DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 59-80 are currently pending. Claims 59, 61, 64-65, and 75 are currently amended. Claims 59-80 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 59 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a modified interpretation of Devgon and Agrawal.
Examiner acknowledges that the amendments to the claims obviate the previous 112b rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by an alternative interpretation of Devgon et al (US 20200100716 A1; hereafter Devgon) and further in view of Agrawal et al (US 20180256872 A1; hereafter Agrawal).
Regarding claim 59, Devgon discloses a method comprising:
coupling an access system (fluid transfer device 210, fig. 5, [0068]) with a preplaced closed catheter system (access device 270, fig. 3/4, [0066] access device 270 and the insertion device 290 can collectively form the closed system access device 200),
the access system comprising a reinforcement member (proboscis 242, fig. 5, [0077]), and a cannula (catheter 230, fig. 7, [0070] catheter 230 is movable within the introducer 215 of fluid transfer device 210) movable relative to the reinforcement member,
the preplaced closed catheter system comprising a valve (seal 274, fig. 4, [0060] seal 274 is disposed in the hub 271 and can be a valve) and a catheter tube (catheter 272, fig. 4, [0066]) that is positioned within a blood vessel of a patient ([0066] insertion device 290 can be retracted and/or removed from the access device 270 leaving the relatively flexible catheter 272 in the vein),
wherein said coupling ([0068] the fluid transfer device 210 can be used with (e.g., coupled to) the access device 270):
comprises securing the access system (210, fig. 7) to the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 7); and
advancing the cannula (230, fig. 7) of the access system from a position (see fig. 6, note [0081] fig. 6 shows a first actuator position in which catheter 230 can be disposed within the introducer 215 and/or a portion of the lock 240 and proximal to the access device 270; note that proboscis 242 is a part of the lock 240) inside the reinforcement member (242, fig. 7) to a position in which the cannula (230, fig. 7) extends through the valve (274, fig. 7) of the closed catheter system (270, fig. 7) and through at least a portion of the catheter tube (272, fig. 7) (see fig. 7, note [0081] catheter 230 extends through the proboscis 242, the lumen 275 of the access device 270, and the catheter 272 to place a distal end portion of the catheter 230 of the transfer device 210 in a distal position relative to the distal end portion of the catheter 272 of the access device 270) (note [0081] describes advancement of catheter 230 from the reinforcement member 242 through the catheter tube 272 and as seen in fig. 7 the cannula/catheter 272 must pass through the reinforcement member/proboscis 242 prior to entering the catheter tube 272).
Devgon is silent to the access system comprising a housing, the distal tip of the reinforcement member being fixed at a position that is at or proximally recessed from a proximal end of the valve, and the coupling being achieved without advancing any portion of the reinforcement member into or through the valve.
Agrawal, in the art of hemostasis valves, teaches the access system (plunger 18, fig. 2 and fig. 5, [0041]) comprising a housing (outer wall of plunger 18, see fig. 2 and fig. 5) and a reinforcement member (tubular region 46 of the plunger 18, fig. 5A/B, [0047]) coupled with the housing (the tubular region 46 of the plunger 18 is coupled to the rest of the plunger 18 as shown in figs. 5A/B),
a closed system (main body 12 including first and second seal members 24/26, fig. 5b, [0041] and [0047]) that further includes a septum (first seal member 24, fig. 5b, [0047]) positioned proximal to the valve (second seal member 26, [0047], fig. 5b shows septum 24 positioned proximal to the valve 26), and
wherein said coupling (see fig. 5A):
comprises securing the access system (plunger 18, fig. 2 and fig. 5, [0041]) to the closed system (main body 12, fig. 2 and fig. 5, [0041] A plunger 18 may be coupled to the proximal end of the main body 12) such that a distal tip (see distal tip noted in Agrawal Fig. 5A below) of the reinforcement member (tubular region 46, fig. 5a, [0047] tubular region 46 of the plunger 18 may extend through (and open) the first seal member 24) is fixed at a position that is at or proximally recessed from a proximal end of the valve (see fig. 5A which shows that the distal tip of reinforcement member 46 is proximally located from the proximal end of the valve 26); and
is achieved without advancing any portion of the reinforcement member (46) into or through the valve (26) (see fig. 5A which shows the coupled position, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 46 and valve 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access system of Devgon to include a housing surrounding the reinforcement member as taught by Agrawal, since both references deal with valves and medical tubing adapted to transport blood. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the housing of Agrawal helps to ensure firm connection to the valve system of Agrawal by the snapping connection noted in [0043]. Furthermore, the wider diameter housing formed by the outer surface of the plunger 18 of Agrawal is easier to grab and hold than the reinforcement member by itself (being a smaller diameter) or the non circular lock 240 of Devgon which must be grabbed in one of two orientations (rotated 180 degrees due to the two arms shown in fig. 7 of Devgon, for example) instead of any orientation as with the housing of Agrawal.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve assembly of Devgon to include an additional valve proximal to the septum, as taught by Agrawal since both references deal with inserting a blood collection device into a valve for withdrawing blood, and thus both make use of hemostasis valves. One would have been motivated to make the modification because adding an additional seal member as taught by Agrawal, instead of a single seal as found in Devgon, would better ensure that no fluid escapes through the valve except through an appropriately attached collection device. Additionally, by having the tubular region 46 of Agrawal, similar to the reinforcement member 242 of Devgon, extend only through the first seal member, a tighter seal could be established around the catheter 230 of Devgon which may be advanced through the reinforcement member 242, thus decreasing the likelihood of blood leaking out when the cannula/catheter 230 of Devgon is withdrawn through the reinforcement member 242.
Regarding claim 60, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above, including wherein the closed catheter system (Devgon: access device 270, fig. 3; Agrawal: main body 12 including first and second seal members 24/26, fig. 5b, [0041] and [0047]) comprises a valve assembly (first and second seal members 24/26) that includes the valve (Agrawal: second seal member 26, fig. 5b, [0047]) and further includes a septum (Agrawal: first seal member 24, fig. 5b, [0047]) positioned proximal to the valve (Devgon: seal 274, fig. 4, [0060] seal 274 is disposed in the hub 271; Agrawal: second seal member 26, [0047], fig. 5b shows septum 24 positioned proximal to the valve 26).
Regarding claim 61, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 60, as disclosed above, including wherein said coupling comprises advancing the distal tip (see Agrawal fig. 5B above) of the reinforcement member (Devgon: 242, fig. 5; Agrawal: tubular region 46, fig. 5a, [0047] tubular region 46 of the plunger 18 may extend through (and open) the first seal member 24) of the access system (Devgon: 210, fig. 5; Agrawal: plunger 18) through the septum (Agrawal: 24, fig. 5a) before the distal tip is fixed at the position that is at or proximally recessed from the proximal end of the valve (Agrawal: second seal member 26, fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 62, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the reinforcement member (242, fig. 5) comprises a tube (see fig. 5 which shows that proboscis 242 is a tube, note [0081] catheter 230 extends through the proboscis 242 and [0078] proboscis 242 defines a lumen, thus the reinforcement member/proboscis 242 must comprise a tube since fluid and catheter 230 may move through the proboscis 242).
Regarding claim 63, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above, including wherein said coupling is achieved without making any contact between the reinforcement member (Agrawal: tubular portion 46, fig. 5) and the valve (Agrawal: second seal member 26, fig. 5a) (Agrawal: see fig. 5A which shows the coupled position, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 46 and valve 26).
Regarding claim 64, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above, including wherein an inner diameter of the reinforcement member (Devgon: proboscis 242 of lock 240 of introducer 215) is larger than an outer diameter of the cannula (Devgon: catheter 230) (Devgon: [0073] at least a portion of the catheter 230 can have an outer diameter that is slightly smaller than an inner diameter defined by a portion of the lock 240; [0071] The distal end portion 217 of the introducer 215 includes and/or is coupled to a lock 240), and a maximum transverse dimension of the reinforcement member (Agrawal: tubular region 46, fig. 5a/b) is smaller than a maximum transverse dimension of the housing (see Agrawal fig. 5A, reinforcement member diameter is smaller than housing diameter).
Regarding claim 65, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the valve (274, fig. 4) of the closed catheter system (270, fig. 4) comprises a closable opening ([0064] when the insertion device 290 is removed from the access device 270, the seal 274 can be configured to transition from the open state to a closed or sealed state; Examiner notes that the seal 274 as described comprises a closable opening.) that is configured to permit a piercing element (insertion member 292, fig. 3, [0064] insertion member 292 such as a rigid needle, trocar, or the like) to extend therethrough (see fig. 3) during insertion ([0064] insertion member 292 extends through the seal 274, thereby placing the seal 274 in the open state and/or configuration) of the catheter tube (272, fig. 3) into the blood vessel of the patient,
wherein the sealable region (see 112b interpretation above) is in a self-sealed state with the piercing element (292) having been removed therefrom during said coupling ([0064] seal 274 closes to a fluid tight seal when the piercing element/insertion member 292 is removed), and
wherein said advancing the cannula (230, fig. 7) comprises advancing the cannula through the closable opening of the valve (274, fig. 7) ([0081] describes advancement of cannula/catheter 230 from the reinforcement member 242 through the catheter tube 272 and as seen in fig. 7 the cannula 230 extends through the opening in valve 274).
Regarding claim 66, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said advancing (Devgon: advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (Devgon: 230, fig. 7) is achieved without advancing the distal tip of the reinforcement member (Devgon: 242, fig. 5; Agrawal: tubular portion 46, fig. 5a) distally past the proximal end of the valve (Devgon: 274, fig. 7; Agrawal: 26, fig. 5a) (see Devgon fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230; see Agrawal fig. 5a which shows after coupling is complete, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 46 and valve 26).
Regarding claim 67, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said advancing (Devgon: advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (Devgon: 230, fig. 7) is achieved without contacting the reinforcement member (Devgon: 242, fig. 5; Agrawal: tubular portion 46, fig. 5a) to the valve (Devgon: 274, fig. 7; Agrawal: 26, fig. 5a) (see Devgon fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230; see Agrawal fig. 5a which shows after coupling is complete, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 46 and valve 26).
Regarding claim 68, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said advancing (Devgon: advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (Devgon: 230, fig. 7) is achieved without extending the reinforcement member (Devgon: 242, fig. 5; Agrawal: tubular portion 46, fig. 5a)through any portion of the valve (Devgon: 274, fig. 7; Agrawal: 26, fig. 5a) (see Devgon fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230; see Agrawal fig. 5a which shows after coupling is complete, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 46 and valve 26).
Regarding claim 69, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the closed catheter system (270, fig. 3) further comprises a hub (hub 271, fig. 4, [0059] The access device 270 includes a hub 271 and a catheter 272) coupled with the catheter tube (272, fig. 4 shows catheter tube coupled to hub 271) at a first port of the hub (see annotated fig. 1 below, catheter tube 272 couples to the hub 271 at a first port), wherein an extension tube (see annotated fig. 4 below which shows extension tube coupled to second port of hub) is coupled with a second port (side port 276, fig. 4, [0059] hub 271 of the access device 270 can include a side port 276) of the hub, and wherein a third port (proximal port 273, fig. 4, [0059] hub 271 of the access device 270 can include a proximal port 273) of the hub comprises the valve (274, fig. 4) ([0059] proximal port 273 includes a seal 274).
Regarding claim 70, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 69, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said coupling the access system (210, fig. 5) with the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 4) comprises coupling a connector (set of arms 241, fig. 5, [0076]) of the access system (210, fig. 5) with the third port (273, fig. 4) of the hub (271, fig. 4) ([0076] set of arms 241 can be configured to engage an outer surface of the proximal port 273 of the access device 270 when the lock 240 is coupled thereto; fig. 7 shows coupled state).
Regarding claim 71, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 69, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said advancing the cannula (230, fig. 7) comprises advancing a distal portion of the cannula through the third port (273, fig. 4) of the hub (271, fig. 4) then through the first port (see annotated fig. 4 above) of the hub (271, fig. 4) and into the catheter tube (272, fig. 4) (see fig. 6, before extension of cannula 230, and fig. 7, after extension of cannula 230; note [0081] describes advancement of catheter 230 from the reinforcement member 242 through the catheter tube 272 and as seen in fig. 7 the cannula/catheter 272 must pass through the third port 273 and the first port as shown in fig. 4/7 prior to entering the catheter tube 272).
Regarding claim 72, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 69, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the hub of the preplaced closed catheter system (access device 270, fig. 4) is secured directly to the skin of the patient ([0125] Although not shown in FIGS. 1-17, any of the embodiments described herein can be used with any suitable dressing configured to secure an access device to the skin of a patient; [0127] dressing 1301 can be applied to and/or can cover the hub 1371 of the access device 1370, see fig. 18; [0125] access device 1370 can be substantially similar to any of the access devices 170, 270, and/or 370 described in detail above).
Regarding claim 73, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 72, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein said coupling ([0129] describes coupling to the third port 273/1373 after the dressing 1301 has been applied to cover the hub 271/1371) and said advancing (see [0081] and fig. 6 and 7 which describe advancement of cannula 230 by moving actuator 220 which as shown in fig. 6/7 is part of the access system/transfer device 210) are achieved without moving the hub of the preplaced catheter system (access device 270, fig. 6/7) relative to the skin of the patient ([0125] notes that the dressing secures the preplaced catheter system/access device 270 to the skin of the patient; [0129] notes that the third port may be engaged after the dressing is applied; [0081] and fig. 6/7 show that the coupling occurs at the third port 273, and the cannula 230 is advanced without moving the preplaced catheter system 270, but instead from moving the actuator 220 relative to the preplaced catheter system 270).
Regarding claim 74, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 72, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the hub (271 in fig. 4, 1371 in fig. 18) of the preplaced closed catheter system (270/1370; [0125] access device 1370 can be substantially similar to any of the access devices 170, 270, and/or 370 described in detail above) is positioned flat against the skin of the patient without any other element being present between the hub and the skin of the patient (see fig. 18, [0127] dressing 1301 can cover the hub 1371 of the access device 1370 and the insertion site 1302 of the patient).
Regarding claim 75, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 72, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein a further portion of the catheter tube (272, fig. 4) is positioned within an insertion site that extends through the skin of the patient ([0066] catheter tube/catheter 272 is inserted into the vein of the patient), and wherein said coupling ([0129] describes coupling to the third port 273/1373 after the dressing 1301 has been applied to cover the hub 271/1371) and said advancing (see [0081] and fig. 6 and 7 which describe advancement of cannula 230 by moving actuator 220 which as shown in fig. 6/7 is part of the access system/transfer device 210) are achieved without contacting an external surface of one or more of the hub (271, fig. 4) or the catheter tube (272, fig. 4) to adjust a position of the further portion of the catheter tube that extends through the insertion site ([0066] catheter tube 272 is left in the vein of the patient after retraction of insertion device 290; [0125] any of the embodiments described herein can be used with any suitable dressing configured to secure an access device to the skin of a patient; [0127] dressing 1301 can cover the hub 1371 of the access device 1370 and the insertion site 1302 of the patient) (Examiner notes that since the coupling and advancing occur after placement and securing of the catheter tube 272 at the insertion site, both steps are accomplished without moving the catheter tube 272 relative to the insertion site.).
Regarding claim 76, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon further discloses wherein the access system (210, fig. 5) further comprises
an additional connector (coupler 246, fig. 5, [0074]) at a proximal end of the cannula (230, fig. 7) ([0074] a proximal end portion of the catheter 230 can be coupled to a fluid reservoir, fluid source, syringe, and/or the like via a coupler 246), and wherein the method further comprises:
coupling a fluid collection device ([0068] the fluid transfer device 210 can be used with (e.g., coupled to) the access device 270 and manipulated to withdraw a volume of blood from the vein of the patient into one or more fluid collection devices, reservoirs, containers, etc.) to the additional connector ([0074] a proximal end portion of the catheter 230 can be coupled to a fluid reservoir, fluid source, syringe, and/or the like via a coupler 246); and
after said advancing the cannula (catheter 230, fig. 7) of the access system (fluid transfer device 210, fig. 5), drawing blood through the cannula into the fluid collection device (note [0068], see also [0196]-[0197] which describe the steps of inserting the closed catheter system 270 into the vein of a patient, attaching a transfer device, advancing a catheter of the transfer device into the vein, and withdrawing blood through the catheter into a syringe).
Regarding claim 77, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 76, as described above. Devgon further discloses further comprising, after said drawing blood, retracting the cannula (230, fig. 7) of the access system (210, fig. 7) from the catheter tube (272, fig. 7) ([0198] once the sample volume of blood is collected, the transfer device can be transitioned from the second configuration (see fig. 7) to the first configuration (see fig. 6); [0015] figs. 6 and 7 are top view illustrations of the fluid transfer device of fig. 5 coupled to the PIV of fig. 3 and disposed in a first configuration and a second configuration, respectively).
Regarding claim 78, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 77, as described above. Devgon further discloses further comprising, after said retracting the cannula (230, fig. 7), decoupling the access system (210, fig. 7) from the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 4) ([0198] the transfer device can be transitioned from the second configuration toward the first configuration and/or a third configuration (e.g., a “used” configuration). The transfer device can then be decoupled from the PIV, extension set, and/or adapter and safely discarded; [0013] figs. 3 and 4 are schematic illustrations of a closed system access device (“PIV”)).
Claim(s) 59, 63-64, and 66-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over an alternative interpretation of Devgon et al (US 20200100716 A1; hereafter Devgon2) and further in view of Agrawal.
Regarding claim 59, Devgon2 discloses a method comprising:
coupling an access system (fluid transfer device 210, fig. 5, [0068]) with
a preplaced closed catheter system (access device 270, fig. 3/4, [0066] access device 270 and the insertion device 290 can collectively form the closed system access device 200)
the access system comprising a reinforcement member (introducer 215, fig. 5, [0081]) and a cannula (catheter 230, fig. 7, [0070]) movable relative to the reinforcement member ([0070] catheter 230 is movable within the introducer 215 of fluid transfer device 210),
the preplaced closed catheter system comprising a valve (seal 274, fig. 4, [0060] seal 274 is disposed in the hub 271 and can be a valve) and a catheter tube (catheter 272, fig. 4, [0066]) that is positioned within a blood vessel of a patient ([0066] insertion device 290 can be retracted and/or removed from the access device 270 leaving the relatively flexible catheter 272 in the vein),
wherein said coupling ([0068] the fluid transfer device 210 can be used with (e.g., coupled to) the access device 270):
comprises securing the access system (210, fig. 7) to the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 7) such that a distal tip (distal end portion 217, fig. 5, [0071]) of the reinforcement member (215, see fig. 5 and [0081]) is fixed at a position that is at or proximally recessed from a proximal end of the valve (274, fig. 7 shows reinforcement member/introducer 215 located proximally of the valve/seal 274); and
is achieved without advancing any portion of the reinforcement (215, fig. 7) into or through the valve (274, fig. 7) (see fig. 6/7 which shows the coupled position, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 215 and valve 274); and
advancing the cannula (230, fig. 7) of the access system from a position (see fig. 6, note [0081] fig. 6 shows a first actuator position in which catheter 230 can be disposed within the introducer 215 and/or a portion of the lock 240 and proximal to the access device 270) inside the reinforcement member (215, fig. 7) to a position in which the cannula (230, fig. 7) extends through the valve (274, fig. 7) of the closed catheter system (270, fig. 7) and through at least a portion of the catheter tube (272, fig. 7) (see fig. 7, note [0081] catheter 230 extends through the proboscis 242, the lumen 275 of the access device 270, and the catheter 272 to place a distal end portion of the catheter 230 of the transfer device 210 in a distal position relative to the distal end portion of the catheter 272 of the access device 270) (note [0081] describes advancement of catheter 230 from the reinforcement member 215 through the catheter tube 272 and as seen in fig. 7 the cannula/catheter 272 must pass through the reinforcement member 215 prior to entering the catheter tube 272).
Devgon2 is silent to wherein the access system further comprises a housing, and the reinforcement member being coupled with the housing.
Agrawal, in the art of hemostasis valves, teaches the access system (plunger 18, fig. 2 and fig. 5, [0041]) comprising a housing (outer wall of plunger 18, see fig. 2 and fig. 5) and a reinforcement member (tubular region 46 of the plunger 18, fig. 5A/B, [0047]) coupled with the housing (the tubular region 46 of the plunger 18 is coupled to the rest of the plunger 18 as shown in figs. 5A/B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access system of Devgon2 to include a housing surrounding the reinforcement member as taught by Agrawal, since both references deal with valves and medical tubing adapted to transport blood. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the housing of Agrawal helps to ensure firm connection to the valve system of Agrawal by the snapping connection noted in [0043]. Furthermore, the wider diameter housing formed by the outer surface of the plunger 18 of Agrawal is easier to grab and hold than the reinforcement member by itself (being a smaller diameter) or the non circular lock 240 of Devgon2 which must be grabbed in one of two orientations (rotated 180 degrees due to the two arms shown in fig. 7 of Devgon2, for example) instead of any orientation as with the housing of Agrawal.
Regarding claim 63, Devgon2 modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon2 further discloses wherein said coupling is achieved without making any contact between the reinforcement member (215, fig. 7) and the valve (274, fig. 7) (see fig. 6/7 which shows the coupled position, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 215 and valve 274).
Regarding claim 64, Devgon2 modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above, including wherein an inner diameter of the reinforcement member (Devgon: proboscis 242 of lock 240 of introducer 215) is larger than an outer diameter of the cannula (Devgon: catheter 230) (Devgon2: [0073] at least a portion of the catheter 230 can have an outer diameter that is slightly smaller than an inner diameter defined by a portion of the lock 240; [0071] The distal end portion 217 of the introducer 215 includes and/or is coupled to a lock 240), and a maximum transverse dimension of the reinforcement member (Agrawal: tubular region 46, fig. 5a/b) is smaller than a maximum transverse dimension of the housing (see Agrawal fig. 5A, reinforcement member diameter is smaller than housing diameter).
Regarding claim 66, Devgon2 modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon2 further discloses wherein said advancing (advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (230, fig. 7) is achieved without advancing the distal tip (distal end portion 217, fig. 5, [0071]) of the reinforcement member (215, fig. 7) distally past the proximal end of the valve (274, fig. 7) (see fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 215 and valve 274 in either figure).
Regarding claim 67, Devgon2 modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon2 further discloses wherein said advancing (advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (230, fig. 7) is achieved without contacting the reinforcement member (215, fig. 7) to the valve (274, fig. 7) (see fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 215 and valve 274 in either figure).
Regarding claim 68, Devgon2 modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above. Devgon2 further discloses wherein said advancing (advancement shown between fig. 6 and 7, see [0081]) the cannula (230, fig. 7) is achieved without extending the reinforcement member (215, fig. 7) through any portion of the valve (274, fig. 7) (see fig. 6/7 which show the arrangement before and after advancing the cannula 230, note there is no contact between reinforcement member 215 and valve 274 in either figure).
Claim(s) 79 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devgon modified by Agrawal as applied to claim 78 above and further in view of Ma et al (WO 2020150486 A1; hereafter Ma). Text reference is made to the copy of Ma included in a previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 79, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 78, as described above. Devgon further discloses further comprising, after retracting a piercing member (insertion member 292 of insertion device 290, fig. 3), power injecting fluid into the patient via the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 4) ([0061] after removal of the insertion device 290, high-power infusion may be used to deliver fluid to the patient through the closed catheter system 270).
Devgon is silent to the method further comprising, after said retracting the cannula, power injecting fluid into the patient via the preplaced closed catheter system.
Ma, directed to a blood collection system, teaches after detaching a blood collection tube (130, fig. 9, [0075]), power injecting fluid into the patient ([0080] saline flush tube 200 may flush 945 a saline through the IV catheter 920 and into the blood stream of the patient 905 so that the IV catheter 920 may be cleared for subsequent injections or blood draws, note this occurs after blood collection tube 130 is detached as shown in fig. 9) via the preplaced closed catheter system (IV catheter 920, fig. 9, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Devgon to include a power injecting fluid step after detaching the blood collection system from the catheter system as taught by Ma, especially since Devgon [0061] already teaches power injection through the catheter system after the insertion device has been removed. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Ma [0080], flushing fluid through the catheter system into the patient after a blood draw clears the catheter system for subsequent injections or blood draws. This prevents stagnant blood from collecting in the catheter system, thereby improving the quality of subsequent blood draws.
Claim(s) 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devgon modified by Agrawal as applied to claim 59 above and further in view of Devgon et al (US 20180028800 A1; hereafter Devgon800).
Regarding claim 80, Devgon modified by Agrawal discloses the method of claim 59, as described above, including the catheter tube (272, fig. 4) of the preplaced closed catheter system (270, fig. 4) is inserted into a vein of the patient ([0066] insertion device 290 can be retracted and/or removed from the access device 270 leaving the relatively flexible catheter 272 in the vein).
Devgon is silent to the preplaced closed catheter system being inserted into a vein of the patient at any one of a dorsal arch of a hand, a forearm, or an antecubital fossa position.
Devgon800, directed to devices and methods for catheter placement within a vein, teaches wherein the catheter tube (peripheral intravenous catheter 180, fig. 2, [0037]) of the preplaced closed catheter system ([0042] peripheral intravenous catheter 180 (also referred to herein as “peripheral intravenous line” or simply “PIV”) can be any suitable peripheral intravenous catheter such as any suitable known PIV. The PIV 180 can have any suitable length between a hub (not shown) and a distal surface of the PIV catheter) is inserted into a vein (vein 40, fig. 2, [0037]) of the patient at any one of a dorsal arch of a hand, a forearm, or an antecubital fossa position ([0037] vein 40 can be any suitable vein such as those included in the forearm or hand of a patient as described above with reference to fig. 1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Devgon to attach the PIV 270 of Devgon ([0013] figs. 3 and 4 are schematic illustrations of a closed system access device (“PIV”) to a vein in the forearm as taught by Devgon800 since both references deal with catheter placement for blood draws. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted in Devgon800 [0034] “the cutaneous veins of the antecubital arm region, forearm, and hand are the most accessed sites for intravenous catheterization”. Thus, medical practitioners are already familiar with the method of inserting the catheter tube into veins in the hand/forearm, and placing the catheter system in these areas would likely be efficient since a practitioner would already be familiar with locating appropriate veins for the placement of the catheter device of Devgon in the areas of the hand/forearm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryan et al (US 20200054871 A1) - fig. 134A-E, [0452], fig. 134b shows two valves 4040 and 4305; catheter connector 4330 extends through first valve 4305 but remains proximal to second spaced apart valve 4040 (see fig. 134e)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 07/08/2026