DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to amendments submitted on 11/12/2025.
2. Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the claims have been considered but they are not persuasive.
See response to applicants’ arguments at the end of the action.
3. Claims 1, 4-8 and 11-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by OKOMATO et al. (CN 101128379 B) in view of KONDO et al. (EP 2221267 B1).
In regards to claims 1 and 8, OKOMATO shows (Figs. 1-10) a smooth braking control method for an elevator (Fig. 1, elevator car 1), wherein the elevator is provided with an elevator brake (i.e. elements 3-9) comprising a fixed part and a moving part (implicit as the driving pulley body 5 rotates as the brake rotating body 7 and the rotating drive pulley 5 for brake part main body of brake 9) , and in a first state, by driving the moving part to move toward an elevator power device so that a friction member in the moving part contacts the elevator power device, the elevator brake provides a braking force to stop an elevator car, and in a second state, by outputting an electromagnetic force from an electromagnetic member in the fixed part, the friction member is disengaged from the contact with the elevator power device (implicit as general braking behavior of magnetic brakes, i.e. the brake shoes of the brake wheel 7 contact separation 15, mounting the armature 1 of the second brake shoe 15 upper 16, the brake shoe 15 against the brake wheel 7 on the brake spring 17 and the configuration forming the armature 16 to generate oppositely against the brake spring 17 and the brake shoe 15 away from the brake wheel 7 of the electromagnetic force (opening and closing state of the brake switch 22) of the brake coil 18, see pars. 24-30), the smooth braking control method for the elevator comprising:
judging whether the elevator car is in a decelerating state according to current running characteristics of the elevator car (pars. 3, 29-30, 33, 45-50, 63, 72);
obtaining a current deceleration of the elevator car if it is determined that the elevator car is in the decelerating state (pars. 3, 29-30, 33, 45-50, 63, 72); and
judging whether the obtained current deceleration exceeds a preset value, and controlling a magnitude of the electromagnetic force output from the electromagnetic member if the obtained current deceleration exceeds the preset value, so that the deceleration of the elevator car is not larger than the preset value (pars. 3, 29-30, 33, 45-50, 63, 72, i.e. the brake control part 23 and whether there is brake work instruction independently of the monitoring car 1 deceleration in the travel control is generated from the electromagnetic force in the brake coil 18, so as to adjust the opening and closing state of the switch 22a so that deceleration will not too big or too small. and timer switch viewing from producing the brake work instruction has passed a predetermined time after disconnection. brake control part 23 independent from the drive control unit 10 detects and monitors the deceleration of the car 1…also can be as follows: when the brake work instruction is generated, the second 2 stopper portion main body 9 first brake working, if the car deceleration of 1 is too large, then reducing the braking force, even if the generated brake work instruction also keeps the closing state of the 2 brake switch 22, when the car 1 of the deceleration is less than or equal to the predetermined value, cutting off the 2 brake switch 22 to make it perform brake work),
setting a target deceleration of the elevator car (implicitly as the control generated in the brake coil 18 of electromagnetic force (brake switch 22 the open/close state) so that deceleration will not be too big or too small), and controlling the magnitude of the electromagnetic force so that the deceleration of the elevator car is substantially maintained at the target deceleration, the target deceleration being no larger than the preset value (pars. 45, 63, 71-74, i.e. by the brake control portion 23 to control the adjusting switch 22a on/off. Specifically, the brake control part 23 and whether there is brake work instruction independently of the monitoring car 1 deceleration in the travel control is generated from the electromagnetic force in the brake coil 18, so as to adjust the opening and closing state of the switch 22a so that deceleration will not too big or too small and timer switch viewing from producing the brake work instruction has passed a predetermined time after disconnection. brake control part 23 independent from the drive control unit 10 detects and monitors the deceleration of the car 1… if the car deceleration of 1 is too large, then reducing the braking force, even if the generated brake work instruction also keeps the closing state of the 2 brake switch 22, when the car 1 of the deceleration is less than or equal to the predetermined value, cutting off the 2 brake switch 22 to make it perform brake work),
Although OKOMATO implicitly discloses a first state, by driving the moving part to move toward an elevator power device so that a friction member in the moving part contacts the elevator power device, the elevator brake provides a braking force to stop an elevator car, and in a second state, by outputting an electromagnetic force from an electromagnetic member in the fixed part, the friction member is disengaged from the contact with the elevator power device, and implicitly discloses setting a target deceleration of the elevator car, it is not explicitly disclosed as friction; and does not explicitly disclose wherein an input signal of the electromagnetic member is determined through closed-loop control based on a difference between the target deceleration and the obtained current deceleration of the elevator car, so that the electromagnetic member outputs the electromagnetic force of a corresponding magnitude according to the input signal.
However, KONDO discloses braking control method for an elevator (Figs. 1-4, elevator car 1), wherein the elevator is provided with an elevator brake (i.e. elements 3-12) comprising a fixed part and a moving part (i.e. brake pulley 7 that is fixed to the sheave 4 and rotated is pressed by brake linings 8 and 9 by biasing of elastic members of brake springs. Friction force is thereby generated between the brake pulley 7 and the brake linings 8 and 9, so that the brake linings 8 and 9 brake the brake pulley 7. With this braking action, the hoist motor 6 and the sheave 4 are also braked; and hence, the car 1 and the counterweight 2 are braked, see Description) , and in a first state, by driving the moving part to move toward an elevator power device so that a friction member in the moving part contacts the elevator power device, the elevator brake provides a braking force to stop an elevator car, and in a second state, by outputting an electromagnetic force from an electromagnetic member in the fixed part, the friction member is disengaged from the contact with the elevator power device (i.e. a brake pulley 7 that is fixed to the sheave 4 and rotated is pressed by brake linings 8 and 9 by biasing of elastic members of brake springs. Friction force is thereby generated between the brake pulley 7 and the brake linings 8 and 9, so that the brake linings 8 and 9 brake the brake pulley 7. With this braking action, the hoist motor 6 and the sheave 4 are also braked; and hence, the car 1 and the counterweight 2 are braked. During normal traveling, the brake linings 8 and 9 are spaced away from the brake pulley 7 by electromagnetic force, so as to exert no braking force on the brake pulley 7. On the other hand, in a case of the elevator coming into an emergency stop mode, a brake control unit 16 receives an instruction to brake the brake pulley 7 to stop the car 1, from the elevator control unit 5 that governs operation of the elevator because the elevator is in a state that requires a halt of its operation, and car traveling information from a car traveling-information acquisition means such as a hoist-motor encoder 11, a governor 14, or a position sensor. The brake control unit then calculates deceleration of the car 1 to adjust the pressing force of the brake linings 8 and 9 exerted on the brake pulley 7 by applying a voltage to brake coils 12 and 13 so as to keep up the deceleration with a target deceleration), the smooth braking control method for the elevator comprising:
judging whether the elevator car is in a decelerating state according to current running characteristics of the elevator car (see deceleration calculating part 18a),
obtaining a current deceleration of the elevator car if it is determined that the elevator car is in the decelerating state (see deceleration calculating part 18a and determination part 18b); and
judging whether the obtained current deceleration exceeds a preset value, and controlling a magnitude of the electromagnetic force output from the electromagnetic member if the obtained current deceleration exceeds the preset value, so that the deceleration of the elevator car is not larger than the preset value (i.e. a large braking force is temporarily exerted by the brake, and then, if the deceleration exceeds the target deceleration, the breaking force is weakened by adjusting down the brake. If the deceleration falls again below the target deceleration by the weakening of the braking force, a large braking force acts again by the brake. Thus, by controlling the deceleration to keep up with the target deceleration larger than the reference deceleration, the collision speed can be reduced to below the specified speed. Therefore, the car 1 can be stopped without being subjected to an excessive deceleration shock, then calculates deceleration of the car 1 to adjust the pressing force of the brake linings 8 and 9 exerted on the brake pulley 7 by applying a voltage to brake coils 12 and 13 so as to keep up the deceleration with a target deceleration. Thereby, the deceleration of the car 1 is controlled to keep up with the target deceleration… the deceleration of the counterweight 2 is calculated based on information from the car traveling-information acquisition means or a counterweight traveling-information acquisition means in place thereof, to keep up with the target deceleration, see Description), and discloses
wherein an input signal of the electromagnetic member is determined through closed-loop control based on a difference between the target deceleration and the obtained current deceleration of the elevator car, so that the electromagnetic member outputs the electromagnetic force of a corresponding magnitude according to the input signal, (see Description and Fig. 2, elements 19a and 19b .. the determination part 18b compares the deceleration calculated by the deceleration calculating part 18a with the reference deceleration stored in the storage part 18c. If the deceleration of the car 1 is larger than the reference deceleration, the safety relays 20 and 21 are closed to put the brake into a state ready to weaken the braking force exerted on the brake pulley 7 by the brake linings 8 and 9).
Thus, given the teaching of KONDO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of OKOMATO to explicitly control and maintain the elevator braking friction as result of a change on acceleration or by determining deceleration exceed a safe permissible value, consequently improving the system reliability and security by controlling the elevator braking towards an specific deceleration.
In regards to claims 4 and 11, KONDO further shows (Figs. 1-4) further comprising: limiting the input signal within a preset range, before the input signal determined through the closed-loop control is input to the electromagnetic member (see claim 1, i.e. said brake control means determines whether a collision speed of the car can be reduced to below a predetermined speed, based upon the information acquired by the car traveling-information acquisition means, putting the braking force into ready to be weakened if the collision speed can be reduced to below the predetermined speed, putting the braking force into unable to be weakened if the collision speed cannot be reduced to below the predetermined speed, so as to reduce a collision speed at a collision of the car with the buffer to below a predetermined speed so that a shock at the collision of the car with the buffer can be absorbed to a level below a specified value).
In regards to claims 6 and 13, KONDO further shows (Figs. 1-4) wherein the electromagnetic member is one or more winding coils arranged in a circumferential direction of the fixed part, and the magnitudes of the electromagnetic force output from the electromagnetic member is controlled by controlling an input current or an input voltage of at least one of the winding coils (par. 24, i.e. brake coil 18, winding 4 has a winding the main cord 3 of the driving pulley 5 so that the rotation of the motor driven pulley 5, 6).
In regards to claims 7 and 14, OKOMATO further shows (Figs. 1-4) further comprising: storing report information locally in the elevator or in a cloud server and/or sending the report information to a user end, the report information at least comprising the obtained deceleration data of the elevator car, and the user end comprising a mobile communication terminal of a user (see Description, a storage part 18c that stores a reference deceleration).
In regards to claim 15 OKOMATO shows (Figs. 1-10) an elevator brake (i.e. elements 3-9), which is configured with the smooth braking control device for the elevator, (see Fig. 1, elevator car 1).
6. Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by OKOMATO et al. (CN 101128379 B) in view of KONDO et al. (EP 2221267 B1) and further in view of HELENIUS et al. (US 20220135368 A1).
In regards to claims 5 and 12, OKOMATO as modified by KONDO does not disclose wherein the closed-loop control comprises PID control, and at least one of P, I, and D in the PID control is adjusted, and wherein a feedback signal in the PID control is a deceleration obtained by performing differential processing on a running speed of the elevator car, a command signal is the target deceleration, and the input signal comprises a current signal and a voltage signal.
However, HELENIUS discloses a brake system and method for elevators, the elevator comprising an elevator car, wherein the closed-loop control comprises PID control, and at least one of P, I, and D in the PID control is adjusted, and wherein a feedback signal in the PID control is a deceleration obtained by performing differential processing on a running speed of the elevator car, a command signal is the target deceleration, and the input signal comprises a current signal and a voltage signal (pars. 64, i.e. the brake system of the invention can comprise a mechanical or hydraulic controller, such as proportional controller (P-controller) for elevator deceleration. It can measure the deceleration, compare the deceleration to the desired value (set point) and control brake torque according to the difference between measured deceleration and set point. For example, if the deceleration is too high, brake torque can be reduced until the deceleration has settled to the desired value).
Thus, given the teaching of HELENIUS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of OKOMATO as modified by KONDO to employ proportional controller methods as to compare the deceleration to the desired value (set point) and control brake torque according to the difference between measured deceleration and set point. For example, if the deceleration is too high, brake torque can be reduced until the deceleration has settled to the desired value.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed on 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner believes that the prior arts made of record still read on the added limitations.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claims 1 and 8, Kondo and/or Okamato fails to disclose “setting a target deceleration of the elevator car, and controlling the magnitude of the electromagnetic force so that the deceleration of the elevator car is substantially maintained at the target deceleration, the target deceleration being no larger than the preset value; and wherein an input signal of the electromagnetic member is determined through closed-loop control based on a difference between the target deceleration and the obtained current deceleration of the elevator car, so that the electromagnetic member outputs the electromagnetic force of a corresponding magnitude according to the input signal." that the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firs of all, the examiner respectfully reminds the applicant that the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. “Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d, 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)”. (Refer to Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Eighth Edition Revision 8: July 2010).
The examiner considers the prior-art of Kondo and/or Okamato, each clearly having all structures and components as claimed. Thus all the limitations of the claims will be considered met so long as the device of the prior art meets all structural limitations. The prior art apparatus as identified in the rejected claims are also capable of performing all the claimed intended use and/or desired functional language. Therefore, all the limitations as claimed are still met or anticipated by Kondo and/or Okamato as pointed out in the previous office actions and in this final office action. It is well settled that anticipation law requires distinction be made between invention described or taught and invention claimed. It does not require that the reference "teach" what subject patent application teaches, it is only necessary that the claim under attack, as construed by the Court, "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in reference, or are "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly Clark Corp., 218 USPQ 781,789 (CAFC 1983). Moreover, the Claims8-19 and 37 are drawn to an apparatus must distinguish from prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danlv, 120 USPQ 528 (CCPA 1959) and MPEP 2114.
The claims as broadly presented merely request setting a target deceleration of the elevator car, and controlling the magnitude of the electromagnetic force so that the deceleration of the elevator car is substantially maintained at the target deceleration, the target deceleration being no larger than the preset value. In other words, controlling a desired deceleration or negative acceleration to be under a permissible limit or range. These feature are performed by OKOMATO. For example, in pars. 45, 63, 71-74, it is disclosed that the brake control portion 23 controls the adjusting switch 22a on/off. Specifically, the brake control part 23 and whether there is brake work instruction independently of the monitoring car 1 deceleration in the travel control is generated from the electromagnetic force in the brake coil 18, so as to adjust the opening and closing state of the switch 22a so that deceleration will not too big or too small and timer switch viewing from producing the brake work instruction has passed a predetermined time after disconnection brake control part 23 independent from the drive control unit 10 detects and monitors the deceleration of the car 1… if the car deceleration of 1 is too large, then reducing the braking force, even if the generated brake work instruction also keeps the closing state of the 2 brake switch 22, when the car 1 of the deceleration is less than or equal to the predetermined value, cutting off the 2 brake switch 22 to make it perform brake work). Hence, OKOMATO clearly controls and generates the electromagnetic force in the brake coil 18, that is to say, to adjust the opening and closing state of switch 22a so that deceleration will not overpass and be kept at a safe value, i.e. be too big or too small.
Moreover, the examiner brough KONDO which discloses braking control and brake control unit that calculates deceleration of the car 1 to adjust the pressing force of the brake linings 8 and 9 exerted on the brake pulley 7 by applying a voltage to brake coils 12 and 13 so as to keep up the deceleration with a target deceleration), and jdusges whether the elevator car is in a decelerating state according to current running characteristics of the elevator car (see deceleration calculating part 18a), obtaining a current deceleration of the elevator car if it is determined that the elevator car is in the decelerating state (see deceleration calculating part 18a and determination part 18b); and judges whether the obtained current deceleration exceeds a preset value, and controlling a magnitude of the electromagnetic force output from the electromagnetic member if the obtained current deceleration exceeds the preset value, so that the deceleration of the elevator car is not larger than the preset value (i.e. a large braking force is temporarily exerted by the brake, and then, if the deceleration exceeds the target deceleration, the breaking force is weakened by adjusting down the brake. If the deceleration falls again below the target deceleration by the weakening of the braking force, a large braking force acts again by the brake. Thus, by controlling the deceleration to keep up with the target deceleration larger than the reference deceleration, the collision speed can be reduced to below the specified speed. Therefore, the car 1 can be stopped without being subjected to an excessive deceleration shock, then calculates deceleration of the car 1 to adjust the pressing force of the brake linings 8 and 9 exerted on the brake pulley 7 by applying a voltage to brake coils 12 and 13 so as to keep up the deceleration with a target deceleration. Thereby, the deceleration of the car 1 is controlled to keep up with the target deceleration… the deceleration of the counterweight 2 is calculated based on information from the car traveling-information acquisition means or a counterweight traveling-information acquisition means in place thereof, to keep up with the target deceleration, see Description).
Moreover, KONDO shows wherein an input signal of the electromagnetic member is determined through closed-loop control based on a difference between the target deceleration and the obtained current deceleration of the elevator car, so that the electromagnetic member outputs the electromagnetic force of a corresponding magnitude according to the input signal, (see Description and Fig. 2, elements 19a and 19b .. the determination part 18b compares the deceleration calculated by the deceleration calculating part 18a with the reference deceleration stored in the storage part 18c. If the deceleration of the car 1 is larger than the reference deceleration, the safety relays 20 and 21 are closed to put the brake into a state ready to weaken the braking force exerted on the brake pulley 7 by the brake linings 8 and 9).
Thus, KONDO not only discloses and shows a close-loop system as seen in Fig. 3 but also discloses controlling the decelerating to be adjusted and kept under a specified target and reference is defined as shown in Fig. 3.
Finally, the examiner believes the combination of prior arts reds on the amended claims as broadly presented.
The Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner and the additional related prior arts made of record that are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846