DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Claims 1-6, 9-20 and 22-30 are currently pending with independent claims 1, 15 and 20 being amended. Claim 8 has been canceled without prejudice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-16, 18-20, 22-23, 25-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairbanks (US 20150363735 A1) in view of Subramanian et al. (US 20220083767 A1), further in view of Kovach et al. (US 20190080274 A1) and Buban (US 20110302293 A1).
Concerning claim 1, Fairbanks teaches a method for visual analysis of customer interaction at a scene, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of video sequences each comprising a sequence of frames, captured by one or more stationary cameras at known locations covering at least a portion of the scene, said plurality of video sequences including at least one staff person and at least one customer (¶¶0070-0072; ¶0104);
detecting, using at least one computer processor, persons in the at least one video sequence (¶¶0070-0072);
classifying, using the at least one computer processor, the persons to customers, and to staff persons (¶¶0070-0072);
calculating a signature for at least one of the staff persons ,enabling a recognition of said at least one of the staff persons appearing in other frames of the plurality of video sequences (¶0073);
carrying out a visual analysis, using the at least one computer processor and based only on at least one video sequence of the plurality of video sequences, in which both at least one of the staff persons and at least one of the customers appear, to compute respective locations of the persons in the scene, and detect a plurality of interactions between at least one of the staff persons and at least one of the customers which are visible at the at least one video sequence, using the respective locations of the persons and the visual analysis (¶¶0069-0070; ¶¶0100-0101);
recording interaction data descriptive of each of the detected interactions; (¶¶0101-0102, 0105; fig. 9: steps 905-915 – interaction between a customer and personnel associated with the business such as a simple greeting and/or an exchange may correspond to the claimed sequence of gestures, wherein said personnel aiding the customer in finding a particular product and/or being unhelpful or unkind to the customer may correspond to the claimed sequence of postures), and
analyzing, using the at least one computer processor, the interaction data, thereby providing statistics related to the interaction data associated with the staff person (figure 10, step 1025 or 1030). Fairbanks fails to explicitly teach carrying out a visual analysis, based on applying computer vision algorithms.
Subramanian et al. (hereinafter Subramanian) teaches ) teaches a method to provide real time interior analytics, wherein machine learning models or computer vision techniques are used to determine real-time inferences based on captured video frames (¶0030). The real-time inferences may be determining if an employee is interacting with a customer (fig. 2B; ¶0050; ¶0052; ¶0057). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the computer vision algorithms of Subramanian into Fairbanks in order to carry out the visual analysis to determine real-time inferences (Subramanian, ¶0030). Fairbanks and Subramanian fail to explicitly teach wherein the signature is a sequence of numbers calculated from an image or a video, wherein the signature is a sequence of numbers calculated from an image or a video, wherein the signature is calculated such that similar objects yield similar signatures, wherein the signature is calculated such that similar objects yield similar signatures, wherein the signature is computed using neural network which is pre-trained on a plurality of images and videos of persons.
However, Kovach et al. (hereinafter Kovach) teaches tracking and/or analyzing facility-related activities, that identifies a particular worker in an image, wherein the signature is a sequence of numbers calculated from an image or a video, wherein the signature is calculated such that similar objects yield similar signatures, wherein the signature is calculated such that similar objects yield similar signatures (¶0070: an employee (i.e., staff person) identification number is considered a sequence of numbers the is calculated from the image. Employees of the same facility (similar objects) are considered to yield similar signatures (specific employee identification of another employee)), wherein the signature is computed using neural network which is pre-trained on a plurality of images and videos of persons (¶0064; ¶0067; ¶0079: facility analytics platform 205 may have been trained on a training set of data (e.g., using machine learning, artificial intelligence, and/or the like)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kovach in to the Fairbanks and Subramanian in order to uniquely identify each individual in a facility (Kovach, ¶0070). Not explicitly taught by Fairbanks, Subramanian, and Kovach is the method, wherein at least one visual analysis visible interaction between at least one staff person present at the scene and the at least one customer is derived, based on said respective locations of the persons, from a sequence of at least one of postures and gestures of a skeleton representation of the staff person and a skeleton representation of the customer, wherein each skeleton representation comprises a simplified model of a human body, represented by straight lines connected by joints to represent major body parts, and wherein the skeleton representations correspond to whole-body skeleton representations of the staff person and the customer.
Buban teaches a recognition system for sharing information, wherein at least one visual analysis visible interaction between at least one person present at a scene and at least one other person present at the scene is derived, based on said respective locations of the persons, from a sequence of at least one of postures and gestures of a skeleton representation of the at least one person and a skeleton representation of the at least one other person, wherein each skeleton representation comprises a simplified model of a human body, represented by straight lines connected by joints to represent major body parts, and wherein the skeleton representations correspond to whole-body skeleton representations of the at least one person and the at least one other person (figs. 8-9: whole-body skeletal models 620A & 630A; ¶¶0098-0101 - Interactions between users within the field of view of a camera may comprise physical interactions between two skeletal models that are in close proximity. Any number of other types of interactions be recognized as defining a gesture that is recognized as an interaction.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features of Buban into the customer movement and/or interaction modules of Fairbanks in order to detect if a particular posture and/or gesture has taken place between the staff person and the customer (Buban, ¶¶0098-0101). Such a modification is merely a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Concerning claim 2, Fairbanks further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining customer data relating to the at least one customer, said customer data comprising at least one of: data of the at least one customer extracted from data sources other than the at least one video sequence, or data of the at least one customer extracted from the at least one video sequence, wherein the visual analysis is further based on said customer data (¶0073: voice and/or facial recognition).
Concerning claim 4, Fairbanks further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras are cameras pre-installed in fixed locations (¶0104).
Concerning claim 5, Fairbanks further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said customer interaction of the at least one customer comprises movement pattern of the at least one customer at said scene (¶0072: tracking customer interactions (e.g., a simple greeting or more involved actions) via video data).
Concerning claim 10, Fairbanks further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the customer interaction of the customer is derived based on visual analysis carried out based on the recognition of said at least one customer in said one or more video sequence (¶0073: voice and/or facial recognition).
Concerning claim 11, Fairbanks teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising classifying, using the at least one computer processor, the persons to at least one staff person (¶0073).
Concerning claim 12, Fairbanks further teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one visible interaction between at least one staff person present at the scene and the at least one customer, is based on at least one video sequence in which both the staff person and the customer appear (¶¶0073, 0101).
Concerning claim 13, Fairbanks teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising generating a report, based on the indication of the interaction between said staff person and the at least one customer, and providing said report in a format usable for observing performance of the at least one staff person (¶¶0077, 0079-0080).
Concerning claim 14, Fairbanks teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising generating a report, based on the indication of the interaction between said staff person and the at least one customer, and providing said report in a format usable for the at least one staff person to improve the interaction with the customer (¶0108: using a poor rating to rectify the situation with the customer).
Claim 15 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium to the method of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Concerning claim 22, Fairbanks in view of Subramanian, further in view of Kovach teaches the method according to claim 1. Subramanian further teaches a method to provide real time interior analytics, wherein the interaction data comprises an appearance time of the customer (fig. 5: 504-508; ¶¶0057-0061), and a duration from the appearance time of customer until a start time of the interaction (¶0033; ¶0051; fig. 3A).
Concerning claim 23, Fairbanks in view of Subramanian, further in view of Kovach teaches the method according to claim 1. Subramanian further teaches a method to provide real time interior analytics, wherein the interaction data comprises a duration of the interaction (¶0052: tracking the amount of time the customer 114 is interacting with the employee).
Claim 25 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 22 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 26 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 23 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 28 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 22 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 29 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium to the method of claim 23 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairbanks (US 20150363735 A1) in view of Subramanian et al. (US 20220083767 A1), further in view of Kovach et al. (US 20190080274 A1) and Buban (US 20110302293 A1) and Lewis (US 20180285802 A1).
Concerning claim 3, Fairbanks in view Subramanian, Kovach and Buban teaches the method of claim 1. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is mounted on the staff person.
Lewis et al. (hereinafter Lewis), in the same field of endeavor, teaches tracking associate interactions with customers, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is mounted on the staff person (¶0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features of Lewis into the teachings of Fairbanks in order to detect if a particular posture and/or gesture has taken place (Lewis, ¶0055).
Claim 17 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6, 9, 24, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairbanks (US 20150363735 A1) in view of Subramanian et al. (US 20220083767 A1), further in view of Kovach et al. (US 20190080274 A1) and Buban (US 20110302293 A1) and Bondareva et al. (US 20210287226 A1).
Concerning claim 6, Fairbanks in view of Subramanian, further in view of Kovach and Buban teaches the method of claim 1. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein said customer interaction of the at least one customer comprises an interaction of at least one customer with goods displayed for sale at said scene.
Bondareva et al. (hereinafter Bondareva) teaches a method of managing transactions in physical retail stores, wherein said customer interaction of the at least one customer comprises an interaction of at least one customer with goods displayed for sale at said scene (¶0041; ¶0054; ¶0065).
Taking the teachings of Fairbanks, Subramanian, Kovach, Buban and Bondareva, together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Bondareva in order to keep track of items the customer interacted with (Bondareva,¶0041).
Concerning claim 9, Fairbanks in view of Subramanian, further in view of Kovach and Buban teaches the method of claim 1. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein the interaction between said staff person and the at least one customer corresponds with no interaction.
Bondareva et al. (hereinafter Bondareva) teaches a method of managing transactions in physical retail stores, wherein the interaction between said staff person and the at least one customer corresponds with no interaction (fig. 2B: 230-235; ¶¶0065-0066: determining the customer is attempting to leave without picking up the transaction item (e.g., not returning to pick up a prescription from the pharmacy or meat from the butcher)).
Taking the teachings of Fairbanks, Subramanian, Kovach, Buban and Bondareva, together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Bondareva in order to record the relevant movements and activities (i.e., interactions) of the staff person and customers.
Concerning claim 24, Fairbanks in view of Subramanian, further in view of Kovach and Buban teaches the method according to claim 1. Fairbanks further teaches tracking customer interactions throughout a business (¶0004). Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein the interaction data comprises detection of the customer leaving the scene without an interaction with the staff person.
Bondareva describes a method of managing intangible shopping transactions, wherein a customer may electronically make a request for a product (e.g., sending an electronic prescription to a pharmacy) and the method comprises means for detecting a customer leaving the store without the item they requested (¶¶0011-0013; ¶0043; ¶0066). That is to say, Bondareva’s method comprises detection of the customer leaving the scene (e.g., leaving the pharmacy area or the store) without an interaction with the staff person (e.g., picking up the requested item from the pharmacist).
Taking the teachings of Fairbanks, Subramanian, Kovach, Buban and Bondareva, together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Bondareva in order to record the relevant movements and activities (i.e., interactions) of the staff person and customers.
Claim 27 is the corresponding system to the method of claim 24 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 30 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium to the method of claim 24 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of the remarks, filed 02/12/2026, with respect to the cancellation of claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 of the remarks, filed 02/12/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1-6, 8-20 and 22-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425