DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 03/02/2026, claims 1 and 17 have been amended. Claims 20-23 and 25 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-19, 24, and 26-30 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the figures do not clearly show what component is the recited plate. Specification of the instant application does not describe a shield or a plate. Although Examiner assumes the recited plate is a semi-circular plate disposed at a bottom of the inlet structure 112 in fig. 3, specification has no description or a reference number, therefore, it is not clear which component is the recited plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the housing defining a shield … the shield defining a plate between the rotating component and the ground surface about a vertical axis” in lines 6-12 lacks written description requirement. Specification of the instant application does not describe a housing defines a shield in a form of a plate. Therefore, the phrase lacks the written description.
Claims 2-16 and 30 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumann et al. (US 4095398, hereinafter Aumann), in view of Lane (US 3971198) and Hall (US 3,091,906).
Regarding claim 1, Aumann discloses a debris collection machine (fig. 1, collecting assembly) comprising:
a) a vacuum assembly (col. 2:11-33, the collecting assembly utilizes a rotary movement of blades and a vacuum pump for generating negative pressure for debris collection) including:
i) a chassis including wheels mounted to the chassis (fig. 1, a body of the vacuum assembly comprises wheels), the wheels rotatable on a ground surface (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 below, the wheels allow the collecting assembly movable on a ground surface);
iii) a housing having an inlet and an outlet (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 below, a deck 26 [corresponds to the recited housing] of the vacuum assembly has an inlet and an outlet); and
iv) a rotating component having a plurality of blades, the rotating component being positioned within the housing between the inlet and outlet (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 below and col. 4:29-37, blades 28 are positioned within the housing between the inlet and outlet), the rotating component spaced above the inlet (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 below, the blades 28 are disposed within the deck 26 above a ground. A bottom of the cutting deck is the inlet, thus the blades 28 are spaced above the inlet);
b) a collection assembly in communication with the outlet of the housing of the vacuum assembly (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 below), the collection assembly including:
i) a support frame being sized and shaped to be received by a collection bag (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Parts I and II below, a top of a container means 14 forms a support frame that is sized and shaped to receive a disposable container element 68 [corresponds to the recited collection bag]. Fig. 4 shows a top view of a storage means 12. In considering figs. 2-4, the support frame should have generally a rectangular shape and each side of the support frame can be designated as a main frame); and
ii) a clamping section having an open position and a closed position, wherein, when in the closed position, the clamping section secures a portion of the collection bag between the clamping section and the support frame (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Parts I and II below and col. 4:52-56, a head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] having a clamping section at a bottom edge of the head portion 46; col. 5:59-65, the cover 46 can be removed in order to remove the filled collection bag 68. Therefore, the clamping section has an open position and a closed position. In the closed position shown above in the annotated Aumann fig. 2, Parts I and II, a portion of the collection bag 68 is clamped between the clamping section and the support frame).
But Aumann does not disclose explicitly the vacuum assembly includes a motor mounted to the chassis and the rotating component being powered by the motor. Although no disclosure is made, a structure shown under a reference number 18 in fig. 1 should be a motor or an engine.
Lane teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, a vacuum assembly of the machine includes a motor mounted to the chassis and the rotating component being powered by the motor (fig. 1 and col. 4:22-26, an engine 20 is mounted to a chassis of the debris collection machine, and the engine 20 rotates the blade).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the debris collection machine of Aumann to provide the motor as taught by Lane in order to create a partial vacuum for lifting debris (Lane, col. 1:21-26).
Aumann as modified by Lane does not disclose the housing defines a shield, the shield defining a plate between the rotating component and the ground surface about a vertical axis.
Hall teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the housing defines a shield, the shield defining a plate between the rotating component and the ground surface about a vertical axis (figs. 2-4, and col. 3:32-56, a housing 10 includes a plurality of blades 68 [correspond to the recited rotating component]. The blades 68 are not used for cutting glasses. A baffle 56 [corresponds to the recited shield] in a form of a plate is disposed between the blades 68 and ground surface along a vertical axis and the baffle 56 shields the blades 68)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the debris collection machine of Aumann as modified by Lane to provide the plate as the shield as taught by Hall. The rotation of blades without shield may entrapment of debris (Aumann col. 4:32-37). The baffle of Hall can prevent accumulation of debris in an interior surfaces of the housing (Hall col. 4:10-30).
Annotated Aumann Fig. 1
Annotated Aumann Fig. 2, Part I
Annotated Aumann Fig. 2, Part II
Regarding claim 2, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the support frame that receives the clamping section forms a bag receptacle ring (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Parts I and II above and fig. 4, a portion of the collection bag 68 is clamped between the clamping section and the support frame in the closed position of the cover. Therefore, the support frame forms a bag receptacle ring).
Regarding claim 3, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the bag receptable ring is rectangular (Aumann, as discussed in claim 17 above, fig. 4 shows a top view of a storage means 12. In considering figs. 2-4, the support frame should have generally a rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 4, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a cover including a permeable member and the clamping section, the cover being connected to the outlet of the vacuum assembly and connected to the clamping section, wherein the cover has an open position and a closed position, wherein, when in the closed position, the clamping section secures a portion of the collection bag between the clamping section and the support frame (Aumann, col. 5:12-18, a head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] has an aperture 52 [corresponds to the recited permeable member]; annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above and col. 4:52-56, the head portion 46 has a clamping section at a bottom edge of the head portion 46; see annotated Aumann fig. 1 above and col. 4:52-56, a junction 25 is an opening that receives a conduit 22 which is connected to the outlet of the vacuum assembly; col. 5:59-65, the cover 46 can be removed in order to remove the filled collection bag 68. Therefore, the cover has an open position and a closed position. In the closed position shown above in the annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I, a portion of the collection bag 68 is clamped between the clamping section and the support frame).
Regarding claim 5, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the cover further includes a shroud having at least one vent (Aumann col. 5:48-54 and fig. 3, the cover 46 has an aperture 52 for relieving back pressure within the container means 14).
Regarding claim 6, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the cover is hingedly connected to the chassis (Lane fig. 2 and col. 6:4-7, the cover assembly 42 is hingedly connected to a support assembly 50 which is a part of a chassis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Aumann to provide the hinge connection to the chassis as taught by Lane in order to open the cover conveniently so that a user does not have to place the cover away from the collection machine while replacing a collection bag.
Regarding claim 7, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the cover includes a latch, the latch being configured to selectably connect the cover to the support frame (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 4:64-5:11, the head section 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] includes a locking member 21 [corresponds to the recited latch]. The locking member 21 and a bracket 15 connect the head section to the container means 14. Thus, the locking member effectively connects the support frame of the container means 14).
Regarding claim 8, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the wheels are propelled by the motor (Lane, col. 4:21-22, wheels are driven by a drive interconnected to the engine/motor 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the debris collection machine of Aumann as modified by Lane to provide the wheels propelled by the motor as taught by Lane so the machine can be a self-propelled type machine which allows a user to use only a little physical power to operate the machine (Lane col. 4:16-18).
Regarding claim 9, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the chassis further includes a bag support platform (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 4:15-19, the container means 14 is mounted to the collector assembly 10 by a frame 16 [corresponds to the recited bag support platform]).
Regarding claim 10, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the bag support platform is configured to support the collection bag in a vertical position (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 4:13-19, the container 14 is movably mounted at the frame 16. The frame supports the container 14 to be in a vertical position during operation).
Regarding claim 11, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the bag support platform is foldable between a support position and a storage position (Lane, figs. 3 and 9 and col. 5:8-23, a flexible support 48 [corresponds to the recited support platform] supports the container 38. The flexible support 48 is secured to the collection machine in a support position, and it can be detached and folded while the collection machine is in a non-operation position or a storage position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collection machine of Aumann as modified by Lane to provide the foldable support platform as taught by Lane so that the container can be removed from the collection machine for easy emptying, cleaning, or repairing.
Regarding claim 12, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, further including a handle rotatably connected to the chassis, the handle being movable between an operating position and a storage position (Lane, fig. 2 and col. 6:61-7:3, the debris collection machine includes a handlebar assembly 22 which is rotatably connected to the body of the machine. The handlebar assembly 22 can be pivoted forwardly and the cover assembly 42 can be raised for an open/storage position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the debris collection machine of Aumann as modified by Lane to provide the movable handle as taught by Lane. The handle and the cover in the open/storage position along with the removal of the collector make the machine to have a less dimension in a length direction, and it allows the debris collection machine to occupy a less space for storage.
Regarding claim 13, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the motor supports the cover when the cover is in the open position (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 5:59-65, the head section 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] is removed from the container element 68 from emptying the debris. Thus, the head section is capable of being disconnected from a conduit 42 and placed on a hood [under reference 18 in fig. 1] where the motor is disposed. Thus, the cover is effectively supported by the motor).
Regarding claim 14, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, further including the collection bag (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 4:13-19, the collection machine includes a disposable container element 68 [corresponds to the recited collection bag] in the container means 14).
Regarding claim 15, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 14, wherein the collection bag is non-permeable (Aumann, col. 2:34-37, the collection bag can be a plastic disposable bag, thus it is non-permeable).
Regarding claim 30, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the rotating component is offset from the inlet about the vertical axis (see annotated Aumann fig. 1 above, the blades 28 are disposed within the deck 26 above a ground. A bottom of the cutting deck is the inlet. A side view shown in fig. 1 does not reveal the blades 28A, thus there is an offset distance between the blades 28 and the inlet about the vertical axis).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumann in view of Lane and Hall, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Svoboda et al. (US 2005/0193517, hereinafter Svoboda)
Regarding claim 16, Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall teaches the debris collection machine as in the rejection of claim 14, but does not disclose the collection bag is a paper bag having a generally rectangular cross-section.
Svoboda teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the collection bag is a paper bag having a generally rectangular cross-section (¶ 0074, a disposable vacuum cleaner bag 12 is made of paper. It has a generally rectangular cross-section as seen in fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collection bag of Aumann as modified by Lane and Hall to provide the paper collection bag as taught by Svoboda. The paper bag allows air to pass out of the collection bag as it collects debris so that debris stays in the collection bag during the vacuum operation (Svoboda ¶ 0011) and would be understood to one of ordinary skill in the art to be compostable, as opposed to the plastic bag disclosed by Aumann.
Claims 17, 18, 24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumann et al. (US 4095398, hereinafter Aumann), in view of Busboom et al. (US 6,226,970, hereinafter Busboom), Scott et al. (GB 2430354A, hereinafter Scott), Volovsek et al. (US 2018/0054966, hereinafter Volovsek), and Sawada et al. (DK 142042B, hereinafter Sawada).
Regarding claim 17, Aumann discloses a debris collection assembly for a debris collection machine (fig. 1, collecting assembly), the debris collection assembly comprising:
a) a support frame comprising a main frame sized and shaped to be received into a collection bag (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above, a top of a container means 14 forms a support frame that is sized and shaped to receive a disposable container element 68 [corresponds to the recited collection bag]. Fig. 4 shows a top view of a storage means 12. In considering figs. 2-4, the support frame should have generally a rectangular shape and each side of the support frame is designated as a main frame); the support frame further includes a latch bar extending from the main frame, the latch bar configured to secure the cover to the support frame (Aumann, fig. 1 and col. 4:64-5:11, the upper end of bracket 15 [corresponds to the recited latch bar] extends from the container 14. Thus, it is effectively extended from the support frame of the container, and it engages the locking member 21 on a head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] to secure the head portion to the support frame); and
b) a cover comprising a shroud portion including an opening for receiving an outlet of a debris conveyance tube (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above and col. 4:52-56, a head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] having a shroud portion. A junction 25 is an opening that receives an outlet of a conduit 22 [corresponds to the recited debris conveyance tube]), and a vent opening downstream of the opening, wherein the vent opening provides an exhaust for incoming air from the debris conveyance tube (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above and col. 4:64-5:11 and 5:48-57, a head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] includes an aperture 52 [corresponds to the recited vent opening] so that air enters the container 12 through the junction 25 and exits out to atmosphere through the aperture 52), wherein the cover has an open position and a closed position; and a clamping section forming a clamping interface with the support frame when the cover is in the closed position, such that the collection bag can be secured between the clamping section and the support frame (col. 5:59-65, a clamping section is formed at a bottom edge of the head portion 46. The cover 46 can be removed in order to remove the filled collection bag 68. Therefore, the cover has an open position and a closed position. In the closed position shown above in the annotated Aumann fig. 2, Parts I and II, a portion of the collection bag 68 is secured between the clamping section and the support frame), but does not disclose the vent opening directly provides an exhaust to an exterior of the debris collection assembly.
Busboom teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the vent opening directly provides an exhaust to an exterior of the debris collection assembly (fig. 8 and col. 3:27-39, a hood 74 [corresponds to the recited cover] provides a vent 96 [corresponds to the recited exhaust] so that air drawn into the hood from ground exits to an exterior of a debris collection assembly directly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Aumann to provide the vent opening as recited as taught by Busboom so that air can escape into atmosphere (Busboom, col. 3:38-42). It helps debris containing air to be drawn properly from ground.
Aumann as modified by Busboom does not disclose the vent opening comprises a plurality of vent openings wherein each of the plurality of vent openings includes a grill section.
Scott teaches, in an analogous debris collection assembly field of endeavor, the vent opening comprises a plurality of vent openings wherein each of the plurality of vent openings includes a grill section (figs. 3, 12 and 21 and p. 15:12-16:4, air exits out of a vacuum cleaner through an exhaust grill 56 and a plurality of hemispherical exhaust grills 230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the debris collection assembly of Aumann as modified by Busboom to provide the plurality of vent openings including grill sections as taught by Scott. A vent opening creates air flow to enhance air suction for a vacuum cleaner and a plurality of vent openings enhances air flow for better suctioning. A grill at the vent opening filter dirt out of the air before it is exhausted from the vacuum cleaner (Scott, p. 16:4).
Aumann as modified by Busboom and Scott does not disclose the support frame comprises a support member, the support member extending from the main frame and configured for attaching the support frame to the debris collection machine, wherein the clamping section further comprises a first cover portion covering and shielding an upstream portion of the support member from a flow of collected debris travelling from the opening and into the collection bag, the first cover portion corresponding to the support member.
Volovsek teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the support frame comprises a support member, the support member extending from the main frame and configured for attaching the support frame to the debris collection machine (fig. 7 and ¶ 0089, a top part of a collecting receptacle 18, 35 is considered to be the support frame. The support frame includes a hook 58 [corresponds to the recited support member] to be engaged with a pocket 69 to connect the collecting receptacle to the debris collection machine), wherein the clamping section further comprises a first cover portion covering and shielding an upstream portion of the support member from a flow of collected debris travelling from the opening and into the collection bag, the first cover portion corresponding to the support member (see annotated Volovsek fig. 16 below and fig. 7 and ¶ 0089, the hook 58 engages a pocket 69. A first cover portion of the clamping section covers the pocket 69. The first cover portion of the Volovsek would be disposed between a cover 14 and a bagger 89. The hook 58 covered with the recited first cover portion would not be exposed to the incoming debris into collecting receptacles 18, 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collection assembly of Aumann as modified by Busboom and Scott to provide the support member as taught by Volovsek. This feature allows easy disengagement/reattachment of the collecting receptacle with the collection machine because a user does not have to disengage/reattach a duct from a vacuum assembly (Volovsek ¶ 0089).
Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, and Volovsek does not disclose the clamping section further comprises a second cover portion covering and shielding an upstream portion of the latch bar from a flow of collected debris travelling from the opening and into the collection bag, the second cover portion corresponding to the latch bar.
Sawada teaches, in an analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the clamping section further comprises a second cover portion covering and shielding an upstream portion of the latch bar from a flow of collected debris travelling from the opening and into the collection bag, the second cover portion corresponding to the latch bar (annotated Sawada fig. 8 below, fig. 4, a dust collection container 7 of a cleaner has an opening and a lid 26 opens and closes the opening. An end of the lid 16 is clamped to the container 7 wherein a cover portion shield the clamping end of the lid. The feature is combined with Aumann such that the cover includes the recited second cover portion as taught by Sawada to shield the locking member 21 of the bracket 15 of Aumann. Without the recited second cover portion of Sawada, clamping end could be exposed to an interior of the dust collection container 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collection assembly of Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, and Volovsek to provide the second cover portion as taught by Sawada. The cover portion of Sawada would provide secure attachment of the lid to the container so that an accidental contact to the clamping end by a foreign object or force would not open the lid.
Annotated Volovsek Figure 16
Annotated Sawada Fig. 8
Regarding claim 18, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the support frame has a generally rectangular shape (Aumann, fig. 2-4, as discussed in claim 17 above, the support frame has generally a rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 24, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the shroud portion is rotatable with respect to the main frame (Aumann, fig. 1, annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above, and col. 5:59-65, the container means 14 is pivotally connected to the frame at 16, which allows for pivotal motion a container frame relative to the cover when the cover opens).
Regarding claim 26, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the cover further includes a mesh liner, wherein the mesh liner is positioned upstream of the vent opening and downstream of the debris conveyance tube such that air flows through the mesh liner (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part I above and col. 5:12-23, a screen type filter element 62 [corresponds to the recited mesh liner] is disposed in the head portion 46 [corresponds to the recited cover] so that air flows out of the conduit 22 [corresponds to the recited debris conveyance tube] into the container 14 and passes through the screen type filter element before exiting out through the aperture 52 [corresponds to the recited vent opening]).
Regarding claim 27, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein at least one vent opening of the plurality of vent openings is angled relative to at least one other vent opening of the plurality of vent openings (Scott, fig. 12, the exhaust grill 230 is angled relative to the exhaust grill 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent openings of Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada to dispose them at different angles as taught by Scott. Directions of the air exhausts may be set at different angles not to blow air to a user so that it does not distract the user in operating the machine.
Regarding claim 28, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein at least one of the grill sections is a removable grill section (Scott, p. 10:4-5, the exhaust grill 56 is removable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent openings of Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada to provide the removable grill section as taught by Scott so that the grill can be removed and cleaned after a number of usages.
Regarding claim 29, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein at least one of the grill sections is an integral grill section (Scott, fig. 12, the exhaust grill 230 is integral to a housing 227).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent openings of Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada to provide the integral grill section as taught by Scott in order to make the grill as a permanent filter for filtering the air out of the vacuum cleaner.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumann in view of Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Lane.
Regarding claim 19, Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada teaches the debris collection assembly as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the clamping section has a clamping surface having a semi-circular cross-sectional shape (see annotated Aumann fig. 2, Part II above), but does not disclose explicitly the support frame has a generally round cross-sectional shape.
Lane teaches, in the analogous debris collection machine field of endeavor, the support frame has a generally round cross-sectional shape (fig. 3, a top of a container 38 includes a back 62 [corresponds to the recited support frame] having a round cross-sectional shape. The back 64 is coupled to a clamping end of a cover 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support frame of Aumann as modified by Busboom, Scott, Volovsek, and Sawada to make it to have a generally round-sectional shape as taught by Lane so that closing of the cover can be done easily because the round shape frame will receive a clamping structure of the cover easily.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hall and Sawada.
Applicant argues Feng does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the shield is a plate disposed between the rotating components and the ground surface about a vertical axis. Feng discloses a protective cover as the recited shield but it is not in a plate form.
Hall discloses the baffle 56 under the blades 68 within the housing 10. The baffle 56 is a plate and shields the blades 68 from the ground surface.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues Bianchi does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the second cover portion of the clamping section cover and shield an upstream portion of the latch bar from a flow of collected debris traveling from the opening and into the collection bag. Bianchi teaches the latch (hook 62) and the second cover portion (socket 63), but Bianchi does not disclose the hook is shielded from debris travelling into a collection bag.
Sawada teaches a vacuum cleaner wherein a dust collection container has a lid which can be opened and closed. The container has the cover portion at the clamping end of the lid to shield the clamping end so that it is not exposed to the interior of the container. Aumann discloses the latch bar (bracket 15) without a cover portion. Thus, the recited second cover portion of Sawada can be combined with the head portion of Aumann to teach the recited claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2006/0090284) discloses, in fig. 8, a debris collection machine comprising a bade fan 171n [corresponds to the recited rotating component] and a cap 171m [corresponds to the recited plate] is disposed between the blade fan and a ground surface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723