DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed 07/02/25 has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vacuum pump, control element (foot pedal), and timer with activation button must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted Claims 22-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 22-27 are drawn to components to be used in combination with the originally elected subcombination of an arthroscopic instrument of Claim 10, which is distinct from the invention originally claimed since the instrument of originally elected Claim 10 has separate utility by itself or in other combinations such as being used on its own without a control element/foot pedal and timer as recited in the combination. The original restriction requirement would have included the combination as a system in another group in the restriction.
Newly submitted Claims 28-34 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 28-34 are drawn to a method of performing an arthroscopic shoulder surgery, which is distinct from the invention originally claimed since the instrument of originally elected Claim 10 can be used in a materially different method of using, such as in an arthroscopic hip or knee surgery. The original restriction requirement would have included the method in another group in the restriction.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 28-34 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly amended Claim 10 now recites “a vacuum pump in fluid communication with the second tube, and configured to apply a vacuum pressure below a vacuum pressure available from a wall vacuum in an operating room to the second tube.” which seeks to introduce new matter as none of the drawings depict a vacuum pump and the specification does not disclose this specific limitation. The specification discloses in Paragraph [0039] that “[0039] During a shoulder operation, after the arthroscopic camera is inserted into a patient's shoulder (see FIG. 10A), the suction pressure may be set to a fixed amount. Typical shoulder arthroscopy inflow via the arthroscopic camera cannula is typically set to about 50mm of mercury for a pump so that the shoulder is filled with fluid. If no outflow exists from the shoulder, the inflow stops once the pressure in the joint than is at or above 50mm. The outflow suction keeps the pressure in the shoulder stabilized or the pump is automatically stopped once the desired pressure is reached. In an embodiment, outflow pressure may be adjusted using a valve and/or decrease in pressure level (i.e., higher negative pressure) of a suction pump. In an embodiment, a foot pedal or other control elements (e.g., knob, switch, etc.) available for the surgeon may be used to control input and output pressures to aid the surgeon to clear a field-of- view of blood, bone fragments, etc., within the shoulder during an operation.” Thus, the specification recites “a suction pump”, but does not specifically disclose that the pump is in fluid communication with the second tube and configured to apply a vacuum pressure below a vacuum pressure available from a wall vacuum in an operating room to the second tube, nor depict the structural arrangement of the pump and wall vacuum with respect to the instrument. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant's own admitted prior art as seen in Figs. 1A-1B and as disclosed in Paragraphs [0007, 0010, 0023-0025], in view of David (US PG Pub No. 2013/0158547).
Regarding Claim 10, Applicant's own admitted prior art discloses an arthroscopic instrument (Figs. 1A-1B, Paragraphs [0023-0025]), comprising: a housing ( Paragraph [0007]) having an inlet port (Paragraph [0007]) and an outlet port (Paragraph [0007]); a first tube (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0023]) connected to the inlet port for inserting fluid into the inlet port to be fluidly transported into a joint of a patient (Paragraph [0007]); a second tube (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0023]) connected to the outlet port, and configured to apply a vacuum pressure to the outlet port (Paragraph [0007]); and a vacuum applied to the second tube to apply a vacuum pressure below a vacuum pressure available from a wall vacuum in an operating room (Paragraphs [0007, 0023]). Applicant discloses that the arthroscopic instrument 100 is "Prior Art" in Figs. 1A-1B. See MPEP 2141.01, 2152.03 and 2129.
Applicant’s own admitted prior art does not specifically disclose a vacuum pump in fluid communication with the second tube and capable of applying a vacuum pressure below a vacuum pressure available from a wall vacuum in an operating room to the second tube.
David discloses a medical device (Fig. 4), comprising a housing (5, Fig. 1-5) comprising a source of vacuum pressure for delivering and removing a treatment fluid (Paragraph [0047]), wherein the source of vacuum pressure is a battery powered vacuum pump (50, Figs. 4-5) connected to a vacuum tube (not shown, Paragraph [0050] via a vacuum port (52), and wherein the vacuum pump is configured to generate between 1psi and 14psi of force (Paragraph [0047]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that medical vacuum systems in hospitals typically operate at 15-22 inches of mercury (Hg) below atmospheric pressure, which corresponds to approximately 7.3–10.1 psi negative pressure for patient suction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the inventio to modify the instrument of the Applicant’s own admitted prior art with a vacuum pump connected to the second tube as taught by David in order to provide the instrument with a means for suctioning the surgical site at a range of pressures based on a patient’s particular needs.
Response to Arguments
In regards to Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/02/25, with respect to the 102 rejection of Claim 10 using Applicant’s own admitted prior art: The arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection based on the newly amended claims which changed the scope of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WEISS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775