DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al., (US 20190006061; hereinafter Son) in view of Lee, (US 20200289017).
Regarding claim 1, Son (Figure 1) discloses a stretchable nano-mesh bioelectrode ([0022]: stretchable electrode) comprising: an elastic mesh sheet ([0029]: stretchable substrate); a metal nanowire network having a portion impregnated onto the nanofiber elastic mesh sheet (stretchable substrate) through spray coating ([0035]); wherein a metal nanowire in the metal nanowire network is impregnated onto a surface of the elastic mesh sheet (stretchable substrate) through spray coating ([0035]).
Son fails to disclose that the elastic mesh sheet is a nanofiber elastic mesh sheet comprising polymer nanofibers formed by electrospinning and pores being unoccupied to improve air permeability and flexibility. However, Lee (Figures 1 and 6) teaches a stretchable nano-mesh bioelectrode ([0008]: conductive polymer bio-electrode) comprising a nanofiber elastic mesh sheet ([0009]: nano-porous permeable membrane) comprising polymer nanofibers formed by electrospinning ([0009], [0026]) and pores (nano-sized pores) being unoccupied to improve air permeability and flexibility ([0009], [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son to substitute the elastic mesh sheet disclosed by Son with the nanofiber elastic mesh sheet comprising polymer nanofibers formed by electrospinning and pores being unoccupied to improve air permeability and flexibility, as taught by Lee, since the modification would provide improved flexibility and bio-compatibility to the device (Lee; [0004], [0012]).
Son further discloses that the metal nanowires have an average diameter of 10 to 100 nm ([0020]) and Lee further teaches that the diameter of the polymer nanofiber manufactured by the electrospinning is variable depending on the spinning conditions ([0057]), but Son/Lee fails to teach the specific diameter of the polymer nanofiber such that a diameter ratio of the metal nanowire and the polymer nanofiber is in a range of 1:5 to 1:100. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include a diameter ratio of the metal nanowire and the polymer nanofiber is in a range of 1:5 to 1:100 since Lee teaches that the diameter of the polymer nanofiber manufactured by the electrospinning is variable depending on the spinning conditions, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Son/Lee further teaches wherein the pores (Lee; nano-sized pores) are formed by the nanofiber elastic mesh sheet (Lee; nano-porous permeable membrane) onto which the metal nanowire network is impregnated (Lee; [0009], [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Son/Lee further teaches wherein the polymer comprises one or more selected from an olefin-based elastomer, a styrene-based elastomer, a thermoplastic polyester-based elastomer, a thermoplastic polyurethane-based elastomer, a thermoplastic acrylic elastomer, a thermoplastic vinyl-based polymer, a thermoplastic fluorine-based polymer, and a mixture thereof (Lee; [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Son/Lee further teaches wherein the polymer has a glass transition temperature of 60°C or lower (Lee; [0026]: i.e. thermoplastic polyurethane-based elastomer has a glass transition temperature of 60°C or lower).
Regarding claim 8, Son (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the metal nanowires have a diameter of 1 to 80 nm ([0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Son (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the metal nanowires have an aspect ratio of 100 to 1,500 ([0020]: the wavy metal nanowires have an average diameter of 10 to 100 nm and a length of 10 μm or more).
Regarding claim 10, Son (Figure 1) further discloses wherein, when a stretching-releasing cycle is performed 500 times by applying a strain of 20% to the nano-mesh bioelectrode, a change in resistance of the nano-mesh bioelectrode is less than or equal to 5 folds of an initial resistance value before the application of the strain ([0045]).
Regarding claim 11, Son/Lee further teaches a strain sensor (Son; [0003]: i.e. touch panel strain sensor) comprising the stretchable nano-mesh bioelectrode defined in claim 1, as taught by the Son/Lee combination.
Regarding claim 17, Son/Lee further teaches wherein a size of the pores is in a range of 1 nm to 100 μm (Lee; [0009], [0026]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son/Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garnett et al., (US 20140090870; hereinafter Garnett).
Regarding claim 2, Son/Lee teaches the stretchable nano-mesh bioelectrode of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a contact point between metal nanowires in the metal nanowire network comprises a welding point. However, Garnett (Figure 1) teaches a nanowire structure (100, 110, 120, 130) formed on a base layer (140), wherein a contact point between metal nanowires (100, 110, 120, 130) in the metal nanowire network comprises a welding point ([0033]-[0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son/Lee to include a contact point between metal nanowires in the metal nanowire network comprises a welding point, as taught by Garnett, because the modification would maintain structural and functional characteristics of the nanowires, and preserve the integrity and flexibility of sensitive underlying materials (Garnett; [0022]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son/Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim, (KR 20110129113).
Regarding claim 3, Son/Lee teaches the stretchable nano-mesh bioelectrode of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the impregnation is performed so that 20% by volume or more of the metal nanowire network is impregnated in a thickness direction. However, Kim teaches a porous nanofiber structure (10) impregnated by a secondary element (30) so that 20% by volume or more of the secondary element (30) is impregnated in a thickness direction ([0040], [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son/Lee to include the impregnation performed so that 20% by volume or more of the metal nanowire network (which is the secondary element in Park) is impregnated in a thickness direction, as taught by Kim, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/22/2025, with regard to the newly amended claim limitations have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references Son and Lee. Son discloses the base stretchable nanowire-based bioelectrode and Lee teaches the nanofiber elastic mesh sheet comprising polymer nanofibers formed by electrospinning and pores being unoccupied to improve air permeability and flexibility. In combination, the modified device teaches the invention as claimed at least in amended claim 1.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794