DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/12/2026 has been received and claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-14, 16-19, 27-29 and 31 are pending.
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-14, 16-19, 27 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/15/2024 and as noted in paragraph 4 of Office Action mailed5/21/2025 with respect to claims 27 and 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon (20170080117) in view of Gordon (WO2007051141), Igarashi (20190321499), Satermo (20180078101), Bayley (20110271441) and Kim (KR20110039986) or Matschke (WO9308588).
As to Claims 1 and 30, Gordon (‘117) discloses a system (see Figure 4) for disinfecting hands (240) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0065] – line 3), the system (100) comprising:
a first light emitter (420) located on a first side (i.e. top right side – see Figure 4), wherein the first light emitter (420) is configured to emit light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see Figure 4);
a second light emitter (420) located on a second side opposite from the first side (i.e. top left side – see Figure 4). wherein the second light emitter (420) is configured to emit light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see Figure 4);
a first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) below the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, particularly Figures 3-4, p. 3 [0066]-[0067]); and
a second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) above the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, Figures 3-4, p. 3 [0066]-[0067]), wherein the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) and the second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) are configured to reflect the light within the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0066]-[0067]),
wherein the first light emitter (420) and the second light emitter (420) are downwardly angles to emit the light toward and onto the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) (see Figure 4) so that the light reflects back and forth between the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) and the second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) (see Figure 4).
Gordon (‘117) does not appear to specifically teach that the light emitters are first and second UV light emitters or that the system further comprises a dryer configured to emit drying air into the hand disinfection area, or that the first and second UV light emitters are spaced to sides of the dryer, or that the first reflector is directly disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink, nor that the second reflector is disposed around one or more air nozzles of the dryer above the hand disinfection area.
As to the limitation that the first and second light emitters are UV light emitters, it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide UV light sources as light emitters in a system for disinfecting hands. Gordon (‘141) discloses a system (100) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1-2), the system (100) comprising:
a first UV light emitter (220) located on a first side, wherein the first UV light emitter (220) is configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, 8th page – lines 13-14);
a second UV light emitter (220) located on a second side opposite from the first side (see Figure 2). wherein the second UV light emitter (220) is configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, 8th page – lines 13-14);
a first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 150) below the hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, 10th page - lines 10-14); and
a second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 150) above the hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, 10th page - lines 10-14), wherein the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 150) and the second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 150) are configured to reflect the UV light within the hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly 10th page - lines 10-14),
in order to provide a rapid and effective sterilization of hands (see entire document, particularly 8th page – lines 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide UV light emitters in the system of Gordon as known alternate form of sterilizing light emitters in order to provide a rapid and effective sterilization of hands as shown by Gordon.
As to the limitations that that the system further comprises a dryer configured to emit drying air into the hand disinfection area, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dryer with a system for disinfecting hands. Igarashi (‘499) discloses a system (100; 100A) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1-8 and 12-13), the system (100; 100A) comprising:
a dryer (106) configured to emit drying air (107) into the hand disinfection area (104);
one or more reflectors (16; 17; 110) configured to reflect the UV light within a hand disinfection area (104), wherein the one or more reflectors (16; 17; 110) comprises a first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) and a second reflector (16 in 10A; 17 in 10A’) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 13);
wherein the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) and the second reflector (16 in 10A; 17 in 10A’) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 13) are configured to reflect the UV light within the hand disinfection area (104),
wherein the one or more reflector (110) is disposed adjacent one or more air nozzles (106) (see Figures 13-14);
one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (20; 20A) configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (104), wherein the one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (20) are configured to emit the UV light (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0068]-[0069], p. 5 [0088] – last 2 lines, p. 6 [0096] – last 2 lines); wherein the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) comprises:
a first UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20A within 10A or 10A’ or 10B) spaced from a first side of the dryer (106); and
a second UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20A within 10B or 10A/10A’) spaced from a second side of the dryer (106), wherein the second side is opposite from the first side (i.e. A side vs B side - see Figures 1-2, 4 and 12-13),
wherein the first UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20Awithin 10A or 10A’ or 10B) is angled to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) so that the UV light reflects back and forth between the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) and the second reflector (16; 17) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 12-13);
wherein the first UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20A within 10A or 10A’) is angled to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) so that the UV light is capable of reflecting back and forth between the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) and the second reflector (16; 17) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 12-13); and
a dryer (106) configured to emit drying air (107) into the hand disinfection area (104),
in order to supply a warm wind 107 into the hand disinfection area so as to dry the hands and fingers (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dryer in the system of Gordon as modified by Gordon as known component and configuration in order to dry as well as to disinfect the hands and fingers as shown by Igarashi.
As to the limitations that the first reflector is disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink, while Igarashi (‘499) discloses that the second reflector (16) is proximate to one or more nozzles (106) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (104), neither Gordon (‘117) or Gordon (‘141) nor Igarashi (‘499) specifically teaches that the first reflector is directly disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a system for disinfecting hands adjacent a countertop adjacent to a sink. Satermo (‘539) discloses a lavatory (100), wherein the lavatory comprises a system (200) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1A-6B), the system (200) comprising:
one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (216) configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (228) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0028]);
a dryer (214, 220, 222, 232) configured to emit drying air into the hand disinfection area (228);
one or more sensors (224) configured to detect presence of the hands within the hand disinfection area (228) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0029]); and
a control unit (302) configured to control operation of the one or more UV light emitters (216) (see entire document, particularly Figure 3),
wherein the system (200) is disposed adjacent a countertop (105) adjacent to a sink (108) (see entire document, particularly Figures 5A-6B, p. 3 [0034]-[0035]),
in order to dry and sanitize hands (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system for disinfecting hands of Gordon as modified by Gordon and Igarashi in/within a countertop adjacent a sink such that the first reflector is disposed adjacent a surface of the countertop adjacent to the sink as known location and orientation for the system in order to dry and disinfect hands as shown by Satermo.
In addition, as Satermo (‘101) discloses various possible location of the system for disinfecting hands such as on any other walls/vertical surfaces (see entire document, particularly Figures 5A-6B, p. 3 [0034] -– lines 7-8 and [0035] – lines 8-9) and since Gordon (‘117) discloses that the system may be implemented in conjunction with traditional faucets in order to provide disinfection of hands of a user at the same time as the hand washing (see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0101] – 4th – 7th lines from the bottom), it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system is positioned at any desired location such as a location/wall/vertical surface on/above the countertop such that the first reflector is disposed on a surface of the countertop adjacent to the sink in the system of Gordon as modified by Gordon, Igarashi and Satermo as an alternate location/configuration in order to provide disinfection and drying of hands of a user at the same time as hand washing (see Gordon (‘117) - p. 7 [0101] – 4th – 7th lines from the bottom). Only the expected results would be attained.
Moreover, while none of Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), and Satermo (‘101) appears to specifically teach that the reflector is disposed directly on a surface of a countertop, as Bayley (‘441) discloses a configuration where a dryer (26) is positioned directly on a surface of a countertop (20) adjacent a sink (16) as a known alternate position/location (see entire document, particularly Figures 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 11) where the bottom portion of the dryer is disposed directly on a surface of the countertop (20) adjacent to a sink (16) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 11, specifically Figures 9 and 11, p. 7 [0063] – line 8 and [0067] – lines 2-3), the combined teaching of Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), Satermo (‘101) and Bayley (‘441) teaches a configuration where at least one reflector/a first reflector (associated with/located with the dryer) is directly disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink.
As to the limitation that the second reflector is disposed around one or more air nozzles of the dryer above the hand disinfection area, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflector around one or more nozzles of a dryer. Kim (‘986) discloses a system (1) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 4-6), the system comprising:
a dryer including an air inlet (via 20, 70 to back end/opening of 40) configured to emit drying air into a hand disinfection area (S, 40) (see Figures 4-5);
a reflector (50) above the hand disinfection area (S, 40), wherein the reflector (50) is disposed around one or more air inlet (via 20, 70 to back end/opening of 40) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (S, 40) (see Figures 4-5);
UV light emitters (30, 32) configured to emit UV light into the hand disinfection area (see Figures 4-6; English translation, particularly p. 3 6th – 9th lines from the bottom);
in order to reflect UV light evenly within the hand disinfection area (S, 40) onto hands (see Figures 4-5; English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 12-13).
Matschke (‘588) also discloses a system (1) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1-8), the system comprising:
a dryer including one or more air outlets/nozzles (21, 22) configured to emit drying air into a hand disinfection area (10) (see Figures 1, 4-6 and 8);
a first reflector (13) below the hand disinfection area (10) (see Figures 1-6);
a second reflector (i.e. interior wall/surfaces of 10) above the hand disinfection area (10), wherein the second reflector (i.e. interior wall/surfaces of 10) is disposed around one or more air outlets/nozzles (21, 22) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (10) (see entire document, particularly Figure 6, p. 13 line 23 to p. 15 line 9);
an UV light emitter (14) configured to emit UV light into the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 10 lines 31-35);
in order to reflect and disperse UV light throughout within the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 14 line 32 to p. 15 line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflector around one or more air out of the dryer of Gordon as modified by Gordon, Igarashi, Satermo and Bayley as a known alternate configuration in order to evenly reflect UV light within the hand disinfection area for irradiation of hands as shown by Kim or Matschke.
As to Claim 3, Igarashi (‘499) discloses that the first and second UV light emitters (20; 20A) are configured to emit the UV light between 215-235 nanometers (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0068]-[0069], p. 5 [0088] – last 2 lines, p. 6 [0096] – last 2 lines).
As to Claim 7, Gordon (‘117) discloses that the system (100) further comprises one or more sensors configured to detect presence of the hands within the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (e.x. 800 - see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0073] – lines 5-8 and [0076] – lines 8-9).
Gordon (‘141) also discloses that the system (100) further comprises one or more sensors (160/260) configured to detect presence of the hands within the hand disinfection area (i.e. within 110 via 140) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, 12th page – lines 12-14).
As to Claim 8, Gordon (‘117) discloses that the system further comprises a control unit (e.x. 520) configured to control operation of the one or more light emitters (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0073] – last 4 lines)
Igarashi (‘499) also discloses that the system (100; 100A) further comprises a control unit (135) configured to control operation of the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) (see entire document, particularly Figures 4 and 13, pp. 4-5 [0078]).
As to Claim 9, Igarashi (‘499) discloses that the control unit (135) is configured to continue operating the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) for a predetermined period of time after the hands have been removed from the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0025]-[0026])
As to Claim 10, Igarashi (‘499) discloses that the control unit (135) is further configured to disable or reduce power to one or more other powered systems (113) when the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) emit the UV light into the hand disinfection area (104) (see entire document, particularly pp. 4-5 [0078], p. 8 [0083]).
As to Claim 29, Igarashi (‘499) discloses that the system further comprises a gray use water capturing means (103, 116, 117, 118) configured to capture gray water that drips from the hands (see Figures 4 and 13, p. 5 [0081]). While Igarashi’s gray use water capturing means is not specifically in the configuration of a grill, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grill configuration for at least at the gray water capturing means outlet 116 as a known configuration in the system of Gordon as modified by Gordon and Igarashi and Satermo in order to ensure that any personal effects or any debris accidentally dropped within the system would not become trapped and enable return/removal of any dropped object from the interior/disinfection area within the system. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, Claims 1, 3, 7-10, and 29 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), Satermo (‘101), Bayley (‘441, and Kim (‘986) or Matschke (‘588).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon (20170080117) in view of Gordon (WO2007051141) and Igarashi (20190321499), Satermo (20180078101), Bayley (20110271441) and Kim (KR20110039986) or Matschke (WO9308588) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benner (20230248862).
Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), Satermo (‘101), Bayley (‘441), and Kim (‘986) or Matschke (‘588) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
None of Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), Satermo (‘101), Bayley (‘441) and Kim (‘986) or Matschke (‘588) appears to specifically that the one or more reflectors are formed of Teflon.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Teflon as the material for a reflector. Benner (‘862) discloses a system (see Figures 1-3) for disinfection comprising: one or more UV light emitters (10, 20, 30) configured to emit UV light into a disinfection area; and one or more reflectors (22; 32) formed of Teflon (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0044] – last 5 lines and [0045] – lines 3-5) in order to outwardly reflect the UV light so as to increase light emission efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0044] – last line and [0045] – lines 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Teflon as the material for the first and second reflectors in the system of Gordon as modified by Gordon, Igarashi, Satermo, Bayley, and Kim or Matschke as a known reflective material in order to provide reflectivity of the UV light emitted by the one or more UV emitters so as to increase light emission efficiency as shown by Benner.
Thus, Claim 4 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Gordon (‘117), Gordon (‘141), Igarashi (‘499), Satermo (‘101), Bayley (‘441), Kim (‘986) or Matschke (‘588), and Benner (‘862).
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satermo (20180078101) in view of Igarashi (20190321499), Gordon (20170080117), Bayley (20110271441) and Kim (KR20110039986) or Matschke (WO9308588).
Satermo (‘101) discloses a vehicle (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0022] – last 3 lines) comprising:
an internal cabin (i.e. aircraft cabin - see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0024] – lines 4-5) including a lavatory (100), wherein the lavatory comprises a system (200) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 2A-6B), the system (200) comprising:
one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (216) configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (228) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0028]);
a dryer (214, 220, 222, 232) configured to emit drying air into the hand disinfection area (228);
one or more sensors (224) configured to detect presence of the hands within the hand disinfection area (228) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0029]); and
a control unit (302) configured to control operation of the one or more UV light emitters (216) (see entire document, particularly Figure 3).
Satermo (‘101) does not appear to specifically that the one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters comprises a first UV light emitter and a second UV light emitter that are disposed on opposites sides of the dryer and downwardly angled to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector, or that the system for disinfecting hands further comprises a first reflector below the hand disinfection area and directly disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink and a second reflector above the hand disinfection area and disposed around one or more air nozzles of the dryer, nor that the control unit is configured to continue operating the one or more UV light emitters for a predetermined period of time after the hands have been removed from the hand disinfection area and configured to disable or reduce power to one or more other powered systems when the one or more UV light emitters emit the UV light into the hand disinfection area.
As to the limitations that the one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters comprises a first UV light emitter and a second UV light emitter disposed opposite sides of the dryer to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector and that the control unit is configured to continue operating the one or more UV light emitters for a predetermined period of time after the hands have been removed from the hand disinfection area and configured to disable or reduce power to one or more other powered systems when the one or more UV light emitters emit the UV light into the hand disinfection area, Igarashi (‘499) discloses a system (100; 100A) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1-8 and 12-13), the system (100; 100A) comprising:
one or more reflectors (16; 17; 110) configured to reflect the UV light within a hand disinfection area (104), wherein the one or more reflectors (16; 17; 110) comprises a first reflector (16 in 10A; 17 in 10A’) and a second reflector (16 in 10B; 17 in 10B’; 16 in 10A) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 13);
one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (20; 20A) configured to emit UV light into a hand disinfection area (104), wherein the one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitters (20) are configured to emit the UV light (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0068]-[0069], p. 5 [0088] – last 2 lines, p. 6 [0096] – last 2 lines); wherein the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) comprises:
a first UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20A within 10A or 10A’ or 10B) spaced from a first side of the dryer (106); and
a second UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20A within 10B or 10A/10A’) spaced from a second side of the dryer (106), wherein the second side is opposite from the first side (i.e. A side vs B side - see Figures 1-2, 4 and 12-13),
wherein the first UV light emitter (i.e. 20/20Awithin 10A or 10A’) is placed to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) so that the UV light is capable of reflecting back and forth between the first reflector (16 or 17 in 10B; 110) and the second reflector (16; 17) (see Figures 4-5, 8 and 12-13), and
wherein the first reflector (16 or 17; 110) and the second reflectors (17 or 16; 110) disposed adjacent the one or more air nozzles (106) (see Figures 1-2, 4-5, 8 and 12-13));
a dryer comprised of one or more air nozzles (106) configured to emit drying air (107) into the hand disinfection area (104) (see Figures 4 and 13);
one or more sensors (108) configured to detect presence of the hands within the hand disinfection area (104) (see entire document, particularly Figures 4 and 13, p. 4 [0063] and [0077]); and
a control unit (135) configured to control operation of the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) (see entire document, particularly Figures 4 and 13, pp. 4-5 [0078]), wherein the control unit (135) is configured to continue operating the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) for a predetermined period of time after the hands have been removed from the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0025]-[0026]), and wherein the control unit (135) is further configured to disable or reduce power to one or more other powered systems (113) when the one or more UV light emitters (20; 20A) emit the UV light into the hand disinfection area (104) (see entire document, particularly pp. 4-5 [0078], p. 8 [0083]),
in order to void harmful effect to human cells while sterilizing contaminant(s) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0069]), to reflect the UV light emitted from the one or more UV light emitters and into the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0091]) and to further sterilize/disinfect the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0025]-[0026]) and to operate other components to control the environment within the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first UV light emitter and a second UV light emitter configured to emit the UV light and disposed on opposite sides of the dryer as well as a control unit configured as set forth in the claim in the system of Satermo as known components/configuration in a hand disinfection system in order to emit UV light to irradiate hands as well as the hand disinfection area and to control the system so as to disinfect hands and the hand disinfection area and to control the environment within the system as shown by Igarashi.
As to the limitations that the first UV light emitter and the second UV light emitter are downwardly angled to emit the UV light toward and onto the first reflector and that the system comprises a first reflector below the hand disinfection area and a second reflector above the hand disinfection area, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first light emitter and a second light emitter that are angled downward as well as a first reflector located below a hand disinfection area and a second reflector above a hand disinfection area in a system for disinfecting hands. Gordon (‘117) discloses a system (see Figure 4) for disinfecting hands (240) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0065] – line 3), the system (100) comprising:
a first light emitter (420) located on a first side (i.e. top right side adjacent the center– see Figure 4), wherein the first light emitter (420) is configured to emit light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see Figure 4);
a second light emitter (420) located on a second side opposite from the first side (i.e. top left side adjacent the center – see Figure 4). wherein the second light emitter (420) is configured to emit light into a hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see Figure 4);
a first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) below the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, particularly Figures 3-4, p. 3 [0066]-[0067]); and
a second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) above the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, Figures 3-4, p. 3 [0066]-[0067]), wherein the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) and the second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) are configured to reflect the light within the hand disinfection area (i.e. within/at the center of 400/430) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0066]-[0067]),
wherein the first light emitter (420 located top right side adjacent the center– see Figure 4) and the second light emitter (420 located top left side adjacent the center– see Figure 4) are downwardly angles to emit the light toward and onto the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) (see Figure 4) so that the light reflects back and forth between the first reflector (i.e. bottom interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 332) and the second reflector (i.e. top interior wall/surface of 430 corresponding to 330) (see Figure 4),
in order to deliver the UV light consistently over 100% of an object without any input required from the user so as to inactivate pathogens on an object (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0065], [0066] – lines 1-2, and [0067], p. 4 [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide downwardly angled light emitters as well as reflectors located opposite each other above and below the hand disinfection area in the system of Satermo as modified by Igarashi as a known alternate configuration in order to deliver UV light consistently over 100% of an object without requiring any user input so as to inactivate pathogens on the objects as shown by Gordon.
While combined teaching of Satermo (‘101), Igarashi (‘499), and Gordon (‘117) only appears to teach that the first reflector is disposed adjacent a countertop adjacent to a sink (see Satermo (‘101) - Figures 5A-6B) and where Igarashi (‘499) specifically discloses that the second reflector (16) is adjacent one or more nozzles (106) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (104), neither Satermo (‘101) nor Igarashi (‘499) or Gordon (‘117) specifically teaches that the first reflector is disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink or that the second reflector is disposed around the one or more air nozzles of the dryer. However, as Satermo (‘101) discloses various possible location of the system for disinfecting hands such as on any other walls/vertical surfaces (see entire document, particularly Figures 5A-6B, p. 3 [0034] -– lines 7-8 and [0035] – lines 8-9) and since Gordon (‘117) discloses that the system may be implemented in conjunction with traditional faucets in order to provide disinfection of hands of a user at the same time as the hand washing (see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0101] – 4th – 7th lines from the bottom), it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system is positioned at any desired location such as a location/wall/vertical surface on/above the countertop such that the first reflector is disposed on a surface of the countertop adjacent to the sink in the system of Satermo as modified by Igarashi and Gordon as an alternate location/configuration for the system in order to provide disinfection and drying of hands of a user at the same time as the hand washing (see Gordon (‘117) - p. 7 [0101] – 4th – 7th lines from the bottom). Only the expected results would be attained.
Moreover, while Satermo (‘101), Igarashi (‘499), and Gordon (‘117) does not appear to specifically teach that the first reflector is directly disposed on a surface of the countertop, Bayley (‘441) discloses a configuration where a dryer (26) is positioned directly on a surface of a countertop (20) adjacent to a sink (16) as a known alternate position/location (see entire document, particularly Figures 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 11) where the bottom portion of the dryer is disposed directly on the countertop (20) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 11, specifically Figures 9 and 11, p. 7 [0063] – line 8 and [0067] – lines 2-3), the combined teaching of Satermo (‘101), Igarashi (‘499), Gordon (‘117), and Bayley (‘441) teaches a configuration where at least one reflector/a first reflector (associated with/located within the dryer) that is disposed on a surface of a countertop adjacent to a sink as a known alternate configuration as a matter of engineering/design choice.
As to the limitation that the second reflector is disposed around one or more air nozzles of the dryer above the hand disinfection area, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflector around one or more nozzles of a dryer. Kim (‘986) discloses a system (1) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 4-6), the system comprising:
a dryer including an air inlet (via 20, 70 to back end/opening of 40) configured to emit drying air into a hand disinfection area (S, 40) (see Figures 4-5);
a reflector (50) above the hand disinfection area (S, 40), wherein the reflector (50) is disposed around one or more air inlet (via 20, 70 to back end/opening of 40) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (S, 40) (see Figures 4-5);
UV light emitters (30, 32) configured to emit UV light into the hand disinfection area (see Figures 4-6; English translation, particularly p. 3 6th – 9th lines from the bottom);
in order to reflect UV light evenly within the hand disinfection area (S, 40) onto hands (see Figures 4-5; English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 12-13).
Matschke (‘588) also discloses a system (1) for disinfecting hands (see Figures 1-8), the system comprising:
a dryer including one or more air outlets/nozzles (21, 22) configured to emit drying air into a hand disinfection area (10) (see Figures 1, 4-6 and 8);
a first reflector (13) below the hand disinfection area (10) (see Figures 1-6);
a second reflector (i.e. interior wall/surfaces of 10) above the hand disinfection area (10), wherein the second reflector (i.e. interior wall/surfaces of 10) is disposed around one or more air outlets/nozzles (21, 22) of the dryer above the hand disinfection area (10) (see entire document, particularly Figure 6, p. 13 line 23 to p. 15 line 9);
an UV light emitter (14) configured to emit UV light into the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 10 lines 31-35);
in order to reflect and disperse UV light throughout within the hand disinfection area (see entire document, particularly p. 14 line 32 to p. 15 line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflector around one or more air out of the dryer of Satermo as modified by Gordon, Igarashi, and Bayley as a known configuration in order to evenly reflect UV light within the hand disinfection area for irradiation of hands as shown by Kim or Matschke.
Thus, Claim 28 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Satermo (‘101), Igarashi (‘499), Gordon (‘117), Bayley (‘441, and Kim (‘986) or Matschke (‘588).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see second and third paragraph on p. 7 of Remarks, filed 3/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10, and 28-29, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the finality of the rejection(s) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s arguments on p. 8 of Remarks in regards to the limitation of the first reflector being disposed on a surface of the countertop, examiner disagrees and points out that the applicant's argument is an argument against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, examiner disagrees with applicant’s argument in 5th and 6th paragraphs on p. 8 of Remarks and points to Bayley’s teaching in Figures 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 11, particularly Figures 9 and 11 and p. 7 [0067] – lines 2-3 which discloses that the bottom portion (where a first reflector would be located as taught by the combined teaching) is disposed directly on the countertop as such portion is integral with the countertop (shown in Figure 9 and p. 7 [0067] – lines 2-3).
As to applicant’s argument on p. 9 of Remarks in regards to the limitation of the second reflector being disposed around one or more air nozzles of the dryer, examiner disagrees and points out that the applicant's argument is an argument against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, examiner disagrees with applicant’s argument in 2nd and 3rd paragraphs on p. 9 of Remarks and points out that the reflector 50 of Kim is disposed around an air outlet (70) of the dryer (see Figures 4-5). In addition, examiner disagrees with applicant’s argument in 4th and 5th paragraphs on p. 9 of Remarks and points out that the reflector disposed on 10 is located “around” the air outlet 22 of 21 (see Figures 1-4 and 6, particularly Figure 6). Finally, examiner indicates that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: 20210369881 (a hand sanitizer with UV light), JP2013244248 and KR200348688 and JPH0662979 (a hand drier with sterilizer having a UV light source and a reflector disposed adjacent one or more air nozzles).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758