DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 14, 16-19, 21-28 and 34-38 remain pending in the application, claims 12-13, 15, 20, 29 and 30-33 are cancelled, and claims 1-11, 14, 16-18 and 34-37 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the interpretation of the rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 11/25/2025, however a new rejection is applied as outlined below in light of the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous interpretation of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Arguments directed to the claims as amended are addressed in the body of the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 23-24, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegels (US PGPub 2014/0194918) in view of Kapur (US PGPub 2017/0049946), and further in view of Braun et al. (US PGPub 2012/0022572), hereinafter known as “Tegels,” “Kapur,” and “Braun,” respectively.
With regards to claim 19, Tegels discloses (Figures 1-2H and 4) wire assembly 12 configured to occlude a vessel 70 (paragraph 29), comprising:
a shaft 20 that is elongate along a longitudinal axis, the shaft 20 having a proximal end portion 34, a distal end portion (most distal end of shaft 20) spaced from the proximal end portion 34 along the longitudinal axis, a lumen 36 that extends from the proximal end portion 34 toward the distal end portion (paragraph 24), and a cross-sectional dimension that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (any shaft with a lumen will have some cross-sectional dimension that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis), wherein the distal end portion defines a distal tip 32; and
an occlusion member 28 coupled along an outer portion of the shaft 20, the occlusion member 28 configured to transition between a collapsed configuration (figures 1B and 2B) and an expanded configuration (figure 2C; paragraph 33), wherein the occlusion member 28 in the collapsed configuration (figures 1B and 2B) has a first cross-sectional dimension that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 20 (figure 1B – distal end 44 of the occlusion member 28 has a cross-sectional dimension that is less than a proximal end portion 34 of the shaft 20) such that the occlusion member 28 is contracted for insertion into the vessel 70 (figure 2B), and the occlusion member 28 in the expanded configuration (paragraph 33; figure 2C) has a second cross-sectional dimension that is greater that the first cross-sectional dimension and the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 20 (figure 2B; paragraph 32);
a removable hub 62 positioned at the proximal end portion 34 of the shaft 20 (figures 2D-2E; paragraph 34); and
a control device 19 coupled to the removable hub 62, the control device 19 configured to transition the occlusion member 28 from the collapsed configuration (figure 2B) into the expanded configuration (figure 2C; paragraphs 27 and 33).
Tegels is silent the occlusion member comprising a basket coupled to the shaft and a membrane disposed around the basket to facilitate occlusion when inserted in the vessel; and
a wire coupled to the basket at one end of the wire and to the control device at an opposite end of the wire, the control device configured to transition the occlusion member from the collapsed configuration into the expanded configuration by pulling the wire in a proximal direction causing the basket to compress along the longitudinal axis and expand along a radial direction that is angularly offset with respect to the longitudinal axis.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of expandable members, Kapur teaches (Figures 4 and 6-7) the occlusion member 50 comprising a basket (paragraph 65) coupled to the shaft 31 (figure 4; although occlusion member 32 is shown in figure 4, paragraphs 65-66 disclose the occlusion member 50 and the shaft 31) and a membrane (paragraph 65) disposed around the basket 50 to facilitate occlusion when inserted in the vessel; and
a wire 54 coupled to the basket 50 at one end 53 of the wire 54 and to the control device 33/36 at an opposite end of the wire 54 (paragraph 68), the control device 33/36 configured to transition the occlusion member 50 from the collapsed configuration into the expanded configuration (figure 6) by pulling the wire 54 in a proximal direction causing the basket 50 to compress along the longitudinal axis and expand along a radial direction that is angularly offset with respect to the longitudinal axis (figure 6; paragraphs 65-66).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the occlusion member of Tegels for the occlusion member as taught by Kapur. The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Tegels does not teach a basket and a wire controlling the expansion/compression of the basket. Kapur teaches (see Figs. 4 and 6-7) a similar occlusion member comprising a basket and a wire controlling the expansion/compression of the basket. Accordingly, the prior art references teach that it is known that the occlusion member of Tegels and the occlusion member of Kapur are elements that are functional equivalents for providing occlusion to the vessel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the occlusion member taught by Kapur for the occlusion member of Tegels because both elements were known equivalents for providing, and would have resulted in the predictable results of providing occlusion to the vessel within the art.
Tegels/Kapur are silent wherein the occlusion member in the collapsed configuration has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft such that that occlusion member is contracted for insertion into the vessel.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of expandable members, Braun teaches (Figures 2A-2C and 16-18A) wherein the occlusion member 1822 in the collapsed configuration (flush with the shaft 1706 as seen in figure 2A where occlusion member 34 is flush with the shaft 28; paragraphs 123, 149, and 151 disclose the diametric and radial collapse) has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 1706 such that that occlusion member 1822 is contracted for insertion into the vessel and such that the occlusion member 1822 does not substantially inhibit movement of a device to move along the occlusion member 1822 or shaft 1706 (figure 18A – “the tapered region 1814 shows the shaft 1706 being stepped down as described in paragraphs 148 and 159, thus the occlusion member 1822 that is flush with the shaft 1706 distal to the tapered region 1814 has its largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis LESS than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 1706 that is proximal to the tapered region 1814).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire assembly of Tegels/Kapur to include wherein the occlusion member in the collapsed configuration has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft such that that occlusion member is contracted for insertion into the vessel and such that the occlusion member does not substantially inhibit movement of a device to move along the occlusion member or shaft as taught by Braun for the purpose of contracting the occlusion member for insertion into the vessel so that the occlusion member is within the shaft and does not accidentally damage while navigating the vessel.
With regards to claim 23, Tegels/Kapur/Braun disclose the wire assembly as claimed in claim 19. Tegels/Kapur/Braun are silent to explicitly disclosing wherein the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft is no greater than 0.040 in.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft would result in a difference in function of the Tegels/Kapur/Braun device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shaft of Tegels/Kapur/Braun, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed cross-sectional dimension. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed dimension solves any stated problem, indicating that the cross-sectional dimension “may” be within the claimed dimension, and offering other acceptable dimensions (e.g., 0.014 in., 0.018 in., 0.035 in., specification at para. [0021]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the dimension as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Tegels/Kapur/Braun to have a cross-sectional dimension no greater than 0.040 in. as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
With regards to claim 24, Tegels/Kapur/Braun further disclose wherein the shaft (Tegels: 20) includes a step-down region (Braun: tapered region 1814) proximal to the distal tip of the shaft (Tegels: 20) upon which the occlusion member (Kapur: 50; akin to the occlusion member 28 of Tegels and 1822 of Braun) is disposed (Braun: figure 18A – occlusion member is disposed on the step-down region that is proximal to the most distal end of the shaft).
With regards to claim 38, Tegels further discloses wherein the wire assembly 12 is configured to be used in combination with a vascular closure device 14 configured to seal a puncture in a vessel wall (paragraphs 29-30 and 34-36; figures 2F-2H).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegels in view of Kapur in view of Braun, and further in view of Zadno-Azizi (US PGPub 2002/0065507).
With regards to claim 21, Tegels/Kapur/Braun disclose the wire assembly as claimed in claim 19. Tegels/Kapur/Braun are silent wherein the shaft is a guide wire.
However, in a field of being reasonably pertinent to the particular problem in which Applicant is concerned with, namely to guide the shaft through vasculature, Zadno-Azizi teaches (Figures 4-6 and 9) wherein the shaft 10 is a guide wire (paragraphs 139-140, 142, and 150).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shaft of Tegels/Kapur/Braun to be a guide wire as taught by Zadno-Azizi for the purpose of providing "anchorable" guidewires, which generally feature some structure on their distal ends to releasably secure the guidewire at a particular location in the patient for the duration of the medical procedure (paragraph 7 of Zadno-Azizi).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegels in view of Kapur in view of Braun, and further in view of Karrowni et al. (US PGPub 2022/0202423), hereinafter known as “Karrowni.”
With regards to claim 22, Tegels/Kapur/Braun disclose the wire assembly as claimed in claim 19. Tegels/Kapur/Braun are silent wherein the distal end portion has a pigtail shape.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of expandable members, Karrowni teaches (Figure 1) wherein the distal end portion 22 has a pigtail shape (paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire assembly of Tegels/Kapur/Braun to include the distal end portion having a pigtail shape as taught by Karrowni for the purpose of helping prevent vascular damage during movement of the device into position and further can facilitate repositioning of the catheter (paragraph 41 of Karrowni).
Claims 19 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US PGPub 2020/0093498), hereinafter known as “Roberts,” in view of Kapur, and further in view of Braun.
With regards to claim 19, Roberts discloses (Figures 1-11) wire assembly 2 configured to occlude a vessel (functional limitation - paragraph 33 – “capable of expanding or otherwise conforming to the uterine cavity” therefore is capable of occluding a vessel), comprising:
a shaft 8 that is elongate along a longitudinal axis, the shaft 8 having a proximal end portion 13, a distal end portion 15 spaced from the proximal end portion 13 along the longitudinal axis, a lumen 14/16 that extends from the proximal end portion 13 toward the distal end portion 15 (paragraphs 25 and 33), and a cross-sectional dimension that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (any shaft with a lumen will have some cross-sectional dimension that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis), wherein the distal end portion 15 defines a distal tip 19 (paragraph 28); and
an occlusion member 6 coupled along an outer portion of the shaft 8, the occlusion member 6 configured to transition between a collapsed configuration (figures 1 – phantom lines; paragraph 21) and an expanded configuration (figure 1 – solid lines; paragraph 21), wherein the occlusion member 6 in the collapsed configuration has a first cross-sectional dimension such that the occlusion member 6 is contracted for insertion into the vessel (figure 1 – uterine cavity), and the occlusion member 6 in the expanded configuration has a second cross-sectional dimension that is greater that the first cross-sectional dimension and the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 8 (figure 1; paragraph 21 – solid lines);
a removable hub 22 positioned at the proximal end portion 13 of the shaft 8 (figure 6; paragraph 48); and
a control device 20 coupled to the removable hub 22, the control device 20 configured to transition the occlusion member 6 from the collapsed configuration into the expanded configuration (paragraph 48).
Roberts is silent the occlusion member comprising a basket coupled to the shaft and a membrane disposed around the basket to facilitate occlusion when inserted in the vessel; and
a wire coupled to the basket at one end of the wire and to the control device at an opposite end of the wire, the control device configured to transition the occlusion member from the collapsed configuration into the expanded configuration by pulling the wire in a proximal direction causing the basket to compress along the longitudinal axis and expand along a radial direction that is angularly offset with respect to the longitudinal axis.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of expandable members, Kapur teaches (Figures 4 and 6-7) the occlusion member 50 comprising a basket (paragraph 65) coupled to the shaft 31 (figure 4; although occlusion member 32 is shown in figure 4, paragraphs 65-66 disclose the occlusion member 50 and the shaft 31) and a membrane (paragraph 65) disposed around the basket 50 to facilitate occlusion when inserted in the vessel; and
a wire 54 coupled to the basket 50 at one end 53 of the wire 54 and to the control device 33/36 at an opposite end of the wire 54 (paragraph 68), the control device 33/36 configured to transition the occlusion member 50 from the collapsed configuration into the expanded configuration (figure 6) by pulling the wire 54 in a proximal direction causing the basket 50 to compress along the longitudinal axis and expand along a radial direction that is angularly offset with respect to the longitudinal axis (figure 6; paragraphs 65-66).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the occlusion member of Roberts for the occlusion member as taught by Kapur. The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Roberts does not teach a basket and a wire controlling the expansion/compression of the basket. Kapur teaches (see Figs. 4 and 6-7) a similar occlusion member comprising a basket and a wire controlling the expansion/compression of the basket. Accordingly, the prior art references teach that it is known that the occlusion member of Roberts and the occlusion member of Kapur are elements that are functional equivalents for providing occlusion to the vessel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the occlusion member taught by Kapur for the occlusion member of Roberts because both elements were known equivalents for providing, and would have resulted in the predictable results of providing occlusion to the vessel within the art.
Roberts/Kapur are silent wherein the occlusion member in the collapsed configuration has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft such that the occlusion member is contracted for insertion into the vessel.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of expandable members, Braun teaches (Figures 2A-2C and 16-18A) wherein the occlusion member 1822 in the collapsed configuration (flush with the shaft 1706 as seen in figure 2A where occlusion member 34 is flush with the shaft 28; paragraphs 123, 149, and 151 disclose the diametric and radial collapse) has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 1706 such that that occlusion member 1822 is contracted for insertion into the vessel and such that the occlusion member 1822 does not substantially inhibit movement of a device to move along the occlusion member 1822 or shaft 1706 (figure 18A – “the tapered region 1814 shows the shaft 1706 being stepped down as described in paragraphs 148 and 159, thus the occlusion member 1822 that is flush with the shaft 1706 distal to the tapered region 1814 has its largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis LESS than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft 1706 that is proximal to the tapered region 1814).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire assembly of Tegels/Kapur to include wherein the occlusion member in the collapsed configuration has a largest first cross-sectional dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis that is less than the cross-sectional dimension of the shaft such that that occlusion member is contracted for insertion into the vessel and such that the occlusion member does not substantially inhibit movement of a device to move along the occlusion member or shaft as taught by Braun for the purpose of contracting the occlusion member for insertion into the vessel so that the occlusion member is within the shaft and does not accidentally damage while navigating the vessel.
With regards to claim 25, Roberts further discloses wherein the removable hub 22 is connected to a proximal tip (see proximal end of proximal end portion 13) of the shaft 8 (figure 6; paragraph 48).
With regards to claim 26, Roberts further discloses wherein the hub 22 is threadably coupled to the shaft 8 (paragraph 46).
With regards to claim 27, Roberts further discloses wherein the hub 22 and the shaft 8 form a fluid tight connection (paragraphs 48 and 53).
With regards to claim 28, Roberts further discloses wherein the hub 22 and the shaft 8 are coupled via a barbed fitting (paragraph 46).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S ADAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 04/08/2026
/KATHERINE M SHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771