DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 4/29/2024. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended; no claims have been cancelled; and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 4/29/2024 have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a majority of the length of the body is located between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting”. It is unclear whether the length is entirely between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting (as the claim recites the length as being "between first and second ends" which the claim further describes as defining the female luer fitting and male luer fitting respectively) or whether only a majority of the length (which implies less than the entirety of the length) is between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting as the language in lines 9-10 of claim 1 would indicate.
Dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilson et al. (US 4369781 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gilson discloses a grip (10) for mounting to a syringe (84) having a luer tip (86) with a liquid outlet defined at a distal end thereof (Col 4, lines 5-7), the grip comprising:
an elongated body (12) extending a length (Image 1) along a longitudinal axis between first and second ends (Image 1), the first end defining a female luer fitting (28) configured for mounting onto the luer tip of the syringe (Fig. 4), an inlet opening (30) being defined in the female luer fitting formed to align with the liquid outlet of the luer tip with the female luer fitting mounted to the luer tip (Fig. 4), the second end defining a male luer fitting (14) defining an outlet opening (20) at a distal end thereof (Fig. 1), and, a liquid passageway (Passagewafy within 12 between 20 and 30) defined through the body between the inlet opening and the outlet opening to allow liquid flow therebetween (Col 4, lines 5-7), wherein, a majority of the length of the body is located between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting (Image 1), and, wherein, the body defines an outer surface (32) encircling the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), the outer surface being at least partially textured (Col 4, lines 30-32).
Image 1:
Regarding claim 2, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 1, wherein the diameter of the body varies along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 2, wherein the body defines a concave shape (Spaces between two adjacent longitudinal ribs on the outer surface of wall define a concave shape, Col 4, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 4, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 1, wherein the outer surface is textured by a plurality of spaced-apart discontinuities and/or raised elements (Col 4, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 5, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 4, wherein the outer surface includes a plurality of intersecting ribs (Col 4, lines 30-32, merriam-webster defines “intersecting” as “to pierce or divide by passing through or across” and because the ribs are dividing the body by passing across the body, the ribs are intersecting the body) defining the spaced-apart discontinuities (Col 4, lines 30-32, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 1, further comprising an internally-threaded collar (24/26) disposed about the male luer fitting (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 1, wherein the outer surface is textured about a full circumference of the body (Col 4, lines 30-32, Figs. 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilson et al. (US 4369781 A) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200155770 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gilson discloses the grip of claim 1, but is silent regarding further comprising at least one thread protruding radially outwardly from the female luer fitting.
In analogous art, Kim teaches
further comprising at least one thread protruding radially outwardly from the female luer fitting (34, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0033], Claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the female luer fitting on Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Kim to incorporate at least one thread protruding radially outwardly from the female luer fitting in order to allow mating with a male luer connector of a syringe barrel (Paragraph [0033]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilson et al. (US 4369781 A) in view of MH Eye Care (“OASIS® Formed Irrigating Cystotome”, 2020).
Regarding claim 9, Gilson discloses a syringe assembly (Figs. 1 and 4) for performing a capsulotomy on a patient's eye with a cystotome, the syringe assembly comprising:
a syringe (84) having a luer tip (86) with a liquid outlet defined at a distal end thereof (Col 4, lines 5-7);
a grip as in claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above) with the female luer fitting thereof mounted to the luer tip of the syringe (Fig. 4); and,
a cannula (88), distally extending from a hub (90), the hub having a secondary female luer fitting (92) mounted to the male luer fitting of the grip (Fig. 4, Cols 3-4, lines 67-5).
Gilson is silent regarding
a cystotome, distally extending from a hub, the cystotome configured for incising the lens capsule of the patient's eye, the hub having a secondary female luer fitting mounted to the male luer fitting of the grip.
In analogous art, MH Eye Care teaches
a cystotome (Image 2), distally extending from a hub (Image 2), the cystotome configured for incising the lens capsule of the patient's eye (Page 2, “OASIS’® Irrigating Cystotome is a crucial instrument in the capsulotomy of the eye to remove cataracts by surgery. With a formed bend, this is a reliable instrument during cataract procedures”, the hub having a secondary female luer fitting (Image 2).
Image 2:
The substitution of one known material (irrigating cystotome as taught in MH Eye Care) for another (fluid delivering cannula as taught in Gilson) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the irrigating cystotome as taught in MH Eye Care would have yielded predictable results, namely, a delivering conduit of Gilson that would expel the contents within the syringe. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments, on page 7, that Gilson does not teach “the majority of the length of the body is located between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites that the elongated body extends "a length along a longitudinal axis between first and second ends" and the current rejection maps this length to the portion/length of the body 12 in Gilson that is between the female luer fitting 28 and the male luer fitting 14, see annotated figure below, thus since this length of the body is entirely between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting , a majority of this length is also located between the female luer and the male luer. Examiner notes that a 112(b) rejection is given above as the claim is unclear as to whether the length is entirely between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting (as the claim recites the length as being "between first and second ends" which the claim further describes as defining the female luer fitting and male luer fitting respectively) or whether only a portion/majority of the length is between the female luer fitting and the male luer fitting as the language in lines 9-10 of claim 1 would indicate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG-VAN N TRINH/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783