DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 30 November 2021.
Claims 1–20 are pending. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are independent.
Claims 1–20 are rejected.
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections—35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–3, 9, 11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al. (“Beyond Accuracy: Behavorial Testing of NLP Models with CheckList”) [hereinafter Ribeiro] in view of Gan et al. (“Towards Robustness of Text-to-SQL Models against Synonym Substitution”) [hereinafter Gan].
Regarding independent claim 1, Ribeiro teaches [a] computer-implemented method comprising: processing at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system on tabular data using at least one test engine; Evaluating natural language processing models, including question answering systems (Ribeiro, p. 4903, § 2.1). generating, based at least in part on the processing of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system, one or more accuracy values attributed to the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system […]; The evaluation includes, e.g., failure rates (Ribeiro, p. 4903, figure 1). generating, based at least in part on the processing of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system, a set of one or more queries determined to be addressable by the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system […]; Generating test cases (Ribeiro, p. 4904, § 2.3). generating, based at least in part on the one or more accuracy values and the one or more queries determined to be addressable, at least one human-readable summary of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system; and Generating visualizations of the test cases and results (Ribeiro, p. 4902, § 1, p. 4903, figure 1). […] wherein the method is carried out by at least one computing device. [Software inherently requires a computing device; Ribeiro discloses that the system comprises software components in, e.g., § 4.1.]
Ribeiro teaches generating a human-readable summary of a QA system, but does not expressly teach a QA system based on tabular data. However, Gan teaches: [generating, based at least in part on the processing of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system, one or more accuracy values attributed to the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system] in connection with particular tabular data Benchmarking text-to-SQL [tabular question answering] systems (Gan, § 1). [generating, based at least in part on the processing of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system, a set of one or more queries determined to be addressable by the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system] on the particular tabular data Generating a benchmark data set (Gan, § 2.1). performing one or more automated actions based at least in part on the at least one human-readable summary; Performing adversarial training (Gan, § 3.2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro with those of Gan. One would have been motivated to do so
Regarding dependent claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Ribeiro/Gan further teaches: wherein processing at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system on tabular data using at least one test engine comprises processing multiple artificial intelligence-based question answering systems on the tabular data using the at least one test engine; and The system can test a plurality of models (Ribeiro, p. 4905, § 3). wherein generating, based at least in part on the processing of the multiple artificial intelligence-based question answering systems, a set of one or more queries comprises generating a universal test bed of queries determined to be addressable by the multiple artificial intelligence-based question answering systems. A user can generate large numbers of test cases (Ribeiro, p. 4902, § 1). A benchmark data set is generated by synonym substitution on a data set for evaluating text-to-SQL models (Gan, § 2.1).
Regarding dependent claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and Ribeiro/Gan further teaches: further comprising: comparing performance of the multiple artificial intelligence-based question answering systems in connection with the universal test bed of queries. The systems can test a plurality of models (Ribeiro, p. 4905, § 3; Gan, § 4.1). The system can generate a comparison of models (Ribeiro, p. 4903, § 2).
Regarding dependent claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Ribeiro/Gan further teaches: wherein processing the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system on tabular data using at least one test engine comprises testing the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system on the particular tabular data using multiple questions of varying complexity. The data set is generated from the Spider data set, which comprises questions having varying degrees of difficulty1 (Gan, § 2.1).
Regarding dependent claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Ribeiro/Gan further teaches: wherein generating the one or more accuracy values comprises generating at least one accuracy value measured on at least one standardized test set of natural language questions. Models are evaluated using an accuracy metric (Gan, § 4.1).
Regarding independent claim 14, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding independent claim 20, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al. (“Beyond Accuracy: Behavorial Testing of NLP Models with CheckList”) [hereinafter Ribeiro] in view of Gan et al. (“Towards Robustness of Text-to-SQL Models against Synonym Substitution”) [hereinafter Gan], further in view of Lei et al. (US 2020/0167669 A1) [hereinafter Lei].
Regarding dependent claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ribeiro/Gan teaches generating a human-readable summary, but does not expressly teach generating an API. However, Lei teaches: wherein performing the one or more automated actions comprises automatically generating, based at least in part on the at least one human-readable summary, one or more application programming interfaces associated with the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system. A software services generates an application programming interface for a machine learning model (Lei, ¶ 68).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan with those of Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow the model to be used with other software tools (Lei, ¶¶ 68–70).
Regarding dependent claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ribeiro/Gan teaches generating a human-readable summary, but does not expressly teach updating an API. However, Lei teaches: wherein performing the one or more automated actions comprises automatically updating, based at least in part on the at least one human-readable summary, one or more existing application programming interfaces associated with the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system. An API can be updated in response to changes to a machine learning model (Lei, ¶ 79).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan with those of Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow the model to be used with other software tools (Lei, ¶¶ 68–70) and updated to incorporate changes to the specifications of the model (Lei, ¶ 79).
Regarding dependent claim 15, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5–7 and 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al. (“Beyond Accuracy: Behavorial Testing of NLP Models with CheckList”) [hereinafter Ribeiro] in view of Gan et al. (“Towards Robustness of Text-to-SQL Models against Synonym Substitution”) [hereinafter Gan] and Lei et al. (US 2020/0167669 A1) [hereinafter Lei], further in view of Lester et al. (US 2024/0378196 A1) [hereinafter Lester].
Regarding dependent claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Lei teaches generating an API, but does not expressly teach an API for search operations. However, Lester teaches: wherein generating one or more application programming interfaces associated with the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system comprises generating at least one application programming interface pertaining to search operations with respect to the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system, the particular tabular data, and one or more natural language queries. A prompt tuning semantic search API (Lester, ¶ 96).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan/Lei with those of Lester. One would have been motivated to do so in order to tune the machine learning model (Lester, ¶ 41).
Regarding dependent claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Lei teaches generating an API, but does not expressly teach an API for obtaining training data. However, Lester teaches: wherein generating one or more application programming interfaces associated with the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system comprises generating at least one application programming interface pertaining to obtaining training data for at least one of the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system and the particular tabular data. A training API for inputting training data (Lester, ¶ 109).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan/Lei with those of Lester. One would have been motivated to do so in order to tune the machine learning model (Lester, ¶ 41).
Regarding dependent claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Lei teaches generating an API, but does not expressly teach an API for modifying the QA system. However, Lester teaches: wherein generating one or more application programming interfaces associated with the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system comprises generating at least one application programming interface pertaining to modifying the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system with respect to the particular tabular data. A training API for inputting data for training [modifying] a model (Lester, ¶ 109).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan/Lei with those of Lester. One would have been motivated to do so in order to tune the machine learning model (Lester, ¶ 41).
Regarding dependent claim 16, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding dependent claim 17, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding dependent claim 18, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 8, 10, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al. (“Beyond Accuracy: Behavorial Testing of NLP Models with CheckList”) [hereinafter Ribeiro] in view of Gan et al. (“Towards Robustness of Text-to-SQL Models against Synonym Substitution”) [hereinafter Gan], further in view of Elprin et al. (US 2021/0133632 A1) [hereinafter Elprin].
Regarding dependent claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ribeiro/Gan teaches generating a human-readable summary, but does not expressly teach automatically training the QA system. However, Elprin teaches: wherein performing the one or more automated actions comprises training the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system based at least in part on at least a portion of the at least one human-readable summary. A model may be retrained in response to monitoring the model (Elprin, ¶ 73).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan with those of Elprin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the model from drifting, i.e., having degraded accuracy (Elprin, ¶ 8).
Regarding dependent claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ribeiro/Gan teaches generating a human-readable summary, but does not expressly teach outputting suggestions for improving the QA system. However, Elprin teaches: wherein automatically generating the at least one human-readable summary comprises determining and outputting one or more suggestions for improving the at least one given artificial intelligence-based question answering system. Retraining of a model may be suggested based on the model drifting (Elprin, ¶ 49).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan with those of Elprin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the model from drifting, i.e., having degraded accuracy (Elprin, ¶ 8).
Regarding dependent claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ribeiro/Gan teaches generating a human-readable summary, but does not expressly teach providing a cloud service. However, Elprin teaches: wherein software implementing the method is provided as a service in a cloud environment. A model monitoring system in communication with machine learning models on a cloud (Elprin, ¶¶ 54, 100, 111).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ribeiro/Gan with those of Elprin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to, e.g., provide remote access to the system, increase security/reliability of the system, etc.
Regarding dependent claim 19, this claim recites limitations similar to those of claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Tyler Schallhorn/Examiner, Art Unit 2144
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144
1 See Yu et al. “Spider: A Large-Scale Human-Labeled Dataset for Complex and Cross-Domain Semantic Parsing and Text-to-SQL Task”, p. 3917, § 6 “SQL Hardness Criteria”, and figure 3.