This action is in response to the amendment filed 4/10/2026. Claims 1, 4-7 have been amended. Claims 2, 8 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. (US 2006/0170943 A1) in view of Parry (US 2003/0030664 A1) and further in view of Nagaraja (US 2006/0132835 A1).
Claim 1. Hanson discloses an information processing device, comprising: a communication interface; a user interface; a memory; and a controller,
wherein the memory includes a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium containing first instructions realizing an image processing program having a function of requesting an image processing device to perform image processing, the system provides improved data-processing (P 0004) for configuring rendering devices, such as printers, scanners, multi-function devices, photocopy machines, and the like (P 0005) on a data-processing apparatus that includes a CPU (P 0020), and
second instructions realizing a browser having a function of displaying a web page on the user interface, a web page is built into the rendering device (P 0034),
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the information processing device to perform: receiving… a customization setting of the web page provided by an embedded web server of an image processing device, the web page allows an administrator to configure all, or a subset thereof, of the driver features for propagation to the computers connected to the image processing device where the driver will be installed (P 0034) by an administrator who browses to a default driver configuration page, selects, for example, the duplex printing option, selects separation pages for the start of the job, along with a setting that allows color management to be done by the device, enables the default driver configuration, and saves the changes made (P 0037) driver configuration is generally kept on the device itself and is accessible and modifiable by the system administrator via the device's web page (P 0042) Hanson discloses receiving through a webpage via a web server on an image processing device a customization setting and propagating the customization setting to information processing devices, Hanson does not disclose the webpage and webserver are accessed from the information processing device; this is added to Hanson by Parry and Nagaraja,
of an image processing device, the image processing device having the embedded web server functioning as a web server, the embedded web server being configured to provide the web page, the printer driver default configuration can be set up in the printer through the printer's embedded web server (P 0027);
storing the customization setting received in the receiving in the memory of the information processing device, driver features are propagated to computers connected to image processing device (P 0034).
Hanson does not disclose causes the information processing device to perform: receiving, through the user interface, a customization setting, as disclosed in the claims. In the same field of invention, Parry discloses customized or customizable control panels can be accessed, created and/or reconfigured through interaction of a workstation with the Web interfacing system of a printing device (P 0046) by sending via a browser on the workstation a retrieval command through a URL to the web server on the printing device (P 0047) and Nagaraja discloses a computing system includes an application (P 0022) where a user changes devmode settings and initiates a print job from a GUI (on the application side) (P 0024) and the user selects a printer to used for a selected print job (P 0027) to communicate to a printer (P 0020). That is, the combination of Parry and Nagaraja with Hanson provides a web browser on a workstation (Parry) to be used a GUI (Nagaraja) to access the web server of Hanson to send print settings and commands to an image processing device. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine causes the information processing device to perform: receiving, through the user interface, a customization setting with the teachings of Hanson with the motivation to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016).
Hanson does not disclose the embedded web server being configured to provide the web page including a setting item and a setting field for setting a value of the setting item, the web page being configured to receive the value of the setting item, the customization setting being a setting of customizing a display form of the web page, as disclosed in the claims. However, Parry discloses customizable control panels are initially displayed as either a blank control panel GUI or a default or template control panel that provides one or more preselected features that can be added to, or deleted from, control panel GUI (P 0049) and may be adjusted by the user by way of on/off selectors, "OK" buttons, and the like, or the pre-selected features may be accepted (P 0050) and customized for one or more specific users (P 0053) allowing authorized users to use or forgo the control panels provided by conventional print driver software, and to designate, delete, or adjust the printing features of their choice for incorporation into one or more customized and/or customizable control panels (P 0055) selected features are compiled in a "selected feature window" as "selected labeled feature buttons" for incorporation into a user-configured and usable version of a customized or customizable printer control panel (P 0061). Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the embedded web server being configured to provide the web page including a setting item and a setting field for setting a value of the setting item, the web page being configured to receive the value of the setting item, the customization setting being a setting of customizing a display form of the web page with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with the motivation to allow a user to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016).
Hanson does not disclose without the customization setting being stored in the image processing device, as disclosed in the claims. However, Nagaraja discloses print job settings are stored in a temporary file on the application side (P 0026, 0028) and the printer driver retrieves the settings in the temporary file (P 0031-0032). Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine without the customization setting being stored in the image processing device with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with the motivation to allow the device to allow a user to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016) and to be more flexible by allowing access to expanded settings and to save memory by using settings for special device settings (Nagaraja: P 0031).
Hanson does not disclose wherein, when the information processing device receives a display instruction of the web page provided by the embedded web server of the image processing device through the user interface, while the customization setting of customizing the display form of the web page received in the receiving is stored in the memory of the information processing device, the second instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform: accessing the embedded web server of the image processing device through the communication interface; receiving an original web page from the embedded web server of the image processing device, as disclosed in the claims. However, Hanson discloses an administrator can display a device’s default drive page or modify a device’s driver configuration via the device’s webpage (P 0009) out of may different types of devices (P 0016). Parry discloses customized or customizable control panels can be accessed, created and/or reconfigured through interaction of a workstation with the Web interfacing system of a printing device (P 0046) by sending via a browser on the workstation a retrieval command through a URL to the web server on the printing device (P 0047) and Nagaraja discloses a computing system includes an application (P 0022) where a user changes devmode settings and initiates a print job from a GUI (on the application side) (P 0024) and the user selects a printer to use for a selected print job (P 0027) to communicate to a printer (P 0020) print job settings are stored in a temporary file on the application side (P 0026, 0028) and the printer driver retrieves the settings in the temporary file (P 0031-0032). Because the devices webpage can be used to select the default driver configuration or to modify the driver configuration, then the driver configuration page of Hanson will be displayed differently for each option. But, Hanson does not provide the option of modifying the displayed webpage itself. Combining Parry and Nagaraja with Hanson would allow the user of Hanson to customize the webpage. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein, when the information processing device receives a display instruction of the web page provided by the embedded web server of the image processing device through the user interface, while the customization setting of customizing the display form of the web page received in the receiving is stored in the memory of the information processing device, the second instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform: accessing the embedded web server of the image processing device through the communication interface; receiving an original web page from the embedded web server of the image processing device with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with the motivation to allow a user to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016) and to allow the device to be more flexible by allowing access to expanded settings and to save memory by using settings for special device settings (Nagaraja: P 0031).
Hanson does not explicitly disclose wherein the reading out, the generating, and the displaying are performed without further accessing the embedded web server, as disclosed in the claims. However, Nagaraja discloses a computing system includes an application (P 0022) where a user changes devmode settings and initiates a print job from a GUI (on the application side) (P 0024) and the user selects a printer to used for a selected print job (P 0027) to communicate to a printer (P 0020). Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry, and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the reading out, the generating, and the displaying are performed without further accessing the embedded web server with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with the motivation to allow a user to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016).
Hanson does not disclose generating a customized web page by applying the customization setting read out from the memory of the information processing device to the original web page received from the embedded web server of the image processing device such that the display form of the original web page is customized; and displaying the customized web page on the user interface of the information processing device by executing the browser, as disclosed in the claims. However, Parry discloses customized or customizable control panels can be accessed, created and/or reconfigured through interaction of a workstation with the Web interfacing system of a printing device (P 0046) selected features are compiled in a "selected feature window" as "selected labeled feature buttons" for incorporation into a user-configured and usable version of a customized or customizable printer control pane (P 0061). Parry clearly discloses that the original printer control panel may be customized and/or reconfigured. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine generating a customized web page by applying the customization setting read out from the memory of the information processing device to the original web page received from the embedded web server of the image processing device such that the display form of the original web page is customized; and displaying the customized web page on the user interface of the information processing device by executing the browser with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with the motivation to allow a user to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016).
Hanson does not disclose wherein the reading out the customization setting from the memory of the information processing device, the generating the customized web page by applying the customization setting, and the displaying the generated customized web page are performed without further accessing the embedded web server, as disclosed in the claims. Parry discloses customized or customizable control panels can be accessed, created and/or reconfigured through interaction of a workstation with the Web interfacing system of a printing device (P 0046) by sending via a browser on the workstation a retrieval command through a URL to the web server on the printing device (P 0047) the selected functionalities and configuration may then be stored in a specified directory of the user's workstation, or an intermediary device for later use in accessing, controlling, and/or managing the peripheral device (P 0019) and Nagaraja discloses a computing system includes an application (P 0022) where a user changes devmode settings and initiates a print job from a GUI (on the application side) (P 0024) and the user selects a printer to used for a selected print job (P 0027) to communicate to a printer (P 0020). That is, the combination of Parry and Nagaraja with Hanson provides a web browser on a workstation (Parry) to be used a GUI (Nagaraja) to access the web server of Hanson to send print settings and commands to an image processing device. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the reading out the customization setting from the memory of the information processing device, the generating the customized web page by applying the customization setting, and the displaying the generated customized web page are performed without further accessing the embedded web server with the teachings of Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja with Hanson with the motivation to quickly determine the important customized information concerning computer peripherals available to their computer (Parry: P 0015) and maximum flexibility and functionality in the management of peripheral devices to greatly enhance access, control, management, and utilization of computer peripherals, including printing devices, while customizable control panel screens would allow the user or manager to organize control panel functions such that the control panel is optimized for that user or manager (Parry: P 0016).
Claim 2. Canceled.
Claim 3. Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja disclose the information processing device according to claim 1, and the combination of Hansen and Parry and Nagaraja further discloses wherein the customized web page is generated such that a destination of setting contents received as settings of the image processing device is the image processing device, the settings are applied for configuring rendering devices, such as printers, scanners, multi-function devices, photocopy machines, and the like (P 0005). Parry and Nagaraja have been combined with Hanson for accessing the webpage on the information processing device.
Claim 4. Hanson, Parry and Nagaraja disclose the information processing device according to claim 1 and the combination of Hansen and Parry and Nagaraja discloses the limitations of Claim 4. The limitations unique to Claim 4 are bolded accompanied by the citations from the references used to reject the limitations specific to Claim 4. Hanson discloses wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform:
in the storing, transmitting the customization setting received in the receiving to the image processing device (Hanson: the settings are saved, P 0037) [Since the claims have been amended with the limitation “of the image processing device”, then the “transmitting” must be to the device itself, e.g. in a save operation], in association with identification information (Hanson: an administrator configures a default driver, P 0037) [The driver is identified as being the default], and causing the image processing device to store the customization setting in association with one of the information processing device and a user using the information processing device by causing the image processing device to store the customization setting in association with the identification information;
in the displaying, accessing the embedded web server of the image processing device through the communication interface and transmitting the identification information to the embedded web server, thereby causing the embedded web server to generate the customized web page reflecting the customization setting associated with the received identification information (Hanson: the web page allows an administrator to configure all, or a subset thereof, the driver features, P 0034) and transmit the generated customized web page to the information processing device (Hanson: the settings are saved, P 0037); and
in the displaying, receiving the customized web page reflecting the customization setting associated with the identification information (Hanson: an administrator configures a default driver, P 0037) from the embedded web server, and displaying the received customized web page on the user interface (Hanson: the driver configuration is generally kept on the device itself and is accessible and modifiable by the system administrator via the device's web page or local UI, P 0009). Parry and Nagaraja have been combined with Hanson for accessing the webpage on the information processing device.
Claim(s) 7, 9 is/are directed to non-transitory computer-readable medium claim(s) similar to the information processing device claim(s) of Claim(s) 1, 4 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 8. Canceled.
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. (US 2006/0170943 A1) in view of Parry (US 2003/0030664 A1) and Nagaraja (US 2006/0132835 A1) and further in view of Torgemane et al. (US 2015/0264423 A1).
Claim 5. Hanson, Parry, and Nagaraja disclose the information processing device according to claim 1, but Hanson does not disclose wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform:
receiving selection, regarding the customization setting, one of a first method and a second method through the user interface,
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform: after the receiving of the selection, determining which of the first method and the second method is selected in the receiving of the selection;
when it is determined that the first method is selected, performing the storing; and
when it is determined that the second method is selected, not performing the storing but transmitting the customization setting received in the receiving of the selection to the image processing device through the communication interface, the image processing device changing the original web page provided by the embedded web server to the customized web page reflecting the received customization setting, and
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform: when the computer receives the display instruction through the user interface, determining which of the first method and the second method is selected in the receiving of the selection;
when it is determined that the first method is selected, performing the displaying; and
when it is determined that the second method is selected, not performing the displaying but accessing the embedded web server of the image processing device through the communication interface, receiving the customized web page from the embedded web server, and displaying the received customized web page on the user interface by executing the browser.
However, Hanson discloses as rejected in Claim 1:
receiving selection, regarding the customization setting, one of a first method … through the user interface, wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: after the receiving of the selection, … ; when it is determined that the first method is selected, performing the storing, Jensen discloses the web page allows an administrator to configure all, or a subset thereof, the driver features (P 0034) by an administrator who browses to a default driver configuration page, selects, for example, the duplex printing option, selects separation pages for the start of the job, along with a setting that allows color management to be done by the device, enables the default driver configuration, and saves the changes made (P 0037) driver configuration is generally kept on the device itself and is accessible and modifiable by the system administrator via the device's web page (P 0042); and
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: when the computer receives the display instruction through the user interface, … when … the first method is selected, performing the displaying, Jensen discloses the driver configuration is generally kept on the device itself and is accessible and modifiable by the system administrator via the device's web page or local UI (P 0009). Parry and Nagaraja have been combined with Hanson for accessing the webpage on the information processing device.
Parry and Nagaraja have been combined with Hanson for accessing the webpage on the information processing device does not disclose the limitations of the claim determine whether one of two methods is selected. The first method stores and displays the customized user interface, whereas the second method does not store and display the customized user interface. In the same field of invention, Torgemane discloses storing multiple sets of valid style rules and transmitting the multiple sets of style rules to a plurality of UE devices of a plurality of users (P 0008) the augmented style code comprises parameterized CSS files that can be used in deferred evaluable transformation system for high-performance, dynamic, run-time, parameterized finalization (P 0065) a set of valid style rules are transmitted to a user equipment (UE) device causing a customized user interface to be presented, wherein the set of valid style rules are part of a CSS file, which is rendered by a browser application executing on the UE device (P 0081) alternatively, augmented style rules are transformed into style generation code that is not valid according to a style standard (e.g., CSS) of the style syntax, and is transmitted to a UE device, and is executed by a set of one or more invocations using a set of one or more input variables corresponding to the set of variables, and generates a set of one or more valid style rules according to the style standard (P 0085). Torgemane discloses either transmitting a stored set of style rules (a cascading style sheet), analogous to the claimed transmitting and displaying customization settings, to a user device to generate a customized user interface, or transmitting style code, which is not in a valid CSS format, analogous to not transmitting and displaying customization settings, to a user device, and then the code is executed by a set of one or more invocations using a set of one or more input variables corresponding to the set of variables, that generates a set of one or more valid style rules (CSS) according to the style standard in order to perform deferred evaluation for high-performance, dynamic, run-time, parameterized finalization of the CSS. That is, in Torgemane, customization settings are transmitted in the CSS. However, in an alternative embodiment, the customization settings are not transmitted, but a set of code is transmitted and it is the device that determines the customizations in a deferred evaluation of the user interface construction with the CSS. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry, Nagaraja, and Torgemane, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform:
receiving selection, regarding the customization setting, one of a first method and a second method through the user interface,
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: after the receiving of the selection, determining which of the first method and the second method is selected in the receiving of the selection;
when it is determined that the first method is selected, performing the storing; and
when it is determined that the second method is selected, not performing the storing but transmitting the customization setting received in the receiving of the selection to the image processing device through the communication interface, the image processing device changing the original web page provided by the embedded web server to the customized web page reflecting the received customization setting, and
wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: when the computer receives the display instruction through the user interface, determining which of the first method and the second method is selected in the receiving of the selection;
when it is determined that the first method is selected, performing the displaying; and
when it is determined that the second method is selected, not performing the displaying but accessing the embedded web server of the image processing device through the communication interface, receiving the customized web page from the embedded web server, and displaying the received customized web page on the user interface by executing the browser,
with the teachings of Hanson, Parry, and Nagaraja with the motivation to generate and maintain per-user (or per-device) style customization of web application, at a significantly smaller footprint such that it could be suitable for highly customized CSS that can be generated on-demand by web servers or by web browsers (Torgemane: P 0007).
Claim 6. Hanson, Parry, and Nagaraja disclose the information processing device according to claim 1, but Hanson does not disclose wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform: in the storing, storing a cascading style sheet indicating the customization setting received in the receiving of the customization setting, the customized web page being generated by incorporating the stored cascading style sheet into the original web page, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Torgemane discloses storing multiple sets of valid style rules and transmitting the multiple sets of style rules to a plurality of UE devices of a plurality of users (P 0008) a set of valid style rules are transmitted to a user equipment (UE) device causing a customized user interface to be presented, wherein the set of valid style rules are part of a CSS file, which is rendered by a browser application executing on the UE device (P 0081) alternatively, augmented style rules are transformed into style generation code that is not valid according to a style standard (e.g., CSS) of the style syntax, and is transmitted to a UE device, and is executed by a set of one or more invocations using a set of one or more input variables corresponding to the set of variables, and generates a set of one or more valid style rules according to the style standard (P 0085). Torgemane discloses either transmitting a stored set of style rules (a cascading style sheet), analogous to the claimed transmitting and displaying customization settings, to a user device to generate a customized user interface, or transmitting style code, which is not in a valid CSS format, analogous to not transmitting and displaying customization settings, to a user device, and then the code is executed by a set of one or more invocations using a set of one or more input variables corresponding to the set of variables, that generates a set of one or more valid style rules (CSS) according to the style standard. That is, in Torgemane, customization settings are transmitted in the CSS. However, in an alternative embodiment, the customization settings are not transmitted, but a set of code is transmitted and it is the device that determines the customization. Therefore, considering the teachings of Hanson, Parry, Nagaraja, and Torgemane, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first instructions, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to further perform: in the storing, storing a cascading style sheet indicating the customization setting received in the receiving of the customization setting, the customized web page being generated by incorporating the stored cascading style sheet into the original web page with the teachings of Hanson, Parry, and Nagaraja with the motivation to generate and maintain per-user (or per-device) style customization of web application, at a significantly smaller footprint such that it could be suitable for highly customized CSS that can be generated on-demand by web servers or by web browsers (Torgemane: P 0007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
[Parry discloses] the customization process itself for the printer control panel 100 is performed while accessing the EWS.
[W]ith respect to the feature added previously, namely, "when the information processing device receives a display instruction of the web page provided by the embedded web server of the image processing device through the user interface while the customization setting in the receiving is stored in the memory of the information processing device," the Examiner states that this feature is disclosed in Parry and Nagaraja. … There is no teaching or suggestion in Parry that the EWS is accessed while the customization setting for customizing the display form is already stored in the memory of the workstation. … Hanson combined with Parry and Nagaraja would not have taught or suggested "when the information processing device receives a display instruction of the web page provided by the embedded web server of the image processing device through the user interface while the customization setting in the receiving is stored in the memory of the information processing device" as recited in claims 1 and 7.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in the rejection, Parry discloses customized or customizable control panels can be accessed, created and/or reconfigured through interaction of a workstation with the Web interfacing system of a printing device (P 0046) by sending via a browser on the workstation a retrieval command through a URL to the web server on the printing device (P 0047). That is, while the customizable control panels may be retrieved from the web server, the customization occurs after the control panels are transferred to the workstation, not while accessing the EWS.
The applicant argues:
[T]he processes disclosed in Parry are processes of accessing the EWS, displaying the customizable control panel (paragraph [0046]) and customizing the control panel (paragraph [0061]). These processes are performed while accessing the EWS, and, these paragraphs do not disclose or suggest the feature that "generating a customized web page by applying the customization setting read out from the memory of the information processing device to the original web page received from the embedded web server of the image processing device .... " defined in claims 1 and 7.
As noted above, in Parry, while the customizable control panels may be retrieved from the web server, the customization occurs after the control panels are transferred to the workstation, not while accessing the EWS. Furthermore, Hanson discloses that the driver file is downloaded to computers connected via a network to the rendering device. Hanson also discloses that the rendering device driver is accessed through a webpage. But, it is not clear if a user of one of the computers views the webpage of the rendering device and views the driver. Parry and Nagaraja have been combined with Parry for the limitations directed to viewing a devices webpage from a different connected device.
The applicant argues:
paragraph [0048] of Parry describes accessing a printing device from a workstation to create and customize a control panel, and this process differs from the process of reading out the customization setting from the memory of the information processing device and customizing the web page obtained from the EWS.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since Hanson discloses the driver file is downloaded from the rendering device to a computer, combining Parry with Hanson would disclose process of reading out the customization setting from the memory of the information processing device and customizing the web page obtained from the EWS.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 6/9/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145