DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to the amendment dated 9/2/2026 that has been entered with the submission of the request for continued examination dated 9/2/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 16, and 18 are currently amended. Claim 2, 10, and 11 have been canceled. No claims have been newly added. Presently, claims 1, 3-9, and 12-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 section on pages 11-12 of the response dated 9/2/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 3-7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as provided in the Office action dated 6/2/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 3-7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as provided in the Office action dated 6/2/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejections of claims 1, 3-9, 12-15, 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of Sandling (US 4410003) and in view of O’Connor (US 3128987), the rejections of claims 1, 3-9, 12-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandling (US 4410003) in view of Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of O’Connor (US 3128987) and the rejections of claim 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandling (US 4410003) in view of Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of O’Connor (US 3128987) in view of Bowers et al. (US 6382591) on pages 12-16 of the response dated 9/2/2026.
Firstly, Applicant argues that the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference do not address the newly added features of the claims including recitations to “the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs, and that the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface to an internal hub surface partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs” on pages 12-14 of the response dated 9/2/2026.
However, it is considered that the Sandling reference addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to the newly added above features.
It is considered that the Sandling reference discloses wherein the support frame (cage 38) is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below). Further, the Sandling reference discloses a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extend from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub.
Further, it is considered that the plurality of slots (Sandling: 92) are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots (92) are located in the curved surface of the cage (38) as depicted in figure 5.
Therefore, it is considered that the Sandling reference addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to “the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs, and that the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface to an internal hub surface partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs”.
Secondly, applicant argues the rejections of claim 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandling (US 4410003) in view of Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of O’Connor (US 3128987) in view of Bowers et al. (US 6382591) on page 15 of the response dated 9/2/2026.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Bowers et al. reference was utilized to teach a method of making fixedly securing a sleeve (Bowers et al.: 50) to a cartridge having a support frame (Bowers et al.: 52) wherein the process of molding provides an inexpensive method of manufacture (Bowers et al.: col. 9, lines 49-51).
Therefore, it is considered that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method steps of molding as taught by the Bowers et al. reference to manufacture the molded sleeve having the support frame of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference in order to provide an inexpensive method of manufacture when molding the sleeve of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference to the support frame (Sandling: cage 38).
Thirdly, applicant argues that the stated rationale for the combination, namely providing rigid reinforcement, containing cold flow, and keying the sleeve material, addresses only the general function of the cage and does not supply the specific arcuate, along-the-periphery, rib-separated slot geometry now recited in claims 1, 16, and 18.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, it is considered that the Sandling reference teaches the use of a cartridge (Sandling: cage 38) within a sleeve (Sandling: 90) wherein the cartridge already contains a plurality of slots (Sandling: 92) that are arcuate (Sandling: it is considered that the plurality of slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5), along the periphery of the hub aperture (Sandling: see annotated figure 4) with the slots (Sandling: 92) being separated by ribs (Sandling: see annotated figure 4) wherein the use of the cartridge (Sandling: cage 38) provides substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material (plastic), holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the cage (hub) around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the disclosure of the Sandling reference when designing a valve assembly having a cartridge and a sleeve or modifying an existing valve that includes a sleeve in order to have a valve assembly to provide a substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material (plastic), holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the cage (hub of the cartridge) around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Since modified grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment that was entered with the submission of the request for continued examination, the instant Office action is made non-final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 6/9/2026 and 6/9/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-7 contain the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “an external hub surface” in line 2. Claim 4 depends from claim 3 which depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “an external hub surface” in line 30. Therefore, it appears that the recitation of “an external hub surface” of claim 4 should be “the external hub surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-15, 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of Sandling (US 4410003) and in view of O’Connor (US 3128987).
Regarding claim 1, the Sinkler reference discloses a valve comprising:
a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32; the body bore is substantially cylindrical; see col. 3, lines 15-16); and
a valve assembly (see figure 1) having
a valve body (16),
a sleeve (liner 18) having
a cylindrical external sleeve surface (it is considered that the external surface of the liner 18 has a cylindrical shape as depicted in figure 1, figure 2 and figure 10), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal surface of the liner 18 that faces the valve plug body 20) defining an interior cavity (the plug 20 is received within the internal cavity; see figure 1); and
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 1) and including:
a plug shaft (46) extending along a central axis (it is considered that the central axis extends along a vertical axis that extends along from the central portion of the stem 46, 38 and to the base of the plug 20 in the orientation depicted in figure 2), and
a plug body (20) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 1), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (considered the surface of the passage 22) defining a plug flow passage (22), the plug flow passage (22) extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 2), and
an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug body 20) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 1),
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis (see figure 1);
wherein the sleeve (liner 18) is positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber (32) of the housing (16) and fixed against movement relative thereto (the liner 18 is stationary within the base of the hollow body 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48);
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (28, 30).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the valve assembly includes a cartridge including a generally tubular hub wherein the sleeve encapsulates at least a portion of the hub,
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion and an inner portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel, and a support frame of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs received within the at least one channel, and the outer sleeve portion an the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame to mechanically couple the outer sleeve portion to the inner sleeve portion, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface of the generally tubular hub to an internal hub surface of the generally tubular hub partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures and a pair of opposed internal rims extending inwardly from the internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures;
wherein the pair of opposed sleeve apertures are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims of the generally tubular hub extending about peripheries of the respective hub apertures.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having:
(a) a cartridge (it is considered that the cage 38 constitutes the cartridge; see figures 4-7) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (35) and including a generally tubular hub (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a generally tubular hub; see figure 6 and figure 7); and
(b) a sleeve (90; see reference numeral 90 in figure 4 and figure 5 for the sleeve 90) encapsulating at least a portion of the generally tubular hub (see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 encapsulating the cage 38; see col. 5, lines 22-36) and having an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces radially inward toward the plug 18 constitutes the internal sleeve surface) defining an interior cavity (the plug 18 is received within the interior cavity) wherein the sleeve is molded to the hub (see col. 5, lines 22-36);
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion (see “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) and an inner sleeve portion (see “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 below; it is considered that the cage 38 is received within the channel), and a support frame (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a support frame) of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below) received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the openings 92 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion) of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extending from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots (92) being arcuate (it is considered that the slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture (see figure 4 and figure 5 for the slots 92 being located and extending along a portion of the periphery of the hub aperture (see “hub aperture” in the annotated figure 4 and annotated figure 5 below)) of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots (92) being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots (92) separated from one another by a respective support rib (see “support rib” in the annotated figure 4 below) of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7) and a pair of opposed internal rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7); and
wherein a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve/line 18 that surrounds the flange 42 of the cage/frame 38 constitutes opposed sleeve apertures) are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (see at least figure 5) and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims (see figure 5 wherein the flange 42 that includes the external rim and the internal rim are surrounded by the sleeve aperture of the sleeve 90) of the generally tubular hub extending about the peripheries of the respective hub;
wherein the hub within the sleeve provides substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material (plastic), holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the cage (hub) around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the sleeve of the Sinkler reference with a generally tubular hub within the sleeve wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion and an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel and a support frame of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame to mechanically couple the outer sleeve portion to the inner sleeve portion, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface of the generally tubular hub to an internal hub surface of the generally tubular hub partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs, wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures and a pair of opposed internal rims extending inwardly from the internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures; wherein the pair of opposed sleeve apertures are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims of the generally tubular hub extending about peripheries of the respective hub apertures as taught by the Sandling reference in order to provide substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material, holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the hub around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose wherein a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing.
However, the O’Connor reference teaches a valve (11) having a housing (12) including an internal chamber (22); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a sleeve (10) having:
an external sleeve surface (see “external sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below), and
an internal sleeve surface (see “internal sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below) defining an interior cavity (the plug 15 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (15) positioned within the interior cavity;
wherein a pair of opposed recesses (see “first recess” and “second recess” in the annotated figure 2 below) are defined in [the] external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (13a, 14a), and a protrusion (see “protrusion” in the annotated figure 2 below) extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the “protrusion” extends from between the “first recess” and the “second recess” as depicted in the annotated figure 2 below) to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface (considered the surface 23) of the housing (12);
in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out (see col. 1, lines 55-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference to have a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing as taught by the O’Connor reference in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out.
In regards to claim 3, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the internal hub surface (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal hub surface”), wherein the internal sleeve surface overlies the internal hub surface (Sandling: see figure 4 for the sleeve 90 having the internal sleeve surface that overlies the internal hub surface).
In regards to claim 4, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes [the] external hub surface (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external hub surface”), wherein the external sleeve surface (Sandling: it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces away from the interior cavity constitutes the external sleeve surface) overlies the external hub surface (Sandling: see figure 4 for the sleeve 90 having the external sleeve surface that overlies the external hub surface).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed hub apertures (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “hub aperture”(s)) extending between the internal and external hub surfaces, wherein the sleeve includes [the] pair of opposed sleeve apertures (Sinkler: 28, 30; Sandling: it is considered that the flanges 42 that surround the pair of apertures extend through the pair of opposed sleeve apertures as depicted in figure 5; O’Connor: 13a, 14a) aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5).
In regards to claim 6, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed internal rims (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5 and figure 7).
In regards to claim 7, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed external rims (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5 and figure 7).
In regards to claim 8, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve encapsulates the support frame (Sandling: the material of the sleeve 90 is molded to the cage 38 through the holes 92; see col. 5, lines 26-33; see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 to encapsulate the support frame of the cage 38).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the internal sleeve surface is presented by the inner sleeve portion (Sandling: see figure 4).
In regards to claim 12, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is molded onto at least the portion of the generally tubular hub (Sandling: see at least col. 5, lines 22-36).
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113.
In regards to claim 13, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is constructed of a polymeric material (Sinkler: sleeve 18 may be made from the material from the group consisting of polyethylene and derivatives thereof such as polytetrafluoroethylene, see col. 4, lines 45-52).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is constructed of at least one of PTFE (Sinkler: col. 4, lines 45-52).
In regards to claim 15, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the cartridge is constructed of a metallic material (Sandling: the cage 38 is made of a metal; see col. 5, line 29).
In regards to claim 21, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the external plug surface (Sinkler: considered the external surface of the plug body 20) tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis in a downward direction continuously from a first position above the plug flow passage to a second position below the plug flow passage (Sinkler: see figure 1 for the external plug surface to be tapering radially outwardly relative to the central axis).
Regarding claim 18, the Sinkler reference discloses a valve comprising:
a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32; the body bore is substantially cylindrical; see col. 3, lines 15-16); and
a valve assembly (see figure 1) having:
a valve body (it is considered that the housing 16 constitutes a valve body),
a sleeve (liner 18) having
a cylindrical external sleeve surface (it is considered that the external surface of the liner 18 has a cylindrical shape as depicted in figure 1, figure 2 and figure 10), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal surface of the liner 18 that faces the valve plug body 20) defining an interior cavity (the plug 20 is received within the internal cavity; see figure 1); and
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 1) and including:
a plug shaft (46) extending along a central axis, and
a plug body (20) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 1), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (considered the surface of the passage 22) defining a plug flow passage (22), the plug flow passage (22) extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 2), and
an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug body 20) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 1),
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis (see figure 1);
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing and fixed against movement relative thereto (the liner 18 is stationary within the base of the hollow body 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48); and
wherein the sleeve includes a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (28, 30).
Firstly, the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein the valve assembly includes a cartridge including a mounting portion and a generally tubular hub portion extending downwardly from the mounting portion wherein the sleeve at least partially encapsulating the hub portion,
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion and an inner portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel, and a support frame of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs received within the at least one channel, and the outer sleeve portion an the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame to mechanically couple the outer sleeve portion to the inner sleeve portion, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface of the generally tubular hub to an internal hub surface of the generally tubular hub partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures and a pair of opposed internal rims extending inwardly from the internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures;
wherein the pair of opposed sleeve apertures are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims of the generally tubular hub extending about peripheries of the respective hub apertures.
However, the Sandling reference teaches a valve assembly having:
(a) a cartridge (it is considered that the cage 38 constitutes the cartridge; see figures 4-7) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (35) and including a generally tubular hub (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a generally tubular hub; see figure 6 and figure 7); and
(b) a sleeve (90; see reference numeral 90 in figure 4 and figure 5 for the sleeve 90) encapsulating at least a portion of the generally tubular hub (see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 encapsulating the cage 38; see col. 5, lines 22-36) and having an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces radially inward toward the plug 18 constitutes the internal sleeve surface) defining an interior cavity (the plug 18 is received within the interior cavity) wherein the sleeve is molded to the hub (see col. 5, lines 22-36);
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion (see “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) and an inner sleeve portion (see “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 below; it is considered that the cage 38 is received within the channel), and a support frame (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a support frame) of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below) received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 92 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion) of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extending from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots (92) being arcuate (it is considered that the slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture (see figure 4 and figure 5 for the slots 92 being located and extending along a portion of the periphery of the hub aperture (see “hub aperture” in the annotated figure 4 and annotated figure 5 below)) of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots (92) being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots (92) separated from one another by a respective support rib (see “support rib” in the annotated figure 4 below) of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7) and a pair of opposed internal rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7); and
wherein a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve/line 18 that surrounds the flange 42 of the cage/frame 38 constitutes opposed sleeve apertures) are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (see at least figure 5) and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims (see figure 5 wherein the flange 42 that includes the external rim and the internal rim are surrounded by the sleeve aperture of the sleeve 90) of the generally tubular hub extending about the peripheries of the respective hub;
wherein the hub within the sleeve provides substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material (plastic), holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the cage (hub) around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly (col. 2, lines 3-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the sleeve of the Sinkler reference with a generally tubular hub within the sleeve wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion and an inner sleeve portion at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel and a support frame of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots disposed in the support frame to mechanically couple the outer sleeve portion to the inner sleeve portion, the plurality of curved slots extending from an external hub surface of the generally tubular hub to an internal hub surface of the generally tubular hub partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots being arcuate and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots separated from one another by a respective support rib of the plurality of support ribs, wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures and a pair of opposed internal rims extending inwardly from the internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures; wherein the pair of opposed sleeve apertures are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims of the generally tubular hub extending about peripheries of the respective hub apertures as taught by the Sandling reference in order to provide substantially rigid reinforcing means to contain the cold flow tendency of the sleeve material, holes and windows to provide for locking of the sleeve material therein and relief areas to permit thermal expansion of the contained sleeve material, the metal portions of the hub around and defining the holes and windows ensuring the provision of high pressure sealing areas on the sleeve in use of the valve assembly.
Secondly, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference does not disclose wherein a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing.
However, the O’Connor reference teaches a valve (11) having a housing (12) including an internal chamber (22); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a sleeve (10) having:
an external sleeve surface (see “external sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below), and
an internal sleeve surface (see “internal sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below) defining an interior cavity (the plug 15 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (15) positioned within the interior cavity;
wherein a pair of opposed recesses (see “first recess” and “second recess” in the annotated figure 2 below) are defined in [the] external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (13a, 14a), and a protrusion (see “protrusion” in the annotated figure 2 below) extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the “protrusion” extends from between the “first recess” and the “second recess” as depicted in the annotated figure 2 below) to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface (considered the surface 23) of the housing (12);
in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out (see col. 1, lines 55-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference and the Sandling reference to have a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing as taught by the O’Connor reference in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out.
In regards to claim 19, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sinkler reference, the Sandling reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the mounting portion and the generally tubular hub portion are integrally formed together as a unitary piece (Sandling: see figure 7 for cartridge to be integrally formed as a unitary piece).
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandling (US 4410003) in view of Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of O’Connor (US 3128987).
Regarding claim 1, the Sandling reference discloses a valve comprising:
a housing (10) including an internal chamber (see figure 1); and
a valve assembly having:
a cartridge (considered the cage 38; see figures 4-7) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (35) and including a generally tubular hub (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a generally tubular hub; see figure 6 and figure 7); and
a sleeve (90; see reference numeral 90 in figure 4 and figure 5 for the sleeve 90) encapsulating at least a portion of the hub (see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 encapsulating the cage 38; see col. 5, lines 22-36) and having:
an external sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces the body 10 constitutes the external sleeve surface), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces radially inward toward the plug 18 constitutes the internal sleeve surface) defining an interior cavity (the plug 18 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 4) and including:
a plug shaft (it is considered that the bolt 24 secures the upper element 90 to the plug shaft; see figure 4) extending along a central axis, and
a plug body (18) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 4) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 4), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (it is considered that the surface of the passage 40 constitutes the internal plug surface) defining a plug flow passage (40), the plug flow passage extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 4), and
an external plug surface (it is considered that the surface of the plug body 18 that faces toward the sleeve 90 constitutes the external plug surface) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 5);
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the internal chamber of the housing (see at least figure 1).
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion (see “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) and an inner sleeve portion (see “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 below) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 below; it is considered that the cage 38 is received within the channel), and a support frame (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a support frame) of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below) received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 92 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion) of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extending from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots (92) being arcuate (it is considered that the slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture (see figure 4 and figure 5 for the slots 92 being located and extending along a portion of the periphery of the hub aperture (see “hub aperture” in the annotated figure 4 and annotated figure 5 below)) of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots (92) being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots (92) separated from one another by a respective support rib (see “support rib” in the annotated figure 4 below) of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7) and a pair of opposed internal rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7); and
wherein a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve/line 18 that surrounds the flange 42 of the cage/frame 38 constitutes opposed sleeve apertures) are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (see at least figure 5) and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims (see figure 5 wherein the flange 42 that includes the external rim and the internal rim are surrounded by the sleeve aperture of the sleeve 90) of the generally tubular hub extending about the peripheries of the respective hub.
Firstly, the Sandling reference does not disclose wherein the internal chamber in the housing is a cylindrical internal chamber; the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve,
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis; and
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing and fixed against movement thereto.
However, the Sinkler reference teaches a valve comprising:
a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32; the body bore is substantially cylindrical; see col. 3, lines 15-16);
a valve assembly (see figure 1) having:
a valve body (16),
a sleeve (liner 18) having
a cylindrical external sleeve surface (it is considered that the external surface of the liner 18 has a cylindrical shape as depicted in figure 1, figure 2 and figure 10), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal surface of the liner 18 that faces the valve plug body 20) defining an interior cavity (the plug 20 is received within the internal cavity; see figure 1); and
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 1) and including:
a plug shaft (46) extending along a central axis, and
a plug body (20) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 1), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (considered the surface of the passage 22) defining a plug flow passage (22), the plug flow passage (22) extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 2), and
an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug body 20) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 1),
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis (see figure 1) in order to draw the plug body into seating engagement with the tapered inner wall of the liner thereby eliminating any bonnet or cover secured upon the body of the valve (col. 3, lines 9-22),
wherein the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve surface to provide the sleeve as a resilient tube (col. 2, lines 56-57), and
wherein the sleeve is fixed against movement relative thereto (the liner 18 is stationary within the base of the hollow body 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48).
The substitution of one known element (the internal chamber being a cylindrical internal chamber wherein the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve surface and wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis and wherein the sleeve is fixed against relative movement to the cylindrical chamber as shown in Sinkler) for another (the shape of the internal chamber and the shape of the external sleeve surface and the shape of the external plug surface and the shape of the internal sleeve surface as shown in Sandling) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the shape of the external sleeve surface to be cylindrical which interacts with a corresponding cylindrical surface of the internal cylindrical chamber and the shape of the external plug surface and the shape of the internal sleeve surface to be tapering radially outwardly relative to the central axis from the plug shaft wherein the sleeve is fixed against movement relative to the internal chamber as shown in the Sinkler reference would have yielded predictable results, namely, a resilient tube shape for the external surface of the sleeve and to draw the plug body into seating engagement with the tapered inner wall of the sleeve thereby eliminating any bonnet or cover secured upon the body of the valve assembly.
Secondly, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing.
However, the O’Connor reference teaches a valve (11) having a housing (12) including an internal chamber (22); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a sleeve (10) having:
an external sleeve surface (see “external sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below), and
an internal sleeve surface (see “internal sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below) defining an interior cavity (the plug 15 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (15) positioned within the interior cavity;
wherein a pair of opposed recesses (see “first recess” and “second recess” in the annotated figure 2 below) are defined in [the] external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (13a, 14a), and a protrusion (see “protrusion” in the annotated figure 2 below) extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the “protrusion” extends from between the “first recess” and the “second recess” as depicted in the annotated figure 2 below) to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface (considered the surface 23) of the housing (12);
in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out (see col. 1, lines 55-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference to have a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing as taught by the O’Connor reference in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out.
In regards to claim 3, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the internal hub surface (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 below for the “internal hub surface”), wherein the internal sleeve surface overlies the internal hub surface (Sandling: see figure 4 for the sleeve 90 having the internal sleeve surface that overlies the internal hub surface).
In regards to claim 4, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes [the] external hub surface (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external hub surface”), wherein the cylindrical external sleeve surface (Sandling: it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces away from the interior cavity constitutes the external sleeve surface) overlies the external hub surface (Sandling: see figure 4 for the sleeve 90 having the external sleeve surface that overlies the external hub surface).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed hub apertures (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “hub aperture”(s)) extending between the internal and external hub surfaces, wherein the sleeve includes the pair of opposed sleeve apertures (Sinkler: 28, 30; Sandling: it is considered that the flanges 42 that surround the pair of apertures extend through the pair of opposed sleeve apertures as depicted in figure 5; O’Connor: 13a, 14a) aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5).
In regards to claim 6, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed internal rims (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5 and figure 7).
In regards to claim 7, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the generally tubular hub includes the pair of opposed external rims (Sandling: see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (Sandling: see figure 5 and figure 7).
In regards to claim 8, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve encapsulates the support frame (Sandling: the material of the sleeve 90 is molded to the cage 38 through the holes 92; see col. 5, lines 26-33; see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 to encapsulate the support frame of the cage 38).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the internal sleeve surface is presented by the inner sleeve portion (Sandling: see figure 4).
In regards to claim 12, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is molded onto at least the portion of the generally tubular hub (Sandling: see at least col. 5, lines 22-36).
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113.
In regards to claim 13, the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is constructed of a polymeric material (Sinkler: sleeve 18 may be made from the material from the group consisting of polyethylene and derivatives thereof such as polytetrafluoroethylene, see col. 4, lines 45-52).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the sleeve is constructed of at least one of PTFE (Sinkler: col. 4, lines 45-52).
In regards to claim 15, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the cartridge is constructed of a metallic material (Sandling: the cage 38 is made of a metal; see col. 5, line 29).
In regards to claim 21, the Sinkler reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the external plug surface (Sinkler: considered the external surface of the plug body 20) tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis in a downward direction continuously from a first position above the plug flow passage to a second position below the plug flow passage (Sinkler: see figure 1 for the external plug surface to be tapering radially outwardly relative to the central axis).
Regarding claim 18, the Sandling reference discloses a valve comprising:
a housing (10) including an internal chamber (see figure 1); and
a valve assembly (see figures 4-7) having
a cartridge (the cage 38 constitutes the cartridge; see figures 4-7) including:
a mounting portion (it is considered that the lateral flanges 54 of the cage 38 constitute a mounting portion; alternatively, the cover 32 constitutes a mounting portion to mount the cage 38 within the valve body 10) configured to be removably coupled to a valve body (10), and
a generally tubular hub portion (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a generally tubular hub; see figure 6 and figure 7) extending downwardly from the mounting portion (see figure 4 for the remainder of the cage 38 extending downward form the flanges 54); and
a sleeve (90; see reference numeral 90 in figure 4 and figure 5 for the sleeve 90) at least partially encapsulating the generally tubular hub portion (see at least figure 5 for the sleeve 90 encapsulating the cage 38; see col. 5, lines 22-36) and having
an external sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces the body 10 constitutes the external sleeve surface), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the surface of the sleeve 90 that faces radially inward toward the plug 18 constitutes the internal sleeve surface) defining an interior cavity (the plug 18 is received within the interior cavity);
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity and including:
a plug shaft (it is considered that the bolt 24 secures the upper element 90 to the plug shaft; see figure 4) extending along a central axis, and
a plug body (18) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 4) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 4), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (it is considered that the surface of the passage 40 constitutes the internal plug surface) defining a plug flow passage (40), the plug flow passage extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 4), and
an external plug surface (it is considered that the surface of the plug body 18 that faces toward the sleeve 90 constitutes the external plug surface) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 5);
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the internal chamber of the housing (see at least figure 1),
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion (see “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) and an inner sleeve portion (see “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above; it is considered that the cage 38 is received within the channel), and a support frame (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a support frame) of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below) received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 92 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion) of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extending from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots (92) being arcuate (it is considered that the slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture (see figure 4 and figure 5 for the slots 92 being located and extending along a portion of the periphery of the hub aperture (see “hub aperture” in the annotated figure 4 and annotated figure 5 below)) of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots (92) being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots (92) separated from one another by a respective support rib (see “support rib” in the annotated figure 4 below) of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7) and a pair of opposed internal rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7); and
wherein a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve/line 18 that surrounds the flange 42 of the cage/frame 38 constitutes opposed sleeve apertures) are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (see at least figure 5) and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims (see figure 5 wherein the flange 42 that includes the external rim and the internal rim are surrounded by the sleeve aperture of the sleeve 90) of the generally tubular hub extending about the peripheries of the respective hub.
Firstly, the Sandling reference does not disclose wherein the internal chamber in the housing is a cylindrical internal chamber; the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve,
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis; and
wherein the sleeve is positioned within the cylindrical internal chamber of the housing and fixed against movement thereto.
However, the Sinkler reference teaches a valve comprising:
a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32; the body bore is substantially cylindrical; see col. 3, lines 15-16);
a valve assembly (see figure 1) having:
a valve body (16),
a sleeve (liner 18) having
a cylindrical external sleeve surface (it is considered that the external surface of the liner 18 has a cylindrical shape as depicted in figure 1, figure 2 and figure 10), and
an internal sleeve surface (it is considered that the internal surface of the liner 18 that faces the valve plug body 20) defining an interior cavity (the plug 20 is received within the internal cavity; see figure 1); and
a plug (valve plug) positioned within the interior cavity (see figure 1) and including:
a plug shaft (46) extending along a central axis, and
a plug body (20) disposed below the plug shaft (see figure 1), the plug body having:
an internal plug surface (considered the surface of the passage 22) defining a plug flow passage (22), the plug flow passage (22) extending transversely relative to the central axis (see figure 2), and
an external plug surface (considered the external surface of the plug body 20) configured to sealingly engage the internal sleeve surface (see figure 1),
wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis (see figure 1) in order to draw the plug body into seating engagement with the tapered inner wall of the liner thereby eliminating any bonnet or cover secured upon the body of the valve (col. 3, lines 9-22),
wherein the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve surface to provide the sleeve as a resilient tube (col. 2, lines 56-57), and
wherein the sleeve is fixed against movement relative thereto (the liner 18 is stationary within the base of the hollow body 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48).
The substitution of one known element (the internal chamber being a cylindrical internal chamber wherein the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve surface and wherein the internal sleeve surface tapers radially outwardly relative to the central axis and wherein the sleeve is fixed against relative movement to the cylindrical chamber as shown in Sinkler) for another (the shape of the internal chamber and the shape of the external sleeve surface and the shape of the external plug surface and the shape of the internal sleeve surface as shown in Sandling) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the shape of the external sleeve surface to be cylindrical which interacts with a corresponding cylindrical surface of the internal cylindrical chamber and the shape of the external plug surface and the shape of the internal sleeve surface to be tapering radially outwardly relative to the central axis from the plug shaft wherein the sleeve is fixed against movement relative to the internal chamber as shown in the Sinkler reference would have yielded predictable results, namely, a resilient tube shape for the external surface of the sleeve and to draw the plug body into seating engagement with the tapered inner wall of the sleeve thereby eliminating any bonnet or cover secured upon the body of the valve assembly.
Secondly, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing.
However, the O’Connor reference teaches a valve (11) having a housing (12) including an internal chamber (22); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a sleeve (10) having:
an external sleeve surface (see “external sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below), and
an internal sleeve surface (see “internal sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below) defining an interior cavity (the plug 15 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (15) positioned within the interior cavity;
wherein a pair of opposed recesses (see “first recess” and “second recess” in the annotated figure 2 below) are defined in [the] external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (13a, 14a), and a protrusion (see “protrusion” in the annotated figure 2 below) extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the “protrusion” extends from between the “first recess” and the “second recess” as depicted in the annotated figure 2 below) to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface (considered the surface 23) of the housing (12);
in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out (see col. 1, lines 55-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference to have a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing as taught by the O’Connor reference in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out.
In regards to claim 19, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the mounting portion and the generally tubular hub portion are integrally formed together as a unitary piece (Sandling: see figure 7 for cartridge to be integrally formed as a unitary piece wherein the mounting portion 54 is integrally formed with the hub portion).
In regards to claim 20, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference discloses wherein the mounting portion and the generally tubular hub portion are separately formed from each other as distinct pieces (in the alternative, the Sandling reference depicts the cover / mounting portion 32 is formed separately from the cage 38; see figure 4).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandling (US 4410003) in view of Sinkler (US 3536295) in view of O’Connor (US 3128987) in view of Bowers et al. (US 6382591).
Regarding claim 16, the Sandling reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of fixedly securing a sleeve (90) to a cartridge having a support frame (cage 38) by the process of molding (col. 5, lines 22-36), the support frame including a pair of opposed apertures (see the “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 7 above) having respective inner peripheries (it is considered that the opening through the flanges / apertures 42 constitutes the inner peripheries) wherein only a portion (it is considered that the cage 38 is encapsulated by the sleeve 90 while the inner peripheries of the cage 38 are not encapsulated as depicted in figure 5) of the support frame excluding the inner peripheries is encapsulated by the sleeve (90);
wherein the sleeve (90) is molded onto the cartridge (see col. 5, lines 22-36); and
positioning the sleeve within an internal chamber of a housing (10);
wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve portion (see “outer sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) and an inner sleeve portion (see “inner sleeve portion” in the annotated figure 4 above) at least partially spaced apart from the outer sleeve portion by at least one channel (see the “channel” in the annotated figure 4 above; it is considered that the cage 38 is received within the channel), and a support frame (it is considered that the cage 38 defines a support frame) of the generally tubular hub is captured between the inner sleeve portion and the outer sleeve portion, and
wherein the support frame is secured within the at least one channel via a plurality of support ribs (it is considered that the portion of the support frame of the cage 38 that surrounds the holes 92 constitute a plurality of support ribs; see “support rib”(s) in the annotated figure 4 below) received within the at least one channel and the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion are coupled to each other by connecting portions (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve that connects the inner sleeve portion with the outer sleeve portion and is received within the opening 92 constitutes the connecting portions of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion) of the outer sleeve portion and the inner sleeve portion extending through a plurality of curved slots (92; see figure 4 for the slots 92 shown by the dashed lines around opening 40; see also the annotated figure 4 below; further, it is considered that the slots 92 are curved in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) extending from an external hub surface (see the “external hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) to an internal hub surface (see the “internal hub surface” in the annotated figure 5 below) of the generally tubular hub (cage 38) partially about peripheries of a pair of opposed hub apertures (42; see “hub apertures” in the annotated figure 5 below; see also figure 4 for the slots 92 being disposed about the peripheries of the opening) of the generally tubular hub, each of the plurality of curved slots (92) being arcuate (it is considered that the slots 92 are arcuate in as much as the ends of the slots 92 are rounded / curved and that the slots 92 are located in the curved surface of the cage 38 as depicted in figure 5) and extending along a portion of the periphery of a respective hub aperture (see figure 4 and figure 5 for the slots 92 being located and extending along a portion of the periphery of the hub aperture (see “hub aperture” in the annotated figure 4 and annotated figure 5 below)) of the pair of opposed hub apertures, and the plurality of curved slots (92) being arranged about each hub aperture of the pair of opposed hub apertures with adjacent curved slots (92) separated from one another by a respective support rib (see “support rib” in the annotated figure 4 below) of the plurality of support ribs,
wherein the generally tubular hub includes a pair of opposed external rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “external rim”(s)) extending outwardly from the external hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7) and a pair of opposed internal rims (see the annotated figure 7 above for the “internal rim”(s)) extending inwardly from internal hub surface about peripheries of respective hub apertures (see figure 5 and figure 7); and
wherein a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (it is considered that the portions of the sleeve/line 18 that surrounds the flange 42 of the cage/frame 38 constitutes opposed sleeve apertures) are aligned with the pair of opposed hub apertures (see at least figure 5) and substantially surround the respective external rims and internal rims (see figure 5 wherein the flange 42 that includes the external rim and the internal rim are surrounded by the sleeve aperture of the sleeve 90) of the generally tubular hub extending about the peripheries of the respective hub.
Firstly, the Sandling reference does not disclose wherein the sleeve has a cylindrical external surface and wherein the internal chamber of the housing is a cylindrical internal chamber such that the sleeve is fixed against movement relative thereto.
However, the Sinkler reference teaches a valve comprising a housing (16) including a cylindrical internal chamber (32; the body bore is substantially cylindrical; see col. 3, lines 15-16) that receives a sleeve (liner 18) having a cylindrical external surface (it is considered that the external surface of the liner 18 has a cylindrical shape as depicted in figure 1, figure 2 and figure 10) and wherein the sleeve is fixed against movement relative to the internal chamber (the liner 18 is stationary within the base of the hollow body 16; see col. 2, lines 44-48).
The substitution of one known element (the internal chamber of the housing being a cylindrical internal chamber wherein the external sleeve surface is a cylindrical external sleeve surface and wherein the sleeve is fixed against relative movement to the cylindrical chamber as shown in Sinkler) for another (the shape of the internal chamber of the housing and the shape of the external sleeve surface shown in Sandling) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the shape of the internal chamber and the shape of the external sleeve surface to both be cylindrical as shown in the Sinkler reference along with the sleeve being fixed against movement relative to the housing would have yielded predictable results, namely, a resilient tube shape for the external surface of the sleeve of the sleeve of the Sandling reference in order to permit the ease of installation of the sleeve within the valve body.
Secondly, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference does not disclose wherein a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing.
However, the O’Connor reference teaches a valve (11) having a housing (12) including an internal chamber (22); and
a valve assembly comprising:
a sleeve (10) having:
an external sleeve surface (see “external sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below), and
an internal sleeve surface (see “internal sleeve surface” in the annotated figure 2 below) defining an interior cavity (the plug 15 is received within the interior cavity); and
a plug (15) positioned within the interior cavity;
wherein a pair of opposed recesses (see “first recess” and “second recess” in the annotated figure 2 below) are defined in [the] external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between a pair of opposed sleeve apertures (13a, 14a), and a protrusion (see “protrusion” in the annotated figure 2 below) extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses (it is considered that the “protrusion” extends from between the “first recess” and the “second recess” as depicted in the annotated figure 2 below) to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface (considered the surface 23) of the housing (12);
in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out (see col. 1, lines 55-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference to have a pair of opposed recess are defined in an external sleeve surface of the outer sleeve portion between the pair of opposed sleeve apertures, and a protrusion extends outwardly from a center of each of the pair of opposed recesses to frictionally engage a central internal housing surface of the housing as taught by the O’Connor reference in order to achieve tight sealing and protection against cold-flow and blow out.
Thirdly, the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference does not expressly disclose wherein the method comprises:
positioning the support frame between a mold cavity and a mold core;
directing molten material over the support frame;
cooling the molten material to thereby form the sleeve; and
removing the support frame with the sleeve from the mold cavity and the mold core.
However, the Bowers et al. reference teaches a method of fixedly securing a sleeve (50) to a cartridge having a support frame (52), the method comprising:
(a) positioning the support frame between a mold cavity and a mold core (see col. 8, lines 20-27);
(b) directing molten material over the support frame (see col. 8, lines 28-44);
(c) cooling the molten material to thereby form the sleeve (see col. 8, lines 45-55); and
(d) removing the support frame with the sleeve from the mold cavity and the mold core (see col. 8, line 56-64)
wherein the support frame within the sleeve provides the valve assembly with reducing turning torque while providing superior sealability and protection against seat blow-out (col. 2, lines 2-5) while the process of molding provides an inexpensive method of manufacture (col. 9, lines 49-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method steps of molding as taught by the Bowers et al. reference to manufacture the molded sleeve having the support frame of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference in order to provide an inexpensive method of manufacture when molding the sleeve of the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference and the Sinkler reference to the support frame (Sandling: cage 38) since the Sandling reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference and the O’Connor reference already discloses that the sleeve is molded to the support frame (Sandling: cage 38) (Sandling: see col. 5, lines 22-36).
In regards to claim 17, the Bowers et al. reference of the combination of the Sandling reference, the Sinkler reference, the O’Connor reference and the Bowers et al. reference discloses wherein the molten material includes a fluoropolymer (Bowers et al.: see at least col. 9, lines 1-12).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753