DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobbs et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0184909, “Hobbs”, previously cited) in view of Liu (Chinese Patent Publication CN208204349U) and in further view Korean Patent Publication KR200437907Y1.
Regarding claim 1, Hobbs discloses an air conditioner, comprising:
a packaged air conditioner housing (34, fig 6) configured for attachment to a surface of an enclosure (EW, fig 7) housing heat-generating components (i.e. components in room to be cooled), comprising:
an enclosure side configured for interfacing with the surface of the enclosure and having disposed therein an enclosure air outlet (as there must be an outlet for the enclosure) and inlet (76) that supply the enclosure with cooling air flow for closed loop cooling (i.e. in the building);
an ambient side (side of the air conditioner) separated from the enclosure side and having an ambient side inlet and outlet that provide circulating ambient side air (as there must be circulated ambient air);
a compressor (144);
a condenser (142);
an evaporator (141); and
However, Hobbs does not explicitly disclose wherein disposed within the ambient side, one or more insulated rubber flexible lines. Liu, however, discloses a pipe for an air conditioner (fig 1) which rubber, flexible, and insulated (page 1, lines 40-50). Liu teaches that the pipe provides greater corrosion and leakage resistance (page 1, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs to provide the pipe of Liu to connect the components of the circuit and improve corrosion and leak resistance.
However, Hobbs, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a first fitting at least at one end of the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines and configured to connect to one or more of:
a complimentary fitting of the compressor, evaporator, or condenser; and
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve;
wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two
or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
KR200437907Y1, however, discloses a first fitting (3, fig 1) at least at one end of the one of a line configured to connect to
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve (5).
KR200437907Y1 teaches that the fitting reduces the risk of leakage (¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs, as modified, to provide fitting of KR200437907Y1 in order to reduce the chance of leakage. This would result in the wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses wherein the complementary fitting (3, KR200437907Y1) is threaded.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines comprise a suction line and a discharge line (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hobbs discloses a method including:
a compressor (144), a condenser (1420 and an evaporator (141) of an ambient side of a packaged air conditioner having a housing (34, fig 6) comprising an enclosure side configured for attachment to a surface of an enclosure (EW, fig 7) housing heat-generating components (i.e. components in room to be cooled);
the enclosure side being configured for interfacing with the surface of the enclosure and having disposed therein an enclosure air outlet (as there must be an outlet for the enclosure) and inlet (76) that supply the enclosure with cooling air flow for closed loop cooling (i.e. in the building);
the ambient side (side of the air conditioner) separated from the enclosure side and having an ambient side inlet and outlet that provide circulating ambient side air (as there must be circulated ambient air).
However, Hobbs does not explicitly disclose wherein disposed within the ambient side, one or more insulated rubber flexible lines. Liu, however, discloses a pipe for an air conditioner (fig 1) which rubber, flexible, and insulated (page 1, lines 40-50). Liu teaches that the pipe provides greater corrosion and leakage resistance (page 1, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs to provide the pipe of Liu to connect the components of the circuit and improve corrosion and leak resistance.
However, Hobbs, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a first fitting at least at one end of the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines and configured to connect to one or more of:
a complimentary fitting of the compressor, evaporator, or condenser; and
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve;
wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two
or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
KR200437907Y1, however, discloses a first fitting (3, fig 1) at least at one end of the one of a line configured to connect to
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve (5).
KR200437907Y1 teaches that the fitting reduces the risk of leakage (¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs, as modified, to provide fitting of KR200437907Y1 in order to reduce the chance of leakage. This would result in the wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses wherein the complementary fitting (3, KR200437907Y1) is threaded.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines comprise a suction line and a discharge line (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hobbs discloses a kit, comprising:
an enclosure (EW, fig 7) configured for housing heat generating components (i.e. components in room to be cooled);
a packaged air conditioner (34, fig 6) having an enclosure side and an ambient side;
the enclosure side being configured for interfacing with a surface of the enclosure and having disposed therein an enclosure air outlet (as there must be an outlet for the enclosure) and inlet (76) that supply the enclosure with cooling air flow for closed loop cooling;
the ambient side (side of the air conditioner) separated from the enclosure side and having an ambient side inlet and outlet that provide circulating ambient side air (as there must be circulated ambient air);
However, Hobbs, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a first fitting at least at one end of the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines
one or more second fittings attachable to one or more of: (a) the first fitting of the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines; and (b) a component of the ambient side of the packaged air conditioner;
configured to connect to one or more of:
a complimentary fitting of the compressor, evaporator, or condenser; and
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve;
wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two
or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
KR200437907Y1, however, discloses a first fitting (3, fig 1) one or more second fittings (5) attachable to the first fitting of the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines;
at least at one end of the one of a line configured to connect to
a shaped fitting forming an approximately 90-degree elbow or curve (of 5).
KR200437907Y1 teaches that the fitting reduces the risk of leakage (¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs, as modified, to provide fitting of KR200437907Y1 in order to reduce the chance of leakage. This would result in the wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines are configured to connect two or more of the compressor, the condenser, and the evaporator, via the first fitting, to place them into fluid communication with one another.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses wherein the one or more insulated rubber flexible lines comprise a suction line and a discharge line (see rejection of claim 1).
4. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Li (Chinese Patent Publication CN107041579A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Hobbs does not explicitly disclose removing a copper tubing connecting to one or more of the compressor, the condenser and the evaporator of the packaged air conditioner; and replacing the copper tubing with the one or more flexible lines. Li, however, discloses a method in which a copper tubing connecting to one or more of the compressor, a condenser and an evaporator of the packaged air conditioner; and replacing the copper tubing with the one or more flexible lines (page 1, lines 55-58 of translation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hobbs to replace a copper tubing with the flexible line such as taught by Li, in order to replace a broken copper line.
5. Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Fay et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0204600, “Fay”).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure is a telecommunications enclosure housing heat generating electronics. Fay, however, discloses an air conditioner wherein the enclosure is a telecommunications enclosure housing heat generating electronics (¶0003). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for Hobbs, as modified, to have the enclosure be a telecommunications enclosure housing heat generating electronics in order to cool said electronics.
Regarding claim 23, the combination Hobbs, Liu, and KR200437907Y1 disclose all previous claim limitations. Hobbs, as modified, further discloses supplying closed loop cooling air to the telecommunications enclosure using the packaged air conditioner (see rejection of claim 8).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 7-8) that the cited references does not teach a “packaged air conditioner” with in particular “disposed within the ambient side oner or more insulated rubber flexible lines” as required by the independent claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; as stated in the rejection above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the insulated rubber flexible lines of Liu in the packaged air conditioner of Hobbs in order to provide greater corrosion and leakage resistance (see page 1, lines 50-60 of Liu).
Applicant argues (pages 13-14) that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to provide rubber pipes in a telecommunications system due to current regulations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; a person of ordinary skill in the art would still understand that rubber piping would work successfully and be advantageous for the cited reason above even if rubber hosing is not currently permitted.
Applicant argues (pages 8-9) that Li does not teach replacing a copper tube of a packaged heat exchanger with a flexible rubber tuber as claimed in claim 9. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; Li does teach replacing a copper tuber with a rubber tube, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find this applicable to the invention of Hobbs.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763