Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that combining Barreto and Obrams would result in a combination that would render the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The examiner disagrees. As stated in the rejection the disclosure of Barreto generally teaches that invisible ink can be used to mark products so that fraudulent or counterfeit products can be identified [0001]-[0004]. The applicant argues that one or ordinary skill would substitute the indocyanine green of Obrams in the UV based fluorescing method of Barreto. One of ordinary skill in the art would not make the combination as stated by the applicant and instead would readily understand that different fluorescent compounds require different wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation to cause fluorescence. Replacing a UV activated taggant with a IR activated taggant and trying to activated it with UV light would require ignoring fundamental knowledge that one of ordinary skill possesses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41, 43, 48, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barreto (US 2005/0099475) in view of Obrams et al. (WO 2004/070501 A2).
Regarding claim 41 and 43, Barreto discloses that traditional methods of marking pharmaceutical products does little to facilitate control of counterfeit products and fraudulent dispensing and discloses that marking products with an edible invisible ink containing a compound such as quinine (i.e. a stokes shift taggant, 0031) that fluoresces in the visible spectrum when illuminated with UV light. The invisible ink can use water as a solvent and contain starch (i.e. corn starch, 0031). Starches inherently contain dextrose (i.e. a biopolymer of d-glucose).
Barreto does not disclose that the consumer product is a pouched tobacco product. However, it would have been obvious to mark oral pouched tobacco products in similar ways to pharmaceutical products. Both products are controlled by the US Food and Drug Administration and one of ordinary skill would understand and reasonably expect the ink of Barreto would be predictably be able to covertly label a pouched tobacco product. It is known to be obvious to use known technique to improve similar devices (pharmaceuticals, tobacco products) in the same way (product tracking).
Barreto discloses using a stokes shift taggant but does not disclose that the organic taggant is indocyanine green. However, Obrams et al. disclose a similar system for tracking and preventing counterfeiting products and disclose using luminescent compounds such as indocyanine green (page 7, 24-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to use the compounds disclosed by Obrams et al. including indocyanine green, in place of the quinine taggant in the invention of Barreto. Replacing the taggant would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill and the results would have been predictable (i.e. the absorption and emission of indocyanine green is known). In addition, it is considered to be obvious to perform a simple substitution of one known element (i.e. quinine) with another known element to obtain a predictable result.
Regarding claim 48, indocyanine green is inherently water soluble. properties of chemical compounds are inherent and as such, the indocyanine green of the prior art must have the same properties as the compound claimed because the compounds are the same.
Regarding claim 57, Barreto discloses using up to 1% by weight organic fluorescent taggant (0035).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael J Felton/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747