DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species D (Formulae 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15) in the reply filed on 12/17/2024 was previously acknowledged. Claims 23, 26, and 30 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/17/2024.
Response to Amendment
The applicant's amendment of 01/06/2025 has each been entered.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 17-18, 25, 31, 35, and 28 are amended and claim 24 is cancelled due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-23 and 25-38 are pending and claims 23, 26, and 30 remain withdrawn from consideration.
The objections to claims 1, 3, 8-10, and 17 as set forth in the previous Office action are overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the previous Office action are all overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-22, 24, 27-29, and 31-38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the previous Office action is maintained.
The rejections of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made in view the teachings of newly cited Lee et al. KR-20150077220-A.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments on pages 86-89 of the reply dated 01/06/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-22, 24, 27-29, and 31-38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the previous Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 86-87 that there is an absence of reasonable motivation to combine the cited references Yan and Lee because the ligand structures of Yan and Lee are different and thus a person skilled in the art would have no motivation to introduce the trimethylsilyl substituent of Lee onto the ligand of the compound of Yan. Further, the applicant argues that the primary reference Doh teaches device fabricated by vapor deposition and the technical effect taught by Lee holds no practical relevance for Doh.
Examiner's response – The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2145 III. In this case, one having ordinary skill in the art would have readily applied the teaching of Lee to further organometallic iridium compounds, beyond the one tested in Lee, with a reasonable expectation of increasing solubility and processability and decreasing intermolecular interaction, as taught by Lee.
Further, while Doh does not expressly discuss solution processing, this is a well known technique in the art of electroluminescent devices and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to increase solubility for a variety of reasons. Additionally, Lee teaches that the addition of the trimethylsilyl group decreased molecular interaction, which is advantageous for prevention of exciton quenching during OLED operation (see page 1967, first column, last paragraph), which is not only related to the fabrication of the device.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 88-89 that the claimed invention achieves unexpected and superior technical effect. Specifically, the applicant argues that Doh does not disclose nor teach how to improve device lifetime, nor does it teach how to select and combine a metal complex with its compound to affect device lifetime.
Examiner's response – This is not found persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., improved device lifetime) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Further, prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present but not recognized in the prior art. See MPEP § 2145 II. The modified device of Doh in view of Yan and Lee would possess the same advantageous properties.
Regarding the applicant's allegation of unexpected results, the applicants have the burden of explaining the proffered data as evidence of non-obviousness. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. Evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Evidence of nonobviousness must also be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. Comparison must be between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02.
The applicant points to results in the specification; however, it appears that the only comparative device comprises CBP as a host material. Therefore, this is not persuasive for at least the reason that comparison has not been made between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art. It is unclear what difference in device performance exists between devices comprising the claimed materials and the materials in the unmodified device of Doh. The comparative example in the instant specification comprising CBP as the host does not inform one having ordinary skill in the art of the device performance of the device of Doh comprising the compound of Doh as the host.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1 and 35 the resolution of Formulae 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is poor.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22, 24-25, 27-29, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 8-11, 18, and 35, each of these claims recite "at least one of Y1 to Y6…, others of Y1 to Y6…" The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if "others of" is meant to refer to the remaining of Y1 to Y6 or some of Y1 to Y6. If only some of Y1 to Y6…, then it is unclear what the remainder may be.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that the claims recite "at least one of Y1 to Y6…, the remaining of Y1 to Y6…".
Claims 2-22, 25, 27-29, and 31-38 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22, 27-29, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doh et al. KR-20200026747-A (hereinafter "Doh-KR, see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Doh-MT") in view of Yan et al. CN-107973823-A (hereinafter Yan-CN") and see machine translation referred to herein as "Yan-MT" and J. Lee et al., Synthetic Metals 162 (2012) 1961-1967 (hereinafter "Lee et al.").
It is noted that Doh et al. KR-20200026747-A is cited on the IDS of 07/23/2025.
Regarding claims 1-22, 27-29, and 31-38, Doh teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising light emitting layer between and anode and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layers comprise a compound of a Chemical Formula 1 (Doh-MT, page 24, lines 4-7), as a host (Doh-MT, page 25 of 33, line 14). Doh teaches specific examples of the compound of Chemical Formula 1 including
(Doh-KR, page 5), which is a compound of the claimed is a compound of the claimed Formula 2, Formula 9, and Formula 11 wherein and equivalent to the claimed H5-7.
Doh does not specifically disclose a device as discussed above wherein a dopant in the light emitting layer is a compound of the claimed Formula 1.
Yan teaches a dibenzo-substituted ligand and compound having a structure of formula I (Yan-MT, page 1 of 15, line 3), having good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life when used in organic light emitting devices as a red luminescent dopant (Yan-MT, page 1 of 15, lines 4-5). Yan teaches examples of the compound having a structure of formula I that meet the claimed Formula 1 including
(page 9) and CPD5
(page 12), CPD16
(page 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Doh by forming the light emitting layer comprising the dopant material having a structure of formula I, as taught by Yan. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life, as taught by Yan.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select specifically the compound CPD1, CPD 5, or CPD 16 of Yan, because each would have been choosing from the list of specifically synthesized compounds having the structure of formula I of Yan, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful a dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Doh and possessing the properties of good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life taught by Yan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the compound CPD1, CPD5, or CPD 16 of Yan having the properties as described above taught by Yan in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Doh in view of Yan does not specifically disclose wherein the compound having a structure of formula I of Yan has a silyl substituent -L1-SiRs1Rs2Rs3.
Lee et al. teaches that by introducing silyl substituents to ligands of iridium complexes for use in OLEDs, the solubility and processability is increased, and intermolecular interaction is decreased (Abstract; page 1962, first column, second paragraph; page 1964, first column, second-to-last paragraph; page 1967, first column, second paragraph). Lee et al. teaches compound wherein the silyl substituent is a trimethylsilyl (-SiMe3) (Scheme 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a trimethylsilyl (-SiMe3) onto the ligand of the compound of Yan, based on the teaching of Lee et al. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase solubility and processability, and decrease intermolecular interaction, as taught by Lee et al.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select one of the positions corresponding to one of Y1 to Y6 in the claimed Formula 1 to substitute the trimethylsilyl substituent, because it would have been choosing from the available positions for substituent on the compound of Yan, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Doh and possessing the benefits taught by Yan and Lee et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds of Yan comprising the trimethylsilyl of Lee et al. having the benefits as described above taught by Yan and Lee et al. in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The modified compound of Yan in view of Lee et al. is a compound of the claimed Formula I comprising a substituent -L1-SiRs1Rs2Rs3 where L1 is a single bond and Rs1, Rs2, and Rs3 are each an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom (methyl).
The modified device of Doh in view of Yean meets claims 1-22, 27-29, and 31-38.
Claims 1-22, 25, 27-29, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR-20150077220-A (hereinafter "Lee-220 and see machine translation referred to herein as "Lee-220-MT") in view of Yan et al. CN-107973823-A (hereinafter Yan-CN") and see machine translation referred to herein as "Yan-MT" and J. Lee et al., Synthetic Metals 162 (2012) 1961-1967 (hereinafter "Lee et al.").
Regarding claims 1-22, 25, 27-29, and 32-38, Lee-220 teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer between and anode and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of a Formula 1 as a host material (Lee-220-MT, page 6 of 17 line 30 to Lee-220-MT, page 7 of 17 line 4). Lee-220 teaches specific examples of the compound of Formula 1 including
, which is a compound of the claimed is a compound of the claimed Formula 13. Lee-220 teach the device possessing the beneficial properties of excellent performance in terms of efficiency and driving voltage (Lee-220-MT, page 15 of 17 lines 2-3).
Lee-220 does not specifically disclose a device as discussed above wherein a dopant in the light emitting layer is a compound of the claimed Formula 1.
Yan teaches a dibenzo-substituted ligand and compound having a structure of formula I (Yan-MT, page 1 of 15, line 3), having good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life when used in organic light emitting devices as a red luminescent dopant (Yan-MT, page 1 of 15, lines 4-5). Yan teaches examples of the compound having a structure of formula I that meet the claimed Formula 1 including
(page 9) and CPD5
(page 12), CPD16
(page 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lee-220 by forming the light emitting layer comprising the dopant material having a structure of formula I, as taught by Yan. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life, as taught by Yan.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select specifically the compound CPD1, CPD 5, or CPD 16 of Yan, because each would have been choosing from the list of specifically synthesized compounds having the structure of formula I of Yan, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful a dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Doh and possessing the properties of good thermal stability, high luminous efficiency, and long service life taught by Yan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the compound CPD1, CPD5, or CPD 16 of Yan having the properties as described above taught by Yan in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Lee-220 in view of Yan does not specifically disclose wherein the compound having a structure of formula I of Yan has a silyl substituent -L1-SiRs1Rs2Rs3.
Lee et al. teaches that by introducing silyl substituents to ligands of iridium complexes for use in OLEDs, the solubility and processability is increased, and intermolecular interaction is decreased (Abstract; page 1962, first column, second paragraph; page 1964, first column, second-to-last paragraph; page 1967, first column, second paragraph). Lee et al. teaches compound wherein the silyl substituent is a trimethylsilyl (-SiMe3) (Scheme 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a trimethylsilyl (-SiMe3) onto the ligand of the compound of Yan, based on the teaching of Lee et al. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase solubility and processability, and decrease intermolecular interaction, as taught by Lee et al.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select one of the positions corresponding to one of Y1 to Y6 in the claimed Formula 1 to substitute the trimethylsilyl substituent, because it would have been choosing from the available positions for substituent on the compound of Yan, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Doh and possessing the benefits taught by Yan and Lee et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds of Yan comprising the trimethylsilyl of Lee et al. having the benefits as described above taught by Yan and Lee et al. in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The modified compound of Yan in view of Lee et al. is a compound of the claimed Formula I comprising a substituent -L1-SiRs1Rs2Rs3 where L1 is a single bond and Rs1, Rs2, and Rs3 are each an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom (methyl).
The modified device of Lee-220 in view of Yan and Lee meets claims 1-22, 27-29, and 32-38.
Regarding claim 31, Lee-220 in view of Yan and Lee teaches the device comprising the compounds as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Lee-220 does not specifically exemplify a compound that corresponds to a compound listed in claim 31. For example, the compound 28 differs from the claimed compound H7-4
in that the position corresponding to Zh7 is CRzh where Rzh is a phenyl instead of a biphenyl group. However, the Formula 1 of Lee-220 encompasses wherein this position is phenyl or biphenyl and teaches exemplary compounds where this position is a biphenyl groups, see compound C-30
(Lee-220, page 19).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of L-220, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phenyl group for a biphenyl group in the compound C-28 to arrive at a compound having the structure
, because Lee-220 teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as host material in the light emitting layer of the device of Lee-220 and possess the beneficial properties of excellent performance in terms of efficiency and driving voltage taught by Lee-220. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786