DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (US 2008/0143281) in view of Ito (US 2017/0133972).
Regarding claim 1,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
A controller unit of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 100), the control unit comprising: a controller (40) electrically couplable to an inverter (14, ¶0057); and a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions configured to cause the controller (40) to:
a result of operating a drive unit of the vehicle according to one or more motor command currents (Id*, Iq*), and
received by the controller as feedback from the drive unit (Iv, Iw, ¶0103-¶0106),
generate one or more additional motor command currents responsive to a battery heat request value (¶0106), a torque command (Tr), and the estimated heat value (Calculated from Iv, Iw, ¶0121);
and transmit the one or more additional motor command currents to the inverter (¶0121), to facilitate delivery of heat to a battery associated with the vehicle to achieve a target temperature while also causing a motor associated with a drive unit to operate at a level of torque that corresponds to the torque command (¶0121-¶0123).
They do not disclose:
generate an estimated heat value that is i) responsive to at least one of a motor winding loss value or a motor magnet core loss value and ii) based on a drive unit current value and a drive unit temperature, wherein the drive unit current value
However, Ito teaches (fig. 12):
generate an estimated heat value (Fig. 12, S24, S25, S26) that is i) responsive to at least one of a motor winding loss value or a motor magnet core loss value (copper and iron loses are winding losses, S24-S26, ¶0101-¶0105) and ii) based on a drive unit current value and (S22) a drive unit temperature (S23, ¶0100-¶0105), wherein the drive unit current value
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the battery heating system from Yaguchi that calculates a heat loss of a motor in order to heat up a battery based on the battery temperature and current commands (¶0121-¶0123) and utilize the method from Ito which calculates a motor loss value based on the measured currents in order to improve the accuracy of the heat calculated value for the motor as taught by Ito (¶0100-¶0105). This would enable a more accurate prediction for the heat loss of a motor which would help heat the battery as taught by Yaguchi which improves efficiency (¶0123).
Regarding claim 2,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: determine a difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0085-¶0086, ¶0123, calculates battery heating amount based on the heat value or temperature); generating the motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) is further responsive to the torque command (TR) and a difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0106, battery lower than temperature threshold, controller initiates heating mode).
Regarding claim 2,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: determine a difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0085-¶0086, ¶0123, calculates battery heating amount based on the heat value or temperature); generating the motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) is further responsive to the torque command (TR) and a difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0106, battery lower than temperature threshold, controller initiates heating mode).
Regarding claim 3,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
the estimated heat value responsive to a heat transfer efficiency factor (¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 4,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more additional motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (TR) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (From 410, and Tbat, Tmot, Iv, and Iw); and transforming the first current value (Id*) and the second current value (Iq*) into three-phase current values (via 420, ¶0111).
Regarding claim 5,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the controller is further configured to generate: the motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) is further responsive to the torque command (Tr) and a difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery based on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 6,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more additional motor command currents further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (Tr) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery based on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126); and transforming the first current value and the second current value into three-phase current values (via 420).
Regarding claim 7,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
A drive unit of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a first inverter (14) configured to receive direct current (DC) electrical power from a battery (B, ¶0057);
a first electric motor (M1) configured to receive three-phase alternating current (AC) electrical power from the first inverter (14, ¶0078);
a controller (40) electrically couplable to the first inverter (14, ¶0057); and a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions configured to cause the controller (40) to:
a result of operating a drive unit of the vehicle according to one or more motor command currents (Id*, Iq*), and
received by the controller as feedback from the drive unit (Iv, Iw, ¶0103-¶0106),
determine a difference between a battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0121-¶0123);
generate one or more additional motor command currents based on (¶0106), a torque command (Tr), and the difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (¶0121-¶0123);
and transmit the one or more additional motor command currents to the first inverter (¶0121), to facilitate delivery of heat to a battery associated with the vehicle to achieve a target temperature while also causing the first electric motor to operate at a level of torque that corresponds to the torque command (¶0121-¶0123).
They do not disclose:
generate an estimated heat value that is i) responsive at least one of a motor winding loss value or a motor magnet core loss value and ii) based on a drive unit current value and a drive unit temperature, wherein the drive unit current value
However, Ito teaches (fig. 12):
generate an estimated heat value (Fig. 12, S24, S25, S26) that is i) responsive to at least one of a motor winding loss value or a motor magnet core loss value (copper and iron loses are winding losses, S24-S26, ¶0101-¶0105) and ii) based on a drive unit current value and (S22) a drive unit temperature (S23, ¶0100-¶0105), wherein the drive unit current value
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the battery heating system from Yaguchi that calculates a heat loss of a motor in order to heat up a battery based on the battery temperature and current commands (¶0121-¶0123) and utilize the method from Ito which calculates a motor loss value based on the measured currents in order to improve the accuracy of the heat calculated value for the motor as taught by Ito (¶0100-¶0105). This would enable a more accurate prediction for the heat loss of a motor which would help heat the battery as taught by Yaguchi which improves efficiency (¶0123).
Regarding claim 9,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the controller is further configured to generate the estimated heat value is further responsive to a value chosen from a motor winding loss value, a motor magnet core loss value, and a heat transfer efficiency factor (¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 10,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more additional motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (TR) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (From 410, and Tbat, Tmot, Iv, and Iw); and transforming the first current value (Id*) and the second current value (Iq*) into three-phase current values (via 420, ¶0111).
Regarding claim 11,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the motor command (Fig. 3, Id*, Iq*) is further responsive to the torque command (Tr) and a difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery based on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 12,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein a motor command further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (Tr) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery based on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126); and transforming the first current value and the second current value into three-phase current values (via 420).
Regarding claim 14,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
a result of operating a drive unit of the vehicle according to one or more motor command currents (Id*, Iq*)
generating one or more additional motor command currents responsive to a battery heat request value (¶0106), a torque command (Tr), and the estimated heat value (Calculated from Iv, Iw, ¶0121);
and transmitting the one or more additional motor command currents to an inverter (¶0121), to facilitate delivery of heat to a battery associated with the vehicle to achieve a target temperature while also causing the electric motor to operate at a level of torque that corresponds to the torque command (¶0121-¶0123).
They do not disclose:
A method comprising: generating an estimated battery heat value that is i) responsive to at least one of a motor winding loss value, a motor magnet core loss value, or a heat transfer efficiency factor and ii) based on a drive unit current value and a drive unit temperature, wherein the drive unit current value
However, Ito teaches (fig. 12):
A method comprising: generating an estimated heat value (Fig. 12, S24, S25, S26) that is i) responsive to at least one of a motor winding loss value or a motor magnet core loss value (copper and iron loses are winding losses, S24-S26, ¶0101-¶0105) and ii) based on a drive unit current value and (S22) a drive unit temperature (S23, ¶0100-¶0105), wherein the drive unit current value
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the battery heating system from Yaguchi that calculates a heat loss of a motor in order to heat up a battery based on the battery temperature and current commands (¶0121-¶0123) and utilize the method from Ito which calculates a motor loss value based on the measured currents in order to improve the accuracy of the heat calculated value for the motor as taught by Ito (¶0100-¶0105). This would enable a more accurate prediction for the heat loss of a motor which would help heat the battery as taught by Yaguchi which improves efficiency (¶0123).
Regarding claim 15,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising: receiving heat generated by a device chosen from the inverter and the motor; and transferring the heat to a battery (¶0106, battery lower than temperature threshold, controller initiates heating mode).
Regarding claim 16,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising: receiving a drive unit current value; receiving a drive unit temperature value; generating an estimated battery heat value responsive to the drive unit current value and the drive unit temperature value, wherein generating the motor command is further responsive to the torque command and a difference between the battery heat request value and the estimated heat value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery based on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 17,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein generating the estimated heat value is further responsive to a heat transfer efficiency factor (¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 18,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein generating a motor command further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (TR) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (From 410, and Tbat, Tmot, Iv, and Iw); and transforming the first current value (Id*) and the second current value (Iq*) into three-phase current values (via 420, ¶0111).
Regarding claim 19,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising: receiving a battery temperature value, wherein generating the motor command is further responsive to the torque command and a difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (calculates loss and heat needed to heat battery bead on motor and battery temperatures, ¶0120-¶0126).
Regarding claim 20,
Yaguchi discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein generating a motor command further includes: determining a first current value (Fig. 3, Id*) and a second current value (Iq*) responsive to the torque command (TR) and the difference between the battery heat request value and the battery temperature value (From 410, and Tbat, Tmot, Iv, and Iw); and transforming the first current value (Id*) and the second current value (Iq*) into three-phase current values (via 420, ¶0111).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (US 2008/0143281) in view of Ito (US 2017/0133972).
Regarding claim 13,
Yaguchi and Ito disclose the above elements from claim 11.
They do not disclose:
further comprising: a second inverter configured to receive DC electrical power from the battery; a second electric motor configured to receive three-phase AC electrical power from the second inverter, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the controller to: send the second electric motor command to the second inverter
However, Ishishita teaches (Fig. 1):
further comprising: a second inverter (Fig. 1, 22) configured to receive DC electrical power from the battery (B); a second electric motor (MG2) configured to receive three-phase AC electrical power from the second inverter(22), wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the controller to: send the second electric motor command to the second inverter (¶0071).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the battery heating system from Yaguchi that calculates a heat loss of a motor in order to heat up a battery based on the battery temperature and current commands (¶0121-¶0123) and utilize the method from Ito which calculates a motor loss value based on the measured currents in order to improve the accuracy of the heat calculated value for the motor as taught by Ito (¶0100-¶0105). This would enable a more accurate prediction for the heat loss of a motor which would help heat the battery as taught by Yaguchi which improves efficiency (¶0123).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the inverter system from Yaguchi with the methos of operation from Ito that warms a battery by sending motor current to the motor causing the battery to warm due to resistance (¶0085-¶0086) and apply this to the motor system from Ishishita which uses a dual motor system in order to a have a hybrid vehicle that also can warm its battery using both inverters as taught by Ishishita (¶0072). This would extend the range of the vehicle to give more power for heating the battery more during cold weather which increases range and reliability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-12, and 14-20, applicant argues that Yaguchi does not disclose and estimated heat value, however, the heat quantity is calculated in ¶0121-¶0123 which is determined from the phase currents in ¶0116-¶0120. Applicant argues that Yaguchi does not disclose difference between battery heat request value and the estimated heat value, however, in ¶0121-¶0123, this is taught where the optimum operation point is calculated based on a heat loss ΔL which would be the heat request value and estimated heat value difference.
Regarding claim, applicant argues that Yaguchi does not teach a heat quantity and that a heat quantity is not an estimated value. However, in ¶0122-¶0123, the heat quantity change is calculated based on the various losses and the current, this would be the estimated heat quantity and the difference is the change in heat which is what the delta signifies as a change or a difference in the heat quantity. The battery heat request value would be based on the current command, as such, ¶0119-¶0123 teaches this. Applicant argues that a heat quantity ΔQ were replaced from a copper loss or an iron loss, would be determined from Id* and Iq* and no from Iw or Iv, and would not be based on a drive unit current value and a drive unit temperature wherein the drive unit current value is a result of operating a drive unit of the vehicle according to one or motor command current and received by the controller as feedback from the drive unit” however, in ¶0085 from Yaguchi, Yaguchi teaches how the copper loss is calculated from the measured current and Ito also teaches how the current is used to calculate the temperature based on the measured current (¶0100-¶0105 such as iron loss). As such, this would be the total heat quantity loss. As such, examiner is maintaining the rejections of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837