducing, using the processor, a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire when the integrated power value is larger than a predetermined threshold.
In the similar field of arc welding, Henry discloses calculating an integrated power value (integrated power value in claim 2 and 4 cited below) by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period (refer to claim 2 cited: “…wherein the wave shape generator comprises logic to: define a negative polarity component during a negative polarity portion of the high frequency pulses; integrate the sensed power during the negative polarity portion to determine an integrated power value during the negative polarity portion; compare the integrated power value to a predetermined value; and end the negative polarity portion when the integrated parameter value reaches the predetermined value. …” and claim 4 cited “…wherein the integrated power value is a total energy generated at the gap during the negative polarity portion…” );
b) reducing, using the processor (refer as the wave shape generator cited in claim 2 above), a welding current (refer to the current in fig.6) to be supplied to the welding wire (refer as “E” in fig. 1) when the integrated power value (refer to the “power” in fig.6) is larger than a predetermined threshold (refer to the peak point of “power” in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period; and b) reducing, using the processor, a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire when the integrated power value is larger than a predetermined threshold, as taught by Henry, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the welding current and power, such that tracking of the changes throughout the welding process is easier and better, therefore allowing a better welding process and better operating experience of the invention.
Regarding claim 2, , the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 further discloses the start of the predetermined period is after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003, cited: “…Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control…”, Examiner note: the term “when the neck is generated” is after the short-circuit started ).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 further discloses after the voltage value started, the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003, cited: “…Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control…”, Examiner note: the term “when the neck is generated” is after the short-circuit started ).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 further discloses further comprising the step of determining, using the processor (control mean #20, fig.1), whether the voltage is larger than a predetermined threshold. wherein the predetermined threshold is determined for each welding condition (refer to attached NPL translation of JP0053B2 mailed on April 10th 2025 Page 4 2nd Paragraph Cited: “…a control method for an arc welding apparatus of the present invention includes the steps of detecting a welding voltage, a step of calculating the amount of change per predetermined time of the welding voltage per predetermined time of the welding voltage A step of determining the constriction of the droplet based on the change amount of the droplet and the threshold value for determining the constriction of the droplet, a step of storing the current state when it is determined to be constricted, and a welding voltage after determining the constriction Determining whether it is an arc period or a short-circuit period, and performing a current control from the stored current state when it is determined that it is a short-circuit period after elapse of a predetermined period after determining the constriction, and storing the stored This step includes a step of prohibiting the determination of whether the current period is the arc period or the short circuit period from the time when the current control is performed from the current state.…”).
JP0053B2 does not disclose the use of integrated power value.
However, in claim 1 rejection above, Henry already discloses the use of integrated power value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied to the welding wire, as taught by Henry, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the welding and the tracking of the changes throughout the welding process.
Regarding claim 6, JP0053B2 discloses an arc welding device (refer to fig.1) that performs welding including alternately repeating a short-circuit period provided with a short-circuit state where a welding wire and a base material are short-circuited, and an arc period provided with an arc state where an arc is generated between the welding wire and the base material, the arc welding device (refer to fig.1) comprising:
a processor (control mean #20, fig.1); and a memory storing (#16, fig.1) a program, which when executed by the processor (control mean #20, fig.1), causes the processor (control mean #20, fig.1) to perform
calculating voltage value by integrating power supplied to the welding wire within a predetermined period after the welding wire is short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.”); and
reducing a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.
Specifically, when a constriction (so-called neck) occurs between a welding wire and a melted portion of a base material, a sectional area decreases at the neck portion to cause a resistance value to increase. Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control. For this reason, when occurrence of the neck is detected based on the variation of voltage, a welding current is reduced immediately before opening of a short-circuit to reduce occurrence of spatters. …”).
However, JP0053B2 does not discloses an arc welding method performed by a processor executing a program stored on a non-transitory memory; calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period; reducing a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire when the integrated power value is larger than a predetermined threshold.
In the similar field of arc welding, Henry discloses calculating an integrated power value (integrated power value in claim 2 and 4 cited below) by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period (refer to claim 2 cited: “…wherein the wave shape generator comprises logic to: define a negative polarity component during a negative polarity portion of the high frequency pulses; integrate the sensed power during the negative polarity portion to determine an integrated power value during the negative polarity portion; compare the integrated power value to a predetermined value; and end the negative polarity portion when the integrated parameter value reaches the predetermined value. …” and claim 4 cited “…wherein the integrated power value is a total energy generated at the gap during the negative polarity portion…” );
Reducing a welding current (refer to the current in fig.6) to be supplied to the welding wire (refer as “E” in fig. 1) when the integrated power value (refer to the “power” in fig.6) is larger than a predetermined threshold (refer to the peak point of “power” in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with can arc welding method performed by a processor executing a program stored on a non-transitory memory; calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied within a predetermined period; reducing a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire when the integrated power value is larger than a predetermined threshold, as taught by Henry, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the welding current and power, such that tracking of the changes throughout the welding process is easier and better, therefore allowing a better welding process and better operating experience of the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, JP0053B2 and Henry does not explicitly discloses a plurality of the arc welding devices, wherein cables on a ground side in the plurality of the arc welding devices are each connected to the base material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP0053B2, and Henry’s device with a plurality of the arc welding devices, wherein cables on a ground side in the plurality of the arc welding devices are each connected to the base material, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of duplication of parts, refer to In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In order to increase arc welding operation path, coverage areas and multiple welding areas and zones can be achieved.
Regarding clam 8, the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, JP0053B2 further discloses further comprising the step of determining, using the processor (control mean #20, fig.1), whether the voltage is larger than a predetermined threshold. wherein the predetermined threshold is determined for each welding condition (refer to attached NPL translation of JP0053B2 mailed on April 10th 2025 Page 4 2nd Paragraph Cited: “…a control method for an arc welding apparatus of the present invention includes the steps of detecting a welding voltage, a step of calculating the amount of change per predetermined time of the welding voltage per predetermined time of the welding voltage A step of determining the constriction of the droplet based on the change amount of the droplet and the threshold value for determining the constriction of the droplet, a step of storing the current state when it is determined to be constricted, and a welding voltage after determining the constriction Determining whether it is an arc period or a short-circuit period, and performing a current control from the stored current state when it is determined that it is a short-circuit period after elapse of a predetermined period after determining the constriction, and storing the stored This step includes a step of prohibiting the determination of whether the current period is the arc period or the short circuit period from the time when the current control is performed from the current state.…”).
JP0053B2 does not disclose the use of integrated power value.
However, in claim 1 rejection above, Henry already discloses the use of integrated power value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with calculating an integrated power value by integrating power supplied to the welding wire, as taught by Henry, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the welding and the tracking of the changes throughout the welding process (refer to Paragraph 0002 cited: “…Conventional welding equipment displays instantaneous power on the user interface, where it is can be difficult for user to track changes of power throughout the weld and to measure overall heat input into a weld. This is even more difficult if the user is also responsible for performing the weld. Other conventional welding equipment displays accumulated energy as the weld progresses, but the display is not friendly to track changes of heat input based on location within a weld.…”).
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP4760053B2 (cited in the pending application’s specification previously cited) herein set forth as JP0053B2, , in view of Henry et al (US2014/0263241A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Henry, and further in view of KAWAMOTO et al (US2018/0207739A1 previously cited) herein set forth as KAWAMOTO .
Regarding claim 4, the modification of JP0053B2 and Henry discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 and Henry does not explicitly disclose the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited.
In the field of improving and reducing splash in arc welding, KAWAMOTO discloses the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to Paragraph 0065 cited: “…In the short-circuit welding and the short-circuit welding in the hybrid welding, a forward feeding of welding wire 19 fed toward base material 22 and a reverse feeding of welding wire 19 fed away from base material 22 may be performed alternately. In this case, in a case where the short-circuit welding or the hybrid welding is selected by threshold values 28 and 29 stored in memory 15, while the short-circuit welding is performed, switch unit 23 can perform mechanical short-circuit and open by feeding welding wire 19 using the reverse feeding and repeating the short-circuit and the open between base material 22 and welding wire 19, thereby reducing spatter…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited, as taught by KAWAMOTO, in order to further improve and reduce splatter (refer to Paragraph 0065 cited: “…In the short-circuit welding and the short-circuit welding in the hybrid welding, a forward feeding of welding wire 19 fed toward base material 22 and a reverse feeding of welding wire 19 fed away from base material 22 may be performed alternately. In this case, in a case where the short-circuit welding or the hybrid welding is selected by threshold values 28 and 29 stored in memory 15, while the short-circuit welding is performed, switch unit 23 can perform mechanical short-circuit and open by feeding welding wire 19 using the reverse feeding and repeating the short-circuit and the open between base material 22 and welding wire 19, thereby reducing spatter…”), such that would improve the weld pot or weld joint itself, allowing a better end welding product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rice (US6703579B1) discloses an arcing control system that may teaches a lot of claim 1’s limitation.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 May 27th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761