DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 12/12/2025. Claims 21, 24-26, 29-31, 34-36, and 39-40 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-16, filed 12/12/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 21, 24-26, 29-31, 34-36, and 39-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made, as is necessitated by amendment, under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Takeda et al (US 20200344737 A1) and Matsumura et al (US 20210298028 A1) for claims 21, 24, 26, 29, 31, 34, 36, and 39, and in view of Takeda et al (US 20200344737 A1), Matsumura et al (US 20210298028 A1), and further in view of Shin et al (US 20220124705 A1) for claims 25, 30, 35, and 40. Applicant has amended independent claim 21 to specify the “selecting” of a PUCCH resource from the set of resources, as well as to include the limitation “wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource” from now cancelled claim 22, and the limitation “wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources” from now cancelled claim 23, where independent claims 26, 31, and 36 are also amended in a similar way such that they include analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 9-15 of Remarks that Kundu does not teach certain features of independent claims 21, 26, 31, and 36. These arguments are however moot, as newly cited Matsumura does teach these features, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Applicant further argues on pages 11-12 that Takeda does not teach the “transmitting, to the base station, a PUCCH including the HARQ-ACK information bits using the PUCCH resource based on at least one of the values of HARQ-ACK information bits being NACK”, where Applicant states that Takeda “is clearly different from Claim 21, where the HARQ-ACK information bits are transmitted via PUCCH based on the condition that at least one of the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits is NACK”. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Takeda does teach this feature. The claim language requires that a PUCCH including HARQ-ACK information bits is transmitted to the base station based on one or more of the bits being NACK. As is cited, and as Applicant concedes on page 12 of Remarks, Takeda teaches sending a NACK for PDSCHs not scheduled, where the HARQ-ACK information (the NACK) is sent via PUCCH on a selected PUCCH resource. In contrast to what Applicant is arguing, the claim language does not require that no transmission is made when there are no NACK bits present. Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, Takeda does read on the claim language as it is written. Applicant further argues on pages 14-15 of Remarks that Takeda does not teach the “wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources” limitation from now cancelled claim 23. Applicant rationalizes this stance by stating that Takeda’s codebook “does not specifically describe the mapping relationship between the ‘HARQ-ACK information bit values’ and the ‘PUCCH resource’”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Takeda does teach this feature. Once again, the claim language only requires that there is a “predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources”. In contrast to what Applicant is arguing, the claim does not require that the table describes specifics about the mapping relationships. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language only requires that there is an indication that a mapping relationship exists. Takeda teaches a table showing relationships between scheduled PDSCHs (where we already know from [0034] that unscheduled PDSCHs are NACK) and PUCCH resources (i.e. indicating a mapping relationship between HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources). For the reasons discussed above, claims 21, 24-26, 29-31, 34-36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 26, 29, 31, 34, 36, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al (US 20200344737 A1), and further in view of Matsumura et al (US 20210298028 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Takeda teaches
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising ([0192] user equipment is user terminal; [0001] relates to a method by a user terminal in wireless communication systems):
identifying a set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources ([0039]-[0040] PUCCH resource set is configured in the UE);
receiving, from a base station, one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) for multicast broadcast service (MBS) ([0047]-[0048] UE receives a number of PDSCHs (one or more PDSCHs); [0101] user terminals (UE) use a broadcast channel (for multicast broadcast service));
identifying values of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information bits for the one or more PDSCHs for MBS ([0034]-[0038] number of bits for a HARQ-ACK to be transmitted for the PDSCH transmissions is configured up to a certain value, where each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window has a NACK (different values of HARQ-ACK information bits; i.e. ACK or NACK) transmitted as feedback);
transmitting, to the base station, a PUCCH including the HARQ-ACK information bits using the PUCCH resource based on at least one of the values of HARQ-ACK information bits being NACK ([0039] PUCCH is transmitted with the HARQ-ACK transmission of a certain codebook size (HARQ-ACK bits) using the certain PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set; [0034] for each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window, NACK is transmitted as feedback (based on at least one of the values being NACK)).
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources ([0039] PUCCH resource set to be used is dependent on the codebook (predefined table) size number of HARQ-ACK bits, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set (PUCCH resource is dependent upon the codebook); [Fig. 2] shows the codebook in table form).
Takeda does not explicitly teach selecting a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources, wherein the PUCCH resource depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and the values of HARQ-ACK information bits, and each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK; and
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource, and
However, Matsumura does teach selecting a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources, wherein the PUCCH resource depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and the values of HARQ-ACK information bits, and each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK ([0040] terminal determines the PUCCH resource to use (selecting a PUCCH resource) from the PUCCH resource set based on the number of bits of the UCI (number of HARQ-ACK information bits), and based on the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field ARI (values of the HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to ACK or NACK)); and
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource ([0040]-[0042] each PUCCH resource in the PUCCH resource set may be associated with each value of the different fields in the DCI, where those values may be different numbers of bits (each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits)), and
Takeda and Matsumura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda to include the teachings of Matsumura where the PUCCH resource is determined based on the number of UCI bits and the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field. The rationale behind this would be to allow the device to appropriately determine a resource for the uplink control channel ([0010] Matsumura).
Regarding claim 24, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The method of claim 21, as is described above.
Takeda further teaches wherein in case that a number of HARQ-ACK information bits is one, the PUCCH is transmitted using one PUCCH resource indicated based on downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a PDSCH associated with the one HARQ-ACK information bit ([0078] and [Fig. 3] number of HARQ-ACK bits is one, and fallback PUCCH transmission is employed; [0038]-[0040] PUCCH fallback transmission is determined based on the number of bits of a HARQ-ACK, and a PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set, where the PUCCH resource is configured via DCI).
Regarding claim 26, Takeda teaches
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising ([Abstract] method performed by a base station):
identifying a set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources ([0039]-[0040] PUCCH resource set is configured in the UE);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) for multicast broadcast service (MBS) ([0047]-[0048] UE receives a number of PDSCHs (one or more PDSCHs); [0101] user terminals (UE) use a broadcast channel (for multicast broadcast service)); and
receiving, from the UE, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information bits using a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources based on at least one of the values of HARQ-ACK information bits being NACK ([0039] PUCCH is transmitted with the HARQ-ACK transmission of a certain codebook size (HARQ-ACK bits) using the certain PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set; [0034] for each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window, NACK is transmitted as feedback (based on at least one of the values being NACK)),
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources ([0039] PUCCH resource set to be used is dependent on the codebook (predefined table) size number of HARQ-ACK bits, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set (PUCCH resource is dependent upon the codebook); [Fig. 2] shows the codebook in table form).
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein:
the PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and values of HARQ- ACK information bits, and
each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK,
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource, and
However, Matsumura does teach the PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and values of HARQ- ACK information bits ([0040] terminal determines the PUCCH resource to use (selecting a PUCCH resource) from the PUCCH resource set based on the number of bits of the UCI (number of HARQ-ACK information bits), and based on the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field ARI (values of the HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to ACK or NACK)), and
each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK ([0040] value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier (ACK or NACK)),
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource ([0040]-[0042] each PUCCH resource in the PUCCH resource set may be associated with each value of the different fields in the DCI, where those values may be different numbers of bits (each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits)), and
Takeda and Matsumura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda to include the teachings of Matsumura where the PUCCH resource is determined based on the number of UCI bits and the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field. The rationale behind this would be to allow the device to appropriately determine a resource for the uplink control channel ([0010] Matsumura).
Regarding claim 29, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The method of claim 26, as is described above.
Takeda further teaches wherein in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is one, the PUCCH is received using one PUCCH resource indicated based on downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a PDSCH associated with the one HARQ-ACK information bit ([0078] and [Fig. 3] number of HARQ-ACK bits is one, and fallback PUCCH transmission is employed; [0038]-[0040] PUCCH fallback transmission is determined based on the number of bits of a HARQ-ACK, and a PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set, where the PUCCH resource is configured via DCI).
Regarding claim 31, Takeda teaches
A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising ([0192] user equipment is user terminal):
a transceiver ([0131] user terminal includes transmitting/receiving antennas); and
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to ([0133] transmitting/receiving sections connected to the baseband signal processing section):
identify a set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources ([0039]-[0040] PUCCH resource set is configured in the UE),
receive, from a base station, one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) for multicast broadcast service (MBS) ([0047]-[0048] UE receives a number of PDSCHs (one or more PDSCHs); [0101] user terminals (UE) use a broadcast channel (for multicast broadcast service)),
identify values of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information bits for the one or more PDSCHs for MBS ([0034]-[0038] number of bits for a HARQ-ACK to be transmitted for the PDSCH transmissions is configured up to a certain value, where each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window has a NACK (different values of HARQ-ACK information bits; i.e. ACK or NACK) transmitted as feedback),
transmit, to the base station, a PUCCH including the HARQ-ACK information bits using the PUCCH resource based on at least one of the values of HARQ-ACK information bits being NACK ([0039] PUCCH is transmitted with the HARQ-ACK transmission of a certain codebook size (HARQ-ACK bits) using the certain PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set; [0034] for each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window, NACK is transmitted as feedback (based on at least one of the values being NACK)).
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources ([0039] PUCCH resource set to be used is dependent on the codebook (predefined table) size number of HARQ-ACK bits, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set (PUCCH resource is dependent upon the codebook); [Fig. 2] shows the codebook in table form).
Takeda does not explicitly teach select a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources, wherein the PUCCH resource depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and the values of HARQ-ACK information bits, and each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK, and
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource, and
However, Matsumura does teach select a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources, wherein the PUCCH resource depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and the values of HARQ-ACK information bits, and each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK ([0040] terminal determines the PUCCH resource to use (selecting a PUCCH resource) from the PUCCH resource set based on the number of bits of the UCI (number of HARQ-ACK information bits), and based on the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field ARI (values of the HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to ACK or NACK)), and
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource ([0040]-[0042] each PUCCH resource in the PUCCH resource set may be associated with each value of the different fields in the DCI, where those values may be different numbers of bits (each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits)), and
Takeda and Matsumura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda to include the teachings of Matsumura where the PUCCH resource is determined based on the number of UCI bits and the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field. The rationale behind this would be to allow the device to appropriately determine a resource for the uplink control channel ([0010] Matsumura).
Regarding claim 34, Takeda modified by Kundu teaches The UE of claim 31, as is described above.
Takeda further teaches wherein in case that the number of HARQ- ACK information bits is one, the PUCCH is transmitted using one PUCCH resource indicated based on downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a PDSCH associated with the one HARQ-ACK information bit ([0078] and [Fig. 3] number of HARQ-ACK bits is one, and fallback PUCCH transmission is employed; [0038]-[0040] PUCCH fallback transmission is determined based on the number of bits of a HARQ-ACK, and a PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set, where the PUCCH resource is configured via DCI).
Regarding claim 36, Takeda teaches
A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising ([Abstract] performed by a base station):
a transceiver ([0107] base station includes transmitting/receiving antennas); and
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to ([0109] transmitting/receiving sections connected to the baseband signal processing section):
identify a set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources ([0039]-[0040] PUCCH resource set is configured in the UE),
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) for multicast broadcast service (MBS) ([0047]-[0048] UE receives a number of PDSCHs (one or more PDSCHs); [0101] user terminals (UE) use a broadcast channel (for multicast broadcast service)), and
receive, from the UE, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information bits using a PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources based on at least one of the values of HARQ-ACK information being NACK ([0039] PUCCH is transmitted with the HARQ-ACK transmission of a certain codebook size (HARQ-ACK bits) using the certain PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set; [0034] for each PDSCH not scheduled in the bundling window, NACK is transmitted as feedback (based on at least one of the values being NACK)),
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on a predefined table indicating a mapping relationship between the values of HARQ-ACK information bits and PUCCH resources in the set of PUCCH resources ([0039] PUCCH resource set to be used is dependent on the codebook (predefined table) size number of HARQ-ACK bits, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set (PUCCH resource is dependent upon the codebook); [Fig. 2] shows the codebook in table form).
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein:
the PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and values of HARQ-ACK information bits, and
each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK,
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource, and
However, Matsumura does teach the PUCCH resource from the set of PUCCH resources depends on a number of HARQ-ACK information bits and values of HARQ-ACK information bits ([0040] terminal determines the PUCCH resource to use (selecting a PUCCH resource) from the PUCCH resource set based on the number of bits of the UCI (number of HARQ-ACK information bits), and based on the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field ARI (values of the HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to ACK or NACK)), and
each value of HARQ-ACK information bit corresponds to ACK or NACK ([0040] value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier (ACK or NACK)),
wherein each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits is associated with a corresponding PUCCH resource ([0040]-[0042] each PUCCH resource in the PUCCH resource set may be associated with each value of the different fields in the DCI, where those values may be different numbers of bits (each combination of values of HARQ-ACK information bits)), and
Takeda and Matsumura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda to include the teachings of Matsumura where the PUCCH resource is determined based on the number of UCI bits and the value of the ACK/NACK resource identifier field. The rationale behind this would be to allow the device to appropriately determine a resource for the uplink control channel ([0010] Matsumura).
Regarding claim 39, Takeda modified by Kundu teaches The base station of claim 36, as is described above.
Takeda further teaches wherein in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is one, the PUCCH is received using one PUCCH resource indicated based on downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a PDSCH associated with the one HARQ-ACK information bit ([0078] and [Fig. 3] number of HARQ-ACK bits is one, and fallback PUCCH transmission is employed; [0038]-[0040] PUCCH fallback transmission is determined based on the number of bits of a HARQ-ACK, and a PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set, where the PUCCH resource is configured via DCI).
Claims 25, 30, 35, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al (US 20200344737 A1), Matsumura et al (US 20210298028 A1), and further in view of Shin et al (US 20220124705 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The method of claim 21, as is described above.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein: in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits;
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits; and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ- ACK information bits.
However, Shin does teach wherein: in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=2 bits, N=4; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-3; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits));
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=3 bits, N=8; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-7; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)); and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ- ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=4 bits, N=16; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-15; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)).
Takeda, Matsumura, and Shin are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resource sets for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda/Matsumura to include the teachings of Shin where the number of PUCCH resources in a set is based on the number of bits indicated in the downlink configuration. The rationale behind this would be to enable a communication apparatus to transmit an uplink channel more efficiently ([0023] Shin).
Regarding claim 30, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The method of claim 26, as is described above.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is received using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits;
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is received using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits; and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is received using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits.
However, Shin does teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is received using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=2 bits, N=4; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-3; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits));
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is received using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=3 bits, N=8; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-7; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)); and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is received using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=4 bits, N=16; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-15; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)).
Takeda, Matsumura, and Shin are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resource sets for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda/Matsumura to include the teachings of Shin where the number of PUCCH resources in a set is based on the number of bits indicated in the downlink configuration. The rationale behind this would be to enable a communication apparatus to transmit an uplink channel more efficiently ([0023] Shin).
Regarding claim 35, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The UE of claim 31, as is described above.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits;
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits; and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ- ACK information bits.
However, Shin does teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=2 bits, N=4; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-3; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits));
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=3 bits, N=8; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-7; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)); and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is transmitted using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ- ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=4 bits, N=16; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-15; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)).
Takeda, Matsumura, and Shin are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resource sets for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda/Matsumura to include the teachings of Shin where the number of PUCCH resources in a set is based on the number of bits indicated in the downlink configuration. The rationale behind this would be to enable a communication apparatus to transmit an uplink channel more efficiently ([0023] Shin).
Regarding claim 40, Takeda modified by Matsumura teaches The base station of claim 36, as is described above.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is received using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits;
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is received using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits; and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is received using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits.
However, Shin does teach wherein:
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 2, the PUCCH is received using one of 3 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 3 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=2 bits, N=4; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-3; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits));
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 3, the PUCCH is received using one of 7 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 7 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=3 bits, N=8; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-7; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)); and
in case that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits is 4, the PUCCH is received using one of 15 PUCCH resources included in the set of PUCCH resources, wherein one of 15 PUCCH resources is based on the values of the HARQ-ACK information bits ([0062] HARQ-ACK is in response to the DL signal PDCCH; [0190] number of bits indicating a PUCCH resource is signaled in PDCCH (HARQ-ACK information bits) is given by K, and the maximum number of PUCCH resources configurable in a PUCCH resource set is N = 2K (for K=4 bits, N=16; i.e. PUCCH resources with index values of 0-15; PUCCH resources configured based on HARQ-ACK bits)).
Takeda, Matsumura, and Shin are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PUCCH resource sets for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda/Matsumura to include the teachings of Shin where the number of PUCCH resources in a set is based on the number of bits indicated in the downlink configuration. The rationale behind this would be to enable a communication apparatus to transmit an uplink channel more efficiently ([0023] Shin).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478