DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed March 24, 2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended; support for the amendment can be found in at least Figure 1. Claim 13 is new; support can be found in at least Figure 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed March 24, 2025 has been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2013/0149593 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hayashi, in view of Iwamoto (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0337422 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a layer solid-state battery (“a battery”) (see e.g., Abstract). Hayashi teaches the layered solid-state battery is a layered solid-state battery formed by stacking n pieces of unit cells (“a plurality of solid-state battery cells”) while disposing n-1 pieces of the internal collection layers between the n pieces of the unit cells (“a connection layer disposed between the plurality of solid-state battery cells”) (see e.g., paragraph [0026]). Hayashi teaches the plurality of unit cells are connected in parallel with an internal collection layer 4 intervening therebetween (“the plurality of solid-state battery cells is electrically connected in parallel”) (see e.g., paragraph [0011]). Hayashi teaches the unit cell is constituted of a positive electrode layer 1, a solid electrolyte layer 3, and a negative electrode layer 2 that are sequentially stacked (“the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells is disposed between the positive-electrode active material layer and the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0026]). Hayashi teaches the internal collection layer 4 is disposed so as to be in contact with the negative electrode layer 2 of each of the (unit cell 1) and the (unit cell 2); however, the internal collection layer 4 may be disposed so as to be in contact with the positive electrode layer 1 of each of the (unit cell 1) and the (unit cell 2) (the positive electrode layers or the negative layers “of two adjacent solid-state battery cells among the plurality of solid-state battery cells are laminated via the connection layer”) (see e.g., Figure 1 and paragraph [0040]). Hayashi teaches the solid electrolyte layer 3 is disposed outside the positive electrode layer 1 and negative electrode layer 2 (“the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells is disposed outside the positive-electrode active material layer and the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell”) (see e.g., Figure 1).
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the positive electrode layer comprises a positive-electrode current collector and a positive-electrode active material layer and the negative electrode layer comprises a negative-electrode current collector and a negative-electrode active material layer. Hayashi does not explicitly teach the solid electrolyte layer covers both side surfaces of the positive-electrode active material layer and both side surfaces of the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell and is in contact with the positive-electrode current collector and the negative-electrode current collector of each corresponding solid-state battery cell outside the positive-electrode active material layer and the negative-electrode active material layer, the both side surfaces of the positive-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell covered by the solid electrolyte layer are aligned in an alignment direction, and the both side surfaces of the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell covered by the solid electrolyte layer are aligned in the alignment direction, and the alignment direction is perpendicular to the laminating direction.
However, Iwamoto teaches a battery (see e.g., Abstract). Iwamoto teaches the battery includes a first electrode layer 100 and a second electrode layer 200 (see e.g., paragraph [0052]), wherein the first electrode layer 100 includes a first current collector 110, a first active material layer 120, and a first solid electrolyte layer 130 (see e.g., paragraph [0054] and the second electrode layer 200 includes a second current collector 210, a second active material layer 220, and a second solid electrolyte layer 230 (“each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells includes a structure in which a positive- electrode current collector, a positive-electrode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte, a negative-electrode active material layer, and a negative-electrode current collector are laminated in a laminating direction”) (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). Iwamoto teaches the first solid electrolyte layer 130 and the second solid electrolyte layer 230 may be bonded together (see e.g., paragraph [0068]). Iwamoto teaches the first solid electrolyte 130 and the second solid electrolyte 230 cover both sides of the first active material layer 120 and second active material layer 220, respectively, and is contact with the first current collector 110 and second current collector 210, respectively (“the solid electrolyte layer covers both side surfaces of the positive-electrode active material layer and both side surfaces of the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell and is in contact with the positive-electrode current collector and the negative-electrode current collector of each corresponding solid-state battery cell outside the positive-electrode active material layer and the negative-electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 1). Iwamoto teaches the side surfaces of the first active material layer 120 covered by the first solid electrolyte 130 are aligned in an alignment direction (“the both side surfaces of the positive-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell covered by the solid electrolyte layer are aligned in an alignment direction”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 1) and the side surfaces of the second active material layer 220 covered by the second solid electrolyte 230 are aligned in the alignment direction (“the both side surfaces of the negative-electrode active material layer of each corresponding solid-state battery cell covered by the solid electrolyte layer are aligned in the alignment direction, and the alignment direction is perpendicular to the laminating direction”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 1). Iwamoto teaches having the solid electrolyte layers cover the side surfaces of the active material layers and in contact with the current collectors reduces the risk of short circuits caused by direct contact between the current collectors (see e.g., paragraph [0066]) and further simplifying of and reducing in the costs for battery manufacturing steps by eliminating the necessity of an additional member for insulation (see e.g., paragraph [0067]).
Iwamoto Figure 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the unit cells comprising the positive electrode layer, negative electrode layer, and solid electrolyte layer of Hayashi to have the solid electrolyte layer in contact with a current collector and the side surfaces of the active material layers, such as Iwamoto, in order to reduce the risk of short circuits caused by direct contact between the current collectors (see e.g., paragraph [0066]) and further simplifying of and reducing in the costs for battery manufacturing steps by eliminating the necessity of an additional member for insulation (see e.g., paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi teaches the internal collection layer 4 contains an ion-conductively electrically conductive specific conductive material (“wherein the connection layer contains a solid electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi teaches the internal collection layer 4 preferably contains at least one electron conductive material (“wherein the connection layer contains an electrically conductive material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi teaches the internal collection layer 4 contains an ion-conductively electrically conductive specific conductive material (see e.g., paragraph [0042]) and preferably contains at least one electron conductive material (“wherein the connection layer is composed of a solid electrolyte and an electrically conductive material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi teaches a disposing a protective layer 6 (“a sealing member”) on the side surface of a positive electrode layer 1 and a negative electrode layer 2, a structure may be formed in which short circuit by contact of the positive electrode layer 1 and the negative electrode layer 2 on the side surface of the layered solid-state battery 300 hardly takes place. In this case, it is sufficient that the protective layer 6 is constituted of a material that does not have electron conductivity (“wherein each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells includes a sealing member disposed between the positive-electrode current collector and the negative-electrode current collector, and the sealing member is disposed outside the positive-electrode active material layer and the negative-electrode active material layer in a plan view“) (see e.g., paragraph [0064] and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach wherein the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells as a whole is overlapped with both of the corresponding positive-electrode current collector and the corresponding negative-electrode current collector viewed from the laminating direction.
Iwamoto teaches the first solid electrolyte layer 130 is disposed to be in contact with the first current collector 110 and with the second current collector 210 (“wherein the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells as a whole is overlapped with both of the corresponding positive-electrode current collector and the corresponding negative-electrode current collector viewed from the laminating direction”) (see e.g., Iwamoto Figure 14) in order to enable stronger bonding between the solid electrolyte layer and the current collectors and reduce the probability of separation (see e.g., paragraph Iwamoto paragraph [0227]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the solid electrolyte layer of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to be disposed to be in contact with each current collector, as taught by Iwamoto, in order to enable stronger bonding between the solid electrolyte layer and the current collectors and reduce the probability of separation (see e.g., paragraph Iwamoto paragraph [0227]).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2013/0149593 A1) in view of Iwamoto (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0337422 A1), and further in view of Okamoto et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0051935 A1), hereinafter referred to as Okamoto.
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach wherein a Young's modulus of the connection layer is lower than a Young's modulus of the positive-electrode current collector and the negative-electrode current collector.
However, Okamoto teaches an all-solid state secondary battery (see e.g., Abstract). Okamoto teaches a binder 11 (“the connection layer”) that is plastically deformed to bite into the irregular parts of the outer surface of the positive-electrode current collector or negative-electrode current collector by the pressure molding process, thereby firmly joining the positive-electrode current collector or negative-electrode current collector by an anchor effect (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Therefore, the current collectors are joined into a single unit via the binder and cancels out a force of bending the provisional battery bodies, achieving the all-solid state secondary battery having no curves (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). The claim limitation of the connection layer having a lower Young’s modulus than that of the positive-electrode current collector and the negative-electrode current collector is met by the binder plastically deforming (therefore, a lower Young’s modulus) without the deformation of the current collectors (therefore, a higher Young’s modulus than the binder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the internal collection layer and the conductive substrate of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to have a lower Young’s modules than the current collectors, as taught by Okamoto, in order to join the current collectors into a single unit binder and cancels out a force of bending the provisional battery bodies, achieving the all-solid state secondary battery having no curves (see e.g., paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach wherein the connection layer contains a resin.
However, Okamoto teaches the binder sheet (“the connection layer”) is a plastically deformable material, e.g., a resin sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0053]) to join the current collectors into a single unit binder and cancels out a force of bending the provisional battery bodies, achieving the all-solid state secondary battery having no curves (see e.g., paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the internal collection layer of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to be made of a plastically deformable material such as a resin sheet, as taught by Okamoto, in order to join the current collectors into a single unit binder and cancels out a force of bending the provisional battery bodies, achieving the all-solid state secondary battery having no curves (see e.g., paragraph [0054]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2013/0149593 A1) in view of Iwamoto (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0337422 A1), and further in view of Baba et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2009/0202912 A1), hereinafter referred to as Baba.
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach wherein at least part of an end portion of the connection layer is bent.
However, Baba teaches an all solid state secondary battery containing a laminated material in which a positive-electrode unit and a negative-electrode unit are laminated alternately through an ion conductive inorganic-material layer (“the connection layer”) (see e.g., Abstract). Baba teaches the ion conductive inorganic-material layer 23 is disposed between the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit and bent to be placed along a side of either the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit (see e.g., Figure 3) to improve the charge-discharge characteristics of the battery and have a good solid-solid surface connection between respective layers can be obtained and a battery having small internal resistance and good energy efficiency can be obtained (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the internal collection layer of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to be bent along a side of either the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit, as taught by Baba, in order to improve the charge-discharge characteristics of the battery and have a good solid-solid surface connection between respective layers can be obtained and a battery having small internal resistance and good energy efficiency can be obtained (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach the battery further comprising a terminal electrode in contact with a side surface of the plurality of solid-state battery cells and coupled to the negative-electrode current collector or the positive-electrode current collector of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells, wherein at least part of an end portion of the connection layer in a bent state is in contact with the terminal electrode.
However, Baba teaches the ion conductive inorganic-material layer 23 is disposed between the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit and bent to be placed along a side of either the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit and in contact with a negative-electrode extracting electrode 13 and a positive-electrode 12 extracting electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0055]) along the sides of the positive-electrode units and the negative-electrode units (“the battery further comprising a terminal electrode in contact with a side surface of the plurality of solid-state battery cells and coupled to the negative-electrode current collector or the positive-electrode current collector of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells”) (see e.g., Figure 3) to improve the charge-discharge characteristics of the battery and have a good solid-solid surface connection between respective layers can be obtained and a battery having small internal resistance and good energy efficiency can be obtained (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the internal collection layer and sides of the cathode and anode layers of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to be bent along a side of either the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit and to include negative-electrode extracting electrode and a positive-electrode extracting electrode, as taught by Baba, in order to improve the charge-discharge characteristics of the battery and have a good solid-solid surface connection between respective layers can be obtained and a battery having small internal resistance and good energy efficiency can be obtained (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2013/0149593 A1) in view of Iwamoto (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0337422 A1), and further in view of Gaben (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2015/0333376 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach the battery further comprising a terminal electrode in contact with a side surface of the plurality of solid-state battery cells and coupled to the negative-electrode current collector or the positive-electrode current collector of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells, wherein at least part of an end portion of the connection layer in a bent state is buried in the terminal electrode.
However, Gaben teaches an all-solid-state lithium ion battery (see e.g., Abstract). Gaben teaches a cathode 24 comprises a cathode layer deposited on a conductive substrate (a current collector) and an anode 21 comprising an anode layer deposited on a conductive substrate (a current collector) (see e.g., paragraph [0021] and [0143]). Gaben teaches the structure of the cell is the conductive substrate (a positive current collector), the cathode layer 24, an electrolyte layer 22 disposed between the cathode 24 and an anode layer 21, and the conductive substrate (a negative current collector) (see e.g., paragraphs [0143] and [0145] and Figure 1). Gaben teaches once the stack has been produced, and after the step of encapsulating the stack if this step is performed, terminals (electrical contacts) 35, 36 are added where the cathode, and anode, current collectors are exposed (not covered with insulating electrolyte) (“the battery further comprising a terminal electrode in contact with a side surface of the plurality of solid-state battery cells and coupled to the negative-electrode current collector or the positive-electrode current collector of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells”) in order to efficiently collect the current (see e.g., paragraph [0154]). Gaben teaches a bonding material layer 25 being placed to form a common interface 26 that is bent to be in contact with the terminals (electrical contacts) 35, 36 (“wherein at least part of an end portion of the connection layer in a bent state is buried in the terminal electrode”) (see e.g., Figure 10) in order to produce all-solid batteries without the risk of cracks associated with shrinkage of the electrodes and electrolyte layers during the assembly step (see e.g., paragraph [0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the internal collection layer and sides of the cathode and anode layers of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to be bent along a side of either the positive-electrode unit and the negative-electrode unit and to include terminals (electrical contacts) 35, 36, as taught by Gaben, in order to produce all-solid batteries without the risk of cracks associated with shrinkage of the electrodes and electrolyte layers during the assembly step (see e.g., paragraph [0157]) and collect current (see e.g., paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, as previously described in claim 1, teaches the solid electrolyte layers are in contact with the side surfaces of the active material layers (“the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells is in contact with at least part of side surfaces of the positive-electrode active material and the negative-electrode active material”) (see e.g., Annotated Iwamoto Figure 1).
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, does not explicitly teach wherein the solid electrolyte layer of each of the plurality of solid-state battery cells is in contact with at least part of side surfaces of the positive-electrode active current collector and the negative-electrode current collector.
However, Gaben teaches the electrolyte layer 22 is disposed between the cathode layer 24 and the anode layer 21 and the sides of the cathode and anode layers and their respective conductive substrates 20 (current collectors) (see e.g., Gaben Figure 1) as the insulation of the electrode edges by the electrolyte layer 22 prevents both the risk of short-circuit and the risk of leakage currents, and it also makes it possible to simplify the encapsulation (see e.g., Gaben paragraph [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the placement of the solid electrolyte regarding the solid electrolyte of Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto, to have the solid electrolyte be in contact with at least a part of the current collectors, as taught by Gaben, in order to prevent both the risk of short-circuit and the risk of leakage currents, and it also makes it possible to simplify the encapsulation (see e.g., Gaben paragraph [0145]).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto and Gaben, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Hayashi, as modified by Iwamoto and Gaben, as previously described in claim 10, teaches the electrolyte layer 22 is disposed between the cathode layer 24 and the anode layer 21 and the sides of the cathode and anode layers and their respective conductive substrates 20 (current collectors) (see e.g., Gaben Figure 1) and are in contact with the electrolyte layer 22 of the adjacent call (see e.g., Gaben Figure 3).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728