Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 20th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla et al. (United States Patent No. 9261362 B2), hereinafter Gogolla, in view of Holmgren et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20050002104 A1), hereinafter Holmgren, further in view of Haruguchi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190041515 A1), Haruguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Gogolla teaches a laser transceiving module ([Col.6: line.37] a laser distance measuring system 1), comprising:
a housing ([Col.6: lines 38-39] The laser distance measuring system 1 comprises a housing 2);
an emitting module configured to emit emergent laser signals ([Col.6: lines 53] The measuring device 3 emits a laser beam 13);
a laser splitting module, the emergent laser signals emitting, through the laser splitting module, outwards and being reflected by a target object in a detection region to return reflected laser signals, the laser splitting module being configured to deflect the reflected laser signals ([Col.7: lines 58-60] With the aid of the beam splitting optics 28, the laser beam 13 coming from the beam source 25 is separated spatially from the reflected and/or scattered reception beam 14.);
a receiving module configured to receive the deflected reflected laser signals; ([Col.7: lines 65 – Col.8: line 1] The beam splitting optics 28 ensures that the optical axis 31 of the emitted laser beam 13 and the optical axis 32 of the reception beam 14 striking the detector 26 are different from one another), and
wherein the emitting module, the laser splitting module, and the receiving module are fixed at the housing ([Fig. 1-2]),
wherein an extinction structure is arranged between the emitting module and the laser splitting module and is configured to prevent the emergent laser signals that are reflected by the laser splitting module from emitting to the receiving module ([Fig. 2]; [Col.8: lines 50-51] A light trap 42 is arranged between the beam source 25 and the aperture 41), and
Gogolla fails to teach the module wherein the extinction structure comprises a first reflecting surface and a second reflecting surface that forms an angle with the first reflecting surface, and the angle formed by the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface is an obtuse angle.
However, Holmgren teaches the module wherein the extinction structure comprises a first reflecting surface and a second reflecting surface that forms an angle with the first reflecting surface, and the angle formed by the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface is an obtuse angle ([Fig. 2]; [0014] FIG. 2 shows the construction of an embodiment with reflective surfaces 13', 14'...The unit 20 comprises four outer surfaces that constitute mirror surfaces, 14'...The pyramid does not need to be limited to having four sides. Alternatively, the pyramid can be replaced by some other shape or by a cone...In the figure, the incoming beam is at an angle .gamma. and the outgoing beam is at an angle .delta. to the longitudinal axis 17. The two angles are different and can be varied in the arrangement; [0015] It is also recognized that the surface arrangement in question can be arranged in such a way that a practically total local elimination of the stray light or the incoming beam 11, 18 is achieved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the extinction structure with reflective surfaces at an obtuse angle similar to Holmgren, and further to change the angle between adjoining light absorbing walls to match the configuration described in the immediate application, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of trapping residual incidental light in a way so as to not interfere with the light detection of the measuring scan in a structural configuration best suited for the disclosed embodiment.
The modification of Gogolla and Holmgren fails to teach a mirror module between the laser splitting module and the receiving module, wherein an optical axis of the reflected laser signals passing through the mirror module is parallel to an optical axis of the emergent laser signals,
However, Haruguchi teaches a mirror module between the laser splitting module and the receiving module, wherein an optical axis of the reflected laser signals passing through the mirror module is parallel to an optical axis of the emergent laser signals ([Fig. 3];[0086] As shown in FIG. 3, distance measurement device 1 includes, as components of the optical system, laser light source 31, relay lens 32, beam splitter 33, rotating mirror 34, imaging lens 35, mirror 36 b, filter 37, and photodetector 38; [0087] An emission optical axis of laser light source 31 is parallel to the Z axis; [0094] Returning to FIG. 3, reflected light reflected by beam splitter 33 is reflected by mirror 36 b in the negative direction of the Z axis.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla, and as modified by Holmgren, to comprise the mirror module arrangement to produce parallel emission and receiving optical axes, similar to Haruguchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of rearranging the same overall design of Gogolla in a parallel rearrangement such that the emitter and receiver can be located on the same end of the device, and optimize the design to be further more in line with the design of Holmgren. The modification is conventional in the art for such a design as that suggested by the immediate application.
Regarding claim 2, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 1, wherein the extinction structure is arranged at the housing ([Fig. 2]; [Col.5: lines 14-15] The light trap serves to absorb any light of the beam source striking it and also prevents unwanted reflection),
wherein the extinction structure is arranged at the housing and comprises a first reflecting surface and a second reflecting surface that forms an angle with the first reflecting surface ([Fig. 2]; light trap 42),
wherein one end of the second reflecting surface is connected with the first reflecting surface, and another end of the second reflecting surface is close to the laser splitting module ([Fig. 2] light trap 42).
Regarding claim 3, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches The laser transceiving module according to claim 2, wherein each of the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface includes a plane, ([Fig. 2] light trap 42).
Regarding claim 4, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 2, wherein the second reflecting surface is approximately perpendicular to the laser splitting module ([Fig. 2] light trap 42).
Regarding claim 5, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 2, wherein a light-absorbing layer is formed on at least one of the first reflecting surface or the second reflecting surface ([Fig. 2]; [Col.5: lines 14-15] The light trap serves to absorb any light of the beam source striking it and also prevents unwanted reflection.).
Regarding claim 13, Gogolla teaches a LiDAR, comprising at least one laser transceiving module ([Col.6: line 37] a laser distance measuring system 1), wherein the at least one laser transceiving module comprises:
a housing ([Col.6: lines 38-39] The laser distance measuring system 1 comprises a housing 2);
an emitting module configured to emit emergent laser signals ([Col.6: line 53] The measuring device 3 emits a laser beam 13);
a laser splitting module, the emergent laser signals emitting, through the laser splitting module, outwards and being reflected by a target object in a detection region to return reflected laser signals, the laser splitting module being configured to deflect the reflected laser signals ([Col.7: lines 58-60] With the aid of the beam splitting optics 28, the laser beam 13 coming from the beam source 25 is separated spatially from the reflected and/or scattered reception beam 14);
a receiving module configured to receive the deflected reflected laser signals ([Col.7: line 65 – Col.8: line 1] The beam splitting optics 28 ensures that the optical axis 31 of the emitted laser beam 13 and the optical axis 32 of the reception beam 14 striking the detector 26 are different from one another); and
wherein the emitting module, the laser splitting module, and the receiving module are fixed at the housing ([Fig. 1-2])
wherein an extinction structure is arranged between the emitting module and the laser splitting module and is configured to prevent the emergent laser signals that are reflected by the laser splitting module from emitting to the receiving module ([Fig. 2]; [Col.8: lines 50-51] A light trap 42 is arranged between the beam source 25 and the aperture 41), and
Gogolla fails to teach the module wherein the extinction structure comprises a first reflecting surface and a second reflecting surface that forms an angle with the first reflecting surface, and the angle formed by the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface is an obtuse angle.
However, Holmgren teaches the module wherein the extinction structure comprises a first reflecting surface and a second reflecting surface that forms an angle with the first reflecting surface, and the angle formed by the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface is an obtuse angle ([Fig. 2]; [0014] FIG. 2 shows the construction of an embodiment with reflective surfaces 13', 14'...The unit 20 comprises four outer surfaces that constitute mirror surfaces, 14'...The pyramid does not need to be limited to having four sides. Alternatively, the pyramid can be replaced by some other shape or by a cone...In the figure, the incoming beam is at an angle .gamma. and the outgoing beam is at an angle .delta. to the longitudinal axis 17. The two angles are different and can be varied in the arrangement; [0015] It is also recognized that the surface arrangement in question can be arranged in such a way that a practically total local elimination of the stray light or the incoming beam 11, 18 is achieved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the extinction structure with reflective surfaces at an obtuse angle similar to Holmgren, and further to change the angle between adjoining light absorbing walls to match the configuration described in the immediate application, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of trapping residual incidental light in a way so as to not interfere with the light detection of the measuring scan in a structural configuration best suited for the disclosed embodiment.
The modification of Gogolla and Holmgren fails to teach a mirror module between the laser splitting module and the receiving module, wherein an optical axis of the reflected laser signals passing through the mirror module is parallel to an optical axis of the emergent laser signals,
However, Haruguchi teaches a mirror module between the laser splitting module and the receiving module, wherein an optical axis of the reflected laser signals passing through the mirror module is parallel to an optical axis of the emergent laser signals ([Fig. 3];[0086] As shown in FIG. 3, distance measurement device 1 includes, as components of the optical system, laser light source 31, relay lens 32, beam splitter 33, rotating mirror 34, imaging lens 35, mirror 36 b, filter 37, and photodetector 38; [0087] An emission optical axis of laser light source 31 is parallel to the Z axis; [0094] Returning to FIG. 3, reflected light reflected by beam splitter 33 is reflected by mirror 36 b in the negative direction of the Z axis.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla, and as modified by Holmgren, to comprise the mirror module arrangement to produce parallel emission and receiving optical axes, similar to Haruguchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of rearranging the same overall design of Gogolla in a parallel rearrangement such that the emitter and receiver can be located on the same end of the device, and optimize the design to be further more in line with the design of Holmgren. The modification is conventional in the art for such a design as that suggested by the immediate application.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla, in view of Holmgren, Haruguchi, and further in view of Miyasaka et. al. (United States Patent No. 5867622 A), hereinafter Miyasaka.
Regarding claim 6, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 1,
wherein the emitting module comprises a laser device and a collimating module, the laser device is configured to generate the emergent laser signals, and the collimating module is configured to collimate the emergent laser signals ([Fig. 2]; [Col.7: line 43] a beam forming optics 27), and
Gogolla fails to teach the laser transceiving module wherein the collimating module comprises a fast-axis collimating lens group and a slow-axis collimating lens group, a first emitting diaphragm is arranged at a front side of an emergent end of the collimating module, and a second emitting diaphragm is arranged between the fast-axis collimating lens group and the slow-axis collimating lens group.
However, Miyasaka teaches the laser transceiving module wherein the collimating module comprises a fast-axis collimating lens group and a slow-axis collimating lens group, a first emitting diaphragm is arranged at a front side of an emergent end of the collimating module, and a second emitting diaphragm is arranged between the fast-axis collimating lens group and the slow-axis collimating lens group ([Fig. 7A]; [Col.8: lines 26-32] a lens support member 113 with collimate lens 113a being retained, a body 116 with an optical parts 114 as that of the aforementioned example being provided in the interior thereof, a lens support member 117 with the collimate lens 117a being retained, and a ferrule support member 118 spliced with the light guiding-out means 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the arrangement of collimating lenses and diaphragms similar to Miyasaka, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing and steering the emitted light in a way that reduces stray scattered light.
Regarding claim 7, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 6,
Gogolla fails to teach the transceiving module wherein the first emitting diaphragm includes a circular first light-passing hole.
However, Miyasaka teaches the transceiving module wherein the first emitting diaphragm includes a circular first light-passing hole ([Fig. 7A]; [Col.9: line64- Col.10: line 2] in an optical communicating module where an optical parts is provided within the body, a light guiding-in means and a light guiding-out means are arranged in both the ends thereof, the positional alignment is adapted to be conducted between the light guiding-in .cndot. guiding-out members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the diaphragms to include a pinhole structure similar to Miyasaka, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the emitted beam and reducing stray light.
Regarding claim 8, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 6,
Gogolla fails to teach the transceiving module wherein the second emitting diaphragm comprises at least one second emitting sub-diaphragm, and each of the at least one second emitting sub-diaphragm comprises a plurality of light blocking blocks arranged up and down correspondingly.
However, Miyasaka teaches teach the transceiving module wherein the second emitting diaphragm comprises at least one second emitting sub-diaphragm, and each of the at least one second emitting sub-diaphragm comprises a plurality of light blocking blocks arranged up and down correspondingly ([8:64-65] FIG. 7, a plurality of optical parts can be provided within the bodies 106 and 116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the sub-diaphragms similar to Miyasaka, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the emitted beam and reducing unwanted stray emitted light.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla in view of Holmgren, Haruguchi, and further in view of Kiselev (United States Patent Application Publication 20190033191), hereinafter Kiselev.
Regarding claim 9, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 1,
Gogolla fails to teach the transceiving module wherein the receiving module comprises a focusing module and a detector, the focusing module is configured to converge the reflected laser signals, and the detector is configured to receive the converged reflected laser signals, and wherein the focusing module comprises a receiving converging lens group and a receiving correcting lens group, a first receiving diaphragm is arranged between the receiving converging lens group and the receiving correcting lens group, and a second receiving diaphragm is arranged at a front side of an emergent end of the focusing module.
However, Kiselev teaches the transceiving module wherein the receiving module comprises a focusing module and a detector, the focusing module is configured to converge the reflected laser signals, and the detector is configured to receive the converged reflected laser signals ([0049] In embodiments, and with reference to the figures, the lens set 3 for example comprises a piano-convex cylindrical optical lens 30,), and
wherein the focusing module comprises a receiving converging lens group and a receiving correcting lens group, a first receiving diaphragm is arranged between the receiving converging lens group and the receiving correcting lens group, and a second receiving diaphragm is arranged at a front side of an emergent end of the focusing module ([Fig. 2A]; The lens set 3 further comprises for example a piano-convex spherical optical lens 31 positioned between the measurement volume and the piano-convex cylindrical optical lens 30 for aligning the rays of the collected scattered light 23; [0052] Optionally, the lens set 3 further comprises a diaphragm, or pinhole, 33 for shaping the image formed by the lens set 3; [0054] Optionally, the device of the invention further comprises a second diaphragm 40 between the lens set 3 and the photodetector 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the arrangement of lenses and diaphragms similar to Kiselev, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of focusing the returned light and arranging it for proper detection, while also reducing incoming unwanted stray light.
Regarding claim 12, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 9,
Gogolla fails to teach the transceiving module wherein the first receiving diaphragm includes a circular second light-passing hole, and the second receiving diaphragm includes a third light-passing hole.
However, Kiselev teaches the transceiving module wherein the first receiving diaphragm includes a circular second light-passing hole, and the second receiving diaphragm includes a third light-passing hole ([0052] Optionally, the lens set 3 further comprises a diaphragm, or pinhole, 33 for shaping the image formed by the lens set 3; [0054] Optionally, the device of the invention further comprises a second diaphragm 40 between the lens set 3 and the photodetector 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the diaphragm with light-passing holes similar to Kiselev, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of focusing the returned light and arranging it for proper detection, while also reducing incoming unwanted stray light.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla in view of Holmgren, Haruguchi, Kiselev, and further in view of Mitani et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190170586), hereinafter Mitani.
Regarding claim 10, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 9,
Gogolla, as modified above, fails to teach the transceiving module wherein the first receiving diaphragm is movable and adjustable along axial and radial directions of an optical axis of the receiving module.
However, Mitani teaches the transceiving module wherein the first receiving diaphragm is movable and adjustable along axial and radial directions of an optical axis of the receiving module ([0047] The lens system block 12 controls the opening degree of the diaphragm on the basis of an instruction from the control section 20, and adjusts the amount of object light.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the diaphragm as a movable module similar to Mitani, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making the module easily removable for exchangeable parts and for calibration of the overall system.
Regarding claim 11, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the laser transceiving module according to claim 10,
Gogolla fails to teach the laser transceiving module wherein a detachable adjusting base is provided at the first receiving diaphragm, the first receiving diaphragm is moved and adjusted by clamping the adjusting base, and after the first receiving diaphragm is adjusted and fixed, the adjusting base is removed.
However, Mitani teaches the laser transceiving module wherein a detachable adjusting base is provided at the first receiving diaphragm, the first receiving diaphragm is moved and adjusted by clamping the adjusting base, and after the first receiving diaphragm is adjusted and fixed, the adjusting base is removed. ([0047] Additionally, the positions of the focus lens or the zoom lens, and the diaphragm may be mechanically movable by a user operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the diaphragm as a movable module similar to Mitani, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making the module easily removable for exchangeable parts and for calibration of the overall system.
Claims 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla in view of Holmgren, Haruguchi, and further in view of McMichael et al. (United States Patent No. 10295660 B1), hereinafter McMichael.
Regarding claim 14, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 13
Gogolla fails to teach a galvanometer assembly configured to receive the emergent laser signals emitting from the laser transceiving module, emit the emergent laser signals outwards to scan, and receive the reflected laser signals returned coaxially and emit the reflected laser signals to the laser transceiving module; and a housing assembly comprising a base and an upper housing, wherein a window sheet is formed on a side wall of the upper housing, the galvanometer assembly and the at least one laser transceiving module are arranged in the housing assembly, the emergent laser signals emit outwards through the window sheet, and the reflected laser signals emit, through the window sheet, to the housing assembly.
However, McMichael teaches a galvanometer assembly configured to receive the emergent laser signals emitting from the laser transceiving module, emit the emergent laser signals outwards to scan, and receive the reflected laser signals returned coaxially and emit the reflected laser signals to the laser transceiving module ([Fig. 1]; [Col.4: lines 45-46] The LIDAR assembly 100 comprises a housing 102 which may support one or more of the optical components; [Col.4: lines 55-61] In FIG. 1, a sensor compartment 110 is shown on one side of the housing 102 whereas an emitter compartment 112 is shown on the other side of the housing 102. The sensor compartment 110 houses the light sensor(s) 106 and the emitter compartment houses the laser light source(s) 104 while the partition 108 may be opaque to prevent light leakage there between.); and
a housing assembly comprising a base and an upper housing, wherein a window sheet is formed on a side wall of the upper housing, the galvanometer assembly and the at least one laser transceiving module are arranged in the housing assembly, the emergent laser signals emit outwards through the window sheet, and the reflected laser signals emit, through the window sheet, to the housing assembly ([Fig. 1]; [Col.4: line 67- Col.5: line 3] In some examples, one or more mirrors 120 are positioned within the housing 102 behind the lenses 114 and 116 to redirect emitted and received light between horizontal and vertical directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the galvanometer and external housing similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of providing beam steering that would widen the effective field of view of the lidar device and protect the overall device from the environment.
Regarding claim 16, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 14,
Gogolla fails to teach the LiDAR further comprising a mirror lens assembly, wherein the mirror lens assembly comprises mirror lenses, a number of the mirror lenses corresponds to a number of the at least one laser transceiving module, the emergent laser signals emitting from each of the at least one laser transceiving module are reflected by a corresponding mirror lens and emit to the galvanometer assembly, and the reflected laser signals received by the mirror lens assembly emit to the mirror lens, and emit to the corresponding laser transceiving module after being reflected by the mirror lens.
However, McMichael teaches the LiDAR further comprising a mirror lens assembly, wherein the mirror lens assembly comprises mirror lenses, a number of the mirror lenses corresponds to a number of the at least one laser transceiving module, the emergent laser signals emitting from each of the at least one laser transceiving module are reflected by a corresponding mirror lens and emit to the galvanometer assembly, and the reflected laser signals received by the mirror lens assembly emit to the mirror lens, and emit to the corresponding laser transceiving module after being reflected by the mirror lens ([Col.5: lines 3-8] The laser light source 104 emits pulses of laser light 122 in an upward direction toward a mirror (e.g., the one or more mirrors 120) that redirects the pulses of light 122 along the optical axis of the first lens 114 to cause the one or more pulses of light to propagate toward the object 118...[Col.5: lines 12-14] which pass through the second lens 116 before hitting the one or more mirrors 120 which redirect the reflected pulses of light 124 toward the light sensor(s) 106.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the system of redirecting mirrors similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of providing beam steering that would widen the effective field of view of the lidar device.
Regarding claim 17, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 16.
Gogolla fails to teach a bracket between the laser transceiving module and the mirror lens assembly; and a light-passing port formed at the bracket, the emergent laser signals that emit from the corresponding laser transceiving module passing through the light-passing port, and the reflected laser signals being received, through the light-passing port, by the corresponding laser transceiving module.
However, McMichael teaches a bracket between the laser transceiving module and the mirror lens assembly ([Col.6: lines 52-55] the housing 102 may include a partition 108 (shown as transparent for ease and clarity of installation) that forms a compartment on each of two lateral sides of the housing 102); and
a light-passing port formed at the bracket, the emergent laser signals that emit from the corresponding laser transceiving module passing through the light-passing port, and the reflected laser signals being received, through the light-passing port, by the corresponding laser transceiving module ([Col.6: lines 57-61] The sensor compartment 110 houses the light sensor(s) 106 and the emitter compartment houses the laser light source(s) 104 while the partition 108 may be opaque to prevent light leakage there between.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the light passing port to transmit light to and from the transceiving module similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for segmented and replicable components of the overall LiDAR device while maintaining light coherence.
Regarding claim 18, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 17,
Gogolla fails to teach the LiDAR wherein a light-absorbing layer is formed on at least one of a side of the bracket facing the mirror lens assembly or a side of the bracket facing the laser transceiving module.
However, McMichael teaches the LiDAR wherein a light-absorbing layer is formed on at least one of a side of the bracket facing the mirror lens assembly or a side of the bracket facing the laser transceiving module ([Col.6: lines 60-61] while the partition 108 may be opaque to prevent light leakage there between.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the light passing port with light absorbing layers similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for segmented and replicable components of the overall LiDAR device while maintaining light coherence and reducing unwanted stray light.
Regarding claim 19, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 14,
Gogolla fails to teach the LiDAR wherein one galvanometer diaphragm is arranged at a front side of a working surface of the galvanometer assembly, or a light-absorbing layer is provided at a base on the working surface of the galvanometer assembly.
However, McMichael teaches the LiDAR wherein one galvanometer diaphragm is arranged at a front side of a working surface of the galvanometer assembly, or a light-absorbing layer is provided at a base on the working surface of the galvanometer assembly ([Col.6: lines 60-61] while the partition 108 may be opaque to prevent light leakage there between.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the light passing port with light absorbing layers similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for segmented and replicable components of the overall LiDAR device while maintaining light coherence and reducing unwanted stray light.
Regarding claim 20, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 14,
Gogolla fails to teach the LiDAR wherein a light-absorbing layer is provided at an inner surface of the upper housing below the window.
However, McMichael teaches the LiDAR wherein a light-absorbing layer is provided at an inner surface of the upper housing below the window ([Col.6: lines 60-61] while the partition 108 may be opaque to prevent light leakage there between).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the light passing port with light absorbing layers similar to McMichael, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for segmented and replicable components of the overall LiDAR device while maintaining light coherence and reducing unwanted stray light.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogolla in view of Holmgren, Haruguchi, McMichael, and further in view of Li et al. (United States Patent No. 11470265 B2), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 15, Gogolla, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR according to claim 14,
Gogolla, as modified above, fails to teach the LiDAR wherein the window sheet is arranged obliquely.
However, Li teaches the LiDAR wherein the window sheet is arranged obliquely ([Fig. 11B]; [Col.15: lines 9-14] In this illustrated embodiment, the environment-proof sensor housing assembly 1120 comprises 6 sides with one side being a slanted surface 1170 as depicted in more detail in FIG. 11B. The slanted surface 1170 of the housing serves as a window to the sensor inside of the environment-proof sensor housing assembly 1120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Gogolla to comprise the slanted window sheet similar to Li, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the overall aerodynamics of the LiDAR when implemented on a vehicle such as a car or other cars facing wind resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the prior art of record fails to teach the amended claims, it is noted that as these claim limitations have not been previously presented they could not have been spoken to in the previous office action. As of the current round of search, the claim limitations have been examined and the new round of search, necessitated by the amendments, has resulted in the prior art of Haruguchi, which teaches the mirror system for the compact design outlined by the amendments to more closely align with the main inventive concept, with reasons for obviousness to combine given above. For the reasons given, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. is maintained in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645