DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to amendments filed on 10/06/2025 in which claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are presented for examination; Claims 1,8 and 15 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the receive team formation data including a minimum team size claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes, it’s a machine(system) claim.
Step 2a Prong 1 (judicial exception)
Step 2A (1): “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes , the claim comes under mental processes.
Claim 1 recites:
“A system for health data categorization, the system comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute instructions to: receive, from a plurality of remote devices, a plurality of health data associated with a plurality of individuals, wherein the plurality of health data is in a plurality of data formats, the plurality of data formats including at least one of data from health tracking devices, biometric labs, or physician claims; normalize fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats; generate a plurality of health goals based on the normalized fitness application data , the normalization generation including determining a health goal that is predicted to be achievable for each of the plurality of individuals based on individual baseline metrics and historical performance patterns; receive team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement; automatically form teams based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood , wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals; receive a selection of a health goal, the health goal selected from among the plurality of health goals; receive a plurality of updated health data from the plurality of remote devices, the plurality of updated health data associated with the selected health goal; generate organized health data summaries based on the plurality of updated health data by aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking; determine a count of a plurality of instances of meeting the health goal based on the organized health data summaries , wherein each instance represents a team member achieving their predicted achievable goal within a predetermined time period; update team progress periodically towards the health goal based on an aggression of the determined counts across all team members through periodic data collection at periodic increments; generate a visualization comparing the team progress against other teams having different selected health goals, the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons ; and transmit the visualization of the team progress to at least one of the plurality of remote devices of the plurality of individuals for display on team progress dashboards.”
All the limitations above are abstract idea related to the mental process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)) with the exception of bold and underlined limitations. Claim language pertains to generating health goals based on individual’s need upon receiving the data associated with individual and generating rewards after goals are achieved. The gathered data could be from labs or from doctors analysis. . One can perform such task using pen and paper, for example from keeping track of individual’s exercise goals and rewarding upon when the goal is met. Data can be normalized/organized to bring it in a standard form(e.g. in standard repot forms ) , and the comparison can be carried out between different data formats by organizing data in standard format. A health goal for a person can be predicted by viewing current and historical performance patterns. The goals can be visualized (as for example , setting a desired result to achieve in a specified period of time) and a progress update(in the form of fitness progress report) could be provided to all the individuals following to achieve certain health goal on paper. Any group of people/teams could be formed having different sizes (count of people) having different goal levels to achieve. The goals could be achieved in a time period set by the members of the team and can be tracked in periodic increments as well. In addition to this , each team member having different selected goals to achieve , their achievement status and combined team progress in achieving a milestone could easily be recorded/tracked on paper.
Step 2A(2): Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. NO
The claim does recite additional elements; however they don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
memory (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
processor (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
devices(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive, from a plurality of remote devices(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
automatically form teams(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive a plurality of updated health data from the remote devices(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
user streams(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
synchronized multi-user progress tracking(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
transmit the visualization of the team progress to the remote devices(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
display Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Step 2B: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception? NO
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Regarding claim limitation:
“receive, from a plurality of remote devices the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
“receive a plurality of updated health data from the remote devices”, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
“transmit the visualization of the team progress to the remote devices the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 5-7, further narrow the abstract idea recited above with regard to claim 1; in addition, claims contain additional elements of, “health data is received from the plurality of health sensors”, and “health tracking device”.
Under step 2A, prong two, the above recited “health tracking device” don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The above recited “health data is received from the plurality of health sensors” don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g).
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element of “health tracking device” in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Regarding, “health data is received from the plurality of health sensors”, the courts have recognized receiving or transmitting data over the network as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); (MPE, 2106.05(d)(II))
Claims 8-10, 12-14, 15-17 and 19- 20 are rejected under same rational as claim 1-3 and 5-7. In addition claim 15 further recites additional limitation of “non-transitory machine-readable storage ”, “processor circuitry” and “computer-controlled circuit”.
Under step 2A, prong two, “non-transitory machine-readable storage ”, “processor circuitry” and “computer-controlled circuit” doesn’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAMANI et al.( US 20140089836 A1) in view of Phan et al. (US 20170094487 A1) and further in view of Squires (US 20150142689 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Damani teaches a system for health data categorization, the system comprising:
a memory (paragraph 200);
and a processor configured to execute instructions to (paragraph 200):
receive, from a plurality of remote devices, a plurality of health data associated with a plurality of individuals, wherein the plurality of health data is in a plurality of data formats (paragraph, “[0047] The embodiments described herein relate to collecting and analyzing user-specific medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutritional data to develop comprehensive, personalized health and wellness programs for improving key health factors which have a high correlation to common morbidities. The user-specific data may be collected from a variety of sources, including traditional medicine, genetic testing, lab testing, nutrition information, fitness, metabolic testing, mobile health devices worn by the user and applications through which the user manually inputs information…..”
Also, paragraph, “[0028] FIG. 19 is an illustration of a GUI of a clinical dashboard for use by a medical or healthcare professional in evaluating the health and wellness of one or more users, according to one embodiment of the invention;” Note: data format as specified in next limitation can be from health tracking devices, biometric labs etc..)
the plurality of data formats including at least one of data from health tracking devices, biometric labs, or physician claims (para, “[0071] In one embodiment, data from employees, patients and consumers are acquired via health assessment questionnaires, six independent wirelessly enabled mobile health-tracking devices that measure resting metabolism, blood pressure, blood glucose, heart rate during exercise, steps per day, activity/movement levels via an accelerometer, weight and body composition via a scale, cardiorespiratory fitness levels as defined by VO.sub.2 (oxygen consumption during submaximal exercise testing) and calorie consumption. Additional laboratory data and genetic information are aggregated and analyzed as described below.”);
normalize fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats (para, “[0056] The mobile health devices 102A and other applications 102B will continue to be utilized to report new user data once the user has begun to implement the health and wellness programs, and this new data can then be used by the dashboard server 106 to compare with the original user data to determine if the user is implementing the health and wellness programs and achieving improved health and wellness through the implementation of the programs. The new and original data may be displayed on the dashboard 112 in graphical or other visual forms to help the user or a health professional easily view the user's progress toward one or more goals related to the health and wellness programs. By obtaining continuous feedback from the user, the health and wellness programs may be continually modified.” Note: Also, see para 0191 for Fitbit fitness application, Also see para 0157);
generate a plurality of health goals based on the normalized fitness application data (paragraph, “[0054] The user profile is then used to generate at least one health and wellness program at the dashboard server 106 which contains recommendations for the user specific to their medical health, fitness, nutrition and environment. The recommendations may relate to recommended user activity such as exercise, behavioral changes related to their environment (such as sleep), or nutrition recommendations related to their diet. In addition, the recommendations may relate to achieving desired physiological measurements of visceral fat, resting metabolic rate, body fat, posture, cholesterol, blood pressure, body mass, etc.” Note: the data is being normalized as the collected data is organized in user profile, and wellness program is recommended specific to user’s medical health.)
the generation including determining a health goal that is predicted to be achievable for each of the plurality of individuals based on individual baseline metrics and historical performance patterns (para, “[0187] Each individual parameter may have customized levels based on the significance of each parameter to the user's overall health, and the grades for each parameter may be used individually, to provide the user with a more detailed assessment of their health, or together (such as by averaging the grades for all parameters) in order to provide the user with an overall assessment of their health. As indicated in Table 11, the grades (letter or numeric) may have specific meaning with regard to action items that the user needs to complete. The goals may be set based on levels of each parameter which are generally considered in a healthy range for all humans, or which are customized for the particular user based on their initial assessment and continuously-updated assessments.”
Also, para “[0161] FIG. 13 illustrates a health page 1300 of the dashboard interface which provides detailed graphics and indicators for numerous health metrics which are measured and tracked by the system. The health page dashboard provides the user with a unique perspective on their overall health, as measured by at least fourteen different biometric measurements 1304, such as LDL cholesterol, HDL cholesterol, triglycerides, inflammation, glucose, diabetes risk, vitamin D, thyroid (TSH), kidney, liver (AST and ALT), hemoglobin, adiponectin and hematocrit. Graphs 1302 may show historical and current data on metrics such as weight, body fat and blood pressure so the user can see trends for these indicators individually as well as together with other metrics for comparison with each other. In one embodiment, the metrics displayed may be changed by selecting different metrics from a list below the graphs. In addition to the graphs, numerous additional metrics may be listed on the health page along with the numerical value 1306 for each metric, a slider bar graphic 1308 indicating where the numerical value falls within a range of normal or expected values for the metric, and a status icon 1310 indicating whether the numerical value is good or bad (in this illustration, a "thumbs up" indicates the value is good while the thumbs down indicates the value is bad). Additionally, a bar graph 1312 underneath the title for each metric will show historical data of that metric over previous measurements, with each circle 1314 pertaining to a measurement and the color of the circle reflecting whether the measurement was a good value (i.e. blue circle) or bad value (i.e. red circle). An additional list of health-related genetics 1316 may also be provided on the health page along with an indicator 1318 as to whether the user has an elevated, decreased, normal or other level of risk for a particular genetic trait, be it a propensity for disease or simply a behavioral component related to the user's health, nutrition or fitness.” Note: Also, see para 0095)
automatically form teams [based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood], wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals (para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.” Also, see Fig. 18
Also, para “[0177] In one embodiment, the user may receive "incentive alerts" if certain levels of health, fitness or nutrition are achieved based on goals that are customized for each user. For example, a reward may be provided to the user if they walk a certain amount over a given period of time, lose or maintain a certain amount of weight, reduce their blood pressure to a certain rate, etc. As with the health alerts, the incentive alerts can be set up for any measured value relating to health, fitness and nutrition. The incentives may also be customized for each user, for members of a certain group (employees of a company), or based on user-selected preferences for rewards (monetary, lifestyle, recognition, etc.). Although the incentives may be explicitly shown on the dashboard, in one embodiment, the incentives may be provided to a user separately from the dashboard, such as by offering a user lower health insurance premiums if they enroll in a program with the dashboard and meet certain goals relating thereto.” Note: Also, see para 0193);
receive a selection of a health goal, the health goal selected from among the plurality of health goals (Paragraph, “[0162] ….The user is also provided with suggestions 1408 for the types of activities that can be performed to meet fitness goals, such as spinning, rowing, treadmill, etc. The user can select certain activities as favorites and also review reports on their past activities. In one embodiment, the user can create a personal fitness goal, such as "running a marathon," after which the system will provide the user with a particular set of steps and goals to achieve in order to train for the marathon. The goals and steps may include desired RMR and VO2 levels, heart rate performance and recovery, nutrition and caloric recommendations along with balances of food types, etc.”);
receive a plurality of updated health data from the plurality of remote devices, the plurality of updated health data associated with the selected health goal (Paragraph, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points….”
Also, para, “[0156]……These devices may be configured to continually collect and report data to the dashboard database in real-time or at periodic increments so the dashboard can be continually updated to provide the most relevant information about the user's health and wellness. Some devices may require user input, such as a nutrition application running on a portable electronic device in which the user inputs dietary and nutrition information, and the user may be responsible for submitting the data manually as it is entered or at periodic time periods after a certain amount of data is collected. In some embodiments, the nutrition data may be obtained from mobile health devices or at least more accurately tracked by software or applications running on the portable electronic device (such as a tablet or smartphone). Similarly, some user fitness data may be generated or reported by a user.);
generate organized health data summaries based on the plurality of updated health data by aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking (para, “[0098] In one embodiment, the user profile may be displayed as a graphical user interface (GUI) 1102 to the user on a client dashboard interface such as a computer 1104 with a display or a tablet, smartphone or other portable electronic device, as shown in FIG. 11. The client dashboard interface preferably has one or more input devices such as a mouse, keyboard or touchscreen with which the user can interact with the GUI. The GUI may be organized as a "dashboard" that provides the user with helpful summaries of a plurality of different information relating to their genetics, health, fitness, environment and nutrition in the form of visual aids on the dashboard. The information may be presented with an easily-understandable chart, graph or relevant numerical value that will help the user quickly glance at the dashboard and determine an overall sense of their current level of health and wellness, their progress toward established health and wellness goals and other pertinent information…..” Note: Also, see Fig. 25.
Also, para “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.”)
determine a count of a plurality of instances of meeting the health goal based on the organized health data summaries (Fig. 25:
Note: here, points are awarded based on tracked activity and instances; for example, 7500 steps/day goal will earn 5 point/day (the right column is maximum threshold for earning points over the course of program).
wherein each instance represents a team member achieving their predicted achievable goal within a predetermined time period (para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.” Also, see Fig. 25.)
update team progress periodically towards the health goal based on an aggression of the determined counts across all team members through periodic data collection at periodic increments (para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.”
Para, “[0152] The user interface in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10 may include a recommendations section which displays one or more recommendations to the user in order to help achieve one or more goals with regard to the user's health and wellness. The recommendations may be based on the user's profile and be updated based on current information that is periodically or constantly being input to the front-end cloud server by the third party data sources.” Also, see para 0052, 0156, 0167, 0179
Para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.”)
generate a visualization comparing the team progress against other teams having different selected health goals, (para, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. The points system is designed to accomplish two goals: motivating participants to engage in healthy activities and providing a reliable metric for users, health care provider and organizations administering and subscribing to the system to track user participation.” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 for group progress visualization.)
and transmit the visualization of the team progress to at least one of the plurality of remote devices of the plurality of individuals for display on team progress dashboards (para, “[0055] The user profile and health and wellness programs may be displayed to a user on a graphical user interface (GUI) in the form of a dashboard 112 of information which provides an interactive, visual summary of the user's health and wellness as compiled and analyzed by the dashboard server 106. Once the dashboard is generated, it may be customized and transmitted to one or more destination devices for display to an interested party, including the user dashboard 112A (patient), a healthcare team dashboard 112B for healthcare professionals responsible for the user's health, or a corporate wellness dashboard 112C for an administrator set up to monitor the user's progress toward specific health goals. The users, healthcare professionals and administrators may interact with the dashboard through a user interface server 110 which will communicate with the dashboard server and database 106.”)
Damani does not explicitly teach:
receive team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement;
[automatically form teams] based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals];
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Phan teaches:
receive team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement (para, “[0078] In certain embodiments, the definition of the subset is based on a set of group formation parameters, such as a constraint, i.e., maximum or minimum, on the density of members per peer group, a limit on the total number of peer groups to be formed, or a setting on the variance between a peer group centroid value and a corresponding value in a patient health record. As a continuation of the particular example described above in reference to operation 642, the example set of group formation parameters includes a maximum of two peer groups, in which case, the server 2104 applies a clustering algorithm to the patient health records that indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015. As a result, a first peer group 705 includes a first subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a first centroid 710, and a second peer group 715 includes a second subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a second centroid 720.”);
[automatically form teams] based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals] (para, “[0075] In operation 642, the server 104 forms a set of users. For example, the server 104 forms the set of users as a function of patient health records regarding a plurality of patients. For example, the set of users can include as few as zero or as many as the number of patients whose patient health records are stored in the health monitoring system 400. In certain embodiments, for each of the determined peer group formation features, the server 104 can use the function to select patient health records that include attributes similar to the particular patient's patient health record for inclusion in the set of users. As a particular example, (i) the determined peer group formation features includes age, gender, and current month, (ii) the function includes same age, same gender, and same month, the patient-user 416 is a 55 year old male currently enrolled in the mobile healthcare program in May 2015, then the server 104 forms a set of users that includes all patients whose patient health records indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply team formation parameters teachings of Phan into the teachings of Damani at the time the application was filed in order to form different groups. (Abstract, “…The method includes defining a subset of the users as a peer group based on peer group formation features by applying a clustering algorithm to profile records of the set of users….”)
Damani as modified by Phan does not explicitly teach the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Squires teaches:
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons; (para, “[0087] On the back-end, data management (e.g., facilitated by the control component 104 or another system 600 component) may be configured to manage participants, groups, challenges, communication, and reporting, as illustrated in FIG. 8. The screen shot of the dashboard 800 of FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a group administrator screen. This dashboard 800 may be a centralized system for group administrators and provides participant management and for the creation of groups and/or subgroups. Communication with the group 802 is enabled, as well as editing the group or challenge 804. The administer may apply challenges (goal, timeframe, and incentives). Further, through interaction with the screen (e.g., through interface component 106), the administrator may communicate to groups and/or subgroups, view progress and manage groups in real-time through reporting. Further, the data may be extendable via APIs, for example. The progress of each team can be viewed separately, as illustrated by team 1 806 and team 2 808, each displaying a different time format.”
As can be seen, two different teams accomplishments (multi-team comparison) toward the goal (12,000 steps/day) is being displayed. And compared.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply monitoring and incentivizing teachings of Squires into the teachings of Damani as modified by Phan at the time the application was filed in order to reward users based on meeting the goals. (Abstract, “…The control component can provide one or more rewards to the user, wherein the rewards can be based at least in part on the user meeting a target associated with the motion data.”)
Regarding claim 2, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the system of claim 1.
Damani further teaches:
further including a plurality of health sensors, wherein: each of the plurality of health sensors is associated with an associated remote device of an associated individual within the plurality of individuals (paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A, a mobile application on a portable electronic device 102B or through manual user entry 102C via a computing device. The mobile health devices and mobile applications may be configured to collect information on the user as the user wears[associated with an associated individual] or uses the device. In one embodiment, these devices may communicate with one or more source servers 104, such as device or application servers that receive data collected and then communicate with a dashboard server 106 of a front-end cloud server to collect the data for analysis.” Note: paragraph 0191 also teaches using fitbit for collecting data; ; also note that this can be done for each user, thus plurality of users (see, para 0180));
and the plurality of updated health data is received from the plurality of health sensors (paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A,…
Also, (para, “[0156]……These devices may be configured to continually collect and report data to the dashboard database in real-time or at periodic increments so the dashboard can be continually updated to provide the most relevant information about the user's health and wellness. Some devices may require user input, such as a nutrition application running on a portable electronic device in which the user inputs dietary and nutrition information, and the user may be responsible for submitting the data manually as it is entered or at periodic time periods after a certain amount of data is collected. In some embodiments, the nutrition data may be obtained from mobile health devices or at least more accurately tracked by software or applications running on the portable electronic device (such as a tablet or smartphone). Similarly, some user fitness data may be generated or reported by a user.”)
Examiner Note: the reference teaches collecting health data using wearable device such as fitibit, thus it is clear that sensors are being used to gather the health data; for explicit teaching that sensor such as fitbit has sensors, one can reference to Gore et al. (US 20180211274 A1) that teaches recording data from wearable sensors (see, abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the system of claim 1.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of updated health data includes at least one of health assessments, recorded health data from a health tracking device, biometrics labs, or physician claims data (Paragraph 0051, “…..In addition to the devices, additional user data may be collected at the dashboard database in the form of genomic data 102D from a genomic report or lab results 102E from lab tests that the user has undergone. Additional data may be entered manually by the user, the user's physician, fitness trainer or other health and wellness professional by a computing device, as illustrated in 102C. The dashboard server and database 106 will collect and store all of the medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutrition information about the user that will then be analyzed to generate a user profile.”
Also,(para, “[0156]……These devices may be configured to continually collect and report data to the dashboard database in real-time or at periodic increments so the dashboard can be continually updated to provide the most relevant information about the user's health and wellness. Some devices may require user input, such as a nutrition application running on a portable electronic device in which the user inputs dietary and nutrition information, and the user may be responsible for submitting the data manually as it is entered or at periodic time periods after a certain amount of data is collected. In some embodiments, the nutrition data may be obtained from mobile health devices or at least more accurately tracked by software or applications running on the portable electronic device (such as a tablet or smartphone). Similarly, some user fitness data may be generated or reported by a user.);
)
Regarding claim 5, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the system of claim 1.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of health goals includes at least one of a low goal, a medium goal, and a high goal (Paragraph, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. …..” Note: user can have different level of participation (low, medium, high etc.…), and earn reward based on level of participation; para 0191 also teaches different groups A, B, C may be created based on different level of participation within the system.))
Regarding claim 6, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the system of claim 5.
Damani further teaches wherein:
the plurality of individuals forms a first team (Paragraph, “[0181] The healthcare professional dashboard may also provide analytical tools that help a healthcare professional analyze data from one or more users and attempt to correlate data to determine if goals and recommendations should be changed or modified. The goals and recommendations may be customized for each user by the healthcare professional or provided to an overall group of users who exhibit similar profiles.” Note: here group that exhibit similar profile is recommended same goals.
Also, paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: para 0191 shows different groups (teams));
and the first team selects a different goal from a second team (paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: different groups can have different levels or participation, and different activities, thus one team (group) can have different goal than another team (group).)
Regarding claim 7, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the system of claim 1.
Damani further teaches wherein the determination of the count of successful health goal achievement is based on a predefined competition period (Fig.25:
Note: here predetermined period being a day; for example, to get 5 points for step goal, one must complete 7500 steps in a day.
Also, para “[0176] In one embodiment, the health alert may be customized for a particular user based on the genetic, medical, fitness and nutrition information obtained for that user. For example, a tier one alert may be generated if the user does not have a certain minimum heart rate for a certain period of time (which would be indicative of exercise). In another embodiment, the user may receive a tier one alert if they gain more than 2 pounds in a week, or 5 pounds in a month. Similar alerts may be generated for levels of blood pressure, a number of steps taken, a number of calories consumed, etc.--basically any measured value relating to health, fitness and nutrition. These alerts let the user and the user's healthcare professional know that their health and wellness goals are not being met. .)
Regarding claim 8, Damani teaches a computer-implemented method for health data categorization, the method comprising:
using one or more computer processors to perform operations of(para, 200):
receiving, from a plurality of remote devices, a plurality of health data associated with a plurality of individuals, wherein the health data is in a plurality of data formats(paragraph, “[0047] The embodiments described herein relate to collecting and analyzing user-specific medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutritional data to develop comprehensive, personalized health and wellness programs for improving key health factors which have a high correlation to common morbidities. The user-specific data may be collected from a variety of sources, including traditional medicine, genetic testing, lab testing, nutrition information, fitness, metabolic testing, mobile health devices worn by the user and applications through which the user manually inputs information…..”
Also, paragraph, “[0028] FIG. 19 is an illustration of a GUI of a clinical dashboard for use by a medical or healthcare professional in evaluating the health and wellness of one or more users, according to one embodiment of the invention);
the plurality of data formats including at least one of data from health tracking devices, biometric labs, or physician claims (para, “[0071] In one embodiment, data from employees, patients and consumers are acquired via health assessment questionnaires, six independent wirelessly enabled mobile health-tracking devices that measure resting metabolism, blood pressure, blood glucose, heart rate during exercise, steps per day, activity/movement levels via an accelerometer, weight and body composition via a scale, cardiorespiratory fitness levels as defined by VO.sub.2 (oxygen consumption during submaximal exercise testing) and calorie consumption. Additional laboratory data and genetic information are aggregated and analyzed as described below.”);
normalizing fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats(para, “[0056] The mobile health devices 102A and other applications 102B will continue to be utilized to report new user data once the user has begun to implement the health and wellness programs, and this new data can then be used by the dashboard server 106 to compare with the original user data to determine if the user is implementing the health and wellness programs and achieving improved health and wellness through the implementation of the programs. The new and original data may be displayed on the dashboard 112 in graphical or other visual forms to help the user or a health professional easily view the user's progress toward one or more goals related to the health and wellness programs. By obtaining continuous feedback from the user, the health and wellness programs may be continually modified.” Note: Also, see para 0191 for Fitbit fitness application, Also see para 0157);
generating a plurality of health goals based on the normalized fitness application data (paragraph, “[0054] The user profile is then used to generate at least one health and wellness program at the dashboard server 106 which contains recommendations for the user specific to their medical health, fitness, nutrition and environment. The recommendations may relate to recommended user activity such as exercise, behavioral changes related to their environment (such as sleep), or nutrition recommendations related to their diet. In addition, the recommendations may relate to achieving desired physiological measurements of visceral fat, resting metabolic rate, body fat, posture, cholesterol, blood pressure, body mass, etc.” Note: the data is being normalized as the collected data is organized in user profile, and wellness program is recommended specific to user’s medical health.)
the generation including determining a health goal that is predicted to be achievable for each of the plurality of individuals based on individual baseline metrics and historical performance patterns ( ( para, “[0187] Each individual parameter may have customized levels based on the significance of each parameter to the user's overall health, and the grades for each parameter may be used individually, to provide the user with a more detailed assessment of their health, or together (such as by averaging the grades for all parameters) in order to provide the user with an overall assessment of their health. As indicated in Table 11, the grades (letter or numeric) may have specific meaning with regard to action items that the user needs to complete. The goals may be set based on levels of each parameter which are generally considered in a healthy range for all humans, or which are customized for the particular user based on their initial assessment and continuously-updated assessments.”
Also, para “[0161] FIG. 13 illustrates a health page 1300 of the dashboard interface which provides detailed graphics and indicators for numerous health metrics which are measured and tracked by the system. The health page dashboard provides the user with a unique perspective on their overall health, as measured by at least fourteen different biometric measurements 1304, such as LDL cholesterol, HDL cholesterol, triglycerides, inflammation, glucose, diabetes risk, vitamin D, thyroid (TSH), kidney, liver (AST and ALT), hemoglobin, adiponectin and hematocrit. Graphs 1302 may show historical and current data on metrics such as weight, body fat and blood pressure so the user can see trends for these indicators individually as well as together with other metrics for comparison with each other. In one embodiment, the metrics displayed may be changed by selecting different metrics from a list below the graphs. In addition to the graphs, numerous additional metrics may be listed on the health page along with the numerical value 1306 for each metric, a slider bar graphic 1308 indicating where the numerical value falls within a range of normal or expected values for the metric, and a status icon 1310 indicating whether the numerical value is good or bad (in this illustration, a "thumbs up" indicates the value is good while the thumbs down indicates the value is bad). Additionally, a bar graph 1312 underneath the title for each metric will show historical data of that metric over previous measurements, with each circle 1314 pertaining to a measurement and the color of the circle reflecting whether the measurement was a good value (i.e. blue circle) or bad value (i.e. red circle). An additional list of health-related genetics 1316 may also be provided on the health page along with an indicator 1318 as to whether the user has an elevated, decreased, normal or other level of risk for a particular genetic trait, be it a propensity for disease or simply a behavioral component related to the user's health, nutrition or fitness.” Note: Also, see para 0095)
automatically forming teams [based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood], wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals(para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.” Also, see Fig. 18
Also, para “[0177] In one embodiment, the user may receive "incentive alerts" if certain levels of health, fitness or nutrition are achieved based on goals that are customized for each user. For example, a reward may be provided to the user if they walk a certain amount over a given period of time, lose or maintain a certain amount of weight, reduce their blood pressure to a certain rate, etc. As with the health alerts, the incentive alerts can be set up for any measured value relating to health, fitness and nutrition. The incentives may also be customized for each user, for members of a certain group (employees of a company), or based on user-selected preferences for rewards (monetary, lifestyle, recognition, etc.). Although the incentives may be explicitly shown on the dashboard, in one embodiment, the incentives may be provided to a user separately from the dashboard, such as by offering a user lower health insurance premiums if they enroll in a program with the dashboard and meet certain goals relating thereto.” Note: Also, see para 0193));
receiving a selection of a health goal, the health goal selected from among the plurality of health goals(Paragraph, “[0162] ….The user is also provided with suggestions 1408 for the types of activities that can be performed to meet fitness goals, such as spinning, rowing, treadmill, etc. The user can select certain activities as favorites and also review reports on their past activities. In one embodiment, the user can create a personal fitness goal, such as "running a marathon," after which the system will provide the user with a particular set of steps and goals to achieve in order to train for the marathon. The goals and steps may include desired RMR and VO2 levels, heart rate performance and recovery, nutrition and caloric recommendations along with balances of food types, etc.”);
receiving a plurality of updated health data from the plurality of remote devices, the plurality of updated health data associated with the selected health goal (Paragraph, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points….”
Also, para, “[0156]……These devices may be configured to continually collect and report data to the dashboard database in real-time or at periodic increments so the dashboard can be continually updated to provide the most relevant information about the user's health and wellness. Some devices may require user input, such as a nutrition application running on a portable electronic device in which the user inputs dietary and nutrition information, and the user may be responsible for submitting the data manually as it is entered or at periodic time periods after a certain amount of data is collected. In some embodiments, the nutrition data may be obtained from mobile health devices or at least more accurately tracked by software or applications running on the portable electronic device (such as a tablet or smartphone). Similarly, some user fitness data may be generated or reported by a user.);
generating organized health data summaries based on the plurality of updated health data by aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking (para, “[0098] In one embodiment, the user profile may be displayed as a graphical user interface (GUI) 1102 to the user on a client dashboard interface such as a computer 1104 with a display or a tablet, smartphone or other portable electronic device, as shown in FIG. 11. The client dashboard interface preferably has one or more input devices such as a mouse, keyboard or touchscreen with which the user can interact with the GUI. The GUI may be organized as a "dashboard" that provides the user with helpful summaries of a plurality of different information relating to their genetics, health, fitness, environment and nutrition in the form of visual aids on the dashboard. The information may be presented with an easily-understandable chart, graph or relevant numerical value that will help the user quickly glance at the dashboard and determine an overall sense of their current level of health and wellness, their progress toward established health and wellness goals and other pertinent information…..” Note: Also, see Fig. 25
Also, para “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.”)
determining a count of a plurality of instances of meeting the health goal based on the organized health data summaries , (Fig. 25:
Note: here, points are awarded based on tracked activity and instances; for example, 7500 steps/day goal will earn 5 point/day (the right column is maximum threshold for earning points over the course of program).);
wherein each instance represents a team member achieving their predicted achievable goal within a predetermined time(para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.” Also, see Fig. 25.)
updating team progress periodically towards health goal based on an aggression of the determined counts across all team members through periodic data collection at periodic increments (para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.”
Para, “[0152] The user interface in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10 may include a recommendations section which displays one or more recommendations to the user in order to help achieve one or more goals with regard to the user's health and wellness. The recommendations may be based on the user's profile and be updated based on current information that is periodically or constantly being input to the front-end cloud server by the third party data sources.” Also, see para 0052, 0156, 0167.
Para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.” )
generating a visualization comparing the team progress against other teams having different selected health goals, (para, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. The points system is designed to accomplish two goals: motivating participants to engage in healthy activities and providing a reliable metric for users, health care provider and organizations administering and subscribing to the system to track user participation.” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 for group progress visualization.)
and transmitting the visualization of the team progress to at least one of the plurality of remote devices for display on team, progress dashboards(para, “[0055] The user profile and health and wellness programs may be displayed to a user on a graphical user interface (GUI) in the form of a dashboard 112 of information which provides an interactive, visual summary of the user's health and wellness as compiled and analyzed by the dashboard server 106. Once the dashboard is generated, it may be customized and transmitted to one or more destination devices for display to an interested party, including the user dashboard 112A (patient), a healthcare team dashboard 112B for healthcare professionals responsible for the user's health, or a corporate wellness dashboard 112C for an administrator set up to monitor the user's progress toward specific health goals. The users, healthcare professionals and administrators may interact with the dashboard through a user interface server 110 which will communicate with the dashboard server and database 106.”)
Damani does not explicitly teach:
receiving team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement,
[automatically forming teams] based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals]
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Phan teaches:
receiving team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement(para, “[0078] In certain embodiments, the definition of the subset is based on a set of group formation parameters, such as a constraint, i.e., maximum or minimum, on the density of members per peer group, a limit on the total number of peer groups to be formed, or a setting on the variance between a peer group centroid value and a corresponding value in a patient health record. As a continuation of the particular example described above in reference to operation 642, the example set of group formation parameters includes a maximum of two peer groups, in which case, the server 2104 applies a clustering algorithm to the patient health records that indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015. As a result, a first peer group 705 includes a first subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a first centroid 710, and a second peer group 715 includes a second subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a second centroid 720.”);
[automatically form teams] based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals]( para, “[0075] In operation 642, the server 104 forms a set of users. For example, the server 104 forms the set of users as a function of patient health records regarding a plurality of patients. For example, the set of users can include as few as zero or as many as the number of patients whose patient health records are stored in the health monitoring system 400. In certain embodiments, for each of the determined peer group formation features, the server 104 can use the function to select patient health records that include attributes similar to the particular patient's patient health record for inclusion in the set of users. As a particular example, (i) the determined peer group formation features includes age, gender, and current month, (ii) the function includes same age, same gender, and same month, the patient-user 416 is a 55 year old male currently enrolled in the mobile healthcare program in May 2015, then the server 104 forms a set of users that includes all patients whose patient health records indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015.”)”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply team formation parameters teachings of Phan into the teachings of Damani at the time the application was filed in order to form different groups. (Abstract, “…The method includes defining a subset of the users as a peer group based on peer group formation features by applying a clustering algorithm to profile records of the set of users….”)
Damani as modified by Phan does not explicitly teach the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Squires teaches:
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons(para, “[0087] On the back-end, data management (e.g., facilitated by the control component 104 or another system 600 component) may be configured to manage participants, groups, challenges, communication, and reporting, as illustrated in FIG. 8. The screen shot of the dashboard 800 of FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a group administrator screen. This dashboard 800 may be a centralized system for group administrators and provides participant management and for the creation of groups and/or subgroups. Communication with the group 802 is enabled, as well as editing the group or challenge 804. The administer may apply challenges (goal, timeframe, and incentives). Further, through interaction with the screen (e.g., through interface component 106), the administrator may communicate to groups and/or subgroups, view progress and manage groups in real-time through reporting. Further, the data may be extendable via APIs, for example. The progress of each team can be viewed separately, as illustrated by team 1 806 and team 2 808, each displaying a different time format.”
As can be seen, two different teams accomplishments (multi-team comparison) toward the goal (12,000 steps/day) is being displayed. And compared.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply monitoring and incentivizing teachings of Squires into the teachings of Damani as modified by Phan at the time the application was filed in order to reward users based on meeting the goals. (Abstract, “…The control component can provide one or more rewards to the user, wherein the rewards can be based at least in part on the user meeting a target associated with the motion data.”)
Regarding claim 9, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the method of claim 8.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of updated health data is received from a health sensor associated with a remote device associated with each of the plurality of individuals (paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A,…”
Also, paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A, a mobile application on a portable electronic device 102B or through manual user entry 102C via a computing device. The mobile health devices and mobile applications may be configured to collect information on the user as the user wears[sensor associated with each of the plurality of individuals] or uses the device. In one embodiment, these devices may communicate with one or more source servers 104, such as device or application servers that receive data collected and then communicate with a dashboard server 106 of a front-end cloud server to collect the data for analysis.” Note: Paragraph 0191 also teaches using fitbit for collecting data; also note that this can be done for each user, thus plurality of users (see, para 0180))
Regarding claim 10, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the method of claim 8.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of updated health data includes at least one of health assessments, recorded health data from a health tracking device, biometrics labs, or physician claims data(Paragraph 0051, “…..In addition to the devices, additional user data may be collected at the dashboard database in the form of genomic data 102D from a genomic report or lab results 102E from lab tests that the user has undergone. Additional data may be entered manually by the user, the user's physician, fitness trainer or other health and wellness professional by a computing device, as illustrated in 102C. The dashboard server and database 106 will collect and store all of the medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutrition information about the user that will then be analyzed to generate a user profile.”)
Regarding claim 12, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the method of claim 8.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of health goals includes at least one of a low goal, a medium goal, and a high goal(Paragraph, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. …..” Note: user can have different level of participation (low, medium, high etc.…), and earn reward based on level of participation; para 0191 also teaches different groups A, B, C may be created based on different level of participation within the system.))
Regarding claim 13, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the method of claim 12.
Damani further teaches wherein:
the plurality of individuals forms a first team(Paragraph, “[0181] The healthcare professional dashboard may also provide analytical tools that help a healthcare professional analyze data from one or more users and attempt to correlate data to determine if goals and recommendations should be changed or modified. The goals and recommendations may be customized for each user by the healthcare professional or provided to an overall group of users who exhibit similar profiles.” Note: here group that exhibit similar profile is recommended same goals.
Also, paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: para 0191 shows different groups (teams));
and the first team selects a different goal from a second team(paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: different groups can have different levels or participation, and different activities, thus one team (group) can have different goal than another team (group).)
Regarding claim 14, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the method of claim 8.
Damani further teaches wherein the determination of the count of successful health goal achievement is based on a predefined competition period( Fig. 25:Note: here
Note: here predetermined period being a day; for example, to get 5 points for step goal, one must complete 7500 steps in a day.
Also, para “[0176] In one embodiment, the health alert may be customized for a particular user based on the genetic, medical, fitness and nutrition information obtained for that user. For example, a tier one alert may be generated if the user does not have a certain minimum heart rate for a certain period of time (which would be indicative of exercise). In another embodiment, the user may receive a tier one alert if they gain more than 2 pounds in a week, or 5 pounds in a month. Similar alerts may be generated for levels of blood pressure, a number of steps taken, a number of calories consumed, etc.--basically any measured value relating to health, fitness and nutrition. These alerts let the user and the user's healthcare professional know that their health and wellness goals are not being met)
Regarding claim 15, Damani teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (see, para 0200), comprising a plurality of instructions that, responsive to being executed with processor circuitry of a computer-controlled circuit, cause the processor circuitry to(see, para, 200):
receive, from a plurality of remote devices , a plurality of health data associated with a plurality of individuals, wherein the plurality of health data is in a plurality of data formats (paragraph, “[0047] The embodiments described herein relate to collecting and analyzing user-specific medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutritional data to develop comprehensive, personalized health and wellness programs for improving key health factors which have a high correlation to common morbidities. The user-specific data may be collected from a variety of sources, including traditional medicine, genetic testing, lab testing, nutrition information, fitness, metabolic testing, mobile health devices worn by the user and applications through which the user manually inputs information…..” Also, paragraph, “[0028] FIG. 19 is an illustration of a GUI of a clinical dashboard for use by a medical or healthcare professional in evaluating the health and wellness of one or more users, according to one embodiment of the invention;”);
the plurality of data formats including at least one of data from health tracking devices, biometric labs, or physician claims para, “[0071] In one embodiment, data from employees, patients and consumers are acquired via health assessment questionnaires, six independent wirelessly enabled mobile health-tracking devices that measure resting metabolism, blood pressure, blood glucose, heart rate during exercise, steps per day, activity/movement levels via an accelerometer, weight and body composition via a scale, cardiorespiratory fitness levels as defined by VO.sub.2 (oxygen consumption during submaximal exercise testing) and calorie consumption. Additional laboratory data and genetic information are aggregated and analyzed as described below.”);
normalize fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats(para, “[0056] The mobile health devices 102A and other applications 102B will continue to be utilized to report new user data once the user has begun to implement the health and wellness programs, and this new data can then be used by the dashboard server 106 to compare with the original user data to determine if the user is implementing the health and wellness programs and achieving improved health and wellness through the implementation of the programs. The new and original data may be displayed on the dashboard 112 in graphical or other visual forms to help the user or a health professional easily view the user's progress toward one or more goals related to the health and wellness programs. By obtaining continuous feedback from the user, the health and wellness programs may be continually modified.” Note: Also, see para 0191 for Fitbit fitness application, Also see para 0157);
generate a plurality of health goals based on the normalized fitness application data (paragraph, “[0054] The user profile is then used to generate at least one health and wellness program at the dashboard server 106 which contains recommendations for the user specific to their medical health, fitness, nutrition and environment. The recommendations may relate to recommended user activity such as exercise, behavioral changes related to their environment (such as sleep), or nutrition recommendations related to their diet. In addition, the recommendations may relate to achieving desired physiological measurements of visceral fat, resting metabolic rate, body fat, posture, cholesterol, blood pressure, body mass, etc.” Note: the data is being normalized as the collected data is organized in user profile, and wellness program is recommended specific to user’s medical health.);
the generation including determining a health goal that is predicted to be achievable for each of the plurality of individuals based on individual baseline metrics and historical performance patterns (para, “[0187] Each individual parameter may have customized levels based on the significance of each parameter to the user's overall health, and the grades for each parameter may be used individually, to provide the user with a more detailed assessment of their health, or together (such as by averaging the grades for all parameters) in order to provide the user with an overall assessment of their health. As indicated in Table 11, the grades (letter or numeric) may have specific meaning with regard to action items that the user needs to complete. The goals may be set based on levels of each parameter which are generally considered in a healthy range for all humans, or which are customized for the particular user based on their initial assessment and continuously-updated assessments.”
Also, para “[0161] FIG. 13 illustrates a health page 1300 of the dashboard interface which provides detailed graphics and indicators for numerous health metrics which are measured and tracked by the system. The health page dashboard provides the user with a unique perspective on their overall health, as measured by at least fourteen different biometric measurements 1304, such as LDL cholesterol, HDL cholesterol, triglycerides, inflammation, glucose, diabetes risk, vitamin D, thyroid (TSH), kidney, liver (AST and ALT), hemoglobin, adiponectin and hematocrit. Graphs 1302 may show historical and current data on metrics such as weight, body fat and blood pressure so the user can see trends for these indicators individually as well as together with other metrics for comparison with each other. In one embodiment, the metrics displayed may be changed by selecting different metrics from a list below the graphs. In addition to the graphs, numerous additional metrics may be listed on the health page along with the numerical value 1306 for each metric, a slider bar graphic 1308 indicating where the numerical value falls within a range of normal or expected values for the metric, and a status icon 1310 indicating whether the numerical value is good or bad (in this illustration, a "thumbs up" indicates the value is good while the thumbs down indicates the value is bad). Additionally, a bar graph 1312 underneath the title for each metric will show historical data of that metric over previous measurements, with each circle 1314 pertaining to a measurement and the color of the circle reflecting whether the measurement was a good value (i.e. blue circle) or bad value (i.e. red circle). An additional list of health-related genetics 1316 may also be provided on the health page along with an indicator 1318 as to whether the user has an elevated, decreased, normal or other level of risk for a particular genetic trait, be it a propensity for disease or simply a behavioral component related to the user's health, nutrition or fitness.” Note: Also, see para 0095)
automatically form teams [based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood], wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals(para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.” Also, see Fig. 18
Also, para “[0177] In one embodiment, the user may receive "incentive alerts" if certain levels of health, fitness or nutrition are achieved based on goals that are customized for each user. For example, a reward may be provided to the user if they walk a certain amount over a given period of time, lose or maintain a certain amount of weight, reduce their blood pressure to a certain rate, etc. As with the health alerts, the incentive alerts can be set up for any measured value relating to health, fitness and nutrition. The incentives may also be customized for each user, for members of a certain group (employees of a company), or based on user-selected preferences for rewards (monetary, lifestyle, recognition, etc.). Although the incentives may be explicitly shown on the dashboard, in one embodiment, the incentives may be provided to a user separately from the dashboard, such as by offering a user lower health insurance premiums if they enroll in a program with the dashboard and meet certain goals relating thereto.” Note: Also, see para 0193);
receive a selection of a health goal, the health goal selected from among the plurality of health goals(Paragraph, “[0162] ….The user is also provided with suggestions 1408 for the types of activities that can be performed to meet fitness goals, such as spinning, rowing, treadmill, etc. The user can select certain activities as favorites and also review reports on their past activities. In one embodiment, the user can create a personal fitness goal, such as "running a marathon," after which the system will provide the user with a particular set of steps and goals to achieve in order to train for the marathon. The goals and steps may include desired RMR and VO2 levels, heart rate performance and recovery, nutrition and caloric recommendations along with balances of food types, etc.”);
receive a plurality of updated health data from plurality of remote devices, the plurality of updated health data associated with the selected health goal(Paragraph, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points….”
Also, para, “[0156]……These devices may be configured to continually collect and report data to the dashboard database in real-time or at periodic increments so the dashboard can be continually updated to provide the most relevant information about the user's health and wellness. Some devices may require user input, such as a nutrition application running on a portable electronic device in which the user inputs dietary and nutrition information, and the user may be responsible for submitting the data manually as it is entered or at periodic time periods after a certain amount of data is collected. In some embodiments, the nutrition data may be obtained from mobile health devices or at least more accurately tracked by software or applications running on the portable electronic device (such as a tablet or smartphone). Similarly, some user fitness data may be generated or reported by a user.”);
generate organized health data summaries data based on the plurality of updated health data by aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking (para, “[0098] In one embodiment, the user profile may be displayed as a graphical user interface (GUI) 1102 to the user on a client dashboard interface such as a computer 1104 with a display or a tablet, smartphone or other portable electronic device, as shown in FIG. 11. The client dashboard interface preferably has one or more input devices such as a mouse, keyboard or touchscreen with which the user can interact with the GUI. The GUI may be organized as a "dashboard" that provides the user with helpful summaries of a plurality of different information relating to their genetics, health, fitness, environment and nutrition in the form of visual aids on the dashboard. The information may be presented with an easily-understandable chart, graph or relevant numerical value that will help the user quickly glance at the dashboard and determine an overall sense of their current level of health and wellness, their progress toward established health and wellness goals and other pertinent information…..” Note: Also, see Fig. 25
Also, para “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.”)
determine a count of a plurality of instances of meeting the health goal based on the organized health data summaries (Fig. 25:
Note: here, points are awarded based on tracked activity and instances; for example, 7500 steps/day goal will earn 5 point/day (the right column is maximum threshold for earning points over the course of program).);
wherein each instance represents a team member achieving their predicted achievable goal within a predetermined time period(para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.” Also, see Fig. 25.)
update team progress periodically towards the health goal based on an aggression of the determined counts across all team members through periodic data collection at periodic increments (para, “[0191] FIG. 25 illustrates a table with one embodiment of a points system which rewards points to users based on recording activity with an activity tracking device (such as a Fitbit), taking a certain amount of steps per day, an amount of heavy activity per day, recording the user's weight with a scale, logging food and achieving specific overall step goals. Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points. For example, in order to earn points for logging food each day, the user must log at least 500 calories worth of food. An additional threshold value may be provided, as indicated in the far right column, which provides the maximum value of points that can be earned for a particular activity over the course of the program. Providing intermediate awards and points will help motivate users along the way and help users who may not achieve a reward in one month to work toward a reward in a subsequent month.”
Para, “[0152] The user interface in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10 may include a recommendations section which displays one or more recommendations to the user in order to help achieve one or more goals with regard to the user's health and wellness. The recommendations may be based on the user's profile and be updated based on current information that is periodically or constantly being input to the front-end cloud server by the third party data sources.” Also, see para 0052, 0156, 0167.
Para, “[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.” )
generate a visualization comparing of the team progress against other teams having different selected health goals( para, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. The points system is designed to accomplish two goals: motivating participants to engage in healthy activities and providing a reliable metric for users, health care provider and organizations administering and subscribing to the system to track user participation.” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 for group progress visualization.)
and transmit the visualization of the team progress to at least one of the plurality of remote devices of the plurality of individuals for display on team progress dashboards(para, “[0055] The user profile and health and wellness programs may be displayed to a user on a graphical user interface (GUI) in the form of a dashboard 112 of information which provides an interactive, visual summary of the user's health and wellness as compiled and analyzed by the dashboard server 106. Once the dashboard is generated, it may be customized and transmitted to one or more destination devices for display to an interested party, including the user dashboard 112A (patient), a healthcare team dashboard 112B for healthcare professionals responsible for the user's health, or a corporate wellness dashboard 112C for an administrator set up to monitor the user's progress toward specific health goals. The users, healthcare professionals and administrators may interact with the dashboard through a user interface server 110 which will communicate with the dashboard server and database 106.”)
Damani does not explicitly teach:
receive team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement
[automatically form teams] based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals]
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Phan teaches:
receive team formation data including a minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement (para, “[0078] In certain embodiments, the definition of the subset is based on a set of group formation parameters, such as a constraint, i.e., maximum or minimum, on the density of members per peer group, a limit on the total number of peer groups to be formed, or a setting on the variance between a peer group centroid value and a corresponding value in a patient health record. As a continuation of the particular example described above in reference to operation 642, the example set of group formation parameters includes a maximum of two peer groups, in which case, the server 2104 applies a clustering algorithm to the patient health records that indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015. As a result, a first peer group 705 includes a first subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a first centroid 710, and a second peer group 715 includes a second subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a second centroid 720.”);
[automatically form teams] based on the team formation data, that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood, [wherein each team selects a different goal level from the plurality of health goals](para, “[0078] In certain embodiments, the definition of the subset is based on a set of group formation parameters, such as a constraint, i.e., maximum or minimum, on the density of members per peer group, a limit on the total number of peer groups to be formed, or a setting on the variance between a peer group centroid value and a corresponding value in a patient health record. As a continuation of the particular example described above in reference to operation 642, the example set of group formation parameters includes a maximum of two peer groups, in which case, the server 2104 applies a clustering algorithm to the patient health records that indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015. As a result, a first peer group 705 includes a first subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a first centroid 710, and a second peer group 715 includes a second subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a second centroid 720.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply team formation parameters teachings of Phan into the teachings of Damani at the time the application was filed in order to form different groups. (Abstract, “…The method includes defining a subset of the users as a peer group based on peer group formation features by applying a clustering algorithm to profile records of the set of users….”)
Damani as modified by Phan does not explicitly teach the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons;
Squires teaches:
the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons(para, “[0087] On the back-end, data management (e.g., facilitated by the control component 104 or another system 600 component) may be configured to manage participants, groups, challenges, communication, and reporting, as illustrated in FIG. 8. The screen shot of the dashboard 800 of FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a group administrator screen. This dashboard 800 may be a centralized system for group administrators and provides participant management and for the creation of groups and/or subgroups. Communication with the group 802 is enabled, as well as editing the group or challenge 804. The administer may apply challenges (goal, timeframe, and incentives). Further, through interaction with the screen (e.g., through interface component 106), the administrator may communicate to groups and/or subgroups, view progress and manage groups in real-time through reporting. Further, the data may be extendable via APIs, for example. The progress of each team can be viewed separately, as illustrated by team 1 806 and team 2 808, each displaying a different time format.”
As can be seen, two different teams accomplishments (multi-team comparison) toward the goal (12,000 steps/day) is being displayed. And compared.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply monitoring and incentivizing teachings of Squires into the teachings of Damani as modified by Phan at the time the application was filed in order to reward users based on meeting the goals. (Abstract, “…The control component can provide one or more rewards to the user, wherein the rewards can be based at least in part on the user meeting a target associated with the motion data.”)
Regarding claim 16, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of updated health data is received from a health sensor associated with a remote device associated with each of the plurality of individuals(paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A,…”
Also, paragraph, “[0051] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a system 100 of collecting and analyzing user-specific data to develop comprehensive personalized health and wellness programs. In this embodiment, data on a user is collected from a plurality of sources 102, such as a mobile health device 102A, a mobile application on a portable electronic device 102B or through manual user entry 102C via a computing device. The mobile health devices and mobile applications may be configured to collect information on the user as the user wears or uses the device. In one embodiment, these devices may communicate with one or more source servers 104, such as device or application servers that receive data collected and then communicate with a dashboard server 106 of a front-end cloud server to collect the data for analysis.” Paragraph 0191 also teaches using fitbit for collecting data.)
Regarding claim 17, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of updated health data includes at least one of health assessments, recorded health data from a health tracking device, biometrics labs, or physician claims data(Paragraph 0051, “…..In addition to the devices, additional user data may be collected at the dashboard database in the form of genomic data 102D from a genomic report or lab results 102E from lab tests that the user has undergone. Additional data may be entered manually by the user, the user's physician, fitness trainer or other health and wellness professional by a computing device, as illustrated in 102C. The dashboard server and database 106 will collect and store all of the medical, genetic, fitness, environmental and nutrition information about the user that will then be analyzed to generate a user profile.”)
Regarding claim 19, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Damani further teaches wherein the plurality of health goals includes at least one of a low goal, a medium goal, and a high goal(Paragraph, “[0188] In one embodiment, a points system may be implemented where users earn points for various activities and levels of participation, achievement of intermediate and overall goals of the program, and other activities that would benefit from incentivizing. The points may be used to compete against other users in a game to provide motivation via competition, or to earn rewards that will further motivate them to continue participation. …..” Note: user can have different level of participation (low, medium, high etc.…), and earn reward based on level of participation; para 0191 also teaches different groups A, B, C may be created based on different level of participation within the system.))
Regarding claim 20, Damani as modified by Phan and Squires teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 19.
Damani further teaches wherein:
the plurality of individuals forms a first team(Paragraph, “[0181] The healthcare professional dashboard may also provide analytical tools that help a healthcare professional analyze data from one or more users and attempt to correlate data to determine if goals and recommendations should be changed or modified. The goals and recommendations may be customized for each user by the healthcare professional or provided to an overall group of users who exhibit similar profiles.” Note: here group that exhibit similar profile is recommended same goals.
Also, paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: para 0191 shows different groups (teams));
and the first team selects a different goal from a second team (paragraph 0191, “Different Groups A, B and C may be created based on different levels of participation within the system, such that some groups may not participate in certain activities and tracking A threshold value may be provided within each activity that defines a minimum amount of the activity that will earn the points.” Note: different groups can have different levels or participation, and different activities, thus one team (group) can have different goal than another team (group).)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Remarks - 35 USC § 101
In remarks, Pg. 9, applicant contends: “the amended claims recite multi-format health data integration, such as through "normalizing fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats" recited in amended claim 1. The coordinated processing of these diverse data formats provides improved accuracy and efficiency in team-based health tracking systems. This goes beyond generic data processing by including specialized health data normalization across heterogeneous sources "including at least one of data from health tracking devices. biometric labs, or physician claims" as recited in amended claim 1.”
The applicant’s claims or specification lacks any detail that elaborate any improvement in data formatting technology. The claims are generic, and merely data formatting and normalization of data without any technical detail does not provide any improvement, thus it doesn’t integrate the abstract idea into application. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the data can be reformatted and normalized using paper and pen, for example reformatting the data with different units (miles to KM, meter to inches, etc…). Even, looking within the context of formatting using computer application, the courts have found “requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1370-71, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1642 (Fed. Cir. 2015)” to be additional elements that merely provide instructions to apply an exception, because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process.
In remarks, Pg. 9-10, applicant contends: “the amended claims also recite real-time multi-user coordination through "aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking" recited in amended claim 1. This recited feature cannot practically be performed in the human mind, particularly at the scale and speed required for real-time team coordination across multiple remote devices. As emphasized in the August 4. 2025 USPTO memo. "a claim does not recite a mental process when it contains limitation(s) that cannot practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitation(s)."2 The examiner's characterization that these complex technical processes could be performed with "pen and paper" violates this guidance by improperly expanding "the mental process grouping in a manner that encompasses claim limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind."
The applicant is misconstruing the examiner’s analysis; the examiner does not state that all these steps can be performed using a device in the human mind. The examiner in analysis have made clear that these steps can be performed in human mind, or using paper or pen, with exception of using the device to perform these steps. However, the use of device to perform these steps is merely using a generic computer as a tool, as the claims or specification don’t provide any improvement to technology.
In remarks, Pg. 10, applicant contends:
“Finally, the claims specify algorithmic optimization through "automatically form[ing] teams based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood" and "determining a health goal that is predicted to be achievable for each of the plurality of individuals based on individual baseline metrics and historical performance patterns" as recited in amended claim 1. These features represent integration into a specific technological environment that improves health data processing systems through predictive analytics and computation optimization that cannot be performed mentally.
Because Applicant's claimed steps of multi-format data normalization, real-time stream
processing for synchronized tracking. and algorithmic optimization for team formation provide the technical improvements described in the specification, and because these claimed steps cannot reasonably be interpreted as mere automation of abstract concepts, Applicant submits the claims are integrated into a practical application and are subject matter eligible.”
The applicant is merely making conclusory statement, without providing any details as to how the stated technology is being improved. The applicant states “these features represent integration into a specific technological environment that improves health data processing systems through predictive analytics and computation optimization that cannot be performed mentally”, yet applicant provides no detail of how and what technical features are being integrates or improved. It seems, the applicant is reciting processing of data through predictive analytics is the technical improvement. The processing of data using predictive analytical analysis not only falls under mental concept, but also falls under mathematical concept. The examiner agree that accomplishing this using the computer does make it more efficient, and doing the analysis and reformatting etc.… using paper and pen would be laborious; however the use of computer/devices as a tool to enhance the processing and optimization is merely applying the tools.
In remarks, Pg. 12, applicant contends:
“Amended independent claims 1,10 and 16 are analogous to the claims in Desjardins
because they recite specific technical implementations involving multi-format data normalization. algorithmic team optimization, predictive goal generation, and real-time stream processing that improve computer functionality. Features that provide an improvement in computer functionality are recited in the claims, such as "normaliz[ing] fitness application data to enable comparison across different data formats," "aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking," "automatically form[ing] teams based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood," and "rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons" as recited in amended independent claim 1. In contrast with the allegation in the Office Action that the claims cover "mental processes,"" Applicant's claims recite specific technical implementations that improve computer processing capabilities through specialized health data integration, real-time multi-user coordination. algorithmic optimization, and advanced visualization rendering.”
In relation to “Ex Parte Desjardins”, it states:
“Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential), the claimed invention was a method of training a machine learning model on a series of tasks. The Appeals Review Panel (ARP) overall credited benefits including reduced storage, reduced system complexity and streamlining, and preservation of performance attributes associated with earlier tasks during subsequent computational tasks as technological improvements that were disclosed in the patent application specification. Specifically, the ARP upheld the Step 2A Prong One finding that the claims recited an abstract idea (i.e., mathematical concept). In Step 2A Prong Two, the ARP then determined that the specification identified improvements as to how the machine learning model itself operates, including training a machine learning model to learn new tasks while protecting knowledge about previous tasks to overcome the problem of “catastrophic forgetting” encountered in continual learning systems. Importantly, the ARP evaluated the claims as a whole in discerning at least the limitation “adjust the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize performance of the machine learning model on the second machine learning task while protecting performance of the machine learning model on the first machine learning task” reflected the improvement disclosed in the specification. Accordingly, the claims as a whole integrated what would otherwise be a judicial exception instead into a practical application at Step 2A Prong Two, and therefore the claims were deemed to be outside any specific, enumerated judicial exception (Step 2A: NO).”
As can be seen, the case facts are completely irrelevant to instant claimed invention; in the case cited above, it provides very specific detail of claimed invention that integrates the abstract idea into practical application; and instant claims don’t have any such limitations, and each limitation have been addressed in the 35 U.S.C 101 section.
In remarks, Pg. 15, applicant contends:
“The Office Action analysis under Step 2B further fails to support a prima facie rejection of the claims Office Action rejection fails to provide required factual support under Berkheimer. MPEP G2106.05(d) explicitly requires factual determination, stating "[a] factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity." The Examiner's conclusory statements that data transmission is "well known" without providing required factual support violate Berkheimer. The Examiner provides only generic citations to Symantec regarding communication over a network, and improperly extrapolates network communication as covering all of "receive, from a plurality of remote devices," "receive a plurality of updated health data from the remote devices," and "transmit the visualization of the team progress to the remote devices" as recited in previously pending claim I without addressing the specific technical implementations claimed. For at least these reasons, the Office Action has not established a prima facie analysis of the claims under Step 2B.”
The applicant, first starts by reciting the examiner makes conclusory statement, and doesn’t provide any required Berkheimer support; however then applicant acknowledges that examiner does provide support by citing Symantec. Then, applicant proceeds to state that support is generic. The citation explicitly states, “receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information.”
The examiner is utilizing the citation to address that transmitting/receiving the data to remote devices is well understood and conventional. It is irrelevant if the data is online transaction, or health related; nowhere in the specification or claims applicant is providing any specific technique of transferring/receiving medical data, that provides improvement to well known transmission protocols.
Remarks - 35 USC § 103
In remarks, Pg. 19, applicant contends: “the Office Action acknowledges that Damani does not teach “receive team formation data including a mini minimum team size requirement and a maximum team size requirement" or "team formation" as recited in claim 1. and cites to Phan as allegedly disclosing the Phan describes "applying a clustering algorithm to patient health records" to form peer groups, with "maximum or minimum” density constraints for health care analytics messaging. However, Phan's static clustering methodology does not teach or suggest the team optimization and synchronized processing recited in Applicant's claims. While Phan creates group centroids for peer messaging, Phan does not disclose normalizing fitness application data for cross-format comparison, individual predictive goal generation based on baseline metrics and historical performance patterns, or algorithmic optimization of team composition for goal achievement likelihood. Phan's clustering parameters are algorithmic constraints for peer group formation in healthcare analytics. not optimization algorithms for competitive team success. Phan, alone or combined with the other cited references, does not teach or suggest "automatically forming teams based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood" or "generat [ing] organized health data summaries based on the plurality of updated health data by aggregating and processing user streams to provide synchronized multi-user progress tracking" as recited in amended claim 1.”
Damani already teaches that analytics can be performed for individual or group, thus provides team forming.
“[0047] …... The dashboard provides notifications and alerts, points and rewards and analytics of user and group data which can be viewed by the user, a healthcare professional or healthcare plan administrator to monitor and adjust the programs to obtain optimal results.”
“[0179] FIG. 18 is an illustration of a GUI 1800 of a group health and wellness dashboard illustrating a plurality of information aggregated for a group of people; according to one embodiment of the invention. The group report may display overall health and wellness information 1802 for a group of people, such as employees in a company. The group dashboard in FIG. 16 may therefore display overall averages of information, such as total weight lost by the group and an average weight loss per person 1804, a total distance run 1806, the amount of incentives and rewards 1808 provided to the group of users, the average male BMI 1810 and female BMI levels 1812, and even a total amount of sick days 1814 accrued by the group along with a comparison to previous levels. A group administrator can therefore view the details and historical levels of the group, including the goals, to determine if the group is making progress and if certain incentives are effective.”
As can be seen, Damani explicitly teaches forming the groups, and analyzing the data based on group. However, the Damani reference doesn’t go into the details of how the group is formed, what should be the minimum number, or maximum number, etc.…. Merely to teach, that one can consider minimum, or maximum (forming information) to form group, the examiner have introduced the Phan reference that explicitly teaches forming groups based on forming information.
“[0078] In certain embodiments, the definition of the subset is based on a set of group formation parameters, such as a constraint, i.e., maximum or minimum, on the density of members per peer group, a limit on the total number of peer groups to be formed, or a setting on the variance between a peer group centroid value and a corresponding value in a patient health record. As a continuation of the particular example described above in reference to operation 642, the example set of group formation parameters includes a maximum of two peer groups, in which case, the server 2104 applies a clustering algorithm to the patient health records that indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015. As a result, a first peer group 705 includes a first subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a first centroid 710, and a second peer group 715 includes a second subset of patients whose patient health records are clustered about a second centroid 720.”
As can be seen the reference not only teaches forming team using forming information, it even provides further detail as how the members are selected for the group.
The applicant argues that combination doesn’t teach “automatically forming teams based on the team formation data that optimize team composition for goal achievement likelihood.” As can be seen, the references explicitly teach forming teams, setting team goals, and further forming teams based on minimum or maximum number.
Regarding the optimized team composition, the reference explicitly teaches that server (automatically) can select any number (as few as zero (minimum) or all (maximum)), based on the goal achievement likelihood (grouping same age or gender people).
“[0075] In operation 642, the server 104 forms a set of users. For example, the server 104 forms the set of users as a function of patient health records regarding a plurality of patients. For example, the set of users can include as few as zero or as many as the number of patients whose patient health records are stored in the health monitoring system 400. In certain embodiments, for each of the determined peer group formation features, the server 104 can use the function to select patient health records that include attributes similar to the particular patient's patient health record for inclusion in the set of users. As a particular example, (i) the determined peer group formation features includes age, gender, and current month, (ii) the function includes same age, same gender, and same month, the patient-user 416 is a 55 year old male currently enrolled in the mobile healthcare program in May 2015, then the server 104 forms a set of users that includes all patients whose patient health records indicate age 55, male gender, and active enrollment in May 2015.”
In remarks, Pg. 19, applicant contends:
“Squires describes dashboard functionality for "participants, groups, challenges, communication, and reporting" in the context of a charitable fundraising platform. While Squires discusses basic dashboard visualization for fundraising activities, Squires does not teach cross-format fitness data normalization, individual baseline metrics and historical performance prediction, automated team composition optimization.
The examiner is using the Squires reference only to teach “the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons.”
The primary reference already teaches dashboard for individual health data (see, at least Fig. 9), and team health data (See, at least Fig. 18); what Damani does not explicitly teach is the visualization including periodic achievement status of each team member and aggregate team progress toward milestone unlocking through rendering display performance based on multi-team comparisons.
Squires explicitly teaches the claimed limitation:
Here, we can see period comparison of teams toward the goal. Fig. 7 shows individual periodic accomplishment for individual member. Furthermore, the primary reference already teaches individual accomplishment, and comparison among the team members (see, para 0161, and Fig. 13).
The applicant’s arguments presented on Pg. 17-22, seems to focus on references as individual, rather than looking at as combination. There are multiple aspects being claimed within independent claims. First, aspect relates to gathering of data from multiple sources, and normalizing; Damani teaches gathering data from multiple sources (remote devices) of different formats (see, Fig. 3), and then presenting the data on dashboard (see, Fig. 9). The second aspect relates to team forming; Damani does teach forming a team, but not specific aspects of team forming such as minimum or maximum number to be include to optimize the accomplishment of goal; Phan teaches forming the team with minimum of maximum constraints, and also selecting different range of members depending on goals such as based on age. Third aspect is displaying all these information on dashboard, and comparing. Damani teaches displaying the individual and group information on dashboard, further it teaches comparison between members of group. For explicit teachings, please see prior art section above. Squire teaches collecting data on periodic basis, and further comparing the data based on periodic basis. Please note, that features/teachings missing in Damani reference are complimented by secondary and tertiary reference by incorporating the teachings of secondary/tertiary reference into the primary reference. The applicant’s arguments, seems to look at each individual limitation in vacuum, rather than looking at the rejection as combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUMA WASEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 3686
/JASON B DUNHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3686