DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 11 August 2025. Claims
1-28 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 20
and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at lines 9-10 and lines 14-15 recites that the processor is programmed to generate an output pattern “wherein the…transcutaneous vibratory output pattern is selected based on the target state”. Based on this recitation, it is unclear if the processor is programmed to also select the pattern based on the target state, in addition to generating the pattern, or if the recitation “is selected” is implying input via the recited user interface at line 5. Essentially, it is unclear how the “selection” is related to the processor programming.
Claim 2 recites “the processor is programmed to generate the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern based on the target state” however it is unclear how claim 2 further limits claim 1 with this recitation as the most recent amendment to claim 1 appears to recite these limitations at lines 10 and lines 14-15 with the recitation the “output pattern is selected based on the target state”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-7 and 9-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chmelik (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0245931). Regarding claim 1, Chmelik discloses a system to deliver vibratory therapy to a user (Fig. 1, Abstract; [0039]) comprising: a first transducer 2 (one of the vibratable elements) adapted to emit a first transcutaneous vibratory output (bone conduction) ([0040], [0045], Figs. 1 and 9);
a second transducer 4 (of headphones) adapted to emit a second transcutaneous vibratory output ([0060], Figs. 9-12);
a processor in electronic communication with a user interface (smart phone as described in [0049]), the first transducer 2, and the second transducer 4 ([0040], [0046], [0049]; Figs. 2 and 9-12), wherein the user interface accepts a target state of the user (via touch pattern) ([0028]-[0029]),
the processor programmed to:
(i) generate a first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern comprising a first perceived pitch, a first perceived beat, and a first intensity (a first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern, or vibration rhythm/sequence is generated by the data processing unit [0041], [0044], and the first vibratory output is bone conduction [0045], which has a perceived pitch, beat and intensity),
wherein the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern includes a variation of the first perceived beat ([0041] teaches that calculated HRV values are used to generate a corresponding vibration rhythm/sequence and since measurements are continuous, a change in HRV will generate a corresponding change in vibration rhythm/sequence, which would result in a variation of the first perceived beat within an output pattern)
and wherein the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern is selected based on the target state ([0044]: “data processing means is programmed to select from a variety of rhythms from a data storage means and to manage the feedback process such that if a particular rhythm is not having a positive effect on the stress indication value, then an alternative rhythm will be selected, until a selected rhythm does have a positive effect in reducing the stress indicator value);
(ii) generate a second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern (audible sound via headphones 4 [0046] and [0059]-[0061]) comprising a second perceived pitch, a second perceived beat, and a second intensity (audible sound has a perceived pitch, beat and intensity),
wherein the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern includes a variation of the second perceived pitch ([0046]: “data processing unit 26 then determines the sequence of vibration rhythm as well as infrasonic vibrations, audible sound frequencies, electrical or other stimulation may also be used to alter or maintain the currently measured biometrics. This is an ongoing process and the sequence of frequencies are changeable dependent of the measured state of the user) and
wherein the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern is selected based on the target state ([0044]: “data processing means is programmed to select from a variety of rhythms from a data storage means and to manage the feedback process such that if a particular rhythm is not having a positive effect on the stress indication value, then an alternative rhythm will be selected, until a selected rhythm does have a positive effect in reducing the stress indicator value);
(iii) cause the first transducer to emit the first transcutaneous vibratory output (bone conduction) based on the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern ([0045], [0047]); and
(iv) cause the second transducer to emit the second transcutaneous vibratory output (audible sound) based on the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern ([0046], [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 2, the processor is programmed to generate the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern based on the target state ([0041], [0043], [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, the first transducer 2 is adapted to be worn on a first part of a body of the user (Abstract, [0045], Figs. 1 and 9).
Regarding claim 4, the second transducer 4 (headphones) is adapted to be worn on a second part of a body of the user ([0060], Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 5, the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern can be emitted simultaneously ([0046]: “ongoing process”; Abstract: “continuous real time feedback loop”; [0041]: “calculated values are used to generate a correspond vibration rhythm and are continuously being generated as the measurements are continuously made to form a feedback loop”).
Regarding claim 6, the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern can be emitted sequentially ([0041], [0046] disclose sequential emission).
Regarding claim 7, the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern can be emitted in an alternating pattern (alternating being construed as switching between a variety of rhythms until a selected rhythm has a positive effect in reducing the stress indicator value - [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, the processor is further programmed to modify the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern by varying the first perceived pitch ([0041] teaches that calculated HRV values are used to generate a corresponding vibration rhythm/sequence and since measurements are continuous, a change in HRV will generate a corresponding change in vibration rhythm/sequence, which would result in a variation of the first perceived pitch within an output pattern).
Regarding claim 10, the processor is further programmed to modify the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern by varying the second perceived pitch ([0046]: “data processing unit 26 then determines the sequence of vibration rhythm as well as infrasonic vibrations, audible sound frequencies, electrical or other stimulation may also be used to alter or maintain the currently measured biometrics. This is an ongoing process and the sequence of frequencies are changeable dependent of the measured state of the user).
Regarding claim 11, the processor is further programmed to modify the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern by varying the first perceived beat (([0041] teaches that calculated HRV values are used to generate a corresponding vibration rhythm/sequence and since measurements are continuous, a change in HRV will generate a corresponding change in vibration rhythm/sequence, which would result in a variation of the first perceived beat within an output pattern).
Regarding claim 12, the processor is further programmed to modify the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern by varying the second perceived beat ([0046]: “data processing unit 26 then determines the sequence of vibration rhythm as well as infrasonic vibrations, audible sound frequencies, electrical or other stimulation may also be used to alter or maintain the currently measured biometrics. This is an ongoing process and the sequence of frequencies are changeable dependent of the measured state of the user).
Regarding claim 13, the processor is further programmed to modify the vibratory therapy by varying at least one of the first intensity and the second intensity (frequencies) ([0039], [0041], [0042], [0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern and the second transcutaneous vibratory output pattern can be coordinated with one another ([0046]: “ongoing process”; Abstract: “continuous real time feedback loop”; [0041]: “calculated values are used to generate a correspond vibration rhythm and are continuously being generated as the measurements are continuously made to form a feedback loop”).
Regarding claim 15, the first transducer is considered to be in electronic communication with the second transducer via data processing unit 26 of the mobile device, which can be connected to the transducers through wireless or wired communications ([0046] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, at least one of the first transducer and the second transducer comprise a processor ([0052] – first transducer (one of the vibratable elements) as shown in Fig. 3, comprises a processor).
Regarding claim 17, the processor of the first transducer is programmed to modify the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern based on data received from a sensor 1 in communication with the system ([0052] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, the user interface is on a mobile device [0049].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the claim is interpreted as the first transcutaneous vibratory output capable of being produced by multiplicatively combining a sine wave-shaped envelope based on the first perceived beat with a wave pattern based on the first perceived pitch as the claim does not limit the production to the system/processor/user interface as being configured to generate such a step (or “relationship”) of “multiplicatively combining…”.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted as the first transcutaneous vibratory output capable of being generated in part by a first oscillation at a first frequency, and a second oscillation at a second frequency that differs from the first frequency by less than 10 Hz ([0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, the claim is interpreted as the second transcutaneous vibratory output capable of being produced by multiplicatively combining a sine wave-shaped envelope based on the second perceived beat with a wave pattern based on the second perceived pitch as the claim does not limit the production to the system/processor/user interface as being configured to generate such a step (or “relationship”) of “multiplicatively combining…”.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted as the second transcutaneous vibratory output capable of being generated in part by a first oscillation at a first frequency, and a second oscillation at a second frequency that differs from the first frequency by less than 10 Hz ([0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 25, the first transducer (one of the vibratable elements) as shown in Fig. 3) is located in a first portion of an object (portion of “object” around the neck as shown in Fig. 9) and the second transducer (of head phones) is located in a second portion of the object (“second portion” of the object being the ear-wrapped portion 4 as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 26, the object is at least one of a collar or a harness structured to fit a non-human animal (as indicated above with respect to claim 25, the object could be considered a collar as it does wrap around the neck as shown in Fig. 9 and it could fit a non-human animal, such as a dog).
Regarding claim 27, the system further comprises one or more additional transducers, wherein the one or more additional transducers are structured to emit a transcutaneous vibratory output in coordination with the first transducer and the second transducer (“further vibrators”) adapted to emit a first transcutaneous vibratory output (bone conduction) ([0045], Figs. 1, 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 28, the processor is programmed to modify the first transcutaneous vibratory output pattern based on data received from a sensor 1 in communication with the system ([0052] and [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chmelik (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0245931). Regarding claim 8, while Chmelik does not disclose explicitly that the processor is further programmed to cause the second transcutaneous vibratory output to stop while the first transcutaneous vibratory output is emitted. However, Chmelik teaches the use of a smart phone which is programmed to control a set of smart head phones (which causes the second transcutaneous vibratory output) ([0049] and [0061]), and as such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art that a smart phone, paired with a set of smart head phones, would retain the programming ability to stop the delivery of audible stimulation at any time during the vibration therapy session, including during emission of the first transcutaneous vibratory output.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments filed 11 August 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) citing Choudhury (‘163) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791