Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 10, 11 and 25] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20180199251 A1) in view of Damnjanovic (US 20160285775 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 11 Kim teaches sending multiple dynamic scheduling instructions to the terminal respectively in multiple times, wherein the dynamic scheduling instructions carries first configuration information, [0390] Priority handling function between terminals (Priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling) the first configuration information is used by the terminal to determine uplink transmission resources corresponding to small data to be sent, [0488] the message may include an indication as to whether to use the PDCP discard timer value to be used in the PDCP apparatus or the header-only packet, an indication as to whether the PDCP control PDU sends the information on the discarded packet due to the expiration of the timer to the PDCP status report, and the like, wherein the dynamic scheduling instruction is downlink control information (DCI); [0778] the SPS configuration information via the vehicle terminal-base link 5c-30 is included in the RRC message, the SPS can be activated by DCI transmission on the PDCCH (at step 5d-35), and consecutively receiving, by the target base station, multiple the small data transmitted [0231] The receiving side RLC layer apparatus stores the received RLC PDUs in the receiving buffer and then checks the SN to recognize the SN of the RLC PDU missed during the transmission. If the predetermined condition is satisfied, the receiving side RLC layer apparatus generates an RLC status report message and transmits the generated RLC status report message to the transmitting side RLC layer apparatus, by the terminal based on the multiple dynamic scheduling instructions while the terminal remains in an RRC-INACTIVE state; [0594] In above description, the light connected mode terminal may perform the general RRCConnectionSetup process (FIG. 3F) and perform the RRCConnectionResume process using the stored terminal context according to whether to support the light connection of the network. In the present disclosure, each base station or cell may transmit an indication as to whether or not each base station or cell supports the light connection by including the indication in the system information, and sending, by the target base station to the terminal, an RRC connection release message [0593] The terminal 3h-01 receiving the RRC connection release message at step 3h-10 including the information indicating the context retention and the resume ID may release the RRC connection, drive the timer corresponding to the expiration date and record a valid cell list in the memory, maintain the currently terminal context in the memory without deleting the currently terminal context (at step 3h-25) and may be shifted to the light connected mode, A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program, the processor is configured to execute the program to cause the terminal device [0314] The controller 1r-40 controls the overall operations of the terminal. The controller 1r-40 transmits and receives a signal through the baseband processor 1r-20 and the RF processor 1r-10.
Kim does not teach a small data transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a target base station, first indication information sent by a terminal, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the small data to be sent exists
However Damnjanovic does teach a small data transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a target base station, first indication information sent by a terminal, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the small data to be sent exists; [0082] UE may, in some examples, transmit a padding BSR in such remaining allocated resources, which may include additional information about remaining buffered packets (e.g., packet size and number of packets) that may be used by the scheduler to adapt subsequent uplink grants
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic and Kim before him or her, to modify the method of Kim to include indication information as taught by Damnjanovic.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve communication quality. (Paragraph 0062 by Damnjanovic)].
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Damnjanovic teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the target base station, an RRC resume request message sent by the terminal; [0595] The terminal 3h-01 transmits a Resume request message including the Resume ID received in step 3h-10 based on the received uplink resource information (at step 3h-50). The message may be a modified message of the RRCConnectionRequest message or a newly defined message (e.g., RRCConnectionResumeRequest) and obtaining, by the target base station, a first terminal identifier from the RRC resume request message, [0595] When the terminal 3h-01 in the light connected mode moves to camp on the cell of another base station by releasing the connection from the existing anchor eNB, e.g., base station 3h-02, (at step 3h-02), the new base station 3h-03 receives and confirms the Resume ID of the terminal, such that it can be appreciated from which base station the corresponding terminal receives a service previously, addressing, by the target base station, an anchor base station according to the first terminal identifier, and sending, by the target base station, a retrieve terminal context request message to the anchor base station, [0595] If the new base station 3h-03 successfully receives and confirms the Resume ID, it performs a procedure of retrieving the UE context from the existing base station 3h-02 (Context Retrieve Procedure at steps 3h-55 and 3h-60). The new base station 3h-03 may obtain the terminal context from the existing base station 3h-02 through the Si or X2 interface, wherein if the anchor base station determines to send the context of the terminal to the target base station, the target base station resumes the context of the terminal. [0595] When the terminal 3h-01 receives the normal RRCConnectionSetup message, the terminal 3h-01 establishes the RRC connection on the basis of the configuration information indicated in the RRC connection setup message, but when the terminal 3h-01 receives the RRCConnectionResume message, the terminal 3h-01 establishes (delta configuration) the RRC connection in consideration of both of the stored configuration information and the configuration information indicated in the control message.
Claim [3, 13 and 26] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Damnjanovic further in view Shih (US 20190349837 A1).
In regards to claim 3, 13 and 26, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of receiving, by the target base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, a first message sent by the terminal, wherein the first wherein the first message is MSG3 in a 4-step random access process, or the first message is MSGA in a 2-step random access process.
However, Shih does teach wherein the step of receiving, by the target base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, a first message sent by the terminal, wherein the first wherein the first message is MSG3 in a 4-step random access process, or the first message is MSGA in a 2-step random access process.
[0045] the SI request may be indicated using an MSG1-based approach. For example, the RA preamble that the UE transmits (e.g., during MSG1 transmission in the 4-step Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure, or during MSGA transmission in the 2-step RACH procedure) may correspond to the system information (e.g., SIB, SI message) requested by the UE. For example, the PRACH occasion(s) where the UE transmits the RA preamble (e.g., during MSG1 transmission in the 4-step RACH procedure, or during MSGA transmission in the 2-step RACH procedure) may be associated with the system information (e.g., SIB, SI message) requested by the UE. The UE may implicitly inform the base station of the requested system information (e.g., SIB, SI message) via the RA preamble and/or the PRACH occasion(s).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Park before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic, Kim to include transmission configurations as taught by Shih.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve broadcasting system. (Paragraph 0106 by Shih)].
Claim [4, 7, 14, 17 and 27] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Kim further in view of Jin (US 20180317114 A1).
In regards to claim 4 and 14, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of receiving, by the target base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a first MAC control element (CE) in a same MAC protocol data unit (PDU), and the first MAC CE carries the first indication information.
However, Jin does teach wherein the step of receiving, by the target base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a first MAC control element (CE) in a same MAC protocol data unit (PDU), and the first MAC CE carries the first indication information.
[0504] the MAC layer receives the uplink transmission resource 3f-30, the terminal may allocate the uplink transmission grant to each logical channel and multiplex the MAC SDUs and MAC sub-headers generated in advance. After receiving the uplink transmission resource from the base station, the terminal performs the logical channel prioritization (LCP) in the MAC layer, and allocates the uplink transmission resources to each logical channel.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Jin before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include transmission configurations as taught by Kim.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve efficiency of reporting data status. (Paragraph 0006 by Jin)].
In regards to claim 7 , 17 and 27, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of receiving, by the target base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a first MAC control element (CE) in a same MAC protocol data unit (PDU), and the first MAC CE carries the first indication information.
However, Jin does teach wherein the step, by the target base station, of receiving the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the target base station, a control PDU sent by the terminal, wherein the control PDU carries the first indication information; wherein the control PDU is a PDCP control PDU or an RLC control PDU.
[0094] The packet data convergence protocols (PDCPs) 1b-05 and 1b-40 performs operations such as compression/recovery of an IP header, and the radio link controls (hereinafter, referred to as RLC) 1b-10 and 1b-35 reconfigure a PDCP packet data unit (PDU) to be an appropriate size. The MACs 1b-15 and 1b-30 are connected to several RLC layer apparatuses configured in one terminal and perform an operation of multiplexing RLC PDUs into an MAC PDU and demultiplexing the RLC PDUs from the MAC PDU.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Jin before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include transmission configurations as taught by Kim.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve efficiency of reporting data status. (Paragraph 0006 by Jin)].
Claim [5, 15 and 28] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Kim further in view of Shin (US 20100150082 A1).
In regards to claim 5, 15 and 28, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of receiving, by the targe base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the targe base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a MAC SDU corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a second MAC CE in a same MAC PDU, the second MAC CE carries a buffer status report (BSR), and the BSR indicates that the packet data to be sent exists.
However, Shin does teach wherein the step of receiving, by the targe base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the targe base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a MAC SDU corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a second MAC CE in a same MAC PDU, the second MAC CE carries a buffer status report (BSR), and the BSR indicates that the packet data to be sent exists and/or the number of the packet data to be sent.
[0032] FIG. 3A is a diagram illustrating the structure of the Short-BSR CE and the Truncated-BSR CE. The Short-BSR CE or the Truncated-BSR CE includes one octet (8 bits). The first 2 bits 310 is a field indicating a logical channel group ID (LCG ID) where the BSR is performed. The field of the remaining 6 bits 320 indicates the size of packets remaining in the buffer corresponding to the total LCG after the MAC-PDU is generated.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Shin before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include transmission configurations as taught by Shin.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve system capacity. (Paragraph 0008 by Shin)].
Claim [6 and 16] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Damnjanovic further in view of Wang (US 20190320476 A1).
In regards to claim 6 and 16, Kim and Damnjanovic teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of receiving, by the targe base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the targe base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a MAC SDU corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a second MAC CE in a same MAC PDU, the second MAC CE carries a buffer status report (BSR), and the BSR indicates that the packet data to be sent exists and/or the number of the packet data to be sent.
However, Wang does teach wherein the step of receiving, by the targe base station, the first indication information sent by the terminal comprises: receiving, by the targe base station, uplink data or uplink signaling sent by the terminal, wherein a MAC SDU corresponding to the uplink data or the uplink signaling is multiplexed with a second MAC CE in a same MAC PDU, the second MAC CE carries a buffer status report (BSR), and the BSR indicates that the packet data to be sent exists and/or the number of the packet data to be sent.
[0184] Step 308, the base station receives user plane data, obtains QoS information of a data packet according to header information of the data packet, and the base station should have a QoS Flow to DRB mapping function. The mapping function module maps one or more QoS flows to a DRB, and a mapping principle mainly refers to QoS of the QoS Flow. For example, the packet header indicates QoS Flow-1. According to the saved QoS policy, the specific QoS requirement corresponding to QoS Flow-1 can be known, and a default DRB or a certain DRB that has been established can meet the QoS requirement. The base station may decide to send the data packet to the UE via an appropriate DRB. If there are multiple QoS Flows, e.g., QoS Flow-1, QoS Flow-2 and QoS Flow-3, where QoS Flow-1 and QoS Flow-3 have the same or close QoS requirements, the base station may map data of QoS Flow-1 and QoS Flow-3 to a same DRB to transmit. After data is processed by the mapping function, through processing in the layer 2, for example via the PDCP/RLC/MAC layer, it is sent to the UE through an air interface.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Wang before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include transmission configurations as taught by Wang.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve system transmission reliability. (Paragraph 0009 by Wang)].
Claim [23 and 24] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Kim further in view of Jeon (US 20200229241 A1).
In regards to claim 23, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of sending the first configuration information to the terminal by the target base station comprises: sending, by the target base station, a dynamic scheduling instruction to the terminal wherein the dynamic scheduling instruction carries the first configuration information; wherein the dynamic scheduling instruction is DCI.
However, Jeon does teach wherein the RRC resume request message is carried in MSG3 in a 4-step random access process, or the RRC resume request message is carried in the MSGA in a 2-step random access [0368] FIG. 19 shows an example of a two-step RA procedure. The two-step RA procedure may comprise an uplink (UL) transmission of a two-step Msg1 1920 that may comprise a random access preamble (RAP) transmission 1930 and one or more transport blocks transmission 1940, followed by a downlink (DL) transmission of a two-step Msg2 1950 that may comprise a response (e.g., random access response (RAR)) corresponding to the uplink transmission. The response may comprise contention resolution information. The two-step Msg1 1920 may be referred to as a message A (MsgA). The two-step Msg2 1950 may be referred to as a message B (MsgB).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Jeon before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include RRC configurations as taught by Jeon.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve wireless network. (Paragraph 0334 by Jeon)].
In regards to claim 24, Damnjanovic and Kim teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Damnjanovic and Kim does not teach wherein the step of sending the first configuration information to the terminal by the target base station comprises: sending, by the target base station, a dynamic scheduling instruction to the terminal wherein the dynamic scheduling instruction carries the first configuration information; wherein the dynamic scheduling instruction is DCI.
However, Jeon does teach if the anchor base station determines not to send the context of the terminal to the target base station, the anchor base station resumes the context of the terminal; [0333] A base station receiving one or more uplink packets from a wireless device in an RRC inactive state may request and/or receive (e.g., fetch) a context of a wireless device (e.g., UE context), for example, by sending (e.g., transmitting) a retrieve context request message for the wireless device to an anchor base station of the wireless device based on at least one of an AS context identifier, an RNA identifier, a base station identifier, a resume identifier, and/or a cell identifier received from the wireless device. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a path switch request for a wireless device to a core network entity (e.g., AMF, MME, and/or the like), for example, after or in response to requesting and/or receiving (e.g., fetching) a context. A core network entity may update a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for one or more bearers established for the wireless device between a user plane core network entity (e.g., UPF, S-GW, and/or the like) and a RAN node (e.g., the base station), such as by changing a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier from an address of the anchor base station to an address of the base station),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Damnjanovic, Kim and Jeon before him or her, to modify the method of Damnjanovic and Kim to include RRC configurations as taught by Jeon.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve wireless network. (Paragraph 0334 by Jeon)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but could be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event,
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466