DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received January 25, 2026:
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 and 16 are pending. Claims 6, 9, 12, 15 and 17-18 have been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment in view of Kusama et al. (JP2016105374A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2016/0336550) in view of Yamada et al. (US 2020/0328425), Arae et al. (JP2006/221909A) and Kohno et al. (US 2013/0260212). The English machine translation of Arae et al. is attached in prior Office action and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a lid body (Fig. 2, #22) used in a sealed battery (Para. [0075]) provided with a case body (Fig. 2, #21) having an opening (Fig. 2, #21A) wherein the lid body is fitted to the opening of the case body (i.e. the lid body plugging the opening) (Para. [0033], lines 4-5), the lid body comprising a plate shape (Para. [0036], lines 1-2) and has a terminal pullout hole which is sealed (Para. [0042]) (i.e. a sealing plate having a mounting hole), comprising a negative electrode terminal (i.e. a terminal member of at least one electrode from among a positive electrode and a negative electrode) wherein the negative electrode has a negative electrode terminal pullout hole (see Fig. 2, wherein #424 is the positive electrode terminal pullout hole) and wherein the negative electrode terminal has a configuration formed in the same shapes as those on the positive electrode side (Para. [0039]) (i.e. the terminal member being inserted into the mounting hole and attached to the sealing plate) and the materials and shapes of an inner side resin and an outer side resin member are the same as those on the positive electrode side (Para. [0053]), an outer side resin member (Fig. 2, #60) comprising an attachment section (Fig. 2, #620) having a cylinder section (Fig. 2, #622) (i.e. a sealing material) (Para. [0045]) which may be PPS [polyphenylene sulfide resin] (Para. [0044], [0047]) (i.e. a thermoplastic resin, the thermoplastic resin contains polyarylene sulfide) wherein the outer side resin contains inorganic fiber (i.e. containing an inorganic filler) (Para. [0074]) wherein the cylinder section (#622) is disposed between the electrode terminal (see Fig. #40 in Fig. 2, which is the positive terminal that has the same structure as the negative terminal) and the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) wherein the cylinder section is joined to an inner peripheral surface of the hole in the lid body (i.e. disposed between the terminal member and the sealing plate, and joined to an inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole) wherein a fiber axis direction of the inorganic fiber is in a parallel state with the outer surface of the lid body and a crossing angle of the inorganic fiber and the outer surface of the lid body is at least 0 degree and at most 30 degrees (i.e. with an orientation angle defined as an angle between a major axis direction of the inorganic filler and a surface of the sealing plate close to the inorganic filler, an average orientation angle of the inorganic filler is 30 degrees or smaller in at least the sealing material formed on an outer surface of the sealing plate) (Para. [0074]).
Regarding the limitation “in a microscope observation of a cross section of the sealing material”, the method of observing the cross section of the sealing material does not affect the underlying property (the average orientation angle) itself, which is a product of the structure of the inorganic filler. As the average orientation angle of the inorganic is taught in Kobayashi, the limitation is met.
Kobayashi does not teach an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher.
However, Yamada et al. teaches a sealed battery (Para. [0064]) comprising an inorganic filler having plate-shaped particles having an aspect ratio of 3 or higher (Para. [0008]) (i.e. an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher) measured using an electron microscope (Para. [0036]) (i.e. in a microscope observation of a cross section).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing material comprising the inorganic fiber of Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of aspect ratio of 3 or higher as taught by Yamada et al., as such an aspect ratio would provide a reduced thermal shrinkage ratio (Para. [0008]), providing thermal stability. Thus, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would provide in a microscope observation of a cross section of the sealing material an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher.
Kobayashi does not teach the inorganic filler includes potassium titanate.
However, Arae et al. teaches a sealed battery (Para. [0001]) comprising a sealing gasket including polypropylene with potassium titanate (Para. [0012]) (i.e. the inorganic filler includes potassium titanate).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer resin member as taught by Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of the polypropylene with potassium titanate material (i.e. including potassium titanate) as taught by Arae et al., as such a material is lower-cost and is less likely to become brittle in a high-temperature environment (Para. [0027]), providing improved thermal stability.
Kobayashi further teaches the outer side resin contains inorganic fiber (i.e. sealing material containing an inorganic filler) (Para. [0074]) wherein the cylinder section (#622) is disposed between the electrode terminal (see Fig. #40 in Fig. 2, which is the positive terminal that has the same structure as the negative terminal) and the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. the sealing material is joined to the inner peripheral surface to the mounting hole, the outer surface of the sealing plate, an inner surface of the sealing plate and the terminal member, see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 below).
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach at least part of the sealing material is joined to the sealing plate and the terminal by an anchor effect.
However, Kohno et al. teaches positive electrode terminals wherein insulating base materials are interposed between the terminals and a battery cover such that insulating base material seal up through-holes through which the terminals extend through (Para. [0037]) (i.e. a sealing material is joined to a sealing plate and a terminal) wherein the insulating base material produces an anchor effect (Para. [0117]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing material of Kobayashi et al. to incorporate the teaching of an anchor effect, as it would maintain high connecting strength (Para. [0117]) which is desirable for a sealing material.
Annotated Kobayashi et al. -- Fig.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi does not teach an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler in the microscope observation of the cross section of the sealing material is 10 or lower.
However, Yamada et al. further teaches a sealed battery (Para. [0064]) comprising an inorganic filler having plate-shaped particles having an aspect ratio of 8.5 (Para. [0036] and Table 1, Example 1) (i.e. an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher and 10 or lower) measured using an electron microscope (Para. [0036]) (i.e. in a microscope observation of a cross section).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing material comprising the inorganic fiber of Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of aspect ratio of 3 or higher as taught by Yamada et al., as such an aspect ratio would provide a reduced thermal shrinkage ratio (Para. [0008] and Table 1, Example 1), providing thermal stability. Thus, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would provide in a microscope observation of a cross section of the sealing material an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher and 10 or lower.
Regarding Claim 3, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches a constituent material of the negative electrode terminal is a metallic material such as copper (Para. [0053], lines 25-29) (i.e. the terminal member is mainly made up of a first metal) and almost all of the lid body is made of a metal such as aluminum (Para. [0034], 8-9) (i.e. the sealing plate is mainly made up of a second metal). Thus, Kobayashi teaches copper as the first metal and aluminum as the second metal and a constituent material of the outer side resin member is a resin such as PPS (polyphenylene sulfide resin, see para. [0044], line 5) (Para. [0047]) and inorganic fiber such as glass fiber (Para. [0074]).
Accordingly, the sealing material in the direction of the inorganic filler, the first metal and the second metal of Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would either (a) be expected to satisfy the claimed coefficients of linear expansion at 25 degrees Celsius or (b) differences in the coefficients of linear expansion at 25 degrees Celsius set forth in the instant claim, having the lower value from among the first and second metal coefficient of linear expansion at 25 degrees Celsius less than or equal to the coefficient of linear expansion of the sealing material in an orientation direction of the inorganic filler at 25 degrees Celsius less than or equal to the higher value from among the first and second metal coefficient of linear expansion at 25 degrees Celsius would be slight differences in ranges that would be obvious. With respect to (a): The reasons regarding expectedness are that the composition of the first metal, second metal and sealing material is substantially identical in composition to that of the instant application (see instant specification para. [0039] & [0030]), therefore it is expected that the coefficients of linear expansion of Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would satisfy these conditions. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01. With respect to (b): If it is shown that such characteristics are not present, then any differences (regarding the coefficients of linear expansion) would be small and obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 3 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches a constituent material of the negative electrode terminal is a metallic material such as copper (Para. [0053], lines 25-29) (i.e. the first metal is copper) and almost all of the lid body is made of a metal such as aluminum (Para. [0034], 8-9) (i.e. the second metal is aluminum).
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi as modified Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 3 as explained above.
Kobayashi further the outer side resin member is a resin such as PPS (polyphenylene sulfide resin, see para. [0044], line 5) (Para. [0047]) and inorganic fiber such as glass fiber (Para. [0074]).
Accordingly, the sealing material in the direction of the inorganic filler, the first metal and the second metal of Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would either (a) be expected to satisfy the claimed coefficient of linear expansion of the sealing material at 25 degrees Celsius is from 1.6x10-5/K to 2.3x10-5/K, or (b) differences in the coefficient of linear expansion of the sealing material at 25 degrees Celsius set forth in the instant claim (from 1.6x10-5/K to 2.3x10-5/K), would be slight differences in ranges that would be obvious. With respect to (a): The reasons regarding expectedness are that the composition of the sealing material is substantially identical in composition to that of the instant application (see instant specification para. [0039] & [0030] wherein the resin member comprises PPS and the inorganic fiber comprises glass fiber), therefore it is expected that the coefficient of linear expansion of the sealing material of Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would satisfy this property. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01. With respect to (b): If it is shown that such characteristics are not present, then any differences (regarding the coefficient of linear expansion of the sealing material) would be small and obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 7, Kobayashi teaches a lid body (Fig. 2, #22) used in a sealed battery (Para. [0075]) (i.e. a sealed battery comprising the lid body) wherein battery comprises a wound electrode body (Fig. 2, #10) comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode (Para. [0037]) (i.e. an electrode having a positive electrode and a negative electrode) provided with a case body (Fig. 1 and 2, #21) having an opening (Fig. 1 and 2, #21A) (i.e. a case body having an opening) having an electrode body (Fig. 1, #30) therein (i.e. and accommodating the electrode body) wherein the lid body is fitted to the opening of the case body (i.e. a lid body plugging the opening) (Para. [0033], lines 4-5), the lid body comprising a plate shape (Para. [0036], lines 1-2) and has a terminal pullout hole which is sealed (Para. [0042]) (i.e. a sealing plate having a mounting hole), comprising a negative electrode terminal (i.e. a terminal member of at least one electrode from among a positive electrode and a negative electrode) wherein the negative electrode has a negative electrode terminal pullout hole (see Fig. 2, wherein #424 is the positive electrode terminal pullout hole) and wherein the negative electrode terminal has a configuration formed in the same shapes as those on the positive electrode side (Para. [0039]) (i.e. the terminal member being inserted into the mounting hole and attached to the sealing plate) and the materials and shapes of an inner side resin and an outer side resin member are the same as those on the positive electrode side (Para. [0053]), an outer side resin member (Fig. 2, #60) comprising an attachment section (Fig. 2, #620) having a cylinder section (Fig. 2, #622) (i.e. a sealing material) (Para. [0045]) which may be PPS [polyphenylene sulfide resin] (Para. [0044], [0047]) (i.e. a thermoplastic resin, the thermoplastic resin contains polyarylene sulfide) wherein the outer side resin contains inorganic fiber (i.e. containing an inorganic filler) (Para. [0074]) wherein the cylinder section (#622) is disposed between the electrode terminal (see Fig. #40 in Fig. 2, which is the positive terminal that has the same structure as the negative terminal) and the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) wherein the cylinder section is joined to an inner peripheral surface of the hole in the lid body (i.e. disposed between the terminal member and the sealing plate, and joined to an inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole) wherein a fiber axis direction of the inorganic fiber is in a parallel state with the outer surface of the lid body and a crossing angle of the inorganic fiber and the outer surface of the lid body is at least 0 degree and at most 30 degrees (i.e. with an orientation angle defined as an angle between a major axis direction of the inorganic filler and a surface of the sealing plate close to the inorganic filler, an average orientation angle of the inorganic filler is 30 degrees or smaller in at least the sealing material formed on an outer surface of the sealing plate) (Para. [0074]).
Regarding the limitation “in a microscope observation of a cross section of the sealing material”, the method of observing the cross section of the sealing material does not affect the underlying property (the average orientation angle) itself, which is a product of the structure of the inorganic filler. As the average orientation angle of the inorganic is taught in Kobayashi, the limitation is met.
Kobayashi does not teach an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher.
However, Yamada et al. teaches a sealed battery (Para. [0064]) comprising an inorganic filler having plate-shaped particles having an aspect ratio of 3 or higher (Para. [0008]) (i.e. an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher) measured using an electron microscope (Para. [0036]) (i.e. in a microscope observation of a cross section).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing material comprising the inorganic fiber of Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of aspect ratio of 3 or higher as taught by Yamada et al., as such an aspect ratio would provide a reduced thermal shrinkage ratio (Para. [0008]), providing thermal stability. Thus, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would provide in a microscope observation of a cross section of the sealing material an average aspect ratio of the inorganic filler is 2 or higher.
Kobayashi does not teach the inorganic filler includes potassium titanate.
However, Arae et al. teaches a sealed battery (Para. [0001]) comprising a sealing gasket including polypropylene with potassium titanate (Para. [0012]) (i.e. the inorganic filler includes potassium titanate).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer resin member as taught by Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of the polypropylene with potassium titanate material (i.e. including potassium titanate) as taught by Arae et al., as such a material is lower-cost and is less likely to become brittle in a high-temperature environment (Para. [0027]), providing improved thermal stability.
Kobayashi further teaches the outer side resin contains inorganic fiber (i.e. sealing material containing an inorganic filler) (Para. [0074]) wherein the cylinder section (#622) is disposed between the electrode terminal (see Fig. #40 in Fig. 2, which is the positive terminal that has the same structure as the negative terminal) and the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. the sealing material is joined to the inner peripheral surface to the mounting hole, the outer surface of the sealing plate, an inner surface of the sealing plate and the terminal member, see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 below).
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach at least part of the sealing material is joined to the sealing plate and the terminal by an anchor effect.
However, Kohno et al. teaches positive electrode terminals wherein insulating base materials are interposed between the terminals and a battery cover such that insulating base material seal up through-holes through which the terminals extend through (Para. [0037]) (i.e. a sealing material is joined to a sealing plate and a terminal) wherein the insulating base material produces an anchor effect (Para. [0117]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing material of Kobayashi et al. to incorporate the teaching of an anchor effect, as it would maintain high connecting strength (Para. [0117]) which is desirable for a sealing material.
Regarding Claim 8, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches the outer side resin member comprising an attachment section having a cylinder section (Fig. 2, #622) (Para. [0045]) comprising an inorganic fiber (Para. [0074]) (i.e. sealing material comprising the inorganic filler) located at an inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. sealing plate) and having a surface of the electrode terminal is in contact (Fig. 2, #420) (i.e. terminal member).
Kobayashi does not teach the average orientation angle of the inorganic filler is 30 degrees or smaller relative to the inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the sealing plate and a surface in which the terminal member and the sealing material are in contact.
However, Yamada et al. teaches a plate-shaped inorganic filler disposed in a layer in a plane orientation so that the surface direction of the plate-shaped inorganic filler is substantially parallel to the surface direction of the base material so that the plate-shaped inorganic filler is stacked in the thickness direction (Para. [0069], line 9-16 and Fig. 4a).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cylinder section of the inorganic fiber of Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of having the plate-shaped inorganic filler substantially parallel to the surface-direction of the base material (i.e. about 0 degrees relative to base material), as when a surface-direction force acts on a plate-shaped particle in the layer, the plate-shaped particle collides against adjacent particles within the plane, after which it becomes difficult for the plate-shaped particle to move any further than the gap between the particles and movement of the inorganic filler in the surface direction is therefore suppressed even in a case of high temperature exposure (Para. [0069]) providing higher thermal stability. Thus, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would result in the average orientation of the inorganic filler is substantially parallel (about 0 degrees, reading of 30 degrees or smaller) relative to the inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the sealing plate and a surface in which the terminal member and the sealing material are in contact.
Regarding Claim 10, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches a constituent material of the negative electrode terminal is a metallic material such as copper (Para. [0053], lines 25-29) (i.e. the terminal member is mainly made of copper) and almost all of the lid body is made of a metal such as aluminum (Para. [0034], 8-9) (i.e. the sealing plate is mainly made of aluminum).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches the outer side resin member comprising an attachment section having a cylinder section (Fig. 2, #622) (Para. [0045]) comprising an inorganic fiber (Para. [0074]) (i.e. sealing material comprising the inorganic filler) located at an inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. sealing plate) and having a surface that the electrode terminal (Fig. 2, #420) (i.e. terminal member).
Kobayashi does not teach the average orientation angle of the inorganic filler is 30 degrees or smaller relative to the inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the sealing plate and a surface that the terminal member and the sealing material are in contact.
However, Yamada et al. teaches a plate-shaped inorganic filler disposed in a layer in a plane orientation so that the surface direction of the plate-shaped inorganic filler is substantially parallel to the surface direction of the base material so that the plate-shaped inorganic filler is stacked in the thickness direction (Para. [0069], line 9-16 and Fig. 4a).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cylinder section of the inorganic fiber of Kobayashi to incorporate the teaching of having the plate-shaped inorganic filler substantially parallel to the surface-direction of the base material (i.e. about 0 degrees relative to base material), as when a surface-direction force acts on a plate-shaped particle in the layer, the plate-shaped particle collides against adjacent particles within the plane, after which it becomes difficult for the plate-shaped particle to move any further than the gap between the particles and movement of the inorganic filler in the surface direction is therefore suppressed even in a case of high temperature exposure (Para. [0069]) providing higher thermal stability. Thus, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al. would result in the average orientation of the inorganic filler is substantially parallel (about 0 degrees, reading of 30 degrees or smaller) relative to the inner peripheral surface of the mounting hole of the sealing plate and a surface that the terminal member and the sealing material are in contact.
Regarding Claim 13, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches a constituent material of the negative electrode terminal is a metallic material such as copper (Para. [0053], lines 25-29) (i.e. the terminal is mainly made of copper) and almost all of the lid body is made of a metal such as aluminum (Para. [0034], 8-9) (i.e. the sealing plate is mainly made of aluminum).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi et al. further teaches the outer side resin (Fig. 2, #60) wherein the cylinder section (#622) covers the outer surface of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. the sealing material covers the outer surface of the sealing plate) and an inner side resin member (Fig. 2, #50) that covers the inner surface of the lid body (i.e. which covers the inner surface of the sealing plate) wherein the inner side resin member may be formed of the same resin material as that of the outer side resin member (Para. [0044]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the sealing material consists of a single body that covers both the outer surface and an inner surface of the sealing plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the outer side resin member and the inner side resin member to be one piece (i.e. consist of a single body), since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). See MPEP 2144.04(V).
Regarding Claim 16, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Kobayashi et al. further teaches the outer side resin (Fig. 2, #60) wherein the cylinder section (#622) covers the outer surface of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. the sealing material covers the outer surface of the sealing plate) and an inner side resin member (Fig. 2, #50) that covers the inner surface of the lid body (i.e. which covers the inner surface of the sealing plate) wherein the inner side resin member may be formed of the same resin material as that of the outer side resin member (Para. [0044]).
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the sealing material consists of a single body that covers both the outer surface and an inner surface of the sealing plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the outer side resin member and the inner side resin member to be one piece (i.e. consist of a single body), since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). See MPEP 2144.04(V).
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2016/0336550) in view of Yamada et al. (US 2020/0328425), Arae et al. (JP2006/221909A) and Kohno et al. (US 2013/0260212) as applied to claim 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kusama et al. (JP2016105374A)
Regarding Claim 19, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches the terminal comprises the inner terminal (Fig. 2, #420) (i.e. the terminal member includes a first portion), an outer terminal (Fig. 2, #460) (i.e. a second portion extending from the first portion in a second direction crossing the first direction), the outer terminal including a first end surface facing the second direction and a second end surface facing the second direction (a second end surface facing the second direction and opposite to the first end surface with respect to the first portion, and the outer side resin member (Fig. 2, #60) (i.e. sealing material) is directly joined to the second end surface of the second portion (see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 below).
Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2
Kobayashi et al. does not teach the sealing material is directly joined to the first end surface of the first portion.
However, Kusama et al. teaches an electrode terminal (Fig. 1, #30) comprising a rivet portion (Fig. 1, #32) passing through the terminal lead-out hole (Fig. 1, #22) (i.e. a first portion extending from the mounting hole in a first direction), an external terminal (Fig. 1, #40) (i.e. a second portion extending from the first portion in a second direction crossing the first direction) and a second sealing member (Fig. 1, #70) directly joined to the side surfaces of the external terminal (Fig. 1, #40) which are opposite to each other (i.e. the second portion including a first end surface facing the second direction and opposite to the first end surface with respect to the first portion, and the sealing material is directly joined to the first end surface of the first portion and the second end surface of the second portion).
The combination of sealing material being directly joined to the first end surface and the second end surface as taught by Kusama et al., with outer side resin member and outer terminal of Kobayashi would yield the predictable result of providing a sealing member to attach the terminal and battery case, while insulating the electrode terminal, while ensuring the sealing of the battery case (see Kusama et al. -- (Para. [0017] & Kobayashi – Para. [0006]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine sealing material being directly joined to the first end surface and the second end surface as taught by Kusama et al., with outer side resin member and outer terminal of Kobayashi as the combination would yield the predictable result of providing a sealing member to attach the terminal and battery case, while insulating the electrode terminal, while ensuring the sealing of the battery case (see Kusama et al. -- (Para. [0017] & Kobayashi – Para. [0006]). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 20, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al., Kohno et al. and Kusama et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 19 as explained above.
Kobayashi et al. further teaches an outer terminal (Fig. 2, #460) (i.e. second portion) extends parallel to an outer surface of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. of the sealing plate) (see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 above).
Regarding Claim 21, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al. and Kohno et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Kobayashi further teaches the terminal comprises the inner terminal (Fig. 2, #420) (i.e. the terminal member includes a first portion), an outer terminal (Fig. 2, #460) (i.e. a second portion extending from the first portion in a second direction crossing the first direction), the outer terminal including a first end surface facing the second direction and a second end surface facing the second direction (a second end surface facing the second direction and opposite to the first end surface with respect to the first portion, and the outer side resin member (Fig. 2, #60) (i.e. sealing material) is directly joined to the second end surface of the second portion (see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 above).
Kobayashi et al. does not teach the sealing material is directly joined to the first end surface of the first portion.
However, Kusama et al. teaches an electrode terminal (Fig. 1, #30) comprising a rivet portion (Fig. 1, #32) passing through the terminal lead-out hole (Fig. 1, #22) (i.e. a first portion extending from the mounting hole in a first direction), an external terminal (Fig. 1, #40) (i.e. a second portion extending from the first portion in a second direction crossing the first direction) and a second sealing member (Fig. 1, #70) directly joined to the side surfaces of the external terminal (Fig. 1, #40) which are opposite to each other (i.e. the second portion including a first end surface facing the second direction and opposite to the first end surface with respect to the first portion, and the sealing material is directly joined to the first end surface of the first portion and the second end surface of the second portion).
The combination of sealing material being directly joined to the first end surface and the second end surface as taught by Kusama et al., with outer side resin member and outer terminal of Kobayashi would yield the predictable result of providing a sealing member to attach the terminal and battery case, while insulating the electrode terminal, while ensuring the sealing of the battery case (see Kusama et al. -- (Para. [0017] & Kobayashi – Para. [0006]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine sealing material being directly joined to the first end surface and the second end surface as taught by Kusama et al., with outer side resin member and outer terminal of Kobayashi as the combination would yield the predictable result of providing a sealing member to attach the terminal and battery case, while insulating the electrode terminal, while ensuring the sealing of the battery case (see Kusama et al. -- (Para. [0017] & Kobayashi – Para. [0006]). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 22, Kobayashi as modified by Yamada et al., Arae et al., Kohno et al. and Kusama et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 21 as explained above.
Kobayashi et al. further teaches an outer terminal (Fig. 2, #460) (i.e. second portion) extends parallel to an outer surface of the lid body (Fig. 2, #22) (i.e. of the sealing plate) (see Annotated Kobayashi et al. – Fig. 2 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding insulating layer in the Yamada reference being completely different from Kobayashi, being impossible to combine and the arguments regarding Arae were addressed in the response to arguments of the previous office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are distinct from the prior art of record for the same reason as the independent claim.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection with respect to the independent claim has been maintained, and thus the rejections to the dependent claims are maintained as well.
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729