DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 13-28, and 30-40 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have introduced 112(b) rejections, described below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 9 that Han makes no reference to pyrolysis and if Han’s thermal treatment is construed as pyrolysis, distinction remains.
However, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Han is not relied on to teach pyrolysis of a biomass feedstock, but rather Mennell is. Han is relied on to teach the reducing step. Mennell teaches the process comprises providing a starting carbon-containing feedstock comprising biomass (i.e. step (a)) and performing pyrolysis in a second reactor where the exhaust gases are captured for optional later use (i.e. step (b)).
Applicant argues on Pg. 10 that the main issue with Han is that the volatiles used for metal oxide reduction are not reasonably equivalent to reducing gas used in step (e) of claim 1. Applicant argues the volatiles are used to reduce the metal oxide and that a solid residue is not used to reduce metal oxide. Applicant argues Han’s solid residue is used to convert to another volatiles stream that is then used to reduce metal oxide.
However, the claim requires using reducing gas generated from a “biogenic reagent” to chemically reduce a metal oxide. In this regard, the previous office action stated Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the volatiles produced by the biomass include gas reducing agents such as hydrogen or carbon monoxide and serve to reduce metal oxides, such as iron oxide, to reduced forms (Claims1-7; Pg. 2, par. 1-6).
Han further teaches the biomass is heated to generate volatiles from which reducing gas are partially removed that are then used to reduce the metal oxide (Claims; Pg. 2, par. 4-6; Pg. 3, par. 2-5). Accordingly, Han clearly teaches using a solid biomass material to generate a reducing gas that is then used to reduce a metal oxide, as required by the claim.
Advantageously, performing the metal oxide reduction using the reducing gas volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Applicant argues on Pg. 11 the Office Action does not articulate why a skilled artisan would combine the disclosed prior art.
However, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the secondary references Han and Tobey are clearly articulated for their advantageous effect and a skilled artisan would be motivated to perform such operations.
Applicant further argues on Pg. 12 the volatiles of Han cannot be equated to reducing gas as there would be no motivation to do so if Han’s volatiles are effective, as it would require additional processing of the solid residue to make a distinct reducing gas.
However, first, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., additional processing of volatiles to provide a distinct reducing gas) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner notes that the pyrolysis of the biomass provides a gaseous mixture that contains hydrogen and/or carbon monoxide therein.
Further, as noted below, the phrase “the reducing gas is distinct from the pyrolysis off-gas” is unclear and does not necessarily state the reducing gas is physically separated from the pyrolysis off-gas. The pyrolysis of biomass necessarily produces a nonzero amount of hydrogen and/or carbon monoxide, as confirmed in the instant specification in at least [0015], [0016], [0018], [0021], [0055], and [0166], as well as by claim 17 that states “additional reducing gas” can be generated by partially oxidizing the pyrolysis off-gas, which requires at least some reducing gas is generated in the pyrolysis off-gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13-28, and 30-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 7-8, the phrase “the reducing gas is distinct from the pyrolysis off-gas” is unclear. It is unclear if the reducing gas being “distinct” requires the gas is separated from the pyrolysis gas, if the pyrolysis gas is produced in a separate step from the reducing gas, or if the limitation is targeting distinct nomenclatures rather than a distinct gas stream (i.e. naming the reducing gases as distinct from other gases contained in the pyrolysis). In the interest of compact prosecution and in view of the instant specification, the limitation is interpreted to be assigning the hydrogen and carbon monoxide gas produced by the pyrolysis as “reducing gas” while other gases produced are considered the “pyrolysis gas”. However, the pyrolysis gas (i.e. the gases produced from the pyrolysis) are still interpreted to require at least a nonzero value of hydrogen and carbon monoxide, as stated in the instant specification in at least [0015], [0016], [0018], [0021], [0055], and [0166].
Regarding claim 17, lines 1-2, the phrase “wherein the pyrolysis off-gas is partially oxidized thereby generating additional reducing gas,” is unclear. It is unclear if the reducing gas is generated as part of the pyrolysis off-gas, or generated separately, when claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, requires “the reducing gas is distinct from the pyrolysis off-gas.” As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the instant specification states the reducing gases are generated from the pyrolysis, where the reducing gas requires hydrogen and/or carbon monoxide. See at least [0015], [0016], [0018], [0021], [0055], and [0166]. Simply put, the claims requiring the gases be “distinct” does not annul the scientific fact that biomass pyrolysis produces gases which include reducing gases such as hydrogen and carbon monoxide.
Claims 2-11, 13-28, and 30-40 all depend from claim 1 and thus are also rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-10, 13-14, 17-20, 25-28, and 30-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (US20150144831A1) in view of Han et al. (KR102163821B1 English) and Tobey et al. (US20150028260A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mennell teaches a process that provides continuous processing to produce biogenic activated carbon (Abstract; Title). Mennell teaches the process comprises providing a starting carbon-containing feedstock comprising biomass (i.e. step (a)), performing pyrolysis in a second reactor where the exhaust gases are captured for optional later use (i.e. step (b)), feeding material obtained from pyrolysis into a separate additional reactor for further pyrolysis where heated inert gas is introduced to create a product with higher fixed carbon levels where off-gases are produced (i.e. step (d)) ([0113]; [0095]), which includes reducing gases such as hydrogen, carbon monoxide, and methane ([0211]; [0556]-[0557]). Mennell teaches solids are recovered from the reaction zones as biogenic carbon (Abstract; [0011]-[0012]). Mennell further teaches the biogenic activated carbon material can be recovered following pyrolysis and separation of vapors and/or gases produced during pyrolysis (i.e. step (f) ([0152]-[0159]).
Regarding the limitation “wherein the reducing gas is distinct from the pyrolysis off-gas,” Mennell teaches the pyrolysis processes provides condensable and non-condensable vapors, where the non-condensable vapors include hydrogen and carbon monoxide ([0211]; [0344]). Mennell teaching the vapors containing the reducing gases hydrogen and carbon monoxide are distinct from the condensable vapors (i.e. non-condensable vapors), and the fact they are also produced by pyrolysis is interpreted as being “distinct gases” and meets the limitation required by the claim.
Regarding step (e), Mennell teaches an additive can be included before, during, or after one or more steps (a)-(f), where the additive is selected from materials including a metal, metal oxide, or a combination thereof ([0242]). Mennell further teaches the biogenic activated carbon product is responsive to an external magnetic field due at least in part to the presence of iron ([0245]).
The claim requires “ chemically reducing a selected metal oxide in the presence of the reducing gas from step (d), thereby generating a reduced form of the selected metal oxide.” As stated above, Mennell teaches a metal oxide additive can be incorporated into the biomass feed, which can be treated by pyrolysis, and that the biogenic activated carbon product can comprise iron. While a skilled artisan could readily envisage the pyrolysis step in Mennell serving to calcine a metal oxide to a metal (i.e. the transformation of iron oxide to iron at higher temperatures in the presence of a reducing gas), because Mennell also teaches a metal can be added to the biomass, it cannot be said with certainty the iron in the biogenic activated carbon of Mennell is a direct consequence of metal oxide calcination to a metal, as required by the claim.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the volatiles produced by the biomass include gas reducing agents such as hydrogen or carbon monoxide and serve to reduce metal oxides, such as iron oxide, to reduced forms (Claims1-7; Pg. 2, par. 1-6).
Advantageously, performing the metal oxide reduction using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce metal oxides to metals with volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
The claim further requires the “reducing gas comprises at least 10 mol% hydrogen” to which Mennell and Han are silent regarding the concentrations of the hydrogen and carbon monoxide produced during biomass pyrolysis.
Tobey teaches a process for biomass gasification that provides syngas where the biomass gasification provides a gas mixture that includes from 20 to 60 mole% of hydrogen and 20 to 60 mole% of carbon monoxide (Table 1; [0069]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Tobey (20 to 60 mole% of hydrogen and 20 to 60 mole% of carbon monoxide) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 10 mol% hydrogen; at least 10 mol% carbon monoxide). Therefore, the range in Tobey renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, the process of Tobey provides concentrations of hydrogen and carbon monoxide from biomass that reduces capital costs ([0008]-[0012]; [0014]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reducing gas with a concentration of hydrogen from 20 to 60 mole% and carbon monoxide from 20 to 60 mole% in the process of Mennell in order to reduce capital costs, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claim 2, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches the heating step providing off-gases occurs at a temperature from about 100 °C to 600 °C (see at least [0090]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Mennell (from about 100 °C to 600 °C ) overlaps with the claimed range (about 300 to about 1200 °C). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires “step (e) is conducted at a reduction temperature selected from about 500°C to about 2000°C,” to which Mennell is silent.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the volatiles produced by the biomass include gas reducing agents such as hydrogen or carbon monoxide and serve to reduce metal oxides, such as iron oxide, to reduced forms where the step of reducing the metal oxide is performed at a 600 to 1000 °C (Claims1-7; Pg. 2, par. 1-6). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Han (from about 600 °C to 1000 °C ) overlaps with the claimed range (about 500 to about 2000 °C). Therefore, the range in Han renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, performing the metal oxide reduction at a temperature from 600 to 1000 °C using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce metal oxides to metals at a temperature from about 600 to 1000 °C with volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
Regarding claim 4, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches “Biomass includes, for example, plant and plant-derived material, vegetation, agricultural waste, forestry waste, wood waste, paper waste, animal-derived waste, poultry-derived waste, and municipal solid waste. In various embodiments of the disclosure utilizing biomass, the biomass feed stock may include one or more materials selected from: timber harvesting residues, softwood chips, hardwood chips, tree branches, tree stumps, knots, leaves, bark, sawdust, off spec paper pulp, cellulose, corn, corn Stover, wheat Straw, rice Straw, Sugarcane bagasse, Switchgrass, miscanthus, animal manure, municipal garbage, municipal Sewage, commercial waste, grape pumice, almond shells, pecan shells, coconut shells, coffee grounds, grass pellets, hay pellets, wood pellets, cardboard, paper, carbohydrates, plastic, and cloth. A person of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate that the feedstock options are virtually unlimited.” See [0165].
Regarding claim 5, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches the biogenic activated carbon as provided herein will normally contain greater than about half its weight as carbon, since the typical carbon content of biomass is no greater than about 50 wt %, where more typically, but depending on feedstock composition, a biogenic activated carbon will contain at least 55 wt %, at least 60 wt %, at least 65 wt %, at least 70 wt %, at least 75 wt %, at least 80 wt % 85 wt %, at least 90 wt %, at least 95 wt %, at least 96 wt %, at least 97 wt %, at least 98 wt %, at least 99 wt % carbon” (Table 5, in examples A, B and C, teaches carbon (wt %) of 73.3 %, 71.2 %, and 71.0 %, respectively; [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Mennell (at least 55 wt.% carbon) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 50 wt.% carbon). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches the biogenic activated carbon comprises from 49.4 wt.% fixed carbon, with a sample achieving a fixed carbon content of 95.7 wt.% (Table 5). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the values taught by Mennell (49.4 wt.% fixed carbon and higher) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 50 wt.% fixed carbon). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches the additive is selected from the group consisting of a salt, a metal, a metal oxide, a metal hydroxide, a metal halide, and combinations thereof, where the specific species can include magnesium, manganese, aluminum, nickel, iron, chromium, silicon, boron, cerium, molybdenum, phosphorus, tungsten, Vanadium, iron chloride, iron bromide, magnesium oxide, dolomite, dolomitic lime, fluorite, fluorospar, and bentonite ([0358]; [0364]).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires the metal oxide comprises iron ore, to which Mennell does not explicitly state an iron ore is used, where the ore comprises hematite, magnetite, limonite, taconite, or a combination thereof.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the metal oxide material can be limonite, which is an iron ore (Pg. 3, par. 7-9; Pg. 3-4, Example 2). Advantageously, performing metal oxide reduction, comprising an iron ore such as limonite, using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce an iron ore such as limonite in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
Regarding claim 10, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires “the reduced form of the selected metal oxide is a fully reduced metal,” to which Mennell is silent.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the metal oxide can be iron oxide and where the iron oxide is reduced to metallic iron (Pg. 2, par. 1-7). Advantageously, performing metal oxide reduction, comprising iron oxide, using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce an iron oxide to metallic iron in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
Regarding claim 13, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1.
The claim further requires the “reducing gas comprises at least 10 mol% carbon monoxide” to which Mennell and Han are silent regarding the concentrations of the carbon monoxide produced during biomass pyrolysis.
Tobey teaches a process for biomass gasification that provides syngas where the biomass gasification provides a gas mixture that includes from 20 to 60 mole% of hydrogen and 20 to 60 mole% of carbon monoxide (Table 1; [0069]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Tobey (20 to 60 mole% of hydrogen and 20 to 60 mole% of carbon monoxide) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 10 mol% hydrogen; at least 10 mol% carbon monoxide). Therefore, the range in Tobey renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, the process of Tobey provides concentrations of hydrogen and carbon monoxide from biomass that reduces capital costs ([0008]-[0012]; [0014]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reducing gas with a concentration of hydrogen from 20 to 60 mole% and carbon monoxide from 20 to 60 mole% in the process of Mennell in order to reduce capital costs, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claim 14, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires limitations to which Mennel and Han are silent.
Tobey teaches a partial oxidation step is performed on the crude syngas generated by biomass pyrolysis that includes a water gas shift reaction that adjusts the hydrogen to carbon monoxide mole ratio and decrease the concentration of carbon dioxide in the syngas ([0081]).
Advantageously, performing this process provides a higher percentage of biomass that becomes available for conversion ([0014]; [0081]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the hydrogen content of the gas mixture with a water-gas shift reaction in the process of Mennell in order to provide a higher percentage of biomass to become available for further conversion, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claim 17, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires limitations to which Mennel and Han are silent.
Tobey teaches a partial oxidation step is performed on the crude syngas generated by biomass pyrolysis that adjusts the hydrogen to carbon monoxide mole ratio and decrease the concentration of carbon dioxide in the syngas ([0081]). Advantageously, performing this process provides a higher percentage of biomass that becomes available for conversion ([0014]; [0081]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the hydrogen content of the gas mixture with a water-gas shift reaction in the process of Mennell in order to provide a higher percentage of biomass to become available for further conversion, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claim 18, Mennell teaches the vapors or gases produced by the pyrolysis can be treated or separated using techniques including distillation columns, flash vessels, centrifuges, cyclones, membranes, filters, packed beds, capillary columns, and so on ([0546], [0112], [0121-0122]). Mennell further teaches “In another embodiment, non-polar compounds or enriched gases from a gas-phase separator are extracted for optional later use, and in various embodiments, off gases from one or more zones/reactors are fed to a process gas heater. In one embodiment, gases extracted from the pre-heat zone/reactor, the pyrolysis zone/reactor and optionally the cooling zone/reactor are extracted into a combined stream and fed into the gas-phase separator. In various embodiments, one or more of the zones/reactors is configured to control whether and how much gas is introduced into the combined stream.” [0121]. Mennell further describes the extracted gases can be sent as inert gases to a deaeration unit, reactor, BPU, or cooler ([0123]), where such gases include CO, a reducing gas ([0555]-[0557]).
Regarding claim 19 and 20, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and 18 and the claim further requires the “additional reducing gas comprises at least 20 mol% hydrogen” and “…at least 20 mol% carbon monoxide,” to which Mennell and Han are silent regarding the concentrations of the hydrogen and carbon monoxide produced during biomass pyrolysis.
Tobey teaches a process for biomass gasification that provides syngas where the biomass gasification provides a gas mixture that includes from 20 to 60 mole% of hydrogen and 20 to 60 mole% of carbon monoxide (Table 1; [0069]). Tobey teaches the hydron and carbon monoxide values are further manipulated to arrive at a carbon monoxide mole% of 35 to 60 and a hydrogen mole ratio of 35 to 60 (Table II, [0081]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Tobey (at least 350 mol% hydrogen; at least 35 mol% carbon monoxide) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 20 mol% hydrogen; at least 20 mol% carbon monoxide). Therefore, the range in Tobey renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, the process of Tobey provides concentrations of hydrogen and carbon monoxide from biomass that reduces capital costs ([0008]-[0012]; [0014]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reducing gas with a concentration of hydrogen from 35 to 60 mole% and carbon monoxide from 35 to 60 mole% in the process of Mennell in order to reduce capital costs, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claims 25-26, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claims further requires limitations to which Mennell is silent.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the metal oxide material can be limonite, which is an iron ore (Pg. 3, par. 7-9; Pg. 3-4, Example 2). Han further teaches the reduction is performed in a furnace such as horizontal reduction furnace in the form of a rotary kiln (i.e. a rotary hearth furnace) (Pg. 3, par. 6-8). Han teaching that iron ore is reduced in a furnace requires the furnace to be “a metal ore furnace,” meeting the requirement of claim 25. Advantageously, performing metal oxide reduction, comprising an iron ore such as limonite, using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce an iron ore such as limonite in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
Regarding claim 27, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires step (b) and step (e) are conducted at the same site, to which Mennell is silent.
Han teaches a method for reducing a metallic oxide by using a biomass containing volatile material (Abstract; Title). Han teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the metal oxide material can be limonite, which is an iron ore (Pg. 3, par. 7-9; Pg. 3-4, Example 2). Performing the biomass pyrolysis to generate reducing gas in the presence of metal ore that is reduced is equivalent to performing these operations (i.e. step (b) and (e)) at a single site such as is the same furnace. Advantageously, performing metal oxide reduction, comprising an iron ore such as limonite, using the volatiles produced during biomass pyrolysis leads to increased reduction efficiency and reduces residues generated in the biomass after reduction (Pg. 2, par. 14-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce an iron ore such as limonite in the process of Mennell in order to increase the reduction efficiency of the metal oxide and reduce the residues generated during biomass reduction as taught by Han.
Regarding claim 28, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell further teaches the process is performed in multiple-reactor system (Fig. 1-13, [0026]-[0038]). Accordingly, it would be obvious all the process steps taught by Mennell would be performed in a single site (i.e., the multiply connected reactors).
Where Mennell does not explicitly teach step (e), Han is relied on who teaches biomass is heated in the presence of a metal oxide, where the metal oxide material can be limonite, which is an iron ore (Pg. 3, par. 7-9; Pg. 3-4, Example 2). Performing the biomass pyrolysis to generate reducing gas in the presence of metal ore that is reduced is equivalent to performing these operations (i.e. step (b) and (e)) at a single site such as is the same furnace. It would be obvious to a skilled artisan the process taught by Mennell in view of Han could be performed at a single site, where the required reactors and furnaces for the process are located proximally, as taught by both Mennell and Han. A skilled artisan would have expectation of success in performing process step (e) at a single site in the process of Mennell, as Han teaches a single site biomass and iron ore reduction step is feasible.
Regarding claims 30-32, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell teaches in examples A-C, carbon (wt %) values of 71.0 – 73.3 % ([0840, Table 5]). Mennell teaches biogenic activated carbon has relatively high carbon content compared to the initial feedstock utilized to produce the biogenic activated carbon. A biogenic activated carbon as provided herein will normally contain greater than about half its weight as carbon, since the typical carbon content of biomass is no greater than about 50 wt %. More typically, but depending on feedstock composition, a biogenic activated carbon will contain at least 55 wt %, at least 60 wt %, at least 65 wt %, at least 70 wt %, at least 75 wt %, at least 80 wt % 85 wt %, at least 90 wt %, at least 95 wt %, at least 96 wt %, at least 97 wt %, at least 98 wt %, at least 99 wt % carbon ([0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Mennell (at least 99 wt% carbon) overlaps with the claimed ranges (at least 10 wt.% activated carbon recovered; at least 50 wt.% activated carbon recovered; at least 90 wt.% activated carbon recovered). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 33-35, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennell teaches the process can be optimized to provide higher fixed carbon numbers as a result of providing larger sized activated carbon products ([0169]), where the process provides high fixed carbon levels that may be about 1%, 25%, or even higher in various embodiments ([0551]-[0552]). Mennell teaches the total carbon content of the biogenic activated carbon can comprise at least 99 wt% of total carbon, where the total carbon includes fixed carbon ([0595]). The term “essentially all” is interpreted as being about 99 wt.% fixed carbon, as described in [0026] of the instant specification. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Mennell (at least 99 wt% total carbon, including fixed carbon) overlaps with the claimed range (at least 50 wt.% fixed carbon; at least 90 wt.% fixed carbon, essentially all of the fixed carbon). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 36, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires the “at least 50 wt% of the volatile carbon within the biogenic reagent generated in step (b) is directed to reducing gas,” to which Mennell is silent regarding the concentrations of the hydrogen and carbon monoxide produced during biomass pyrolysis.
Tobey teaches the biomass gasification provides a crude syngas gas mixture comprising up to 60 mol % carbon monoxide and 15 mol% methane (75 mole% of the mixture), where the entirety of the mixture is directed to usage as reducing gas in subsequent steps ([0069]; Table 1; [0071]-[0081]).
Advantageously, providing a larger component of higher hydrocarbons leads to a greater amount of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the gas phase that can ultimately be used for reduction ([0071]; [0013]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to direct at least 75 mol% of the volatile carbon within the biogenic reagent to reducing gas in the process of Mennell in order to produce more syngas (CO and H2 mixture) that can be used for reduction steps, as taught by Tobey.
Regarding claims 37-39, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and Mennel teaches the biogenic activated carbon may be characterized by an Iodine Number of at least about 500, 1000, 1500, or 2000 ([0243]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Mennell (at least about 500, 1000, 1500, or 2000) overlaps with the claimed ranges (Iodine number at least about 500; Iodine number at least about 1000; Iodine number at least about 2000;). Therefore, the range in Mennell renders obvious the claimed range.
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (US20150144831A1) in view of Han et al. (KR102163821B1 English) and Tobey et al. (US20150028260A1) and further in view of Guo et al. (Chemical Engineering Journal, 2017, 327, 822-830)
Regarding claim 11, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires “the reduced form of the selected metal oxide is a second metal oxide having a lower oxidation state than the selected metal oxide,” to which Mennell, Han, and Tobey are silent. Guo teaches the reduction of iron oxide to a lower oxidation state as exemplified in equations 2-7 below (Pg. 825, left col.).
Guo teaches the duration of the iron ore reduction determines the product profile, where reduction persisting longer than 30 minutes leads to conversion of Fe2O3 to Fe, while reduction lasting from 5 to 30 minutes provides FeO in addition to Fe (Pg. 825-826, left col.; Fig. 4).
Advantageously, the duration of reduction controlling the presence of reduced iron oxides, such as FeO, provides changes in material properties including expansion which leads to compressive strength changes (Pg. 826, 3.2.2.-Pg. 828).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a lower oxidation state metal oxide in the process of Mennell in order to effect material properties, control compressive strength, and optionally perform reduction for less than 30 minutes but at least 5 minutes, as taught by Guo.
Regarding claim 21, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and process further requires “the process further comprising recovering the reduced form of the selected metal oxide”, to which Mennell, Han, and Tobey are silent.
Guo teaches the XRD results of iron ore pellet samples before and after the reduction process (Fig. 4). The XRD patterns clearly show the formation of Fe2O3, FeO and Fe, where recovery of the material was necessary in order to perform and obtain the XRD results.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to advantageously modify the process of Mennell in view of Guo to recover and evaluate the iron ore samples by XRD in the process of Mennell.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (US20150144831A1) in view of Han et al. (KR102163821B1 English) and Tobey et al. (US20150028260A1) and further in view of Dowaki et al. (US20190201836A1).
Regarding claims 15-16, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires limitations to which Mennell, Han, and Tobey are silent.
Dowaki teaches a process for recovering hydrogen from biomass pyrolysis gas that includes purifying the biomass pyrolysis gas by recovering hydrogen, where the hydrogen purification and recovery is performed with a pressure swing adsorption (PSA) apparatus ([0027]-[0028]; Abstract; [0030]).
Advantageously, the hydrogen purification and recovery method allows for the recovery of highly concentrated hydrogen gas under relatively low pressure and doesn’t require special agents or apparatus, resulting in reduced operating costs ([0069]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to separate, purify, and recover the hydrogen gas with a pressure-swing adsorption apparatus in the process of Mennell in order to reduce operating costs and provide highly concentrated hydrogen gas, as taught by Dowaki.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (US20150144831A1) in view of Han et al. (KR102163821B1 English) and Tobey et al. (US20150028260A1) and further in view of Norgate et al. (ISIJ International, 2012, 52, 8, 1472-1481).
Regarding claims 22-24, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires limitations to which Mennell, Han, and Tobey are silent.
Norgate teaches a process for utilizing biomass as a renewable source of carbon for the reduction of iron ores for use in steel making (Abstract; Title). Norgate teaches pyrolyzed biomass (i.e. charcoal) can be used to replace coal in a variety of scenarios including replacing coal in integrated steel plants and in direct smelting of iron ores (Fig. 4, reproduced below).
Reproduced Fig. 4 from Norgate showing existing process steps in the art where coal could be replaced with biomass derived carbon.
Norgate teaches in the case of iron ore reduction, lumps of iron ore is fed into blast furnace following mining, crushing and screening (Pg. 1475-1476, 4.1, Integrated Route). Norgate teaches transportation of carbon sources is a significant issue (Pg. 1480, left col).
Advantageously, providing biomass from a nearby location to perform ore reduction, such as in steel manufacturing, would reduce the greenhouse gas footprint of the process and solve a known issue in the art (see Pg. 1480, Conclusion, left col.; Fig. 5, 6; Table 5).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the iron ore reduction with biomass derived carbon (i.e. charcoal) near facilities such as integrated steel plants and direct smelting operations in the process of Mennell in order to reduce the greenhouse gas footprint of the steelmaking process and solve the known biomass transportation issue, as taught by Norgate.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennell et al. (US20150144831A1) in view of Han et al. (KR102163821B1 English) and Tobey et al. (US20150028260A1) and further in view of Wilson, (Isotope Ratio Measurements, 2016).
Regarding claim 40, modified Mennell teaches the process of claim 1 and the claim further requires limitations to which Mennell, Han, and Tobey are silent.
Wilson teaches a process for determining the 12C/14C isotope ratio of carbonaceous fuels where advantageously determining if a fuel is renewable or fossil carbon based (non-renewable) allows renewable energy credits to be obtained as providing a renewable carbon source (Brief; Introduction).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to analyze 12C/14C ratios in the biomass in the process of Mennell in order to determine if it is fully renewable in order to obtain energy credits, as taught by Wilson.
Conclusion
/JORDAN W TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1738