Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, 19, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0191778), herein referred to as “Kumar”, in view of Cui et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2017/0359800), herein referred to as “Cui”, held further in view of Thiruvenkatachari et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0249408), herein referred to as ”Thiruvenkatachari”, held further in view of Liao (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0082029), herein referred to as “Liao”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Kumar discloses: A wireless communication method, applied to a terminal device which supports a plurality of Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) cards, the method comprising:
[0006] Multi-SIM wireless devices are popular in recent times because of the versatility that they provide, particularly in jurisdictions with multiple service providers. For example, a dual-SIM smart phone allows a user to implement two different plans or service providers on the dual-SIM smart phone, each with separate telephone numbers and bills (e.g., a business account/number and a personal account/number). Also, during travel, users can obtain local SIM cards and pay local call rates in the destination country. By using multiple SIMS, a user can take advantage of different pricing plans, and save on mobile data usage. Thus, the dual-SIM smart phone effectively provides users with two phones, without the need to carry two separate devices.
transmitting, by the terminal device, part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0149] Referring to the FIG. 9, in conjunction with the FIG. 8, the UE (100) can negotiate/inform the list of paging causes for which device wants to listen paging based on the USIM configuration or the user preferences or both. The UE (100) can negotiate with the second SIM network (2000) via the NAS/AS message. The list of paging cause for which the second SIM network (2000) shall page the UE (100) which the UE (100) is going to respond.
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to.
Note: Per the specification, paragraph [00283], the NAS message includes a service request message. Also, per specification paragraph [00158], the first policy can include a plurality of service identifiers.
Kumar does not teach the following limitation: receiving, by the terminal device, a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network when determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message.
However, Cui teaches: receiving, by the terminal device, a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network when determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message.
[0021] The terminal may be a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal. Since a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal can support a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card and a second SIM card with only one set of antenna(s), use permission of the antenna resource may be allocated to a service with a higher priority of the first SIM card and the second SIM card in the dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal.
[0065] At step 503, the network access device sends the paging message to the terminal being called.
[0069] At step 504, the terminal being called receives the paging message.
[0078] At step 507, when the priority indicated by the value of the Cn-Domain name field for the first SIM card is higher than the priority of the current service of the second SIM card, the antenna resource is allocated to the voice service of the PS domain, which corresponds to the value of the Cn-Domain name field, to be performed by the first SIM card.
[0060] At step 502, the network access device generates a paging message according to the identifier of the terminal being called, the paging message including a Cn-Domain name field and a value of the Cn-Domain name field corresponding to the voice service of the PS domain.
Cui also teaches: establishing, by the terminal device, the connection with the first network in response to the first message.
[0078] At step 507, when the priority indicated by the value of the Cn-Domain name field for the first SIM card is higher than the priority of the current service of the second SIM card, the antenna resource is allocated to the voice service of the PS domain, which corresponds to the value of the Cn-Domain name field, to be performed by the first SIM card.
Kumar and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concepts of receiving a message from the network carrying service information requiring a connection and establishing the connection with the first network in response to the first message as taught by Cui so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar discloses: wherein whether the terminal device is required to establish the connection with the first network is determined by the first network based on the first policy.
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to. If the UE (100) finds that requested service on the first SIM is of higher priority, then UE (100) (on the second SIM) gets into the connected mode or remains in the connected mode by continuing with remaining NAS/AS procedures (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will be impacted) otherwise if the UE (100) finds the second SIM service is lower priority one when compared to the service ongoing on the first SIM then the UE (100) will not respond to the paging on the second SIM network (2000) or get into IDLE mode as quickly as possible on the second SIM network (2000) (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will not be impacted).
Kumar does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari discloses wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Kumar and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar does not teach the following limitation: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the first network.
However, Liao teaches: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the network.
[0048] Therefore, according to the above illustration and the process 50, when a UE prepares to initiate a PDN connection for a service to an APN by sending a request, especially a high priority service or an emergency service, and the APN is in congestion, a core network managing the UE can disconnect at least one PDN connection associated to the APN. Accordingly, the new PDN connection for the service can be accepted with a higher acceptance rate by using the resource released from the at least one disconnected PDN connection of the UE.
Kumar and Liao are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept of having a policy transmitted to a network when the terminal device disconnects from the network as taught by Liao so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 2,
Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the service information indicates a voice service.
[0127] Referring to the FIG. 4, consider the UE (100) with the first SIM and the second SIM where both the first SIM and the second SIM are USIMs. Consider that the first SIM is in a high speed cellular link i.e., global wordline (GWL) idle mode or active mode on the LTE, registered and the second SIM is in a G or W mode. Further, at step 1, consider that a voice call is triggered over the second SIM. At step 2, due to the triggering of the voice call, a radio link failure (RLF) or out of service occurs at the first SIM of the UE (100). Furthermore, at step 3, the second SIM network (2000) initiates a paging for the MT data or the MT VoLTE calls on the first SIM. However, the first SIM may not respond to the paging of the SIM network (2000) resulting in the wastage of the resources.
Regarding Claim 4,
Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein USIM-1 of the terminal device corresponds to the first network and USIM-2 of the terminal device corresponds to a second network; and wherein the terminal device is in a connected state and/or a connected state with the second network.
[0138] Referring to the FIG. 7, at step 1, consider that the UE (100) is in the active data session over the first SIM network (1000). At step 2, the UE (100) receives the paging message comprising the cause, the service type etc. from the second SIM network (2000). At step 3, the UE (100) sends the NAS/RRC signalling message to move the UE (100) to RRC INACTIVE suspend state from the RRC CONN state.
[0139] At step 4, the first SIM network (1000) sends the connection release message to the UE (100) with the indication to move to the UE (100) to the RRC INACTIVE suspend state. Further, at step 5, the first SIM is moved to the RRC INACTIVE suspend state. Furthermore, at step 6, the second SIM network (2000) moves the second SIM to the idle mode.
[0140] At step 7, the UE (100) sends the NAS/RRC signalling message to the first SIM network (1000) to change the RRC state of the UE (100) to the RRC CONN state. Therefore, after step 8, the UE (100) resumes the services indicated by the UE (100).
Regarding Claim 8,
Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device during establishing the connection with the first network, the service request message and/or the registration request message to the first network to establish an Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection with the first network.
[0132] At step 7, the connection is established over the second SIM of the UE (100) after executing either the NAS service request or the resumption procedure. Further, at step 8, the NAS or the AS signalling message to suspend or release the connection (e.g. extended service request with the cause value for suspending in dual SIM case or RRCConnection release) over the second SIM of the UE (100) is executed. At step 9, the UE (100) sends the NAS signalling message to the first SIM network (1000) to resume the connection over the first SIM of the UE (100). From, step 10 onwards the service on the first SIM is resumed.
Regarding Claim 10,
Kumar discloses: A wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device, part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0149] Referring to the FIG. 9, in conjunction with the FIG. 8, the UE (100) can negotiate/inform the list of paging causes for which device wants to listen paging based on the USIM configuration or the user preferences or both. The UE (100) can negotiate with the second SIM network (2000) via the NAS/AS message. The list of paging cause for which the second SIM network (2000) shall page the UE (100) which the UE (100) is going to respond.
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to.
Note: Per the specification, paragraph [00283], the NAS message includes a service request message. Also, per specification paragraph [00158], the first policy can include a plurality of service identifiers.
determining, by the first network that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network based on the first policy
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to. If the UE (100) finds that requested service on the first SIM is of higher priority, then UE (100) (on the second SIM) gets into the connected mode or remains in the connected mode by continuing with remaining NAS/AS procedures (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will be impacted) otherwise if the UE (100) finds the second SIM service is lower priority one when compared to the service ongoing on the first SIM then the UE (100) will not respond to the paging on the second SIM network (2000) or get into IDLE mode as quickly as possible on the second SIM network (2000) (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will not be impacted).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the first network, a first message to the terminal device, the first message being a paging message.
However, Cui discloses transmitting, by the first network, a first message to the terminal device, the first message being a paging message.
[0021] The terminal may be a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal. Since a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal can support a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card and a second SIM card with only one set of antenna(s), use permission of the antenna resource may be allocated to a service with a higher priority of the first SIM card and the second SIM card in the dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal.
[0065] At step 503, the network access device sends the paging message to the terminal being called.
[0069] At step 504, the terminal being called receives the paging message.
[0078] At step 507, when the priority indicated by the value of the Cn-Domain name field for the first SIM card is higher than the priority of the current service of the second SIM card, the antenna resource is allocated to the voice service of the PS domain, which corresponds to the value of the Cn-Domain name field, to be performed by the first SIM card.
[0060] At step 502, the network access device generates a paging message according to the identifier of the terminal being called, the paging message including a Cn-Domain name field and a value of the Cn-Domain name field corresponding to the voice service of the PS domain.
Kumar and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept of transmitting a paging message carrying service information to the terminal device, the first message being a paging message carrying service information as taught by Cui so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar does not tech the final limitation of wherein an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network is released by the terminal device in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari teaches wherein an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network is released by the terminal device in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Kumar and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar does not teach the following limitation: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the first network.
However, Liao teaches: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the network.
[0048] Therefore, according to the above illustration and the process 50, when a UE prepares to initiate a PDN connection for a service to an APN by sending a request, especially a high priority service or an emergency service, and the APN is in congestion, a core network managing the UE can disconnect at least one PDN connection associated to the APN. Accordingly, the new PDN connection for the service can be accepted with a higher acceptance rate by using the resource released from the at least one disconnected PDN connection of the UE.
Kumar and Liao are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept of having a policy transmitted to a network when the terminal device disconnects from the network as taught by Liao so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Kumar discloses: A terminal device, supporting a plurality a plurality of Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) cards and comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to:
[0006] Multi-SIM wireless devices are popular in recent times because of the versatility that they provide, particularly in jurisdictions with multiple service providers. For example, a dual-SIM smart phone allows a user to implement two different plans or service providers on the dual-SIM smart phone, each with separate telephone numbers and bills (e.g., a business account/number and a personal account/number). Also, during travel, users can obtain local SIM cards and pay local call rates in the destination country. By using multiple SIMS, a user can take advantage of different pricing plans, and save on mobile data usage. Thus, the dual-SIM smart phone effectively provides users with two phones, without the need to carry two separate devices.
transmit part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0149] Referring to the FIG. 9, in conjunction with the FIG. 8, the UE (100) can negotiate/inform the list of paging causes for which device wants to listen paging based on the USIM configuration or the user preferences or both. The UE (100) can negotiate with the second SIM network (2000) via the NAS/AS message. The list of paging cause for which the second SIM network (2000) shall page the UE (100) which the UE (100) is going to respond.
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to.
Note: Per the specification, paragraph [00283], the NAS message includes a service request message. Also, per specification paragraph [00158], the first policy can include a plurality of service identifiers.
Kumar does not teach the following limitation: receive a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network when determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message.
However, Cui teaches: receive a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network when determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message.
[0021] The terminal may be a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal. Since a dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal can support a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card and a second SIM card with only one set of antenna(s), use permission of the antenna resource may be allocated to a service with a higher priority of the first SIM card and the second SIM card in the dual-card dual-standby single-channel terminal.
[0065] At step 503, the network access device sends the paging message to the terminal being called.
[0069] At step 504, the terminal being called receives the paging message.
[0078] At step 507, when the priority indicated by the value of the Cn-Domain name field for the first SIM card is higher than the priority of the current service of the second SIM card, the antenna resource is allocated to the voice service of the PS domain, which corresponds to the value of the Cn-Domain name field, to be performed by the first SIM card.
[0060] At step 502, the network access device generates a paging message according to the identifier of the terminal being called, the paging message including a Cn-Domain name field and a value of the Cn-Domain name field corresponding to the voice service of the PS domain.
Cui also teaches: establish the connection with the first network in response to the first message.
[0078] At step 507, when the priority indicated by the value of the Cn-Domain name field for the first SIM card is higher than the priority of the current service of the second SIM card, the antenna resource is allocated to the voice service of the PS domain, which corresponds to the value of the Cn-Domain name field, to be performed by the first SIM card.
Kumar and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concepts of receiving a message from the network carrying service information requiring a connection and establishing the connection with the first network in response to the first message as taught by Cui so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar discloses: wherein whether the terminal device is required to establish the connection with the first network is determined by the first network based on the first policy.
[0150] In an embodiment, “Paging cause” can be used by the network to indicate type of MT data pending to the UE (100). The information can also be conveyed using service type or the PDU session (for example PDU session ID) or the DRB ID or QCI or 5QI, establishment cause, access type or access category or PDU session IDs, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates, Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to. If the UE (100) finds that requested service on the first SIM is of higher priority, then UE (100) (on the second SIM) gets into the connected mode or remains in the connected mode by continuing with remaining NAS/AS procedures (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will be impacted) otherwise if the UE (100) finds the second SIM service is lower priority one when compared to the service ongoing on the first SIM then the UE (100) will not respond to the paging on the second SIM network (2000) or get into IDLE mode as quickly as possible on the second SIM network (2000) (in this case the existing service on the first SIM will not be impacted).
Kumar does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: release an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari discloses wherein the method further comprises: release an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Kumar and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Kumar does not teach the following limitation: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the first network.
However, Liao teaches: wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the network.
[0048] Therefore, according to the above illustration and the process 50, when a UE prepares to initiate a PDN connection for a service to an APN by sending a request, especially a high priority service or an emergency service, and the APN is in congestion, a core network managing the UE can disconnect at least one PDN connection associated to the APN. Accordingly, the new PDN connection for the service can be accepted with a higher acceptance rate by using the resource released from the at least one disconnected PDN connection of the UE.
Kumar and Liao are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar to include the concept of having a policy transmitted to a network when the terminal device disconnects from the network as taught by Liao so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 21,
Kumar discloses: A network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method according to claim 10.
[0084] Referring to the FIG. 1B, the first SIM network (1000) can include a communicator (1200), a memory (1400) and a processor (1600).
[0087] The memory (1400) can include non-volatile storage elements. Examples of such non-volatile storage elements may include magnetic hard discs, optical discs, floppy discs, flash memories, or forms of electrically programmable memories (EPROM) or electrically erasable and programmable (EEPROM) memories. In addition, the memory (1400) may, in some examples, be considered a non-transitory storage medium. The term “non-transitory” may indicate that the storage medium is not embodied in a carrier wave or a propagated signal. However, the term “non-transitory” should not be interpreted that the memory (1400) is non-movable. In some examples, the memory (1400) is configured to store larger amounts of information than the memory. In certain examples, a non-transitory storage medium may store data that can, over time, change (e.g., in Random Access Memory (RAM) or cache).
Regarding Claim 22,
Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the service information is identified by a service identifier, and the service identifier includes at least one of: an Application Identity (ID), a Service ID, an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, a Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) ID, a Data Network Name (DNN), or an Access Point Name (APN).
[0033] The paging message can contain at least one of PDU sessions, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates (TFT), Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to indicate type of traffic is pending to be received by the multi SIM UE (100).
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Claims 26, 28, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao, held further in view of Ly et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0240213), herein referred to as “Ly.”
Regarding Claim 26,
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao does not teach the limitations of claim 26.
However, Ly teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first policy comprises service priorities at different time and different locations, and same service has different priorities at different time and different locations.
[0447] Within the multi-SIM policy, the Service Prioritization List may be configured by the user of a multi-SIM UE to indicate the priority of multi-SIM traffic such as which is the primary SIM, what types of services are of higher priority and the network should page the UE, what types of services are lower priority and the network should not page the UE, a time duration, location information, etc. in which the UE should prioritize traffic from a particular SIM, etc. The multi-SIM assistance information utilizes the user preferences from the service prioritization list and provides additional information to assist the core network in how to enhance or optimize network operations for multi-SIM UEs.
wherein when the terminal device is in a CM-IDLE state or an RRC-Inactive state, a data packet transmitted to the terminal device is detected by the first network, and when determining a downlink data packet of a service that triggers paging based on the service priority, the first message is determines to be transmitted to the terminal device.
Step S1516: If UE is in CM-IDLE, the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1. The UE then performs a Service Request procedure with the core network to establish NAS connection. The Service Request response may provide the UE more information on what to do next and contain the temporary identifier for SIM2 from PLMN2 and the service prioritization information. Upon evaluating the service prioritization information, the UE may decide to perform a SIM switch procedure to complete processing the page and receive the data associated with the page from PLMN2. If an SMS message was provided in the NAS container, the UE may present the message to the user and not need to connect to PLMN2 to retrieve the SMS message.
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, Liao, and Ly are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao to include the concepts of having a first policy having service priorities at different times and locations, and a same service has different priorities at different times and locations, and having a device in CM-IDLE mode detecting data transmitted to a UE based on a service triggered based on the priority as taught by Ly so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 28,
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 26.
Regarding Claim 30,
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao does not teach the limitations of claim 27.
However, Ly teaches: The method according to claim 12, wherein the first policy comprises service priorities at different time and different locations, and same service has different priorities at different time and different locations
[0447] Within the multi-SIM policy, the Service Prioritization List may be configured by the user of a multi-SIM UE to indicate the priority of multi-SIM traffic such as which is the primary SIM, what types of services are of higher priority and the network should page the UE, what types of services are lower priority and the network should not page the UE, a time duration, location information, etc. in which the UE should prioritize traffic from a particular SIM, etc. The multi-SIM assistance information utilizes the user preferences from the service prioritization list and provides additional information to assist the core network in how to enhance or optimize network operations for multi-SIM UEs.
wherein when the terminal device is in a CM-IDLE state or an RRC-Inactive state, a data packet transmitted to the terminal device is detected by the first network, and when determining a downlink data packet of a service that triggers paging based on the service priority, the first message is determines to be transmitted to the terminal device.
Step S1516: If UE is in CM-IDLE, the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1. The UE then performs a Service Request procedure with the core network to establish NAS connection. The Service Request response may provide the UE more information on what to do next and contain the temporary identifier for SIM2 from PLMN2 and the service prioritization information. Upon evaluating the service prioritization information, the UE may decide to perform a SIM switch procedure to complete processing the page and receive the data associated with the page from PLMN2. If an SMS message was provided in the NAS container, the UE may present the message to the user and not need to connect to PLMN2 to retrieve the SMS message.
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, Liao, and Ly are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao to include the concepts of having a first policy having service priorities at different times and locations, and a same service has different priorities at different times and locations and a device in CM-IDLE mode detecting data transmitted to a UE based on a service triggered based on the priority as taught by Ly so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 31,
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 30.
Kumar further discloses a processor and memory.
[0084] Referring to the FIG. 1B, the first SIM network (1000) can include a communicator (1200), a memory (1400) and a processor (1600).
[0087] The memory (1400) can include non-volatile storage elements. Examples of such non-volatile storage elements may include magnetic hard discs, optical discs, floppy discs, flash memories, or forms of electrically programmable memories (EPROM) or electrically erasable and programmable (EEPROM) memories. In addition, the memory (1400) may, in some examples, be considered a non-transitory storage medium. The term “non-transitory” may indicate that the storage medium is not embodied in a carrier wave or a propagated signal. However, the term “non-transitory” should not be interpreted that the memory (1400) is non-movable. In some examples, the memory (1400) is configured to store larger amounts of information than the memory. In certain examples, a non-transitory storage medium may store data that can, over time, change (e.g., in Random Access Memory (RAM) or cache).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao, held further in view of Hsu and Chou (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2015/0257161), herein referred to as “Hsu”.
Regarding Claim 32,
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao does not teach the limitations of claim 32.
However, Hsu teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein service priorities are used to indicate at least one of: a first service group, wherein the first service group comprises service that require the terminal device to connect to the first network, or a second service group, wherein the second service group comprises service that do not require the terminal device to connect to the first network.
[0033] FIG. 5 illustrates a method of smart congestion control for a UE in RRC Idle mode. The UE comprises a NAS layer and an AS layer. When MMTEL service arrives from the NAS layer, the NAS layer performs SSAC check to verify if the UE is barred from NAS layer access. After satisfying the SSAC check, NAS layer notifies AS layer that a service is arrived and an RRC connection is required. Afterwards, the AS layer further performs ACB check to verify if the UE is barred from AS layer access. On the other hand, for other mobile originated (MO) data service such as FTP, there is no NAS layer access control, and NAS layer could directly notify AS layer that service request and only AS layer ACB check is performed for MO data service. Therefore, the traditional double barring for MMTEL service de-prioritizes MMTEL service. In accordance with one novel aspect, the AS layer performs selective ACB. With selective ACB, the ACB check may be bypassed for MMTEL service if configured by the network. This way, MMTEL service is not always de-prioritized. Instead, MMTEL service can be prioritized through bypassing ACB check in AS layer. After completing the RA procedure, the UE establishes an RRC connection with the network and enters RRC Connected mode.
Note: Per the specification paragraph [0152], an example of the “first service group” that “requires the terminal device to connect to the first network” is exemplified by the terminal needing to return to the connected state from the idle state, which is shown here.
Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, Liao, and Hsu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar in view of Cui, Thiruvenkatachari, and Liao to include the concept of having a service group that requires the terminal device to connect to the network as taught Hsu so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 34,
Claim 34 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 32.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 10, and 12.
Due to the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 is withdrawn.
The following claim has been canceled: 33.
The following claim is new: 34.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, 19, and 21-26, 28, 30-32, and 34 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 12 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant contends that, in Liao, the core network disconnects instead of the UE. However, this position is not accurate. Instead, the UE initiates and disconnects from the PDN, as shown (and, in pertinent part):
[0048] when a UE prepares to initiate a PDN connection for a service to an APN by sending a request, especially a high priority service or an emergency service,
Accordingly, the new PDN connection for the service can be accepted with a higher acceptance rate by using the resource released from the at least one disconnected PDN connection of the UE.
Being that “decides to leave the network” is not sufficiently defined in the claim language, the aforementioned statements demonstrate that a PDN is disconnected, such that the UE can be broadly interpreted to “decide” to have left the network.
Further, Applicant argues that Liao lacks when “the first policy is transmitted to the first network”. However, that can also be countered in the fact that, from the aforementioned statements above, that in establishing an initial connection to the PDN from the UE, that policy information (here, the high priority service or emergency service) needs to be transmitted to the network device (in this case, a PDN).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411