DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 16, 20, and 22 are amended.
Claim 3 is cancelled.
Claim 25 is new.
Claims 1-2 and 4-25 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-13, 16-17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillier (US 2021/0116576 A1), in view of Heinonen (US 2021/0165108 A1) and Phillips et al (US 2015/0012656 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hillier teaches a receiver-side device for use in a satellite-based navigation system, the receiver-side device comprising [0021]:
a satellite receiver circuit operable to receive signals from at least one satellite of the satellite-based navigation system [0024-0025];
a communication interface for operable to request and receive data from a communication network [0024-0025 and element 120 for central location on a communication network];
and at least one processing module configured to [0021 for a receiver that computes or has processing means]:
determine an approximate position of the receiver-side device [0021 for estimating position in 3 spatial dimensions];
access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream [0023-0024, 0042, 0056],
and process signals from the satellite-based navigation system received by the satellite receiver circuit using the corresponding content [0022],
comprising calculating a corrected position and/or a corrected time using the different types of localized correction data relevant to the approximate position [0023-0024].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams, comprising a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, select, from each published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by a content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position; receive corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position.
Heinonen has a method for correcting errors in location data (abstract) and teaches access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams, comprising [0073-0074]
a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, select [0069, 0074],
from each published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by a content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position [0070-0072];
receive corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position [0074, 0084].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the stream correction calculations as taught by Heinonen for the purpose to provide real-time corrections (Heinonen, 0074).
Hillier fails to explicitly teach determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas; and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas.
Phillips has a network element may obtain at least one of a push pipe utilization report and a pull pipe utilization report from each distribution node of the content delivery network (abstract) and teaches determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas [0049 for such asl Elberton GA, requesting Avengers content];
and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas [0049 for using the nodes to provide the content to the client requesting delivery based on location].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content requests calculations as taught by Phillips for the purpose to allow the server to provide content information to the rerouting node (Phillips, 0049).
Regarding Claim 9, Hillier teaches a content server for a satellite-based navigation system, comprising [0034 for having a central location that delivers map content data]:
a database for collecting different types of correction data for a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system for use by a plurality of receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system [0021, 0056];
a processing subsystem for transforming each of the different types of localized correction data into a plurality of localized data sets [0021, 0056, 0076],
and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream [0023-0024, 0042, 0056],
wherein the content relevant to the respective subarea comprises localized correction data of the satellite-based navigation system [0023-0024].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach each data set corresponding to a different predefined subarea of the service area and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream comprising: the plurality of data sets such that different receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can select, from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to an approximate position for a corresponding receiver-side device; and receive the corresponding localized correction data from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream for correcting signals received from the satellite-based navigation system within a corresponding subarea.
Heinonen has a method for correcting errors in location data (abstract) and each data set corresponding to a different predefined subarea of the service area and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea [0069, 0074],
and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream comprising [0073-0074]
the plurality of data sets such that different receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can select, from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server [0070-0072 for using subareas relative to base stations for satellite correction];
at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to an approximate position for a corresponding receiver-side device [0074, 0084]
and receive the corresponding localized correction data from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream for correcting signals received from the satellite-based navigation system within a corresponding subarea [0074, 0084].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the stream correction calculations as taught by Heinonen for the purpose to provide real-time corrections (Heinonen, 0074).
Hillier fails to explicitly teach wherein each one of the plurality of data sets is mapped to a corresponding subarea according to a mapping relationship.
Phillips has a network element may obtain at least one of a push pipe utilization report and a pull pipe utilization report from each distribution node of the content delivery network (abstract) and teaches wherein each one of the plurality of data sets is mapped to a corresponding subarea according to a mapping relationship [0049 for such asl Elberton GA, requesting Avengers content].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content requests calculations as taught by Phillips for the purpose to allow the server to provide content information to the rerouting node (Phillips, 0049).
Regarding Claim 16, Hillier teaches a content distribution system comprising [0034 for having a central location that delivers map content data]:
at least one receiver-side device [0021];
and a content server, wherein the receiver-side device comprises [0021]:
a satellite receiver circuit operable to receive signals from at least one satellite of a satellite-based navigation system [0024-0025];
a communication interface operable to receive and request data from a communication network [0024-0025 and element 120 for central location on a communication network];
and at least one processing module configured to: determine an approximate position of the receiver-side device [0021 for a receiver that computes or has processing means];
access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream [0023-0024, 0042, 0056],
and process signals from the satellite-based navigation system received by the satellite receiver circuit using the corresponding content [0022, 0046, 0052],
comprising calculating a corrected position and/or a corrected time using the different types of localized correction data relevant to the approximate position [0023-0024],
wherein the content server comprises [0034 for having a central location that delivers map content data]:
a database for collecting different types of correction data for a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system for use by the at least one receiver-side device of the satellite-based navigation system [0026, 0030];
a processing subsystem for transforming each of the different types of correction data into a plurality of localized data sets [0021, 0076],
and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream [0023-0024, 0042, 0056]
wherein the content relevant to the respective subarea comprises localized correction data of the satellite-based navigation system [0023-0024, 0042, 0056];
and receive the corresponding localized correction data from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream for correcting signals received from the satellite-based navigation system within a corresponding subarea [0032].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams comprising a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream, each data set corresponding to a predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, select, from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position; received the corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position, each of the data set corresponding to a different predefined subarea of service area and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream comprising the plurality of data sets such that different receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can select from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to an approximate position for the corresponding receiver-side device.
Heinonen has a method for correcting errors in location data (abstract) and teaches access, from the communication network, a plurality of published data streams comprising [0073-0074]
a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream, each data set corresponding to a predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea [0069, 0074],
select, from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position [0070-0072];
received the corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position, each of the data set corresponding to a different predefined subarea of service [0074, 0084]
and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea [0069, 0074],
and a publication subsystem for distributing the plurality of published data streams over a communication network, each published data stream comprising the plurality of data sets such that different receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can select from at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server [0064-0065, 0070-0072],
at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to an approximate position for the corresponding receiver-side device [0066-0068, and 0072-0074].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the stream correction calculations as taught by Heinonen for the purpose to provide real-time corrections (Heinonen, 0074).
Hillier fails to explicitly teach determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas; and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas.
Phillips has a network element may obtain at least one of a push pipe utilization report and a pull pipe utilization report from each distribution node of the content delivery network (abstract) and teaches determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas [0049 for such asl Elberton GA, requesting Avengers content];
and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas [0049 for using the nodes to provide the content to the client requesting delivery based on location].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content requests calculations as taught by Phillips for the purpose to allow the server to provide content information to the rerouting node (Phillips, 0049).
Regarding Claim 20, Hillier teaches a signal processing method, performed by a receiver-side device of a satellite-based navigation system, the signal processing method comprising [0032 determining signal threshold or means for processing signals]:
determining an approximate position [0021];
accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream [0023-0024 for having general positioning data from satellites and correction data from the base stations];;
and processing signals from the satellite-based navigation system received by a satellite receiver circuit using the corresponding content [0022, 0046, 0052],
comprising at least one of calculating a corrected position or calculating a corrected time using the different types of localized correction data relevant to the approximate position [0023-0024].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream comprising a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, selecting, from each published data stream, at least a subset of data sets of the plurality of data sets for a predefined subarea corresponding to the determined approximate position; requesting at least one data set the selected subset of data sets and receiving corresponding content relevant to the approximate position from the communication network.
Heinonen has a method for correcting errors in location data (abstract) and teaches accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream comprising [0073-0074]
a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea [0069, 0074],
selecting, from each published data stream, at least a subset of data sets of the plurality of data sets for a predefined subarea corresponding to the determined approximate position [0070-0072];
requesting at least one data set the selected subset of data sets and receiving corresponding content relevant to the approximate position from the communication network [0074, 0084].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the stream correction calculations as taught by Heinonen for the purpose to provide real-time corrections (Heinonen, 0074).
Hillier fails to explicitly teach determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas; and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas.
Phillips has a network element may obtain at least one of a push pipe utilization report and a pull pipe utilization report from each distribution node of the content delivery network (abstract) and teaches determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas [0049 for such asl Elberton GA, requesting Avengers content];
and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas [0049 for using the nodes to provide the content to the client requesting delivery based on location].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content requests calculations as taught by Phillips for the purpose to allow the server to provide content information to the rerouting node (Phillips, 0049).
Regarding Claim 22, Hillier teaches a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media storing one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a receiver-side device of a satellite-based navigation system, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising [0021, 0076]:
determining an approximate position [0024];
accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream [0023-0024 for having general positioning data from satellites and correction data from the base stations];
and processing signals from the satellite-based navigation system received by a satellite receiver circuit [0022],
comprising at least one of calculating a corrected position or calculating a corrected time using the different types of localized correction data relevant to the approximate position [0023-0024 for having general positioning data from satellites and correction data from the base stations].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream comprising a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea, selecting, from at least one of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position; receiving corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position from the communication network.
Heinonen has a method for correcting errors in location data (abstract) and teaches accessing, from a communication network, a plurality of published data streams, each published data stream comprising [0073-0074]
a plurality of data sets, each data set from a respective published data stream corresponding to a different predefined subarea of a service area served by the satellite-based navigation system and comprising geographically related content relevant to the respective predefined subarea [0069, 0074],
selecting, from at least one of published data streams distributed by the content server, at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to a predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position [0070-0072];
receiving corresponding content from the at least one selected data set of the at least one published data stream relevant to the determined approximate position from the communication network [0074, 0084].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the stream correction calculations as taught by Heinonen for the purpose to provide real-time corrections (Heinonen, 0074).
Hillier fails to explicitly teach determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas; and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas.
Phillips has a network element may obtain at least one of a push pipe utilization report and a pull pipe utilization report from each distribution node of the content delivery network (abstract) and teaches determine that the approximate position is contained in a first subarea of the plurality of subareas [0049 for such asl Elberton GA, requesting Avengers content];
and select a first data set corresponding to the first subarea based on a mapping relationship between the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas from the plurality of subareas [0049 for using the nodes to provide the content to the client requesting delivery based on location].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content requests calculations as taught by Phillips for the purpose to allow the server to provide content information to the rerouting node (Phillips, 0049).
Regarding Claim 2, Hillier also teaches the at least one processing module is configured to [0028]:
determine the approximate position of the receiver-side device based on signals received by the satellite receiver circuit [0028].
Regarding Claim 4, Hillier also teaches the at least one processing module is configured to receive a directory from the communication network [0052, mapping directory of landmarks, buildings, and vegetation],
the directory defining the mapping relationship [0052 using urban map data to determine sufficient visibility or to locally compute refined locations].
Regarding Claim 5, Hillier also teaches the at least one processing module is configured to infer the mapping relationship based on metadata associated with the plurality of data sets [0020 for metadata such as time and orbit, 0052 for using locations data with transmit corrections and state information].
Regarding Claim 7, Hillier also teaches a subset of more than one data set from the plurality of data sets corresponds to the approximate position [0020, 0023],
And wherein the at least one processing module is configured to select at least one data set from the subset of more than one data set based one or more parameters comprising [0024]:
a service level agreement; a desired precision of the localized correction data; a current operating state of the receiver-side device; a memory size of the receiver-side device; a size of the more than one corresponding data set; a current data transmission rate of the communication interface; a tariff for usage of the communication interface; a pricing structure for the geographically related content; or an update frequency of the more than one corresponding data sets [0033, 0057].
Regarding Claim 12, Hillier teaches the database is configured to collect the different types of correction data [0023],
comprising at least one of satellite-related correction data, ionosphere-related correction data, troposphere-related correction data, quality data or integrity data [0024];
and the processing subsystem is configured to transform the different types of localized correction data into a plurality of companion localized data sets [0023 for correction data by base station or companion data set for the “base station to propagate correction factors to receivers”],
each companion data set comprising localized correction data of at least one type of correction data applicable to the predefined subarea of the service area [0024 for giving atmosphere and reception errors by geographic region, 0057];
and the publication subsystem is configured to distribute at least two of the companion data sets as separate data sets over the plurality of published data streams over the communication network [0028, 0042, 0055 for correcting for visibility, 0056].
Regarding Claim 13, Hillier teaches one of the plurality of data sets is associated with corresponding metadata [0045 adding atmosphere and delay data map for geographical region],
the corresponding metadata indicating the mapping relationship between a respective data set and a corresponding subarea [0020 for metadata such as time and orbit, 0052 for using locations data with transmit corrections and state information].
Regarding Claim 17, Hillier teaches one or more nodes of a content distribution network [0023 for base station propagating correction data as a node],
wherein the content server is configured to provide the plurality of data set to the one or more nodes [0019, 0032];
and the at least one receiver-side device is configured to transmit and receive the selected at least one data set from at least one of the one or more nodes [0023].
Regarding Claim 21, Hillier teaches collecting, by a content server [0034 for having a central location that delivers map content data, 0042, 0056]:
different types correction data for the service area served by the satellite-based navigation system for use by a plurality of receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system [0023-0024];
transforming by the content server, each of the different types of correction data into the plurality of separate data sets [0021, 0076];
and distributing by the content server, the plurality of data sets over the communication network [0032].
Regarding Claim 23, Hillier teaches each different type of localized correction data in each of the plurality of published data streams comprises satellite-related correction data [0023-0024], ionosphere-related correction data [0032], troposphere-related correction data [0031], and quality data or integrity data [0028].
Claims 6, 8 10-11, 14-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillier (US 2021/0116576 A1) in view of Heinonen (US 2021/0165108 A1) and Phillips et al (US 2015/0012656 A1), as applied to Claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view Svendsen (US 2016/0034962 Al).
Regarding Claim 6, Hillier also teaches the at least one processing module is configured to compute the mapping relationship based on a map projection system for the service area [0053 and fig. 6].
Hillier fails to explicitly teach defining an ordered set of subareas of the service area.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches defining an ordered set of subareas of the service area [0026 for weighting or ordering request for areas and content].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose to the advertisement(s) delivered in response to the request may be inserted to television content at the cable television headend or set-top box (Svendsen, 0026).
Regarding Claim 8, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the at least one processing module is further configured to transmit a subscription request, identifying at least one of a published data stream or a topic, to the content server or a node of a content distribution network and, in response to transmitting the subscription request, receive current versions of the selected at least one data set via the plurality of published data stream from the content server or the node of a content distribution network, respectively.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the at least one processing module is configured to send a subscription request [0026 for receiving requests from set-top box and cable, or subscription requests],
identifying at least one of a data stream or a topic [0026 for using keywords for identifying the data stream],
to a content server or a node of a content distribution network and, in response to the subscription request [0027 for determining content distribution based on location],
receive current versions of the selected subset data sets via the plurality of published data stream from the content server or the node of a content distribution network, respectively [0028].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose of selecting the content provider from multiple content providers (Svendsen, 0028).
Regarding Claim 10, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the processing subsystem is configured for transforming the geographically related content into two or more different series of separate data sets based on different subdivisions of the service area, the different subdivisions comprising at least two of a subdivision by continents, a subdivision by countries, a subdivision by provinces or a subdivision by regions.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the processing subsystem is configured for transforming the geographically related content into two or more different series of separate data sets based on different subdivisions of the service area [0024],
the different subdivisions comprising at least two of a subdivision by continents, a subdivision by countries, a subdivision by provinces or a subdivision by regions [0026-0027, figure 4B for division by states, regions and cities, 0038].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose to determine whether there are more geographic shapes for the advertiser (Svendsen, 0036).
Regarding Claim 11, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the publication subsystem is configured for selective distributing data sets from one of the two or more different series of separate data sets based on at least one of an individual request or a subscription request of a receiver-side device.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the publication subsystem is configured for selective distributing data sets from one of the two or more different series of separate data sets based on at least one of an individual request or a subscription request of a receiver-side device [0028].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose of selecting the content provider from multiple content providers (Svendsen, 0028).
Regarding Claim 14, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the publication subsystem further publishes a directory defining the mapping relationship between each one of the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas, such that receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can determine a locally applicable data set from the plurality of data sets without disclosing their current position to the content server.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the publication subsystem further publishes a directory defining a mapping relationship between each one of the plurality of data sets and the corresponding subareas [0029-0030 using lists with keywords or a directory, and weights, 0031 for geographical mapping],
such that receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can determine a locally applicable data set from the plurality of separate data sets without disclosing their current position to the content server [0031, 0034, 0038 for serving content by state or city without needing receiver location data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose of using the aggregate list of keywords and corresponding weights may then be utilized to select content items of the corresponding content provider to be delivered to the requestor (Svendsen, 0030).
Regarding Claim 15, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the publication subsystem provides at least one of a separate data stream or topic for each one of the plurality of subareas, such that receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can subscribe to a locally applicable data set from the plurality of data sets without disclosing their current position to the content server.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the publication subsystem provides at least one of a separate data stream or topic for each one of the plurality of subareas, such that receiver-side devices of the satellite-based navigation system can subscribe to a locally applicable data set from the plurality of data sets without disclosing their current position to the content server [0031, 0034, 0038 for serving content by state or city with receiver location data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose of using the aggregate list of keywords and corresponding weights may then be utilized to select content items of the corresponding content provider to be delivered to the requestor (Svendsen, 0030).
Regarding Claim 24, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the at least one processing module is configured to select from the at least one published data stream of the plurality of published data streams distributed by the content server, the at least one data set of the plurality of data sets corresponding to the predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position by: generating an identifier that represents the predefined subarea relevant to the determined approximate position; and determining from each of the plurality of data streams distributed by the content server, a corresponding subarea included in the metadata of each of the plurality of data sets; and selecting from the at least one published data stream, the at least one data set whose corresponding subarea matches to the generated identifier.
Svendsen has a method for providing customized content to users based on their location (abstract) and teaches the at least one processing module is configured to access, from the communication network, the plurality of published data streams by [0031, 0034, 0038 for serving content by state or city with receiver location data]:
identifying, for each published data stream of the plurality of published data streams, an identifier representing a subarea [0023 for using key words for identifying the streams];
and accessing each published data stream associated with the identifier that matches to the approximate position of the receiver-side device [0025, 0032].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the content delivery system as taught by Svendsen for the purpose of using the aggregate list of keywords and corresponding weights may then be utilized to select content items of the corresponding content provider to be delivered to the requestor (Svendsen, 0030).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillier (US 2021/0116576 A1), in view of Heinonen (US 2021/0165108 A1) and Phillips et al (US 2015/0012656 A1), as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view Garner (University of Arkansas, 2015).
Regarding Claim 18, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the plurality of data sets exceeds at least one of 10 separate data sets, 100 separate data sets, or 1000 separate data sets.
Garner has an amazingly precise location address system that works anywhere in the world (page 2, left column, first paragraph) and teaches the plurality of data sets exceeds at least one of 10 separate data sets, 100 separate data sets, or 1000 separate data sets (page 4, left column, third paragraph for obtained by collecting and storing about 100 latitudes and longitudes for each position. The receiver’s instruction manual was followed to obtain these 100 positions. They were later transferred to a computer and differentially corrected with publicly available GPS position data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the differential GPS calculations as taught by Garner for the purpose of averaging the latitudes and longitudes of computed GPS positions can reduce error and improve position accuracy (Garner, page 3, right column, fifth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 19, Hillier fails to explicitly teach a plurality of receiver-side devices [0022 for receiver for data being smartphone, laptops],
wherein a number of receiver-side devices exceeds the number of separate data sets by at least one of a factor of 10, a factor of 100, or a factor of 1000 [0022, for smartphones, laptops, 0032 for data sets for scooters, bikes, drones, robots, and vehicles for each geographic regions on an hourly level therefore factors of ten of receivers per geographic data set].
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillier (US 2021/0116576 A1) in view of Heinonen (US 2021/0165108 A1) and Phillips et al (US 2015/0012656 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view Vaccari et al (US 2015/0304437 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Hillier fails to explicitly teach the subscription request comprises a Message Queuing Telemetry Transport subscribe message.
Vaccari has a method to calculate a content score for each of one or more content items shared by the second users on the online social network (abstract) and teaches the subscription request comprises a Message Queuing Telemetry Transport subscribe message [0103 for using MQTT for quickly detecting motion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for satellite position correction techniques, as disclosed by Hillier, further including the motion messaging calculations as taught by Vaccari for the purpose of quickly detecting when the mobile client system stops moving at a high speed (Vaccari, 0103).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a
general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
On page 2, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant argues that the receiver does not access published data streams with data sets corresponding to predefined subarea relevant content. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Heinonen teaches acquiring by the vehicle a first and second set of location parameters (data streams corresponding to a given area) and [Heinonen 0068] and also teaches mapping the geographic areas (predefined subareas) [Heinonen 0086].
On page 4, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant argues that Phillips does not independently select a published data stream based on its own geographic location. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Phillips teaches using popularity policy management to forecast distribution of content to regional nodes [Phillips 0034].
On page 4, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant argues that Heinonen using route based stream. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Heinonen states that the vehicles estimates the time it will be present in an area [Heinonen, 0066] and then acquires a portion of the first set of location data streams [Heinonen 0068]. Also, in [Heinonen, 0074] the vehicle determines a current location by using location measurement raw data.
On page 6, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant argues that CN 107422351 is not appropriate art. After further search and consideration, the reference is not applied to this application. New art is listed on the Notice of References Cited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648