DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment dated 5/5/2026. Claims 1, 11, 16 and 21 are currently amended. Claims 10 and 14 have been cancelled. No claims are newly added. Presently, claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejections of claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention in the Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 112 section on pages 11-12 of the response dated 5/5/2026.
Applicant asked for clarification regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as provided in the Office action dated 2/5/20226. Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim language “wherein a pair of opposed recesses are defined in the external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface, to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing” is considered to be indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention since it is unclear as to if the protrusions are considered to be part of the external sleeve surface and, if the protrusions are considered to be part of the external sleeve surface, how can the protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface” when the protrusions define the external sleeve surface.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims resolve this concern by adding functional language clarifying that “the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel enables a static seal between the external sleeve surface and the [housing surface] to be substantially independent of a dynamic seal between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface”.
However, it is unclear as to how the newly added limitation addresses the concerns relating to how can the pair of opposed protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface” if the pair of opposed protrusions are part of the external sleeve surface.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the recesses are depressions formed in the nominal external sleeve surface, and the protrusions extend radially outward from the within those recesses, beyond the nominal cylindrical profile) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejections of claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of Sandling (US 4410003) and Duffey (US 3498317) in the Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103 section on pages 13-14 of the response dated 5/5/2026.
Applicant argues that the Duffey reference does not disclose or suggest the newly added limitation relating to “the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel enables a static seal between the external sleeve surface and the central internal housing surface to be substantially independent of a dynamic seal between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface”.
However, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches a sleeve (15) that includes a pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a as depicted in figure 6 define a first one of the pair of opposed recesses and that the corresponding pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a on the mirrored side of the sleeve 15 defines the second one of the pair of opposed recesses) that are defined in an external surface of the sleeve between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (17a, 18a), and a pair of opposed protrusions (105a; only the first of the pair of opposed apertures within the first one of the pair of opposed recesses is depicted in figure 6) that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface (the portion 105a is of a greater cross-section between the apertures 17a, 18a forming a low pressure seal; col. 6, lines 62-65).
Therefore, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches a static seal between the protrusion (105a) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 that faces the protrusion 105a) of the housing (12) and a static seal between the external sleeve surface (considered the external surfaces of the sleeve 15 that are received at the portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 at portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) (see also col. 6, lines 48-68). Further, it is considered that the static seal is provided even when the plug (20) is not installed (as depicted in figure 6). Therefore, it is considered that the static seal of the Duffey reference would function independently from the dynamic seal between the plug (200) and the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve (15) and the external plug surface of the plug (20).
Since modified grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment, the instant Office action is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 6/9/2026 and 6/9/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-23 contain the following informalities:
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the static seal” in line 19 and the limitation “the dynamic seal” in line 19.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation “a static seal” in line 20 and “a dynamic seal” in line 24.
It appears that either:
the recitation of “the static seal” in line 19 should be “a static seal” and that the recitation of “a static seal” in line 20 should be “the static seal” and that the recitation of “the dynamic seal” in line 19 should be “a dynamic seal” and that the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in line 24 should be “the dynamic seal”, or
the recitation of “wherein the spacing apart of the inner portion from the outer portion by the at least one channel enables the static seal to be substantially independent of the dynamic seal” of lines 18-19 should be located after the recitations of both “a static seal” and “a dynamic seal”.
The correction is to provide appropriate antecedent basis for the recitations of “the static seal” and “the dynamic seal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface” in lines 23-25. Claim 1 also recites “a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface” in line 22. Are the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? Are the pair of opposed protrusions that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? And, if the pair of opposed protrusions are part of the external sleeve surface, how can the pair of opposed protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface”? Clarification and appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1, and, therefore, claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph in the same manner as claim 1 above.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface” in lines 24-26. Claim 11 also recites “a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface” in line 23. Are the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? Are the pair of opposed protrusions that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? And, if the pair of opposed protrusions are part of the external sleeve surface, how can the pair of opposed protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface”? Clarification and appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 12, 13 and 15 depend from claim 11, and, therefore, claims 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph in the same manner as claim 11 above.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a static seal” in line 2. Claim 12 depends from claim 11. Claim 11 recites the limitation “a static seal” in line 28. Does the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 12 refer to the same limitation as the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 11? Does the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 12 refer to a different limitation as the recitation of claim 11? It appears that the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 12 refers to the same limitation as the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 11 and that the recitation of “a static seal” in claim 12 should be “the static seal”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a dynamic seal” in line 2. Claim 13 depends from claim 11. Claim 11 recites the limitation “a dynamic seal” in line 29. Does the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 13 refer to the same limitation as the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 11? Does the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 13 refer to a different limitation as the recitation of claim 11? It appears that the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 13 refers to the same limitation as the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 11 and that the recitation of “a dynamic seal” in claim 13 should be “the static seal”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface” in lines 19-21. Claim 16 also recites “a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface” in line 18. Are the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? Are the pair of opposed protrusions that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? And, if the pair of opposed protrusions are part of the external sleeve surface, how can the pair of opposed protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface”? Clarification and appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 17-20 depend from claim 16, and, therefore, claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph in the same manner as claim 16 above.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface” in lines 15-175. Claim 21 also recites “a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface” in line 14. Are the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? Are the pair of opposed protrusions that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses part of the external sleeve surface? And, if the pair of opposed protrusions are part of the external sleeve surface, how can the pair of opposed protrusions extend “beyond the external sleeve surface”? Clarification and appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 22-23 depend from claim 21, and, therefore, claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph in the same manner as claim 21 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of Sandling (US 4410003) and further in view of Duffey (US 3498317).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13 and 15-23 will be treated as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
Regarding claim 1, the Sinkler reference discloses a valve (see figure 2) comprising:
a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a plug (20) extending along a central axis (it is considered that the central axis extends along a vertical axis that extends along from the central portion of the stem 46, 38 and to the base of the plug 20 in the orientation depicted in figure 2) and including a plug body having an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug 20 that contacts the sleeve 18 as depicted in figure 2), wherein the external plug surface tapers radially outwardly (see figure 2; see also col. 2, lines 39-40) in a first direction (considered the downward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2) along the central axis; and
a sleeve (18) having an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve 20 contacts the external plug surface as depicted in figure 2) defining an interior cavity (the plug 20 is received within the interior cavity as depicted in figure 2), wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly in the first direction (see figure 2),
wherein the plug body is positioned within the interior cavity of the sleeve (see figure 2), wherein the plug is rotatable about the central axis relative to the sleeve (see at least col. 2, lines 50-55), wherein the plug is translatable along the central axis relative to the sleeve (it is considered that the plug 4 is translatable relative to the sleeve 3 during installation and by the tightening of the nut 10 as discussed in col. 3, lines 55-64),
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing (see figure 2) and fixed against movement relative thereto (col. 2, lines 44-48) and wherein the sleeve has a cylindrical shape (the shape of the sleeve 18 defines a cylindrical shape within the cylindrical internal chamber 32; see figure 2); and
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the plug 20 constitutes the inner sleeve portion) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve that interacts with the housing 16 constitutes the outer sleeve portion).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the sleeve is injection molded onto a cartridge having a cylindrical shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about the peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having a cartridge (metal cage 38) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (10) and a sleeve (90) being injection molded (see at least col. 2, lines 18-22) on the cartridge wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the plug 18 constitutes the inner sleeve surface) having an inner sleeve portion (see the “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the housing 10 constitutes the outer sleeve surface) having an outer sleeve portion (see the “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) wherein the inner sleeve portion is at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 below; it is considered that the cartridge 38 is received within the channel) having an opening in the top of the sleeve (it is considered that the channel in the sleeve 90 has an opening in the top of the sleeve wherein the cartridge 38 is received within the opening),
wherein the sleeve (90) includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve 90 that surround the flanges 42 of the cartridge 38 constitute opposed sleeve apertures; see the “sleeve aperture” in the annotated figure 5 below), and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge (it is considered that the cartridge 38 defines a support frame) is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots (it is considered that the sleeve is received within the opening 43 which is considered to form a curved slot; see col. 4, lines 54-56) disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the curved slots of the support frame 38 are disposed between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and, therefore, it is considered that the curved slots are located about the peripheries of the opposed sleeve apertures), wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots (it is considered that the portion of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 43 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions that occupy the one or more curved slots),
wherein the cartridge contains the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material and wherein the cartridge assists in ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the sleeve of the Sinkler reference as being injection molded on a cartridge as taught by the Sandling reference wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer sleeve portion by at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots, in order to provide a substantially rigid reinforcing means to the sleeve which serves the purpose of preventing cold flow of the sleeve adjoining the ports of the housing, and ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Further, it is considered that the cartridge would have a cylindrical shape since the Sandling reference teaches providing a cartridge (Sandling: metal cage 38) having a corresponding shape as the sleeve (Sandling: see figures 1-5) wherein the sleeve (Sinkler: 18) of the Sinkler reference has a cylindrical shape (Sinkler: see figure 2).
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose or suggest wherein a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface.
However, the Duffey reference teaches a valve assembly having a sleeve (15) that is located between a plug (20) and a housing (12) wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed apertures (17a, 18a) and wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a as depicted in figure 6 define a first one of the pair of opposed recesses and that the corresponding pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a on the mirrored side of the sleeve 15 defines the second one of the pair of opposed recesses) that are defined in an external surface of the sleeve between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (17a, 18a), and a pair of opposed protrusions (105a; only the first of the pair of opposed apertures within the first one of the pair of opposed recesses is depicted in figure 6) that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface (the portion 105a is of a greater cross-section between the apertures 17a, 18a forming a low pressure seal; col. 6, lines 62-65) wherein a static seal is provided between the protrusion (105a) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 that faces the protrusion 105a) of the housing (12) and a static seal between the external sleeve surface (considered the external surfaces of the sleeve 15 that are received at the portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 at portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) (see also col. 6, lines 48-68) and;
wherein the pair of opposed recesses and the respective pair of opposed protrusions provide a desired flexibility to the sleeve (col. 4, lines 21-25) and to provide fluid-tight sealing over all essential areas (col. 5, lines 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference with a pair of opposed recesses between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface, that frictionally engage the surface of the housing as a static seal as taught by the Duffey reference in order to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing with a fluid-tight sealing of the sleeve.
Further, it is considered that the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel (Sandling: “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above) enables the static seal between the external sleeve surface and the central internal housing surface to be substantially independent of the dynamic seal (considered the seal between the sleeve and the plug) between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface (Sinkler: 20; Sandling: 18; Duffey: 20).
Additionally, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches that the static seal is provided even when the plug (Duffey: 20) is not installed (Duffey: as depicted in figure 6). Therefore, it is considered that the static seal of the Duffey reference would function independently from the dynamic seal between the plug (Duffey: 20) and the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve (Duffey: 15) and the external plug surface of the plug (Duffey: 20).
In regards to claim 2, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference and the Sandling reference discloses wherein the plug further includes an input shaft (Sinkler: 38) extending from the plug in a second direction (Sinkler: considered the upward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2) along the central axis.
In regards to claim 3, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the plug is configured to rotate about the central axis relative to the sleeve in response to application of an input torque to the input shaft (Sinkler: see at least col. 2, lines 50-55).
In regards to claim 4, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the valve assembly further comprises a nut (Sinkler: 36) having a fixed position along the central axis relative to the sleeve, wherein the nut threadably engages the input shaft (Sinkler: see at least col. 3, lines 2-6), wherein the plug is configured to translate along the central axis relative to the sleeve in response to rotation of the nut relative to the input shaft (Sinkler: see at least col. 3, lines 2-9).
In regards to claim 5, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference wherein the external plug surface is configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface when the plug is at a first position (Sinkler: considered the position depicted in figure 2) along the central axis relative to the sleeve, wherein the external plug surface is configured to disengage the internal sleeve surface when the plug is at a second position along the central axis relative to the sleeve (Sinkler: it is considered that external plug surface would be spaced and disengage from the internal sleeve surface when the plug 20 is moved downward and out of the housing 16 during disassembly and, therefore, the plug would be at a second position).
In regards to claim 6, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the external plug surface tapers radially outwardly in the first direction along the central axis at a first angle (Sinkler: see figure 2), wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly in the first direction at the first angle (Sinkler: see figure 2).
In regards to claim 7, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the plug (Sinkler: 20) includes a plug flow passage (Sinkler: 22) extending through the plug body.
In regards to claim 8, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the plug flow passage is configured to selectively align with the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (Sinkler: see figure 2 for the pair of opposed sleeve apertures 28, 30 being in alignment with the plug flow passage 22).
In regards to claim 9, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the plug flow passage (Sinkler: 22) is transverse to the central axis (Sinkler: see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, the Sinkler reference discloses a valve (see figure 2) comprising:
a housing (16) including an internal housing surface defining a cylindrical internal chamber (32) extending along a central axis (it is considered that the central axis extends along a vertical axis that extends along from the central portion of the stem 46, 38 and to the base of the plug 20 in the orientation depicted in figure 2); and
a valve assembly including:
a plug (20) extending along the central axis and including a plug body having an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug 20 that contacts the sleeve 18 as depicted in figure 2), and
a sleeve (18) positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing and fixed against movement relative thereto (see col. 2, lines 44-48) and wherein the sleeve has a cylindrical shape (the shape of the sleeve 18 defines a cylindrical shape within the cylindrical internal chamber 32; see figure 2), the sleeve having:
an outer sleeve portion (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve that interacts with the housing 16 constitutes the outer sleeve portion) including an external sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the housing 16 constitutes the external sleeve surface) configured to sealingly engage the internal housing surface of the housing (see figure 2), and
an inner sleeve portion (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the plug 20 constitutes the inner sleeve portion) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion (it is considered that the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are spaced from each other by at least the thickness of the sleeve 16) and including an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the plug 20 constitutes the internal sleeve surface) defining an interior cavity for rotatably receiving the plug body (the plug 20 is received within the interior cavity of the sleeve 18 as depicted in figure 2), wherein the internal sleeve surface is configured to sealingly engage the external plug surface of the plug body (see at least figure 2).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the sleeve is injection molded onto a cartridge having a cylindrical shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes the inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having a cartridge (metal cage 38) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (10) and a sleeve (90) being injection molded (see at least col. 2, lines 18-22) on the cartridge wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the plug 18 constitutes the inner sleeve surface) having an inner sleeve portion (see the “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the housing 10 constitutes the outer sleeve surface) having an outer sleeve portion (see the “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) wherein the inner sleeve portion is at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above; it is considered that the cartridge 38 is received within the channel) having an opening in the top of the sleeve (it is considered that the channel in the sleeve 90 has an opening in the top of the sleeve wherein the cartridge 38 is received within the opening),
wherein the sleeve (90) includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve 90 that surround the flanges 42 of the cartridge 38 constitute opposed sleeve apertures; see the “sleeve aperture” in the annotated figure 5 above), and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge (it is considered that the cartridge 38 defines a support frame) is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots (it is considered that the sleeve is received within the opening 43 which is considered to form a curved slot) disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the curved slots of the support frame 38 are disposed between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and, therefore, it is considered that the curved slots are located about the peripheries of the opposed sleeve apertures), wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots (it is considered that the portion of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 43 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions that occupy the one or more curved slots),
wherein the cartridge contains the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material and wherein the cartridge assists in ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the sleeve of the Sinkler reference as being injection molded on a cartridge as taught by the Sandling reference wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer sleeve portion by at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots, in order to provide a substantially rigid reinforcing means to the sleeve which serves the purpose of preventing cold flow of the sleeve adjoining the ports of the housing, and ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Further, it is considered that the cartridge would have a cylindrical shape since the Sandling reference teaches providing a cartridge (Sandling: metal cage 38) having a corresponding shape as the sleeve (Sandling: see figures 1-5) wherein the sleeve (Sinkler: 18) of the Sinkler reference has a cylindrical shape (Sinkler: see figure 2).
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose or suggest wherein a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface.
However, the Duffey reference teaches a valve assembly having a sleeve (15) that is located between a plug (20) and a housing (12) wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed apertures (17a, 18a) and wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a as depicted in figure 6 define a first one of the pair of opposed recesses and that the corresponding pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a on the mirrored side of the sleeve 15 defines the second one of the pair of opposed recesses) that are defined in an external surface of the sleeve between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (17a, 18a), and a pair of opposed protrusions (105a; only the first of the pair of opposed apertures within the first one of the pair of opposed recesses is depicted in figure 6) that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface (the portion 105a is of a greater cross-section between the apertures 17a, 18a forming a low pressure seal; col. 6, lines 62-65) wherein a static seal is provided between the protrusion (105a) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 that faces the protrusion 105a) of the housing (12) and a static seal between the external sleeve surface (considered the external surfaces of the sleeve 15 that are received at the portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 at portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) (see also col. 6, lines 48-68) and;
wherein the pair of opposed recesses and the respective pair of opposed protrusions provide a desired flexibility to the sleeve (col. 4, lines 21-25) and to provide fluid-tight sealing over all essential areas (col. 5, lines 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference with a pair of opposed recesses between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface, that frictionally engage the surface of the housing as a static seal as taught by the Duffey reference in order to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing with a fluid-tight sealing of the sleeve.
Further, it is considered that the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel (Sandling: “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above) enables the static seal between the external sleeve surface and the central internal housing surface to be substantially independent of the dynamic seal (considered the seal between the sleeve and the plug) between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface (Sinkler: 20; Sandling: 18; Duffey: 20).
Additionally, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches that the static seal is provided even when the plug (Duffey: 20) is not installed (Duffey: as depicted in figure 6). Therefore, it is considered that the static seal of the Duffey reference would function independently from the dynamic seal between the plug (Duffey: 20) and the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve (Duffey: 15) and the external plug surface of the plug (Duffey: 20).
In regards to claim 12, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the external sleeve surface and the internal housing surface are configured to collectively define a static seal (Sinkler: it is considered that the sleeve 18 forms a static seal with the housing 16 since the sleeve 18 is fixed relative to the housing 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48).
In regards to claim 13, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface are configured to collectively define a dynamic seal (Sinkler: it is considered that the plug 20 is able to rotate relative to the sleeve 18; see at least col. 2, lines 50-55; wherein the rotation of the plug 20 relative to the sleeve 18 would provide a dynamic seal).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the inner sleeve portion is coupled to the outer sleeve portion by at least one of the connecting portions (Sandling: it is considered that the portion of the sleeve that surrounds the metal cage 38 and is received through the opening 43 would connect the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion and would constitute the at least one connecting portion).
Regarding claim 16, the Sinkler reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making and/or using a valve including:
providing a valve (see figure 2), wherein the valve includes:
a housing (1) having a cylindrical internal chamber (32) defining a central axis (it is considered that the central axis extends along a vertical axis that extends along from the central portion of the stem 46, 38 and to the base of the plug 20 in the orientation depicted in figure 2),
a sleeve (18) positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing and fixed against movement relative thereto (see at least col. 2, lines 50-55), the sleeve including an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve 20 contacts the external plug surface as depicted in figure 2) defining an interior cavity (it is considered that the plug 20 is received within the interior cavity; see figure 2) and wherein the sleeve has a cylindrical shape (the shape of the sleeve 18 defines a cylindrical shape within the cylindrical internal chamber 32; see figure 2); and
a plug (20) extending along the central axis and including a plug body (the passage 22 extends through the plug body), the plug body being positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 2) and having an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug 20), wherein the plug is initially at a first location (it is considered that the plug 20 is spaced from the sleeve 18 at least during installation) along the central axis relative to the sleeve such that the external plug surface is spaced apart from the internal sleeve surface,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the plug 20 constitutes the inner sleeve portion) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve that interacts with the housing 16 constitutes the outer sleeve portion); and
translating the plug along the central axis from the first location to a second location relative to the sleeve (it is considered that the plug 20 is translated relative to the sleeve 18 during installation and by the tightening of the nut 36 as discussed in col. 3, lines 2-9).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the act of providing the valve includes: wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer sleeve portion by at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of a cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots; and
wherein the act of providing the valve includes injection molding the sleeve onto the cartridge having a cylindrical shape corresponding to the sleeve.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having a cartridge (metal cage 38) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (10) and a sleeve (90) being injection molded (see at least col. 2, lines 18-22) on the cartridge wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the plug 18 constitutes the inner sleeve surface) having an inner sleeve portion (see the “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the housing 10 constitutes the outer sleeve surface) having an outer sleeve portion (see the “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) wherein the inner sleeve portion is at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above; it is considered that the cartridge 38 is received within the channel) having an opening in the top of the sleeve (it is considered that the channel in the sleeve 90 has an opening in the top of the sleeve wherein the cartridge 38 is received within the opening),
wherein the sleeve (90) includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve 90 that surround the flanges 42 of the cartridge 38 constitute opposed sleeve apertures; see the “sleeve aperture” in the annotated figure 5 above), and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge (it is considered that the cartridge 38 defines a support frame) is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots (it is considered that the sleeve is received within the opening 43 which is considered to form a curved slot) disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the curved slots of the support frame 38 are disposed between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and, therefore, it is considered that the curved slots are located about the peripheries of the opposed sleeve apertures), wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots (it is considered that the portion of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 43 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions that occupy the one or more curved slots),
wherein the cartridge contains the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material and wherein the cartridge assists in ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of injection molding the sleeve of the Sinkler reference onto a cartridge as taught by the Sandling reference wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer sleeve portion by at least one channel having an opening in a top of the sleeve, wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots in order to provide a substantially rigid reinforcing means to the sleeve which serves the purpose of preventing cold flow of the sleeve adjoining the ports of the housing, and ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Further, it is considered that the cartridge would have a cylindrical shape since the Sandling reference teaches providing a cartridge (Sandling: metal cage 38) having a corresponding shape as the sleeve (Sandling: see figures 1-5) wherein the sleeve (Sinkler: 18) of the Sinkler reference has a cylindrical shape (Sinkler: see figure 2).
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose or suggest wherein a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface.
However, the Duffey reference teaches a valve assembly having a sleeve (15) that is located between a plug (20) and a housing (12) wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed apertures (17a, 18a) and wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a as depicted in figure 6 define a first one of the pair of opposed recesses and that the corresponding pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a on the mirrored side of the sleeve 15 defines the second one of the pair of opposed recesses) that are defined in an external surface of the sleeve between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (17a, 18a), and a pair of opposed protrusions (105a; only the first of the pair of opposed apertures within the first one of the pair of opposed recesses is depicted in figure 6) that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface (the portion 105a is of a greater cross-section between the apertures 17a, 18a forming a low pressure seal; col. 6, lines 62-65) wherein a static seal is provided between the protrusion (105a) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 that faces the protrusion 105a) of the housing (12) and a static seal between the external sleeve surface (considered the external surfaces of the sleeve 15 that are received at the portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 at portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) (see also col. 6, lines 48-68) and;
wherein the pair of opposed recesses and the respective pair of opposed protrusions provide a desired flexibility to the sleeve (col. 4, lines 21-25) and to provide fluid-tight sealing over all essential areas (col. 5, lines 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference with a pair of opposed recesses between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface, that frictionally engage the surface of the housing as a static seal as taught by the Duffey reference in order to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing with a fluid-tight sealing of the sleeve.
Further, it is considered that the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel (Sandling: “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above) enables the static seal between the external sleeve surface and the central internal housing surface to be substantially independent of the dynamic seal (considered the seal between the sleeve and the plug) between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface (Sinkler: 20; Sandling: 18; Duffey: 20).
Additionally, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches that the static seal is provided even when the plug (Duffey: 20) is not installed (Duffey: as depicted in figure 6). Therefore, it is considered that the static seal of the Duffey reference would function independently from the dynamic seal between the plug (Duffey: 20) and the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve (Duffey: 15) and the external plug surface of the plug (Duffey: 20).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the act of translating the plug includes sealingly engaging the external plug surface with the internal sleeve surface (Sinkler: the external surface of the plug 20 contacts the internal surface of the sleeve 18 to provide a seal).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the act of providing the valve includes inserting the sleeve (Sinkler: 18) into the internal chamber of the housing (Sinkler: 16) in a first direction (Sinkler: considered the upward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2) along the central axis, wherein the act of translating the plug (Sinkler: 20) includes translating the plug along the central axis in a second direction (Sinkler: considered the downward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2).
In regards to claim 19, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the second direction (Sinkler: considered the downward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2) is opposite from the first direction (Sinkler: considered the upward direction in the orientation depicted in figure 2).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the act of inserting the sleeve includes applying a compressive force to the external sleeve surface of the sleeve (Sinkler: the nut 36 provides a compressive force to the sleeve; see at least col. 3, lines 2-9).
Regarding claim 21, the Sinkler reference discloses a valve (see figure 2) comprising:
a first static member (housing 16) having a cylindrical internal chamber (32);
a second static member (sleeve 18) secured against movement relative to the first static member (see at least col. 2, lines 50-55) wherein the second static member has a cylindrical shape (the shape of the sleeve 18 defines a cylindrical shape within the cylindrical internal chamber 32; see figure 2) and wherein the second static member includes an inner surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 18 that interacts with the plug 20 constitutes the inner sleeve portion) and an outer surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve that interacts with the housing 16 constitutes the outer sleeve portion);
a static seal between the first and second static members (it is considered that the compression of the sleeve 18 to the housing 16 creates a static seal) within the cylindrical internal chamber (32);
a dynamic member (plug 20) movable relative to the first and second static members between an open state and a closed state (see at least col. 2, lines 50-55); and
a dynamic seal between the dynamic member (plug 20) and at least one of the first or second static members (it is considered that the plug 20 is able to rotate relative to the sleeve 18; see at least col. 2, lines 50-55; wherein the rotation of the plug 20 relative to the sleeve 18 would provide a dynamic seal).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the second static member is injection molded onto a cartridge having a cylindrical shape corresponding to the second static member,
wherein the second static member includes the inner portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer portion by the at least one channel having an opening in a top of the second static member,
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, wherein connecting portions of the inner and outer portions occupy the one or more curved slots.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having a cartridge (metal cage 38) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (10) and a sleeve (90) being injection molded (see at least col. 2, lines 18-22) on the cartridge wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve,
wherein the sleeve includes an inner sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially inward surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the plug 18 constitutes the inner sleeve surface) having an inner sleeve portion (see the “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) and an outer sleeve surface (it is considered that the radially outer surface of the sleeve 90 that interacts with the housing 10 constitutes the outer sleeve surface) having an outer sleeve portion (see the “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) wherein the inner sleeve portion is at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above; it is considered that the cartridge 38 is received within the channel) having an opening in the top of the sleeve (it is considered that the channel in the sleeve 90 has an opening in the top of the sleeve wherein the cartridge 38 is received within the opening),
wherein the sleeve (90) includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve 90 that surround the flanges 42 of the cartridge 38 constitute opposed sleeve apertures; see the “sleeve aperture” in the annotated figure 5 above), and
wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge (it is considered that the cartridge 38 defines a support frame) is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots (it is considered that the sleeve is received within the opening 43 which is considered to form a curved slot) disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the curved slots of the support frame 38 are disposed between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and, therefore, it is considered that the curved slots are located about the peripheries of the opposed sleeve apertures), wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots (it is considered that the portion of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 43 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions that occupy the one or more curved slots),
wherein the cartridge contains the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material and wherein the cartridge assists in ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the second static member of the Sinkler reference as being injection molded on a cartridge as taught by the Sandling reference wherein the cartridge has a shape corresponding to the sleeve, wherein the second static member includes an inner portion at least partially spaced apart from an outer portion by at least one channel having an opening in a top of the second static member, wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and wherein a respective portion of a support frame of the cartridge is secured within the at least one channel via one or more curved slots disposed about peripheries of the pair of opposed sleeve apertures wherein connecting portions of the outer and inner sleeve portions occupy the one or more curved slots in order to provide a substantially rigid reinforcing means to the sleeve which serves the purpose of preventing cold flow of the second static member adjoining the ports of the housing, and ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the second static member in use of the valve assembly.
Further, it is considered that the cartridge would have a cylindrical shape since the Sandling reference teaches providing a cartridge (Sandling: metal cage 38) having a corresponding shape as the second static member (Sandling: see figures 1-5) wherein the second static member (Sinkler: 18) of the Sinkler reference has a cylindrical shape (Sinkler: see figure 2).
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose or suggest wherein a pair of opposed recesses are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface.
However, the Duffey reference teaches a valve assembly having a sleeve (15) that is located between a plug (20) and a housing (12) wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed apertures (17a, 18a) and wherein the sleeve (15) includes a pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a as depicted in figure 6 define a first one of the pair of opposed recesses and that the corresponding pair of reduced sections 100a, 101a on the mirrored side of the sleeve 15 defines the second one of the pair of opposed recesses) that are defined in an external surface of the sleeve between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (17a, 18a), and a pair of opposed protrusions (105a; only the first of the pair of opposed apertures within the first one of the pair of opposed recesses is depicted in figure 6) that extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface (the portion 105a is of a greater cross-section between the apertures 17a, 18a forming a low pressure seal; col. 6, lines 62-65)
wherein a static seal is provided between the protrusion (105a) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 that faces the protrusion 105a) of the housing (12) and a static seal between the external sleeve surface (considered the external surfaces of the sleeve 15 that are received at the portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) and the central internal housing surface (considered the internal surface of the housing 12 at portions 57, 56 as depicted in figure 6) (see also col. 6, lines 48-68) and;
wherein the pair of opposed recesses and the respective pair of opposed protrusions provide a desired flexibility to the sleeve (col. 4, lines 21-25) and to provide fluid-tight sealing over all essential areas (col. 5, lines 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference with a pair of opposed recesses between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a pair of opposed protrusions extend outwardly from the pair of opposed recesses, beyond the external sleeve surface, that frictionally engage the surface of the housing as a static seal as taught by the Duffey reference in order to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing with a fluid-tight sealing of the sleeve.
Further, it is considered that the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the spacing apart of the inner sleeve portion from the outer sleeve portion by the at least one channel (Sandling: “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above) enables the static seal between the external sleeve surface and the central internal housing surface to be substantially independent of the dynamic seal (considered the seal between the sleeve and the plug) between the internal sleeve surface and the external plug surface (Sinkler: 20; Sandling: 18; Duffey: 20).
Additionally, it is considered that the Duffey reference teaches that the static seal is provided even when the plug (Duffey: 20) is not installed (Duffey: as depicted in figure 6). Therefore, it is considered that the static seal of the Duffey reference would function independently from the dynamic seal between the plug (Duffey: 20) and the internal sleeve surface of the sleeve (Duffey: 15) and the external plug surface of the plug (Duffey: 20).
In regards to claim 22, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the dynamic seal (Sinkler: considered the seal between the plug 20 and the sleeve 18) is separate from the static seal (Sinkler: considered the seal between the sleeve 18 and the housing 16).
In regards to claim 23, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the Duffey reference discloses wherein the dynamic seal (Sinkler: considered the seal between the plug 20 and the sleeve 18) is spaced apart from the static seal (Sinkler: considered the seal between the sleeve 18 and the housing 16; it is considered that the dynamic seal is spaced apart from the static seal by at least the thickness of the sleeve 18).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753