DETAILED ACTION
All amendments to the claims filed on 6/29/26 have been entered and action follows:
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the instant case the combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu discloses all the limitations as claimed. Also, for the newly added limitations please note the new rejection below.
McCormack discloses A system for determining a correspondence between a tracked object in one video frame and a candidate object in a different video frame, said system comprising of: an object tracking unit; a processor; a non-transitory storage element; encoded instructions stored in said non-transitory storage element, wherein the encoded instructions when implemented by the processor, (see paragraph 0020 for processor and software and firmware; and figure 3, 105 is the tracking unit), configure the system to:
an object tracked in a first frame and a second frame, , (see ‘072 paragraph 0005, wherein, …a predetermined control area “a neighborhood region”… a first video image framed….second video image frame…);
; and
, and if the number of tracked objects is different than the number of candidate objects, determine a correspondence between the tracked object in the neighborhood region and the candidate object in the neighborhood region by the object tracking unit, (see claim 22 wherein, …least one substantial difference between said at least one second video image frame and said at least one first video image frame, wherein the at least one substantial difference includes at least one of: at least one object has entered the predetermined control area; at least one object has exited the predetermined control area; and at least one object has moved within the predetermined control area; and paragraph 0039 wherein, …difference between …objects and objects that may have changed “correspondence”…) , as claimed.
Rittscher teaches generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds an object tracked in a first frame and a second frame, the neighborhood region being located within and smaller than an entirety of the first and second frames; and check the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects only in the neighborhood region, (see figure 1, numerical 24 that is a two-dimensional area and numerical 1 is the individuals, and paragraph 0052, wherein … system 10 detects … individuals are present in the counting area 24 “generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds” and are moving out of virtual gate 22, as is shown by histogram bar 50 at point a in FIG. 5 and shown in FIG. 6A. System 10 successfully counts all three individuals 44.sub.1, 44.sub.2 and 44.sub.3, as is shown by histogram bar 52 at point a in FIG. 5, “check the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects only in the neighborhood region” in spite of some occlusion while passing the virtual gate 22…), as claimed.
Ren in tracking humans in a video teaches perform a search of the neighborhood region in the first frame for determining a number of tracked objects in
perform an additional search of the neighborhood region in the second frame for determining and a number of candidate objects in (see figure 1, 101, 102 and 103 images of the same area, also see paragraph 0041, wherein … the data structure 1030 may therefore be used to count the people in the frames, track the people in the frames, or predict the future location of the people in the frames…);
and
wherein the features are at least one of a group comprising size, aspect ratio, location in a scene, Histogram of Oriented Gradient (HOG), Scale-invariant feature transform (SIFT), HAAR like features, or Local Binary Pattern (LBP) of the object, (see paragraph 0018, wherein … characteristics of the keypoints may be represented by descriptors such as a binary descriptor “binary pattern (LBP) of the object” or a vector of integers ...a motion vector determined based on the locations of the bounding boxes in the video images “location in a scene” …, and paragraph 0023, wherein …Patch descriptor techniques such as the HOG “Histogram of Oriented Gradient (HOG)” technique may effectively identify the bounding boxes 305-308 for the humans 105-108 …image 301…), as claimed.
And, Xu in the same field teaches compare the number of tracked objects with the number of candidate objects only as a result of checking the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects , and if the number of tracked objects is different than the number of candidate objects, determine a correspondence between the tracked object in the neighborhood region and the candidate object in the neighborhood region by the object tracking unit comparing feature-based similarities between the tracked object and the candidate object when objects in the first frame outnumber objects in the second frame (see paragraphs 0050-0054, wherein in the conditions of the difference between the two frames are detailed [these condition are read as the numbers in the frame or the area is counted] i.e. comparison; see paragraph 0005, wherein, matching process “similarities” is performed using the features from each received blob and the objects identified in previous frames; paragraph 0050, wherein, …detect an occlusion, …status of objects in the current frame and the respective status of objects already being tracked… i.e. a condition “when” and paragraph 0051, …number of blobs in the incoming frame is less than the number of objects currently tracked “outnumbered objects”), as claimed.
Therefore, all the limitations are met in the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recites limitation of “generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds an object being tracked in a first frame and a second frame..”; and “…determining a number of tracked objects in the neighborhood region of the first frame;” and “…determining a number of candidate objects in the neighborhood region of the second frame;”, it is not clear from the claims if there are only single or one object in the neighborhood region or there are many or plurality of objects in the neighborhood region. Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 11-19 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims 1 and 10 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormack (US Pub. 2011/0149072) in view of Rittscher et al (US Pub. 2007/0003141), Ren et al (US Pub. 2016/0092727) and Xu et al (US Pub. 2008/0166045).
With respect to claim 1 (exemplary claim), McCormack discloses A system for determining a correspondence between a tracked object in one video frame and a candidate object in a different video frame, said system comprising of:
an object tracking unit;
a processor;
a non-transitory storage element;
encoded instructions stored in said non-transitory storage element, wherein the encoded instructions when implemented by the processor, (see paragraph 0020 for processor and software and firmware; and figure 3, 105 is the tracking unit), configure the system to:
an object tracked in a first frame and a second frame, , (see ‘072 paragraph 0005, wherein, …a predetermined control area “a neighborhood region”… a first video image framed….second video image frame…);
; and
, and if the number of tracked objects is different than the number of candidate objects, determine a correspondence between the tracked object in the neighborhood region and the candidate object in the neighborhood region by the object tracking unit, (see claim 22 wherein, …least one substantial difference between said at least one second video image frame and said at least one first video image frame, wherein the at least one substantial difference includes at least one of: at least one object has entered the predetermined control area; at least one object has exited the predetermined control area; and at least one object has moved within the predetermined control area; and paragraph 0039 wherein, …difference between …objects and objects that may have changed “correspondence”…) , as claimed.
However, McCormack fails to disclose generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds an object tracked in a first frame and a second frame, the neighborhood region being located within and smaller than an entirety of the first and second frames;
perform a search of the neighborhood region in the first frame for determining a number of tracked objects in the neighborhood region of the first frame;
perform an additional search of the neighborhood region in the second frame for determining and a number of candidate objects in the neighborhood of the second frame;
check the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects only in the neighborhood region; and
compare the number of tracked objects with the number of candidate objects only as a result of checking the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects in the neighborhood region, and if the number of tracked objects is different than the number of candidate objects, determine a correspondence between the tracked object in the neighborhood region and the candidate object in the neighborhood region by the object tracking unit comparing feature-based similarities between the tracked object and the candidate object when objects in the first frame outnumber objects in the second frame, wherein the features are at least one of a group comprising size, aspect ratio, location in a scene, Histogram of Oriented Gradient (HOG), Scale-invariant feature transform (SIFT), HAAR like features, or Local Binary Pattern (LBP) of the object, as claimed.
Rittscher teaches generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds an object tracked in a first frame and a second frame, the neighborhood region being located within and smaller than an entirety of the first and second frames; and check the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects only in the neighborhood region, (see figure 1, numerical 24 that is a “two-dimensional area” and numerical 1 is the individuals, and paragraph 0052, wherein … system 10 detects … individuals are present in the counting area 24 “generate a neighborhood region that is a two-dimensional area that bounds” and are moving out of virtual gate 22, as is shown by histogram bar 50 at point a in FIG. 5 and shown in FIG. 6A. System 10 successfully counts all three individuals 44.sub.1, 44.sub.2 and 44.sub.3, as is shown by histogram bar 52 at point a in FIG. 5, “check the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects only in the neighborhood region” in spite of some occlusion while passing the virtual gate 22…), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the two references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of tracing objects/humans in images using image analysis. The teaching of Rittscher to consider an area within an image in order to track within the area can be incorporated into McCormack’s system as suggested (see paragraph 0006 region of interest), for suggestion, and modifying the system yields a system to count individuals in a specific region within an image (see Abstract), for motivation.
Ren in tracking humans in a video teaches perform a search of the neighborhood region in the first frame for determining a number of tracked objects in
perform an additional search of the neighborhood region in the second frame for determining and a number of candidate objects in (see figure 1, 101, 102 and 103 images of the same area, also see paragraph 0041, wherein … the data structure 1030 may therefore be used to count the people in the frames, track the people in the frames, or predict the future location of the people in the frames…);
and
wherein the features are at least one of a group comprising size, aspect ratio, location in a scene, Histogram of Oriented Gradient (HOG), Scale-invariant feature transform (SIFT), HAAR like features, or Local Binary Pattern (LBP) of the object, (see paragraph 0018, wherein … characteristics of the keypoints may be represented by descriptors such as a binary descriptor “binary pattern (LBP) of the object” or a vector of integers ...a motion vector determined based on the locations of the bounding boxes in the video images “location in a scene” …, and paragraph 0023, wherein …Patch descriptor techniques such as the HOG “Histogram of Oriented Gradient (HOG)” technique may effectively identify the bounding boxes 305-308 for the humans 105-108 …image 301…), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of tracing objects/humans in images using image analysis. The teaching of Ren to count the objects in first and second frames to calculate the future locations of the people and considering features like location, binary pattern and HOG for the purpose to obtain the correspondence between the first and second frames can be incorporated in to McCormack’s system as suggested in paragraph 0014 of McCormack (…if difference are determined ….investigate the difference…), and modifying the system yields identifying and tracking humans in a video (see Ren paragraph 0002), for motivation.
Xu in the same field teaches compare the number of tracked objects with the number of candidate objects only as a result of checking the number of tracked objects and the number of candidate objects , and if the number of tracked objects is different than the number of candidate objects, determine a correspondence between the tracked object in the neighborhood region and the candidate object in the neighborhood region by the object tracking unit comparing feature-based similarities between the tracked object and the candidate object when objects in the first frame outnumber objects in the second frame (see paragraphs 0050-0054, wherein in the conditions of the difference between the two frames are detailed [these condition are read as the numbers in the frame or the area is counted] i.e. comparison; see paragraph 0005, wherein, matching process “similarities” is performed using the features from each received blob and the objects identified in previous frames; paragraph 0050, wherein, …detect an occlusion, …status of objects in the current frame and the respective status of objects already being tracked… i.e. a condition “when” and paragraph 0051, …number of blobs in the incoming frame is less than the number of objects currently tracked “outnumbered objects”), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of tracing objects in images using image analysis. The teaching of Xu to compare them when there is any discrepancy between the frames can be incorporated in to McCormack’s system as suggested in paragraph 0014 of McCormack (…whether a threshold difference …exist…if difference are determined ….investigate the difference…), and modifying the system yields an intelligent surveillance system (see Xu paragraph 0034) for motivation.
With respect to claim 2, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses wherein the first frame is derived from at least one of a live video, an archived video stored in a data storage, or a recorded video, (see McCormack figure 1, numerical 105 camera), as claimed.
With respect to claim 3, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses wherein the object tracking system is a part of at least one of a group comprising a surveillance system, a security system, a retail system, a monitoring system and a business intelligence-based system, (see McCormack Abstract first two lines), as claimed.
With respect to claim 4, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses further comprising a classifier unit configured to classify any one of the object of the one or more objects in one or more categories, (see Xu paragraph 0006, classification block), as claimed.
With respect to claim 5, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses wherein the classifier classifies the object based on at least one feature of any one of the object, (see Xu paragraph 0006, wherein, …classified in terms of their resemblance…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 7, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses wherein the at least one object is detected by an object detection unit executing a blob detection or merging algorithm, (see Xu paragraph 0009, wherein, …match the newly detecte3d blobs in the incoming frame…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 8, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses further comprising a cost-function based model for tracking objects across video frames dependent on a lack of a correspondence issue of objects across frames, (see Xu paragraph 0050 wherein, …in order to detect an occlusion “a lack of a correspondence issue of objects across frames”…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 9, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu further discloses further comprising a dynamic state change between the feature-based or cost-function models for object tracking depending on object correspondence across frames, (see Xu paragraph 0017, wherein, …models can represent the respective color distribution…), as claimed.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections for claim 1, because claims 10 and 19 are claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in the exemplary claim 1.
Claims 11-14 and 16-18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 2-5 and 7-9, because claims 11-14 and 16-18 are claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in claims 2-5 and 7-9 respectively.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormack (US Pub. 2011/0149072) in view of Rittscher et al (US Pub. 2007/0003141), Ren et al (US Pub. 2016/0092727) and Xu et al (US Pub. 2008/0166045) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharma (US Pub. 2012/0148093).
With respect to claim 6, combination of McCormack, Rittscher, Ren and Xu discloses all the limitations as claimed and as rejected in claim 1 above. However, they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one object is tracked by a bounding box prediction using at least one of an optical flow, mean shift, or dense-sampling search, as claimed.
Sharma in the same field teaches wherein the at least one object is tracked by a bounding box prediction using at least one of an optical flow, mean shift, or dense-sampling search, (see figure 3B, numerical 324 “…bounding box size of each blob”), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of tracing objects in images using image analysis. The teaching of Sharma to use a bounding box for blob in order to track the object in a sequence of frames can be incorporated in to McCormack, Ren and Xu system as suggested in paragraph 0067 of McCormack (……track the object…), and modifying the system yields an intelligent surveillance system that incorporates a well-known technology (see Sharma paragraph 0001), for motivation.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claim 6, because claim 15 is claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in claim 6.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKKRAM BALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663