DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 6, 15 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach a fastpath alternative routing mechanism to a routing table (Amendment, pages 5, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, and 15- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakaniemi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163908) in view of May et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0036434); and further in view of Hu (US PAP 2019/0166042).
Concerning independent claims 1 and 15, Lakaniemi et al. discloses a method and coding algorithm for synchronizing codec modes for adaptive multi-rate (AMR) codecs in a communication session (Abstract), comprising:
"receiving, on a receiving network interface, a message during establishment of a flow given an Active Codec Set (ACS) and a codec type" - a method communicates indicia associated with an active codec-mode set pursuant to which codecs of the communications stations are operable (T[00001]); proposed codec mode standards in a third-generation GERAN (GSM/EDGE radio access network) provide for AMR (adaptive multi-rate) functionality (T[00004]); modes in active use at a particular time form a set of modes ("a codec type"), referenced to as an active codec-mode set (ACS) ("given an Active Codec Set (ACS)"); an AMR (adaptive multi-rate) full rate channel and an AMR half rate channel are defined; when a channel type is a half rate type, an active codec set can contain only modes which exhibit rates beneath 8 bits/s (11[0005]); indicia associated with an active codec-mode are communicated pursuant to which codecs of communication stations are operable; RTP (real-time protocol) messages are utilized to inform a receiving station of an active codec-mode set (ACS) ("receiving a message") pursuant to which the codec of another sending station is operable; an extension to an existing real-time control protocol is used to provide an RTP message containing indicia associated with the active codec-mode set (1|[0014] - 1|[0015]); a codec-mode message generator is coupled in a codec-mode detector to receive indications of the codec mode detected SGSN (Serving GPRS Service Node) 22 and BSS/GERAN (Base Station System and GSM/EDGE Radio Access Network) 18 are interfaced by an lu interface to provide a communication path between mobile station 12 and correspondent node 14 ("receiving, on a receiving network interface") (11[0026] - ||0028]: Figure 1);
"extracting an FT value from a received packet in a received Adaptive Multi-Rate (AMR) header" - a special, or new, frame type (FT) field value ("an FT value") is defined in a header portion of an RTP message; a value contained in the frame type portion of the RTP header is of a value indicating that the frame includes indicia associated with the active codec-mode set; a separate RTP packet ("a received packet") is sent to provide the active codec-mode set information (11[0016]); a codec-mode message generator is coupled in a codec-mode detector to receive indications of the codec mode detected RTP/UDP/IP headers 72 are followed by a voice frame 74, and are removed at a radio access network portion (П[0040]: Figure 2); an adaptive multi-rate packet format includes a header portion of a codec mode request (CMR) field 84, a frame (RF) field 86, a frame type (FT) indicator field 88, and a payload quality (Q) bit field indicator 92; a frame type field value is inserted in field 88 in an RTP header portion to indicate that the particular frame contains information about the permitted codec modes; a specific value, e.g., thirteen, is inserted into the frame type field 88 that indicates that the payload portion 94 of the packet contains information about the permitted codec modes (T[0046] - |||[0047]: Figure 4); a frame type indicia value ("an FT value"), then, is received and removed ("extracted") from a header portion of an RTP packet ("a received packet") to determine an active codec-mode set in AMR;
"[once the AMR payload length is known,] processing a packet for transmission on the receiving network interface using the AMR payload length" - communicating indicia associated with an active codec-mode set facilitates communications between
communication stations pursuant to a communication session (T[00001]); standards relating to AMR support eight speech coding modes in which the modes exhibit bit rates between 4.75 and 12.2 bps (11[0005]); specifications pertaining to another multi-mode codec are set forth that includes nine speech coding modes operable upon 16 kHz sampled signals (T[00007]); a manner is required by which to communicate the codec codes of the active codec-mode set so that the codecs of a sending and a receiving station pair can be operable to code and decode data during a communication session (11[0011]); radio access network 18 portion generates headers for the packets generated at the mobile station and sent in the uplink direction to the correspondent node ("processing a packet for transmission on the receiving network interface") (1|[0039]); a voice frame 74 originating at the mobile station, is routed from the radio link to the radio access network portion; once the voice frame is received at the radio access network portion, the RTP/UDP/IP header information is added to the voice frame to permit routing through the network to the corresponding node ("processing a packet for transmission on the receiving network interface") (П[0041]: Figure 4); alternatively, "processing a packet for transmission on the receiving network interface" can be broadly construed as decoding speech samples at a receiving station according to a speech coding mode after the coded speech samples and indicia of the coding mode are received and a codec mode is established for the session.
Concerning independent claims 1 and 15, Lakaniemi et al. does not expressly disclose the limitations of "preparing a map where each bit of the map indicates a Frame Type (FT) during establishment of the flow", "using the extracted FT value, checking if a rate corresponding to the extracted FT is supported
and if supported, obtaining an AMR payload length for that rate from a table", and processing "once the AMR payload length is known". Still, it appears implicit that there is pre-existing "map" that indicates a Frame Type as illustrated in Figure 4 of Lakaniemi et al. That is, Lakaniemi et al. discloses, at ||[0046] - ||[0047]: Figure 4, that there is frame type (FT) indicator field 88 of bits 5 to 8 of a packet format. Here, a "map" may refer to some specific value of bits 5 to 8 that corresponds to a set of permitted codec modes, e.g., a value of 13 in bits 5 to 8 is 'mapped' to a set of codec modes in an active codec-mode set (ACS). This pre-defined map, then, is at least provided "during establishment of a flow". Moreover, Lakaniemi et al., at |||[0046] - ||[0047]: Figure 4, discloses that a packet format includes a payload portion 94 of 148 bits and padding bits 96. This payload portion of 148 bits is "a payload length". Implicitly, stations and terminals can have different capabilities, so that a codec mode might be or might not be supported, and this is determined during establishment of a session to ensure that the two stations or terminals are synchronized with the same coding/decoding mode.
Concerning independent claims 1 and 15, May et al. teaches the limitations of "preparing a map where each bit of the map indicates a Frame Type (FT) of the flow during establishment of the flow", "using the extracted FT value, checking if the rate is supported and, obtaining a payload length for that rate from another table", and processing "once the AMR payload length is known". Generally, May et al. teaches communication systems for decoding variable bit rate signals which are transmitted using one of a plurality of different coding rates. (T[00001]) Frame type indicators reflect a transmitter's currently employed speech coding, and a frame type indicator may be transmitted to the receiver e.g., a base or mobile station's receiver, so that it can employ
the appropriate speech decoding techniques. Typically, a frame type indicator may include just a few bits which are conveyed along with the data fields. (T[0011]) A frame type indicator is associated with at least two different coding rates, and the frame type indicator is selected from at least two frame type indicators depending upon the selected one of the at least two different coding rates, wherein the at least two frame type indicators have a different bit length. (П[0015]) Specifically, Figure 3 illustrates a relationship between payload data Nr, supplementary data Dr, and unused bits Ur, which provide for a fixed frame size of 320 bits. The coding rates r specified therein are relative to a maximum output bit rate. These bits are mapped into each frame in any desired manner for each coding rate as illustrated in Figure 4. A frame type indicator can be transmitted in each frame to inform the receiver's decoder to switch to an appropriate mode to properly decode each frame. A different frame type pattern is inserted into each frame for ½, ¼, and 1/8 frame rates, and a receiver can perform a pattern matching process to determine the rate of a received frame. (1|[0033] - ||[0037]: Figure 3) Here, Figure 3 illustrates a "map" and "a table" that associates a codec mode derived from a frame type indicator and Nr which is a "payload length". That is, a frame type pattern "maps" to a codec rate, e.g., full rate f or half-rate f/2, and "a payload length" of 278 bits is determined for full rate f or "a payload length" of 136 bits is determined for a half-rate f/2 from a "table" of Figure 3. An objective is to provide a frame format for decoding variable rate signals that are encoded using one of a plurality of coding rates. (Abstract; ||[0001]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a map between a frame type and a codec mode and to obtain a payload length from a table as taught by May et al. to synchronize operation of adaptive
multi-rate codec modes in Lakaniemi et al. for a purpose of determining a frame format for decoding variable rate signals.
However, Lakaniemi et al. in view of May et al. do not specifically teach a fastpath alternative routing mechanism to a routing table.
Hu discloses that the fast transmission path may be established between the local communication apparatus and the peer communication apparatus based on the centralized routing table. It should be noted that if the local communication apparatus and the peer communication apparatus are not located in the same domain, during establishment of the fast transmission path, the fast transmission path is established based on two centralized routing tables of two centralized controller in the domains where the local communication apparatus and the peer communication apparatus are located; and if the local communication apparatus and the peer communication apparatus are located in the same domain, the fast transmission path is directly established based on a routing table of a centralized controller in the domain (paragraph 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use fastpath alternative routing mechanism as taught by Hu in Lakaniemi et al. in view of May et al., because that would help improve the speed at which the forwarding plane device forwards the data packet, and enhance the transmission capability of the network (paragraph 44).
Concerning claims 2 and 16, Lakaniemi et al. discloses an AMR (adaptive multi- rate) full rate channel and an AMR half rate channel are defined; when a channel type is a half rate type, an active codec set can contain only modes which exhibit rates beneath 8 bits/s (T[0005]); a change in channel-type between a half-rate to a full-rate channel, and vice versa, might necessitate a change of the active codec-mode set (T[0009]). Similarly, May et al. teaches that a different frame type pattern is inserted into each frame for ½, ¼, and 1/8 frame rates, and a receiver can perform a pattern matching process to determine the rate of a received frame. (11[0033] - ||[0037]: Figure 3).
Concerning claims 3 and 17, Lakaniemi et al. discloses that a special, or new, frame type (FT) field value is defined in a header portion of an RTP message; a value contained in the frame type portion of the RTP header is of a value indicating that the frame includes indicia associated with the active codec-mode set; a separate RTP packet is sent to provide the active codec-mode set information (11[0016]); a frame type field value is inserted in field 88 in an RTP header portion to indicate that the particular frame contains information about the permitted codec modes; a specific value, e.g., thirteen, is inserted into the frame type field that indicates that the payload portion 94 of the packet contains information about the permitted codec modes (11[0046] - ||[0047]: Figure 4). Here, a frame type field value is associated with an active codec-mode set of coding rates that "maps" a frame type field value to a set of coding rates ("wherein preparing the map comprises preparing a rate to frametype map"). Similarly, May et al.
teaches that a different frame type pattern is inserted into each frame for rates ½, ¼, and 1/8 frame rates, and a receiver can perform a pattern matching process to determine the rate of a received frame. (11[0033] - ||[0037]: Figure 3) Specifically, Figures 5 and 6 illustrate strategies for mapping a frame type indicator to a coding rate ("wherein preparing the map comprises preparing a rate to frametype map"). Figure 5 provides a fixed number of bits of a frame type indicator that 'maps' to coding rates of r=1 (full rate), r=1/2 (half rate), r=1/4, and r=1/8, and Figure 6 provides a different frame type pattern including unused bits Ur that 'maps' to coding rates of r=1 (full rate), r=1/2 (half rate), r=1/4, and r=1/8.
Concerning claims 4, 5 18, and 19, May et al. teaches "obtaining the AMR payload length for that rate from the table comprises obtaining the AMR payload length for that rate from a rate to frame type payload length table" as illustrated in Figure 3, where "a payload length" of 278 bits is determined for full rate f or "a payload length" of 136 bits is determined for a half-rate f/2 from a "table", which is "a static table". That is, a frame type "maps" to a rate, and a rate determines a payload length in Figure 3. (11[0033] - ||[0037]: Figure 3) Here, May et al. teaches "different payload lengths for at least two different rates" because a payload length is 278 bits for a full rate and 136 bits for a half-rate. (П[0035]: Figure 3)
As per claims 6, 20, Lakaniemi et al. in view of May et al. and further in view of Hu further disclose processing the packet for transmission using the faspath alternative routing mechanism to the routing table to avoid a routing table lookup (May et al. paragraph 0033]: Figure 3; Hu, paragraph 42).
Conclusion
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658