DETAILED ACTION
PROSECUTION REOPENED
In view of the Board Decision filed on 11/13/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Director has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/EDWARD LEFKOWITZ/ Director, Art Unit 3700
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection. New grounds of rejection are presented in response to the Board Decision. Note discussion of US Publication 2021/0196017 by Goodison, US Patent D763575 issued to Rippe, US Patent 5955948 issued to Howell; and US Patent 8936140 issued to Herold.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract beings with the phrase “The present disclosure relates to.” This phrase should be avoided as stated above. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a securing mechanism for releasably securing the side panels in the folded position” in claims 1 and 18; and “a closure mechanism for releasably securing the side panels in the folded position” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2021/0196017 by Goodison (Here forth “Goodison”).
Regarding claim 1, Goodison discloses a coat carrier comprising:
a base panel (Fig 6A of Goodison below; bottom 32 is the base panel) having two side edges and two outer edges extending between respective ends of the side edges (Fig 6A of Goodison below, the panel has 4 edges wherein the two longer edges are side edges and two shorter edges are the outer edges);
first and second side panels pivotally connected to the base panel (Fig 6A of Goodison below, a back wall 26 and front wall 24 are side panels that are pivotally connected to the bottom 32 that is the base panel), each side panel including a lower edge connected to a respective one of the side edges of the base panel, an upper edge opposite the lower edge (Fig 6A of Goodison below, lower edge is near bottom 32/base panel and upper edge is opposite), and the two outer edges extending between respective ends of the upper and lower edges (Fig 6A of Goodison below, the edges between the lower and upper edges);
wherein the base panel and side panels define an open space configured to receive a coat (Fig 6A below and Fig 1 of Goodison, the space has the ability to receive any garment including a coat when the bag is in the upright position as shown in Fig 1, when left and right walls 28 and 30 are not attached to the left and right sides of the bottom/base panel 32 and the front wall/side panel 24);
wherein the side panels are movable between an open position for loading a coat into the coat carrier (Fig 1 and 6A of Goodison below, the base panel along with the side panels creates a compartment capable of carrying an item such as a coat) and a folded position forming a carrying case with open ends (Fig 1 and 6A of Goodison below) configured so that the coat, when loaded into the coat carrier, extends outwardly from the open ends of the carrying case (Fig 1-2 and Fig 6A of Goodison below, the sides are opened such that an item such as a coat can extend outwardly from the open ends);
a pair of handles (Fig 6A of Goodison below, 34a, 34b) attached to the upper edges of respective side panels (Fig 6A of Goodison below); and a securing mechanism for releasably securing the side panels in the folded position ( Fig 6A of Goodison below, securing mechanism are elements 62a, 62b – para. 0069).
Annotated Fig 6A of Goodison
Regarding claim 4 , Goodison further discloses a sleeve for a computing device disposed on an inner surface of the first or second side panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, container 52 is an open topped pocket located on inner surface of panel, and is capable of holding a computing device; the container is configured to receive items that could include a smartphone, tablet or laptop) [para. 0063].
Regarding claim 14, Goodison discloses a foldable, open ended coat carrier for carrying a coat, comprising:
a base panel having two side edges and two outer edges extending between respective ends of the side edges (Fig 6A of Goodison above, the bottom/base panel 32 has four edges wherein the two longer edges are side edges and two shorter edges are the outer edges);
first and second side panels pivotally connected to respective side edges of the base panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, a back wall 26 and front wall 24 are the first and second side panels and are pivotally connected to the bottom 32 which is the base panel) and configured to move between an open position for loading a coat into the coat carrier and a folded position forming a carrying case with open ends for carrying the coat (Fig 6A above and Fig 1 of Goodison, the space has the ability to receive any garment including a coat when the bag is in the upright position like Fig 1, when left and right walls 28 and 30 are not attached to the left and right sides of the bottom/base panel 32 and the front wall/side panel 24), each side panel including a lower edge connected to a respective one of the side edges of the base panel, an upper edge opposite the lower edge (Fig 6A of Goodison above, lower edge is near bottom 32/base panel and upper edge is opposite the base panel), and two outer edges extending between respective ends of the upper and lower edges (Fig 6A of Goodison above, the edges between the lower and upper edges);
wherein the base panel and side panels define an open space configured to receive a coat (Fig 1 and 6A of Goodison above, the opening on the two sides define an open space configured to receive coats, when in the upright position, with the handle held together, a coat can fit within the opening);
a handle secured to the upper edge of each panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, handle 34a, 34b secured to the upper edge of the panels are it is secured to the base panel which is attached to the upper edge of each side panel);
wherein, in use:
the first and second panels are disposed in back-to-back relationship with the coat lying therebetween and supported at least in part at least by the base panel; and the coat extends through one or both of the open ends of the carrier coat (Fig 1 and 6A of Goodison above, the bottom32/base panel along with the side panels creates a compartment capable of carrying an item such as a coat such that the coat can extend outwardly from the open ends).
Regarding claim 16, Goodison further discloses comprising a sleeve for a computing device disposed on an inner surface of the first or second side panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, container 52 is an open topped pocket located on inner surface of panel, and is capable of holding a computing device; the container is configured to receive items that could include a smartphone, tablet or laptop) [para. 0063].
Regarding claim 18, Goodison further discloses wherein further comprising a securing mechanism for releasably securing the side panels in the folded position (Fig 6A of Goodison above, securing mechanism are magnetic elements 62a, 62b).
Regarding claim 19, Goodison further discloses wherein in the coat carrying position, the coat carrier assumes a generally U-shaped configuration (Fig 6A and 1 of Goodison above, the carrier assumes a generally U-shaped configuration when in carrying mode with fasteners 62A and 62B connected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claims 1 and 14 above in view of US Patent 4819796 issued Gerch (Here forth “Gerch”).
Regarding claim 2 and 15 (Same claim language different dependencies wherein claim 2 depends from claim 1 and claim 15 depends from claim 14), Goodison does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Goodison does not expressly disclose a pocket on the outer surface.
Gerch discloses a similar bag that teaches a pocket disposed on an outer surface of the first or second side panel (Fig 2 of Gerch, pocket 14 is located on outer surface of an outer panel 11 which is a side panel; the pocket 14 is configured to receive items such as a phone).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison and Gerch before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of Goodison to have external pockets, as taught by Gerch, to advantageously allow a user to carry and secure items that can be easily accessed.
Regarding claim 3, Goodison as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the pocket is configured to receive a phone (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 2 of Gerch, the pocket 14 is capable of receiving a phone).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, Goodison further discloses wherein the sleeve is configured to receive a variety of items (enclosed space may be used for one or multiple items for storage or to hold specific individual items like a make-up brush, pen, cell phone, bottle, and the like) but does no specifically recite a tablet or laptop computer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the open topped pocket to fit any of a variety of sizes of tablet or laptop computer that is desired to be carried and protected in the bag. Such a modification involves an obvious change in size to accommodate desired items (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for size.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claim 1 above in view of US Patent 8936140 issued to Herold (Here forth “Herold”).
Regarding claim 6, Goodison does not expressly disclose luggage straps.
Herold discloses a similar carrier to teach one or more luggage straps secured to an outer surface of the first or second side panel and configured for engagement with a baggage handle (Fig 4 and 6 of Herold, strap 206 is the luggage strap and is attached to out surface of a front 404 which is a side panel for engagement with a baggage handle 236).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison as modified and Herold before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of the modified Goodison to have one or more luggage straps, as taught by Herold, to advantageously secure the carrier to luggage to make carrying multiple bags together convenient.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claim 1 above in view of US Patent 5955948 issued to Howell (Here forth “Howell”).
Regarding claim 7, Goodison further discloses wherein the securing mechanism comprises a series of mating [Not taught: snap] fasteners disposed respectively along the upper edges of the first and second side panels (Fig 4 of Goodison, fasteners 46a).
Goodison does not expressly disclose that the fasteners are snap fasteners.
Howell discloses a similar carrier that teaches that the fasteners are snap fasteners (Fig 1 of Howell, snap fastener elements 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the container taught by Goodison by substituting snap fasteners for buckle fasteners. Such a modification only substitutes equivalent fasteners known for the same purpose which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2143(B)). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claim 1 above in view of US Patent D763575 issued to Rippe (Here forth “Rippe”).
Regarding claim 8, Goodison does not expressly disclose that the securing mechanism is a strap.
Rippe further discloses a similar bag that teaches wherein the securing mechanism comprises: a securing strap attached to one of the first or second side panels (Fig 1 of Rippe below, securing strap is attached to the first panel as seen in Fig 1 below); and a strap fastener secured to the other of the first and second side panels for engagement with the strap (Fig 1 of Rippe below, the securing strap attached to securing mechanism strap attached to the second side panel via a buckle as shown).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rippe
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison and Rippe before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of Goodison to have the securing mechanism be buckles and straps. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2143(B)). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Regarding claim 9, Goodison as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the strap fastener comprises a snap fastener, a button fastener or a buckle (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 8, Fig 1 of Rippe).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison in view of Gerch and Herold.
Regarding claim 10, Goodison discloses a coat carrier (Fig 6A of Goodison above) comprising:
a base panel (6A of Goodison above, bottom 32 is the base panel) having two side edges and two outer edges extending between respective ends of the side edges (Fig 6A of Goodison above, the panel has four edges wherein the two longer edges are side edges and two shorter edges are the outer edges);
first and second side panels pivotally connected to the base panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, front wall24 and back wall 26 are the side panels), each side panel including a lower edge connected to a respective one of the side edges of the base panel (Fig 6A of Goodison above, lower edge is near bottom 32/base panel and upper edge of the side panel is opposite the lower edge), an upper edge opposite the lower edge, and two outer edges extending between respective ends of the upper and lower edges (Fig 6A of Goodison above, the outer edges between the lower and upper edges);
wherein the base panel and side panels define an open space configured to receive a coat (Fig 6A below and Fig 1 of Goodison above, the space has the ability to receive any garment including a coat when the bag is in the upright position as shown in Fig 1, when left and right walls 28 and 30 are not attached to the left and right sides of the bottom/base panel 32 and the front wall/side panel 24);
wherein the side panels are movable between an open position for loading a coat into the coat carrier and a folded position forming a carrying case with open ends configured so that the coat extends outwardly from the open ends of the carrying case (Fig 1 and 6A of Goodison above, the bottom/base panel along with the side panels creates a compartment capable of carrying an item such as a coat, such that the coat can extend outwardly from the open ends as left and right walls 28 and 30 are not attached to the front wall 24/side panel; Fig 1 of Goodison above shows that in the closed state, the carrier allow room for items to be placed above the base panel between the front and back panel);
a pair of handles attached to the upper edges of respective side panels (Fig 6A of Goodison above, handles 34a, 34b);
a closure mechanism for releasably securing the side panels in the folded position (Fig 6A of Goodison, closure mechanism 62a, 62b);
a sleeve disposed on an inner surface of the first or second side panel configured to receive a tablet or laptop computer (Fig 6A of Goodison above, container 52 is an open topped pocket located on inner surface of panel, and is capable of holding a computing device; the container is configured to receive items that could include various item and it would be obvious to size them to fit different sized tablets and/or laptop computers) [para. 0063].
The modified Goodison does not expressly disclose a pocket disposed on an outer surface of the first or second side panel configured to receive a phone.
Gerch discloses a similar bag that teaches a pocket disposed on an outer surface of the first or second side panel configured to receive a phone (Fig 2 of Gerch, pocket 14 is located on outer surface of a panel; the pocket 14 is configured to receive items such as a phone).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison and Gerch before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of Goodison to have external pockets, as taught by Gerch, to advantageously allow user to carry and secure items that can be easily accessed.
The modified bag of Goodison as modified by Gerch discloses all the limitations of claim 10 except for and one or more luggage straps secured to an outer surface of the first or second side panel and configured for engagement with a baggage handle.
Herold discloses a similar carrier that teaches one or more luggage straps secured to an outer surface of the first or second side panel and configured for engagement with a baggage handle (Fig 4 and 6 of Herold, strap 406 is the luggage strap and is attached to front 404 which is a side panel for engagement with a baggage handle 236).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison as modified and Herold before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of the modified Goodison to have a luggage attachment strap, as taught by Herold, to advantageously allow for more support and grip for the user so that they can securely grasp the carrier.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison, Gerch, and Herold, as applied to claim 10 above in view of Foreign Publication WO2018/165426 by Munie (Here forth “Munie”) and US Patent 5955948 issued to Howell (Here forth “Howell”).
Regarding claim 11, Goodison as modified does not expressly disclose wherein the closure mechanism is a series of mating fasteners.
Munie discloses a similar carrier that teaches wherein the closure mechanism comprises a series of mating fasteners disposed respectively along the upper edges of the first and second side panels (Fig 23 and 24 of Munie, fasteners are a series of magnetic fastening elements on magnetic strip 2304 and 2306 are the series of mating fasteners along an upper edge of container 2300 and outer shell 2302 which are the first and second panels).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison as modified and Munie before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of the modified Goodison to have the closure mechanism be a series of mating fasteners along the upper edge of two panels, as taught by Munie, to advantageously seal the opening completely to prevent escape through the top opening portion.
The modified bag of Goodison as modified by Munie discloses all the limitations of claim 11 except for the mating fasteners being snap fasteners.
Howell discloses a similar carrier that teaches the fasteners are snap fasteners (Fig 1 of Howell, snap fastener elements 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container taught by Goodison by substituting the fasteners of the modified Goodson for snap fasteners. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2143(B)). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison, Gerch, and Herold as applied to claim 10 above in view of US Patent D763575 issued to Rippe (Here forth “Rippe”).
Regarding claim 12, Goodison does not expressly disclose that the closure mechanism includes a securing strap
Rippe further discloses a similar bag that teaches wherein the closure mechanism comprises: a securing strap attached to one of the first or second side panels (Fig 1 of Rippe above, securing strap is attached to the first panel as seen in Fig 1 above); and a strap fastener secured to the other of the first and second side panels for engagement with the strap ((Fig 1 of Rippe above, securing strap is attached to the first panel as seen in Fig 1 above and mates with the fastener attached to the second panel).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison and Rippe before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of Goodison to have the securing mechanism be buckles and straps. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2134(B)). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Regarding claim 13, Goodison as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the strap fastener comprises a snap fastener, a button fastener or a buckle (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 12; Fig 1 of Rippe).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodison as applied to claim 14 above in view of Herold.
Regarding claim 17, Goodison as modified does not expressly disclose a luggage attachment strap.
Herold discloses a similar carrier teaches one or more luggage straps secured to an outer surface of the first or second side panel and configured for engagement with a baggage handle (Fig 4 and 6 of Herold, strap 406 is the luggage strap and is attached to front 404 which is a side panel for engagement with a baggage handle 52).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Goodison as modified and Herold before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the carrier of the modified Goodison to have a luggage attachment strap, as taught by Herold, to advantageously secure the carrier to luggage to make carrying multiple bags together convenient.
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 26 March 2026