DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Amendment filed September 1, 2026.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references do not disclose wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users. Paragraph [0100] of Fujioka discloses a parent, or supervisory user, can monitor their child's time and usage of content in Kid Mode by viewing reports and analytics. In addition, a parent can allow or restrict their child's access in Kid Mode to certain apps, games or types of content via a series of on/off switches or other indications of whether access is enabled. Paragraph [0279] of Fujioka discloses tracking and controlling time and usage on interface 1500, as shown in FIG. 15, including tracking and controlling each child's activity usage and time spent, receiving immediate feedback on the type and level of activities completed. Figure 15 of Fujioka disclose being able to switch kids.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2017/0177844 to Da Luz (hereinafter “Da Luz”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2013/0254660 to Fujioka (hereinafter “Fujioka”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2009/0064314 to Lee (hereinafter “Lee”).
As to Claim 1, Da Luz discloses a user login method applied to an electronic device, comprising:
displaying a first verification interface in a screen-locked state (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen);
obtaining an unlock password when displaying the first verification interface (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen); and
displaying a first interface when the unlock password matches a first password (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a first password unlocking Security Profile 1. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the first interface is a first system desktop for a first user, and wherein the first interface comprises at least one first application (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.”); or
displaying a second interface when the unlock password matches a second password (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a second password unlocking Security Profile 2. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the second interface is a second system desktop for a second user, and wherein the second interface comprises at least one second application (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.”),
wherein the first password is different from the second password (Paragraph [0022] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications need to be associated with a different password),
wherein the at least one first application and the at least one second application are all stored in a user space having a first user identity (ID) that identifies the first user (Paragraph [0023] of Da Luz discloses a level of access for the security profile that allows a user to access all data, applications, and features within computing device 40, for example, both personal and enterprise. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person)
storing the first password and the first user ID in a first password storage area (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
storing the second password and a second user ID in a second password storage area, wherein the second user ID is used to identify the second user, wherein the first password storage area and the second password storage area are different (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles);
when the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is not the first password stored in the first password storage area, detecting whether the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is the second password stored in the second password storage area (Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
[in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation
wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device
wherein the setting of the second system desktop includes:
a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop, wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration;
an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop, wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users];
a security and privacy menu used to manage the unlock password for the second system desktop (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses assigns a password, based on a received password from the user); and
[a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs].
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation and wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device and a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop and an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop, wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users and a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs.
However, Fujioka discloses this. Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode. Paragraph [0047] of Fujioka discloses instructions for providing a first user interface, instructions for providing a second operating environment associated with a second user interface, instructions for requiring input of an authentication code to access the first user interface from the second operating environment. Paragraph [0159] of Fujioka discloses a parent operating environment and a kid operating environment. Paragraph [0109] of Fujioka discloses Parent Control Manager provides the ability to manage and limit access for applications, content, and other settings in Kid Mode. Paragraph [0140] of Fujioka discloses it also allows all compatible applications to request authorizations (e.g., by entry of a Parent password within Kid Mode or by configuration of controls in the Parental Dashboard). Paragraph [0100] of Fujioka discloses a parent, or supervisory user, can monitor their child's time and usage of content in Kid Mode by viewing reports and analytics. In addition, a parent can allow or restrict their child's access in Kid Mode to certain apps, games or types of content via a series of on/off switches or other indications of whether access is enabled. Paragraph [0279] of Fujioka discloses tracking and controlling time and usage on interface 1500, as shown in FIG. 15, including tracking and controlling each child's activity usage and time spent, receiving immediate feedback on the type and level of activities completed. Figure 15 of Fujioka disclose being able to switch kids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the multiple profile system as disclosed by Da Luz, with switching modes as disclosed by Fujioka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Da Luz and Fujioka are directed toward multiple profile systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0104] of Fujioka discloses switchable UI modes allow kids to use the tablet device in a protected Kid Mode environment, while allowing parents to manage Kid Mode's access to apps, content, and settings with the Parental Control Manager in Parent Mode.
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration.
However, Lee discloses this. Figure 10B of Lee discloses “create time period for selected user”. Figure 11A of Lee discloses setting times and being able to enter or cancel the modifications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the multiple profile system as disclosed by Da Luz, with different permissions for users as disclosed by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Da Luz and Lee are directed toward multiple profile systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0009] of Lee discloses existing mechanisms for controlling access to media generally do not address all the needs of parents. There is a growing need for managing media content on portable electronic devices, as the use of such devices is ever increasing. Therefore, improved methods and systems for managing media access and media content on portable electronic devices are desired.
As to Claim 2, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein when the electronic device displays the second interface, the method further comprises: receiving a first operation; displaying a second verification interface in an unlocked state in response to the first operation; obtaining a switching password entered in the second verification interface; and displaying the first interface when the switching password entered in the second verification interface is a third password (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses while in Kid Mode being able to provide the parental password to transition to parent mode.).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 3, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the third password is the same as the first password (Paragraph [0160] of Fujioka discloses in some embodiments, a single password or authentication credential is propagated through all accounts, profiles, and mobile device modes and operating environments, to access restricted areas of any of the interfaces resources of the ecosystem).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 4, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein when the electronic device displays the first interface, the method further comprises: receiving the second operation which is a tap operation performed on the first application on the first interface; and displaying the second interface in response to the second operation (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 5, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the first application is Kids Corner (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 6, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 1
wherein the first password storage area and the second password storage area are in the user space having the first user ID (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140);
As to Claim 7, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the second password storage area is a dedicated password storage area for the second user (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Thus, the each security profile storage is a dedicated storage for each individual security profile).
As to Claim 8, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
storing the second password in an application database of the first application, wherein the second password is associated with the first password (Paragraph [0019] of Da Luz discloses profile database 140 may be a repository that may be written to and/or read by configuration program 110 and access program 120. The database is accessed by the configuration program and the access program and is understood to be the database for these programs).
As to Claim 9, Da Luz discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor, and a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations, the operations comprising:
displaying a first verification interface in a screen-locked state (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen);
obtaining an unlock password when displaying the first verification interface (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen); and
displaying a first interface when the unlock password matches a first password (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a first password unlocking Security Profile 1. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the first interface is a first system desktop for a first user, and wherein the first interface comprises at least one first application (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.”); or
displaying a second interface when the unlock password matches a second password (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a second password unlocking Security Profile 2. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the second interface is a second system desktop for a second user, and wherein the second interface comprises at least one second application (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.”),
wherein the first password is different from the second password (Paragraph [0022] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications need to be associated with a different password),
wherein the at least one first application and the at least one second application are all stored in a user space having a first user identity (ID), and wherein the first user ID is used to identify the first user (Paragraph [0023] of Da Luz discloses a level of access for the security profile that allows a user to access all data, applications, and features within computing device 40, for example, both personal and enterprise. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person)
storing the first password and the first user ID in a first password storage area (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
storing the second password and a second user ID in a second password storage area, wherein the second user ID is used to identify the second user, wherein the first password storage area and the second password storage area are different (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles);
when the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is not the first password stored in the first password storage area, detecting whether the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is the second password stored in the second password storage area (Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
[in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation
wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device
wherein the setting of the second system desktop includes:
a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop, wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration;
an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop , wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users];
a security and privacy menu used to manage the unlock password for the second system desktop (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses assigns a password, based on a received password from the user); and
[a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs].
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation and wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device and a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop, and an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop, wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users and a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs.
However, Fujioka discloses this. Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode. Paragraph [0047] of Fujioka discloses instructions for providing a first user interface, instructions for providing a second operating environment associated with a second user interface, instructions for requiring input of an authentication code to access the first user interface from the second operating environment. Paragraph [0159] of Fujioka discloses a parent operating environment and a kid operating environment. Paragraph [0109] of Fujioka discloses Parent Control Manager provides the ability to manage and limit access for applications, content, and other settings in Kid Mode. Paragraph [0140] of Fujioka discloses it also allows all compatible applications to request authorizations (e.g., by entry of a Parent password within Kid Mode or by configuration of controls in the Parental Dashboard). Paragraph [0100] of Fujioka discloses a parent, or supervisory user, can monitor their child's time and usage of content in Kid Mode by viewing reports and analytics. In addition, a parent can allow or restrict their child's access in Kid Mode to certain apps, games or types of content via a series of on/off switches or other indications of whether access is enabled. Paragraph [0279] of Fujioka discloses tracking and controlling time and usage on interface 1500, as shown in FIG. 15, including tracking and controlling each child's activity usage and time spent, receiving immediate feedback on the type and level of activities completed. Figure 15 of Fujioka disclose being able to switch kids.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration.
However, Lee discloses this. Figure 10B of Lee discloses “create time period for selected user”. Figure 11A of Lee discloses setting times and being able to enter or cancel the modifications.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 10, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 9 the operations further comprising: receiving a first operation; displaying a second verification interface in an unlocked state in response to the first operation; obtaining a switching password entered in the second verification interface; and displaying the first interface when the switching password entered in the second verification interface is a third password (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses while in Kid Mode being able to provide the parental password to transition to parent mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 11, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the third password is the same as the first password (Paragraph [0160] of Fujioka discloses in some embodiments, a single password or authentication credential is propagated through all accounts, profiles, and mobile device modes and operating environments, to access restricted areas of any of the interfaces resources of the ecosystem).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 12, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 10 the operations further comprising: receiving the second operation which is a tap operation performed on the first application on the first interface; and displaying the second interface in response to the second operation (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 13, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the first application is Kids Corner (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 14, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the first password storage area and the second password storage area are in the user space having the first user ID (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140).
As to Claim 15, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 9,
wherein the second password storage area is a dedicated password storage area for the second user (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Thus, the each security profile storage is a dedicated storage for each individual security profile).
As to Claim 16, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, .
storing the second password in an application database of the first application, wherein the second password is associated with the first password (Paragraph [0019] of Da Luz discloses profile database 140 may be a repository that may be written to and/or read by configuration program 110 and access program 120. The database is accessed by the configuration program and the access program and is understood to be the database for these programs).
As to Claim 17, Da Luz discloses a non-transitory machine storage medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations, the operations comprising:
displaying a first verification interface in a screen-locked state (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen);
obtaining an unlock password when displaying the first verification interface (Paragraph [0028] of Da Luz discloses access program 120 receives a password entered by a user at a lock screen); and
displaying a first interface when the unlock password matches a first password (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a first password unlocking Security Profile 1. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the first interface is a first system desktop for a first user, and wherein the first interface comprises at least one first application (Paragraph [0029] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 1” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 1.”); or
displaying a second interface when the unlock password matches a second password (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.” Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses a second password unlocking Security Profile 2. Paragraph [0024] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications/data are hidden when the user logs in via the personal password, and there is no indication to the user that multiple passwords are accepted. The user accessing the limited portion of computing device 40 would not have any indication that the hidden enterprise applications/data exist on computing device 40),
wherein the second interface is a second system desktop for a second user, and wherein the second interface comprises at least one second application (Paragraph [0030] of Da Luz discloses Security Profile 2” means that access program 120 allows the user to have access to the data, applications, and features associated with “Security Profile 2.”),
wherein the first password is different from the second password (Paragraph [0022] of Da Luz discloses enterprise applications need to be associated with a different password),
wherein the at least one first application and the at least one second application are all stored in a user space having a first user identity (ID) that identifies the first user (Paragraph [0023] of Da Luz discloses a level of access for the security profile that allows a user to access all data, applications, and features within computing device 40, for example, both personal and enterprise. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person)
storing the first password and the first user ID in a first password storage area (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
storing the second password and a second user ID in a second password storage area, wherein the second user ID is used to identify the second user, wherein the first password storage area and the second password storage area are different (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses configuration program 110 stores the security profile with the associated password to profile database 140. Paragraph [0021] of Da Luz discloses a security profile, or profile, is a digital representation of a person's identity. A security profile can be used to store a description of the characteristics of a person. Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles);
when the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is not the first password stored in the first password storage area, detecting whether the unlock password entered in the first verification interface is the second password stored in the second password storage area (Figure 3 of Da Luz discloses first, second and third passwords and security profiles and then checking for a first password match and then checking for a second password match);
[in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation
wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device
wherein the setting of the second system desktop includes:
a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop, wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration;
an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop, wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users];
a security and privacy menu used to manage the unlock password for the second system desktop (Paragraph [0026] of Da Luz discloses assigns a password, based on a received password from the user); and
[a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs].
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose in response to a second operation on the at least one first application while the first interface is being displayed, displaying the second interface without prompting the first user to enter another unlock password and without having to verify the second password, wherein the second system desktop can be entered from the first system desktop by the second operation including tapping a second desktop application, and a complete data record of the second user can be viewed without performing multi-user switching operation and wherein the second system desktop include a control application for the first user to perform a setting and parameter control on the second system desktop, wherein setting a verification password of the control application prevents the second user from changing a setting of the second system desktop, and a second user's historical use record of the electronic device and a time setting menu used to set active hours and duration of using the second system desktop and an application type menu used to manage an application type of the second system desktop, wherein the second system desktop is used for a plurality of minor users including the second user, wherein different permissions are set for different minor users, and wherein the application type menu is used to install different applications for the second system desktop and set different application use permissions for different minor users and a browsing history menu used to view second user's use details of the second system desktop including duration in which the second user uses online and duration in which the second user uses to watch one or more video programs.
However, Fujioka discloses this. Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode. Paragraph [0047] of Fujioka discloses instructions for providing a first user interface, instructions for providing a second operating environment associated with a second user interface, instructions for requiring input of an authentication code to access the first user interface from the second operating environment. Paragraph [0159] of Fujioka discloses a parent operating environment and a kid operating environment. Paragraph [0109] of Fujioka discloses Parent Control Manager provides the ability to manage and limit access for applications, content, and other settings in Kid Mode. Paragraph [0140] of Fujioka discloses it also allows all compatible applications to request authorizations (e.g., by entry of a Parent password within Kid Mode or by configuration of controls in the Parental Dashboard). Paragraph [0100] of Fujioka discloses a parent, or supervisory user, can monitor their child's time and usage of content in Kid Mode by viewing reports and analytics. In addition, a parent can allow or restrict their child's access in Kid Mode to certain apps, games or types of content via a series of on/off switches or other indications of whether access is enabled. Paragraph [0279] of Fujioka discloses tracking and controlling time and usage on interface 1500, as shown in FIG. 15, including tracking and controlling each child's activity usage and time spent, receiving immediate feedback on the type and level of activities completed. Figure 15 of Fujioka disclose being able to switch kids.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Da Luz does not explicitly disclose wherein the time setting menu is used for the first user to enter a third interface, the first user taps a first control on the third interface to modify data including active hours and duration of using the second system desktop by the second user, and the first user taps a second control on the third interface to save modified data including modified active hours and duration.
However, Lee discloses this. Figure 10B of Lee discloses “create time period for selected user”. Figure 11A of Lee discloses setting times and being able to enter or cancel the modifications.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 18, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the non-transitory machine storage medium according to claim 17 the operations further comprising: receiving a first operation; displaying a second verification interface in an unlocked state in response to the first operation; obtaining a switching password entered in the second verification interface; and displaying the first interface when the switching password entered in the second verification interface is a third password (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses while in Kid Mode being able to provide the parental password to transition to parent mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 19, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the non-transitory machine storage medium according to claim 18, wherein the third password is the same as the first password (Paragraph [0160] of Fujioka discloses in some embodiments, a single password or authentication credential is propagated through all accounts, profiles, and mobile device modes and operating environments, to access restricted areas of any of the interfaces resources of the ecosystem).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 20, Da Luz-Fujioka-Lee discloses the non-transitory machine storage medium according to claim 17 the operations further comprising: receiving the second operation which is a tap operation performed on the first application on the first interface; and displaying the second interface in response to the second operation (Figure 2 of Fujioka discloses clicking on the Kid Mode icon to transition to Kid Mode).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499