This is in response to RCE Filed 06/02/26. Claims 1 – 20 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, recites the limitation "the scanner holder" in the 5th paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Hence claims 1 – 20 is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7 – 10, 13 – 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kowalick US 20080214022 A1 in view of Brozovich US 20200223385 A.
Claim 1, Kowalick discloses a method, comprising:
providing a plurality of physical ports in a surface of a secure storage system for on-board diagnostic (OBD) type, the physical ports not being accessible when the secure storage system is locked, each physical port configured to receive an OBD type scanner corresponding to a different vehicle; [0030 – 0033, 0094, see OBD and OBD connector for physical port also see 0045];
providing port identifying information for each physical port that distinguishes the physical ports from one another;
by operation of an unlocking procedure, unlocking the secure storage system to enable physical access to the plurality of physical ports [0045, see OBD as well as unlocking];
receiving at least one (OBD) type scanner [0045].
in response to a predetermined request data frame from the at least one OBD type scanner, generating a response data frame for reception by the OBD type scanner that includes at least one data field that identifies the secure storage system.
[0093, see reception and diagnostic request].
Kowalick doesn’t expressly disclose wherein it is not physically connected to an automotive vehicle system at one of the physical ports of the secure storage system.
However, Brozovich discloses in an analogous art and similar configuration that there can be other connections to devices other than the vehicle [0044]and discloses OBD type scanner with SAE j1962 compatibility [0040] as well as the physical port of the at least one OBD type scanner the secure storage system; and by operation of processor circuits of the storage system, assigning the OBD type scanner to an object; wherein the scanner holder is separate from any automotive vehicle system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine Kowalick and Brozovich because it enables connections between different devices and sources including servers, wan networks and other forms of data packet protocol connections as disclosed by Brozovich [0044].
Claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein providing the plurality of physical ports includes providing no less than ten female connectors compatible with a SAE J1962 standard [0102 – 0103, also see 0006 for Sae standard i.e. (The Society of Automotive Engineers)].
Claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein unlocking the secure storage system to enable access includes unlocking a drawer that slides open to reveal the physical connectors [0045, see unlocking].
Claim 7, the method of claim 1, wherein:
requesting operational data from one OBD type scanner; and from the operational data determining if the one OBD type scanner is operating properly [0093, see diagnostic requests].
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Kowalick anticipates a system, comprising:
a storage system that includes a scanner holding member having a plurality of physical ports a serial bus coupled to the physical ports, and at least one subsystem coupled to the serial bus and configured to receive a predetermined request data frame received at a physical port, and in response, generate a response data frame on the serial bus that includes at least one data field that identifies the storage system, a receiving member configured to receive the scanner holding member, and a lock configured to lock the scanner holding member in the receiving member to prevent physical access to the physical ports [0068, see secure storage, vehicle connector lock out apparatus, memory storage, also see OBD device, has receiving member to connect to vehicle also refer to drawings Fig 1a, and Fig. 1 c and all supported text]and Fig. 2c 212, for physical port];
a plurality of on-board diagnostic (OBD) type scanners each configured to generate request data frames, and each including a first type connector configured to connect to the physical ports [0045 – 0068, also see FiG 1c for OBD connection].
Claims 9 and 16, the system of claim 8, wherein:
the scanner holding member and receiving member comprise a drawer structure; wherein in an unlocked state, the scanner holding member slides out of the receiving member, and in a locked state, the scanner holding member inserted into the receiving member and prevented from being removed from the receiving member by the lock [0062, shows locked and unlocked state].
Regarding claim 10, the system of claim 8, wherein:
the at least one subsystem is configured to, in response to the predetermined request data frame, generate a response data frame having an identification field corresponding to a vehicle identification number (VIN) that is filled with an identification value for the storage system [0068, shows VIN].
Regarding claim 13, the system of claim 8, wherein: the at least one subsystem is further configured to request operational data from OBD type scanners connected at the physical ports, and from the operational data, determine if the OBD type scanners connected at the physical ports are operating properly [0045 – 0062].
Regarding claim 14, the system of claim 8, wherein the OBD type scanners include wireless transmission circuits configured to transmit data received at the first type connectors [0032, see wireless transmitter].
Regarding claim 17, the device of claim 15, wherein:
the ports are compatible with a SAE J1962 standard; and the at least one subsystem is configured to process and generate data frames compatible with an ISO 15765 standard [0102 – 0103, also see 0006 for Sae standard i.e. (The Society of Automotive Engineers)].
Regarding claim 18, the device of claim 15, wherein: the at least one subsystem includes communication circuits configured to communicate with a remote server over a network connection [0095, shows several different communication networks].
Regarding claim 20, the device of claim 15, wherein:
the at least one subsystem is configured to, in response to the predetermined request data frame, generate a response data frame having an identification field corresponding to a vehicle identification number (VIN) that is filled with an identification value for the storage system [0068 see VIN].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalick US 20080214022 A1 in view of Brozovich US 20200223385 and further in view of Philllips US 20160086397 A1.
Claim 3, Kowalick as modified by Brozovich doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the unlocking procedure includes at least one biometric authentication.
However, Phillips in an analogous art and similar configuration discloses wherein users can input using a biometric interface [0174 – 0175, see finger print reader and eye scanners].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the invention to combine Phillips and Kowalick as modified by Brozovich because it would enable authenticating the OBD device more securely since it utilizes a biometric input.
7. Claim(s) 5, 6, 11 – 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalick US 20080214022 A1 in view of Brozovich US 20200223385 and further in view of Wang et al. US 20190146775 A1.
Claim 5, Kowalick as modified discloses all the claimed limitations as applied in claim 1.
Kowalick as modified doesn’t implement including a firmware version and determining if the firmware version is a latest version; and if the firmware version is not the latest version, updating the firmware of the OBD type scanner.
However, Wang in an analogous art and similar configuration discloses in [0021], “…new version of software/firmware (e.g., drivers), they may upload the update file to the remote update server 160…” and further discloses “…Alternatively, the user may download the update file to a storage medium and then upload the update file to the vehicle …”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to combine Kowalick as modified with Brozovich and Wang because it would enable updating the firmware on the OBD device and/or vehicle.
Claim 6, the method of claim 5, wherein: updating the firmware includes contacting a server remote from the secure storage system, downloading the latest version of the firmware, transmitting the latest version of the firmware to the one OBD type scanner [0021 – 0025].
Regarding claim 11, the system of claim 8, wherein:
the OBD type scanners include firmware; and the at least one subsystem is further configured to determine if firmware versions for OBD type scanners connected at the physical ports is up to date, and if a firmware version for an OBD type scanner is not up to date, update the firmware for the OBD type scanner [0021 – 0025].
Regarding claim 12, the system of claim 11, wherein: the at least one subsystem is further configured to contact a remote server to determine a most recent firmware version for the OBD type scanner, and download the most recent firmware version from the remote server [0021 – 0025].
Regarding claim 19, the device of claim 15, wherein: the at least one subsystem is configured to request configuration data from an OBD type scanner connected to a port, including a firmware version; determine if the firmware version is a latest version; and if the firm ware version is not the latest version, update the firmware of the OBD type scanner [0021 – 0025].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Correspondence information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Chuck Kendall whose telephone number is 571-272-3698. The examiner can normally be reached on 10:00 am - 6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hyung Sough can be reached on 571-272-6799. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Chuck O Kendall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192