DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/10/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection of Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, and 12 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made and presented in detail below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/10/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character “103” has been used to identify both “cavity” and “through opening.”
Reference characters “103” and “109” have been used to identify “cavity.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2019/0019718).
Wu discloses;
Claim 1. A tool (100) for the collective transfer of microchips (25) from a source substrate (20) to a destination substrate (target substrate), said tool comprising a plate (200) having first and second opposite faces (S1 and S2) and a plurality of microchip receiving areas (212) on the first face, the plate comprising a through opening (230) facing each receiving area wherein the plate comprises a boss (216C) on its first face, in each receiving area, at least partially surrounding the opening, wherein the boss forms a frame (illustrated in Fig. 6K) in each receiving area, completely surrounding the through opening and laterally delimiting a cavity (region within 216C) into which the through opening opens on the side of the first face of the plate, wherein the frame cavity has inner lateral dimensions greater than the lateral dimensions of the opening (illustrated in Fig. 6K), and wherein the lateral dimensions of the frame cavity are capable of being less than the lateral dimensions of the microchips to be handled (Par. 0008 and 0030-0041, and Fig. 1-5 and 6K).
The Examiner notes that Applicant’s claimed invention is drawn to a tool for transferring microchips and the scope of the claimed invention does not include the microchips themselves. Thus, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Claim 2. The tool according to claim 1, wherein each through opening is adapted to channel a suction flow generated on the side of the second face of the plate, so as to keep a microchip packed against each receiving area (Par. 0035).
Claim 6. The tool according to claim 1, wherein the plate comprises a common cavity (C) on its second face, into which the through openings open (Par. 0031 and Fig. 4).
Claim 7. The tool according to claim 6, wherein the plate comprises one or more support pillars (220) on the side of its second face, extending into said common cavity (Par. 0031 and Fig. 4).
Claim 10. A device (50) for the collective transfer of microchips (25) from a source substrate (20) to a destination substrate (target substrate), comprising: a tool (100) for the collective transfer of microchips from a (interpreted as “the”) source substrate to a (interpreted as “the”) destination substrate, said tool comprising a plate (200) having first and second opposite faces (S1 and S2) and a plurality of microchip receiving areas (212) on the first face, the plate comprising a through opening (230) facing each receiving area wherein the plate comprises a boss (216C) on its first face, in each receiving area, at least partially surrounding the opening, a support (100) for holding the tool, the support being adapted to channel a suction flow through the through openings, wherein the boss forms a frame (illustrated in Fig. 6K) in each receiving area, completely surrounding the through opening and laterally delimiting a cavity (region within 216C) into which the through opening opens on the side of the first face of the plate, wherein the frame cavity has inner lateral dimensions greater than the lateral dimensions of the opening (illustrated in Fig. 6K), and wherein the lateral dimensions of the frame cavity are capable of being less than the lateral dimensions of the microchips to be handled (Par. 0008 and 0030-0041, and Fig. 1-5 and 6K).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8. The tool according to claim 1, wherein the plate comprises a stack of a substrate of a semiconductor material, a dielectric layer and a semiconductor layer.
Claim 9. The tool according to claim 8, wherein each through opening comprises a first portion, extending through the substrate and the dielectric layer, and a second portion, extending through the semiconductor layer, the first portion having lateral dimensions greater than the lateral dimensions of the second portion.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Leedy (US 2003/0223535).
Wu further discloses;
Claim 8. The plate comprises a stack of a substrate having three layers (202, 280_1, and 280_2) (Par. 0062 and Fig. 17).
Claim 9. Each through opening comprises a first portion (portion with dimension “D”) and a second portion (portion with dimension “A2”), the first portion having lateral dimensions greater than the lateral dimensions of the second portion (Par. 0033 and Fig. 5).
Wu is silent to;
Claim 8. The layers being a semiconductor material, a dielectric layer and a semiconductor layer.
However, Leedy discloses the use of semiconductor and dielectric layers (189 and 193) when forming different layers, the dielectric layer preferable when forming openings less than 100 nm (Par. 0183 and Fig. 9f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu’s plate layers to include a semiconductor material and a dielectric layer with a reasonable expectation of success when forming openings less than 100 nm.
The Examiner also notes that semiconductor and dielectric materials are well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The Examiner further notes that Applicant has not disclosed criticality for forming the plate with the specific materials as claimed.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2001/0049160).
Wu does not recite;
Claim 11. The device according to claim 10, wherein the transfer tool is kept attached to the support by suction.
However, Watanabe discloses a transfer tool (22) for holding semiconductor chips (20) by a suction source (center opening of 12, as shown in Fig. 2) and a support (12) for holding the tool, and further teaches the transfer tool is kept attached to the support by suction (Par. 0060-0063 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu’s disclosure to include holding the transfer tool to the support by suction with a reasonable expectation of success so that the transfer tool could be releasably attached and detached by means of applying and removing a vacuum pressure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652