DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/14/2026 in which 1-4, 6-10, 16-18 and 20, 23 and 25-29 are pending. Claims 5, 11-15, 19, 21-22, 24 and 30 were canceled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 01/14/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration and search were performed resulting in a new ground(s) of rejection presented below. Based on the amendments to claims 1 and 25, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) claim rejections previously set in the Non-Final Action mailed on 10/20/2025 are withdrawn. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 16-18 and 20, 23 and 25-29 are pending.
Claims 5, 11-15, 19, 21-22, 24 and 30 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Tooher does not teach or suggest “transmitting, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, a single layer one report…wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant”.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Liu et al. (US 2023/0189046) discloses the amended feature of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Therefore, based on the response to arguments presented above, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 17, 25 and 28 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, thus are similarly rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 16-18, 20, 23 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #99, Tdoc R1-1912060, Reno, USA, November, 2019 (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “3GPP” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0377622), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0189046), hereinafter “Liu”.
As to claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, the UE is configured to perform measurements and to report L1-RSRP on non-serving cells to the serving cell), comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating a configuration associated with inter-cell mobility from a serving cell of the UE to a non-serving cell for the UE (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”. The measurements are neighbor cell measurements, which are transmitted to the serving cell), the configuration indicating for the UE to measure a set of downlink reference signals from the non-serving cell and perform layer one reporting of measurements of the set of downlink reference signals to the serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”);
receiving, from a network entity of the non-serving cell, the set of downlink reference signals (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”); and
transmitting a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “The UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index. The UE may be configured to report the 1, 2 or 4 best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”, “the UE then requests uplink resources and transmits the measurement report over RRC to the NW”. The UE transmits the measurement report (single report) with L1-RSRP measurements for the best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 1, the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics;
receiving, from a network entity of the non-serving cell, the set of downlink reference signals to generate a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics;
determining, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold; and
transmitting, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell, the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric, wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Zhang teaches the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042] “Source gNB 110 defines one or more events for a UE. The one or more events when true, trigger corresponding event-based reports”. [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB. As disclosed by Zhang, the events are defined by the source gNB and transmitted to the UE to trigger the report of the measurements);
receiving, from a network entity of the non-serving cell, the set of downlink reference signals to generate a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the UE determines when the event is true, and the event is true when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies one or more settable offset threshold values (e.g., becomes an amount of offset better than corresponding values at a Source gNB beam, a Primary cell (PCell) beam, or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) beam)”, and when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies (e.g., becomes better than) one or more settable threshold values”. Zhang further shows in Fig 4B that the UE receives reserved resources or requests resources via a scheduled request (SR) in order to transmit the report using the indicated resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined feature: regarding claim 1, determining, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold; and
transmitting, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell, the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric, wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Liu teaches determining, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”); and
transmitting, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (Liu, [0029], “The MAC-CE/SR/UCI transmission may be used by a UE (user equipment) for at least one of 1) reporting L1 measurement information or 2) reporting L3 measurement information, or 3) reporting L2 measurement information. The reporting in the control information can be about a serving cell and/or about a neighboring cell”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
As to claim 2, 3GPP teaches wherein the set of downlink reference signals comprises a set of synchronization signal blocks (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 3, wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value.
As to claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value (Zhang, [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 4, further comprising:
receiving an indication of a triggering condition, wherein determining the average of the set of channel measurements is based at least in part on the triggering condition.
As to claim 4, Zhang teaches further comprising:
receiving an indication of a triggering condition (Zhang, [0043], [0053], [0060]-[0061], the report configurations are transmitted to the UE and indicate that the report is periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic. Also, the source gNB transmits a signal that triggers the UE to respond with the results report), wherein determining the subset of channel measurements is based at least in part on the triggering condition (Zhang, [0042], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the UE determines when the event is true, and the event is true when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies one or more settable offset threshold values (e.g., becomes an amount of offset better than corresponding values at a Source gNB beam, a Primary cell (PCell) beam, or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) beam)”, and when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies (e.g., becomes better than) one or more settable threshold values”. [0043], [0053], [0060]-[0061], the report configurations indicate that the report is periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic. Also, the source gNB transmits a signal that triggers the UE to respond with the results report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined feature: regarding claim 4, determining the average of the subset of channel measurements.
However, Liu teaches wherein determining the average of the subset of channel measurements (Liu, [0039], “The CSI-ReportConfig also includes other parameter to determine the resource (such as PUCCH resource) and a way to report the UCI (such as time domain behavior, such as aperiodic, semi-periodic, periodic, etc.)”, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information). The teaching of Liu combined with Zhang disclosing in [0042]-[0044] that the event configuration is transmitted to the UE from the source gNB results in the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 6, wherein the configuration comprises a radio resource control configuration.
As to claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the configuration comprises a radio resource control configuration (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the source gNB 110 transmits to the UE the RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. “The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
As to claim 16, 3GPP teaches wherein the set of downlink reference signals comprises a set of channel state information reference signals (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”).
As to claim 17, 3GPP teaches a method for wireless communication at a serving network entity of a serving cell (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, the UE is configured to perform measurements and to report L1-RSRP on non-serving cells to the serving cell), comprising:
transmitting control signaling indicating a configuration associated with inter-cell mobility from the serving cell to a non-serving cell for a user equipment (UE) (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”. The measurements are neighbor cell measurements, which are transmitted to the serving cell), the configuration indicating for the UE to measure a set of downlink reference signals from the non-serving cell and perform layer one reporting of measurements of the set of downlink reference signals to the serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”);
receiving, from the UE, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with a network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “The UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index. The UE may be configured to report the 1, 2 or 4 best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”, “the UE then requests uplink resources and transmits the measurement report over RRC to the NW”. The UE transmits the measurement report (single report) with L1-RSRP measurements for the best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP); and
performing the wireless communication with the UE based at least in part on the single layer one report comprising the channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “the NE can use the measurements to choose with DL beam would be used to transmit the data”. Page 3, “the gNB would then have freedom to perform any kind of operation on this sequence of measurement reports”).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 17, the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics;
receiving, from the UE and based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, a single layer one report, the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold, and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals, wherein the single layer one report is received a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Zhang teaches the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042] “Source gNB 110 defines one or more events for a UE. The one or more events when true, trigger corresponding event-based reports”. [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB. As disclosed by Zhang, the events are defined by the source gNB and transmitted to the UE to trigger the report of the measurements);
receiving, from the UE and based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, a single layer one report (Zhang, [0042], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the UE determines when the event is true, and the event is true when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies one or more settable offset threshold values (e.g., becomes an amount of offset better than corresponding values at a Source gNB beam, a Primary cell (PCell) beam, or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) beam)”, and when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies (e.g., becomes better than) one or more settable threshold values”. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 17, the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold, and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals, wherein the single layer one report is received a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Liu teaches the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein the single layer one report is received a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 18, wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value.
As to claim 18, Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value (Zhang, [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 20, wherein the configuration comprises a radio resource control configuration.
As to claim 20, Zhang teaches wherein the configuration comprises a radio resource control configuration (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the source gNB 110 transmits to the UE the RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. “The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
As to claim 23, 3GPP teaches wherein the one or more previously configured resources comprise physical uplink control channel resources or physical uplink shared channel resources, or a combination thereof (3GPP, page 3, “configure the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells. That measurement could then be reported to the NW using any PUCCH or PUSCH reporting already defined…Once certain criteria are fulfilled, the UE then request uplink resources and the measurements report over RRC to the NW”).
As to claim 25, 3GPP teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, the UE is configured to perform measurements and to report L1-RSRP on non-serving cells to the serving cell), comprising:
to cause the apparatus to:
receive control signaling indicating a configuration associated with inter-cell mobility from a serving cell of the UE to a non-serving cell for the UE (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”. The measurements are neighbor cell measurements, which are transmitted to the serving cell), the configuration indicating for the UE to measure a set of downlink reference signals from the non-serving cell and perform layer one reporting of measurements of the set of downlink reference signals to the serving cell of the UE (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”);
receive, from a network entity of the non-serving cell, the set of downlink reference signals (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”); and
transmitting a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “The UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index. The UE may be configured to report the 1, 2 or 4 best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”, “the UE then requests uplink resources and transmits the measurement report over RRC to the NW”. The UE transmits the measurement report (single report) with L1-RSRP measurements for the best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 25, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus:
the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics;
receive the set of downlink reference signals to generate a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics;
determine, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold; and
transmit, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell, the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric, wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Zhang teaches comprising:
one or more processors (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], a UE including a processor);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], a memory 235 connected to the processor 210); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], the memory 235 stores computer instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions for low layer inter-cell mobility management):
the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042] “Source gNB 110 defines one or more events for a UE. The one or more events when true, trigger corresponding event-based reports”. [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB. As disclosed by Zhang, the events are defined by the source gNB and transmitted to the UE to trigger the report of the measurements);
receive the set of downlink reference signals to generate a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the UE determines when the event is true, and the event is true when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies one or more settable offset threshold values (e.g., becomes an amount of offset better than corresponding values at a Source gNB beam, a Primary cell (PCell) beam, or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) beam)”, and when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies (e.g., becomes better than) one or more settable threshold values”. Zhang further shows in Fig 4B that the UE receives reserved resources or requests resources via a scheduled request (SR) in order to transmit the report using the indicated resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined feature: regarding claim 25, determine, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold; and
transmit, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell, the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric, wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Liu teaches determine, based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of the plurality of channel measurements satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”); and
transmit, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (Liu, [0029], “The MAC-CE/SR/UCI transmission may be used by a UE (user equipment) for at least one of 1) reporting L1 measurement information or 2) reporting L3 measurement information, or 3) reporting L2 measurement information. The reporting in the control information can be about a serving cell and/or about a neighboring cell”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), the channel information indicating the average of the subset of channel measurements associated with the channel metric (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
As to claim 26, 3GPP teaches wherein the set of downlink reference signals comprises a set of synchronization signal blocks (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 27, wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value.
As to claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value (Zhang, [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
As to claim 28, 3GPP teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a serving network entity of a serving cell (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, the UE is configured to perform measurements and to report L1-RSRP on non-serving cells to the serving cell), comprising:
cause the apparatus to:
transmit control signaling indicating a configuration associated with inter-cell mobility from the serving cell to a non-serving cell for a user equipment (UE) (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”. The measurements are neighbor cell measurements, which are transmitted to the serving cell), the configuration indicating for the UE to measure a set of downlink reference signals from the non-serving cell and perform layer one reporting of measurements of the set of downlink reference signals to the serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “The UE can be configured to perform measurements on both CSI-RS and SSB using the signaling described”, “the UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index”);
receive, from the UE, a single layer one report comprising channel information associated with a network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, pages 2-3, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “L1-RSRP measurements on SSB and CSI-RS”, “The UE may then be configured to report L1-RSRP based on the list of SSB-Index. The UE may be configured to report the 1, 2 or 4 best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP”, “report measurements on configured SSBs in configured non-serving cells”, “the UE to report RSRP also for SSBs in non-serving cells”, “the UE then requests uplink resources and transmits the measurement report over RRC to the NW”. The UE transmits the measurement report (single report) with L1-RSRP measurements for the best SSBs, i.e., the SSBs out of the list which has the highest L1-RSRP); and
perform the wireless communication with the UE based at least in part on the single layer one report comprising the channel information associated with the network entity of the non-serving cell (3GPP, page 2, section 2.1, L1-RSRP reporting on non-serving cells, “the NE can use the measurements to choose with DL beam would be used to transmit the data”. Page 3, “the gNB would then have freedom to perform any kind of operation on this sequence of measurement reports”).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 28, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus:
the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics;
receive, from the UE and based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, a single layer one report, the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold, and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals, wherein the single layer one report is received via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Zhang teaches comprising:
one or more processors (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], a source gNB including a processor);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], a memory 235 connected to the processor 210); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031], the memory 235 stores computer instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions for low layer inter-cell mobility management):
the configuration indicating a respective channel metric threshold associated with each channel metric of a plurality of channel metrics (Zhang, [0042] “Source gNB 110 defines one or more events for a UE. The one or more events when true, trigger corresponding event-based reports”. [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB. As disclosed by Zhang, the events are defined by the source gNB and transmitted to the UE to trigger the report of the measurements);
receive, from the UE and based at least in part on at least one channel measurement of a plurality of channel measurements associated with a channel metric of the plurality of channel metrics satisfying the respective channel metric threshold, a single layer one report (Zhang, [0042], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the UE determines when the event is true, and the event is true when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies one or more settable offset threshold values (e.g., becomes an amount of offset better than corresponding values at a Source gNB beam, a Primary cell (PCell) beam, or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) beam)”, and when “one or more values of an RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam (e.g., Target gNB 115 beam) satisfies (e.g., becomes better than) one or more settable threshold values”. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 28, the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements, wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold, and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals, wherein the single layer one report is received via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources, and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant.
However, Liu teaches the channel information indicating an average of a subset of channel measurements of the plurality of channel measurements (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements satisfies the respective channel metric threshold (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), and wherein the subset of channel measurements are based at least in part on the set of downlink reference signals (Liu, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”), wherein the single layer one report is received a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message on one or more previously configured resources (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”. See also Fig. 5, [0062]), and wherein the one or more previously configured resources are not associated with an uplink grant (Liu, [0032], “If UL-SCH is available, the L2 layer (i.e., MAC layer) at UE instructs the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the MAC CE including the L1 measurement information…the UE transmits the MAC-CE in a PUSCH which is scheduled by the gNB (e.g., the base station)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
3GPP teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 29, wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value.
As to claim 29, Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of channel metrics comprise a layer one reference signal received power value, a layer one signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a layer three reference signal received power value, a layer three signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio value, a channel quality indicator value, a precoding matrix indicator value, a rank indicator value, or a layer indicator value (Zhang, [0044], [0047]-[0048], the event that triggers the report includes one or more values of RSRP, RSRQ or SINR from a neighbor gNB beam that satisfies one or more settable threshold values. Fig. 5, [0060]-[0061], the trigger is for L1 results based on the configuration received from the source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to perform handover decisions and synchronization using lower layer protocols, from one TCI state to another, which reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface (Zhang, Abstract, [0004]).
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #99, Tdoc R1-1912060, Reno, USA, November, 2019 (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “3GPP” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0377622), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0189046), hereinafter “Liu” and further in view of Li (US 2023/0098488).
3GPP, Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP, Zhang and Liu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 7, further comprising:
determining the subset of channel measurements for a single downlink reference signal of the set of downlink reference signals based at least in part on the configuration.
As to claim 7, Li teaches further comprising:
determining the subset of channel measurements for a single downlink reference signal of the set of downlink reference signals based at least in part on the configuration (Li, [0061], “The RRM measurement report includes the measurement report of at least one neighboring cell. The measurement report of the neighboring cell is configured to indicate the radio signal quality of the neighboring cell. The measurement report of the neighboring cell may include: an identifier of the neighboring cell, the measurement value of the neighboring cell, and measurement object information”, [0062] “For example, the measurement value includes but is not limited to at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). The RSRP may include L1-RSRP and/or L3-RSRP, the RSRQ includes L1-RSRQ and/or L3-RSRQ, and the SINR includes L1-SINR and/or L3-SINR. L1 (Layer 1) refers to an instantaneous sampling value at a physical layer, and L3 (Layer 3) refers to an average value in a sliding window at an RRM layer, for example, a weighted average value”, [0063] “the receiving antenna panel and/or the receiving beam given in the measurement object information is the receiving antenna panel and/or the receiving beam when the terminal obtains the measurement value of the neighboring cell given in the measurement report, via which a downlink reference signal issued by the neighboring cell is received, and then the measurement value corresponding to the downlink reference signal is obtained”. The terminal obtains the measurement value of the neighboring cell from the downlink reference signal, where the measurement value includes, L1-RSRP, L3-RSRP, L1-RSRQ, L3-RSRQ, L1-SINR, L3-SINR, etc. [0063]-[0069], the measurement report is based on a configuration including a threshold and conditions for the reference signals of the neighboring cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP, Zhang and Liu to have the features, as taught by Li, in order to accurately determine which antenna panel is used to initiate random access, thereby improving the accuracy and success rate of random access, and reducing the delay of random access (Li, [0050]).
3GPP, Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP, Zhang and Liu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 8, further comprising:
determining the subset of channel measurements for each downlink reference signal of the set of downlink reference signals based at least in part on the configuration, wherein the channel information comprises the plurality of channel metrics for each downlink reference signal of the set of downlink reference signals.
As to claim 8, Li teaches further comprising:
determining the subset of channel metrics for each downlink reference signal of the set of downlink reference signals based at least in part on the configuration (Li, [0063], “When the terminal performs a signal measurement on the neighboring cell, any receiving beam of any receiving antenna panel may be used, and only when the receiving antenna panel and/or the receiving beam given in the measurement object information are used, the measurement value is maximum or satisfies a certain condition (for example, exceeding a preset threshold value). Thus, the receiving antenna panel and/or the receiving beam given in the measurement object information is the receiving antenna panel and/or the receiving beam when the terminal obtains the measurement value of the neighboring cell given in the measurement report, via which a downlink reference signal issued by the neighboring cell is received, and then the measurement value corresponding to the downlink reference signal is obtained”. The terminal receives downlink reference signals and indicates in the measurement object information which downlink reference signals satisfy certain condition (for example, exceeding a preset threshold value). [0062], the measurement value includes L1-RSRP, L3-RSRP, L1-RSRQ, L3-RSRQ, L1-SINR, L3-SINR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP, Zhang and Liu to have the features, as taught by Li, in order to accurately determine which antenna panel is used to initiate random access, thereby improving the accuracy and success rate of random access, and reducing the delay of random access (Li, [0050]).
3GPP and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 10, further comprising:
determining that each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements associated with one or more downlink reference signals of the set of downlink reference signals satisfies the respective channel metric threshold, wherein the subset of channel measurements are associated with the one or more downlink reference signals.
As to claim 10, Liu teaches further comprising:
determining that each channel measurement of the subset of channel measurements associated with one or more downlink reference signals of the set of downlink reference signals satisfies the respective channel metric threshold (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], “Each PCI corresponds to one L1 measurement information which is the average L1 measurement information of multiple reference signal whose L1 measurement information is higher than a threshold…The type of L1 measurement information is included in the MAC-CE depends on a configuration of gNB. Types of the L1 measurement information include L1 -RSRP, L1 -SINR, and/or CQI (Channel Quality Information)”. Figure 5 shows multiple channel measurements, such as RSRP and SINR, where each of the channel measurements are higher than a threshold and correspond to multiple reference signals), wherein the subset of channel measurements are associated with the one or more downlink reference signals (Liu, Fig. 5, [0062], the RSRP and SINR in the MAC-CE are associated with the multiple reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of 3GPP and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu, in order to accelerate measurement information reporting and mobility measurement information reporting (Liu, [0057]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473