DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, but a modification of the previous prior art rejection still reads upon the claims.
On page 7 of the Remarks section as indicate by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant discusses the previous 112 rejections, and the amendments made to obviate them. The Examiner has withdrawn these rejections as a result.
On pages 7-9, Applicant argues against the previous prior art rejection disclosing amended independent Claims 1, 10 & 22. Applicant argues that the amended limitation in independent Claim 1, “causes the valve opening member to engage with and open the valve”, is not disclosed in primary reference Jansson. Applicant argues that none of the valves cited in Jansson open when the container 402 is attached to the manifold 404. In response, the Examiner notes that while Jansson does not disclose this particular feature where the valve opening member engages to open the valve, the Examiner finds that previous secondary reference Ritson discloses this limitation instead, (). For this reason, the Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive as a different reference discloses this feature instead. The same response applies to the comments by Applicant regarding independent Claims 11 & 22 as well. The remainder of Applicant’s remarks are considered moot as they do not provide any more specific arguments against the other references or claims in the previous rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al., (“Jansson”, WO00/57935A1), in view of Cichello et al., (“Cichello”, US 2009/0008306), in further view of Ritson et al., (“Ritson”, WO 2018/035520).
Claims 1-4 & 6-9 are directed to a method of providing dialysis therapy, a method type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-4 & 6-9, Jansson discloses a method of providing dialysis therapy, (See Abstract), comprising the steps of: fluidly coupling a disposable container to a dialysis machine with a single connection interface, (Disposable Concentrate Container 402 connects to Manifold 404 of Module 400 inside Dialysis Apparatus 100, See Figure 1, 5 & 15, See page 30, lines 1-4, page 31, lines 35-38, page 32, lines 1-10 and See page 41, lines 20-24, page 62, lines 35-38, page 66, lines 25-31, page 69, lines 11-16), the disposable container including at least one compartment having a powdered dialysis fluid component therein and at least one compartment having a liquid dialysis fluid component therein, (Compartments 416, 408, 410, 420, 418, 412 & 414 in Container 402, See Figure 5, 10 & 11, See page 62, lines 35-38, page 63, lines 1-9, See page 8, lines 28-31, page 23, lines 14-20); connecting a tubing set of the dialysis machine to a patient, (Dialysis Machine 100 includes Cycler Module 600 connecting to Patient 50 via Patient Fill/Drain Connections 9a/9b, See Figure 1 & 2, page 42, lines 4-37); attaching a connector-side interface of the disposable container to a corresponding machine-side interface on the dialysis machine, (Chassis 401 of Container 402 to Manifold 404, See Figure 5, 15, See page 66, lines 25-31, page 68, lines 16-38, page 69, lines 11-32, Jansson) to cause a valve opening member of the container-side connector interface to open a valve in a singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface, (Cleaning Agent Valve 480 or Disinfection Valve 498, See Figure 15, 11 & 5, and See page 104, lines 32-38, page 105, lines 1-14, and See page 107, lines 30-38, page 108, lines 1-29; alternatively Air Vent Valve 496 is opened after rinsing/disinfection is finished, See Figure 15 & 5, See page 76, lines 6-38, page 77, lines 1-3); delivering fluid through the valve in the singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface into an inlet channel of the container-side connector interface and the at least one compartment of the disposable container having the powdered dialysis fluid component, (See page 38, lines 19-24, page 41, lines 7-12); providing dialysis fluid in real-time from the disposable container to the dialysis machine through one or more inlet channels in the machine-side connector interface, (At least Channels 430 fluidly connected to Line 4a into Machine 100, See Figure 5, See page 67, lines 4-10, page 77, lines 34-38, page 78, lines 1-6, See page 39, lines 6-31, See page 74, lines 4-12, lines 22-25, lines 35-38, page 75, line 1, and; See page 41, lines 20-24); and initiating dialysis therapy with the dialysis fluid, (See page 52, lines 12-19, See page 60, lines 9-11).
Jansson does not explicitly disclose that the tubing set is a blood tubing set, or delivering purified water through the singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface, and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface.
Cichello discloses a method of providing dialysis therapy, (See Abstract, Cichello), in which its tubing set is a blood tubing set, (Lines 48a/b to and from Patient 14, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0081], Cichello). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination and are claim mapped to in the Additional Disclosures section below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of providing dialysis therapy of Jansson by incorporating that the tubing set is a blood tubing set as in Cichello in order to enable the dialysis machine to switch from a peritoneal dialysis mode to a hemodialysis mode to “provide an opportunity to the patient to alternate between PD [peritoneal dialysis], HD [hemodialysis] and/or HDF [hemodiafiltration]”, because “alternating therapies provides two primary advantages, namely preserving maximum residual renal function in PD and obtaining maximum urea clearance through HD and/or HDF”, (See paragraph [0015], Cichello).
Modified Jansson does not disclose delivering purified water through a singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface, and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface
Ritson discloses a method for delivering purified water through a singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface using a valve and valve opening member, and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface, (Single outlet and inlet into Concentrate Disposable, See Figure 7, See paragraphs [0007], [0008]; See paragraph [0044], Ritson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of modified Jansson by incorporating delivering purified water through a singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface as in Ritson in order to provide “minimal connection points” that “can be easily installed for automated mixing and movement of fluids”, (See paragraph [0027], Ritson), that will “automate and improve the performance, efficiency and safety of dialysis therapy”, (See paragraph [0025], Ritson).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting a condition of the patient; and adjusting proportioning of the dialysis fluid in real-time, (See page 60, lines 1-9, See page 81, lines 1-7, Jansson; Examiner interprets a condition of the patient to also include the patient’s individual prescription).
Claim 4: The method of claim 2, wherein detecting the condition further comprises measuring at least one parameter of the patient's health or the patient's blood, (See page 54, lines 9-17; Examiner interprets the detection of pressure, temperature and conductivity to ensure patient safety to correspond to patient health).
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein adjusting the proportioning further comprises increasing a concentration of at least one of the powdered dialysis fluid component or the liquid dialysis fluid component from the disposable container, (See page 60, lines 1-9, See page 81, lines 1-7, Jansson; Examiner interprets a condition of the patient to also include the patient’s individual prescription such that when adding the various dialysis components to water, it increases the components to a final prescribed level).
Claim 7: The method of claim 6, wherein increasing the concentration further comprises increasing a proportion of fluid from the at least one compartment having the powdered dialysis fluid component, (See page 60, lines 1-9, See page 81, lines 1-7, Jansson; Examiner interprets a condition of the patient to also include the patient’s individual prescription such that when adding the various dialysis components to water, it increases the components to a final prescribed level).
Claim 8: The method of claim 6, wherein increasing the concentration further comprises increasing a proportion of fluid from the at least one compartment having the liquid dialysis fluid component, See page 60, lines 1-9, See page 81, lines 1-7, and See page 8, lines 28-31, page 23, lines 14-20, Jansson; Examiner interprets a condition of the patient to also include the patient’s individual prescription such that when adding the various dialysis components to water, it increases the components to a final prescribed level).
Claim 9: The method of claim 1, further comprising: decoupling and removing the disposable container from the dialysis machine, (See page 33, lines 22-25, See page 114, lines 1-12); applying a cover to a machine-side connector of the single connection interface, (Manifold Cap 406 engaged to new Container 402, See Figure 16 & 17, See page 72, lines 9-22); and initiating a disinfect cycle through one or more flow paths of the dialysis machine and the machine-side connector, (Cap 406 with Connection 498, See Figures 16 & 17, See page 76, lines 13-36).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al., (“Jansson”, WO00/57935A1), in view of Cichello et al., (“Cichello”, US 2009/0008306), in further view of Ritson et al., (“Ritson”, WO 2018/035520), in further view of Kalaskar et al., (“Kalaskar”, US 2020/0282125).
Claim 5 is directed to a method of providing dialysis therapy, a method type invention group.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Jansson discloses the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the condition comprises a state of electrolytes in the patient's blood.
Kalaskar discloses a method of providing dialysis therapy, (See Abstract and paragraph [0038], Kalaskar), wherein the condition comprises a state of electrolytes in the patient's blood, (See paragraph [0005] & [0042], Kalaskar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of providing dialysis therapy of modified Jansson by incorporating wherein the condition comprises a state of electrolytes in the patient's blood as in Kalaskar for “preparing a patient-specific dialysate [which] would be advantageous that can adapt to real-time changes in patient needs between and even during dialysis treatments”, (See paragraph [0004], Kalaskar), “ensuring the patient does not leave the dialysis treatment with deficient levels or elevated levels of certain monitored electrolytes, and improving long-term outcomes and patient satisfaction”, (See paragraph [0035], Kalaskar).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13, 16, 19, 20-22, 24, & 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jansson et al., (“Jansson”, WO00/57935A1), in view of Ritson et al., (“Ritson”, WO 2018/035520).
Claims 10, 11, 13, 16 & 19-21 are directed to a disposable container configured to facilitate real-time dialysis fluid production, a device or apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claims 10, 11, 13, 16 & 19-21, Jansson discloses a disposable container configured to facilitate real-time dialysis fluid production, (Disposable Concentrate Container 402, See Figure 1, 5 & 15, See page 32, lines 6-29, Jansson), comprising: at least one powder compartment in the disposable container configured to hold a powdered dialysis fluid component; at least one liquid compartment in the disposable container configured to hold a liquid dialysis fluid component; (Compartments 416, 408, 410, 420, 418, 412 & 414 in Container 402, See Figure 5, 10 & 11, See page 62, lines 35-38, page 63, lines 1-9, See page 8, lines 28-31, page 23, lines 14-20), a container-side connector interface extending from the disposable container, (Chassis 401 extending from Container 402, See Figure 5), and configured to mate with a machine-side connector interface of a dialysis machine, (Chassis 401 of Container 402 to Manifold 404 of Module 400 inside Dialysis Machine 100, See Figure 1, 5, 15, See page 30, lines 1-4, page 31, lines 35-38, page 32, lines 1-10 and See page 41, lines 20-24, page 62, lines 35-38, See page 66, lines 25-31, page 68, lines 16-38, page 69, lines 11-32, Jansson), the container-side connector including a valve opening member associated with an inlet flow path in the container-side connector interface, the valve opening member being configured to interact with the machine-side connector interface to open a valve in a singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface, (Cleaning Agent Valve 480 or Disinfection Valve 498, See Figure 15, 11 & 5, and See page 104, lines 32-38, page 105, lines 1-14, and See page 107, lines 30-38, page 108, lines 1-29; alternatively Air Vent Valve 496 is opened after rinsing/disinfection is finished, See Figure 15 & 5, See page 76, lines 6-38, page 77, lines 1-3); the inlet flow path in the container-side connector interface being selectively fluidly coupled to the outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface and to allow for fluid from the dialysis machine through the connector interface to the at least one powder compartment, through the valve in the outlet channel when the container-side connector interface is coupled to the machine-side connector interface, (At least Channels 430 fluidly connected to Line 4a, See Figure 5, See page 67, lines 4-10, page 77, lines 34-38, page 78, lines 1-6, See page 39, lines 6-31, See page 74, lines 4-12, lines 22-25, lines 35-38, page 75, line 1, Jansson; and a plurality of outlet flow paths in the container-side connector interface configured to deliver dialysis fluid from the at least one powder compartment and the at least one liquid compartment to the dialysis machine, (Manifold 404 connects to Container 402 via Channels 426/430/434, See Figure 5, See page 67, lines 4-10, lines 23-29, page 68, lines 28-34, Jansson).
Jansson does not disclose the inlet flow path being a singular inlet flow path being fluidly coupled to the outlet flow path being a singular outlet channel configured to allow for delivery of purified water when the valve is opened by the valve opening member, in which the valve opening member engages with the vale to open the valve when the container-side connector interface is mated to the machine-side connector interface.
Ritson discloses an apparatus the inlet flow path being a singular inlet flow path being fluidly coupled to the outlet flow path being a singular outlet channel configured to allow for delivery of purified water when the valve is opened by the valve opening member, when the valve is opened by the valve opening member, in which the valve opening member engages with the vale to open the valve when the container-side connector interface is mated to the machine-side connector interface, (Single outlet and inlet into Concentrate Disposable, See Figure 7, See paragraphs [0007], [0008]; See paragraph [0044], Ritson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the container of Jansson by incorporating the inlet flow path being a singular inlet flow path being fluidly coupled to the outlet flow path being a singular outlet channel configured to allow for delivery of purified water when the valve is opened by the valve opening member when the valve is opened by the valve opening member, in which the valve opening member engages with the vale to open the valve when the container-side connector interface is mated to the machine-side connector interface as in Ritson in order to provide “minimal connection points” that “can be easily installed for automated mixing and movement of fluids”, (See paragraph [0027], Ritson), that will “automate and improve the performance, efficiency and safety of dialysis therapy”, (See paragraph [0025], Ritson).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 11: The disposable container of claim 10, wherein the at least one powder compartment comprises a NaCl powder compartment and a NaHCO3 powder compartment, (Sodium Chloride Compartment 414, Sodium Bicarbonate Compartment 412, See Figure 10, See page 65, lines 7-10,11, See page 67, lines 11-16, Jansson).
Claim 13: The disposable container of claim 10, further comprising a diffuser or filter disposed in the outlet flow paths downstream of the at least one powder compartment, (Filter Element 438 from Compartment 420 to Lines 407a/b & Channel 436, See Figures 5, 22 & 23, See page 68, lines 28-37, Jansson).
Claim 16: The disposable container of claim 10, wherein the singular outlet channel of the machine-side connector interface is fluidly coupled to a source of purified water, (At least Channels 430 fluidly connected to Line 4a, See Figure 5, See page 67, lines 4-10, page 77, lines 34-38, page 78, lines 1-6, See page 39, lines 6-31, See page 74, lines 4-12, lines 22-25, lines 35-38, page 75, line 1, Jansson).
Claim 19: The disposable container of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of outlet flow paths comprises a pump configured to deliver a dialysis fluid from the at least one powder compartment and the at least one liquid compartment to the dialysis machine, (Pump 452 and Pump 446 on Line 4a is fluidly connected to each of Channels 426, 430, 434 etc., See Figure 5, See page 75, lines 2-15, Jansson).
Claim 20: The disposable container of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of outlet flow paths comprises a flow sensor configured to measure a flow rate of dialysis fluid from the at least one powder compartment and the at least one liquid compartment to the dialysis machine, (Tachometers 454/456 on Pumps 446/452, See Figure 5, See page 75, lines 2-15, Jansson).
Claim 21: The disposable container of claim 10, wherein the at least one powder compartment and the at least one liquid compartment are large enough to generate enough dialysis fluid to support multiple dialysis treatments, (See page 34, lines 22-37, See page 35, lines 18-30, See page 113, lines 30-37; Examiner interprets multiple fill/drain cycles while treating a patient to read upon multiple treatments within one session; also See page 63, lines 18-25).
Claims 22, 24 & 25 are directed to a dialysis machine, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claims 22, 24 & 25, Jansson discloses a dialysis machine, (Apparatus for dialysis 100, See Figure 1 & 2, See Abstract ), comprising: a connector interface disposed on or in the dialysis machine, (Chassis 401 of Container 402 to Manifold 404, See Figure 5, 15, See page 66, lines 25-31, page 68, lines 16-38, page 69, lines 11-32, Jansson), the connector interface being configured to be coupled with a container including one or more sources of dialysis fluid, (Chassis 401 of Container 402 to Manifold 404, See Figure 5, 15, See page 66, lines 25-31, page 68, lines 16-38, page 69, lines 11-32, and Compartments 416, 408, 410, 420, 418, 412 & 414 in Container 402, See Figure 5, 10 & 11, See page 62, lines 35-38, page 63, lines 1-9, See page 8, lines 28-31, page 23, lines 14-20), the connector interface being coupled to at least one purified water flow channel and a plurality of flow channels configured to receive the one or more sources of dialysis fluid when the container is coupled to the connector interface, (Manifold 404 connects to Container 402 via Channels 426/430/434, See Figure 5, See page 67, lines 4-10, lines 23-29, page 68, lines 28-34, page 77, lines 34-38, page 78, lines 1-6, See page 39, lines 6-31, See page 74, lines 4-12, lines 22-25, lines 35-38, page 75, line 1, Jansson); and a rinsing cover disposed on the dialysis machine, the rinsing cover being configured to be moved into a rinsing configuration in which the rinsing cover forms a fluidic seal with the connector interface, (Manifold Cap 406 engaged to Container 402 and Manifold 404, See Figure 15-17, See page 42, lines 20-24, See page 72, lines 9-22), and a valve opening member of the rinsing cover is configured to interact with connector interface to open a valve in the at least one purified water flow channel, (Cleaning Agent Valve 480 or Disinfection Valve 498, See Figure 15, 11 & 5, and See page 104, lines 32-38, page 105, lines 1-14, and See page 107, lines 30-38, page 108, lines 1-29; alternatively Air Vent Valve 496 is opened after rinsing/disinfection is finished, See Figure 15 & 5, See page 76, lines 6-38, page 77, lines 1-3), to allow fluid to flow from the at least one purified water flow channel into a volume defined by the rinsing cover and the connector interface and into the plurality of flow channels, (Manifold Cap 406 with Manifold 404 and Chassis 401 of Container 402 define volume when connected through which Multiple Channels from Connector 407 and Insert 421, See Figures 15, 11 & 5, See page 42, lines 20-24, See page 69, lines 11-32).
Jansson does not disclose allowing purified water through the purified water channel when the valve opening member interacts to open the valve, and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface.
Ritson discloses a method allowing purified water through the purified water channel when the valve opening member interacts to open the valve, and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface, (See paragraphs [0007] & [0008], Ritson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Jansson by incorporating allowing purified water through the purified water channel when the valve opening member interacts to open the valve and the valve opening member engaging with to open the valve when attaching the interface as in Ritson in order to provide “minimal connection points” that “can be easily installed for automated mixing and movement of fluids”, (See paragraph [0027], Ritson), that will “automate and improve the performance, efficiency and safety of dialysis therapy”, (See paragraph [0025], Ritson).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 24: The dialysis machine of claim 22, wherein the volume is further configured to receive a disinfecting pod, (Examiner interprets the volume to include the overall connecter interface formed by connection of Cap 406, Manifold 404 and Chassis 401 of Container 402 to receive Cleaning Agent 410 which includes Connector 407/Insert 421, See Figures 15, 11 & 5, See page 76, lines 6-38, page 77, lines 1-3, See page 105, lines 1-14, and See page 107, lines 30-38, page 108, lines 1-29).
Claim 25: The dialysis machine of claim 22, wherein the rinsing cover further comprises one or more fluid channels configured to direct the purified water towards a periphery of the rinsing cover, (Multiple channels formed by Connectors 407/421 connecting to volume formed by Chassis 401/Manifold 404/Cap 406 carrying Spike 429, See page 69, lines 11-32, page 71, lines 6-26, alternatively Cap 406/Manifold 404 receive Hot Disinfecting fluid from Mixing Water Feed Connection 4a, See page 76, lines 6-26).
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al., (“Jansson”, WO00/57935A1), in view of Ritson et al., (“Ritson”, WO 2018/035520), in further view of Kalaskar et al., (“Kalaskar”, US 2020/0282125).
Claim 12 is directed to a disposable container configured to facilitate real-time dialysis fluid production, a device or apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claim 12, Jansson discloses the disposable container of claim 10, wherein the at least one liquid compartment comprises a C6H8O7 compartment, a C6H12O6 compartment, and a MgCl2 compartment, (Glucose Compartment 420, Magnesium Chloride Compartment 418, See Figure 10, Cleaning Agent Compartment 410 can contain Citric Acid, See Figure 10, See page 65, lines 9-14, See page 66, lines 13-16, See page 108, lines 27-29, Jansson).
Jansson does not explicitly disclose that each of these compartments are in liquid form. Jansson suggests providing at least one of its compartments in liquid form, (See page 8, lines 28-31, page 23, lines 14-20).
Kalaskar discloses a container, (Dispenser 202, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0050]), where its compartments are in liquid form, (See paragraphs [0044] & [0050]; Kalaskar presents its concentrates to be alternate forms between liquid and solid, thus Examiner interprets they can be selected as liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of providing dialysis therapy of modified Jansson by incorporating each of the compartments are in liquid form as in Kalaskar so that “based on the prescription, the dialysate mixing system can determine, a…volume of concentrated…solution required for each chemical constituent” so that it “can be automatically dispensed and mixed with purified water…according to the desired dialysate recipe” while being “delivered and stored in…concentrated form, thus requiring minimal storage space and oversight”, (See paragraph [0034], Kalaskar).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779