DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/20/2026 has been entered and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the signal transfer module 900 of Basit is arranged at a different section of the welding torch from the RPC 200” wherein “Basit does not teach or suggest the transmission channel being arranged about at least the interface, around the interface, or through the rotating power connector within the torch body” (Pages 5-6 of applicant’s remarks filed 03/20/2026). However, Figure 1 of Basit shows that the shock sensor 1100, which comprises the signal transfer module 900 (Basit Paragraph 57), is positioned about the RPC connection 200. Looking at the locations of the RPC and shock sensor 1100 with the orientation of Fig. 1B, it would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that at least a portion of the shock sensor 1100 circumferentially surrounds and thus is positioned about the RPC. The RPC is a component inserted into the torch connected to a weld cable and which is encompassed by a torch connector sub assembly 400 and torch connector assembly 300, wherein the shock sensor 1100 has a diameter which extends past both of those assemblies as well as surrounds the welding wire and part of the RPC 200 (Basit Figures 1A and 9A-C). The applicant’s arguments appear to be directed toward arguing that the transmission channel of the prior art does not completely surround the interface of the transmission channel along a direction perpendicular to the extension of the torch body. However, the applicant’s current claim limitations do not require such a restricted interpretation under broadest reasonable interpretation. Nevertheless, in view of the applicant’s amendments toward specifying an interface between the power connects, and further limiting claim language by specifying that the transmission channel is about or around with regard to the connector portion of said interface, the examiner in response has amended what parts of the prior art constitutes the “transmission channel” such as to better address the applicant’s amendments and narrow interpretation of the claim language such as to facilitate compact prosecution. Under this new interpretation of the prior art, the transmission channel can reasonably be interpreted as consisting not only of the signal transfer module 900 and the rotation module assembly 1100, but also consisting of torch connector sub-assembly 400 and torch connector assembly 300, in which the RPC 200 described as being inserted and received into (Basit Paragraph 46). Thus, transmission channel would be reasonably be regarded as being about and around the rotating power connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASIT (US 20220001480 A1) in view of Karpoff (US 20100096374 A1) and Schmitz (US 20180281098 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BASIT (US 20220001480 A1) teaches a semi-automatic welding torch (Figure 1A, welding torch assembly device), comprising:
having a torch body (Figure 1A Paragraph 36, torch connector assembly 300 and torch connector sub assembly 400);
a weld cable coupled to the torch body (Paragraph 38, power cable from the wire cable 50 is connected to the shaft 208);
a rotating power connector within the torch body (Paragraph 38, power cable from the wire cable 50 is connected to the shaft 208), the rotating power connector comprising a first power connector (Figure 2C, outer housing 202 of the revolution power connector) that is stationary with reference to the torch body (Paragraph 46, gooseneck pushes RPC through the tapered interface against the spring actuating ring 408 located inside the torch connector which applies pressure on the tapered interface and connects the RPC to the torch connector sub assembly 400; Paragraph 47, current passes from the outer housing 202 of the RPC 200 to the ring 406 inside the torch connector 402) and a second power connector (Figure 2C, shaft 208) that is electrically coupled to the first power connector via an interface (Paragraph 39, power is transferred from the shaft 208 to the outer housing 202 through three major current paths; Paragraph 40, primary path is through four rotor contacts 204; Paragraph 42, brushing nut 2010 to the outer housing 202) and rotatable with respect to the torch body (Paragraphs 40-42, shaft 208 comprises a plurality of current paths which is electrically coupled and rotatable in relation with the outer housing 202), the weld cable coupled to the second power connector such that the weld cable is rotatable with respect to the torch body (Paragraph 38, power cable from the wire cable 50 is connected to the shaft 208; Paragraphs 40-42, shaft 208 comprises a plurality of current paths which is electrically coupled and rotatable in relation with the outer housing 202; thus the wire cable 50 would also be rotatable with respect to the outer housing 202 and torch connector sub assembly 400);
a connector to receive the trigger command signal (Paragraph 59, signals from the sensors goes to the signal transfer module which passes to the front and rear contactors such that the signal from the contactors goes to a connector which connects to the cable assembly where it connects to the robot controller);
a transmission channel (rotation module assembly 1100/torch connector assembly 300/torch connector sub-assembly) to transmit the trigger command signal from the trigger to the connector (Paragraph 59, signal from the sensor goes to the stator ring where it is transferred to the front and rear contactors and further wherein the signal from the contactors goes to a connector which connects to the cable assembly which sends the signal to the controller), the transmission channel being arranged about at least the interface, around at least the interface, or through the rotating power connector within the torch body (about/around; Figure 1A Paragraph 55, signal transfer module 900 is positioned within torch along with the RPC and thus would reasonably be considered as being arranged about the RPC; Paragraph 36, rotation module assembly 1100 positioned adjacent to the RPC 200; Paragraph 45, torch connector assembly 300 is designed to accommodate the RPC 200 wherein the RPC is positioned in the center of the torch connector 402 such that at least the torch connector 400 is positioned about or around the RPC 200 and the interface within the RPC 200); and
the torch is a handheld device (Paragraph 36)
SCOTCHMER fails to explicitly teach:
a trigger mechanism, comprising:
a trigger arranged at a first location of the torch body, the trigger being stationary with reference to the torch body and configured to transmit a trigger command signal in response to pressing the trigger on the torch body;
a conductive brush to electrically couple the transmission channel to the connector, wherein one of the transmission channel or the conductive brush is configured to rotate relative to the trigger and the torch body.
Karpoff (US 20100096374 A1) teaches a rotating welding gun handle, wherein:
a trigger mechanism (Paragraph 16, trigger assembly 107), comprising:
a trigger arranged at a first location of the torch body (Paragraph 16, trigger assembly 107 is secured to one part of the handle portion), the trigger being stationary with reference to the torch body (Paragraph 35, handle portion and trigger assembly 107 are rotated to allow the user to have a more ergonomic position) and configured to transmit a trigger command signal in response to pressing the trigger on the torch body (Paragraph 20, cable assembly 121 contains electrical conduits to send electrical control signals back and forth from the trigger assembly 107);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BASIT with Karpoff and including a trigger. This would be done as BASIT teaches that the torch can be a handheld torch (BASIT Paragraph 36) and the trigger would be beneficial in allowing the user to activate the welding operation (Karpoff Paragraph 3) while ensuring that the rotation of the torch can occur without damage to any wires or similar electrical contacts (Karpoff Paragraph 43).
SCOTCHMER modified with Karpoff fails to explicitly teach:
a conductive brush to electrically couple the transmission channel to the connector, wherein one of the transmission channel or the conductive brush is configured to rotate relative to the trigger and the torch body.
Schmitz (US 20180281098 A1) teaches a retractable work cable for a welding torch, comprising:
a conductive brush to electrically couple the transmission channel to the connector, wherein one of the transmission channel or the conductive brush is configured to rotate relative to the trigger and the torch body (Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system; Paragraph 22, slip ring and reel rotate relative to the torch as they are connected by the power cable).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BASIT with Schmitz and have used a slip ring to connect the transmission channel to the power input. This would have been done to allow the rings to transfer electric power and signals as the reel rotates (Schmitz Paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 2, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 1.
Karpoff further teaches:
a trigger connector to electrically couple the trigger with the transmission channel (Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring), the trigger connector comprising a first set of conductive brushes configured to receive the trigger command signal from the trigger (Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring).
Paragraph 22 of Schmitz teaches that slip rings are constructed from concentric rings configured to transfer electric power and thus the use of a slip ring would involve a set of concentric conductive brushes.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 2.
Schmitz further teaches:
a second set of conductive brushes configured to receive the trigger command signal via the transmission channel (Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system; Paragraph 22, slip ring and reel rotate relative to the torch as they are connected by the power cable).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 3.
Karpoff further teaches:
the first set of conductive brushes are coupled to the transmission channel (Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring; Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Schmitz further teaches:
the transmission channel to transmit the trigger command signal to the second set of conductive brushes (Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system; Paragraph 22, slip ring and reel rotate relative to the torch as they are connected by the power cable).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 3, wherein:
the first conductor are arranged at a first end of the rotating power connecter (Figure 9C Paragraphs 57-59, sensor outputs signal to stator ring 912 which transfers the signal to contactors 920/922 which then transfer the cable to the connector 910) and the conductor are arranged at a second end of the rotating power connector opposite the first end (Figure 9C Paragraph 60, connector 910 is positioned on a second end of the rotating power connector opposite to where the stator ring 912 is located; Paragraphs 58-60, under BRI the signal transfer module can reasonably be considered the rotating power connector as it comprises a connector 910 that is electrically coupled to the rest of the signal transfer module but also is designed to adjust with the movement of the power cable and wherein the rotating power connector further comprises a stator ring 912 which is assembled to the outer housing 906 and further wherein part of the RPC could be considered as the transmission channel).
Karpoff further teaches:
first set of conductive brushes (Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring) It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Schmitz further teaches:
second set of conductive brushes (Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BASIT with Karpoff and Schmitz and have the signal connector be a slip ring. This would be done to provide an electrical connection to the cable while prevent over rotation which could lead to breaking of wires or electrical connection (Karpoff Paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 6, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 3, wherein:
the first set of conductive brushes and the second set of conductive brushes are electrically isolated from the rotating power connector (Karpoff Paragraph 43, electrical connection between the trigger assembly and the conduit portion 123 are via a rotary electrical contact such as a slip ring; Schmitz Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system which is isolated from the rotating power connector; Paragraphs 58-60, sensor is connected to signal transfer module 900 which is not the rotating transfer module 200 and thus the two sets of slip rings would be isolated from it as it would have been obvious for the trigger to be connected to the signal transfer module).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 2.
Schmitz further teaches:
wherein the trigger connector is a ring conductor (Paragraph 22, slip ring positioned within a circular cavity extending through a center of the reel electrically couples the welding wire to the power input 112 of the power system; Paragraph 22, slip ring and reel rotate relative to the torch as they are connected by the power cable).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 1, wherein
the connector is configured to couple the trigger signal to the weld cable (Paragraph 59, signals from the sensors goes to the signal transfer module which passes to the front and rear contactors such that the signal from the contactors goes to a connector which connects to the cable assembly where it connects to the robot controller).
Karpoff further teaches:
the connector is configured to couple the trigger signal to the weld cable (Paragraphs 19-20, control signals from the trigger assembly 107 are sent to the power supply)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASIT (US 20220001480 A1) in view of Karpoff (US 20100096374 A1) and Schmitz (US 20180281098 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Servotecnica (What is a Slip Ring?, 2017, Servotecnica).
Regarding claim 7, BASIT as modified teaches the semi-automatic welding torch of claim 3.
Basit fails to explicitly teach:
one or more springs to bias the first set of conductive brushes or the second set of conductive brushes to maintain electrical contact with the transmission channel.
Servotecnica (What is a Slip Ring?, 2017, Servotecnica) teaches of conductive block slip rings wherein brushes consist of blocks shaped to contact rings wherein brushes are spring loaded to maintain contact with the rings.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BASIT with Servotecnica and have the slip ring be conductive block slip rings comprising of spring-loaded brushes made to contact with rings. This would have been done to provide a low-cost slip ring (Servotecnica (What is a Slip Ring?, 2017, Servotecnica).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761