DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fluid container storage portion" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this is intended to recite “the fluid storage container portion” earlier defined in the same clause.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US pgPub 2014/0202948) in view of Maiden (US pgPub 2006/0163126) in view of Hsu (US2018/0194645) in view of Gellibolian (US pgPub 2013/0319915) and further in view of Lioa (US pgPub 2017/0280737).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches a structure (fig. 1a) comprising:
a container (100), the container having an opening (121), a large volume container portion (102), and a fluid storage container portion (interior of 101 has an elongated body 118 (0055) for receiving filter housing 116 and has a check valve 113 thus a fluid storage container in 101), wherein the fluid storage container portion has sides (sides of channel to check valve and opening from 112 to bottom of 118) and a bottom (bottom of 118) that define an enclosed fluid storage region (enclosed with the exception of vent holes. [0056] teaches 118 may extend through the opening 121 thus liquid passing through holes are enclosed in region of filter) and an open top (when nozzle outlet 111 is open the storage region is open), wherein the fluid container storage portion has a first set of screw threads (114) and a second set of threads (paragraph [0055] teaches filter housing 116 can have a coupling means including threads which allows the filter housing to couple to an interior surface of the cap assembly 101), wherein the large volume container portion has a set of complementary screw threads (124) to the first set of screw threads that attach the fluid storage container portion in a fixed position with respect to the large volume container portion (via screw connection), wherein the large volume container portion has sides and a bottom that define a large fluid storage region (sides and bottom of 102) bounded at a top boundary by the bottom of the fluid storage container portion (bounded by bottom of 118), the bottom of the large volume container portion being at a fixed distance from the bottom of the fluid storage container portion (when screw attached fixed distance between bottom of 102 and bottom of 118), and configured to contain a contiguous volume of fluid (inherent to container 102) while an entirety of the fluid storage container portion is above the large volume container portion (as seen in figure 1, 101 is ), and wherein the fluid storage container portion configured to contain a smaller contiguous volume of fluid (small volume of fluid in filter to nozzle outlet 111 and check valve 113. Note liquid through the filter media is contiguous as the filter media is granular ([0055]). In otherwords while fluid is in the media it is contiguous ([0055]) teaches free flow of liquid through the filter media);
a removable cap (101 is a removable cap) for selectively covering the opening (121), wherein the removable cap includes:
a set of complementary screw threads to the second set of screw threads that attach the removable cap in a fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion (paragraph [0055] teaches filter housing 116 can have a coupling means including threads which allows the filter housing to couple to an interior surface of the cap assembly 101, thus inherently requiring complementary threads in the removable cap 101)
an outlet (111) configured to allow fluid to flow out of the fluid storage container portion ([0055], “When the container 102 is pressurized, the liquid held in the internal compartment 122 will flow through the filter media 115 and out through the adapter 112 and nozzle outlet 111” thus out of filter media ), wherein the fluid storage container portion has an unimpeded two-way fluid connection to the outlet (between 111 and 115 is an unimpeded two-way flow. Note filter may have a check valve ([0055]) thus flow back and forth between check valve of 116 and outlet 111); and
a first set of ultraviolet light sources (137), wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion ([0060] teaches UV emitter 137 emits light upwards towards the compartment 122 so as to disinfect the filter housing 116 (i.e. via vent holes 117 fluid storage region receives UV));
a controller (133); and
a power source (132) configured to provide power to the controller ([0058]) and the first set of ultraviolet light sources ([0058]).
Li fails to disclose the first set of ultraviolet light sources located on a region of the removable cap that is inside of an interior space defined by the sides of the fluid storage container portion when the removable cap is in the fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion, wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation from a direction of the removable cap directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion directly toward the bottom of the fluid storage container portion.
However, Maiden teaches first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 2, 30, paragraph [0020] teaches a plurality of UV LEDs) located on a region of the removable cap (fig. 6 shows the same module 30 of figure 2 installed in the bottle top 52 ([0025])) that is inside of an interior space defined by the sides of the fluid storage container portion (inside cavity as seen in figure 6, which is a similar fluid storage container of Li (i.e. above a filter), note Maiden teaches the purification module 50 is above a filter 56) when the removable cap is in the fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion (as seen in figure 6 cap 52 is fixed with respect to the fluid storage region).
Maiden modifies Li by suggesting positioning the UV LEDs in the storage region above the filter.
Since both inventions are directed towards bottles with filters and LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li to incorporate the UV LEDs in the storage region of the cap because it is less costly and complicated and less power consuming ([0031]). That is, the UV system in the storage region allows for intermittent sterilization as opposed to the period sterilization suggested in Li, therefore only activating sterilization when a drink is desired and saving battery life.
While Maiden teaches the dimensions of the purification module 22 and the associated section of the tube 16 are such that water flowing past and at a maximum distance away from the UV LEDs receives energy of at least 25 mJ/cm.sup.2 ([0020]), the combined device fails to disclose wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation from a direction of the removable cap directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion directly toward the bottom of the fluid storage container portion.
However, figure 3 of Maiden shows a cross sectional view of 30 with a portion facing perpendicular to the flow direction (i.e. into the page of figure 3) and figure 6 shows the bottom of storage region being the filter 56. Since paragraph [0020] teaches the desire to not only irradiate water flowing past the tube, but also at a maximum distance away from the UV LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position UV LED(s) as indicated in annotated figures 3 and 6 below because it would allow for irradiation of water not only flowing past the paths 23a/b (in figure 3), but also towards the fluid furthest away from the UV LEDs as desired in paragraph [0020] therefore improving the effectiveness of the UV sterilization. Such an arrangement would irradiate UV light from a direction of the removable cap directed towards the bottom of the storage container (i.e. filter).
Li fails to disclose the controller includes logic configured to manage operation of the first set of ultraviolet light sources by preventing the first set of ultraviolet light sources from emitting ultraviolet light in response to at least one sensed condition.
However Hsu teaches the logic is configured to manage operation of the first set of UV light sources by preventing the first set of UV light sources from emitting UV light in response to at least one sensed condition ([0038]).
Hsu modifies the Li by suggesting a sensing assembly and a controller that turns off the UV light sources when the two electrodes are not sensed by the sensing assembly.
Since both inventions are directed towards UV light sources incorporated into the cover, it would have been obvious to include the sensing and control logic of Hsu in the device of Li because it would prevent inadvertent user exposure to harmful UV light.
The combined device fails to disclose a cover configured to be selectively secured directly to at least one of: the removable cap or the container near the opening of the container, wherein the cover is configured to selectively cover the first set of ultraviolet light sources and the outlet without contacting the first set of ultraviolet light sources and without contacting the outlet.
However, Gellibolian teaches a cover (12) configured to be selectively secured directly to at least one of: the removable cap or the container near the opening of the container (selectively secured to lid via spring latch engagement and disengagement see paragraph [0056]), wherein the cover is configured to selectively cover an entirety of the first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 1 shows open configuration not covering UV sources 28 and fig. 2 shows UV sources 28 covered by 12, since the only open air access to the UV sources is through the mouthpiece, the entirety of the UV light sources are closed by cap closure) and the outlet (12 covers or does not cover 18 as seen in figures 1-2) without contacting the first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 2, lid 12 does not contact UV sources 28).
Gellibolian modifies the combined device by suggesting a cover for the outlet of Li in view of Hsu.
Since both inventions are directed towards water bottles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a cover as suggested in Gellibolian in the combined device because it would protect the outlet from external contamination when not in use.
Figure 2 of Gellibolian appears to show the outlet 18 contacting cover 12 and thus fails to disclose without contacting the outlet. Gellibolian also fails to expressly teach the LED PCB controller to have logic.
However, Liao teaches a cover (fig.13, 1400) selectively covers the outlet (liquid consumption structure 1430) without contacting the outlet (as seen in figure 13) and a processor having logic to manage the operation of the first set of UV light source (abstract and [0104])
Liao modifies Gellibolian by suggesting a space between the cover and outlet and providing logic to the controller to manage the UV light source operation
Since both inventions are directed towards UV light sterilization within drinking containers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spacing disclosed in Liao between the outlet (i.e. straw (see paragraph [0107] of Liao)) and the cover because it would facilitate the placement of UV light sources within the cover such that UV light may be provided to the liquid consumption structure as well as the liquid ([0107]) therefore sterilizing the mouthpiece such that the mouthpiece may be cleaned between uses, thus mitigating the spread of germs. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the controller of Gellibolian with the logic of Liao because it would allow the exposure time and intensity to be set based on the opacity of the liquid to ensure the liquid receives the appropriate exposure and intensity of UV light for sterilization of its contents ([0104]).
Claims 21, 23-28, 30-32, 34-39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gellibolian et al. (US pgPub 2013/0319915)1 in view of Li and in view of Maiden in view of :
a) Liao et al. (US pgPub 2017/0280737) or alternatively in view of
b) Cong (WO2017/185217) or alternatively in view of
c) Olmedo et al. (US pgPub 2014/0263377) in view of Liao et al. or Cong
and
further in view of Hsu (US pgPub 20180194645).
Regarding claim 21, Gellibolian et al. teaches a structure (figs. 1-2) comprising:
a container (1/2), the container having an opening (opening in bottle when lid is removed for filling), a large volume storage container (1/2) and a fluid storage container portion (fig. 2, above flow meter housing 34. Note: paragraph [0075] recites “To prevent fluid from passing back through a flow meter, a check valve is located between the flow meter and the interior of the fluid container”. That is, there is inherently a region containing fluid in and above flow meter housing 34 in order to prevent fluid from passing back through to the interior of the fluid container), wherein the fluid storage container has sides (sides interior of straw 18 and housing 34) and a bottom (check valve see paragraph [0075]) that define an enclosed fluid storage region (enclosed via lid 12 and sides of 34/18 and check valve) and an open top (top open when mouthpiece is open), wherein the fluid container storage portion has a first set of screw threads, wherein the large volume container portion has a set of complementary screw threads that attach the fluid storage container portion in a fixed position with respect to the large volume container (fluid storage region (i.e. 34 and above in figure 2) is part of lid 14 (indicated in figure 5) which is shown to have threaded engagement with bottle 1 and 2 as seen in figure 2), wherein the large volume container portion has sides and a bottom that define a large fluid region (inside inner bottle 1) bounded at a top boundary by the bottom of the fluid storage container portion (bounded at the top by the check valve to flow meter see paragraph [0075]), the bottom of the large volume container portion being at a fixed distance from the bottom of the fluid storage container portion (bottom of container 1 is at a fixed distance to check vale below 34), and configured to contain a contiguous volume of fluid while an entirety of the fluid storage portion is above the large volume container portion (inner bottle 2 contains fluid while the flow meter housing above the check valve ([0075]) is above 1,2 see figure 2), and wherein the fluid container portion is configured to contain a smaller contiguous volume of fluid (volume in flow meter housing and above is smaller than value of inner bottle 1 as seen in figure 2);
a removable cap for selectively covering the opening (figures 1-2 show lid 14 (indicated in figure 5a) covering opening in bottle 1 and figures 4a-4b show lid removed from bottle thus a removable cap), wherein the removable cap includes:
an outlet (18) configured to allow fluid to flow out of the fluid storage container ([0069] and paragraph [0075]), wherein the fluid storage container portion has an unimpeded two-way fluid connection to the outlet (since there is nothing between outlet 18 and volume above check valve. Water may flow both ways from mouthpiece outlet 18and back to check valve ([0075])); and
a first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 2, 28 see paragraph [0058] note “inner bottle reflective surface 64 that is coated with a reflective material in order to minimize the amount of energy lost from light emitting diodes”), wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion ([0067], UV light. Paragraph [0058] teaches inner bottle contains reflective surface and [0059] and [0075] envisioned a glass flow meter and glass check valve respectively thus by reflection the first set of UV source are configured to be directed into an interior volume of the storage container portion above the check valve ([0075]) and flow meter housing 34. Note flow meter is optional see paragraph [0036] for including or not including a flow meter module);
a controller configured to manage operation of the first set of ultraviolet light sources ([0038]PCB with controllers linked to LEDs to allow individual to sterilize a fluid. See also button of paragraph [0065]); and
a power source configured to provide power to the controller and the first set of ultraviolet light sources ([067] UV obtains its power either from a battery located on the PCB 27 itself or a battery located in the dangler lid assembly 23), and
a cover (12) configured to be selectively secured directly to at least one of: the removable cap or the container near the opening of the container (selectively secured to lid via spring latch engagement and disengagement see paragraph [0056]), wherein the cover is configured to selectively cover the first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 1 shows open configuration not covering UV sources 28 and fig. 2 shows UV sources 28 covered by 12) and the outlet (12 covers or does not cover 18 as seen in figures 1-2) without contacting the first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 2, lid 12 does not contact UV sources 28).
While Gellibolian teaches a fluid storage region, Gellibolian fails to disclose the fluid storage region to comprise a second set of screw threads and a set of complementary screw threads to the second set of screw threads that attach the removable cap is in a fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion.
However, Li teaches these limitations as discussed above.
Li modifies Gellibolian by suggesting a threaded connection between the fluid region (i.e. above fluid meter housing and check valve) and the removable cap so as to install a filter between the mouthpiece and the bottle.
Since both inventions are directed towards purifying water bottles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the threaded connection between the fluid storage container and the removable cap of Gellibolian because it would allow for installation of a replaceable filter below the mouthpiece improving the purity of the liquid being dispensed to the person drinking. Moreover, the threaded connection allows for replacement of parts, so that if a component reaches the end of life (i.e. check valve of Gellibolian), the part can be removed and replaced, therefore improving the lifespan of the bottle, while reducing waste and cost by having to throw the assembly away and purchase a new one.
The combined device fails to disclose the first set of ultraviolet light sources located on a region of the removable cap that is inside of an interior space defined by the sides of the fluid storage container portion when the removable cap is in the fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion, wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation from a direction of the removable cap directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion directly toward the bottom of the fluid storage container portion.
However, Maiden teaches first set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 2, 30, paragraph [0020] teaches a plurality of UV LEDs) located on a region of the removable cap (fig. 6 shows the same module 30 of figure 2 installed in the bottle top 52 ([0025])) that is inside of an interior space defined by the sides of the fluid storage container portion (inside cavity as seen in figure 6, which is a similar fluid storage container of Li (i.e. above a filter), note Maiden teaches the purification module 50 is above a filter 56) when the removable cap is in the fixed position with respect to the fluid storage container portion (as seen in figure 6 cap 52 is fixed with respect to the fluid storage region).
Maiden modifies the combined by suggesting positioning the UV LEDs in the storage region above the filter.
Since both inventions are directed towards bottles with filters and LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combined device to incorporate the UV LEDs in the storage region of the cap because it is less costly and complicated and less power consuming ([0031]). That is, the UV system in the storage region allows for intermittent sterilization as opposed to the period sterilization suggested in Li, therefore only activating sterilization when a drink is desired and saving battery life.
While Maiden teaches The dimensions of the purification module 22 and the associated section of the tube 16 are such that water flowing past and at a maximum distance away from the UV LEDs receives energy of at least 25 mJ/cm.sup.2 ([0020]), the combined device fails to disclose wherein the first set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation from a direction of the removable cap directed into an interior volume of the fluid storage container portion directly toward the bottom of the fluid storage container portion.
However, figure 3 of Maiden shows a cross sectional view of 30 with a portion facing perpendicular to the flow direction (i.e. into the page of figure 3) and figure 6 shows the bottom of storage region being the filter 56. Since paragraph [0020] teaches the desire to not only irradiate water flowing past the tube, but also at a maximum distance away from the UV LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position UV LED(s) as indicated in annotated figures 3 and 6 below because it would allow for irradiation of water not only flowing past the paths 23a/b (in figure 3), but also towards the fluid furthest away from the UV LEDs as desired in paragraph [0020] therefore improving the effectiveness of the UV sterilization. Such an arrangement would irradiate UV light from a direction of the removable cap directed towards the bottom of the storage container (i.e. filter).
Figure 2 of Gellibolian appears to show the outlet 18 contacting cover 12 and thus fails to disclose without contacting the outlet. Gellibolian also fails to expressly teach the LED PCB controller to have logic.
However, Liao teaches a cover (fig.13, 1400) selectively covers the outlet (liquid consumption structure 1430) without contacting the outlet (as seen in figure 13) and a processor having logic to manage the operation of the first set of UV light source (abstract and [0104])
Liao modifies Gellibolian by suggesting a space between the cover and outlet and providing logic to the controller to manage the UV light source operation
Since both inventions are directed towards UV light sterilization within drinking containers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spacing disclosed in Liao between the outlet (i.e. straw (see paragraph [0107] of Liao)) and the cover because it would facilitate the placement of UV light sources within the cover such that UV light may be provided to the liquid consumption structure as well as the liquid ([0107]) therefore sterilizing the mouthpiece such that the mouthpiece may be cleaned between uses, thus mitigating the spread of germs. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the controller of Gellibolian with the logic of Liao because it would allow the exposure time and intensity to be set based on the opacity of the liquid to ensure the liquid receives the appropriate exposure and intensity of UV light for sterilization of its contents ([0104]).
Alternatively, Cong teaches a cover (fig.10, 10) selectively covers the outlet (nipple) without contacting the outlet (no contact between 10 and 12) and a processor having logic to manage the operation of the first set of UV light source ([0071] teaches a circuit board used to control the sterilizing light emitting element and [0077] teaches controller can set the working mode of the light emitting member 22 according to the user’s needs)
Cong modifies Gellibolian by suggesting a space between the cover and the mouthpiece.
Since both inventions are directed towards disinfecting liquid consumption containers with UV light, it would have been obvious to space the straw from the lid in Gellibolian as done in Cong because it would allow for the mouthpiece to be disinfected to eliminate contamination of the contacts by the bacteria from the users mouth, therefore preserving the contents therein. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the logic of the printed circuit board of Cong in the device of Gellibolian because it would facilitate the ability to perform program to automatically perform sterilization according to the user’s needs ([0077])
Alternatively, to Cong, while Gellibolian teaches a seal, Gellibolian fails to disclose the seal positioned between the cover and the outlet.
However, Olmedo et al. teaches a stopper inserted in the cap ([0037]).
Olmedo modifies Gellibolian by suggesting a stopper for the cover such that the lid is not in contact with the outlet.
Since both inventions are directed towards liquid storage containers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the stopper Olmedo et al. in the device of Gellibolian because it would provide a liquid and as tight seal and apply a lateral force to the inner straw which pushes the outer diameter of the inner straw against the inner diameter of the outer straw and/or the opening. Such a force may provide an additional seal which can prevent liquid and gas escaping between the outer straw and or the opening and the inner straw, which can preserve the freshness of the beverage ([0037]).
Gellibolian in view of Olmedo et al. fail to disclose the logic. However, Liao and Cong teach these deficiencies as discussed above with the same rational to combine.
The combined device of Gellibolian in view of a) or b) or c) further fails to disclose the logic is configured to manage operation of the first set of UV light sources by preventing the first set of UV light sources from emitting UV light in response to at least one sensed condition.
However Hsu teaches the logic is configured to manage operation of the first set of UV light sources by preventing the first set of UV light sources from emitting UV light in response to at least one sensed condition ([0038]).
Hsu modifies the combined device by suggesting a sensing assembly and a controller that turns off the UV light sources when the two electrodes are not sensed by the sensing assembly.
Since both inventions are directed towards UV light sources incorporated into the cover, it would have been obvious to include the sensing and control logic of Hsu in the combined device because it would prevent inadvertent user exposure to harmful UV light.
Regarding claims 23 and 35, Gellibolian et al. differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing a second set of UV light sources mounted to the cover, wherein the second set of UV light sources is configured to emit UV radiation onto at least an outer surface of the outlet.
However, Liao et al. teaches a set of ultraviolet light sources (fig. 13, UVLEDs 1500) mounted to the cover (as seen in figure 13), wherein the set of ultraviolet light sources is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation onto at least an outer surface of the outlet ([0107], note: “a UV portion 1400 may be disposed above a bottle 1410, and provide UV light 1420 to the liquid 1510, as well as a liquid consumption structure 1430 (e.g. nipple, spout, straw, etc.).”, wherein 1510 is contained in bottle 1410 and 1430 is contained in mouthpiece cover 1400).
The mouthpiece cover 1400 of Liao et al. modifies the cover 12 of Gellibolian et al. by providing a second set of LEDs on the mouthpiece cover such that UV radiation is directed into an interior volume at least partially formed by the mouthpiece.
Since both inventions are directed towards sterilizing water in a water bottle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide UV LEDs on the mouthpiece cover 12 of Gellibolian et al. because “a UV portion 1400 may be disposed above a bottle 1410, and provide UV light 1420 to the liquid 1510, as well as a liquid consumption structure 1430 (e.g. nipple, spout, straw, etc.)” ([0107]). That is, providing UV LEDs above the mouthpiece would facilitate sterilization of the consumption structure, therefore preventing the spread of germs in the mouthpiece as well as the liquid to be sterilized.
Regarding claims 24 and 37, the combined device differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing at least one sensor located on at least one of: the removable cap or the container, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to provide data to the control unit indicating a status corresponding to whether the mouthpiece is covered by the mouthpiece cover.
However, Hsu et al. teach at least one sensor (130) located on at least one of: the removable cap (120 is a cover to a water bottle see [0025], see paragraph [0026] for sensor mounted to 120), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to provide data to the control unit indicating a status corresponding to whether the mouthpiece is covered by the mouthpiece cover ([0026]).
Hsu et al. modifies the combined device by suggesting a sensor in the mouthpiece cover so as to determine whether or not the cover is on the container.
Since both inventions are directed towards liquid sterilization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to install a sensor in the top cover because it would avoid UV generation by the UV source when the bottle is not covered so as to avoid UV light exposure to a human body ([0026]).
Regarding claim 25, the combined device in view of Hsu teach wherein the controller automatically turns on the second set of UV light sources in response to the status changing to the outlet being covered by the cover (Hsu, [0026]).
Regarding claim 26, Gellibolian et al. in view of Liao teach wherein at least one interior surface of the cover includes a UV reflective material (Liao, figure 13 shows UV light 1420 reflecting off of wall of lid, thus requiring a reflective material. Further paragraph [0107] teaches figure 13 is similar to figure 5, paragraph [0068 teaches the inner wall is formed of a UV reflective material).
Regarding claim 27, Gellibolian et al. teach wherein the container further includes a set of one way valves located in the bottom of the fluid storage container portion ([0075] check valve below flow meter) and separating the fluid storage container portion from the large volume container portion (([0075] teaches check valve between flow meter and interior of fluid container) wherein the set of one way valves are configured to only allow fluid to flow from the large volume container portion to the fluid storage region ([0075]).
Regarding claim 28 Gellibolian et al. teach wherein a bottom of the container (outer bottle 2 is the bottom of the container) is the bottom of the large volume container portion (bottom of inner bottle 2 is the bottom of outer bottle 1 if filter of figure 14 is removed and inner bottle 2 is inserted into outer bottle) and is removable from the large volume container portion wherein a removal of the bottom of the large volume container provides an opening for the large volume storage region to the outside of the container (removing filter 3 from inner bottle 2 via screw [0093]) to provide an opening for the large volume container portion to an outside of the container (opening to inner bottle 2 when filter 3 is removed), wherein the removable cap is removable to provide an opening for the fluid storage container portion without providing access to the large volume container portion (removing lid 14 and opening straw 18 provides access to fluid storage region above 34 (i.e. air may access the area) and flipping container inner/outer bottle 1/2 upside down so that opening faces a surface would make the large volume container inaccessible) and wherein the outlet is removable with the removable cap (18 is removable with lid 14)
Claim 30 is commensurate in scope and taught in the citations above in claim 21. Moreover, Gellibolian teaches a bottle in figure 1.
Regarding claim 31 Gellibolian et al. teach wherein a set of one way valves separating the first fluid storage region from the second fluid storage region, wherein the set of one way valves are configured to only allow fluid to flow from the second fluid storage region to the first fluid storage region and wherein the first storage region has a direct fluid connection to the mouthpiece (see discussion in claim 27 above).
Regarding claim 32, Gellibolian et al. teach wherein a bottom of the container is a bottom of the second fluid storage region and is removable from the second fluid storage region to provide an opening for the second fluid storage region to an outside of the container, wherein the removable cap is removable to provide an opening for the first fluid storage region without providing access to the second fluid storage region, and wherein the outlet is removable with the removable cap (see discussion in claim 28 above).
Regarding claim 34, Gellibolian et al. teach wherein the container can be squeezed to force fluid to flow from the second container portion to the first fluid container portion ([0044] note squeezed in combination with the one-way valve discussed above in claim 27).
Regarding claim 36, Gellibolian et al. in view of Liao teaches wherein the second set of UV light sources are controlled by a second controller mounted to the cover (Liao controller 1460 see abstract).
Claim 38 is commensurate in scope with claims 21, 30 and claim 27 and is taught in the citations discussed above.
Regarding claim 39, Gellibolian et al. teaches wherein a bottom of the container is the bottom of the second container portion and is removable from the second fluid container portion (see discussion in claim 28 above) to provide an opening for the second container portion to an outside of the container (see discussion in claim 28 above) wherein the bottom includes at least one UV light source configured to emit UV radiation directed into an interior volume of the second fluid storage region (Gellibolian et al., [0041] UV module at base orifice of inner container. Figure 12 shows UV lines towards the interior volume of outer bottle 1) wherein the removable cap is removable to provide is removable to provide an opening for the first fluid storage region without providing access to the second fluid storage region, wherein the outlet is removable with the removable cap (see claim 28 above), wherein an interior surface of the first fluid storage region is non-transparent (reflective as evident from UV rays reflecting off on inner surface of container 2 as seen in figure 12).
Regarding claim 40, Gellibolian et al. in view of Liao teaches a second set of UV light sources (Liao, 1500) mounted to the cover (Liao, as seen in figure 13), wherein the second set of UV light sources is configured to emit UV radiation onto at least an outer surface of the outlet when the cover is secured to the at least one of the removable cap or the container (Liao, as seen in figure 13).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gellibolian et al. (US pgPub 2013/0319915)2 in view of Li and in view of Maiden in view of :
a) Liao et al. (US pgPub 2017/0280737) or alternatively in view of
b) Cong (WO2017/185217) or alternatively in view of
c) Olmedo et al. (US pgPub 2014/0263377) in view of Liao et al. or Cong
and
further in view of Hsu (US pgPub 20180194645) and further in view of Hull et al. (US pgPub 2011/0278206).
Regarding claims 22, Gellibolian et al. differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing at least one sensor located on at least one of: the removable cap or the container, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to provide data to the control unit indicating a status corresponding to whether the mouthpiece is covered by the mouthpiece cover.
However, Hsu et al. teach at least one sensor (130) located on at least one of: the removable cap (120 is a cover to a water bottle see [0025], see paragraph [0026] for sensor mounted to 120), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to provide data to the control unit indicating a status corresponding to whether the mouthpiece is covered by the mouthpiece cover ([0026]).
Hsu et al. modifies Gellibolian et al. by suggesting a sensor in the mouthpiece cover so as to determine whether or not the cover is on the container.
Since both inventions are directed towards liquid sterilization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to install a sensor in the top cover because it would avoid UV generation by the UV source when the bottle is not covered so as to avoid UV light exposure to a human body ([0026]).
Gellibolian further teaches fig. 2 shows a lid hinge dowel pin 10 that slides through a hinge of the lid 12 ([0067]). However, the combined device fails to disclose a strap that couples the cover to a remainder of the container.
However, Hull teaches a strap to retain a cap assembly on the bottle of the container ([0005]).
Hull modifies the combined device by suggesting a strap instead of a hinge to attach the cover to the body.
Since both inventions are directed towards attaching a cover to a water bottle it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a strap instead of a hinge because the strap acts as a dual function of retaining the cover and creating a finger hold or belt loop for carrying the container, therefore reducing the burden of carrying the water bottle.
Claims 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gellibolian et al. in view of Liao et al., Cong et al., or Olmedo in view of Hsu in view of Palmer et al. (USPN 6,004,460)
Regarding claims 29 and 33, Gellibolian teaches wherein a material that separates the first storage region from the large volume storage region is non-transparent (Paragraph [0068] teaches many non-transparent materials of the lid base 15. The lid base also separates the large volume storage region (i.e. inside bottle 2) from the storage region above the check valves. In other words, the fluid may only pass through the check valves when the lid is in place, therefore the lid base is a material that separates the volume of the bottle from the volume above the check valves. That is, the lid prevents liquid from the bottle from entering through the top of the mouthpiece into the area above the check valve. The claim does not associate the material with any particular structure, therefore the material of the base of the lid encloses the liquid in the bottle and separates the bottle volume from that of the volume above the check valves.).
The combined device fails to disclose wherein each one way valve comprises a filter to filter particles from the fluid in the first fluid storage region before entering the second fluid storage region.
However, Palmer et al. teaches wherein the one way valve comprises a filter to filter particles from the fluid in the first fluid storage region before entering the second fluid storage region (col. 4, lines 19-27).
Palmer modifies the combined device by suggesting the placement of a filter in the check valve.
Since both inventions are directed towards a check valve in a water bottle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a filter in each check valve of Gellibolian as done in Palmer because it would prevent foreign materials in the water held in the interior the bottle from entering the check valve (col. 4, lines 19-27). This in particular would be advantageous when the filter of Gellibolian filters significantly less than 100% of the contaminants as discussed in paragraph [0098], thus preventing ingestion of contaminant from the person drinking the water and preventing the check valve from being contaminated therefrom.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881
1 Note the independent claims could alternatively be rejected as being obvious over Liao or Cong as discussed in the Final rejection and modified by Gellibolian.
2 Note the independent claims could alternatively be rejected as being obvious over Liao or Cong as discussed in the Final rejection and modified by Gellibolian.