DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending.
Claims 5 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are amended.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP4760053B2 (previously cited from the present application specification) herein set forth as JP0053B2, in view of NPL-Active power measurement in arc welding (newly cited) herein set forth as NPLPower.
Regarding claim 1, JP0053B2 discloses an arc welding method performed by a processor (control mean 20 Fig.1) executing a program stored on a non-transitory memory (#16, fig.1), the arc welding method including alternately repeating a short- circuit period provided with a short-circuit state where a welding wire and a base material are short-circuited, and an arc period provided with an arc state where an arc is generated between the welding wire and the base material, the arc welding method comprising the steps of:
a) calculating, using the processor (control mean 20 Fig.1), a voltage value supplied to the welding wire within a predetermined period after the welding wire over a period from a first time to a second time, the first time and the second time occurring during a short-circuit period when the welding wire is short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.”);
b) reducing, using the processor, a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire. (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “… when a constriction (so-called neck) occurs between a welding wire and a melted portion of a base material, a sectional area decreases at the neck portion to cause a resistance value to increase. Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control. For this reason, when occurrence of the neck is detected based on the variation of voltage, a welding current is reduced immediately before opening of a short-circuit to reduce occurrence of spatters. …”).
However, JP0053B2 does not clearly disclose calculating an integral power.
In the field of active power measurement for arc welding, NPLPower discloses calculating an integral power (refer to NPL page 3 cited: “…The concept of Eq. 1 is the integral of power (different from Eqs. 1 and 2), thus applicable to any current (DC and AC) and welding conditions (from steady constant current to unsteady pulsed current)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with calculating an integrated power value, as taught by NPLPower, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the heat transferred to the plate, such that tracking of the changes throughout the welding process is easier and better, therefore allowing a better weld and better product.
Regarding claim 2, , the modification of JP0053B2 and NPLPower discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 further discloses the first time occurs during the short-circuit period after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003, cited: “…Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control…”, Examiner note: the term “when the neck is generated” is after the short-circuit started ).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of JP0053B2 and NPLpower discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 further discloses first time occurs during the short-circuit period, the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003, cited: “…Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control…”, Examiner note: the term “when the neck is generated” is after the short-circuit started ).
Regarding claim 6, JP0053B2 discloses an arc welding device (refer to fig.1) that performs welding including alternately repeating a short-circuit period provided with a short-circuit state where a welding wire and a base material are short-circuited, and an arc period provided with an arc state where an arc is generated between the welding wire and the base material, the arc welding device (refer to fig.1) comprising:
a processor (control mean #20, fig.1); and a memory storing (#16, fig.1) a program, which when executed by the processor (control mean #20, fig.1), causes the processor (control mean #20, fig.1) to perform
calculating voltage value supplied to the welding wire over a period from a first time to a second time, the first time and the second time occurring during a short-circuit period when the welding wire is short-circuited (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.”); and
reducing a welding current to be supplied to the welding wire (refer to pending application’s Specification Paragraph 0002-0003 cited: “…PTL 1 discloses a method for controlling an arc welding device that calculates a variation of welding voltage per predetermined time, and determines a constriction of a droplet based on the variation of welding voltage per predetermined time and a constriction determination threshold of a droplet.
Specifically, when a constriction (so-called neck) occurs between a welding wire and a melted portion of a base material, a sectional area decreases at the neck portion to cause a resistance value to increase. Thus, when the neck is generated, the variation of welding voltage increases even though current increase is maintained constant by short-circuit control. For this reason, when occurrence of the neck is detected based on the variation of voltage, a welding current is reduced immediately before opening of a short-circuit to reduce occurrence of spatters. …”).
However, JP0053B2 does not clearly disclose calculating an integral power.
In the field of active power measurement for arc welding, NPLPower discloses calculating an integral power (refer to NPL page 3 cited: “…The concept of Eq. 1 is the integral of power (different from Eqs. 1 and 2), thus applicable to any current (DC and AC) and welding conditions (from steady constant current to unsteady pulsed current)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with calculating an integrated power value, as taught by NPLPower, in order to provide the benefit of better and easier control of the heat transferred to the plate, such that tracking of the changes throughout the welding process is easier and better, therefore allowing a better weld and better product.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of JP0053B2 and NPLPower discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, JP0053B2 and NPLPower does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the arc welding devices, wherein cables on a ground side in the plurality of the arc welding devices are each connected to the base material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP0053B2, and Henry’s device with a plurality of the arc welding devices, wherein cables on a ground side in the plurality of the arc welding devices are each connected to the base material, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of duplication of parts, refer to In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In order to increase arc welding operation path, coverage areas and multiple welding areas and zones can be achieved.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP4760053B2 (cited in the pending application’s specification previously cited) herein set forth as JP0053B2, , in view of NPL-Active power measurement in arc welding (newly cited) herein set forth as NPLPower, and further in view of KAWAMOTO et al (US2018/0207739A1 previously cited) herein set forth as KAWAMOTO .
Regarding claim 4, the modification of JP0053B2 and NPLPower discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP0053B2 and NPLPower does not explicitly disclose the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited.
In the field of improving and reducing splash in arc welding, KAWAMOTO discloses the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited (refer to Paragraph 0065 cited: “…In the short-circuit welding and the short-circuit welding in the hybrid welding, a forward feeding of welding wire 19 fed toward base material 22 and a reverse feeding of welding wire 19 fed away from base material 22 may be performed alternately. In this case, in a case where the short-circuit welding or the hybrid welding is selected by threshold values 28 and 29 stored in memory 15, while the short-circuit welding is performed, switch unit 23 can perform mechanical short-circuit and open by feeding welding wire 19 using the reverse feeding and repeating the short-circuit and the open between base material 22 and welding wire 19, thereby reducing spatter…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP0053B2’s method with the step of reversely feeding the welding wire after the welding current starts to increase after the welding wire has been short-circuited, or after a predetermined time elapses after the welding wire has been short-circuited, as taught by KAWAMOTO, in order to further improve and reduce splatter (refer to Paragraph 0065 cited: “…In the short-circuit welding and the short-circuit welding in the hybrid welding, a forward feeding of welding wire 19 fed toward base material 22 and a reverse feeding of welding wire 19 fed away from base material 22 may be performed alternately. In this case, in a case where the short-circuit welding or the hybrid welding is selected by threshold values 28 and 29 stored in memory 15, while the short-circuit welding is performed, switch unit 23 can perform mechanical short-circuit and open by feeding welding wire 19 using the reverse feeding and repeating the short-circuit and the open between base material 22 and welding wire 19, thereby reducing spatter…”), such that would improve the weld pot or weld joint itself, allowing a better end welding product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 28, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection by the newly cited secondary prior art NPL-Active power measurement in arc welding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL-Influence of weld imperfection on short circuit GMA welding arc stability discloses the teaching to monitor power value of the welding arc.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 October 13, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761