DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed for rejected claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: this claim requires the period instead of comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant argued in the remark that Even assuming, arguendo, that Targali teaches that “the attached request includes the user device’s IMSI, i.e. network address, this teaching is silent with respect to a “a request for a network address to communicate via the network”. Par 0040 explicitly discloses This attach request 314 may differ from attach request 308 in that it comprises both the user device's IMSI , i.e. device identifier, and a trust indicator of the user device.
This limitation is well known in the art, the benefit of the applicant, Examiner is providing the prior art Maggenti US 2003/0206536,0006, the device registers its temporary IP address by sending a registration message through the Internet to an SIP server that is not necessarily associated with the local network carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8,11-16,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al US 2016/0036771 in view of Zuniga et al US 2017/0374034.
As per claim 1. Yadav discloses A method comprising ( fig.3) :
receiving, from a computing device, a first message comprising a temporary device identifier associated with the computing device and a request for a network address to communicate with a network ( Yadav discloses fig.4, the DHCP server receive the DHCP message, i.e. a first message with the identifier IP address of the computing device in the first message request for the DHCP IP address as a network address that is communicate with a network. And 0039 The broadcast message may include a unique identifier, i.e. a temporary device identifier, for the client device 103. For example, the unique identifier may be derived from the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the client device 103. On an Ethernet network, the MAC address may be the same as the Ethernet address, i.e. a network address with a network);
sending, to the computing device and based on the request, a second message comprising the network address, identity information associated with the network ( Yadav discloses fig.4, the DHCP server receive the DHCP message, i.e. a first message with the identifier IP address of the computing device in the first message request for the DHCP IP address as a network address that is communicate with a network. And 0039 The broadcast message may include a unique identifier, i.e. a temporary device identifier, for the client device 103. For example, the unique identifier may be derived from the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the client device 103. On an Ethernet network, the MAC address may be the same as the Ethernet address, i.e. a network address with a nework), and data indicating an option to trust the network ( Yadav discloses fig.4, the DHCP server receive the DHCP message, i.e. a first message with the identifier IP address of the computing device in the first message request for the DHCP IP address as a network address that is communicate with a network. And 0039 The broadcast message may include a unique identifier, i.e. a temporary device identifier, for the client device 103. For example, the unique identifier may be derived from the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the client device 103. On an Ethernet network, the MAC address may be the same as the Ethernet address, i.e. a network address with a network); and
receiving, from the computing device and based on the second message, a third message comprising data indicating acceptance of the option to trust the network (Yadav discloses ,fig.4, 0048 At operation 315, the client device may respond to the EAP request message with an EAP response message, i.e. a third message comprising data indicating . The EAP response message may indicate the identity, i.e. , additional information, for identifying the computing device, of the client device 103 (e.g., an identifier of the client device 103), i.e. from the computing device. and 0049 transmission of the EAP response message, operation 319 may assign a second role to the client device 103. This second role may overwrite the first role and may indicate, i.e. a third message comprising data indicating acceptance, that any DHCP request/renew messages from the client device 105 should be denied until an EAP success message has been transmitted and a new role and/or a new binding of the port associated with the client device 103 has been propagated throughout the datapath) and comprising additional information for identifying the computing device in communications associated with the trust of the network Yadav discloses ,fig.4, 0048 At operation 315, the client device may respond to the EAP request message with an EAP response message, i.e. a third message comprising data indicating . The EAP response message may indicate the identity, i.e. , additional information, for identifying the computing device, of the client device 103 (e.g., an identifier of the client device 103), i.e. from the computing device. and 0049 transmission of the EAP response message, operation 319 may assign a second role to the client device 103. This second role may overwrite the first role and may indicate, i.e. a third message comprising data indicating acceptance, that any DHCP request/renew messages from the client device 105 should be denied until an EAP success message has been transmitted and a new role and/or a new binding of the port associated with the client device 103 has been propagated throughout the data path).
Yadav does not explicitly disclose a first message includes a temporary device identifier.
However, Zuniga discloses a first message includes a temporary device identifier (par 0114, user selects a random L2 random MAC address is using in the DHCP message to acquire the IP configuration).
Yadav and Zuniga are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of DHCP request in the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yadav to incorporate the teachings of Zuniga and provide to anonymized and randomized the client ID in the untrusted public network (par 0114), doing so would provide the privacy for the client by increasing the security in the untrusted public network.
As per claim 2. Yadav and Zuniga discloses the method of claim 1, Yadav discloses wherein the additional information comprises one or more of an additional device identifier, a device identifier associated with an expiration time, a trust certificate, or a permanent device identifier (0044 the DHCP server 101.sub.1 may reserve the IP address for the client device 103 for a prescribed time period. Wherein the IP address is equal to the device identifier with time period ).
As per claim 3. Yadav and Zuniga disclose the method of claim 1, Zuniga discloses wherein the temporary device identifier is at least one of a randomized device identifier, a device identifier generated by the computing device, a device identifier specific to the network, or a device identifier for communication with an untrusted network (par 0114, user selects a random L2 random MAC address, i.e. the temporary device identifier, is using in the DHCP message to acquire the IP configuration ).
As per claim 4. Yadav and Zuniga disclose the method of claim 1, Yadav discloses wherein the computing device is configured to associate different device identifiers with different identity information corresponding to one or more different networks, service entities, or network devices ( 0045 the client device 103 may select the best DHCP offer based on the number and type of services offered, service entities and network devices. The client device 103 may broadcast the DHCP request that specifies the IP address, i.e. different device identifiers, of the server 101.sub.1, i.e. different network or 101.sub.2 , different network ,that made the best offer.).
As per claim 5. Yadav and Zuniga disclose the method of claim 1,Zuniga discloses wherein the temporary device identifier comprises a media access control address and the request comprises a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol request (par 0114, user selects a random L2 random MAC address, i.e. the temporary device identifier, is using in the DHCP message to acquire the IP configuration ).
As per claim 6. Yadav and Zuniga disclose The method of claim 1,Yadav discloses wherein the second message comprises data indicating one or more services available to the computing device if the option to trust is accepted, and further comprising facilitating, based on the data indicating the acceptance of the option to trust, the one or more services (fig.3, numeral 307, broadcast by one or more DHCP servers in a first VLAN associated with a DHCP offer message, i.e. a second message, that includes an IP address, i.e. network address, identity information ), and 0040 a DHCP offer message, i.e. data indicating an option, intended for the client device 103 at operation 307. The DHCP offer message may include an IP address selected for the client device 103 (i.e., an IP address from VLAN X) and information about services are available for the best offered, i.e. trust network, that can be configured for the client device 103 and 0045 the client device 103 may have received multiple DHCP offers from multiple servers (e.g., the DHCP server 101.sub.1 and the DHCP server 101.sub.2). and the client device 103 may select the best DHCP offer based on the number and type of services offered. The client device 103 may broadcast the DHCP request that specifies the IP address of the server 101.sub.1 or 101.sub.2 that made the best offer. The broadcast ensures that all the responding DHCP servers 101.sub.1 and 101.sub.2 know that the client device 103 has chosen a server 101.sub.1 and 101.sub.2. The servers 101.sub.1 or 101.sub.2 that are not chosen can cancel the reservations for the IP addresses that they had offered.).
As per claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 1.
As per claim 11. This claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 2.
As per claim 12, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 3.
As per claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 4
As per claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same rational ser forth the claim 5.
As per claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 1.
As per claim 16, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 3.
As per claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 6.
As per claim 19, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 2.
As per claim 20, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth the claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al US 2016/0036771 in view of Zuniga et al US 2017/0374034 in view of Roever et al US 2007/0286393.
As per claim 7. Yadav and Zuniga disclose The method of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the identity information comprises a digital certificate associated with at least one of the network, a network service associated with the network, or a service entity associated with the network.
However, Roever discloses wherein the identity information comprises a digital certificate associated with at least one of the network, a network service associated with the network, or a service entity associated with the network ( 0134 the DHCP-response from a title-enabled DHCP server can provide additional parameters to be used by the user when sending their network traffic. For example, a title-enabled DHCP server can use provided title materials to select and provide one or more additional title materials, network access tokens, digital certificates, or other materials, such as a MPLS tag, that can be subsequently used by a user or their computer to gain access or services from a network. The user's computer would typically include this information in message traffic (such as by embedding it within a protocol) sent by the user to ensure its appropriate handling by other portions of the network.).
Yadav and Zuniga and Roever are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of DHCP request in the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yadav to incorporate the teachings of Zuniga, including the teaching of providing the digital certificate of materials to the client user of Roever and provide assurance of its appropriate handling of the network service , doing so would provide the privacy for the client by increasing the security in the untrusted public network.
Claim(s) 9 -10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al US 2016/0036771 in view of Zuniga et al US 2017/0374034 in view of Lee et al US 2015/0244586.
As per claim 9. Yadav in view of Zuniga discloses The method of claim 8, Yadav further comprising wherein the additional information is added to the third message based on determining the association ( par 0045 The client device 103 may broadcast the DHCP request that specifies the IP address, i.e. additional information, of the server 101.sub.1 or 101.sub.2 that made the best offer. The broadcast ensures that all the responding DHCP servers 101.sub.1 and 101.sub.2 know that the client device 103 has chosen a server 101.sub.1 and 101.sub.2. wherein the DHCP server can identify the client device based on the client device information).
The combination fails to disclose determining, based on a data store of the computing device, an association between the identity information and the additional information.
However, Lee discloses determining, based on a data store of the computing device, an association between the identity information and the additional information, wherein the additional information is added to the third message based on determining the association (par 0034-0039 the user device 102 associates (e.g., connects) with a network (first network or other network), a network device can check a device identifier (e.g., MAC address) associated with the user device 102 against one or more mapping objects (e.g., stored at database 114). As an example, the check can be executed via a DHCP request from the user device 102. If the device identifier is located in the one or more mapping objects, the local identifier (e.g., IP address of the matching mapping object) can be provisioned to the user device 102 even though the user device 102 may have associated to a network other than the first network).
Yadav and Zuniga and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of DHCP request in the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yadav to incorporate the teachings of Zuniga, including the teaching of mapping the device with storage database of Lee and provide assurance of its appropriate handling of the network service , doing so would provide the privacy for the client by increasing the security in the untrusted public network.
As per claim 10. Yadav in view of Zuniga discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: the combination fails to disclose
determining that the identity information is not stored by the computing device; and generating, based on determining that the identity information is not stored by the computing device, the additional information.
However, Lee discloses determining that the identity information is not stored by the computing device ( [0078] If the first identifier does not match the stored identifier, a third identifier can be provided to the user device to satisfy the access request, at step 708); and generating, based on determining that the identity information is not stored by the computing device, the additional information ( [0078] If the first identifier does not match the stored identifier, a third identifier can be provided to the user device to satisfy the access request, at step 708. As an example, the third identifier can comprise an IP address (e.g., an assigned IP address for a public network), a VLAN label, and/or an MPLS label. In an aspect, the second identifier is different from the third identifier. As a further example, the third identifier can be provisioned based on a default or preset provisioning process associated with the network used to transmit the access request. However, the third identifier can be associated with other networks or devices. ).
Yadav and Zuniga and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of DHCP request in the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yadav to incorporate the teachings of Zuniga, including the teaching of mapping the device with storage database of Lee and provide assurance of its appropriate handling of the network service , doing so would provide the privacy for the client by increasing the security in the untrusted public network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496