DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on October 2nd, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 1, 9, 23-24 and 35 have been amended.
The previously raised claim objection is withdrawn for claim 23 in light of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 2nd, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 15-17, 24, 26-27, 30-31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thul (Pub. No. US 2017/0111451); in view of Lingle et al. (Patent No. US 11,284,544), hereinafter Lingle; further in view of Eterovic Alliende et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0320948), hereinafter Eterovic; and further in view of Michaels et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0265069), hereinafter Michaels.
Claim 1. Thul discloses a data center monitoring system for detecting unauthorized access to a fixture in a data center, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween (See Fig. 12; schematic layout diagram of a data center including security devices configured to monitor and control access at the cabinet level. See Parag. [0008]; the cabinet architecture includes an extended chassis which houses servers and networking equipment in a traditional server rack mounting configuration, as well as a network enabled PDU. One or both of a front cabinet door and a back cabinet door includes a lock, camera, biometric device, or the like. The security devices interface with the PDU to allow remote monitoring and/or control of physical access to the network devices housed within the cabinet interior. See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; cabinet system 1300 includes a front door 1302 having a door lock 1306 and an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level), the data center monitoring system comprising:
a sensor configured to be located at the top edge of the fixture (See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level (as opposed to at the zone level). See Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device), wherein the sensor is towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture (See Parag [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis (i.e., the camera captures the bottom edge); security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis (as opposed to using a camera to secure an entire room). See Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device); and
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the sensor, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to receive a signal from the sensor indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet. In this way, the system may deter or even prevent unauthorized intrusion and the attendant cyber security risks. See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Thul doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening; an array of sensors; the sensors are configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals; and an interface associated with the fixture, the interface configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed.
However, Lingle discloses:
wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening (See Col. 35 lines 56-67 and Col. 36 lines 1-10 and Fig. 21b; the server rack 2100 includes a door 2104 that can be opened to obtain access to the server rack 2100 and the shelves 2102 (and/or other items) within the server rack 2100. While only one door 2104 is shown in the example of FIG. 21a, in some examples, there may be several doors 2104 (e.g., a front door and a back door, several front doors and several back doors, etc.) … In some examples, there may be no doors 2104. While not shown for the sake of simplicity, in some examples, the server rack 2100 may include apertures, holes, and/or perforations to facilitate airflow through the server rack 2100).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening, as taught by Lingle. This would be convenient to facilitate airflow through the server rack (Lingle, Col. 36 lines 7-10).
Eterovic discloses:
an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed); and
an interface associated with the fixture, the interface configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed (See Parag. [0046-0049]; the rack processors 210 may be further configured to determine the security status of the server rack 100 based on maintenance information. In this regard, the rack processors 210 may be configured to receive the maintenance information. For example, the maintenance information may be received from a maintenance ticketing system. The maintenance information may include maintenance requests, scheduled times for maintenance, authorized personnel to perform the maintenance, identity of the server computer to be serviced within the server rack, etc. As an example, the rack processors 210 may receive a maintenance request specifying that a server within server rack 100 is to be serviced at a scheduled time… The rack processors 210 may be configured to use the maintenance information to determine whether an entry is authorized or unauthorized. For instance, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, but there is no scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that an unauthorized entry has been made. Conversely, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, and that there is scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that the entry is authorized… The rack processors 210 may be configured to generate notifications or alerts based on the security statuses. In this regard, the rack signal analyzer 214 may also include instructions on whether notifications or alerts, if any, is to be generated. For example, a notification or alert may include the security status, such as a high risk level, and/or may include the underlying event corresponding to the security status, such as unauthorized entry).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an interface associated with the fixture, the interface configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient to detect, based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Michaels discloses:
sensors configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals (See Parag. [0032-0033]; container 105 breach detection may be accomplished, for example, via ultrasonic sensors and electromagnetic sensors included in sensors 120. These sensors may detect changes in the container structure. The ultrasonic sensors may be installed as a sparse array mounted to container 105's walls. The ultrasonic sensors may operate passively or actively. For example, the ultrasonic sensors may operate passively by listening for elastic waves in container 105's walls that may indicate an attempt to cut into the container. For passive operation, one or more sensors on each wall may be used as ultrasonic receivers to detect signals corresponding to "ultrasonic events". The ultrasonic sensors may operate actively by transmitting a signal (e.g. a pulse elastic wave) into the wall and then comparing the response due to the transmitted signal with a response from previously transmitted signals. Furthermore, the signal may be transmitted in the floor, roof, or in any other part of container 105 in which the signal may be transmitted and is not limited to the walls. Changes in the ultrasonic response to container 105's walls, for example, may indicate a new breach and may generate an alarm by processor 115 or controller 125. In other words, active operation may involve transmitting and receiving signals comprising ultrasonic waves in container 105's walls using various sensor (i.e. transducer) pairs that may be attached to the wall. Ultrasonic elastic waves are examples and the signals propagated into the walls may comprise other signal types. See Parag. [0035]; All sensors 120 may be integrated into a single monitoring system. Data fusion algorithms may be used to detect, locate, and estimate the severity of a breach or potential breach. The combination of the passive and active ultrasonic monitoring processes may provide a robust detection method for breach detection. Although shipping containers may be referenced above, embodiments of the invention may be applied to any enclosure. See Parag. [0041]; optical sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals, as taught by Michaels. This would be convenient to provide a robust detection method for breach detection (Michaels, Parag. [0035]).
Claim 2. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the fixture is a server rack or server cabinet (See Parag. [0050]; data center 1200 including a first room or zone 1202, a second zone 1204, and a third zone 1206. See Parag. [0051]; one or more zones each include one or more cabinet arrays 1214, with each array comprising any desired number of server cabinets 1216).
Claim 4. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the array of sensors or the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate a notification message to one or more remote devices (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet. The application receives and processes data from the one or more peripheral security devices associated with the monitored cabinet, and my provide real time status information, alerts, summary information, remote and/or local storage of logged events, to users on a desk top, mobile (e.g., tablet), or hand held device. The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet).
Claim 5. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the sensor is configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least one monitoring device (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 6. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the sensor is electrically connected to the at least one monitoring device via one or more cables (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 7. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is a controller (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet. The application receives and processes data from the one or more peripheral security devices associated with the monitored cabinet, and my provide real time status information, alerts, summary information, remote and/or local storage of logged events, to users on a desk top, mobile (e.g., tablet), or hand held device. The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet).
Claim 8. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is a computer (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet. The application receives and processes data from the one or more peripheral security devices associated with the monitored cabinet, and my provide real time status information, alerts, summary information, remote and/or local storage of logged events, to users on a desk top, mobile (e.g., tablet), or hand held device. The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet).
Claim 9. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses the system further comprising a plurality of sensor, each sensor coupled to a respective fixture (See Parag. [0050]; data center 1200 including a first room or zone 1202, a second zone 1204, and a third zone 1206. See Parag. [0051]; one or more zones each include one or more cabinet arrays 1214, with each array comprising any desired number of server cabinets 1216. See Parag. [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 10. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 9,
Thul further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of sensors (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet. The application receives and processes data from the one or more peripheral security devices associated with the monitored cabinet, and my provide real time status information, alerts, summary information, remote and/or local storage of logged events, to users on a desk top, mobile (e.g., tablet), or hand held device. The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet. See Parag [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis (i.e., the camera captures the bottom edge); security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 15. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses the system further comprising a camera for capturing one or more images of the fixture (See Parag [0052-0053]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis (as opposed to using a camera to secure an entire room. The camera 1304 may comprise any suitable audio, video, and/or motion surveillance device).
Claim 16. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the interface comprises an access control point coupled to the fixture and configured to control access to the fixture (See Parag. [0053]; Door lock 1306 may comprise any suitable latching or locking mechanism ... See Parag. [0057]; detecting a change in status of the door lock, when an authorized or unauthorized user engages the door lock in an attempt to gain access to the interior of the cabinet. The user may unlock the lock directly; alternatively, a second level of approval (e.g., password) may be required from a remote administrator. In this regard the method may require one or more verification (e.g., biometric) steps to confirm the user's identity before granting access to the cabinet interior. See also Parag. [0059]; monitoring the closing and/or relocking of the cabinet door when the access session is terminated; the lock may be remotely secured in the event the user forgets to or otherwise fails to properly secure the cabinet door when finished).
Claim 17. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 16,
Eterovic further discloses wherein the access control point is configured to communicate with an electronic key for arming or disarming the array of sensors (See Parag. [0046-0049]; the rack processors 210 may be further configured to determine the security status of the server rack 100 based on maintenance information. In this regard, the rack processors 210 may be configured to receive the maintenance information. For example, the maintenance information may be received from a maintenance ticketing system. The maintenance information may include maintenance requests, scheduled times for maintenance, authorized personnel to perform the maintenance, identity of the server computer to be serviced within the server rack, etc. As an example, the rack processors 210 may receive a maintenance request specifying that a server within server rack 100 is to be serviced at a scheduled time… The rack processors 210 may be configured to use the maintenance information to determine whether an entry is authorized or unauthorized. For instance, if the rack processor 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, but there is no scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that an unauthorized entry has been made. Conversely, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, and that there is scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that the entry is authorized… The rack processors 210 may be configured to generate notifications or alerts based on the security statuses. In this regard, the rack signal analyzer 214 may also include instructions on whether notifications or alerts, if any, is to be generated. For example, a notification or alert may include the security status, such as a high risk level, and/or may include the underlying event corresponding to the security status, such as unauthorized entry)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include wherein the access control point is configured to communicate with an electronic key for arming or disarming the array of sensors, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient to detect, based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 24. Thul discloses a method for monitoring a data center for detecting unauthorized access to a fixture, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween (See Fig. 12; schematic layout diagram of a data center including security devices configured to monitor and control access at the cabinet level. See Parag. [0008]; the cabinet architecture includes an extended chassis which houses servers and networking equipment in a traditional server rack mounting configuration, as well as a network enabled PDU. One or both of a front cabinet door and a back cabinet door includes a lock, camera, biometric device, or the like. The security devices interface with the PDU to allow remote monitoring and/or control of physical access to the network devices housed within the cabinet interior. See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; cabinet system 1300 includes a front door 1302 having a door lock 1306 and an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level), the method comprising:
a sensor towards the bottom edge of the fixture with sensor located at the top edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture (See Parag [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis (i.e., the camera captures the bottom edge); security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis (as opposed to using a camera to secure an entire room); See Parag. [0057]; detecting a change in status of the door lock… unauthorized user engages the door lock in an attempt to gain access to the interior of the cabinet); and
receiving a signal at a monitoring device from the sensor indicative of the unauthorized access attempt (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet. In this way, the system may deter or even prevent unauthorized intrusion and the attendant cyber security risks. See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Thul doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor is transmitting a signal; wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening; an array of sensors; the transmitted signals are optical signals; and receiving a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed.
However, Lingle discloses: wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening (See Col. 35 lines 56-67 and Col. 36 lines 1-10 and Fig. 21b; the server rack 2100 includes a door 2104 that can be opened to obtain access to the server rack 2100 and the shelves 2102 (and/or other items) within the server rack 2100. While only one door 2104 is shown in the example of FIG. 21a, in some examples, there may be several doors 2104 (e.g., a front door and a back door, several front doors and several back doors, etc.) … In some examples, there may be no doors 2104. While not shown for the sake of simplicity, in some examples, the server rack 2100 may include apertures, holes, and/or perforations to facilitate airflow through the server rack 2100).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening, as taught by Lingle. This would be convenient to facilitate airflow through the server rack (Lingle, Col. 36 lines 7-10).
Eterovic discloses:
an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed); and
receiving a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed (See Parag. [0046-0049]; the rack processors 210 may be further configured to determine the security status of the server rack 100 based on maintenance information. In this regard, the rack processors 210 may be configured to receive the maintenance information. For example, the maintenance information may be received from a maintenance ticketing system. The maintenance information may include maintenance requests, scheduled times for maintenance, authorized personnel to perform the maintenance, identity of the server computer to be serviced within the server rack, etc. As an example, the rack processors 210 may receive a maintenance request specifying that a server within server rack 100 is to be serviced at a scheduled time… The rack processors 210 may be configured to use the maintenance information to determine whether an entry is authorized or unauthorized. For instance, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, but there is no scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that an unauthorized entry has been made. Conversely, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, and that there is scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that the entry is authorized… The rack processors 210 may be configured to generate notifications or alerts based on the security statuses. In this regard, the rack signal analyzer 214 may also include instructions on whether notifications or alerts, if any, is to be generated. For example, a notification or alert may include the security status, such as a high risk level, and/or may include the underlying event corresponding to the security status, such as unauthorized entry).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door covering the access opening, and receiving a signal for arming or disarming the array of sensors, the array of sensors configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture when armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the fixture when disarmed, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient to detect, based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Michaels discloses sensor is transmitting a signal and the transmitted signals are optical signals (See Parag. [0032-0033]; container 105 breach detection may be accomplished, for example, via ultrasonic sensors and electromagnetic sensors included in sensors 120. These sensors may detect changes in the container structure. The ultrasonic sensors may be installed as a sparse array mounted to container 105's walls. The ultrasonic sensors may operate passively or actively. For example, the ultrasonic sensors may operate passively by listening for elastic waves in container 105's walls that may indicate an attempt to cut into the container. For passive operation, one or more sensors on each wall may be used as ultrasonic receivers to detect signals corresponding to "ultrasonic events". The ultrasonic sensors may operate actively by transmitting a signal (e.g. a pulse elastic wave) into the wall and then comparing the response due to the transmitted signal with a response from previously transmitted signals. Furthermore, the signal may be transmitted in the floor, roof, or in any other part of container 105 in which the signal may be transmitted and is not limited to the walls. Changes in the ultrasonic response to container 105's walls, for example, may indicate a new breach and may generate an alarm by processor 115 or controller 125. In other words, active operation may involve transmitting and receiving signals comprising ultrasonic waves in container 105's walls using various sensor (i.e. transducer) pairs that may be attached to the wall. Ultrasonic elastic waves are examples and the signals propagated into the walls may comprise other signal types. See Parag. [0035]; All sensors 120 may be integrated into a single monitoring system. Data fusion algorithms may be used to detect, locate, and estimate the severity of a breach or potential breach. The combination of the passive and active ultrasonic monitoring processes may provide a robust detection method for breach detection. Although shipping containers may be referenced above, embodiments of the invention may be applied to any enclosure. See Parag. [0041]; optical sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals, as taught by Michaels. This would be convenient to provide a robust detection method for breach detection (Michaels, Parag. [0035]).
Claim 26. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul discloses wherein the sensor is arranged along an entire width of the top edge of the fixture (See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level (as opposed to at the zone level). Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 27. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein a field of view of the sensors is adjustable (See Parag. [0058]; Once access is granted, an audio/video or other record may be recorded and stored (Task 1512) for the entire session during which the cabinet is opened, including event logs for all actions taken with respect to equipment added to, removed from, or otherwise manipulated or configured within the cabinet (Task 1514). This may include live streaming to remote viewers of the entire access session, which may also involve the use of multiple cameras movable about multiple respective axes to ensure that all relevant activities are observed and recorded).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 30. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses the system further comprising a sensor, wherein the top edge of the fixture defines a top surface having a front edge and a rear edge, and wherein one of the plurality of sensor is located at the front edge and another of the plurality sensor is located at the rear edge (See Parag. [0051]; Each cabinet 1216 may include one or both of a front door 1220 and a back door 1222, as well as respective front-side and back-side security devices… the security devices may be wireless or wired, and may include: video, audio, and or motion surveillance apparatus. See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; cabinet system 1300 includes a front door (also referred to as a frontside door) 1302 having a door lock 1306 and an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. See also Parag. [0008]; the cabinet architecture includes an extended chassis which houses servers and networking equipment in a traditional server rack mounting configuration, as well as a network enabled PDU. One or both of a front cabinet door and a back cabinet door includes a camera).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 31. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Eterovic further discloses wherein the interface is configured to receive a signal from the monitoring device for arming or disarming the array of sensors (See Parag. [0046-0049]; the rack processors 210 may be further configured to determine the security status of the server rack 100 based on maintenance information. In this regard, the rack processors 210 may be configured to receive the maintenance information. For example, the maintenance information may be received from a maintenance ticketing system. The maintenance information may include maintenance requests, scheduled times for maintenance, authorized personnel to perform the maintenance, identity of the server computer to be serviced within the server rack, etc. As an example, the rack processors 210 may receive a maintenance request specifying that a server within server rack 100 is to be serviced at a scheduled time… The rack processors 210 may be configured to use the maintenance information to determine whether an entry is authorized or unauthorized. For instance, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, but there is no scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that an unauthorized entry has been made. Conversely, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, and that there is scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that the entry is authorized… The rack processors 210 may be configured to generate notifications or alerts based on the security statuses. In this regard, the rack signal analyzer 214 may also include instructions on whether notifications or alerts, if any, is to be generated. For example, a notification or alert may include the security status, such as a high risk level, and/or may include the underlying event corresponding to the security status, such as unauthorized entry).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include wherein the interface is configured to receive a signal from the monitoring device for arming or disarming the array of sensors, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient to detect, based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 33. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Thul further discloses wherein the sensor is contained within a single assembly configured to be mounted to the fixture with a bracket (See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level (as opposed to at the zone level). Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device).
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 34. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Eterovic further discloses wherein the array of sensors is configured to detect access attempts to the fixture when both armed and disarmed (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed. See Parag. [0046-0049]).
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors configured to detect access attempts to the fixture when both armed and disarmed instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 35. Thul discloses a data center monitoring system for detecting unauthorized access to a fixture in a data center, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween (See Fig. 12; schematic layout diagram of a data center including security devices configured to monitor and control access at the cabinet level. See Parag. [0008]; the cabinet architecture includes an extended chassis which houses servers and networking equipment in a traditional server rack mounting configuration, as well as a network enabled PDU. One or both of a front cabinet door and a back cabinet door includes a lock, camera, biometric device, or the like. The security devices interface with the PDU to allow remote monitoring and/or control of physical access to the network devices housed within the cabinet interior. See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; cabinet system 1300 includes a front door 1302 having a door lock 1306 and an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level), the data center monitoring system comprising:
a sensor configured to be located at the top edge of the fixture (See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level (as opposed to at the zone level). Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device), wherein the sensor is towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture (See Parag [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis (i.e., the camera captures the bottom edge); security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis (as opposed to using a camera to secure an entire room); and
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the array of sensors, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to receive a signal from the array of sensors indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet. In this way, the system may deter or even prevent unauthorized intrusion and the attendant cyber security risks. See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Thul doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening; the sensor(s) configured to transmit a plurality of signals; an array of sensors; the transmitted signals are optical signals; wherein the array of sensors is contained within a single assembly configured to be mounted at the top edge of the fixture with a bracket.
However, Lingle discloses wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening (See Col. 35 lines 56-67 and Col. 36 lines 1-10 and Fig. 21b; the server rack 2100 includes a door 2104 that can be opened to obtain access to the server rack 2100 and the shelves 2102 (and/or other items) within the server rack 2100. While only one door 2104 is shown in the example of FIG. 21a, in some examples, there may be several doors 2104 (e.g., a front door and a back door, several front doors and several back doors, etc.) … In some examples, there may be no doors 2104. While not shown for the sake of simplicity, in some examples, the server rack 2100 may include apertures, holes, and/or perforations to facilitate airflow through the server rack 2100).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening, as taught by Lingle. This would be convenient to facilitate airflow through the server rack (Lingle, Col. 36 lines 7-10).
Eterovic discloses:
an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed); and
wherein the sensors is contained within a single assembly configured to be mounted at the top edge of the fixture with a bracket (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door covering the access opening, and wherein the array of sensors is contained within a single assembly configured to be mounted at the top edge of the fixture with a bracket, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Michaels discloses the sensor(s) configured to transmit a plurality of signals; and the transmitted signals are optical signals (See Parag. [0032-0033]; container 105 breach detection may be accomplished, for example, via ultrasonic sensors and electromagnetic sensors included in sensors 120. These sensors may detect changes in the container structure. The ultrasonic sensors may be installed as a sparse array mounted to container 105's walls. The ultrasonic sensors may operate passively or actively. For example, the ultrasonic sensors may operate passively by listening for elastic waves in container 105's walls that may indicate an attempt to cut into the container. For passive operation, one or more sensors on each wall may be used as ultrasonic receivers to detect signals corresponding to "ultrasonic events". The ultrasonic sensors may operate actively by transmitting a signal (e.g. a pulse elastic wave) into the wall and then comparing the response due to the transmitted signal with a response from previously transmitted signals. Furthermore, the signal may be transmitted in the floor, roof, or in any other part of container 105 in which the signal may be transmitted and is not limited to the walls. Changes in the ultrasonic response to container 105's walls, for example, may indicate a new breach and may generate an alarm by processor 115 or controller 125. In other words, active operation may involve transmitting and receiving signals comprising ultrasonic waves in container 105's walls using various sensor (i.e. transducer) pairs that may be attached to the wall. Ultrasonic elastic waves are examples and the signals propagated into the walls may comprise other signal types. See Parag. [0035]; All sensors 120 may be integrated into a single monitoring system. Data fusion algorithms may be used to detect, locate, and estimate the severity of a breach or potential breach. The combination of the passive and active ultrasonic monitoring processes may provide a robust detection method for breach detection. Although shipping containers may be referenced above, embodiments of the invention may be applied to any enclosure. See Parag. [0041]; optical sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals, as taught by Michaels. This would be convenient to provide a robust detection method for breach detection (Michaels, Parag. [0035]).
Claims 19-21, 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thul (Pub. No. US 2017/0111451); Lingle et al. (Patent No. US 11,284,544), hereinafter Lingle; further in view of Eterovic Alliende et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0320948), hereinafter Eterovic; further in view of Michaels et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0265069), hereinafter Michaels; and further in view of Patterson et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0294088), hereinafter Patterson.
Claim 19. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose the system further comprising a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the sensors, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the plurality of optical signals back to the sensors.
However, Patterson discloses a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the sensors, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the plurality of optical signals back to sensors (See Fig. 2 and Parag. [0023]; one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 are retroreflectors. A retroreflector is a device or surface that reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. See also Parag. [0028]; a reflected optical signal from one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 is monitored by a processing element (e.g. a processing element associated with the optical transceiver 110). Disturbances associated with the reflected optical signal are then used to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the at least one optical signal back to the at least one sensor, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 20. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, Michaels, and Patterson discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 19,
Patterson further discloses wherein the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape (See Parag. [0024] and Fig. 3; reflector element 300 is a retroreflector, meaning that it reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. Reflector element 300 can be comprised of a plurality of transparent optical beads or microspheres 302. Accordingly, an optical wave which arrives at the reflector element 300 in a first vector direction is reflected back along a second vector direction that is parallel to but opposite to the transmit vector direction. The microspheres can be secured or embedded in a binder material 304 in a random or predetermined pattern. The binder material 304 can be a colorless clear paint, a flexible substrate in the form of a tape with adhesive disposed on one surface to secure the tape to a surface, or any other suitable material that is capable of securing the microspheres in a location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 21. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the plurality of optical signals.
However, Patterson discloses wherein the sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the plurality of optical signals (See Parag. [0029]; a disturbance associated with a reflected optical signal can comprise an interruption or disruption of the reflected signal such that the presence of the reflected signal is no longer detected at the optical transceiver 110. As an example, such an interruption in the reflected optical signal could occur when a door 108 moves from a closed position to an open position. When this occurs, the reflector element 116 is rotated with the door 108 to an orientation in which it is no longer able to effectively reflect a transmitted optical signal to the optical receiver 112. See also Parag. [0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include a detecting an interruption in the optical signal, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 23. Thul discloses a data center monitoring system comprising:
a server rack located in a data center, wherein the server rack defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween (See Fig. 12; schematic layout diagram of a data center including security devices configured to monitor and control access at the cabinet level. See Parag. [0008]; the cabinet architecture includes an extended chassis which houses servers and networking equipment in a traditional server rack mounting configuration, as well as a network enabled PDU. One or both of a front cabinet door and a back cabinet door includes a lock, camera, biometric device, or the like. The security devices interface with the PDU to allow remote monitoring and/or control of physical access to the network devices housed within the cabinet interior. See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; cabinet system 1300 includes a front door 1302 having a door lock 1306 and an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. The aforementioned security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level); at least one sensor configured to be located at the top edge of the server rack (See Parag. [0052] and Fig. 13; an audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis. Parag. [0053] that the camera may comprise a motion surveillance device), the at least one sensor is towards the bottom edge for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the server rack (See Parag [0052]; audiovisual sensor (e.g., camera) 1304 suitably mounted proximate a top portion of the cabinet chassis (i.e., the camera captures the bottom edge); security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis (as opposed to using a camera to secure an entire room); See Parag. [0057]; detecting a change in status of the door lock… unauthorized user engages the door lock in an attempt to gain access to the interior of the cabinet);
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the at least one sensor, the at least one monitoring device configured to receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of an unauthorized access attempt into the server rack due to an interruption in the wireless signal (See Parag. [0010]; a software application running on a server (monitoring device) which may be local to or remote from the monitored cabinet... The application may also be configured to interact with the security devices to thereby remotely control access to the cabinet. In this way, the system may deter or even prevent unauthorized intrusion and the attendant cyber security risks. See Parag. [0051]; the security devices may be wireless or wired. See Parag. [0052]; security devices may be configured to provide access monitoring and control at the cabinet level; by mounting a dedicated camera and/or lock on each cabinet, access may be remotely monitored and/or controlled on a per cabinet basis).
Thul doesn’t explicitly discloses wherein the server rack does not have a door configured to cover the access opening; at least one sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal; an access control point mounted to the server rack, the access control point configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming the at least one sensor configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is disarmed; and a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is a retroreflective tape configured to reflect the wireless signal back to the at least one sensor.
However, Lingle discloses wherein the server rack does not have a door configured to cover the access opening (See Col. 35 lines 56-67 and Col. 36 lines 1-10 and Fig. 21b; the server rack 2100 includes a door 2104 that can be opened to obtain access to the server rack 2100 and the shelves 2102 (and/or other items) within the server rack 2100. While only one door 2104 is shown in the example of FIG. 21a, in some examples, there may be several doors 2104 (e.g., a front door and a back door, several front doors and several back doors, etc.) … In some examples, there may be no doors 2104. While not shown for the sake of simplicity, in some examples, the server rack 2100 may include apertures, holes, and/or perforations to facilitate airflow through the server rack 2100).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul in view of Eterovic, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, wherein the fixture does not have a door configured to cover the access opening, as taught by Lingle. This would be convenient to facilitate airflow through the server rack (Lingle, Col. 36 lines 7-10).
Eterovic discloses:
an access control point mounted to the server rack, the access control point configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming, the at least one sensor configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is disarmed (See Parag. [0046-0049]; the rack processors 210 may be further configured to determine the security status of the server rack 100 based on maintenance information. In this regard, the rack processors 210 may be configured to receive the maintenance information. For example, the maintenance information may be received from a maintenance ticketing system. The maintenance information may include maintenance requests, scheduled times for maintenance, authorized personnel to perform the maintenance, identity of the server computer to be serviced within the server rack, etc. As an example, the rack processors 210 may receive a maintenance request specifying that a server within server rack 100 is to be serviced at a scheduled time… The rack processors 210 may be configured to use the maintenance information to determine whether an entry is authorized or unauthorized. For instance, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, but there is no scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that an unauthorized entry has been made. Conversely, if the rack processors 210 determine based on the sensor signals that the door 104 is being opened, and that there is scheduled maintenance at the time, the rack processors 210 may determine that the entry is authorized… The rack processors 210 may be configured to generate notifications or alerts based on the security statuses. In this regard, the rack signal analyzer 214 may also include instructions on whether notifications or alerts, if any, is to be generated. For example, a notification or alert may include the security status, such as a high risk level, and/or may include the underlying event corresponding to the security status, such as unauthorized entry).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include wherein the fixture does not have a door covering the access opening, and an access control point mounted to the server rack, the access control point configured to receive a signal for arming or disarming the at the access control point, the at least one sensor configured to detect an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is armed and to allow an authorized access attempt to the server rack when the access control point is disarmed, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient to detect, based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
Michaels discloses at least one sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal (See Parag. [0032-0033]; container 105 breach detection may be accomplished, for example, via ultrasonic sensors and electromagnetic sensors included in sensors 120. These sensors may detect changes in the container structure. The ultrasonic sensors may be installed as a sparse array mounted to container 105's walls. The ultrasonic sensors may operate passively or actively. For example, the ultrasonic sensors may operate passively by listening for elastic waves in container 105's walls that may indicate an attempt to cut into the container. For passive operation, one or more sensors on each wall may be used as ultrasonic receivers to detect signals corresponding to "ultrasonic events". The ultrasonic sensors may operate actively by transmitting a signal (e.g. a pulse elastic wave) into the wall and then comparing the response due to the transmitted signal with a response from previously transmitted signals. Furthermore, the signal may be transmitted in the floor, roof, or in any other part of container 105 in which the signal may be transmitted and is not limited to the walls. Changes in the ultrasonic response to container 105's walls, for example, may indicate a new breach and may generate an alarm by processor 115 or controller 125. In other words, active operation may involve transmitting and receiving signals comprising ultrasonic waves in container 105's walls using various sensor (i.e. transducer) pairs that may be attached to the wall. Ultrasonic elastic waves are examples and the signals propagated into the walls may comprise other signal types. See Parag. [0035]; All sensors 120 may be integrated into a single monitoring system. Data fusion algorithms may be used to detect, locate, and estimate the severity of a breach or potential breach. The combination of the passive and active ultrasonic monitoring processes may provide a robust detection method for breach detection. Although shipping containers may be referenced above, embodiments of the invention may be applied to any enclosure. See Parag. [0041]; optical sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul, to include a sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal, as taught by Michaels. This would be convenient to provide a robust detection method for breach detection (Michaels, Parag. [0035])
Paterson discloses:
a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is a retroreflective tape configured to reflect the wireless signal back to the at least one sensor (See Fig. 2 and Parag. [0023]; one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 are retroreflectors. A retroreflector is a device or surface that reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. See also Parag. [0028]; a reflected optical signal from one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 is monitored by a processing element (e.g. a processing element associated with the optical transceiver 110). Disturbances associated with the reflected optical signal are then used to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms. See Parag. [0024] and Fig. 3; reflector element 300 is a retroreflector, meaning that it reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. Reflector element 300 can be comprised of a plurality of transparent optical beads or microspheres 302. Accordingly, an optical wave which arrives at the reflector element 300 in a first vector direction is reflected back along a second vector direction that is parallel to but opposite to the transmit vector direction. The microspheres can be secured or embedded in a binder material 304 in a random or predetermined pattern. The binder material 304 can be a colorless clear paint, a flexible substrate in the form of a tape with adhesive disposed on one surface to secure the tape to a surface, or any other suitable material that is capable of securing the microspheres in a location).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Thul in view of Eterovic, to include a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor wherein the reflective component is a retroreflective tape, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 29. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, Michaels, and Patterson discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 19,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reflective component is located along the bottom edge of the fixture.
However, Patterson discloses wherein the reflective component is located along the bottom edge of the fixture (See Fig. 2 and Parag. [0023]; one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 are retroreflectors. A retroreflector is a device or surface that reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. See also Parag. [0028]; a reflected optical signal from one or more of the reflector elements 114, 116, 126 is monitored by a processing element (e.g. a processing element associated with the optical transceiver 110). Disturbances associated with the reflected optical signal are then used to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system, taught by the combination, to include a located along the bottom edge of the fixture, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thul (Pub. No. US 2017/0111451); in view of Lingle et al. (Patent No. US 11,284,544), hereinafter Lingle; further in view of Eterovic Alliende et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0320948), hereinafter Eterovic; further in view of Michaels et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0265069), hereinafter Michaels; further in view of Patterson et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0294088), hereinafter Patterson; and further in view of Kare et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0131449), hereinafter Kare.
Claim 22. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, Michaels, and Patterson discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 21,
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the plurality of optical signals using time of flight.
However, Kare discloses wherein the sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal using time of flight (See Parag. [0138]; the time delay is determined between the leading or trailing edge of the emitted time-varying optical signal and the corresponding edge of the returned signal (i.e., the pulsed output). The phase of the returned signal is compared to the phase of the emitted time-varying optical signal to determine the time-of-flight delay. See also Parag. [0140][0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include detecting interruption in the optical signal using time of flight, as taught by Kare. This would be convenient to account for a sensor that is malfunctioning or is consistently providing object-intrusion indication (Kare, Parag. [0103]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thul (Pub. No. US 2017/0111451); in view of Lingle et al. (Patent No. US 11,284,544), hereinafter Lingle; further in view of Eterovic Alliende et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0320948), hereinafter Eterovic; further in view of Michaels et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0265069), hereinafter Michaels; and further in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0018855), hereinafter Liu.
Claim 28. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the array of sensors is configured to define a light curtain between the top edge and the bottom edge of the fixture.
However, Liu discloses wherein the array of sensors is configured to define a light curtain between the top edge and the bottom edge of the fixture (See Parag. [0047]; multiple singlepoint ToF laser radars can form a single-point ToF array and be disposed on the rack. Specifically, the single-point ToF array may be disposed on a top edge, a bottom edge, and an edge side of either one of the left and right sides of the rack, and the multiple single-point ToF laser radars combine to form a “light curtain” covering the exhibition surface of the rack).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the server rack, taught by the combination, to include light curtain, as taught by Liu. This would be convenient to monitor various items displayed on the rack. If there is a target object (an object capable of taking the item actively, such as a person, a robot, etc.) taking an item on the rack, the target object will inevitably touch the “light curtain” formed by the laser radar in front of the exhibition surface, thereby being detected by the oneline scanning laser radar, and corresponding sensing information is generated (Liu, Parag. [0043]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thul (Pub. No. US 2017/0111451); in view of Lingle et al. (Patent No. US 11,284,544), hereinafter Lingle; further in view of Eterovic Alliende et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0320948), hereinafter Eterovic; further in view of Michaels et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0265069), hereinafter Michaels; and further in view of Barr et al. (Patent No. US 10,706,703), hereinafter Barr.
Claim 32. Thul in view of Lingle, Eterovic, and Michaels discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Eterovic further discloses an array of sensors (See Parag. [0029]; The server rack 100 may be provided with one or more sensors 140. The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104, on or near the mesh screens 105, on or near the locks 106. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 140 may be positioned on the server computers 110, 120, 130 themselves. The sensors 140 may include motion sensors, contact sensors, optical sensors, capacitive sensors, vibration sensors, pressure sensors, etc. The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks), motions of objects or persons inside the server rack 100, etc. As an example, motion or optical sensors on or near the doors 104 may generate signals when the doors 104 are moved, which may indicate whether the doors 104 are open or closed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the audiovisual sensor system mounted on the top of the cabinet chassis to detect unauthorized access, taught by Thul, to include an array of sensors instead of a single sensor, as taught by Eterovic. This would be convenient detect based on the sensor signals, an unauthorized entry to the server rack, wherein the security status indicates that an unauthorized entry has been detected (Eterovic, Parag. [0005]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein sensor is configured to detect unauthorized tampering of the sensor.
However, Barr discloses wherein sensor is configured to detect unauthorized tampering of the sensor (See Col. 16 lines 60-64; a housing may include a tamper-resistant sensor that is operable to detect magnetic tampering with a breach sensor mounted on a door of the housing, the tamper-resistant sensor being in electronic communication with the controller. See Col. 22 lines 37-41; The anti-tampering sensor(s) may detect magnetic tamper attempts near the at least one housing door sensor 125. If the anti-tampering sensor(s) detect a magnetic tamper event, a signal may be sent by the anti-tampering sensor(s) to the controller 110 indicating a tampering event).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system, taught by the combination, to include configuring the array of sensors to detect unauthorized tampering of the array of sensors, as taught by Barr. This would be convenient to protect from unauthorized entry to the premises (Barr, Col. 1 line 29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
Whitney (Pub. No. US 2009/0015405) - relates to surveillance system sensors, and, more particularly, to an arrangement for detecting tampering with a surveillance system sensor.
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499