Detailed Action
Continued Examination
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this Application on 18 March 2026 after the Final Rejection (18 September 2025). Since this Application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 18 March 2026 has been entered.
Art Rejections
Obviousness
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0138110 (published 28 May 2009) (“Kohyama”); US Patent Application Publication US 2019/0135389 (published 09 May 2019) (“DiLorenzo”) and US Patent Application Publication 2023/0239646 (effectively filed 31 August 2017 as US 15/693,256 (abandoned)) (“Hill”).
Claim 1 is drawn to “a method of controlling an anti-fouling system.” The following table illustrates the correspondence between the claimed method and the Kohyama reference.
Claim 1
The Kohyama Reference
“1. A method of controlling an anti-fouling system to prevent the buildup of biological matter on underwater surfaces, the method comprising:
The Kohyama reference describes a control method for an amplifier system featuring a plurality of networked amplifiers that are associated with a set of loudspeakers and sensors. Kohyama at Abs., ¶¶ 1, 11–15, FIGs.1–3, 17–35.
Kohyama describes amplifier system 1 as a networked system with computerized amplifiers 3-1, 3-2, 3-3, 3-4 and 3-5 connected to PCs 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 via LAN 4. Id. at ¶¶ 75–81, FIGs.1–3.
Each amplifier includes a set of associated transducers. Id. For example, each amplifier has a number of output channels and a loudspeaker is connected to receive and reproduce audio signals amplified on the output channels. Id. Each amplifier is also associated with numerous sensors, such as temperature, voltage and impedance sensors. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179.
Kohyama does not describe the amplifier system as being used for anti-fouling—namely, the claimed prevention of biological matter buildup on underwater surfaces.
“connecting, by one or more computing devices, at least one submerged transducer and at least one sensor to a control module [sic]
Kohyama similarly describes connecting amplifiers 3 and their associated transducers and sensors to a computing device, such as PCs 2. Id. at ¶¶ 75, 80, 81, 82 123, FIGs.1, 3.
Kohyama does not describe the amplifier system as being used for anti-fouling, and thus does not describe the use of submerged transducers.
“activating, by one or more computing devices, the at least one submerged transducer and at least one sensor, wherein the at least one submerged transducer and at least one sensor are positioned relative to submerged object;
A system operator uses one of the PCs to monitor and control the amplifiers. The PC’s OS activates amplifier manager software, which opens a project file. Id. at ¶¶ 82, FIG.36. The project file acquires the state of the amplifiers, which include transducers and sensors. Id. The software activates the transducers and sensors by controlling the amplifiers’ output sound volume levels and power supplies. Id. at ¶¶ 92, 93, 100.
Kohyama does not describe locating any of the transducers and/or sensors in a submerged configuration relative to a submerged object, like a boat hull.
“analyzing, by one or more computing devices, the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor to determine a set of features of the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor which are controllable;
Kohyama’s PC similarly analyzes each connected amplifier (along with its associated transducer and sensor) to determine its set of controllable features. Id. at ¶ 129, FIG.20. Specifically, the PC determines the state of each amplifier (online, offline, monitor-only), the type of amplifier (high-order or low-order) and various parameters (max and min values) for each connected amplifier. Id. at ¶¶ 84, 95–100, 129, FIGs.5, 28.
For online amplifiers, the system operator may choose to track sensor information about power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id. at ¶¶ 86–88, 91, 99, 109, FIGs.9–15. The system operator may also choose to control volume level, compressor settings and power. Id. at ¶¶ 93– 108, FIGs.9–15.
“generating, by one or more computing devices, a user interface, wherein the user interface is based on the set of features of the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor;
Kohyama generates a GUI based on the features associated with each type of amplifier, including its associated speakers and sensors. Id.
“generating, by one or more computing devices, a sound wave from the at least one submerged transducer based on input data;
Each amplifier receives an audio signal from a mixing board that mixes signals from a set of microphones. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 172. A DSP in each amplifier processes the audio signal. Id. at ¶ 79. Each amplifier includes a set of speakers that reproduce the processed audio signal as a sound wave. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 79.
“monitoring, by one or more computing devices, the performance of the submerged transducer by collecting data from the at least one sensor and plotting the data within the user interface;
Various sensors in each amplifier monitor the performance of the amplifier and its associated speakers. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179. Sensed data includes power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id. The data is then plotted on a GUI. Id. at ¶ 199, FIG.45, 47, 48, 49.
“providing, by one or more computing devices, the collected data through the user interface,
Each amplifier provides its sensed data to the monitoring PC, which reproduces the data on a GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179, FIGs.9–15, 45, 47, 48.
“wherein values outside of a predetermined range, further comprise, transmitting, by one or more computing devices, an indicator of the values; and
When a monitored value is outside a safe range, the PC transmits an indicator by displaying an alert, such as a protection alert, a high-temperature alert and a clipping alert. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 102.
“receiving, by one or more computing devices, an input command through the user interface that steers a beam produced by at least one of the submerged transducers.”
Kohyama describes a set of fader elements 40 on the PC GUI to adjust the gain of each amplifier and associated transducer. Id. at ¶¶ 96, 139, FIG.10.
Kohyama does not describe receiving an input command through the user interface to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
Table 1
The table above shows that the Kohyama reference describes a control method that corresponds closely to the claimed method. Kohyama does not anticipate the claimed method, however, because Kohyama does not control an anti-fouling system that includes submerged transducers operated to prevent the buildup of biological material on underwater surfaces. Kohyama also does not describe receiving an input command through the user interface to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
The differences between the Kohyama reference and the claimed invention are such that the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this Application was effectively filed. The Kohyama reference describes a control method suitable to control the operation of a networked amplifier system including a plurality of loudspeakers (i.e., transducers) and sensors. Kohyama’s method, as shown in the table above, tracks numerous parameters related to amplifiers and transducers in order to maintain the proper operation of the system. Kohyama describes controlling a system of amplifiers and loudspeakers in a concert hall, theater or the like. Kohyama does not describe controlling a system used for anti-fouling.
The DiLorenzo reference teaches an anti-fouling system including the claimed combination of submerged transducers and sensors. DiLorenzo at Abs., ¶¶ 2, 7–9. Like Kohyama’s system, DiLorenzo teaches a networked system with an array of transducers 104, amplifiers 107 and sensors 106 connected by a network 101. Id. at ¶¶ 23–39, FIG.1A. Transducers 104 are submerged and positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological material on the object’s underwater surfaces. Id. at ¶¶ 2, 19, 28, 29, 30, 42, 43, FIGs.3A, 3B, 3C, 3D. DiLorenzo teaches at least a rudimentary control system that adjusts the operation of the array of transducers 104 based on data generated by sensors 106. Id. at ¶¶ 45–47, FIG.5. Part of the control system involves electronically steering a beam (e.g., adjusting phases of each array element) produced by the array of transducers 104. Id. at ¶¶ 29, 34, 43, 47. However, DiLorenzo does not describe any details on the control mechanism for steering the beam. DiLorenzo, accordingly, does not describe, teach or suggest the provision of a user interface for steering a beam produced by submerged transducers 104.
The Hill reference is drawn to a loudspeaker control system. Hill at Abs., ¶¶ 3, 4. Like Kohyama, Hill’s system provides a user interface to configure the operation of a set of loudspeaker transducers. Id. at . Hill describes an embodiment including a graphical user interface displayed on, for example, the touchscreen of a user’s smartphone. Id. at ¶¶ 56, 63, 65, FIGs.2, 4A. The GUI provides an overview of the user’s speaker system and its current sweet spot, corresponding to a point where sound is intended to be heard. Id. A user uses the GUI to input a new desired sweet spot. Id. Hill’s system then recalibrates the speakers to steer sound towards the new sweet spot. Id. at ¶ 61.
Viewed together, Kohyama, DiLorenzo and Hill reasonably suggest the claimed invention. Kohyama provides a base amplifier/speaker control system and method with detailed teachings on how to monitor and control numerous amplifier and speaker parameters. The Kohyama reference describes using the control system and method in a concert environment, while DiLorenzo reference reasonably expands on that use and suggests applying control to a submerged speaker system that would likewise benefit from sensor monitoring and responsive controlling of amplifiers and submerged speakers positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological matter on the object’s underwater surfaces.
Additionally, DiLorenzo suggests providing a mechanism to electronically steer a beam formed by an array of submerged transducers to cover a larger area than a fixed array. The Hill reference further suggests controlling the steering with a GUI. For example, DiLorenzo and Hill together suggest providing a GUI that displays a DiLorenzo’s submerged array and a sweet spot indicating where the array is directed. A user would use the GUI to change the position where the beam should be steered in order to clean that location of a submerged object. DiLorenzo’s steering circuitry would then alter the phases of the transducers in the submerged transducer array to steer the beam as indicated by the user. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein the generating of the user interface, further comprises, deactivating, by one or more computing devices, controls which are not features of the at least one submerged transducer.”
Similarly, Kohyama’s GUI deactivates controls that are not associated with low-order amplifiers (as well as its associated speakers and sensors). Kohyama at ¶¶ 86, 88, 108, FIGs.7, 8, 9, 14. For example, low-order amplifiers have less channels and less DSP control parameters than high-order amplifiers. Id. Controls for additional high-order channels and DSP parameters are deactivated and not displayed. Id. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, modifying, by one or more computing devices, values of the at least one submerged transducer based on limitations of the transducer.”
Kohyama describes determining and setting min/max values for each displayed control based on the amplifier’s (and associated speaker) characteristics. Kohyama at ¶¶ 95–100. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, manipulating, by one or more computing devices, the value of the at least one submerged transducer which is outside the predetermined range.”
Kohyama’s system provides protection circuits to prevent damage during protection events (e.g., overvoltage, overtemperature). Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 5 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, detecting, by one or more computing devices, degradation of the at least one submerged transducer based on the performance of the at least one submerged transducer, wherein a warning is generated.”
Kohyama describes tracking degradation, such as overtemperature, overvoltage and clipping based on sensed temperature, voltage and level data. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. Warnings are generated and displayed on the GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 93, 102. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, activating, by one or more computing devices, a predetermined setting of the at least one submerged transducer when a determination of degradation is achieved.”
The amplifier system similarly implements several protection techniques, such as limiting, muting, shutdown and clip limiting in the event of a protection condition associated with degradation, like overvoltage, overtemperature and overload. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 7 is drawn to “a computer program product for controlling an anti-fouling system.” The following table illustrates the correspondence between the claimed product and the Kohyama reference.
Claim 7
The Kohyama Reference
“7. A computer program product for controlling an anti-fouling system to prevent the buildup of biological matter on underwater surfaces, the computer program product comprising:
“the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computing device to cause the computing device to: [sic]
The Kohyama reference describes a control method for an amplifier system featuring a plurality of networked amplifiers that are associated with a set of loudspeakers and sensors. Kohyama at Abs., ¶¶ 1, 11–15, FIGs.1–3, 17–35.
Kohyama describes amplifier system 1 as a networked system with computerized amplifiers 3-1, 3-2, 3-3, 3-4 and 3-5 connected to PCs 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 via LAN 4. Id. at ¶¶ 75–81, FIGs.1–3. Each amplifier and PC includes a computer with a storage medium that stores instructions to carry out a control method. Id. at 23, 78, 171, 174, 176, 178.
Each amplifier includes a set of associated transducers. Id. For example, each amplifier has a number of output channels and a loudspeaker is connected to receive and reproduce audio signals amplified on the output channels. Id. Each amplifier is also associated with numerous sensors, such as temperature, voltage and impedance sensors. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179.
Kohyama does not describe locating any of the transducers and/or sensors in a submerged configuration.
“program instructions to connect electronically at least one sensor and at least one submerged transducer to a control module [sic]
Kohyama similarly describes connecting amplifiers 3 and their associated transducers and sensors to a computing device, such as PCs 2. Id. at ¶¶ 75, 80, 81, 82 123, FIGs.1, 3.
Kohyama does not describe the amplifier system as being used for anti-fouling, and thus does not describe the use of submerged transducers.
“program instructions to activate at least one submerged transducer and at least one sensor, wherein the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor are positioned relative to a submerged object;
A system operator uses one of the PCs to monitor and control the amplifiers. The PC’s OS activates amplifier manager software, which opens a project file. Id. at ¶¶ 82, FIG.36. The project file acquires the state of the amplifiers, which include transducers and sensors. Id. The software activates the transducers and sensors by controlling the amplifiers’ output sound volume levels and power supplies. Id. at ¶¶ 92, 93, 100.
Kohyama does not describe locating any of the transducers and/or sensors in a submerged configuration.
“program instructions to analyze the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor to determine a set of features of the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor which are controllable;
Kohyama’s PC similarly analyzes each connected amplifier (along with its associated transducer and sensor) to determine its set of controllable features. Id. at ¶ 129, FIG.20. Specifically, the PC determines the state of each amplifier (online, offline, monitor-only), the type of amplifier (high-order or low-order) and various parameters (max and min values) for each connected amplifier. Id. at ¶¶ 84, 95–100, 129, FIGs.5, 28.
For online amplifiers, the system operator may choose to track sensor information about power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id. at ¶¶ 86–88, 91, 99, 109, FIGs.9–15. The system operator may also choose to control volume level, compressor settings and power. Id. at ¶¶ 93– 108, FIGs.9–15.
“program instructions to generate a user interface, wherein the user interface is based on the set of features of the at least one submerged transducer and the at least one sensor;
Kohyama generates a GUI based on the features associated with each type of amplifier, including its associated speakers and sensors. Id.
“program instructions to generate a sound wave from the at least one submerged transducer based on input data, wherein the sound wave is directed towards the submerged object;
Each amplifier receives an audio signal from a mixing board that mixes signals from a set of microphones. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 172. A DSP in each amplifier processes the audio signal. Id. at ¶ 79. Each amplifier includes a set of speakers that reproduce the processed audio signal as a sound wave. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 79.
As stated above, Kohyama does not describe an anti-fouling system, and does not submerge or direct sound waves towards a submerged object.
“program instructions to monitor the performance of the submerged transducer by collecting data from the at least one sensor;
Various sensors in each amplifier monitor the performance of the amplifier and its associated speakers. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179. Sensed data includes power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id.
“program instructions to provide the collected data through the user interface,
Each amplifier provides its sensed data to the monitoring PC, which reproduces the data on a GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179, FIGs.9–15, 45, 47, 48.
“wherein values outside of a predetermined range, further comprise, transmitting, by one or more computing devices, an indicator of the values; and
When a monitored value is outside a safe range, the PC transmits an indicator by displaying an alert, such as a protection alert, a high-temperature alert and a clipping alert. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 102.
“program instructions to receive inputs through the user interface that physically manipulates a direction of a beam produced by the at least one of the submerged transducers.”
Kohyama describes a set of fader elements 40 on the PC GUI to adjust the gain of each amplifier and associated transducer. Id. at ¶¶ 96, 139, FIG.10.
Kohyama does not describe receiving an input command through the user interface to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
Table 2
The table above shows that the Kohyama reference describes a computer program product that corresponds closely to the claimed product. Kohyama does not anticipate the claimed invention, however, because Kohyama does not control an anti-fouling system that includes submerged transducers operated to prevent the buildup of biological material on underwater surfaces of a submerged object, and aiming the output of the transducers at the submerged object. Kohyama also does not describe receiving an input command through the user interface to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
The differences between the Kohyama reference and the claimed invention are such that the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this Application was effectively filed. The Kohyama reference describes a control method suitable to control the operation of a networked amplifier system including a plurality of loudspeakers (i.e., transducers) and sensors. Kohyama’s method, as shown in the table above, tracks numerous parameters related to amplifiers and transducers in order to maintain the proper operation of the system. Kohyama describes controlling a system of amplifiers and loudspeakers in a concert hall, theater or the like. Kohyama does not describe controlling a system used for anti-fouling.
The DiLorenzo reference teaches an anti-fouling system including the claimed combination of submerged transducers and sensors. DiLorenzo at Abs., ¶¶ 2, 7–9. Like Kohyama’s system, DiLorenzo teaches a networked system with multiple transducers 104, amplifiers 107 and sensors 106 connected by a network 101. Id. at ¶¶ 23–39, FIG.1A. DiLorenzo teaches at least a rudimentary control system that adjusts the operation of transducers 104 based on data generated by sensors 106. Id. at ¶¶ 45–47, FIG.5. Transducers 104 are submerged and positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological material on the object’s underwater surfaces. Id. at ¶¶ 2, 19, 28, 29, 30, 42, 43, FIGs.3A, 3B, 3C, 3D.
The Hill reference is drawn to a loudspeaker control system. Hill at Abs., ¶¶ 3, 4. Like Kohyama, Hill’s system provides a user interface to configure the operation of a set of loudspeaker transducers. Id. at . Hill describes an embodiment including a graphical user interface displayed on, for example, the touchscreen of a user’s smartphone. Id. at ¶¶ 56, 63, 65, FIGs.2, 4A. The GUI provides an overview of the user’s speaker system and its current sweet spot, corresponding to a point where sound is intended to be heard. Id. A user uses the GUI to input a new desired sweet spot. Id. Hill’s system then recalibrates the speakers to steer sound towards the new sweet spot. Id. at ¶ 61.
Viewed together, Kohyama, DiLorenzo and Hill reasonably suggest the claimed invention. Kohyama provides a base amplifier/speaker control system and method with detailed teachings on how to monitor and control numerous amplifier and speaker parameters. The Kohyama reference describes using the control system and method in a concert environment, while DiLorenzo reference reasonably expands on that use and suggests applying control to a submerged speaker system that would likewise benefit from sensor monitoring and responsive controlling of amplifiers and submerged speakers positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological matter on the object’s underwater surfaces.
Additionally, DiLorenzo suggests providing a mechanism to electronically steer a beam formed by an array of submerged transducers to cover a larger area than a fixed array. The Hill reference further suggests controlling the steering with a GUI. For example, DiLorenzo and Hill together suggest providing a GUI that displays a DiLorenzo’s submerged array and a sweet spot indicating where the array is directed. A user would use the GUI to change the position where the beam should be steered in order to clean that location of a submerged object. DiLorenzo’s steering circuitry would then alter the phases of the transducers in the submerged transducer array to steer the beam as indicated by the user. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 8 depends on claim 7 and further requires the following:
“wherein the generating of the user interface, further comprises, program instructions to deactivate controls which are not features of the at least one submerged transducer.”
Similarly, Kohyama’s GUI deactivates controls that are not associated with low-order amplifiers (as well as its associated speakers and sensors). Kohyama at ¶¶ 86, 88, 108, FIGs.7, 8, 9, 14. For example, low-order amplifiers have less channels and less DSP control parameters than high-order amplifiers. Id. Controls for additional high-order channels and DSP parameters are deactivated and not displayed. Id. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 9 depends on claim 7 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to modify values of the at least one transducer based on limitations of the submerged transducer.”
Kohyama describes determining and setting min/max values for each displayed control based on the amplifier’s (and associated speaker) characteristics. Kohyama at ¶¶ 95–100. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 10 depends on claim 7 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to manipulate the value of the at least one submerged transducer which is outside the predetermined range.”
Kohyama’s system provides protection circuits to prevent damage during protection events (e.g., overvoltage, overtemperature). Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 11 depends on claim 7 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to detect degradation of the at least one submerged transducer based on the performance of the at least one submerged transducer, wherein a warning is generated.”
Kohyama describes tracking degradation, such as overtemperature, overvoltage and clipping based on sensed temperature, voltage and level data. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. Warnings are generated and displayed on the GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 93, 102. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 12 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to activate a predetermined setting of the at least one submerged transducer when a determination of degradation is achieved.”
The amplifier system similarly implements several protection techniques, such as limiting, muting, shutdown and clip limiting in the event of a protection condition associated with degradation, like overvoltage, overtemperature and overload. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 13 is drawn to “a system for controlling an anti-fouling system.” The following table illustrates the correspondence between the claimed system and the Kohyama reference.
Claim 13
The Kohyama Reference
“13. A system for controlling an anti-fouling system to prevent the buildup of biological matter on underwater surfaces, the system comprising:
“a CPU,
“a computer readable memory and
“a computer readable storage medium associated with a computing device;
The Kohyama reference describes a control method for an amplifier system featuring a plurality of networked amplifiers that are associated with a set of loudspeakers and sensors. Kohyama at Abs., ¶¶ 1, 11–15, FIGs.1–3, 17–35.
Kohyama describes amplifier system 1 as a networked system with computerized amplifiers 3-1, 3-2, 3-3, 3-4 and 3-5 connected to PCs 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 via LAN 4. Id. at ¶¶ 75–81, FIGs.1–3.
Each amplifier includes a set of associated transducers. Id. For example, each amplifier has a number of output channels and a loudspeaker is connected to receive and reproduce audio signals amplified on the output channels. Id. Each amplifier is also associated with numerous sensors, such as temperature, voltage and impedance sensors. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179.
Kohyama does not describe the amplifier system as being used for anti-fouling (i.e., preventing biological buildup on underwater surfaces). However, applying the claimed method to an anti-fouling system is an intended use of the method that does not distinguish the claimed method from Kohyama. The claimed method stands on its own as none of the limitations require submerged elements or preventing the buildup of biological matter on underwater surfaces.
“program instructions to connect at least one transducer and at least one sensor to a control module, wherein the control module identifies each of the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor and receives data related to the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor;
Kohyama similarly describes connecting amplifiers 3 and their associated transducers and sensors to a computing device, such as PCs 2. Id. at ¶¶ 75, 80, 81, 82 123, FIGs.1, 3. Kohyama identifies each connected device in order to address them for purposes of transmitting and receiving data over a network. See id. at ¶¶ 119, 121, 123, FIGs.17, 37, 39.
“program instructions to activate the at least one transducer and at least one sensor, wherein the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor are substantially submerged relative to a submerged object;
A system operator uses one of the PCs to monitor and control the amplifiers. The PC’s OS activates amplifier manager software, which opens a project file. Id. at ¶¶ 82, FIG.36. The project file acquires the state of the amplifiers, which include transducers and sensors. Id. The software activates the transducers and sensors by controlling the amplifiers’ output sound volume levels and power supplies. Id. at ¶¶ 92, 93, 100.
Kohyama does not describe locating any of the transducers and/or sensors in a submerged configuration.
“program instructions to analyze the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor to determine a set of features of the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor which are controllable;
Kohyama’s PC similarly analyzes each connected amplifier (along with its associated transducer and sensor) to determine its set of controllable features. Id. at ¶ 129, FIG.20. Specifically, the PC determines the state of each amplifier (online, offline, monitor-only), the type of amplifier (high-order or low-order) and various parameters (max and min values) for each connected amplifier. Id. at ¶¶ 84, 95–100, 129, FIGs.5, 28.
For online amplifiers, the system operator may choose to track sensor information about power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id. at ¶¶ 86–88, 91, 99, 109, FIGs.9–15. The system operator may also choose to control volume level, compressor settings and power. Id. at ¶¶ 93– 108, FIGs.9–15.
“program instructions to generate a user interface, wherein the user interface is based on the set of features of the at least one transducer and the at least one sensor;
Kohyama generates a GUI based on the features associated with each type of amplifier, including its associated speakers and sensors. Id.
“program instructions to generate a steerable beam beam propagates through an environment between the at least one transducer and the submerged object;
Each amplifier receives an audio signal from a mixing board that mixes signals from a set of microphones. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 172. A DSP in each amplifier processes the audio signal. Id. at ¶ 79. Each amplifier includes a set of speakers that reproduce the processed audio signal as a sound wave. Id. at ¶¶ 76, 79.
As stated above, Kohyama does not describe an anti-fouling system, and does not propagate sound waves towards a submerged object through water (i.e., an environment).
Kohyama describes a set of fader elements 40 on the PC GUI to adjust the gain of each amplifier and associated transducer. Id. at ¶¶ 96, 139, FIG.10.
Kohyama does not describe receiving an input command through the user interface to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
“program instructions to monitor the performance of the transducer by collecting data from the at least one sensor and presenting the collected data within a user interface; and
Various sensors in each amplifier monitor the performance of the amplifier and its associated speakers. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179. Sensed data includes power supply, loading, wattage, temperature, impedance and fan speed. Id. Each amplifier provides its sensed data to the monitoring PC, which reproduces the data on a GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179, FIGs.9–15, 45, 47, 48.
“program instructions to manipulate
Each amplifier provides its sensed data to the monitoring PC, which reproduces the data on a GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 99, 179, FIGs.9–15, 45, 47, 48. When a monitored value is outside a safe range, the PC transmits an indicator by displaying an alert, such as a protection alert, a high-temperature alert and a clipping alert. Id. at ¶¶ 87, 93, 102.
Table 3
The table above shows that the Kohyama reference describes a control method that corresponds closely to the claimed system. Kohyama does not anticipate the claimed invention, however, because Kohyama does not control an anti-fouling system that includes submerged transducers operated to prevent the buildup of biological material on underwater surfaces. Kohyama also does not describe receiving an input command through input information to steer a beam of any submerged transducers.
The differences between the Kohyama reference and the claimed invention are such that the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this Application was effectively filed. The Kohyama reference describes a control method suitable to control the operation of a networked amplifier system including a plurality of loudspeakers (i.e., transducers) and sensors. Kohyama’s method, as shown in the table above, tracks numerous parameters related to amplifiers and transducers in order to maintain the proper operation of the system. Kohyama describes controlling a system of amplifiers and loudspeakers in a concert hall, theater or the like. Kohyama does not describe controlling a system used for anti-fouling.
The DiLorenzo reference teaches an anti-fouling system including the claimed combination of submerged transducers and sensors. DiLorenzo at Abs., ¶¶ 2, 7–9. Like Kohyama’s system, DiLorenzo teaches a networked system with multiple transducers 104, amplifiers 107 and sensors 106 connected by a network 101. Id. at ¶¶ 23–39, FIG.1A. DiLorenzo teaches at least a rudimentary control system that adjusts the operation of transducers 104 based on data generated by sensors 106. Id. at ¶¶ 45–47, FIG.5. Transducers 104 are submerged and positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological material on the object’s underwater surfaces. Id. at ¶¶ 2, 19, 28, 29, 30, 42, 43, FIGs.3A, 3B, 3C, 3D.
The Hill reference is drawn to a loudspeaker control system. Hill at Abs., ¶¶ 3, 4. Like Kohyama, Hill’s system provides a user interface to configure the operation of a set of loudspeaker transducers. Id. at . Hill describes an embodiment including a graphical user interface displayed on, for example, the touchscreen of a user’s smartphone. Id. at ¶¶ 56, 63, 65, FIGs.2, 4A. The GUI provides an overview of the user’s speaker system and its current sweet spot, corresponding to a point where sound is intended to be heard. Id. A user uses the GUI to input a new desired sweet spot. Id. Hill’s system then recalibrates the speakers to steer sound towards the new sweet spot. Id. at ¶ 61.
Viewed together, Kohyama, DiLorenzo and Hill reasonably suggest the claimed invention. Kohyama provides a base amplifier/speaker control system and method with detailed teachings on how to monitor and control numerous amplifier and speaker parameters. The Kohyama reference describes using the control system and method in a concert environment, while DiLorenzo reference reasonably expands on that use and suggests applying control to a submerged speaker system that would likewise benefit from sensor monitoring and responsive controlling of amplifiers and submerged speakers positioned relative to a submerged object in order to prevent the buildup of biological matter on the object’s underwater surfaces.
Additionally, DiLorenzo suggests providing a mechanism to electronically steer a beam formed by an array of submerged transducers to cover a larger area than a fixed array. The Hill reference further suggests controlling the steering with a GUI. For example, DiLorenzo and Hill together suggest providing a GUI that displays a DiLorenzo’s submerged array and a sweet spot indicating where the array is directed. A user would use the GUI to change the position where the beam should be steered in order to clean that location of a submerged object. DiLorenzo’s steering circuitry would then alter the phases of the transducers in the submerged transducer array to steer the beam as indicated by the user. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and further requires the following:
“wherein the generating of the user interface, further comprises, program instructions to deactivate controls which are not features of the at least one transducer.”
Similarly, Kohyama’s GUI deactivates controls that are not associated with low-order amplifiers (as well as its associated speakers and sensors). Kohyama at ¶¶ 86, 88, 108, FIGs.7, 8, 9, 14. For example, low-order amplifiers have less channels and less DSP control parameters than high-order amplifiers. Id. Controls for additional high-order channels and DSP parameters are deactivated and not displayed. Id. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 15 depends on claim 13 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to modify values of the at least one transducer based on limitations of the transducer.”
Kohyama describes determining and setting min/max values for each displayed control based on the amplifier’s (and associated speaker) characteristics. Kohyama at ¶¶ 95–100. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 16 depends on claim 13 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to manipulate the value of the at least one transducer which is outside the predetermined range.”
Kohyama’s system provides protection circuits to prevent damage during protection events (e.g., overvoltage, overtemperature). Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 17 depends on claim 13 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to detect degradation of the at least one transducer based on the performance of the at least one transducer, wherein a warning is generated.”
Kohyama describes tracking degradation, such as overtemperature, overvoltage and clipping based on sensed temperature, voltage and level data. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. Warnings are generated and displayed on the GUI. Id. at ¶¶ 93, 102. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17 and further requires the following:
“further comprising, program instructions to activate a predetermined setting of the at least one transducer when a determination of degradation is achieved.”
The amplifier system similarly implements several protection techniques, such as limiting, muting, shutdown and clip limiting in the event of a protection condition associated with degradation, like overvoltage, overtemperature and overload. Kohyama at ¶¶ 109, 163, 179, 182, 199. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 19 depends on claim 17 and further requires the following:
“wherein the at least one transducer is comprised of at least one crystal, wherein the at least one crystal is useable in a submerged environment.”
The DiLorenzo reference teaches and suggests implementing submerged transducers 104 of an anti-fouling system with piezoelectric crystals for use in a submerged environment. DiLorenzo at ¶ 28. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 20 depends on claim 17 and further requires the following:
“wherein the at least one transducer form an array and the sound wave generated by the array is steerable.”
The DiLorenzo reference teaches and suggests implementing submerged transducers 104 with a steerable array. DiLorenzo at ¶ 29. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Kohyama, the DiLorenzo and the Hill references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Summary
Claims 1–20 are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 as being unpatentable over the cited prior art. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s Reply (18 March 2026) has substantively amended all the claims. This Office action has been updated accordingly to account for the new limitations that were neither previously presented nor considered.
Applicant’s Reply at 6–7 further includes comments pertaining to the rejections included in the previous Final Rejection (18 September 2025). Applicant comments that DiLorenzo is no longer available as prior art due to an amended benefit claim. This updated benefit claim has not been accepted because it is untimely. (See Misc Comm. (20 March 2026)). Further, the Examiner notes that even if the updated benefit claim were accepted at some point in the future, the DiLorenzo reference would still be applicable as prior art because the claims in this Application are drawn to subject matter that is not supported by the continuation-in-part parent 17/333,073 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). See 35 U.S.C. § 120; MPEP § 211.05.
Applicant further comments that Kohyama is drawn simply to controlling amplifiers, not transducers. While Applicant’s comment is correct in a limited sense, Applicant’s comments overlook that, in the context of the Kohyama reference, manipulation of an amplifier will necessarily manipulate the operation of a transducer since the amplifier is a device for driving the transducer. For example, adjusting the gain of an amplifier through a fader knob will adjust the amount of energy applied to a transducer, directly impacting the operation of the transducer, including heat generation, current draw, voltage drive, velocity, acceleration and displacement. See Kohyama at ¶¶86, 87, 91.
Applicant comments that Kohyama does not describe steering a direction of a beam that propagates between a transducer and a vessel through water. This comment is based on a new limitation and is moot in light of the new grounds of rejection introduced in this Office action.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant has not persuasively established any error in the Office action. All the rejections will be maintained.
Conclusion
/Walter F Briney III/
Walter F Briney IIIPrimary ExaminerArt Unit 2692
3/31/2026