Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Zeng (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0210856), herein referred to as “Zhang”, in view of Thiruvenkatachari et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0249408), herein referred to as ”Thiruvenkatachari”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Zhang discloses: A wireless communication method, applied to a terminal device which supports a plurality of Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) cards, the method comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device, part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0074] The auxiliary information includes at least one of the following information: a reason for establishing or resuming the second RRC connection, a type of the second RRC connection, service type information or service priority information of the second RRC connection, expected duration of the second RRC connection, and capability information indicating whether the terminal device supports deactivation of the first RRC connection.
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0195] The first SIM is in the RRC connected state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC connected state with the first subscriber identity. The second SIM is in an RRC idle state or an RRC deactivated state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC idle state or the RRC deactivated state with the second subscriber identity.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
[0199] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine to delay deactivating the current connection or delay releasing the current connection.
Note: S540 is sending, by the terminal device, a message that contains service priority information (“first policy”). S550 determines, based on the auxiliary information, whether to maintain the connection to the first RAN or deactivate.
receiving, by the terminal device, a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network after determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message, and establishing, by the terminal device, the connection with the first network in response to the first message
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
Note: S540 is sending, by the terminal device, a message that contains service priority information (“first policy”). S550 determines, based on the auxiliary information, whether to maintain the connection to the first RAN or deactivate.
wherein whether the terminal device is required to establish the connection with the first network is determined by the first network based on the first policy
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the first network.
[0201] S560: The first RAN sends a context release request message of the terminal device to a serving core network device.
[0202] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the message may include all or some of the auxiliary information (for example, a service type or a service priority of the second RRC connection, or expected duration of the second RRC connection) reported by the terminal device.
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
Note: The decision to leave is made by the UE based on the released message which contains the auxiliary (priority/policy) information.
Zhang does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari discloses wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Zhang and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device as taught by Thiruvenkatachari so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 4,
However, Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein USIM-1 of the terminal device corresponds to the first network and USIM-2 of the terminal device corresponds to a second network; and wherein the terminal device is in a connected state and/or a connected state with the second network.
[0125] FIG. 3(b) shows a dual SIM dual standby mode in which two SIM cards share a set of transceivers, and a terminal device in an RRC idle state needs to monitor paging messages of the two cards, for example, in a time-division multiplexing (TDM) mode. When there is an RRC connection between the terminal device and a base station of one of the SIMs (for example, SIM 1), when the SIM 1 enters an RRC connected state, or when the SIM 1 enters the RRC connected state with a first subscriber identity, to send and receive data, the terminal device cannot maintain an RRC connection between the terminal device and a base station of the other SIM (for example, SIM 2), or the SIM 2 is in an RRC idle state or an RRC deactivated state, or the terminal device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC deactivated state with a second subscriber identity.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the receiver.
Zhang discloses: A wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0074] The auxiliary information includes at least one of the following information: a reason for establishing or resuming the second RRC connection, a type of the second RRC connection, service type information or service priority information of the second RRC connection, expected duration of the second RRC connection, and capability information indicating whether the terminal device supports deactivation of the first RRC connection.
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0195] The first SIM is in the RRC connected state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC connected state with the first subscriber identity. The second SIM is in an RRC idle state or an RRC deactivated state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC idle state or the RRC deactivated state with the second subscriber identity.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
[0199] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine to delay deactivating the current connection or delay releasing the current connection.
Note: S540 is sending, by the terminal device, a message that contains service priority information (“first policy”). S550 determines, based on the auxiliary information, whether to maintain the connection to the first RAN or deactivate.
determining, by the first network that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network based on the first policy
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
after determining that the terminal device is required to establish the connection with the first network, transmitting, by the first network, a first message to the terminal device, the first message being a paging message.
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the network.
[0201] S560: The first RAN sends a context release request message of the terminal device to a serving core network device.
[0202] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the message may include all or some of the auxiliary information (for example, a service type or a service priority of the second RRC connection, or expected duration of the second RRC connection) reported by the terminal device.
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
Note: The decision to leave is made by the UE based on the released message which contains the auxiliary (priority/policy) information.
Zhang does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari discloses wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Zhang and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device as taught by Thiruvenkatachari so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Zhang discloses: A terminal device, supporting a plurality a plurality of Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) cards and comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to:
transmit part or all of information in a first policy to a first network via a service request message and/or a registration request message, wherein the first policy comprises a service priority, and the service priority identifies a service that requires the terminal device to connect to the first network or a service that does not require the terminal device to connect to the first network
[0074] The auxiliary information includes at least one of the following information: a reason for establishing or resuming the second RRC connection, a type of the second RRC connection, service type information or service priority information of the second RRC connection, expected duration of the second RRC connection, and capability information indicating whether the terminal device supports deactivation of the first RRC connection.
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0195] The first SIM is in the RRC connected state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC connected state with the first subscriber identity. The second SIM is in an RRC idle state or an RRC deactivated state, that is, the terminal device is in the RRC idle state or the RRC deactivated state with the second subscriber identity.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
[0199] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine to delay deactivating the current connection or delay releasing the current connection.
Note: S540 is sending, by the terminal device, a message that contains service priority information (“first policy”). S550 determines, based on the auxiliary information, whether to maintain the connection to the first RAN or deactivate.
receive, by the terminal device, a first message transmitted by the first network, wherein the first message is transmitted by the first network after determining that the terminal device is required to establish a connection with the first network, wherein the first message is a paging message, and establish, by the terminal device, the connection with the first network in response to the first message
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
Note: S540 is sending, by the terminal device, a message that contains service priority information (“first policy”). S550 determines, based on the auxiliary information, whether to maintain the connection to the first RAN or deactivate.
wherein whether the terminal device is required to establish the connection with the first network is determined by the first network based on the first policy
[0194] S540: The terminal device sends a first message to the first access network device, for example, the first RAN in FIG. 5, where the first message may be used to request to establish or resume the second RRC connection with the second subscriber identity. The first message may include auxiliary information, where the auxiliary information is used by the first RAN to determine to release or deactivate the first RRC connection.
[0198] As an example instead of a limitation, the first RAN may determine, based on a “reason for the second RRC connection” or “service priority of the second RRC connection” in the auxiliary information that a service priority of the first RRC connection is higher, to reject the request.
wherein the first policy is transmitted to the first network when the terminal device decides to leave the first network or decides to disconnect from the first network.
[0201] S560: The first RAN sends a context release request message of the terminal device to a serving core network device.
[0202] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the message may include all or some of the auxiliary information (for example, a service type or a service priority of the second RRC connection, or expected duration of the second RRC connection) reported by the terminal device.
[0203] S570: The core network device sends a context release command message of the terminal device to the first RAN.
[0206] S580: The first RAN sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate to deactivate the first RRC connection, release the first RRC connection, or reject the request (that is, maintain the first RRC connection). The first RAN may configure a specific RRC operation to be performed by the terminal device.
[0204] As an example instead of a limitation, optionally, the core network device may determine, based on the auxiliary information, whether to send a paging message for the first SIM when the downlink data arrives. For example, if the service priority of the second RRC connection is higher than a service priority of the downlink data, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM. The reason is that the terminal device may not respond to the paging for the first SIM to return to the first RRC connection even if the paging message is sent for the first SIM. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, the core network device may determine not to send the paging message for the first SIM, to avoid ping-pong handover between RRC connections. For another example, if the expected duration of the second RRC connection does not expire, but the service priority of the first RRC connection is higher than the service priority of the second RRC connection, the core network device may determine to send the paging message for the first SIM.
Note: The decision to leave is made by the UE based on the released message which contains the auxiliary (priority/policy) information.
Zhang does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: release, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
However, Thiruvenkatachari discloses wherein the method further comprises: release, by the terminal device, an Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection and/or a Connection Management (CM) connection with a second network in case of establishing the connection with the first network.
[0038] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE, according to an embodiment. According to FIG. 3, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time. A system 300 includes a SIM 1 302 and a SIM 2 304 of a dual SIM UE. Initially, the SIM 1 302 and the SIM 2 304 are in an idle mode, and therefore, are not consuming any of the resources of the UE.
[0045] According to another embodiment, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE releases an RRC connection based on a criterion relating to reception of paging message from the network. A SIM 1 of the UE can be provided with the resources, while the SIM 2 is in an idle mode.
Zhang and Thiruvenkatachari are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the concept of releasing a RRC connection by the terminal device as taught by Thiruvenkatachari so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 21,
Zhang discloses: A network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method according to claim 10.
[0076] The communication apparatus includes: a communication interface, configured to receive and send information, in other words, configured to communicate with another apparatus, and a processor, where the processor is coupled to the communication interface. Optionally, the communication apparatus may further include a memory, configured to store computer-executable program code. Alternatively, the communication apparatus may not include a memory, and the memory may be located outside the communication apparatus. The program code stored in the memory includes instructions.
Claims 2, 8, 13, 19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari, held further in view of Kumar et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0191778), herein referred to as “Kumar”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
However, Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the service information indicates a voice service.
[0127] Referring to the FIG. 4, consider the UE (100) with the first SIM and the second SIM where both the first SIM and the second SIM are USIMs. Consider that the first SIM is in a high speed cellular link i.e., global wordline (GWL) idle mode or active mode on the LTE, registered and the second SIM is in a G or W mode. Further, at step 1, consider that a voice call is triggered over the second SIM. At step 2, due to the triggering of the voice call, a radio link failure (RLF) or out of service occurs at the first SIM of the UE (100). Furthermore, at step 3, the second SIM network (2000) initiates a paging for the MT data or the MT VoLTE calls on the first SIM. However, the first SIM may not respond to the paging of the SIM network (2000) resulting in the wastage of the resources.
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Kumar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari to include the concept of the service information being a voice service as taught by Kumar so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
However, Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device during establishing the connection with the first network, the service request message and/or the registration request message to the first network to establish an Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection with the first network.
[0132] At step 7, the connection is established over the second SIM of the UE (100) after executing either the NAS service request or the resumption procedure. Further, at step 8, the NAS or the AS signalling message to suspend or release the connection (e.g. extended service request with the cause value for suspending in dual SIM case or RRCConnection release) over the second SIM of the UE (100) is executed. At step 9, the UE (100) sends the NAS signalling message to the first SIM network (1000) to resume the connection over the first SIM of the UE (100). From, step 10 onwards the service on the first SIM is resumed.
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Kumar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari to include the concept of a non-access stratum connection as taught by Kumar so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 22,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 22.
However, Kumar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the service information is identified by a service identifier, and the service identifier includes at least one of: an Application Identity (ID), a Service ID, an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, a Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) ID, a Data Network Name (DNN), or an Access Point Name (APN).
[0033] The paging message can contain at least one of PDU sessions, slice IDs, QOS, QCI, Paging cause, Service type, EPS bearer ID, DNN, APN, DRB ID (i.e. radio bearer ID), QFI ID, Traffic flow templates (TFT), Application ID, UE Route selection policy identifier, establishment cause, access type, access category and combination of all this parameters and not limited to indicate type of traffic is pending to be received by the multi SIM UE (100).
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Kumar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari to include the concept of a service identifier including a DNN and APN as taught by Kumar so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 22.
Claims 26, 28, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari, held further in view of Ly et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0240213), herein referred to as “Ly.”
Regarding Claim 26,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not teach the limitations of claim 26.
However, Ly teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first policy comprises service priorities at different time and different locations, and same service has different priorities at different time and different locations.
[0447] Within the multi-SIM policy, the Service Prioritization List may be configured by the user of a multi-SIM UE to indicate the priority of multi-SIM traffic such as which is the primary SIM, what types of services are of higher priority and the network should page the UE, what types of services are lower priority and the network should not page the UE, a time duration, location information, etc. in which the UE should prioritize traffic from a particular SIM, etc. The multi-SIM assistance information utilizes the user preferences from the service prioritization list and provides additional information to assist the core network in how to enhance or optimize network operations for multi-SIM UEs.
wherein when the terminal device is in a CM-IDLE state or an RRC-Inactive state, a data packet transmitted to the terminal device is detected by the first network, and when determining a downlink data packet of a service that triggers paging based on the service priority, the first message is determines to be transmitted to the terminal device.
Step S1516: If UE is in CM-IDLE, the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1. The UE then performs a Service Request procedure with the core network to establish NAS connection. The Service Request response may provide the UE more information on what to do next and contain the temporary identifier for SIM2 from PLMN2 and the service prioritization information. Upon evaluating the service prioritization information, the UE may decide to perform a SIM switch procedure to complete processing the page and receive the data associated with the page from PLMN2. If an SMS message was provided in the NAS container, the UE may present the message to the user and not need to connect to PLMN2 to retrieve the SMS message.
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Ly are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view Thiruvenkatachari to include the concepts of having a first policy having service priorities at different times and locations, and a same service has different priorities at different times and locations, and having a device in CM-IDLE mode detecting data transmitted to a UE based on a service triggered based on the priority as taught by Ly so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 28,
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 26.
Regarding Claim 30,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not teach the limitations of claim 27.
However, Ly teaches: The method according to claim 12, wherein the first policy comprises service priorities at different time and different locations, and same service has different priorities at different time and different locations
[0447] Within the multi-SIM policy, the Service Prioritization List may be configured by the user of a multi-SIM UE to indicate the priority of multi-SIM traffic such as which is the primary SIM, what types of services are of higher priority and the network should page the UE, what types of services are lower priority and the network should not page the UE, a time duration, location information, etc. in which the UE should prioritize traffic from a particular SIM, etc. The multi-SIM assistance information utilizes the user preferences from the service prioritization list and provides additional information to assist the core network in how to enhance or optimize network operations for multi-SIM UEs.
wherein when the terminal device is in a CM-IDLE state or an RRC-Inactive state, a data packet transmitted to the terminal device is detected by the first network, and when determining a downlink data packet of a service that triggers paging based on the service priority, the first message is determines to be transmitted to the terminal device.
Step S1516: If UE is in CM-IDLE, the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1. The UE then performs a Service Request procedure with the core network to establish NAS connection. The Service Request response may provide the UE more information on what to do next and contain the temporary identifier for SIM2 from PLMN2 and the service prioritization information. Upon evaluating the service prioritization information, the UE may decide to perform a SIM switch procedure to complete processing the page and receive the data associated with the page from PLMN2. If an SMS message was provided in the NAS container, the UE may present the message to the user and not need to connect to PLMN2 to retrieve the SMS message.
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Ly are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari to include the concepts of having a first policy having service priorities at different times and locations, and a same service has different priorities at different times and locations and a device in CM-IDLE mode detecting data transmitted to a UE based on a service triggered based on the priority as taught by Ly so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 31,
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 30.
Zhang further discloses a processor and memory.
[0076] The communication apparatus includes: a communication interface, configured to receive and send information, in other words, configured to communicate with another apparatus, and a processor, where the processor is coupled to the communication interface. Optionally, the communication apparatus may further include a memory, configured to store computer-executable program code. Alternatively, the communication apparatus may not include a memory, and the memory may be located outside the communication apparatus. The program code stored in the memory includes instructions.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari, held further in view of Hsu and Chou (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2015/0257161), herein referred to as “Hsu”.
Regarding Claim 32,
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari does not teach the limitations of claim 32.
However, Hsu teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein service priorities are used to indicate at least one of: a first service group, wherein the first service group comprises service that require the terminal device to connect to the first network, or a second service group, wherein the second service group comprises service that do not require the terminal device to connect to the first network.
[0033] FIG. 5 illustrates a method of smart congestion control for a UE in RRC Idle mode. The UE comprises a NAS layer and an AS layer. When MMTEL service arrives from the NAS layer, the NAS layer performs SSAC check to verify if the UE is barred from NAS layer access. After satisfying the SSAC check, NAS layer notifies AS layer that a service is arrived and an RRC connection is required. Afterwards, the AS layer further performs ACB check to verify if the UE is barred from AS layer access. On the other hand, for other mobile originated (MO) data service such as FTP, there is no NAS layer access control, and NAS layer could directly notify AS layer that service request and only AS layer ACB check is performed for MO data service. Therefore, the traditional double barring for MMTEL service de-prioritizes MMTEL service. In accordance with one novel aspect, the AS layer performs selective ACB. With selective ACB, the ACB check may be bypassed for MMTEL service if configured by the network. This way, MMTEL service is not always de-prioritized. Instead, MMTEL service can be prioritized through bypassing ACB check in AS layer. After completing the RA procedure, the UE establishes an RRC connection with the network and enters RRC Connected mode.
Note: Per the specification paragraph [0152], an example of the “first service group” that “requires the terminal device to connect to the first network” is exemplified by the terminal needing to return to the connected state from the idle state, which is shown here.
Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari and Hsu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Thiruvenkatachari to include the concept of having a service group that requires the terminal device to connect to the network as taught Hsu so as to enhance communications between devices in the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 34,
Claim 34 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 32.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on June 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, 19, and 21-26, 28, 30-32, and 34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411