DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on January 29, 2026.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 25 and 27 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 2, 3, 12, and 16 have been canceled. Claim 5 has been cancelled previously.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on March 9, 2026 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed January 29, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 4, 6 – 20, and 22 – 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘142 in view of Xia as set forth in the office action filed November 3, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed January 29, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 21 and 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘142 in view of Xia and further in view of Tsai as set forth in the office action filed November 3, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that compared to GD2 with fluorine substitution at a non-claimed position, metal complexes 4 and 14 of the instant application redshifts the maximum emission wavelength by nearly 20nm and narrows the full width at half maximum by 18.5 nm and 23.0 nm respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Compound GD3, which contains two CD3 substituents and no fluorine substituents, has a similar maximum emission wavelength and FWHM as compared to metal complexes 4 and 14. Therefore, it is not clear that the properties are necessarily the result of the claimed Formula, as it appears that two substituents in the Y2 and Y3 positions provide similar results, even when there is no fluorine. Examiner also notes that the claims do not require the second substituent on the pyridine ring, as is present in both the inventive Examples.
Applicant argues that the comparison between the Examples and Comparative Examples shows that device containing the inventive compounds provide excellent effect. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The data shown in Table 2 is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention for at least the reasons that the claims are directed to a compound whereas the data is shown for the use of a compound in a device in an emission layer with a specific combination of host materials. Additionally, while the data shown in the table with respect to the voltage and EQE shows that the values of the two example compounds have lower voltage and higher EQE, the range of the values in the entire table is quite narrow, which a difference of only 0.07 volts between the worse of the two inventive examples and best performing comparative example, and an efficiency difference of less than 1% between the worse of the two inventive examples and best performing comparative example. It is not clear that such a small difference in values amounts to something “unexpectedly superior.” Examiner notes that there is a much larger absolute difference in efficiency values between Examples 1 – 4 (2.38%) than between the worst performing inventive examples and best performing comparative example (0.75%).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 24 of copending Application No. 18/126645 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as evidenced by compound La1 in claim 17, ligands within the scope of the copending ‘645 application contain a fluorine substituent on the pyridine ring and a cyano group on the dibenzofuran group, which is a species of the genus formula in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 25 of copending Application No. 17/856067 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as evidenced by compound Lb1-46 in claim 18, ligands within the scope of the copending ‘067 application contain a fluorine substituent on the pyridine ring and a cyano group on the dibenzofuran group, which is a species of the genus formula in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 15 and 17 – 27 of copending Application No. 17/659967 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as evidenced by compound La442 in claim 14, ligands within the scope of the copending ‘967 application contain a fluorine substituent on the pyridine ring and a cyano group on the dibenzofuran group, which is a species of the genus formula in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of copending Application No. 18/215504 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as evidenced by compound GD57 in claim 12, ligands within the scope of the copending ‘504 application contain a fluorine substituent on the pyridine ring and a cyano group on the dibenzofuran group, which is a species of the genus formula in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 25, and 27 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 24 of copending Application No. 17/989201 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as evidenced by compound GD57 in claim 12, ligands within the scope of the copending ‘201 application contain a fluorine substituent on the pyridine ring and a cyano group on the dibenzofuran group, which is a species of the genus formula in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 20, 22 – 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘142 (CN111808142A, using the previously provided machine translation) and further in view of Xia (US20100244004A1).
As per claims 1, 4, 6 – 10, and 24, ‘142 teaches:
A metal complex having a general formula of
(‘142 teaches compound of Chemical Formula 1
(Abstract). A specific compound taught by ‘142 is compound J084
([0020]), which contains the claimed cyano group, but does not specifically show a fluorine atom in the claimed position. However, another compound taught by ‘142 is compound J087
([0020]), where the ligand contains the fluorine group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the phenyl ring in the phenyl-dibenzothiophene ligand of J084 with a fluorine group of J087. When compound J084 is modified in this way, the resulting compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Ir, m is 1; X1 to X6 and X8 are selected from C, X7 is selected from CRx wherein Rx is cyano; Y1 to Y4 are selected from CRy and wherein two Ry are hydrogen, one Ry is a fluorine, namely the Ry for Y3 and one Ry is a C3 alkyl group, namely the Ry for Y2; Lb is represented by
in claim 3, wherein Ra and Rb are hydrogen.)
‘142 does not teach a dibenzofuran ligand as currently claimed. However, Xia teaches heteroleptic iridium complexes which include a ligand with a single pyridyl dibenzo-substituted ligand for use as emitting dopants in OLEDs (Abstract). This is a similar structure and use as the compounds of ‘142. In Formula 1, the compound is defined so that the dibenzo group can be either a dibenzofuran or a dibenzothiophene ([0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the dibenzothiophene condensed ring system of ‘142 for a dibenzofuran condensed ring system of Xia because Xia teaches the groups are functionally equivalent in heterolpetic iridium complexes for use in OLEDs (Abstract).
As per claims 11 and 25, the modified compound above does not show a second substituent on the condensed ring group. However, in the definitions of R, R is taught to be selected from several non-hydrogen options. Furthermore, compounds, such as compound J071
contain multiple substituents on the condensed ring group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second substituent, such as deuterium, on the dibenzothiophene ring and arrive at the claimed compound.
As per claim 13, the modified compound above does not teach a substituent in the R2, R3, R6, or R7 positions. However, in the definitions for R in ‘142, several nonhydrogen substituents are listed as options. Additionally, ‘142 teaches compounds with multiple substituents on the phenyl-pyridine ligand, such as J002
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the phenyl pyridine ligand of the compound above to include nonhydrogen substituents and arrive at the claimed ligand.
As per claims 14, 15 and 27, the only difference from the above modified compound and compound La34
is that the tert butyl group in La34 is an isopropyl group in the modified compound. However, in the definitions for R, they include C1 – C8 alkyl groups and ‘142 teaches compounds with tert-butyl substitutions, such as J079
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the isopropyl group of the modified compound to a tert-butyl group and arrive at the claimed ligand. Ligand Lb is Lb1 in claim 15, therefore, when the alkyl groups are substituted, the compound meets the claim limitations of claim 27.
As per claim 16, when the alkyl group of the modified compound above is removed so that the pyridine ring is the same as that in compound J087, the ligand is the same as ligand La2
and the compound is the same as claimed complex 2.
As per claims 17 and 18, ‘142 teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein at least one layer of the organic layer contains the metal complex, wherein the organic layer containing the metal complex is a light-emitting layer ([0054]: “An organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an intermediate layer disposed between the anode and the cathode; wherein the intermediate layer includes a light emitting layer including the organic phosphorous light emitting compound of chemical formula 1.”)
As per claim 19, ‘142 is silent with respect to the emission light color. However, since ‘142 teaches substantially the same compound as disclosed by Applicant, the property of light emission color is considered to be inherent, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
As per claim 20, 22, and 28 ‘142 teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer further contains at least one first host compound and one second host compound, wherein the metal complex is doped in the host compound and the weight of the metal complex accounts for 1% to 30% of the total weight of the light-emitting layer ([0153]: “EML (light-emitting layer): a host material CBP… and a doping material J010 are mixed and evaporated at a weight ratio of 90:10 for 30nm to form a light-emitting layer.” As the claim requires a first host compound and a second host compound, but does not require that the compounds are different, both of the host compounds are interpreted as being CBP and ‘142 meets the claimed limitations.)
As per claim 23, ‘142 teaches:
A compound composition containing the metal complex (The emission layer is interpreted as the compound composition.)
Claims 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘142 (CN111808142A, using the previously provided machine translation) and further in view of Xia (US20100244004A1) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6 – 11, 13 - 20, 22 – 25, 27 and 28 above, and further in view of Tsai (US20210054010A1).
As per claims 21 and 29, ‘142 does not teach:
Wherein the first host compound has a structure represented by Formula 3
Tsai teaches organometallic compounds containing a dibenzothiophene group in a ligand ([0006]). These compounds are similar in structure to the ligands of ‘142. Tsai further teaches that these compounds can be used in a light emitting layer with a host material, such as
([0096 – 0099]). This compound reads on the claimed formula wherein Lx is a single bond, all V and T are C and both Ar1 are substituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms. This compound is of formula 3-h in claim 29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a host material of Tsai in the device of ‘142 because Tsai teaches that the host material is predictably suitable as a host material for similar Ir-based compounds. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789