DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plant medium layer, carbon filter layer, and substrate as layers inside an interlocking chamber” (per claim 23), “a base layer having a plurality of compartments housing the inlet fan, the outlet fan, and the carbon filter layer” (per claim 31) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the plant medium layer and the carbon filter layer are stacked as different filtration layers in an interlocking chamber, and wherein the carbon filter layer is removable from and installable in the interlocking chamber.” Which is vague and indefinite since it is unclear what forms the interlocking structure. Is the interlocking chamber interlocking with itself? Does it interlock with the base?
Claim 32 recites the limitation, “wherein the base layer comprises a raised three-dimensional structure forming a wavy pattern and defining a plurality of cavities, and wherein the preserved moss is incorporated into the plurality of cavities.” Which is vague and indefinite since it is unclear how the three-dimensional base would support the carbon filter and substrate. The three-dimensional base structure appears to be a separate embodiment, where only the moss is placed into the cavities (Fig. 18a). It is unclear how the substrate and carbon filter would be incorporated.
In view of the 112b rejections above, claims 23 and 32 will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquez; Federico T. (US 20130118070 A1) in view of Behrens; Wolfgang (US 20090176295 A1), in view of Robinson; Ruth A. (US 4287222 A).
Regarding claim 21 Marquez discloses A system for air filtration and therapeutic relief (Fig. 3); (title) comprising: a base layer (3); an air circulation system having an inlet [0041], an outlet [0041], at least one duct (corresponding to building duct work); [0056] and an inlet fan (Fig. 4; 17) configured to allow air through the inlet; and an outlet fan (17) configured to discharge air through the outlet [0041]; a flat substrate consisting of felt (Fig. 4; 18); [0053], the flat substrate being water absorbing and water retentive and substantially devoid of metal [0053]; a controller (Fig. 4; 26); [0047] configured to operate the inlet and the outlet fan so that the inlet fan and the outlet fan provide an air current through the at least one duct, polluted air entering the inlet flows through the preserved moss as a filtration medium and through the carbon filter layer, and filtered air is discharged from the outlet [0051].
Marquez does not disclose a carbon filter layer separate from the flat substrate and disposed between the base layer and the flat substrate, the carbon filter layer configured to filter volatile organic compounds.
Giacomantonio teaches a carbon filter layer (504) separate from the substrate (Fig. 5; 506-512) and disposed between the base layer (502) and the flat substrate (Fig. 5), the carbon filter layer configured to filter volatile organic compounds (the structure is capable of performing the intended use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Marquez to include a carbon filter layer separate from the flat substrate and disposed between the base layer and the flat substrate, the carbon filter layer configured to filter volatile organic compounds, as taught by Giacomantonio, in order to help filter hydrocarbons from the air (Cols. 5-6, lines 62-67 and 1-2).
Marquez in view of Giacomantonio does not disclose a plant medium layer consisting of moss of the genus Dicranum disposed on a flat substrate. Behrens teaches a plant medium layer (Fig. 1; 14) consisting of moss of the genus Dicranum [0051] disposed on a flat substrate (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the plant module of Marquez with the plant medium layer consisting of moss of the genus Dicranum, as taught by Behrens, in order to improve air quality (abstract) since moss is a natural air filter itself [0031].
Marquez in view of Giacomantonio and Behrens does not disclose preserved moss, wherein the preserved moss is preserved in glycerin and water. Robinson teaches preserved moss (Col. 3, lines4-23), wherein the preserved moss is preserved in glycerin and water (Col. 3, lines 35-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plant medium layer of Marquez in view of Giacomantonio and Behrens to include preserved moss, wherein the preserved moss is preserved in glycerin and water, as taught by Robinson, in order to provide realistic aesthetic appeal (Col. 1, lines 46-59) while reducing maintenance. Furthermore, applicant has not stated that using preserved moss solves any stated problem. The instant disclosure states the moss can be live, preserved, dormant, or a combination thereof [0036].
Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson discloses an adhesive (Marqeuz; [0050]) affixing the plants to the flat substrate without the use of netting, but does not explicitly disclose a silicone-based adhesive.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as an obvious substitution of functional equivalent, to substitute the adhesive of Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson with a silicone-based adhesive, in order to create a waterproof bond and since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. Furthermore, applicant discloses, in [0047] a listing of alternative glues that may be used and still function as intended.
Regarding claim 23 Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Marquez further discloses removable panels [0041], which support the plant medium layer; wherein the plant medium layer and the carbon filter layer are stacked as different filtration layers, but does not disclose an interlocking chamber. Park teaches an interlocking chamber (Fig. 9; 313); wherein the carbon filter layer (304) is removable from and installable in the interlocking chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson to have included an interlocking chamber, the interlocking chamber, as taught by Park, in order to easily add and remove layers.
Regarding claim 31 Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson does not disclose wherein the base layer is a three -dimensionally printed structure.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Marquez discloses compartments housing the inlet fan and the outlet fan (Fig. 3), but does not disclose a compartment for the carbon filter layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a compartment for the carbon filter layer in order to give the layer structural support.
Regarding claim 32 Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Marquez in view of Giacomantonio, Behrens, and Robinson does not disclose wherein the base layer comprises a raised three-dimensional structure forming a wavy pattern and defining a plurality of cavities, and wherein the preserved moss is incorporated into the plurality of cavities.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art to include wherein the base layer comprises a raised three-dimensional structure forming a wavy pattern and defining a plurality of cavities in order to provide enhanced aesthetics, and since matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Demiczak, 175F.3d 994, 50 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 23, and 31-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRITTANY A LOWERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/TIMOTHY D COLLINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3644