DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 and 19 in the reply filed on 09/23/2024 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendments under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 01/20/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 1 and 19 based upon being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1) as set forth in the last Office action because: Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1) fully teach the amended claim 1 and 19.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 19, and 21 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicants arguments that that the references of record do not show, disclose, or suggest processing circuitry configured to "render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, at least one intracardiac electrogram (IEGM) trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by at least one of the catheter electrodes such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart" as recited in Claim 1 and 19. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Cohen is relied on for teaching IEGM traces (Fig 3; [0055]-[0056]) and Zizzo teaches displaying information by overlapping means via image fusion techniques [0026] is well-known and obvious in the art. The combination of references would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to teach processing circuitry configured to "render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, at least one intracardiac electrogram (IEGM) trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by at least one of the catheter electrodes such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen teaches a medical system, comprising: a catheter configured to be inserted into a chamber of a heart of a living subject ([abstract] a catheter that is positioned within the heart and an electrode on the catheter), and including a distal end comprising catheter electrodes configured to contact tissue at respective locations within the chamber of the heart ([0040] Sheath 21 is positioned so that a distal end 22 of the probe may enter the heart of the patient, after exiting a distal end 23 of the sheath, and contact tissue of the heart); at least one position sensor configured to provide at least one position signal indicative of a position of the distal end ([0047] The signals generated by the sensors, in response to magnetic fields from the transmitters that traverse the sensors, allow the sensors to act as location and orientation detectors for the elements of the probe, in this case in the distal end, where the sensors are situated); a display ([0053] Results of the procedure may be presented on a display screen 60); and processing circuitry (Fig 3; processor 46) configured to: compute the position of the distal end of the catheter responsively to the at least one position signal ([0057] the algorithm of processor 46 uses current tracking module 54 to inject currents via electrodes 26 into patient 18. From the impedances presented to the injected currents, the processor is able to estimate the position of each of electrodes 26 conveying the currents. Alternatively, or additionally, the processor uses magnetic tracking module 52 to analyze signals received from sensors 24, so as to determine the orientation and location of the sensors); render to the display a three-dimensional (3D) anatomical map of the chamber of the heart and a 3D representation of the distal end of the catheter ([0054] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of display screen 60, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During the procedure, a graphical image 62, typically a three-dimensional (3D) image of a portion of the heart of patient 18, is presented on a first part of screen 60) ([0058] the position and orientation of distal end icon 64, and of electrode icons 66, are typically updated in real time on screen 60, as they are overlaid on image 62); and render to the display over at least part of the anatomical map ([0055] Overlaid on image 62 is an icon 64 of distal end 22 of the lasso catheter, and on icon 64 are respective representative icons 66 of electrodes 26), at least one intracardiac electrogram (IEGM) trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by at least one of the catheter electrodes (Fig 3; [0056] ECG module 58 enables processor 46 to acquire EP signals from electrodes 26, and during the procedure, the processor presents the signals on a second part of screen 60).
Cohen fails to fully teach render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart.
However, Zizzo teaches to render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map ([0026] the graphical representation of the abnormality, either on a graphical representation of the organ or on the imaged organ itself, is displayed together with the image of the internal organ (heart). This facilitates monitoring of the ECG signals, potentially by the surgeon carrying out the operation. The graphical representation of the abnormality, preferably on a graphical representation of the organ, can either be displayed in proximity to the image of the organ, for example on side-by-side display screens or using a split screen display, or overlapping or otherwise fused by means of image fusion techniques) ([0121] This may either comprise a split screen display 1116a or an overlapping screen display 1116b. In the latter case operator controls 1118, for example a second joystick, associated with image display system 1114 may be employed to scale and/or rotate and/or translate one of the images, typically the graphical representation of the abnormality, so that, by eye, it fits over the captured image of the heart). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include displaying information side by side, split screen, overlapping, or fused means via image fusion techniques as taught by Zizzo [0026] which would render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart. Doing so would ease the of monitoring both the traces and the map at the same time and in the same location.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to overlay the traces as shown on the same display screen in fig. 6 over the anatomical image, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render to the display over at least part of the anatomical map, multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes (Fig 3; [0056] ECG module 58 enables processor 46 to acquire EP signals from electrodes 26, and during the procedure, the processor presents the signals on a second part of screen 60) ([0056] Typically, if the signals are presented as unipolar signals, there is a graph 68 for each electrode 26. Alternatively, if the signals are presented as bipolar signals, there is a graph 68 for each pair of electrodes 26. For clarity and simplicity, only four graphs 68 are shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render the at least one IEGM trace as a static IEGM trace representing recorded electrical activity in the tissue ([0061] Time of occurrence 80 is usually measured with respect to a reference time 82, typically a time generated by a reference signal acquired from a reference electrode).
Regarding claim 12, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render the at least one IEGM trace as a progressing IEGM trace representing recorded electrical activity in the tissue ([0056] The signals are presented as voltage vs. time graphs 68).
Regarding claim 19, Cohen teaches a medical method, comprising: providing at least one position signal indicative of a position of a distal end of a catheter inserted into a chamber of a heart of a living subject ([0047] The signals generated by the sensors, in response to magnetic fields from the transmitters that traverse the sensors, allow the sensors to act as location and orientation detectors for the elements of the probe, in this case in the distal end, where the sensors are situated) ([0040] Sheath 21 is positioned so that a distal end 22 of the probe may enter the heart of the patient, after exiting a distal end 23 of the sheath, and contact tissue of the heart); computing the position of the distal end of the catheter responsively to the at least one position signal ([0057] the algorithm of processor 46 uses current tracking module 54 to inject currents via electrodes 26 into patient 18. From the impedances presented to the injected currents, the processor is able to estimate the position of each of electrodes 26 conveying the currents. Alternatively, or additionally, the processor uses magnetic tracking module 52 to analyze signals received from sensors 24, so as to determine the orientation and location of the sensors); rendering to a display a three-dimensional (3D) anatomical map of the chamber of the heart and a 3D representation of the distal end of the catheter ([0054] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of display screen 60, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During the procedure, a graphical image 62, typically a three-dimensional (3D) image of a portion of the heart of patient 18, is presented on a first part of screen 60) ([0058] the position and orientation of distal end icon 64, and of electrode icons 66, are typically updated in real time on screen 60, as they are overlaid on image 62); and rendering to the display over at least part of the anatomical map ([0055] Overlaid on image 62 is an icon 64 of distal end 22 of the lasso catheter, and on icon 64 are respective representative icons 66 of electrodes 26), at least one intracardiac electrogram (IEGM) trace representing electrical activity in tissue of the chamber that is sensed by at least one catheter electrode of the catheter (Fig 3; [0056] ECG module 58 enables processor 46 to acquire EP signals from electrodes 26, and during the procedure, the processor presents the signals on a second part of screen 60).
Cohen fails to fully teach render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart.
However, Zizzo teaches to render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map ([0026] the graphical representation of the abnormality, either on a graphical representation of the organ or on the imaged organ itself, is displayed together with the image of the internal organ (heart). This facilitates monitoring of the ECG signals, potentially by the surgeon carrying out the operation. The graphical representation of the abnormality, preferably on a graphical representation of the organ, can either be displayed in proximity to the image of the organ, for example on side-by-side display screens or using a split screen display, or overlapping or otherwise fused by means of image fusion techniques). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include displaying information side by side, split screen, overlapping, or fused means via image fusion techniques as taught by Zizzo [0026] which would render to the display directly over at least part of the anatomical map, such that the at least one IEGM trace is visible in the same part of the display as the 3D anatomical map of the chamber of the heart. Doing so would ease the of monitoring both the traces and the map at the same time and in the same location.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1), further in view of Olson (US 20200268259 A1).
Regrading claim 21, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, but fails to teach update a position of the at least one IEGM trace in response to an update in the position of the distal end of the catheter.
However, Olson teaches update a position of the at least one IEGM trace ([0052] As will be appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art, traces 602 are often updated on display 23 in real time (that is, they reflect the current beat)) in response to an update in the position of the distal end of the catheter ([0053] As the user manipulates the interface to adjust the angle Θ between the orientation of catheter 13 and the cardiac activation wavefront direction, electrodes 17 can be re-ordered to correspond to the newly-selected orientation (e.g., as discussed in further detail below) and their related traces 602 can be rearranged on display 23, until the practitioner identifies the most logical sortation (see, e.g., FIG. 6B)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include update a position of the at least one IEGM trace in response to an update in the position of the distal end of the catheter. Doing so allows the IGEM traces that are displayed to be updated in real time for accurate sensing during a procedure.
Claim(s) 3-5, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1), further in view of Koyrakh (US 20150057507 A1).
Regrading claim 3, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive signals from the catheter, and in response to the signals, but fails to teach assess a respective quality of contact of each of at least a sub-set of the catheter electrodes with the tissue and render to the display multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations.
However, Koyrakh teaches assess a respective quality of contact of each of at least a sub-set of the catheter electrodes with the tissue ([0004], adding electrophysiology data points to an electrophysiology map when inclusion data satisfies inclusion criteria) and render to the display multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations (figures 3 and 4, panels 300 on the display also show a percentile score in the bottom right box). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include a respective quality of contact of each of at least a sub-set of the catheter electrodes with the tissue and render to the display multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations. Doing so would ensure good contact to the tissue to receive accurate signals.
Regrading claim 4, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render to the display the multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes, but fails to teach responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations exceeding a threshold quality of contact.
However, Koyrakh teaches responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations exceeding a threshold quality of contact (figure 5, decision block 540; [0049], if the inclusion data for the collected electrophysiology data point satisfies the defined inclusion criteria, then the electrophysiology data point is added to the electrophysiology map; figures 3 and 4, panels 300 also show a percentile score in the bottom right box) ([0006] EKG signal at a time the electrophysiology data point is collected exceeds a preset matching score threshold, such as about 85%). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include to render the display responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations exceeding a threshold quality of contact. Doing so allows for the comparison and monitoring of each contact.
Regrading claim 5, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render to the display the multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by n respective ones of the catheter electrodes, but fails to teach responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the n respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart being among n highest qualities of contact of the at least sub-set of the catheter electrodes. However, Koyrakh teaches responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the n respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart being among n highest qualities of contact of the at least sub-set of the catheter electrodes ([0006] EKG signal at a time the electrophysiology data point is collected exceeds a preset matching score threshold, such as about 85%). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include render the display responsively to the respective quality of contact of each of the n respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart being among n highest qualities of contact of the at least sub-set of the catheter electrodes. Doing so allows for the comparison and monitoring of each contact.
Regrading claim 9, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry configured to execute: a first software program configured to: compute the position of the distal end of the catheter responsively to the at least one position signal ([0057] the algorithm of processor 46 uses current tracking module 54 to inject currents via electrodes 26 into patient 18. From the impedances presented to the injected currents, the processor is able to estimate the position of each of electrodes 26 conveying the currents); and render to the display the anatomical map of the chamber of the heart and the representation of the distal end of the catheter ([0058] ([0058] the position and orientation of distal end icon 64, and of electrode icons 66, are typically updated in real time on screen 60, as they are overlaid on image 62. In addition graphs 68, of the EP signals acquired from electrodes 26 by ECG module 58, are also typically updated in real time). Cohen fails to teach output data indicative of the at least one IEGM trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by the at least one of the catheter electrodes; and a second software program configured to: receive the data output by the first software program; and render to the display over the at least part of the anatomical map, the at least one IEGM. However, Koyrakh teaches and output data indicative of the at least one IEGM trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by the at least one of the catheter electrodes ([0013] The inclusion processor can be configured to: analyze location-based inclusion data and rhythm-based inclusion data associated with an electrophysiology data point to determine whether the location-based inclusion data and rhythm-based inclusion data respectively satisfy a location-based inclusion criterion and a rhythm-based inclusion criterion; and add the electrophysiology data point to the electrophysiology map when the location-based inclusion data and rhythm-based inclusion data respectively satisfy the location-based inclusion criterion and the rhythm-based inclusion criterion); and a second software program configured to: receive the data output by the first software program ([0013] The mapping processor is configured to generate a graphical representation of the electrophysiology map from a plurality of electrophysiology data points added to the electrophysiology map by the inclusion processor); and render to the display over the at least part of the anatomical map, the at least one IEGM ([0013] The mapping processor is configured to generate a graphical representation of the electrophysiology map from a plurality of electrophysiology data points added to the electrophysiology map by the inclusion processor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include output data indicative of the at least one IEGM trace representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by the at least one of the catheter electrodes; and a second software program configured to: receive the data output by the first software program; and render to the display over the at least part of the anatomical map, the at least one IEGM. Doing so allows for the output data to be produced by the trace signals where a second program can receive it and render to the display over the at least part of the anatomical map for a detailed monitoring system.
Regrading claim 10, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render the at least one IEGM trace as a progressing IEGM trace representing current electrical activity in the tissue.
However, Koyrakh teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render the at least one IEGM trace as a progressing IEGM trace representing current electrical activity in the tissue ([0059] Only the signals from the selected EKG leads will be subject to the EKG match criteria (that is, processed using the morphology matching algorithm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render the at least one IEGM trace as a progressing IEGM trace representing current electrical activity in the tissue. Doing so allows for the monitoring of real time electrical activity in the tissue.
Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1), further in view of Koyrakh (US 20150057507 A1), further in view of Zeiden (US 20190099078 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a region of the anatomical map and render to the display the multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to: the respective ones of the catheter electrodes being located in proximity to the selected region of the anatomical map; and the respective quality of contact of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations.
However, Koyrakh teaches the respective quality of contact of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations ([0004], adding electrophysiology data points to an electrophysiology map when inclusion data satisfies inclusion criteria) (figures 3 and 4, panels 300 on the display also show a percentile score in the bottom right box). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a region of the anatomical map and render to the display the multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to: the respective ones of the catheter electrodes being located in proximity to the selected region of the anatomical map; and the respective quality of contact of the respective ones of the catheter electrodes with the tissue of the heart at the respective locations. Doing so allows for a region of choice to be monitored with the electrodes in the space and mapped on the display.
Further, Zeiden teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a region of the anatomical map ([0044] Referring again to FIG. 3, as shown in block 304, the method 300 includes receiving a user input. For example, based on a determined visualized ROI, a user may provide input indicating a location of the ROI on the map of the heart. The user input may include a marked area (e.g., line or shape) on a surface of the heart 402 (e.g., received via an input device, such as a mouse, or via touch screen capability), as described in more detail below with regard to FIGS. 5 and 6) and render to the display the multiple IEGM traces representing electrical activity in the tissue that is sensed by respective ones of the catheter electrodes responsively to ([0044]-[0045]): the respective ones of the catheter electrodes being located in proximity to the selected region of the anatomical map ([0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a point on the anatomical map; and render to the display the at least one IEGM trace responsively to the user input.
However, Zieden teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a point on the anatomical map ([0044] Referring again to FIG. 3, as shown in block 304, the method 300 includes receiving a user input. For example, based on a determined visualized ROI, a user may provide input indicating a location of the ROI on the map of the heart. The user input may include a marked area (e.g., line or shape) on a surface of the heart 402 (e.g., received via an input device, such as a mouse, or via touch screen capability), as described in more detail below with regard to FIGS. 5 and 6); and render to the display the at least one IEGM trace responsively to the user input ([0045] Based on the user input received at block 304, the method 300 includes determining the location of the anatomical region of the heart 402, as shown in block 306, determining which electrical signals are acquired from the anatomical region of the heart 402, as shown at block 308, and displaying the electrical signals determined to be acquired from the anatomical region of the heart 402, as shown at block 310). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a user input selecting a point on the anatomical map; and render to the display the at least one IEGM trace responsively to the user input. Doing so allows for user input from the physician to select a specific point that would be beneficial to display with current traces.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Zizzo (US 20080319331 A1), further in view of Budd (US 6728562 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry configured to move a position of the at least one IEGM trace rendered on the display to follow the movement in the position of the distal end of the catheter.
However, Budd teaches wherein the processing circuitry configured to move a position of the at least one IEGM trace rendered on the display to follow the movement in the position of the distal end of the catheter (Fig 13 and 14; [51] This process is used to extract and display a time series representation of the electrical activity at a physician selected site. FIG. 13 shows a site 97 that has been selected and a time series electrogram 99 is shown on the display device 36 along with the dynamic wall representation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Cohen to include wherein the processing circuitry configured to move a position of the at least one IEGM trace rendered on the display to follow the movement in the position of the distal end of the catheter. Doing so allows for the display to follow the distal end of the catheter during procedure to view the site of inters in real time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEIGH LAUREN KERN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794