DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 and species group 1, chitosan (claims 2, 4, 5, 12-13), in the reply filed on February 9 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 6-9 and 15-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Further, Applicant elects species Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 9, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-14 are pending and will be examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 13, 2022 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11174478 (‘478 Patent herein). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims when considered together encompass nearly the same subject matter. The instant claims are a bit more broadly recited than the claims of the ‘478 because the claims of the instant application are focused specifically on the steps of lysis of cells and capturing released nucleic acids onto the microparticles. The claims of the ‘478 patent include a step of amplification directly on the captured nucleic acids and where the amplification occurs in the same buffer as the capture step. However, while the scope of the claims differ, claim 8 of the pending claims includes the additional step of amplification and wherein the purification and amplification occur in the same buffer.
Further, when the dependent claims are compared between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘478 patent, very similar subject matter is further encompassed by both sets of claims. Compare instant claim 4 to claim 7 of the ‘478 patent, where the fabrication of chitosan droplets, as claimed, is described. Compare instant claim 14 to claim 6 of the ‘478 patent, where the nucleic acids are acquired from the same kinds of samples including plasmids, bacterial and human genomic DNA.
Therefore, while the claims are not identical, the instant claims and the claims of the ‘478 patent encompass entirely overlapping scope of invention and therefore the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petzel et al. (US Patent 8,816,063; August 2014).
With regard to claim 1, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising one or more cells, the method comprising the steps of:
adding microparticles to the biological sample having a PCR amplification compatible pH (col. 11, lines 3-40, where the pH of the binding buffer can be the same for elution of the nucleic acids);
lysing the one or more cells in the biological sample by mechanically agitating the biological sample (col. 11, lines 22-40, where the cell material can be disrupted in a variety of ways including physical disruption);
and capturing released nucleic acids on the microparticles (col 11, where cells are lysed, nucleic acids are released and they are bound).
With regard to claim 2, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the microparicles are fabricated from chitosan (col. 9, lines 37-52, where the microparticles are made of chitosan).
With regard to claim 10, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the step of lysing the one or more cells in the biological sample includes heating the biological sample and vortexing the biological sample (col. 11, lines 22-40, where the cell material can be disrupted in a variety of ways including physical disruption).
With regard to claim 11, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising separating and washing microparticles with captured nucleic acids (col 11, where cells are lysed, nucleic acids are released and they are bound; col. 2, lines 6-19, col. 11, lines 28-40, where the eluted nucleic acid can be amplified by PCR).
With regard to claim 12, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 2, wherein the chitosan microparticles provide for cell lysis and simultaneous DNA capture, and then serve as a solid support for a DNA template during a PCR amplification reaction (col 11, where cells are lysed, nucleic acids are released and they are bound; col. 2, lines 6-19, col. 11, lines 28-40, where the eluted nucleic acid can be amplified by PCR).
With regard to claim 13, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 2, wherein interior of the chitosan microparticle, beneath a charge-switchable shell, remains positively charged at high pH (col. 11, lines 3-40, where the pH of the binding buffer can be the same for elution of the nucleic acids; col 2, lines 6-24, where the charge switchable shell and technology in general is described).
With regard to claim 14, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 1, wherein nucleic acids are selected from the group consisting of: plasmids, bacterial DNA, and human genomic DNA (col. 11, lines 10-27, where nucleic acids can be purified from human DNA, bacterial cells and plant cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petzel et al. (US Patent 8,816,063; August 2014) as applied over claims 1-2 and 10-14 above and further in view of Tallury et al. (Chem Commun, 2009, 2347-2349).
With regard to claim 4, Tallury teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 2, wherein the chitosan microparticles are fabricated by creating chitosan droplets in oil and then crosslinking the droplets into microparticles (Abstract , p. 2347, col. 2).
With regard to claim 5, Petzel teaches a method of purifying nucleic acids from a biological sample comprising the method of claim 4, wherein crosslinking the droplets into microparticles goes into a core of microparticles over time (Abstract , p. 2347, col. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Petzel to include the format of chitosan bead formation as taught by Tallury to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Tallury teaches “Ultra-small size NPs have several advantages: (i) due to large surface to volume ratio, it is possible to co-attach targeting molecules, image contrast agents and/or therapeutic drugs to the NP surface, (ii) these NPs would be capable of evading the macrophage capture of the immune system 15,16 and could remain in the circulation for a longer time for effective therapy, (iii) intra-cellular delivery of these NPs would be facilitated and (iv) these NPs could easily travel through the smallest blood capillary (5–6 microns in diameter) allowing uniform distribution in the circulation (p. 2347). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Petzel to include the format of chitosan bead formation as taught by Tallury to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. All claims stand rejected.
/STEPHANIE K MUMMERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681