DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 2/13/2026 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 form.
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 2/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6-12 and 15-22 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
New/Maintained Claim Objection(s) / Rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-12 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the coating comprises an absorbable polymer, and further wherein the coating is formed from combinations of copolymers and multimers derived from polymers structured from 1-lactide, glycolide, e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone and trimethylene carbonate”. The instant specification disclose the coating comprises an absorbable polymer or lipid which breaks down as the nanoparticle travels from the site of insertion to the site of the tumor. By way of example but not limitation, the coating can be created from combinations of copolymers and multimers derived from polymers structured from 1-lactide, glycolide, e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and trimethylene carbonate. (see e.g. page 17). The combinations of copolymers and multimers derived from polymers structured from 1-lactide, glycolide, e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone and trimethylene carbonate are absorbable polymers. The above recitation of claim 1 makes it unclear whether the nanoparticle requires an additional absorbable polymer which is in addition to the combination of copolymer and multimers recited in the claim or whether the combination of copolymer and multimers (which are absorbable polymers) are recited to specify the specific absorbable polymer that are included and the coating does not require an additional absorbable polymer which is in addition to the combination of copolymer and multimers. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets that the combination of copolymer and multimers (which are absorbable polymers) are recited to specify the specific absorbable polymer that are included and the coating does not require an additional absorbable polymer which is in addition to the combination of copolymer and multimers.
Claims 6-12 and 15-22 are included in the rejection as they depend on a rejected base claim and do not clarify the issues discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-11, 15-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calabresi et al. (US20030078257), Eschenburg et al. (Genes&Cancer, 2014, 5(11-12), 460-469, from parent application), Dhar et al. (PNAS, 2014, 111(29), 10444-10449), Pfirrmann et al. (US20130089606, from parent app.), DeCroes (MS Thesis, Clemson, 2014 from parent app.), Ma et al. (ACS Nano, 2013, 7(11), 9518-9525, from parent app.), Sinha (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 278 (2004) 1-23), Liu (Biomaterials 32 (2011) 6646-6654) and Sanson (Journal of Controlled Release 147 (2010) 428-435).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, and 15, Calabresi teaches identifying a human suffering from cancer and administering taurolidine in dosages of 0.1 mg/kg to 150 mg/kg which reads on the claimed ranges of 5 mg/kg to 60 mg/kg in juvenile mammals (because as demonstrated by applicants a dosage of 80 mg/kg which falls well within the preferred dosage range of taurolidine for treating cancer taught by Calabresi and would be a Human effective dose (HED) and a human child effective dose would be the HED*(25/37) which equals= 54 mg/kg, and further teaches wherein the cancer being treated is neuroblastoma. Further, it would be obvious to treat the claimed neuroblastoma tumors with taurolidine because it was already known in the art to treat neuroblastoma tumor(s) with the same/overlapping doses of taurolidine that are instantly claimed. Thus, because Calabresi specifically teaches that neuroblastoma tumors can be treated with the same/overlapping doses of taurolidine as is instantly claimed it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use taurolidine in the treatment of all neuroblastoma cancers since the prior art teaches that taurolidine is effective for treating neuroblastoma. Calabresi further teaches wherein the taurolidine is administered systemically, specifically intravenously, orally, or intramuscularly as a single agent and they teach wherein it was administered daily to twice weekly to humans/mammals ([0004]; [0034-0035, human patients]; Abstract; [0079]; [0090]; Claims 1, 3, 13, 15). Regarding claims 16-18, Calabresi further teaches wherein taurolidine is useful for treating cancer, specifically neuroblastomas, in combination with additional chemotherapeutic agents, e.g. alkylating agents, and/or radiation therapy (See ([0004]; [0034-0035, human patients]; Abstract; [0079]; Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 13, 15; [0030]; [0007]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 1, 6-11, 15-19, and 21, Calabresi does not teach wherein the taurolidine is in nanoparticles comprising a core of taurolidine and an external coating and wherein the coating comprises absorbable polymer formed from combinations of copolymers and multimers derived from polymers structured from 1-lactide, glycolide, e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone and trimethylene carbonate. These deficiencies in Calabresi are addressed by Dhar, Pfirmann, DeCroes, Sinha, Liu and Sanson.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Calabresi also does not teach wherein the at least one oncolytic agent is a platinum compound selected from cisplatin. However, this deficiency is also addressed by Dhar.
Dhar discusses nanoparticle formulation of cisplatin for cancer therapy (title; abstract). Dhar also disclosed PLGA-PEG nanoparticles (which read on the combination of lactide and glycolide in the coating) which contain cisplatin in the core and were known in the art to be used to target neuroblastoma, Platin-M formulations from Dhar and coworkers disclosed that the coating of the nanoparticle (core is the chemotherapeutic drug cisplatin) enabled delivery of the nanoparticles and the nanoparticles were targeted to the mitochondria of neuroblastoma cells and allowed for 17 times higher activity than the conventional cisplatin and wherein the nanoparticle is configured to delay release of the drug until the nanoparticles reaches the tumor, e.g. the coating is configured to prevent exposure of the drug prior to arrival of the nanoparticle to the tumor/site of the tumor (See abstract; Efficacy of Platin-M and NPs in neuroblastoma and cisplatin-resistant cells section, pg. 10447 right col-10448 top of right col. Inclusive).
Pfirrmann, which was directed generally to taurolidine administration (Abstract) disclosed that microparticles (e.g. in the form of microcapsules which encapsulate cores of taurolidine) of taurolidine can be administered orally or intravenously to treat neoplastic disease/cancers, specifically neuroblastoma ([0030]; [0043]). Pfirrmann further disclosed that taurolidine can be co-administered with another medication(s), e.g. chemotherapeutic agents. ([0033], [0047]).
DeCroes teaches that nanoparticles carry therapeutic agents throughout the body and protect them from degradation. Specifically, DeCroes teaches that by encapsulating cancer therapeutic agents the drug is not exposed to the body and therefore is not released until it reaches the target, e.g. a tumor, and that nanoparticles have a much higher therapeutic half-life (See pg. 17, bridging paragraph to pg. 18) and that for further targeting of the drug to the tumor/cancer site peptides, antibodies, etc. can be attached to the nanoparticles to increase their uptake affinity, e.g. MGMT for neuroblastoma (pg. 18; Abstract; General introduction; Neuroblastoma general physiology section; pg. 11; pg. 14).
Sinha teaches poly-e-caprolactone (PCL) microspheres and nanospheres. Sinha teaches PCL is a biodegradable, biocompatible and semicrystalline polymer. Due to its slow degradation, PCL is ideally suitable for long-term delivery. This has led to its application in the preparation of different delivery systems in the form of microspheres and nanospheres. Various categories of drugs have been encapsulated in PCL for targeted drug delivery and for controlled drug release. Microspheres of PCL either alone or of PCL copolymers have been prepared to obtain the drug release and PCL have an exception ability to form blends with other polymers. PCL is suitable for controlled drug delivery due to its high permeability to many drugs and non-toxicity. (see e.g. abstract; introduction; conclusion; sections 2., 4., and 5.; entire document).
Liu teaches Biodegradation, biocompatibility, and drug delivery in poly (w-pentadecalactone-co-p-dioxanone) (poly(PDL-co-DO) copolyesters, which are well are tolerated. The copolymers were found to degrade hydrolytically at controlled rates over a period of several months under physiological conditions. The poly(PDL-co-DO) copolymers with up to 69 mol% DO (dioxanone) units were successfully transformed to freestanding nanoparticles that are capable of encapsulating an anticancer drug, doxorubicin, or a polynucleotide, siRNA. Drug- or siRNA-loaded nanoparticles exhibited controlled and continuous release of agent over many weeks. Biodegradable poly(PDL-co-DO) copolyesters are promising biomaterials to serve as drug carriers. (see e.g. abstract; introduction; entire document).
Sanson teaches poly(trimethylene carbonate)-b-poly(L-glutamic acid) (PTMC-b-PGA) as carrier for the controlled delivery of doxorubicin, a model anticancer drug. Polymersomes obtained from the self-assembly of amphiphilic biodegradable PTMC-b-PGA block copolymers have been used as a drug delivery device for controlled release of doxorubicin (Dox), a model anticancer drug. These polymer vesicles proved capable of loading high drug quantities (up to 47% w/w) with a reasonable loading efficiency (between 50 and 70% w/w). Drug release from the vesicles was found to be sustained over 1 month. These features hold great promise for the development of PTMC-b-PGA polymersomes as viable drug delivery systems, as they combine several advantages: biocompatibility, degradability, high loading capability, stability in storage conditions, and sustained drug release.
Regarding claims 16-18, and 21, Calabresi does not specifically teach wherein the taurolidine is in combination with vinca alkaloids or wherein the taurolidine is specifically administered to juvenile humans/human children. However, this deficiency is addressed by Eschenburg.
Eschenburg teaches that the combination of vincristine and taurolidine was synergistic in neuroblastoma cells which reads on claim 21 and that neuroblastoma is the most common extracranial tumor in childhood (human childhood) and as such it would have been obvious to administer the taurolidine and/or taurolidine/vincristine combination to human children suffering from neuroblastoma as is instantly claimed (See entire document; Abstract; Introduction; Apoptosis induction of TRD in combination with Vincristine and Doxorubicin section; Discussion section).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to use taurolidine in the instantly claimed method of treating neuroblastoma in juvenile mammals, specifically human children, because it was known in the art that neuroblastoma is a cancer that primarily affects human children as is taught by Eschenburg. Further, it would have been obvious to administer the claimed dosages via the claimed routes of administration because it was already known in the art to treat neuroblastoma with taurolidine in dosages which overlap the claimed ranges and via the same routes of administration instantly claimed as is taught by Calabresi and it was known in the art to optimize effective dosages of therapeutics to achieve effective treatment while reducing the side-effects of the drugs, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to use taurolidine, specifically in the PEG-PLGA nanoparticles (which also read on the combination of lactide and glycolide in the coating) of Dhar which are configured to delay release of their drug cargo until the reach the tumor/site of the tumor in order to develop the instantly claimed method of treating neuroblastoma in juvenile mammals, specifically human children, because it was known in the art that neuroblastoma is a cancer that primarily affects human children as is taught by the combined references above. Moreover, the disclosure of the combined references including Eschenburg demonstrates that combination of vincristine with taurolidine was known in the art to be synergistic tor treating neuroblastoma. Furthermore, the ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to combine prior art elements (nanoparticles comprising cisplatin as taught by Dhar with taurolidine taught by the combined references above (e.g. Calabresi and Eschenburg)) according to known methods to yield predictable results (treatment of neuroblastoma), especially since as is taught by Dhar and DeCroes it was known to configure nanoparticles to target neuroblastoma cells wherein the drugs are not released or exposed until they reach the tumor/site of the tumor and each of the claimed agents was already known in the art to be effective against neuroblastoma tumors/cells.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Dhar disclosed the efficacy of cisplatin-containing nanoparticles towards targeting neuroblastoma wherein the cisplatin was not released until it entered the tumor/reached the site of the tumor and was 17 times more active in neuroblastoma cells than conventional cisplatin, and the supplemental references disclosed anti-cancer effects of taurolidine or of combination of taurolidine with vincristine being synergistic. Further it was known to combine known effective agents against specific cancers in order to provide more effective combined treatments for cancer and as such it would be obvious to combine the taurolidine of Calabresi and Eschenburg into the nanoparticles of Dhar in order to provide a more effective nanoparticle formulation for targeting neuroblastoma especially since each agent was already known on its own to be effective again neuroblastoma tumors/cells and further it was known to add targeting moieties to the surfaces of the nanoparticles as is taught by Dhar and DeCroes to target the tumors to the site of the neuroblastoma tumor. One of ordinary skill in the would have further been motivated to do this for additional reasons besides improved treatment of neuroblastoma because it was known in the art to form blended nanoparticles comprising two chemically different active agents for treating cancer within the core of the nanoparticle as is taught by Ma which teaches that it was known in the art to combine disparate drugs into a single nanoparticle for delivery to patients, specifically they teach combinations of docetaxel with Pt(IV) coordination complexes or combinations of hydrophobic drugs, such as camptothecin, with the antibody trastuzumab (anti-HER2), along with hydrophilic drug doxil into the core of a nanoparticle (See pg. 3, paragraphs 1-2; Abstract). Consequently, the claimed invention, when taken as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, because the teachings of the prior art are fairly suggestive of the claimed invention especially since it was already known in the art to combine disparate drugs for treating cancer into the same core of a nanoparticle in order to form blended nanoparticles which enable simultaneous drug release in precisely balanced ratios and rates and in selectively targeted tissues in ceils (see Ma: Abstract; pg. 3, paragraphs 1-2. etc.), especially since the combined references discussed above, specifically Calabresi and Eschenburg, already teach that the drug combinations instantly claimed were known in the art to be useful and/or synergistic for treating/against neuroblastoma.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to further incorporate the teachings of Sinha, Liu and Sanson and incorporate copolymer/multimers derived from e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone and trimethylene carbonate onto the coating of PEG-PLGA nanoparticles taught by Dhar which is configured to delay release of their drug cargo until the reach the tumor/site of the tumor. As discussed supra, Sinha teaches poly-e-caprolactone (PCL) is a biodegradable, biocompatible and semicrystalline polymer. Due to its slow degradation, PCL is ideally suitable for long-term delivery. This has led to its application in the preparation of different delivery systems in the form of microspheres and nanospheres. Various categories of drugs have been encapsulated in PCL for targeted drug delivery and for controlled drug release. Microspheres of PCL either alone or of PCL copolymers have been prepared to obtain the drug release and PCL have an exception ability to form blends with other polymers. PCL is suitable for controlled drug delivery due to its high permeability to many drugs and non-toxicity. Liu teaches Biodegradation, biocompatibility, and drug delivery in poly (w-pentadecalactone-co-p-dioxanone) (poly(PDL-co-DO) copolyesters, which are well are tolerated. The copolymers were found to degrade hydrolytically at controlled rates over a period of several months under physiological conditions. The poly(PDL-co-DO) copolymers with up to 69 mol% DO (dioxanone) units were successfully transformed to freestanding nanoparticles that are capable of encapsulating an anticancer drug, doxorubicin, or a polynucleotide, siRNA. Drug- or siRNA-loaded nanoparticles exhibited controlled and continuous release of agent over many weeks. Biodegradable poly(PDL-co-DO) copolyesters are promising biomaterials to serve as drug carriers. (see e.g. abstract; introduction; entire document). Sanson teaches poly(trimethylene carbonate)-b-poly(L-glutamic acid) (PTMC-b-PGA) as carrier for the controlled delivery of doxorubicin, a model anticancer drug. Polymersomes obtained from the self-assembly of amphiphilic biodegradable PTMC-b-PGA block copolymers have been used as a drug delivery device for controlled release of doxorubicin (Dox), a model anticancer drug. These polymer vesicles proved capable of loading high drug quantities (up to 47% w/w) with a reasonable loading efficiency (between 50 and 70% w/w). Drug release from the vesicles was found to be sustained over 1 month. These features hold great promise for the development of PTMC-b-PGA polymersomes as viable drug delivery systems, as they combine several advantages: biocompatibility, degradability, high loading capability, stability in storage conditions, and sustained drug release. Thus, one skilled in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to include the claimed copolymer/multimers on the coating of the nanoparticles as these were all taught to be useful and a having many advantages (such as sustained/controlled release) in delivering various drugs to the site of the patient. As a general principle it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2144.06.
Finally, it would have been obvious to combine taurolidine containing nanoparticles as taught by the combined references with other chemotherapeutic agents, e.g. vincristine in order to treat neuroblastoma because Calabresi teaches it was known to combined taurolidine with other anticancer agents, and Eschenburg teaches that the combination of taurolidine with vincristine was known in the art to be synergistic against neuroblastoma cancer cells. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would combine taurolidine containing nanoparticles with other chemotherapeutics, specifically vincristine in order to form a more effective combination for treating neuroblastoma.
It also would have been obvious to dose the taurolidine containing nanoparticles as taught by the combined references from once daily through weekly as is instantly claimed because Calabresi teaches that it was known in the art to use taurolidine twice weekly in human patients suffering from other types of cancer and because Calabresi teaches that one of ordinary skill in the art can determine the effective doses of the taurolidine and as such can obviously determine the effective dosing regimens, e.g. once daily through weekly especially since it was already known in the art to administer taurolidine systemically, twice weekly to human patients for treating other cancers. Especially since as is taught by Calabresi determining the effective dosages, etc. is something that one of ordinary skill in the art routinely does with determining dosages/dosage regimens of anticancer agents (See [0034]; Clinical use example)
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calabresi et al. (US20030078257) and Eschenburg et al. (Genes&Cancer, 2014, 5(11-12), 460-469, from parent application), Dhar et al. (PNAS, 2014, 111(29), 10444-10449), Pfirrmann et al. (US20130089606, from parent app.), DeCroes (MS Thesis, Clemson, 2014 from parent app.), Ma et al. (ACS Nano, 2013, 7(11), 9518-9525, from parent app.), Sinha (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 278 (2004) 1-23), Liu (Biomaterials 32 (2011) 6646-6654) and Sanson (Journal of Controlled Release 147 (2010) 428-435) as applied to claims 1, 6-11, 15-18, and 21 above and further in view of, Veronese et al. (DDT, 2005, 10(21), 1451-1458), and Polaschegg (US20130085469).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The combined references together teach the method of claims 1, 6-11, 15-19, and 21 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 12, the combined references do not teach wherein the taurolidine is “pegylated” to delay premature hydrolysis. However, this deficiency in the combined references is addressed by Veronese and Polaschegg. Veronese teaches that “pegylation” of small molecule drugs, e.g. doxorubicin, camptothecin, taxol was known in the art to improve the solubility, pharmacokinetics (absorption, distribution, metabolism (includes hydrolysis), and excretion of the drug), and the targeting of these anticancer agents (See small-drug pegylation section pg. 1456).
Polaschegg teaches forming microparticles of taurolidine and coating them with PEG which would read on Pegylated taurolidine and one of ordinary skill in the art would want to use the pegylated taurolidine in the method of the combined references because Veronese teaches that pegylation of small molecule drugs improve their pharmacokinetics, e.g. allow the drug to keep circulating to reach the site of treatment without being prematurely metabolized (e.g. hydrolyzed) and excreted before it can reach the site that needs treatment.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to “pegylate” taurolidine contained in the nanoparticles to delay the hydrolysis of the drug in the body because Polaschegg teaches that pegylated microparticles of taurolidine were known in the art and as is taught by Veronese, pegylation of other small-molecule drugs, including chemotherapeutics such as doxorubicin was already known in the art to delay the hydrolysis and improve the solubility and pharmacokinetics of the drugs to which it is attached. Thus, this is not a new concept and would be something that one of ordinary skill would do in order to prolong the circulation of the taurolidine in the body so that it has time to work in persons in need of this drug therapy, e.g. cancer patients as is instantly claimed.
Claims 17, 19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calabresi et al. (US20030078257) and Eschenburg et al. (Genes&Cancer, 2014, 5(11-12), 460-469, from parent application), Dhar et al. (PNAS, 2014, 111(29), 10444-10449), Pfirrmann et al. (US20130089606, from parent app.), DeCroes (MS Thesis, Clemson, 2014 from parent app.), Ma et al. (ACS Nano, 2013, 7(11), 9518-9525, from parent app.), Sinha (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 278 (2004) 1-23), Liu (Biomaterials 32 (2011) 6646-6654) and Sanson (Journal of Controlled Release 147 (2010) 428-435) as applied to claims 1, 6-11, 15-19, and 21 above and further in view of Rubie et al. (Med. & Ped. Oncology, 2001, 247-250) and Kushner et al. (J. Clin. Oncol., 2006, 24(33), 5271-5276).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The combined references together teach the method of claims 1, 6-11, 15-19, and 21 as discussed above and incorporated herein. As discussed above, Calabresi teaches wherein taurolidine is useful for treating cancer, specifically neuroblastomas, in combination with additional chemotherapeutic agents, e.g. alkylating agents, and/or radiation therapy (See ([0004]; [0034-0035, human patients]; Abstract; [0079]; Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 13, 15; [0030]; [0007]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The combined references do not specifically teach wherein the additional chemotherapeutic agents are the specifically claimed alkylating agents, e.g. the specifically claimed platinum compounds cisplatin or carboplatin, or are cyclophosphamide, ifosfamide, melphalan and topoisomerase II inhibitors or wherein the additional chemotherapeutic agent are topoisomerase I inhibitors, selected from the claimed topotecan or irinotecan. However, these deficiencies in the combined references are addressed by Rubie and Kushner.
Rubie teaches that it was known to treat isolated neuroblastoma with cyclophosphamide and carboplatin containing combinations with some success (See abstract; see chemotherapy section in entirety; Results section discussion of primary chemotherapy).
Kushner teaches that it was known to treat children having neuroblastoma which had been refractory/relapsed after other therapies with irinotecan and temozolomide (See Abstract; patients and methods section (where consent was obtained from guardians or where appropriate patients); introduction section, see paragraph beginning with tomozolomide is an alkylating agent; Table 1 on pg. 5272; Table 2 which demonstrates ages of patients).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the claimed taurolidine nanoparticles to treat neuroblastoma as claimed (since taurolidine was known to be useful for treating neuroblastoma) as taught by the combined references and discussed above with the known chemotherapeutic agents claimed as taught by Rubie and Kushner because it was known to combine known effective agents against specific cancers, e.g. neuroblastoma in order to provide more effective combined treatments for treating neuroblastoma, and as such it would be obvious to combine the treatments of Rubie and Kushner into the claimed method comprising administering the claimed taurolidine nanoparticles as taught by the combined references to treat neuroblastoma, because Calabresi teaches that it was known to combine taurolidine with other chemotherapeutic agents and radiation therapy in order to treat neuroblastoma and other cancers and Rubie and Kushner teach that the claimed chemotherapeutic agents were already known in the art to be useful for treating neuroblastoma, and it is known to combine effective treatments for treating neuroblastoma together in order to develop more effective treatments for treating neuroblastoma. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant argued the cited prior art references do not teach the coating comprises an absorbable polymer, and further wherein the coating is formed from combinations of copolymers and multimers derived from polymers structured from 1-lactide, glycolide, e-caprolactone, p-dioxanone and trimethylene carbonate, as recited in the amended claims.
In response, applicant’s attention is respectfully drawn to the modified rejection in view of Dhar, Sinha, Liu and Sanson, which render obvious the nanoparticle coating comprising the claimed copolymer/multimers.
Applicant argued Dhar discloses a nanoparticle formulation of cisplatin for treating neuroblastoma but makes no mention of nanoparticle comprising taurolidine. Also argued that Ma makes no mention of taurolidine.
In response, it would have been obvious to use taurolidine, specifically in the PEG-PLGA nanoparticles (which also read on the combination of lactide and glycolide in the coating) of Dhar which are configured to delay release of their drug cargo until the reach the tumor/site of the tumor in order to develop the instantly claimed method of treating neuroblastoma. The ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to combine prior art elements (nanoparticles comprising cisplatin as taught by Dhar with taurolidine taught by the combined references above (e.g. Calabresi and Eschenburg)) according to known methods to yield predictable results (treatment of neuroblastoma), especially since as is taught by Dhar and DeCroes it was known to configure nanoparticles to target neuroblastoma cells wherein the drugs are not released or exposed until they reach the tumor/site of the tumor and each of the claimed agents was already known in the art to be effective against neuroblastoma tumors/cells.
Applicant argued Eschenburg teaches away from using taurolidine in combination with certain oncologic drugs and one skilled in the art would not be led by Eschenburg to combine taurolidine with vincristine.
In response, Eschenburg teaches that the combination of vincristine and taurolidine was synergistic in neuroblastoma cells and that neuroblastoma is the most common extracranial tumor in childhood (human childhood) and as such it would have been obvious to administer the taurolidine and/or taurolidine/vincristine combination to human children suffering from neuroblastoma as is instantly claimed (See entire document; Abstract; Introduction; Apoptosis induction of TRD in combination with Vincristine and Doxorubicin section; Discussion section).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616